Milly

Stepford Wife Dress

$68 to buy
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This charming floral-print Milly dress features a contrasting ribbon tie that defines the waist. A ruffle collar that adds feminine flare and is a perfect choice for the dinner party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with band - conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt appropriate for all body types
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Product Details

Almond organza floral jacquard. Crew neckline with ruffle detail. Button front. Grosgrain waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
122 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(104)
Small
(16)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Age: 35
September 19, 2011

I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. It is apparent that this dress has been worn many, many times. The color is quite different than it appears in the photo. It's more of a deep peachy color. The ruffles around the collar are flat (even after I steamed them) and some of the stitched flowers are on the verge of unraveling. I rented two sizes. One of the dresses sent to me had a huge stain on the shoulder area (maybe coffee or a weird-colored sweat). I did receive a few compliments, but I will be very cautious to rent a dress with so many reviews in the future.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 11, 2011

Loved this dress! Actual color indoor is a bit darker than what the picture shows, but outdoor is right on! I had to steam the ruffle collar a bit but overall, this dress was no frills. Fitted comfortably and looked super fun and elegant. I highly recommend it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 19, 2011

This was the perfect dress for an outdoor wedding I recently attended. I got a size 4 and size 6 and ended up wearing the size 6 because the neckline on the size 4 was a bit too constricting as the dress buttons all the way up. I did what some other reviewers did and steamed the collar so that it laid as shown in the photos, but that was really simple. A beautiful dress I completely recommend!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2011
Nice dress, a little worn

I rented this dress for a wedding and got lots of compliments on it. I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 fit well but I am a 36C and the top would not button. I recommend ordering a size up if you have any bust at all. It was a nice fit and comfortable I was able to dance all night. When I got the dresses though there were some snags and small stains, which nobody else noticed but me. Overall a nice dress and makes you feel really great!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2011

So cute! I am normally a 4/6 and the 4 fit perfectly. I really liked this.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2011
Wore this to my friend's bridal shower and I felt so girly/ladylike. This is definitely something I'd rent again and probably buy!

This is the cutest dress ever. It fit really well and I wore it with tights because it was the middle of winter. Definitely recommend this.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2011
Richmond, VA

I got a lot of compliments on this dress but I think I was too pale to pull off this dress my skin and the dress matched! the collar did need some steaming.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
December 31, 2011
I felt gorgeous in this dress.

When I saw the photo, I thought it would be the perfect hostess dress for our annual holiday party. When it arrived, I was SO excited because it was more gorgeous than pictured. The fabric and detail were beautiful. I have to say I really did not want to send this dress back! It was just so gorgeous. Also - I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 - and the size 4 fit great! From waist up I'm easily a 4-6, waist down 6-8. The skirt is a slight A-line, so I was able to go down a size. :)

lynnDecember 31, 2011
Thank you for this review! i am the same way with my size because i am curvy at the bottom and was hesitant on renting a 4. Now im not. thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2012
Cute dress, but gaping buttons

I LOVE this dress!!! I ordered the 10 and 12 for my engagement pictures. Unfortunately, the buttons wouldn't stay closed and it looked way too chesty. Cute dress, but girls with busty top, beware!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2012
Perfect for a Wedding

One of the buttons fell off, but otherwise a very girly, cute dress. Was absolutely perfect for a summer/fall wedding.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
March 27, 2012
Perfect dress for a Mad Men viewing party!

I originally rented this dress for a weekend trip but ended up wearing it to a Mad Men viewing party! This dress is absolute perfection. Feminine, classic and intricately detailed. Felt very Betty Draper-ish, hence the name of the dress! I wish I could buy it! High quality dress, arrived on time, in great condition and fit like a glove!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133lbs
May 20, 2012
Wonderful

I got so much looks no comments on it but i guess looks at the dress speaks for its self.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 25, 2012
RTR's customer service is amazing... I had to rent this dress twice because my event was rescheduled, and they were more than happy to work with me. I recommend RTR to everyone!!

