Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Spread Like Wildfire Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this fierce style by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka when you go out with your girlfriends. All eyes will be on you in this showstopper! Pair with accessories like the Kate Spade Flicker Gold Monette Clutch, Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set, and Gerard Yosca's Delicate Azure Drop Earring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Orange crepe(100% polyester). Surplice neckline. Flutter sleeves. Draped skirt. Rope belt at waist. Back buttons. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

166 reviews

Fit
Small 124
True to Size 36
Large 4
Photos 48
Kaylan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

The color rocked.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fun to wear. Wore it to a wedding and it was perfect. The dress is pretty tight around your bum, but flattering overall. The buttons down the back are an elegant touch. I used to the fashion tape RTR sent with the dress because the v-neck slips open. Overall, great dress was not disappointed.
Rach
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 26, 2012

Beautiful, but small

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Love the style and color, but the bottom half of the dress is TEENY! I am petite and have never had trouble with a size 0, but there was no way I could sit in this dress. And for the bottom being so small, the top was almost too big. Sent it back and wore something I already owned.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Weird fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
For you ladies with any sort of booty, this is not the dress for you. It's a beautiful color and the top looks great but the bottom of the dress, specifically the slip, is very tight and made the dress unwearable for me. Would work great for ladies with a straighter shape.
Nancy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

Fabulous dress! I give it a 5 star rating - perfect for a party, a wedding, or a night out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my 30th birthday party and received so many compliments. The color is more orange than red. The dress runs a little small in the hip/butt area and is pretty sheer so you will need to wear nude undergarments, but is very comfortable. The gold belt is attached so no worries about it moving around. I recommend gold jewelry and shoes!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Gorgeous dress, fabulous color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was SO pretty but it was big on top (for my small chest) and tight on the bottom. I had to use fashion tape to keep to top in place.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

ran quite small around the hips. I could not sit down.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I recommend if you have normal to large hips to go up one size and up two sizes for your back up. It was short and I was unable to sit down in a size 10 (I normally wear an 8). Sadly, I could not wear this dress to my event.
Cate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

Snug on the hips, but looks great on

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is lovely and classy - if you can get it on. I am almost always a 4, sometimes a 2, and it was a struggle to get it over my hips (even more of a struggle to get it off). Literally spent 15 minutes in the bathroom wiggling into it. Once it was on, though, it wasn't too uncomfortable and it looked great. The color is really unique, though a little more orange than in the photo, and the attached belt type thing looks great on hourglass figures.
Shivime
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

I looked like a model :-)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little tight around the hip area and a little loose on the chest. I had to wear a white top underneath. The dress looked beautiful though and ppl complimented my look and the dress throughout the party.
Noel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Nov 24, 2012

beautiful color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
it was a great dress, ran small around the hips, but I got so many compliments all night on it!
Sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Nov 27, 2012

Cute dress, but too short for me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is cute and well made. A great color. Unfortunantly, it was too short to wear :(
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Having a new unique dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Great dress! It looked great and was perfect for the daytime wedding shower that I wore it to. I got a 6 and an 8. I am usually a perfect 6, but had to wear the eight because it was VERY snug in the hips even though I have pretty narrow hips. I suggest getting a size up - the eight was perfect. I had to use double stick tape and a safety pin for the low neckline, but only because it was a conservative party. I would definitely rent this dress again and recommend it.
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

Loved this dress and its color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Ran small - I have a smaller waist and a larger backside so my normal size 2 was too snug. A 4 would have worked!
KS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

Didn't end up wearing it but such a CUTE dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
A 6 wasn't available and the 4 was just a little too tight around my hips and legs to wear. It was a big disappointment because the dress really was gorgeous. Beautiful color and the gold belt is a great, small accent that pulls the dress in nicely. Maybe I will be able to rent this again one day!
Kate A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Though this didn't fit, I appreciated that RTR rush shipped a third size to me at no charge.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have a curvy shape and rented this in a 6, 8 and 10 for a formal wedding and none of them fit. The six was too small overall, the 8 fit my top but was a little snug on the hips and thighs, and the 10 was too baggy up top while fitting everywhere else.
Mairin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 1, 2013

