Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
497 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size300
Small110
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2016
Beautiful Dress but Fit Was Off
I normally wear a 6 but had to wear the 8. I could tell what people were complaining about with the arms being on the small side. It didn't squeeze my arms in but I couldn't raise my arms above my head without feeling like I could tear the fabric. It's laced beautifully and went right above my knees with wonderful pockets. I wasn't fond of where it comes in at the waist and I'm not sure if it's because my torso isn't the longest (I'm 5'5) but it came in at the widest part of my rib cage which made me appear wider than I am. If it came in at the small of my waist I would have felt it was more flattering. Oh well, it could just be me and my body type that didn't work with it.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2016
Classic and Classy Little Black Dress
The dress fit pretty well, however the sleeves were a bit tight. There is no stretch in the lace. Also, this dress hit a bit above the knee on me and I'm pretty short (I'm 5'1") so I imagine it would hit mid- thigh on someone taller. My 8 dress worked our great but my back up dress had a huge hole in the lace on the sleeve. I lucked out that the size 8 fit but would have been upset if it hadn't given the poor shape of the other dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 13, 2016
Perfect for a formal work occasion!
Elegant, good length for a professional event, and has pockets! Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 1, 2016
Classic & Comfortable
This dress was worn to a fall wedding at 6mo pregnant. I was super comfortable, it fit well-not too tight anywhere, and the pockets are great. I was afraid with lace that it would 1)look too plain and 2) be super worn from lots of rentals, but it was in great shape and the lace detail was actually really beautiful in photographs-though I don't have any to share, haha-it's a great option. I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 29, 2016
Derby Party
Was very flattering and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2016
Perfect for a Gala fundraiser; lots of compliments.
I probably needed the 6, but it wasn't available. The sleeves were TIGHT. I was worried I would rip through them. They have no give. It's a great dress. The V-back is a perfect detail. I'm really happy with my choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 26, 2016
Fabulous and comfortable for wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding for a work associate of my husbands. The arms were a little snug when first put it on. Was able to wear a normal strapless bra and dress had pockets. I loved this dress and would rent again for an event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
May 21, 2016
So many compliments from this beautiful dress!
This was my first experience with RTR and it was phenomenal! This dress made me feel so elegant and beautiful. The lace allowed me to show some skin but stay modest. I wore a size 8 and it fit perfectly everywhere. It was the perfect dress for a school benefit. I will definitely be renting more dresses in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 14, 2016
Adorbs!
I wore it to our kids' school benefit and it was super cute!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 4, 2016
I wore the dress to a wedding and everyone loved the dress!
I ordered both the 6 and 8. The size 6 fit but was a little tight in the arms. I wore the 8 and was able to dance the night away at the wedding I attended. Love the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
April 30, 2016
Elegant "eyelash" lace detail made the dress
The lace arms were a bit tight for me but the dress was so beautiful. I got so many complements. Someone asked if it was a monique lhuillier. I loved the eyelash lace detail at the trim.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 24, 2016
Gorgeous dress and great fit.
Got tons of compliments - the lace was a bit worn on the sleeves, however, with a tear on the right side (barely noticeable to anyone but me, though). A bit shorter than I expected, but it hit mid-thigh as displayed on model. I am just shy of 5'5". Wedding-appropriate and slimming. Looked great in photos.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 24, 2016
This dress made me feel absolutely gorgeous!
As other reviewers posted - it is snug in the arms, but they do stretch eventually. I am usually a size 4 but wore the 6 as the 4 was a little constricting. I received a ton of compliments and loved how this dress fit and it had pockets - always a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
April 20, 2016
The 4 was a little snug in the chest, but the 6 fit me perfectly. Length was great!
Perfect dress for a cocktail affair
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2016
So disappointed I couldn't wear it.
I usually wear a size 2-4 depending on the dress and I had both of those sent to me. Unfortunately the lace on the arms just didn't have any give and I couldn't fit into the sleeves. The rest of the dress could've worked and felt great (albeit tight around the waist). A size 6 I think would've worked fine but it wasn't available at the last minute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2016
3.5 stars/Perfect for the occasion
Arms were very tight! Definitely size up. Got a ton of compliments & my favorite part was the neckline I even went back into the Georgetown store to try to exchange but didn't see anything that I liked enough to switch (also received pretty subpar service). Love RTR overall but this last rental was the least-fun/smooth.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
April 10, 2016
Tight in the arms
I have muscular arms and should have read more reviews. Both the sizes I orders zipped up and looked fine, but I couldn't move my arms at all in either size. Since it was for a wedding where there would be dancing, I opted not to wear it. Just consider a different dress if you have broad shoulders or larger arms!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
April 10, 2016
Got compliments on this dress. Was fairly comfortable.
If you're busty I would go a size up. Also, because of this if you're busty at all the arms will feel tighter too. The length was perfect it hit a few inches above my knee.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2016
I wore this to a small, intimate winter wedding.
This dress fit perfectly! The length and shape absolutely fit like a glove. A lot of times I need to have dresses shortened or taken in at the waist or shoulders, but this dress fit right off of the hanger. I normally run between a size 6 or 8, the size 8 fit great. I was worried that the arms would be tight, as many commented on that, but even the arms were a great length and not too tight at all. It was the perfect dress for an intimate wedding dinner and even worked for the Irish bar after party - I received so many compliments and didn't want to return the dress at the end of the weekend!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2016
Loved it
Cons: arms are fitting, length of dress is a little long for short people. Pros: comfortable dress in the mid section. Cute dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
March 31, 2016
First time renter and SO happy! Love this dress!!!
