Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

352 reviews

Fit
Small 80
True to Size 245
Large 12
Photos 183
Rachael
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2013

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented an 8 and sized up to a 10 based on the other reviews -- was worried about the fit and the sleeves being too tight. The 8 ended up fitting perfectly! (The 10 was a loose around the waist and not as flattering; also had a small hole in the lace on the left sleeve.) The dress is super comfortable and fits great if you have an hourglass shape like I do. The pleats in the skirt hide everything -- I felt confident enough to go without tights! All in all -- really happy with this dress!
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

The back-up dress ended up being the perfect dress for first formal affair with new beau

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and definitely will be a long term customer now. I had intended to wear a different dress and ordered this one as my back-up. RTR sent me the original dress I ordered in sleeveless rather than with sleeves, which was disappointing, but I'm so glad that I had this one to wear. It went perfectly with the Tie Up Lee Angel necklace, which with the opening in the back of this dress, and the ribbon the necklace, all went together perfectly. I rented this for a March 1 wedding so it was nice to have some sleeves on the dress even if they didn't provide for much warmth! I paired mine with black nylons and black stilettos since here in Michigan, it was still very much winter. I generally fall between a size 10 and a size 12. I could have worn the size 10 but it was a little snug. Luckily, the 12 fit perfectly and left some breathing room. LOVED the pockets too. I received many compliments and proudly told everyone about my RTR experience - made for nice bathroom chatter as many of them spoke about similar experiences. Sending everything back in the prepaid envelopes on Monday was a piece of cake too. Can't wait to try out my next rental slated to be sitting on my doorstep tonight :)
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Lots of compliments in this classic lace dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a charity dinner and received so many compliments from young and old alike. I swing between a 0 and 2 but the 0 was way too tight, but the 2 worked perfectly. Since I wore my hair down I went ahead and wore a black bra underneath instead of going strapless. I paired with gold and black statement earring and gold cuff. Great classy lace dress!
MamaT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

I had a photo shoot and it really complimented my waistline.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit around the rib cage was very snug and fitted, and the arm sleeves were a little snug on top but this could be that I have thicker arms on top too. Overall I loved the dress and I diffinently will rent this classy cocktail dress again! RTR Rocks!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Apr 21, 2014

Even with cowboy boots!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I gave this dress a 4 only because the lace doesn't have much give, and it was snug in my arms. I think if I went a size up it would have been too big. Otherwise.. I loved it so much. I wore this dress on my bachelorette party in Texas, and it even worked with some brown boots!
Bernadette
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 22, 2014

I got so many compliments and felt great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the fit was definitely true to size for me the only slightly tight part was the arms but it was not to the point that it was uncomfortable.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Great Dress for a Wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros - great dress for a wedding and I added a fascinator hat to give it a classy feel. Cons - Im hippy so this dress was not forgiving. I had to wear boy shorts under it to make sure everything was covered if I bend over. Over all I give this dress a B-.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Good for not looking out of place at a fashion show

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit, except the arms! Reviewers were not kidding when they said the arms are small; I almost couldn't get the dress closed because I couldn't pull the sleeves high enough. Still, it was a good length and comfortable otherwise.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 5, 2014

Classy City Chic

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful and perfect for an early-spring wedding with a little chill in the air. The arms were tight, as others have mentioned, but I didn't find them to be overly-constricting. My only issue with the dress was that the lace had clearly seen better days - a lot of fraying and hanging threads along the hem and arms. Still, another satisfying RTR experience!
Susan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2014

When you wear a beautiful dress that fits well, you exude confidence that translates to compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Generally the dress runs true to size, but it is more fitted (snug) through the ribcage. Other reviewers commented that there was no give to the fabric, but I felt that was part of what gave this dress it's lovely structure. The lining was well constructed; the lace, not so delicate that you worried about it (but see note about accessories.) This dress would work well for many body types. It does not require any more embellishment than great earrings and a smooth (so it doesn't snag the lace) cuff bracelet. The v-neckline in the back added some interest. I received many compliments, especially from younger girls (30's), which indicates the dress is appropriate for any age. I also think it could be worn in all but the warmest summer season.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2014