Very tight through the waist and very low cut!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I thought the color and material of this dress were very pretty. With that said, the belt was glued/sewn to the mid section making it very difficult to get over my waist. It was also very very revealing in the bosom because of the cut. I used the double sided tape, but the hole ensemble kind of looked a bit too short on me. I'm 5'5" and this fell a lot shorted on the legs on me than it did on the model. I didn't end up wearing it and had to go out and buy a new dress because I felt like if I bent over slightly my bottom would be exposed and if I leaned over my whole chest would be revealed. This would work well on someone who has a shorted torso than I do and maybe shorter legs.
jv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

Very pretty, vibrant dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very cute dress, but if you have a butt at all, size up and up. I usually wear a 0, and in this dress, even 2 was slightly tighter around my bottom than I would have liked - and this has never been a problem before. Also, it's cut lower than in the picture, so have a pin ready if you don't want to show too much cleavage. The dress is probably best for those with straight or apple shape bodies.
anjail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 19, 2013

This dress is very pretty and feminine, however it ran small in the hips.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you're smaller on top and curvy at the bottom, you may want to try to go a size up. I wasn't able to wear this dress because of this but it is so pretty that I just might try it again this summer!
Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 23, 2013

Beautiful dress, bit of an odd fit.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The top hung more loosely than I expected and the waist/bottom was tighter than expected. I have rented quite a few times and never had a problem so I think it's just an awkward sizing.
LeenO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Ordered two sizes up and it still didnt fit, its the lining. My friend is a size 6 and she couldnt fit into the 8.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 144 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

A little tight, but still a great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! Everyone else is right, the lower half of this dress is EXTREMELY narrow. The underlayer felt very tight, however it was not noticeable due to the flowy nature of the top layer of the dress. The v-neck is very split, but with the help of some fabric tape didn't cause any problems. All in all, it worked out well and I got many compliments!
meghan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 15, 2013

Beautiful dress...a little too revealing for a work function.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The color was absolutely beautiful....however, the top part is very low cut. I tried fashion tape, but it didn't work for me. I wasn't able to wear it ...I felt too exposed.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Had an awesome Valentines Day feeling confident in red!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I am fairly busty, dress ran small in the hips and large in the top.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

This dress isn't made for curvy girls :-(

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I normally wear an 8-10, and this dress was snug on my hips and ended up being a little too short and a little too low-cut for me to love. The material and color were fantastic, but it wasn't made for girls with big hips!
Gabriela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Great dress, flattering, comfy if you order the correct size! Was having too much fun for pictures!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I tried it on in the warehouse so I knew it ran a little small in the bottom area, its a little too short for spanx but if you get the right size you don't need them. I usually wear a 4 or 6, and wore an 8 in this just because the 6 was slightly too tight in the legs and I wanted to be able to sit comfortably. The front is not super low but is loose so I used fashion tape to close it up a little bit. Also some of the snaps in the back were broken and wouldn't snap but there is a zipper so it wasn't absolutely necessary to snap them. Overall I loved it!
Charlotte
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 12, 2013

Super small underskirt

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I loved the look of this dress, but beware - the underskirt is super tight, even though it doesn't look that way in the photos. I ordered my usual sizes but even the bigger one did not come close to fitting. They were TINY.
Kara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 13, 2013

Perfectly pretty

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for an outdoor fall wedding. It was a perfect choice for something simple, classy and feminine. The top runs a bit loose and I ended up having to tape some of the deep V closed. The back was also a little bit wonky where the belt section hits the zipper. But overall, I thought it was fantastic and would definitely get this again.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Runs REALLY SMALL!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
While I had read reviews prior to renting this dress I was shocked by how small it ran, I couldn't even get it on (the bottom is super tight). I had a friend who wears a size smaller try it on and she also could barely get it on. If you have any sort of hips or thighs you would have to order at least 2 sizes up for this dress to work. The material on the bottom is also really sheer so you could definitely see through it. That said, it is a great color, the faux little buttons are cute and the gold belt dresses it up.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

