Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
528 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(311)
Small
(113)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 25, 2013
Received compliments all night.
LOVED this dress - felt glamorous and received compliments all night. I did have to wear a larger size because of the lace that is attached to the arms and chest area. Normally dresses are too big on me up top because I'm pear shaped, but this dress was the opposite. However, I did truly love this dress and I felt gorgeous in it. I would definitely recommend it to anybody - just order a size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2013
I felt beautiful in this dress. I got compliments all night.
I wore a strapless bra with this dress. It was perfect with the way the way the neckline was in back no one could tell. I was nervous about not being able to move my arms, I was able to dance on the dance floor and throw my hands in the air with no problem! The dress was super easy to zip up, I was actually able to zip myself in it. I wore it with nude tights (i had thought about it with black ones but it just looked better to me with nude). The dress was perfect with a pair of black heels. I got compliments throughout the night. I loved with fit and the way this dress made me feel! One of my favorite dresses ever!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
March 26, 2013
I loved this lace dress.
I received a dozen complements and it fit and felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 30, 2013
Very classy, hubs loved it and I got tons of compliments!
I'm normally between a 6 and an 8 and really couldn't tell much difference between the two sizes in this dress. I wore the 6, and while it was a touch tight through the shoulders (I have broad shoulders) the lace loosened up throughout the evening. I didn't love the dress on as much as I did from the pictures, but as soon as hubs saw me in it he said I looked like a celebrity and everyone else raved about to also, so I'm still happy I rented it. I wore it with gold earrings/clutch and black shoes, but a pair of nude shoes looked cute also. (Doesn't need much with it in my opinion) I also wore a standard bra in nude and you couldn't see it under the lace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 3, 2013
GORGEOUS!!
This dress was amazing! Everyone commented on how beautiful it was! It fit perfectly and the lace is so stunning - I wanted to keep it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 5, 2013
The entire process was so easy! I can't say enough good things about my experience with RTR!
The dress fit perfectly. It hugged me in all the right places and I received so many compliments all night! I order both an 8 and a 10, but the 8 fit so great that I didn't even try the 10 on. This dress was classy and beautiful and I wish I could wear it again!
WinnieAugust 15, 2013
I'm thinking of renting this dress. Are measurements are almost identical except you are an inch taller than me and it looks great on you. Any suggestions on bras? Did you wear a standard bra or strapless? just wondering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
April 10, 2013
Pretty, classy dress for a winter wedding
This dress is adorable and flattering, with a bit more coverage (lace sleeves, medium length) which is great if it is wintertime or if you want to hide any trouble areas. The black lace is sexy but classy and actually pretty comfortable. Would be tough to wear with a necklace (bc of snagging) but otherwise very versatile and could be dressed up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2013
So, so pretty
This looked amazing. I haven't felt this pretty in a dress in ages. The fabric is a little stiff, so I don't think it would be ideal for dancing, but this dress is sick. It is perfect for a date.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2013
The process couldn't be easier and the dresses couldn't have been more perfect for the event!
My shoulders are a littler bigger than most (ex-gymnast and swimmer), so the dress was a little tight in my shoulder area at first, but the lace began to stretch out/breathe a little and was perfect. I received several compliments at the wedding, at the after-party, and from friends and family on Facebook/Instagram after our photos were posted!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 11, 2013
Felt like Kate Middleton
I'm a 4/6 in dresses. The 4 fit perfect except for the sleeves, which run incredibly small (and I had read about that in other reviews). The 6 still fit great and was perfect in the arms, so I decided to go with that. I felt absolutely stunning in this and was even told I looked like Kate Middleton - what a compliment!! RTR never fails to make you feel like a million bucks. I would definitely rent this dress again - it's the perfect blend of sexy and sophisticated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 12, 2013
Fit small
I rented this dress and a backup, but I didn't end up wearing it. I'm a 4 to a 6 in most clothes - rented a 6 and could not zip it up. My rib cage is too wide - I would have needed an 8. Pretty dress. I did not have the tight sleeve issue others wrote about. Loved the pockets.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 14, 2013
Beautiful dress - would rent it again!
Loved this dress - and got tons of compliments. I wore a regular black bra (not strapless) underneath and it was fine - I don't think a strapless bra is necessary with this dress (maybe if it's a daytime function and you're picky about anyone possibly noticing a strap).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 60
Body type: Petite
May 15, 2013
Surprised mom with this dress and she loved it! :)
Luckily I know her body type pretty well...picked this dress out for her, and it fit her like a glove! She absolutely loved it. She'd never heard of RTR before, and now I think she's going to use it all the time. She didn't want to send it back! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2013
Great dress - classy and beautiful
I wore this to a formal work event. A number of the women were wearing lace dresses, but this one really stood out. I received a ton of compliments and felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
June 9, 2013
Such a pretty, conservative, vintage-looking dress!