This is a beautiful dress! I rented it for my engagement pictures (actually ended up renting it twice because the pics were cancelled the first time around due to rain). The 0 was a bit harder to zip up than the 2, but I ended up wearing it because it fit better up top (I have a tiny bust). It was short, but not inappropriately so. Like previous reviewers have said, the collar was a bit funky when it arrived, but I used fashion tape to make it behave :) I was a bit wary of the color (I am very pale and tend to not look good in tan), but the black broke up the tan enough, I thought. The dress would probably look better on girls with a bit more color though.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
June 23, 2012
Renting from RTR was so simple and worry free! The dress arrived on time and was in perfect condition. It looked just like the online picture. No surprises, disappointment, anything! This is a great service as it allows you to wear a DESIGNER dress for an affordable price! Not only do you look smart and stylish, you feel that way too!

I wore this dress for my engagement pictures! I wanted something classic and vintage. It was perfect! I also wore this to a wedding and received tons of compliments! It fit perfectly and looked great! I highly recommend this dress and RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 25, 2012
It was great to see people that I haven't seen in 15+ years tell me how fabulous I looked!

This was the perfect dress for a wedding that I was a reader in. I have a large back tattoo as well as a larger chest and I wanted them both covered for church :) this dress did the job! It was a little snug but I think overall it fits true to size, I usually wear a 6 or 8. One added bonus is it isn't skin tight so you can eat, drink and be merry without having to worry about spanx or it being too tight! Got lots of compliments as always!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 2, 2012
This was my first time renting with RTR and I got so many compliments on this dress! I really wish I owned the dress!

The dress fits true to size. It's really something you can throw on and be ready to go since you don't have to accessorize so much because the dress has a bold print.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2012
Pretty

I wore this to a dinner with my boyfriends family and it was a huge hit. Wish I owned it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2012
Sophisticated sexy

Sophisticated on top, a short on the bottom, but oh so adorable! Was perfect for the wedding I went to with sexy black stockings and über-high patent heels. Beware this fabric has zero stretch and collar can get crushed shipping so leave some time to steam.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was even more beautiful than expected. The details are gorgeous. Many compliments!

Great A-line fit was comfortable for dancing. I felt it was a bit short when bending down or sitting- though not to the point of being inappropriate for the event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 23, 2012
Lovely

Length was great, even with heels. Did not wrinkle throughout the whole night! It was ever-so-slightly tight across the chest, but not nearly enough to warrant going up a size because it fit perfectly everywhere else. The color could potentially wash someone out, depending on skin tone. Looks great with a tan. Really unique, so I felt very special wearing it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
September 28, 2012
I loved this dress for a spring wedding

material was very pretty, but not the most comfortable (scratchy)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 1, 2012
Great Quality Dress.

I wore this to a rehersal dinner and it was a huge hit. The colors and quality are great. The fit was true to size. It was a great dinner dress, not sure how it would be as a dancing dress.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 1, 2012
Perfect dress for my bridal shower brunch!

This dress is very pretty, has a great fit, and is extremely comfortable. The sweet "stepford wife" vintage look it absolutely spot on, while still adding a sexy flair. I got two sizes, 2 and 4, and ended up wearing the 2, but it was pretty true to size.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 17, 2012
Such an easy and pleasant experience renting with RTR!

This Milly dress is made with beautiful lightweight fabric. I loved the ruffle detail at the top and the black band around the waist. Convenient side zipper.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2012
The RTR experience is unlike any other!