Loved it. Very sexy and stylish on!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Underlayer fits snug and be prepared to wear fashion tape for the neckline. It's way low
LJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

Great color and style, this is a gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
When I took this dress out of the garment bag, I thought, this is nice......but it wasn't until I put the dress on that I realized how flattering it really was. I wasn't able to wear the dress, the cut is definitely for someone more straight and narrow. If you are a bit curvy and have a little extra bum, this may not be the dress for you, perhaps a larger size would work.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

I loved this dress and thought it would have been super cute...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
for the occasion, however, believe what people say when it runs small through the hips. I wear a size 8 pant and most times a size 8 in dresses but I sized up and it still wasn't big enough. Between my hips and butt it wasn't going to work. Good thing I had a back up dress!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 1, 2013

More fitted than it looks

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I got this dress as an alternative to my order. The underlayer is actually pretty fitted so it was difficult to put on and was too tight for me to wear. Love the button detail on the back though! Would order up a size next time.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 7, 2013

Great color, tight on hips

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is not for a curvy girl. While the top had plenty of room for the girls, the lower half was VERY small and not wearable for an hourglass figure. It was also missing details and needed repair (zipper, belt, etc).
Kelly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 9, 2013

The dress arrived right on time and the return was so easy! Can't wait to rent again!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Like most of the reviews mention, the dress was a little snug in the hips, and a little loose up top. I'd recommend renting a size up and just using a safety pin or fashion tape. With these easy adjustments, the dress fit great and was comfortable. I didn't notice it before it arrived, but there are buttons up the back of the dress...they're a simple and classy addition! This was my first RTR experience and I can't wait to rent again soon. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 10, 2013

Turned Heads all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a beautiful dress for a stagette. I put runs small just because the gold band and hips were a alittle snug, but the bust was a little big.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 13, 2013

Beautiful color and cut.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful! I ordered this as a back up and did not end up wearing it, but it was gorgeous. Not as formal as some of the other dresses, but great for a rehearsal dinner. Pairs perfectly with the Kate Spade gold clutch from RTR. The only thing is if you are my height and plan on wearing heels, don't plan on leaning or bending over - it was a bit short.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Beautiful dress but it runs EXTREMELY small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and was very excited to wear it! It is a beautiful dress and the color is shown as it is in person. Unfortunately, only the size 2 was available and it was impossibly small. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the lining of the size 2 was so small I couldn't get it over my knees! I was very disappointed since it would have been PERFECT for my event. I might try to rent it again but honestly would order up to a size 6 or maybe even an 8 as a backup.
SC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Even better in person!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well, the belt is such a great touch! Color is even better in person. Recommend some double stick tape to keep the dress from popping open at the bust. A tad short for my height but overall I loved this dress. Lots of compliments! Wish I took a full length pic to post, if you rent this you won't be disappointed!
Nikki
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

n/a

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented both a 0 and a 2. The bottom portion was incredibly tight, and the top was super loose. I just pinned it, and that definitely did the trick. The bigger issue was that the size 2 that came was actually tighter than the 0, which was frustrating. Not sure if it was just a flawed dress, but the 2 definitely wouldn't even fit over my legs. Overall, though, got compliments all night and a beautiful dress
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

LOVED THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not want to send this dress back! I wore it to a dinner/cocktail hour and received the most compliments! Fits snug, just right, although I did have to use fashion tape to secure the front. You also definitely need to wear sticky boobs (I had to put them backwards because the clip in the middle would show if I put them on the correct way). Beautiful color, great material. Awesome dress. One of my favorites I've rented.
Danielle
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Jun 23, 2013

beautiful dress i wish i could have worn it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I should have listened to the reviews and ordered up. The top was fine, in fact I might have needed fabric tape to keep all in place because it hangs kind of loose, but the bottom part right around the hip line across the butt it was too tight. I might have been able to get away with it but it just really didn't look right.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×