Beautiful, classy dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress for beautiful and fit very well. It runs true to size. It was comfortable all night (even after a big meal!)
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 140 lbs
May 6, 2014

I wore this to my 20 year high school reunion.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. The zipper up the back is a little cheap looking but loved the pockets. It was a very unique twist of the little black dress that everyone had.
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 12, 2014

I wore this dress to chaperon the prom and got so many compliments from my students!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was as great as everyone described. I was glad I ordered the 2 and the 4 because the 2 was a little snug in the bust area. The dress was very comfortable and was great for busting a move on the dance floor. I would definitely order this dress again and I look forward to renting more dresses.
Oneida
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 22, 2014

I loved my dress, it fit perfectly but true to the comments, its tight around the arms

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was in perfect condition, the 4 was too big. The 2 was perfect, the only negative is that I wore to graduation and it was super hott that day and I was melting, its not a dress you want to wear on a hot day.
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
May 23, 2014

Classy Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I decided to try this dress for a recent May wedding (I was a little unsure of how hot or cold the weather would be in NJ since it was still May). I was so happy with my decision! The length was just above the knee and the sleeves were a nice touch to not have to wear a jacket. The weather turned out to be in the low 70's (60's at night) and I was still very comfortable. Everyone said to order the backup a size one up because the sleeves are snug. They were definitely fitted but I would not say uncomfortable (not to mention they loosened up as the night went on). I wish I ordered the 4 as my backup instead because the body of the dress wasn't as fitted as I would have liked. The pockets were great but they almost made my belly look like it was bulging out a little. Other than the few cons, I received a lot of compliments and the dress was a hit! Would def recommend and the whole RTR process was convenient and smooth!
Judi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 25, 2014

Stunning lace number for a Black Tie Gala!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love lace and loved this dress!! It's a little tight in the arms and the lace was a little ripped on one sleeve when it arrived, but it wasn't very noticeable. I got a ton of compliments. I'd order a size up. I did a 4 as my back up and wore the 6, but it was really tight in the arms. However, it was lovely and I felt great. Will definitely order again!!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109 lbs
May 26, 2014

Wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a good friend's wedding. It was classy and pretty, felt great.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress looked great. Fit exactly as expected. The lace arms were flattering (not too tight) and the length was just at the knee...very classy and comfortable.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113 lbs
May 27, 2014

Very Elegant!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to a business cocktail party/dinner. It had just enough coverage to not show any cleavage for the business function and an appropriate length but enough style to make me feel amazing. This dress was awesome!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

I wore this dress to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Man & Woman of the Year Gala.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and received so many compliments. It's the epitome of class. The only complaint I have is that some of the lace was unraveled or torn, probably due to this dress being worn so often.
RTR Customer
Jun 12, 2014

Loved loved loved this dress! What a great fit.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am athletic build and found it a little snug in the arm/shoulder area however it was just a slight annoyance and it never bothered me once I got used to it.
Darcy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Classy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so classy and elegant, perfect for a fall wedding! Also very comfortable.
Cady
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress, and the pockets are awesome!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Honestly, there wasn't too much of a difference between the two sizes, but my shoulders were far more comfortable in the 6 instead of the 4. If you have narrow shoulders and usually wear a 4 then it will be just fine, but if you typically buy sweaters a little larger for the sleeve length and mobility then the 6 is the way to go. Looks great with heels or flats!!
Julia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

I wore this for a Valentine's Day date, and the dress made my evening wonderful.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit ran pretty true to size and was comfortable. The sleeves of the dress were oddly a bit snug, but not uncomfortable, and as the night went on it was not bothersome at all. Just for a little something extra, I tied a white ribbon around the waist and added a red beaded necklace, but tried to keep it simple because it really is a beautiful and delicate-looking dress.
RTR Customer
Jul 7, 2014

