Sapphire Star Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(59)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2012
I had a great experience with RTR! I loved my dress and earrings. I can't wait for my next event!

The back of the dress really made a statement. The pictures and sizing were accurate.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
do you want to be mistaken for a celebrity or someone super important? rent this dress.

I wore this dress to a black tie event, and I've never had so many people approach me just to say they love my dress, my hair, my make-up, everything! {but it was really the dress that got so much attention} my head got SO big from all the compliments; it was awesome. I ordered the xs and small; wore the xs, and it fit like a glove. I'm very short, so it hit above the knee. 5 inch heels helped to make it a bit shorter. the velvet made this the perfect holiday dress and kept me warm. the leather shoulder patches gave it some edge, so I was on-trend, but still classy. {also, just fyi- this dress looks verryyy expensive.} I wore the dannijo cecile earrings; you have to rent these if you rent this dress. gorg! SO happy with my rtr experience. I'll be renting again for my next event. xo

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
December 26, 2012
Looks better on the website

This was a first selection, but I was disappointed. It was kind of blah, the black leather on the shoulders just doesn't go and takes away from the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2013
My friend told me I looked very sexy in this dress.

I wore XS and paired it with black tights and black pumps. Love the material and it fit perfectly.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2013
Great feel and fit!

Great fit! Easy to accessorize, with a unique neckline !

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
August 18, 2012
Great holiday dress!

This dress was really cute, I seriously considered buying it!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2013
Sassy and classy!

I had been checking reviews on this dress and looking a pics for about a month before the event. I'm very picky but i absolutely loved the color and the material. I have an hour glass figure so the medium was perfect on my curves, it wasnt too short or too long, just the perfect length, i'm 5'2, it was about 2 inches above my knee! I got a ton of compliments and it was great being the only one in the blue! will def rent again! ps. it's actually not that low in the back, i wore a strapless bra with this dress, couldnt manage to get on those pasty ones

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 3, 2013
First Rent the Runway experience! I will be a returning customer!

I rented for my boyfriend's Firefighters Banquet. My dress arrived on time, fit wonderfully and return shipping was easy. My boyfriend loved the dress and so did I! This is way better than having a closet-full of dresses that I can only wear once!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 6, 2013
Perfect for black tie wedding.

I have never gotten so many compliments about any other dress I have ever worn. At the wedding I had people I have never met coming up to me telling me how they noticed my dress and even petting me! And after posting pictures, I have told numerous friends about renttherunway.com because they asked where I got such an awesome dress. The only criticism I would have is that the leather shoulders are a little worn on the edges and the dress wasn't as snug as I think it should have been. Very little wear and tear, as to be expected though. Honestly, only the person renting it would notice. This dress was super comfortable, super sexy & super affordable. Don't even think about it, just get it!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 11, 2013
Cheap, cheap, cheap

This dress looked so beautiful online, and I took a chance on it. Unfortunately, the material felt and looked cheap in person and the color was more lackluster.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 22, 2013
Very unique dress. Hugged my figure, many compliments, wore black tights with black heels. Loved it.

Great fit; could have worn Medium or Large but went with Medium for snugger fit. Love the leather details on the shoulders. Did ride up a little especially if wearing tights/stockings (I do have big thighs so may not happen if your are slim) but trick is to not make it obvious when you do need to adjust! Didn't wear any type of bra and worked out fine, but if you must, then take the time to find the right one. You can't wear just any bra with the way the dress lays on your shoulders. Great Rent!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2013
stand out dress

rich material and color..compliments all night long..fit is comfortable & worry free..looks great in photos too!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
April 30, 2013
Loved the fit!

The back of this dress was so sexy without being skanky - I got so many compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 19, 2013
This dress fit perfectly! Made my body look amazing

I didn't end up wearing this dress out, but it was so beautiful! It fit me perfectly and the blue color was amazing with the velvet material. I loved it!!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 15, 2013
Not for short people!!!