The dress is much prettier in person. The fit was wonderful. I only had two issues with the dress itself. It's very short (which I knew from the pictures and wasn't an issue unless sitting when I felt I might be showing too much) and the slip lining kept showing which I was able to fix with the fabric tape RTR sent. I got many compliments and felt great. Additionally, I had to use customer service twice and each time the rep. was a nice and as helpful as could be and solved my problem quickly. I will definitely use RTR again when I have an opportunity to dress up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 26, 2012
Beautiful design--material not as high quality

I rented this dress for Thanksgiving weekend, it was my "backup" dress. I loved my original rental so much that I ended up wearing this out with old friends to a nightclub. The dress is really beautiful in the photo. It looks very high quality and luxurious. In person, the fabric felt a little synthetic. It was still beautiful but the flowers felt almost "tissue" like, very thin and flimsy. I still wore the dress and it looked pretty. I got a ton of compliments, it looks very prim and proper. Overall, I wouldn't rent it again, just because it didn't "thrill" me like some other dresses on here have. But the fit was nice, only complaint was type of fabric used.

MiaOctober 26, 2012
You look great!! Thanks for the honest review!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2012
Perfect day-to-night!

Wore this dress for homecoming - it was perfect with cowboy boots and a sweater for the game, then changed into black heels for the formal that night! Runs like most Milly dresses - definitely recommend ordering a size smaller than usual for a backup.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
November 18, 2012
Great back up dress but a bit snug

Rented this dress as a back up but never wore it. The collar on the dress I received was a bit worn out and the front ruffle squished but some ironing/steam would probably help that. The dress runs true to size but it is a tight squeeze.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
November 20, 2012
Elegant, stylish and fun!

Loved the dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner party. I'm busty so top was a bit tight. Taped the lining hem up because it peeped.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 5, 2012
A great fit!

I wore this dress to a wedding and it was great! I was a little concerned about the length but it was perfect even with heels. I also had a light cardigan with me in case it was chilly and the dress would go with several colors, for example a cream or gray. I would definitely consider renting it again if not purchasing it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party. Beautiful fabric and details. Got a lot of compliments !

Great dress! I was unaware that it had to be worn fully buttoned in the top because if not the attached slip shows. Don't get me wrong it looks beautiful when worn this way but any big busted girl knows that buttons are the enemy. The top was a struggle to get closed and I was worried that I would pop a button all night. Other than that the fit was great everywhere else, it even could have been a little tighter around the waist which is why even though I ordered a larger second size I didn't use it because I was swimming in it. It's a beautiful dress and looks super chic and classy on but I would caution ordering if your bust is size D or more.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 12, 2012
The dress was flirty and sexy without being revealing. I danced all night!

The dress was the perfect length for my height. A fabulous combination of classy, fashionable, and fun.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
For a fall wedding in Napa, this was just perfect - classy and fresh, looks great with my dark hair

Perfect fit for my size and shape!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 23, 2012
Every guest told me how lovely I looked!

I wore this for my bridal shower and it was absolutely perfect! Every guest I greeted commented on how lovely my dress was. Of course I spread the word about RTR. My mother even RTR for the occasion, too!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2012
Good for Curvy Figure

Loved the dress! Wish it was a tiny bit tighter at the waist. Overall, great fit though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Fun & Feminine

Loved this dress. It fit perfectly & was very flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2013
So many compliments!

I loved this dress and would love to actually own it! I would recommend renting a size up for your backup if you have hips (like me). I wore it with footless black tights because it was winter in St Louis for an interview dinner. Looked really cute with my heels and peacoat over top when in outside weather. The dress actually has a slip attached underneath, so the top can be buttoned or unbuttoned depending on the look you're going for. Def worth a rental!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
January 6, 2013
Great dress for my wedding shower!

This dress was perfect for my wedding shower! I got so many compliments on it! The only issue with it was that it was pretty short, but still covered everything. Also, I thought the dress looked more pink in the picture, but it is actually more of a metallic tan color. Would love to rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding and a night out!

This dress was perfect for a wedding. It was comfortable and classy and I received a lot of compliments. Like some of the other reviews mentioned, the collar doesn't stand up like it does in the picture, but it is still an adorable dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 10, 2013
Did not arrive in time.

I was really disappointed. This dress arrived a day later than it was supposed to and unfortunately, I had to leave for the wedding. It's a really cute dress; very short though, so be aware.

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×