Sapphire Star Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(59)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 12, 2014
Most unique dress at the dance
I wore this to my boyfriends winter ball. The silky velvet material kept me warm in the midst of January. The fit was not bad. I ordered an XS and S and went with the XS because it fit better around my shoulders. The only disappointment I had was I was expecting the back to be lower. I wore a strapless bra and nobody could see it. I must say be cautious if you are dancing in this dress because it can keep you almost too warm. I had to pull my skirt down a few times because of the dancing but other than that this dress was a stunner. Third rental and still going strong :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
January 14, 2014
Perfect dress for any winter occasion!
I rented this dress for the Swedish House Mafia's Black Tie Rave and it was perfect! After reading through other reviews I ordered the XS & S and ended up wearing the XS because it was an overall better fit. The small was just a big large in the arms and mid section that didn't make it as flattering as the XS. There's a slight weight that keeps the back in place so you can wear a normal bra. The dress was comfortable enough to dance the night away in and still kept me warm without sweating, probably because of the open back. I also liked how the shoulders had the mock leather giving it some edge. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 20, 2014
Not used
The fabric is lovely, the color is gorgeous but the way it lays on the shoulders was kind of awkward. I think it's because of the black material :/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2014
Great dress for a winter event
Polar vortex in Chicago, folks! Needed a long-sleeved, stupid-cold-winter-friendly dress for a nice date (boyfriend's 30th birthday -- he requested a steak dinner, tickets the symphony, and fancy clothes). This dress is GORGEOUS and incredibly easy to wear. I expected wear the size S based on measurements, but wound up in the XS. Both fit, but the drape was a little overwhelming in the larger size. The open back makes the sizing pretty flexible, but it's important for the arms to fit snugly to keep it from slipping off your shoulders. In short, consider sizing down. It's stretchy! I wore this with a Nubra and it worked well. I was comfortable all night and felt classy... and the open back is pretty sexy (withing being too much, because the front and arms are so covered). Wore with big earrings, black tights, and black pumps. Easy.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
February 21, 2014
The dress was perfect for a winter wedding in Maine. The fabric was gorgeous!
I ordered a small and an extra small but ended up wearing the small for a more classier fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 2, 2014
Gorgeous dress. I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Photos don't do it justice!
Definitely runs a bit large and was a little longer than I expected, while the back didn't dip as low as I thought it would... None of it mattered, this was a stunning dress! Got compliments all night long and I felt beautiful. The back is the best part.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2014
blue's never been sexier!
I ordered small and x-small, ended up wearing the x-small since it snugged at hips better. The color is so amazing. Love the black leather detail on the neckline, I didnt even notice that in the picture when I rented it. It was a perfect length, not too short, not too long - perfect. The drop in the back has this weight that i tucked into my bar so you couldn't see my bar strap. Great dress, especially for the price. Very happy customer!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 26, 2014
Received so many compliments!
Definitely a fitted dress, but the velvet was very comfortable and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2014
Perfect for a holiday party!
I wore this dress to my holiday engagement party. It was gorgeous. It was a little large. I am usually a 10 and really should have ordered a medium, but made it work because I really wanted to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 22, 2014
Wore this for my birthday dinner with my boyfriend- he couldn't take his eyes off me!
The color is beautiful! Great wintertime dress. The back is extremely low and open so make sure you have a stick on bra if you need one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
February 3, 2014
True Blue Statement Dress!
I wore this to my sorority's semi-formal in November. This was dress was perfect. I paired it with simple black pumps and some statement earrings. Needless to say I got compliments all night and the rest of the month on my social media. I would definitely recommend this as a winter date, wedding, or semi-formal dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
I felt so incredible in this dress, I never wanted to take it off!
I ordered this dress as a back-up for a formal work event. I needed something that was beautiful but still professional and non-revealing. The original dress I picked was just just a little too sexy for the occasion and I'm so glad it was because this dress was so special. The color was gorgeous, the fit was true to size and flattering, the back was to die for and the leather patches gave it a nice edge. I got so many compliments on this dress. I paired it with the GORGEOUS Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings and never looked back.