I loved the idea of this dress. But when it showed up i panicked! Way, way longer than on the model . A "to the knee length" is the worst for petite women. Was absolutely frumpy. I tried a few different ways to tape the hem - none looked right so i ended up wearing as is... It was fine and i even gotsome complements - but beware this is for tall women!

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
October 14, 2013
ABSOLUTELY STUNNING !!

I recieved so many compliments that night. Besides the bride all eyes were on me. Loved this dress !

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS

This is the best dress I have ever rented/worn. Ever. The fit was very flattering and I received tons of complements all day long. The fabric was super comfortable and I felt very confident. The dress hit mid-thigh, so it wasn't too short or too long. The slouching back was flattering, and the warmth of the velvet made you forget you were backless. Will definitely be renting this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
Luxurious, Vibrant and Rich.

The dress was very comfortable and warm and cozy. It was great to be warm for a chance in a nice dress. The back draping is romantic and sexy. The color is so rich and you stand out without be flashy. I thought the dress would be shorter, but it was not. Hit at a good level to be sexy but still modest. It was a little more formal than I thought, so keep that in mind with the party you are renting it for. It seems like a simple dress but it is much more.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2013
I got engaged in this dress!

The fit was absolutely perfect and very flattering, complimenting curves in all the right places. Very warm as well, as I wore this out in NYC. I would recommend wearing a backless bra, as I did find it hard to work with a strapless and was not able to pin it like another user recommended. The feel and the fit of this dress is fabulous!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2013
In a sea of black and silver holiday dresses, this definitely popped!!

The fit was perfect, the back was a head turner. I felt luxurious all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2012
LOVED

not too low in back! received many compliments. :)

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
December 29, 2013
If I could buy this dress, I would have. <3 Prim+proper in front, and sensuously draped in back.

This dress is my favorite in life ever. The fit across the shoulders was spot on for me. I tried on both the M and S sizes (I am between a 6 and 8) and the flexible material meant that both sizes fit me, leaving me to decide how conservative I wanted the dress's bottom hem (and how scrunched I wanted the sleeves) to be. It is very warm and soft, and perfect with nude heels. The only minor meh moment was that the shoulders had black leather square patches, which I thought was underwhelming, but that's probably something most observers wouldn't even think to notice. It's absolutely gorgeous.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 12, 2014
Most unique dress at the dance

I wore this to my boyfriends winter ball. The silky velvet material kept me warm in the midst of January. The fit was not bad. I ordered an XS and S and went with the XS because it fit better around my shoulders. The only disappointment I had was I was expecting the back to be lower. I wore a strapless bra and nobody could see it. I must say be cautious if you are dancing in this dress because it can keep you almost too warm. I had to pull my skirt down a few times because of the dancing but other than that this dress was a stunner. Third rental and still going strong :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 20, 2014
Not used

The fabric is lovely, the color is gorgeous but the way it lays on the shoulders was kind of awkward. I think it's because of the black material :/

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 26, 2014
Received so many compliments!

Definitely a fitted dress, but the velvet was very comfortable and flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 22, 2014
Wore this for my birthday dinner with my boyfriend- he couldn't take his eyes off me!

The color is beautiful! Great wintertime dress. The back is extremely low and open so make sure you have a stick on bra if you need one!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 240lbs
February 3, 2014
True Blue Statement Dress!

I wore this to my sorority's semi-formal in November. This was dress was perfect. I paired it with simple black pumps and some statement earrings. Needless to say I got compliments all night and the rest of the month on my social media. I would definitely recommend this as a winter date, wedding, or semi-formal dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
I felt so incredible in this dress, I never wanted to take it off!

I ordered this dress as a back-up for a formal work event. I needed something that was beautiful but still professional and non-revealing. The original dress I picked was just just a little too sexy for the occasion and I'm so glad it was because this dress was so special. The color was gorgeous, the fit was true to size and flattering, the back was to die for and the leather patches gave it a nice edge. I got so many compliments on this dress. I paired it with the GORGEOUS Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings and never looked back.