This dress is beautiful, flattering, and fit very well. The deep V in the back is so pretty, but the zipper is very large and conspicuous! In fact, it was a little uncomfortable pressing into my back while driving. Plan to wear a strapless bra with this dress! Since my dress arrived a day late, I didn't have it the night before at my home and instead it was brought to my event. I couldn't properly plan my outfit and ended up wearing a nude bra which showed through the lace but was only visible if you were really looking for it. Though the dress does have sleeves, the sleeves are not lined so it would still work and be cool in the summer!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
June 11, 2013
I thought dress runs a little small through the arms, but beautiful!
I loved the dress but again, thought it was a little small in the arms and shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2013
OMG LOVED this dress! It fit like a glove...a really sexy one :).
I ordered a six and four. I'm a busty curvy six in most sizes and while the four fit, the six was what I wore because I have a large bust (34g). Very flattering, very elegant. I would not only rent it again....I'd buy it in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
June 23, 2013
Sexy, sophisticated & class all at the same time!
I LOOOOOVED this dress!!!! I wore this to a residents' graduation dinner and I was the photographer. It was perfect for the occasion and comfortable! I loved the details and the fit. I didn't want to take the dress off! I wore it around the house for an extra 2 hours when I got home. I have never felt so confident and beautiful in a dress before! I received many compliments from everyone! Some of the physicians I know (and work with) walked right by me because they didn't recognize me looking so dressed up! I would love to rent this dress again, but maybe will try the teal colored one next time. Definitely rent this dress! It compliments well. There was a hole in the lace on the arm and I called RTR and they took care of things. I am between a 6 and 8, read that this dress runs large or true to size, so I went with the 8 and it fit perfectly. ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 24, 2013
The lace was beautiful!! So many compliments at the wedding!
I needed to size up because the dress was a bit tight through the chest.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
June 25, 2013
I enjoyed the easy of picking out the dress and the many selections
As stated by others who have worn the dress the arms are tight, but get lose as you wear it. I did have a whole in the lace but no one noticed by me (I hope)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
July 2, 2013
A bit too tight, but a beautiful dress.
The dress is beautiful and although I liked it, I just wasn't comfortable in it - either size - so I returned it. I will try again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 11, 2013
Awesome dress, loads of compliments
I wore this to a wedding with my 5 month post baby bod. I still have a bit of a belly, but this dress didn't show that at all. Super flattering, not too short and the sleeves were snug but nothing that would interefere with amazing dance skills.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2013
This dress was a perfect fit! It was classy and sleek, and so comfortable, even for a summer wedding
This was my second time using RTR. The best part was the customer service. I received the dress two days before the event, but unfortunately, both sizes were just a bit too big. I immediately e-mailed RTR to see if it was possible to get a size down in time for the event. I received a response right away, even though it was after hours, and they were more than willing to make sure I would get the size I needed. Because the wedding I was attending was out of town, the dress wasn't going to arrive to my house in time. Instead, RTR shipped it straight to the hotel where I was staying, and it arrived by 9 AM the day of the wedding! The dress fit perfectly, and the whole rental process went smoothly. The stylist I corresponded with, Janna, was beyond helpful. Based on the fantastic customer service I received, I will DEFINITELY be using RTR again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2013
Didn't get to wear it. Customer Service was great regarding the refund!
Didn't get to wear it. Customer Service was great regarding the refund!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2013
Super customer service
Rented for a formal dinner during a girl's weekend. Cute dress. Lace is unbelievable. Really pretty neckline. If you are hippy like me it's not the most flattering cut because the waist is pretty high, but the dress is so pretty it doesn't even matter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2013
So many praises with this dress, would love to buy it if it ever went on sale!
Absolutely loved this dress, I would agree with the other reviewers that the arms run a little small on this dress, but overall it worked out perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 29, 2013
Beautiful and Classy Dress
I wore this dress to a work gala in April. I wanted something that was young but still classy and professional at the same time - this dress did not disappoint! I ordered the 6 and the 8, because I can usually size down if the hip has a bit of flare to it. I ended up wearing the 8 though. The dress fit beautifully. If I had to pick again, I would choose to order the 8 and the 10, just to see how the 10 fit. I received so many compliments. I wish I could buy this dress!
ElizabethSeptember 12, 2013
was this short in the torso?
VictoriaSeptember 13, 2013
Maybe a little, but it didn't look weird. I have a fairly long torso too. Sizing up might help with that, if you are concerned about it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 2, 2013
Beautiful lace dress, very elegant
Love this dress. Perfect for smaller on top pear girls, as there is definitely room in the skirt (although no stretch up top or in the arms, really). Felt very elegant and classic in the dress, pair with nude or black pumps. Somewhat movement-restricting, but worth it for a more formal, cooler weather event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 3, 2013
Classy evening dress!
I loved this dress. I wore it to a gala event and felt great all night. It's very flattering for the not so perfect tummy areas! I added a thick black ribbon with a flower on it and it seemed to help complete the dress. I would rent again for a similar occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2013
lots of complements
bracelets are all you need
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2013
Perfect dress.