AmandaAugust 13, 2013
Could you wear a bra with it? I'm considering renting this as it is just beautiful, however I am not comfortable going bra-less and don't want to purchase a special bra just for this. Thanks!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2011
absolutely loved this dress! super flattering, soft stretchy fabric, and hit about mid thigh. I am pear-shaped, 5'5", and 135 lbs - the small fit me perfectly!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
January 17, 2011
This dress is very beautiful and the color is very flattering. However it does run large so get a size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 6, 2016
Beautiful!!
The fit was perfect. The fabric and the color were absolutely gorgeous. The only con is that the fabric is quite thick, so I felt too warm throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
November 10, 2010
I typically wear a 6 and wore the medium - could have gone to the small but depends on whether you're going for spanx-tight or not. LOVE the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2012
Feeling like the belle of the ball in this beautiful blue dress!
This dress was so comfortable, sexy and perfect for an NYC holiday party. The only trouble I had was figuring out what type of brassiere to wear, but I ended up going with a strapless corset-type. The color popped and the velvet texture was so unique in a crowd full of LBD's. I loved the metallic accents at the shoulders too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2012
I got a lot of compliments!
This dress is beautiful!! I recommend it for curvy women tho to fill it in and really show its style! I wore it for a new year eve party just stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 6, 2012
Having my husband's jaw drop!
I wore mine to my engagement party with black tights and black patent pumps. I wore a sticky backless bra underneath. I received so many compliments not only at the party, but the after party as well (from strangers). Highly recommend this dress!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 2, 2012
The dress was a surprise for my husband and he was speechless!
I normally wear a size 6 dress and the small was perfect, not too snug but still curve hugging. It was definitely comfortable to wear on a November evening out to the performing arts center. If there was one thing I would offer to others is - use the sticky tabs included by Rent the Runway as a gift. I did not and I spent the evening adjusting the shoulders back in place. This dress is a compliment magnet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
December 4, 2012
You will stand out in a room full of black suits and dresses!
Rented this for a Festival of Trees event. I'll admit I was a bit nervous because I'm so tall and it looked short on the model but after reading several other tall girl reviews I decided to go with this dress. I ordered medium and the large as my backup size. The dress arrived packaged very professionally and in a garment bag. I ended up wearing the medium as the large was just a bit too big on my shoulders and was slipping off. The material was thick enough and lined that I was able to just wear pasties so I had no issue with the back. The back was sexy without being too sexy. The material is a beautiful rich, thick, velvety royal blue color. I wore black spanx tights that had the built in support that laid right under my breasts. Highly recommend this dress for not only the material but the beautiful blue color.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 28, 2012
Tempted to touch !!
This my third rental and I must say it's my absolute favorite! The velvet is so soft and the blue color is stunning. I had strangers come up to me asking to touch my dress. I wore it to a holiday party but it would be suitable for multiple occasions. I wore it with tights but took them off early in the evening. It looked much better! The only problem I had was the shoulders seemed to tight but I think it's because of the leather patches that are there.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
December 30, 2012
The fabric is luxurious, the color is marvelous. However, the fit is off for a petite like me.
I'm usually a 00XS/P so I'm just probably out of luck when it comes to straight-from-the-rack designer clothes. I'm short but not curvy enough. The shoulders and arms swallowed me, but the back was a sight to behold. I was the host for a party so it's a shame that I can't walk around with my back on people -- that's the only great part that worked for me in this dress. =P My first review was not approved so hopefully RTR is unbiased enough to let this one through this time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 14, 2013
This dress was an absolute dream for my 30th birthday! Jaws dropped and heads turned all night.
I was going for a regal look for my birthday. This dress nailed it! I originally wanted a small. But, it was out stock. I ordered the extra small and hoped from the best.. Luckily, it was a perfect fit! So, I would suggest to someone with my physique to get one size smaller. I would also suggest pairing with shiny black tights and black suede shoes. They were a nice compliment to the fabric of the dress. I went with simple jewelry, diamond ring, studs, and tennis bracelet. I did not want to detract from the elegance of the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 30, 2013
Great winter party dress!