First time using RTR and so happy! Dress came so quickly and packaged so nicely. Normally wear a 4 and the 4 fits perfectly. Such a beautiful dress, received SO many compliments!! I would definitely order this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
March 23, 2016
I absolutely loved this dress!!! It fit perfectly and I received so many compliments!
The dress fit perfectly and was very comfortable. The arms were a little snug, but it didn't effect the comfort of the dress. It was the perfect length too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2016
Love the lace
It was a great dress. Beautiful back and lace detail. May have been a bit much for a petite person.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
March 9, 2016
Loved this dress. Was something I would not usually wear and was perfect.
Fit true to size. Sleeves were tight but not too uncomfortable.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2016
I wanted to standout as a "star" (this was a premier for an indie movie I did). I feel like I did!
I have a larger rib cage and broader shoulders so it was a tight fit but it worked. I would say that this is a true "New York" 4 and I'm a good "North Carolina" 4! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
March 2, 2016
Wore this to my fiance's work christmas party, got lots of compliments!
Was a bit snug... definitely snug in the arms, and across the chest. Otherwise, great! Was basically
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
February 29, 2016
Great Dress
Got a ton of compliments on this dress! The fit was tighter in the arms. If you are in between sizes, go up a size. Overall this dress was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2016
The lace was gorgeous and was a real statement against the nude underlay.
Very form fitting, not a lot of extra room
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 24, 2016
I wore this dress to an evening wedding in February.
The dress looked gorgeous in photos. I saw the reviews and this was one of the reasons why I chose this dress. And it was truly beautiful. Being a brand new mom, I have some problem areas I am not used to having.. arms, thighs, and mid section. This dress complimented all the right areas. All the reviews are right, the dress is a little snug in the arms and bust section. But the dress does quickly loosens up as you wear it. I originally thought I would be a size 4. But I am so glad I chose to have the 6 as a backup. I ended up wearing the size 6 to be comfortable. ALSO.. the dress has hidden pockets. I love dresses that are beautiful and secretly functional.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2016
Lovely Lace
I wore this dress to an evening wedding in South Florida and received so many compliments on it! I rented a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4. The arms were a little tight, but I didn't feel uncomfortable and it didn't prevent us from dancing the night away. My favorite part of the dress that I didn't realize until the night was almost over....it has pockets! Perfect for your phone and lipstick. I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 48
February 22, 2016
Beautiful Dress - Lots of Compliments!
I wore this to a Flamenco-themed gala fundraiser. It fit perfectly even with my curves and large chest. I received so many compliments. Beautiful!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
Formal work event
Similar to other the posts the dress runs a little small. I wore the size 8. It was very comfortable and I had lots of compliments on the dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
February 21, 2016
Very pretty dress for a winter wedding
I'm 5'9", 140lbs. I ordered the free extra size in a different dress so only ordered an 8 in this one; I suspect a 6 would have worked too. It's really cute, I got a ton of compliments. Pockets are fun too. Wore it to a February wedding so I wore tights under it. It's a little on the short side, I think I would have felt ok without tights at a cocktail party, but not at a wedding, plus the tights made me feel more comfortable on the dance floor in particular. The back is really nice (V back so the top is open). Very comfortable, really pretty neckline. Definitely a good decision!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
February 15, 2016
I wore this dress to my sister-in-law's winter wedding and received TONS of compliments.
The dress was very comfortable- appropriate in length, soft material, and I loved the pockets! The garment I received was quite worn (hole in the arm, fraying lace, etc.), but it wasn't noticeable to anyone other than me. I was very glad to have ordered the size up- this dress definitely runs small, particularly in the arms. The nude lining on the dress has a sweetheart neckline, which made wearing a normal bra a bit difficult. I chose to wear a nude colored bra rather than a strapless and it wasn't noticeable under the lace. Overall- I loved this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 14, 2016
It fit very well. I wore it to a ballet. Sophisticated and sweet
It fits perfectly. Slim fit on the body.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
February 5, 2016
So easy!!! I'll be doing RTR again!
This dress was stunning! It was a little tight in the chest area but it was ok as I went to a rehearsal dinner. Would have been difficult if dancing was involved. The dress was in great shape and I'd rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 1, 2016
Easy ordering, dresses arrived ahead of schedule and were more beautiful in person!
Fit like a glove! I am a little busty and needed the bigger size (8 instead of the 6). The dress was more for a short torso - I am longer in the middle - but it was perfect for my occasion. I wore it to an awards banquet being held my local Chamber of Commerce to honor members who have been nominated. I won for my category and felt like a rockstar in this dress going up to the stage! Nothing bad to say; this was a great convenience and the product ended up being extremely beautiful. The lace detail is very feminine and the material underneath is a perfect shade of gold. The only con to mention, it was a tad shorter than I expected but it still looked amazing and I received many compliments on it! Nobody knew it was a rented dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 20, 2016
Got lots of compliments and made me feel very pretty
The sleeves were tight and the under slip kept coming out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 19, 2016
I wore this for my husband's work holiday party. Very appropriate and pretty.
The arms were a little tight and there is not much room on top if you are busty, but it works. I wore a strapless bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2016
Pretty From A Distance
This dress is lovely, but renters beware! The lace is extremely delicate, do not be surprised if the dress looks tattered or has rips. I usually wear a size 4, I rented the 4 and 6. The four was in pretty good shape but wouldn't even pull up over my arms, the 6 fit perfect but was in poor shape. I have a larger bust, and did not have time to find a strapless bra that would work with the low back, bra less was not the best look for me, and had a uniboob. Overall, I did enjoy wearing the dress to the company cocktail party, it is a gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×