The package came on time and was perfect! I got lots of compliments and just loved this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My top was small in size 8 since I have a fuller bust, so I ended up wearing a size up.
Amanda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Jul 16, 2014

Perfect

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments! This was one of the most comfortable dresses I have worn in a while. It is perfect for any occasion!
Zoe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Beautiful dress for a winter wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress for a winter wedding. I love the lace detail and the neckline. Definitely ran true to size, and hit just above the knee on me. (Sorry I didn't have a full length picture).
Tatiana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Classy and easy to wear, got lots of compliments on this dress. A little worn out on the edges

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a classic. It has pockets as a bonus. The lace is is a little worn out by the zipper in the back and around the neck but it is not too noticeable.
Jill
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Loved the dress!! --gorgeous lace and so elegant.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress and the lace was just gorgeous. My first rental, and it was a great experience. The dress was in excellent condition and fit true to size.
Claudia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

This dress is stunning!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I cannot stop thinking about this dress, I felt great in it and received so many compliments. The size 4 gave me a little wiggle room which was perfect for a wedding where there is dancing. I paired it with cluster earrings and black pumps. Be careful when putting on the sleeves since they can get snug, there were some small tears around the armpit area from previous users but nothing too drastic. I would highly recommend this dress!
Nikki
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

This dress was super comfortable! Very elegant!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It was very flattering and very comfortable to wear for 9+ hours. The one and only con is the arms are a little tight and I had limited movement when dancing. Other than that, it was amazing and I would definitely rent it again!
Adrienne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Sep 12, 2014

beautiful dress!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so nice and I got compliments all night. I studied the pictures, but I guess I didn't realize that the back is low, which is really nice since the front is so high. I wore this to a wedding in early September and wasn't too hot with the sleeves. Very pretty dress!!!
Janice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Lovely Lace!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was wonderful for a fall wedding. I felt very pretty and feminine in the black lace. The dress did run a little smaller and was a little snug in the arms. Other than that it was a great fit and I was able to move around and dance all night at the wedding!
Lisa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

Great dress for an event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The arms were a big snug, but I didn't consider it uncomfortable, it just took a while to loosen a bit. The pockets felt high, but fun to have I guess. I didn't actually use them though because they WERE so high and maybe also because the sleeves were snug. The length was great for me at 5'2 for a wedding, so I never worried about it riding up too much. I got a lot of compliments so I consider my first Rent The Runway a success. I've already ordered another dramatic gown for an upcoming photo shoot and I can't wait!
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Sep 23, 2014

Loved the dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little tight in the arms, but a beautiful dress overall!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

Perfect for a winter wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Elegant and flattering. I would have preferred to wear the 4 as it fit me better overall, but it was tight and restricting in the arms. The 6 was a little baggy in the body but at least I could move my arms enough to hug people and dance.
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

Received several compliments. Pretty dress. Fairly comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was a pretty dress. Unique and sophisticated. The top was snug. Very. This made me have to go up a size. And the bottom was a bit full? Just flared a tiny bit. But enough. Wasn't my favorite dress at all, but a good one for the $$. People said it was very pretty! Was a good choice for a church (aka conservative) party.
Elissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

I instantly fell in the love with the pockets on this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my senior homecoming and absolutely loved it! It runs a little small in the arms and bust but other than that it runs true to size.
Lindsay
Age: 29
Oct 1, 2014

My first time renting and I couldn't have been happier with the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was true to size and exactly how the pictures showed it! Was perfect for a New York wedding!
Juliana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Wore this dress to a formal charity gala and it was great.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so fun to wear. I got a lot of compliments. A very chic and elegant choice.
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Lace was beautiful and the dress was well made!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very pretty dress overall. I did find this dress to run a bit small in the bottom half. I am a pear shape, however, so it could just be my body type.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×