Southern Sun Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This strawberry Milly jacquard print sheath is perfect for a weekend in the Hamptons or for a casual night out. Shown here with classic silver accessories.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so size up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so size up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Pink and white cotton link printed jacquard. V neckline with spaghetti straps in back. Hidden back zip. Center back vent. 39" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
54 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(28)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2015
The fit was bizarre
I wanted to love this dress, I really did. But a 10 fit like a 4 in some areas and I normally wear a 6. It was just the most bizarre dress I've ever tried to wear. It was super revealing in the chest and super tight in the tummy but totally normal everywhere else. But the fabric is really stunning!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 3, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this dress.
This dress was great and I received a ton of compliments on it. It was just a tad snug through the hips and the top you need to make sure you can fill out (or you may have some gaps). I loved this dress and actually tried to find it to buy after renting it here!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
June 11, 2014
This was my back up dress . I loved it but it ran a little snug . Great summer dress
Love the pattern
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 11, 2014
Wore it to the Belmont Stakes - nice dress for the occasion.
Loved the pattern and the style was perfect for the occasion but the fit was off. It bunched up in stomach area, making it appear that I had a weird pooch there, and it was Really low cut so for busty women this is not the right choice (i'm a 32D) - the straps were too long and I ended up knotting them to shorten them so that the dress wouldn't be so low cut. Overall, it wasn't a dress I would have chosen to wear or buy but it worked out fine for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 28, 2014
Cute, but Runs Small
I couldn't wear it; it was too tight. Fun print, too bad it didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 23, 2014
Pictures don't do this dress justice!
I loved this dress! I had some sizing issues, but RTR got them worked out right away and sent me the correct size within a day. I usually wear a dress size six, but have fuller hips so had to size up two sizes to feel comfortable in the dress. Reviews are correct, it runs a little small and definitely works better with a fuller chest. That being said, once I got the right size I felt beautiful all night. The fabric is is textured and beautiful and SO flattering and gives your body a great contour! Definitely can see myself renting this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
March 4, 2014
Great dress! So comfortable.
Form fitting and thin straps, so no bra necessary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 24, 2013
Very cute and flirty dress. Perfect for a summer outdoors wedding.
This dress is not for females with a large chest size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 20, 2013
Really loved this dress - it was perfect for a summer wedding!
Unfortunately, I needed the 8 in this dress and it has been discontinued by RTR. The dress runs a bit small in the bust/back area, and while I'm small chested, I have a large rib cage, so the 6 fit me everywhere, but didn't zip up! That said, the 10 was an ok fit. The main issue is that it ended up being a bit big in the hips and the straps kept falling down, but it still looked great. Overall, a beautiful dress, just a bit unforgiving sizing-wise if you aren't narrow.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2013
Wore it to foxfields. Was so appropriate and cute!
Fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2013
Beautiful Dress but...
I can't really give this dress a bad rating because it is a beautiful dress, however, with my bust size it just didn't work for me. I tried both a 10 and a 12, and they were both a little big everywhere but the chest. The triangles are smaller than I thought they would be and there was just no way I could wear it without looking extremely inappropriate. However, the length was perfect, hitting an inch or so above the knee and the material and color were both gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2013
Cute dress if you're flat.
This dress was tight in the hips, loose in the waist and I couldn't get the straps to stay up. Also- if you have anything over a B cup it's going to be pretty inappropriate which I don't think is the look that people renting this dress are going for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 2, 2013
Perfect Daytime Dress
I wore this dress to the horse races in Del Mar and received a number of compliments. It is a very va-va-voom type of dress that accentuates (or creates) an hourglass figure. I wore bra petals, as a bra would've been impossible. The fabric is heavy weight and the structure of the dress is tight enough that a bra might not have even been necessary at all. As others have said this dress does fit tight in the hips and in my case, thanks to years of swimming, a bit tight in the shoulders as well. I didn't worry too much about the hips when I ordered it as mine aren't all that wide, but if you do have wide hips absolutely go a size up. I typically wear a 4 or a 6 and went with the 6 which I still found myself adjusting around the hips Overall it was a perfect dress for the occasion and I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 26, 2013
Pretty Dress. Nice fabric. Poor fit.
I wore this dress for an outdoor tented dinner event. I usually wear a size 10, but wore a 12 because of the slim hips. The top was very low cut and did not fit quite right - it seemed really wide. I am a C cup. I wore a backless strapless bra with it, but the bra kept showing. I ended up having to wear a wrap over me so no one could see. I am sure this dress probably fits better on others, just not for me. Too bad because its really pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
The print is great
It's a little tight on the hips compared to other dresses by this designer that I've worn but it was great for a graduation dinner with families.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2013
Beautiful dress, I wore my other selection
This dress is a lower cut than the picture shows and if you are busty, might be a difficult squeeze.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2013
Classy!
I orderd this dress for my Kentucky Derby tthemed birthday...it was perfect!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2013
Felt like a Southern Belle!
Paired with a jacket since it was a little cool outside. Was a little low cut, small in the hips, larger up top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 6, 2013
Flirty fun preppy little dress.