Beautiful dress, elegant bateau neckline (consider wearing your hair up to show it off). I wore this to a wedding and felt great in it. I like that the waist is high and thus somewhat forgiving on a pear shaped body. Be aware, though, that the lace is delicate and the there were a few stray threads at the neckline --it wasn't apparent to me whether that was how it was designed (part of lace pattern) or if thread was unraveling from overuse. Other reviewers are right about the top fit -- I have fairly petite upper body frame,but the fit through shoulders and upper arms was fairly tight -- once the dress was on though, the tight fit up top was flattering. Also, the seams in the model's picture are covered by her arms -- just FYI that the seams run down the outside of your hips and legs (only a centimeter or so) which can make one's thighs and hips appear a tiny bit wider than they are; however, I soon discovered why the seams were so awkwardly placed -- this dress has pockets. POCKETS!! Amazing. I plan to rent it again for another wedding event. If you are on the fence, I say go for it.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 20, 2013
I received soo many compliments about the dress! The lace detailing was beautiful!
The arms were a little snug, not tight, but like most reviews it loosened up quickly. The ribcage was where I found much tighter than expected. Once I got the zipper up it felt fine. Everything was gorgeous about this dress except for the industrial silver zipper on the back (on both sizes I got). It was a little, only a little, disappointing that such a beautiful dress had such a fugly zipper on the back, and it was silver so it stood out. I would have preferred to see a black zipper. I just made sure pictures were taken from the front.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2013
Beautiful In Theory
I ordered this dress as a backup option for a formal celebration. Unfortunately, the first option did not suit me; and neither did this one. The dress is quite pretty however, it just did fit very well. It fit very loose in some areas and wsa tight in others. This may work well for someone that has a more narrow shaped body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2013
SERIOUSLY AMAZING DRESS! Subtly sexy; compliments all night! Note: worn 12 weeks pregnant.
Please note that I was 12 weeks pregnant when I wore this dress so I'm slightly larger up top and in the belly than normal. I ordered a 6 and a 8, and wore the 8 for this reason. The overall fit was great! Arms are a bit snug if you have less than toned arms but not a big issue. You can even zip yourself. My mom and sister-in-law liked it so much they are considering renting for weddings in October. My sister-in-law tried on the size 8 after I wore it and that fit pretty well (she's curvier than me - 34D, hourglass figure, and 5'8"). My mom tried on the 6 and that was a little big on her, but not much (she's 5'1", 105 lbs, 34C, and very petite). A MUST RENT! SO AMAZING!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
September 25, 2013
Just a beautiful dress overall. Loved the back.
The arms were a little tight at first, but seemed to loosen up quickly. I received so many compliments from people of all ages.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2013
Received many compliments.
I could have worn either the 6 or the 4, but the 4 was more fitting and I liked that look much better. I never have any problems with arm size, so I was surprised that the arms on this dress were very tight. The lace did not give at all, which probably explains the one issue I did have with the dress. When I actually put the dress one, the satin lining underneath the lace hung lower than the lace in the front of the dress. It appeared that previous wearers were tugging at the dress and it only affected the lining. I called Rent the Runway, however, they were out of the size 4. This dress would have been 5 stars had it not been for the lining issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2013
Lovely, classic dress. Could be worn for so many occasions!
I was stuck between the 10 and the 12. The 10 fit me on the bottom but my shoulders were too wide for the top. The 12 fit me on top but was very loose on the bottom. I ended up wearing another dress I'd rented. Overall, the dress is beautiful and has amazing detail. I didn't realize the silver zipper in the back, which I wasn't a huge fan of. I'd take note of that when you're thinking about ordering this and if it matches the style you're trying to execute.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 7, 2013
The arrival of the dress was incredible, Rent The Runway did a GREAT job with the shipment.
I am 5'8, 34C and fit into either a size 4 or size 2 dress, depending on the cut and my weight . I ordered a size 4 and it was perfect in the top, ,but the cut at the bottom was loose-- and was a little bulky-- but the dress was SUPER comfy, and it has pockets. I loved the neckline. 1st time trying RTR and I am HOOKED. I will use the service again. Thank you RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 8, 2013
Beautiful dress! I did not want to return it.
The dress was so beautiful in person, the picture does not do it justice. I usually wear a 4 and couldve worn the 4, but was very fitted and I knew I would stuff myself at the wedding, so I went with the 6. Received compliments all night. I loved everything about the dress. The length was perfect, came right above my knee. The dress was very appropriate for the occasion. Very elegant, but at the same time, sexy! Wish I could've kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 9, 2013
I received many compliments! Beautiful Dress!
The dress was stunning except it had more wear to it than I would like. There was a hole in the right arm that ended up being more noticeable than I was comfortable with. The earrings I had ordered had also come to me broken. I sent RTR an email and they let me know today they will be taking care of everything. This was my second RTR experience and so far the company has been incredible to deal with. The dress was gorgeous and had a comfortable fit. I am larger in the hips and behind and this dress fit perfectly. It also wasn't too long which seems to happen often when I get a size that fits my lower half. I wore it with a pair of red shoes for a pop of color. The best part of the dress was it didn't require a lot of accessorizing with all the lace detail.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×