Shimmy It Mini

$76 to buy
$360 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
191 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 29, 2010
Dress is awesome. It's low cut on the front, more than it shows on this picture. The length was great for me. I am 5"0 and it hit me above the knee. Felt like a million bucks in it. LOVED it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2010
Absolutely love this dress really do think I am going to find it and buy!! Wore it for my bachelorette party and looked stunning the length was perfect and wore it with peep toe black patent leather platforms and a patent black clutch no jewelry(the dress was enough).Highly recomend if you want to stand out
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2010
This is really cute and fun! Unfortunately my hips are a little to wide to pull this off since I have a skinny waiste. I looked like a tree truck since this just hangs and is not at all form fitting. I may try this again for a fun night out in AC or Vegas or my 30th Birthday! Hit at my mid thigh. Felt true to size. All in all this dress is constructed wonderfully and great for the rental price!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 10, 2010
Im 15 and i wore this to my homecoming and i loved it! it was perfect! the color is perfect and the sequins are different from normal. it looks sort of stiff in the picture but it isn't at all. i got tons of compliments and i felt amazing. make sure you wear your hair up to show off the razorback!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
October 25, 2010
This dress was fantastic! Like someone else said, the sequins scratched my arms for a bit, but I forgot about that pretty fast. The sequins are shaped differently and the back is really cool. It is a little low cut. But still, I got so many compliments, it looks great in pictures!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2010
I loved this dress!!!! It did drape on my body as it does on the model but it accentuated my curves well. I usually wear a medium but the Large fit in this style.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2010
I love this dress! It wasn't as fitted in the waist as I was hoping, but it was comfortable and the back and length are too cute. With a small chest, it can also feel very low-cut, but I got tons of compliments wearing it, and it was totally appropriate for a place like LV!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
December 21, 2010
Beautiful dress! If you have a bit to cover up in your midsection (like me!) this works like a charm. Flattering and eye-catching!
Absolutely fabulous! I wore this dress to a local bachelorette event and received tons of compliments. I'm a fair-skinned red head, so the blue looked fabulous with my coloring. Fit wise, it was perfect. The mid-section is loose enough to not feel self-conscious, but tight enough highlight your shape. Pair it with killer heels and great earrings, and hit the town!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 8
Body type: Petite
December 23, 2010
You will get 100 compliments on this dress. Totally fun, sexy, and sparkly. But not slutty. Very cute on, flattering, and fits perfectly and always flattering. Awesome for parties and nights out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2011
I took this dress to Vegas and got so many compliments. A little on the short side even on me... but it was definitely a fun dress! True to size but not exactly form-fitting. Can be a little potato-sacky on some I could see. Low cut in the front. Overall - an ultimate party dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
January 12, 2011
I rented this dress in the xsmall and small and ended up wearing the xsmall bc it was cuter shorter...I also added a skinny black belt and it was perfect! I have a large chest and was able to wear a regular racer back bra to support the girls! Definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
February 24, 2011
I'm 102 lbs and the XS small was too big for me. And it's long just half an inch above the knee. Wish there were more dresses for short girls like me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 26, 2011
I loved this dress! I wore it in Vegas and it was perfect. I am very short and it was the perfect short length. I am also very big busted with a curvy athletic figure and it hugged my cureves perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
March 4, 2011
This dress is unvelievable. I got it for my Vegas trip... I am 5'6" 145lbs, 36 D, ordered a M which looks stunning but a bit on the short side, and got a L to go with it... L fits pretty much the same in the bust and waist but is a few inches longer. I love the shortness but I pretty much can't bend over, sit down, or raise my arms :) Anyways, it is so much fun, a little darker than in the photo. ULTRA comfortable! 5 star recommendation for sure.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 6, 2011
I, like most people, rented this dress for a girl's weekend in Vegas. It was quite short on me, but it worked for there. The color is darker than in the photo, but I got plenty of compliments on it. Love!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 3, 2011
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party. I received so many compliments on it, and I felt extra special wearing it. The sequins were a little scratchy as they rubbed against the inside of my arms, but that was hardly an issue. The mini length was just right- not too vulgar but short enough to be daring. I wore this dress with a pair of nude high heels and felt amazing the whole night. Loved it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
April 4, 2011
I loved this dress! It was fun and made me feel like a movie star! I got a lot of looks and compliments. It's a looser fit though, so if your going for something tight this isn't a good choice.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 14, 2011
This dress was hard to wear a bra with. I did not LOVE it yet I still wore it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
May 16, 2011
Awesome dress!! I wore it to a wedding and got a TON of compliments & felt amazing the entire night. It does fit lower in the front - I think it more due to the slick fabric lining than the actual cut of the dress. I added a few pieces of double-stick fashion tape to help keep the dress in place and it worked perfectly. Great fit in the bust area - a little looser than I would have preferred through the waist/hips but still a flattering cut.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 12, 2011
Loved this dress! I wore it out for a bachelorette party and it was perfect. I cinched in the waist a little with a black ribbon and it gave the perfect definition. Loved it so much I was sad to send it back!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 19, 2011
Phenomenal dress! I'm pretty tall and curvy and needed to size up for length, but the dress was a show-stopper for sure!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2011
FAB dress! I was going to a NY Yankee themed wedding and the dress was the perfect shade of navy. I received many compliments and it fit very well. I got both the XS and the S, I found that the XS was a bit short on me. I definitely recommend this dress for any fun occasion, I want to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2011
LOVED this dress! I'm 5'6 and 120 lbs and the XS fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
August 27, 2011
I thought this ran a little big, I rented the 6 and am a 36 D and it was a bit too large... the color was more royal blue than it looks here in the picture, not as dark and the rectangle sequins poked my arms so much between that and the fact that I thought it was a bit baggy, I ended up not wearing the dress at all :-(
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2011
This dress is so much fun! I normally wear a medium, but the small fit well. It is not fitted, but is short enough that it doesn't look like a sack. Sequins are a bit scratchy on the side seams, but honestly I didn't notice because I was having so much fun! The lining is a bit slippery, so I recommend a bit of fashion tape to keep the neckline and sides in place. It's stretchy, so will accommodate a variety of figures. The rectangular sequins look very cool, you will definitely stand out! The name of this dress says it all--when you have it on, you can't help but shimmy it all night!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
August 31, 2011
Front is super low, I wore a small but probably could have worn a x-small because of how low cut the front was. Otherwise this dress was fabulous!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2011
So fun! I felt like a star(:
I loved this Dress! i got so many complements and it was so much fun to wear:) I got the XS and S. The Small was huge and thats what i normally fit into because i have a full bust but the XS fit almost perfect :)the sides were just a little big but over all it was great. I highly recommend this dress but if your REALLY tinny then don't get it because it runs pretty big.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
October 17, 2011
This is a GREAT dress! Like most other people, I rented it for a weekend in Vegas and got so many compliments on it! It was a tad long for my liking (but then again, I go for micro minis) but it looked fabulous and not too long at all with heels. The one thing to look out for is that the sequins scratched the underside of my arm a bit when I put my arms by my side, but even that wasn't too big of an issue. Overall, a fabulous dress!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2011
It was a original dress. I felt good knowing that I would stand out.