I wore this dress under my gown at graduation and couldn't wait to head to dinner with my fiance. It was classy and sweet. I think it would have been perfect for a horse race like Gold Cup, Foxfields or maybe even the Derby.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2013
Adorable!
Perfect for a wine tasting excursion! I wore it with a gold loop necklace. My husband loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I had to wear fashion tape, which felt a little uncomfortable, but the dress was so beautiful that it was worth it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2012
This dress is perfect!
I'm not typically a huge Milly fan, but this dress was a hit. I wore it to a work-related cocktail party and it was great. Even on me at 5'9", the dress hit less than an inch above my knees. It's not as low cut as it looks in the photo, either, so if you're looking for something scandalous, it's not this one. The fabric is beautifully cut and is a thick material that sits perfectly.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2012
Couldn't wear it :(
The bust was way too low cut for me to wear. The fabric is really pretty though and it would otherwise be a fantastic dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2012
Beautiful pattern and classic dress.
I got this dress for my college graduation. It was absolutely stunning on the hanger, but I was disappointed to find out that it was a tad large. I usually get a size up because I have very broad swimmer's shoulders, but this time I didn't need to. I coudn't "fill out" the dress on top and the dress tape I wore faded off and so people could only see the bottom of the dress in the end. I would have worn a smaller size but they were out of the next size down. Should have gone with a different dress... oh well!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 18, 2012
effortlessly beautiful!
wore this to a fraternity formal and felt pretty all night! a little long for my height and needed some adjusting with the deep V, but so worth it and so easy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
Great for a bridesmaid luncheon
This dress is so pretty and the color combo is great for spring. It's cut huge on top but narrow in the waist, a little sticky bra magic though and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 20, 2012
Love!
I felt great in this dress and my boyfriend called me gorgeous! I used fashion tape along the bust line, which I thought was was needed and made me feel 100% comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 19, 2012
Great daytime dress
I wore this to a college graduation and loved the slim fit. The lowcut top did gape a bit if I leaned to far forward, but otherwise it was a great dress. The skirt is definitely narrow, but if you like the fit on non-stretchy pencil skirts, you will like this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 16, 2012
Loved the preppy look and print- received numerous compliments!
very low cut and needed to use fashion tape to secure
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 15, 2012
Perfect rehearsal dinner dress
I wore this for my friend's rehearsal dinner at a country club. It fit perfectly and I felt great in it. One snafu: the fabric was a bit worn around the zipper and it looked like the last renter might have had a bigger bust than mine as I could see wear along where the bust cups meet in the middle. But honestly, I'm being nit-picky. It was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2012
Cute dress but deep V neck
I liked this dress since it was cute a preppy! The two things I didn't like were the deep V and then the length. If it was a bit shorter I would have worn it that night (made me look too short).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2012
I just loved all of it!!!!
Other reviewers are correct, this dress is tight in the waist. I ended up wearing it and loving it though! I wore it for my college matriculation ceremony, and received tons of complements always had to give the true credit to you all! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 22, 2012
i received several compliments on the color!
its a great pattern but ran larger in the chest area and smaller in the hips. The dip in the neckline runs deep and if you wear a darker color pair of underthings-it is noticeable..
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
August 22, 2012
Lovely summer dress
although very low cut. It is elegant and summery. The fabric is great and looks expensive. Will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
Super Chic and Cute!
I rented this dress for an outside engagement party, and it was a great dress for many reasons. One, it was quite comfortable and I was able to dance and move around. Secondly, the pattern really stands out and you'll definitely get noticed at a party. Third, it was perfect for a summer-themed party, and Milly (once again) hit it out of the ballpark. I would highly recommend this dress! And will definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect wedding guest dress!
Beautiful dress! Everyone seemed to love it. Be cautious as the bust area is a strange cut/size. I'm a smaller chested woman and was not able to wear a bra with this due to tightness yet felt like the girls could pop out if I started dancing too much. The fabric has no stretch to it but the cut was so flattering and lady-like. I felt like a true southern belle wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Having my boyfriend tell me I looked incredible.
As it appears in the photo, the skirt will fit snugly, almost like a pencil skirt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 8, 2012
I know the quality of the image sucks, but the dress really did look great.
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit perfectly and if I happened to have a couple hundred dollars lying around, I would totally buy this dress! I wore it to an outdoor wedding...in the middle of the summer...in the middle of the day...on one of the hottest days of the year and, even though I was sweating, you couldn't tell (no sweat marks or anything)! Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 26, 2012
I have 3 weddings, 3 weekends in a row - RTR has literally saved my life!
I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding - great color and detail. Loved the neckline! The only issue I had was that the dress would bunch up at the hips so a lot of pulling down was needed. Overall, very pleased with the rental.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 19, 2012
Not true to Milly Sizing
I regularly wear Milly Dresses and generally wear a size 4 or 6. Based upon the reviews, I ordered it in an 8 and a 10. The 8 was far too small, and the 10 fit, but tightly.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×