AmandaDecember 12, 2012
Could you wear a bra with it? I'm considering renting this as it is just beautiful, however I am not comfortable going bra-less and don't want to purchase a special bra just for this. Thanks!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2011

absolutely loved this dress! super flattering, soft stretchy fabric, and hit about mid thigh. I am pear-shaped, 5'5", and 135 lbs - the small fit me perfectly!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2012
Feeling like the belle of the ball in this beautiful blue dress!

This dress was so comfortable, sexy and perfect for an NYC holiday party. The only trouble I had was figuring out what type of brassiere to wear, but I ended up going with a strapless corset-type. The color popped and the velvet texture was so unique in a crowd full of LBD's. I loved the metallic accents at the shoulders too!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 2, 2012
The dress was a surprise for my husband and he was speechless!

I normally wear a size 6 dress and the small was perfect, not too snug but still curve hugging. It was definitely comfortable to wear on a November evening out to the performing arts center. If there was one thing I would offer to others is - use the sticky tabs included by Rent the Runway as a gift. I did not and I spent the evening adjusting the shoulders back in place. This dress is a compliment magnet!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 28, 2012
Tempted to touch !!

This my third rental and I must say it's my absolute favorite! The velvet is so soft and the blue color is stunning. I had strangers come up to me asking to touch my dress. I wore it to a holiday party but it would be suitable for multiple occasions. I wore it with tights but took them off early in the evening. It looked much better! The only problem I had was the shoulders seemed to tight but I think it's because of the leather patches that are there.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 24, 2013
Fun for a Party

This dress is classy, form fitting and, with the high neckline and long sleeves, almost demure from the front. So the back is a "wow" surprise. It was less royal blue and more purple, in my opinion, than the photo. I do disagree w/ the reviewer who said you could wear a regular bra; even my "backless" bra strap showed. I used a very low-back corset. Between the velvet & the lining, the dress is thick enough you could not wear a bra at all, but I wouldn't dance in it. Because I was at a semi-costume party, I wore sparkley stockings but sheer black would work fine. Got lots of compliments. (And lost the slip peaking out in the photo before leaving home!)

View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2013
The color and material is breathtaking.

Extremely comfortable. The back isn't extremely exposed. It was such an elegant look for such a comfortable feel!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2013
Perfect fit and the perfect Bronco blue (and warm enough for Colorado winter)

I wore this for the Denver Broncos holiday party which was a cocktail attire. It ran true to size, maybe even slightly big. This dress was perfect for the weather seeing as it was 3 degrees the night I had to wear it, so I was glad to have the long sleeves and a heavier-weight fabric. The color is absolutely gorgeous and people complimented it all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
December 26, 2013
Head Turner!

This was my first time using RTR and I was nervous, as I was not sure what to expect. However, everything turned out great! The dress was great for the winter wedding. The low back added to its appeal and I was fortunate to have the perfect bra for it. It is a little warm for dancing the night away but do not let that deter you! I will definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 62
Body type: Petite
October 5, 2011

I ordered this dress for a birthday dinner for my boyfriend at an elegant New Orleans restaurant. The dress was a hit not only with my boyfriend but with several paople as we walked to our destination that night. I ordered a medium with a large as a backup, but the medium fit perfectly.Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2012
Sexy and sophisticated.

LOVED it! Totally not what I would usually wear but due to a cooking injury I needed a long sleeved short dress and this fit the bill! I haven't worn velvet since the 80s but this worked. Many compliments all night at my event at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Highly recommend. FYI you will need the special pasty bras due to the back, but it is so worth it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
November 4, 2012
This was my fist time using RTR and was scared...I had nothing to be scared of. It was on time!!!

The dress fits perfect. The color was gorgeous with my skin complexion. And the material keeps you warm during these cold months. And the back is soooo sexy. It will have your man drooling over you all night!!!!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 25
November 22, 2012
i did nt have any moment

i could nt wear it cause my date was rescheduled. but the dress is beautiful

See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×