Great fabric, great color - it does run slightly big. Overall, fabulous dress for winter parties!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 24, 2013
Fun for a Party
This dress is classy, form fitting and, with the high neckline and long sleeves, almost demure from the front. So the back is a "wow" surprise. It was less royal blue and more purple, in my opinion, than the photo. I do disagree w/ the reviewer who said you could wear a regular bra; even my "backless" bra strap showed. I used a very low-back corset. Between the velvet & the lining, the dress is thick enough you could not wear a bra at all, but I wouldn't dance in it. Because I was at a semi-costume party, I wore sparkley stockings but sheer black would work fine. Got lots of compliments. (And lost the slip peaking out in the photo before leaving home!)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2013
The color and material is breathtaking.
Extremely comfortable. The back isn't extremely exposed. It was such an elegant look for such a comfortable feel!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 1, 2013
Compliments all night long
I actually wore regular bra and pinned to back of dress. It's not that deep as on model. I also wore size xs but probably should have worn the small because as night went on the dress rode up just a bit (not bad at all though). Tons of compliments from the upper echelon of Denver high society.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2013
Perfect fit and the perfect Bronco blue (and warm enough for Colorado winter)
I wore this for the Denver Broncos holiday party which was a cocktail attire. It ran true to size, maybe even slightly big. This dress was perfect for the weather seeing as it was 3 degrees the night I had to wear it, so I was glad to have the long sleeves and a heavier-weight fabric. The color is absolutely gorgeous and people complimented it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
December 26, 2013
Head Turner!
This was my first time using RTR and I was nervous, as I was not sure what to expect. However, everything turned out great! The dress was great for the winter wedding. The low back added to its appeal and I was fortunate to have the perfect bra for it. It is a little warm for dancing the night away but do not let that deter you! I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
May 1, 2011
I was disappointed in this dress. It does run large, which means it can look a little homely or elderly if the fit isn't right. I like the idea of it, but I don't think the back dips low enough for it to have any sex appeal. Also, the length is kind of long. I think depending on your body type, it can be really flattering, but for me, it was too big and made me look old, so I went with the backup dress I ordered.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 62
Body type: Petite
October 5, 2011
I ordered this dress for a birthday dinner for my boyfriend at an elegant New Orleans restaurant. The dress was a hit not only with my boyfriend but with several paople as we walked to our destination that night. I ordered a medium with a large as a backup, but the medium fit perfectly.Loved it!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2012
The overall fit was awkward.
The overall fit was awkward. I expected the dress to be a lot shorter and it cut at mid-thigh. Additionally it was loose around the stomach area, I assume due to the draped back. If I was going to a formal affair (i.e. wedding) I would wear this, but for my high school dance it just didn't work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 24, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS
So many comments on it all night long. Looked great against my tan. Low back but not too low.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2012
Sexy and sophisticated.
LOVED it! Totally not what I would usually wear but due to a cooking injury I needed a long sleeved short dress and this fit the bill! I haven't worn velvet since the 80s but this worked. Many compliments all night at my event at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Highly recommend. FYI you will need the special pasty bras due to the back, but it is so worth it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
November 4, 2012
This was my fist time using RTR and was scared...I had nothing to be scared of. It was on time!!!
The dress fits perfect. The color was gorgeous with my skin complexion. And the material keeps you warm during these cold months. And the back is soooo sexy. It will have your man drooling over you all night!!!!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
Fun and Classy
I ordered this dress in both a M and L thinking that because of my big bust I might need to size up. Definitely not. I would say it is true to size and possibly even runs a bit large. The medium was falling off the shoulders a bit but I think the small would have been too tight everywhere else. The color is just as vibrant in person. Definitely got a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 25
November 22, 2012
i did nt have any moment
i could nt wear it cause my date was rescheduled. but the dress is beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2012
Pretty dress.. but not for me
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it didn't fit me very well.. I think this dress would work better on taller women. You definitely can't wear a regular bra with this dress because of how low cut it is in the back, so it's probably better for someone who is comfortable going braless or with a stick on bra. I will say that this is a gorgeous dress, its a beautiful color, I wish it looked better on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
December 17, 2012
Comfortable and Sexy
I wore this to my husband's Christmas party, I loved it. He did too! the color is gorgeous..I will definitely rent from RTR again. Thank you for making me feel beautiful.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×