I loved this dress. The minute I slipped it on I felt gorgeous. I wore this to homecoming and I loved being the only girl wearing that dress. Rent The Runway is a great place to get a unique dress. It was also really comfortable. I didn't worry about it riding up or sliding down. I didn't even notice the sequins scratching my arms. Definetly rent this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 13, 2011
Fun, flirty dress
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi formal and it was so much fun! It was a last minute decision and there weren't a lot of dresses left to choose from, but I am so glad this dress was there. I'm usually a small but the XS fit perfeclty! I'm 5'2" so this short dress showed off my legs and the sequins were just so much fun! The sequins were a little itchy under my arms, but everyone loved it and I looked great. Perfect for a fun night out.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 22, 2011
LOVED IT!!!
Wore it to a wedding. Fit perfectly, not a lot of difference between the XS and S. Was flattering and so comfortable. Will get it again! Would love to have this in my closet all the time, would wear it over and over. How can I get it when/if you retire it???
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2011
Birthday Party
I wore this dress for my Viva Las Vegas themed bday party and it was perfect! Only available in the XS at the time- was a bit nervous b/c I'm usually between a 2 and 4. Fit of the XS was just right! It was a cooler night in Oct, so I wore black tights and heels- super cute! Had a great celebration and would def recommend this to anyone in need of a little sequin in their life ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2011
Fantastic party dress
This is another beautiful RTR dress...the name of the dress suits it perfectly, as the sequins used are not the typical round sequins, and they affect how the dress moves. This dress is definitely made for dancing! I got the XS and S, and while both fit, the XS was a bit too short. The S was also less fitted, but since the dress is on the shorter side, I think this was more flattering. The interior material of the dress is silky and very comfortable; I did not have any problems with the sequins scratching my skin. I got more compliments on this dress than anything I've ever worn; this is a dress I would definitely add to my own closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2012
Fun Sequence Dress!
Wore a size small, was torn between the XS and S, but decided I would rather have it less fitted. Loved the dress, wore it for New Year's eve and it was perfect for the occasion! Only complaint was slightly scratchy under the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 28, 2012
This dress was great and random people all over Vegas complimented me on it! =)
I rented this dress for my birthday in Vegas and it was perfect!! I got both the small and medium sizes because I didn't know which would work out better; I'm usually a 4 or a 6. The medium was a little loose at the top but it was longer than the small. The small fit better on the top, it was still a tad loose but I used fashion tape, but it was definitely short. I didn't have a problem with it, but some might. You can sit in the dress, but again it is short so just be ready for it! Haha. Also, if your arms are by your side a lot, the sequins may rub a little on the underside of your arm. Overall it was so perfect for Vegas!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2012
sparkly and fun
I rented this for a bachelorette party. The dress is forgiving enough that you can have dinner but it is still short enough to go out in. I liked the racer back and the sparkles were not scratchy at all. There were a few sequins missing here and there, but someone would have to get quite close to notice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2012
Amazing Dress
I received so many compliments on this dress...It was a huge hit. Order it. I promos you will feel glamorous in it...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2012
It was great getting two sizes because of the shorter length! I ordered it last minute and it came right on time
I wore this dress to my sorority spring formal and absolutely loved it! It was so comfortable and sexy. Definitely got a ton of complements and it photographed well. Runs a little on the shorter side but looked great with black pumps!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
Feeling like a million bucks on a budget I can afford!
I wore this dress for my engagement photos and absolutely loved it! The length and overall fit were perfect (I'm 5'3" and about 120). It's sassy but smart. The photographer fell in love with the dress and the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 18, 2012
Fun night out in Vegas.
It was a little baggy on me, which is fine- but it would kind of fall down in front and show my bra from time to time (but it probably would not do this on someone with bigger boobs). It is short, I don't think a smaller size would have covered enough. I absolutely do not regret getting this dress- it was a fun dress to wear around Vegas and I got plenty of complements on it!
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×