Sapphire Star Dress

$118 to buy

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large
(59)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
October 11, 2012
I was like this beautiful blue light that everyone wanted to know about.
Loved the dress. I'm a short girl with a lot of hip, so the dress fit nice. I hugged my hips and gave me a nice waistline. I agree that this dress fit more people with curves. Loved the color and so did everyone else at the party. I usually wear Large, but the Medium fit better. The velvet is soft and beautiful. I'm not sure if it was because I'm short, but the back was open and low for me. Hid some of my flaws. In terms of length, it was right above my knees with heels on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2012
Very pretty. Short.
Be sure to get a backless optioned bra for this! It's very cute, but be careful when sitting down because the hem can ride up. Super soft material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2012
Sexy and sophisticated.
LOVED it! Totally not what I would usually wear but due to a cooking injury I needed a long sleeved short dress and this fit the bill! I haven't worn velvet since the 80s but this worked. Many compliments all night at my event at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Highly recommend. FYI you will need the special pasty bras due to the back, but it is so worth it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2012
The color is gorgeous!
Runs a little small but overall a beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 24, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS
So many comments on it all night long. Looked great against my tan. Low back but not too low.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2012
The overall fit was awkward.
The overall fit was awkward. I expected the dress to be a lot shorter and it cut at mid-thigh. Additionally it was loose around the stomach area, I assume due to the draped back. If I was going to a formal affair (i.e. wedding) I would wear this, but for my high school dance it just didn't work.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 6, 2012
Having my husband's jaw drop!
I wore mine to my engagement party with black tights and black patent pumps. I wore a sticky backless bra underneath. I received so many compliments not only at the party, but the after party as well (from strangers). Highly recommend this dress!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Couldn't get the drape right
I rented this based on the look on the model, I thought it would be perfect for my 'hourglass' shape. I didn't like it. I couldn't get the drape to look as it did in the picture, and the front was just boring boring boring, not flatering at all. I have a small waist relative to my hips, and the dress didn't reallly accent it at all. So I never did wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
August 18, 2012
Great holiday dress!
This dress was really cute, I seriously considered buying it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 9, 2012
We went to a fancy restaurant downtown and we were the best dressed couple in the whole place! I also liked that the dress kept me warm in the cold January weather.
I got this for my New Year's Eve date with my sweetie! The color is great, it is a very deep rich blue like in the picture. The material was like a velvet suede, which was great for keeping me warm in the cold weather. The one thing I did not like about the dress was the shoulder pads which were unusually large and bulky for my frame, and also that they were black pleather patches on top of the blue material. I felt that this was somewhat distracting and detracted from the overall beauty of the dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 22, 2012
"now you're just making the rest of us look bad!"
It was a little big but overall, very beautiful! I was voted best dresse so I was glad I could pick up the award in a great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2012
I got a lot of compliments!
This dress is beautiful!! I recommend it for curvy women tho to fill it in and really show its style! I wore it for a new year eve party just stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2012
LOVED
not too low in back! received many compliments. :)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 29, 2012
Rent me!
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. Sadly I had no place awesome to go, but I surprised my boyfriend where he works as a waiter and he loved it. The bartender also seemed to like it, until he recognized who I was and realized he couldn't flirt with me anymore, lol. It is a fabulous dress and the small fit perfectly. It's a great feeling when you get to go down a size and look absolutely stunning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 28, 2012
The look on my boyfriends face when he saw me all done up.
I wore this to a wedding reception and I got a ton of complements. It is not as low in the back as you think. I was able to wear a regular bra and I bought one of those straps you can dip the back part lower. In any event, this dress was VERY flattering on me. If you order this, you are sure to blush all night from complements. The dress was also very comfy! I read the reviews and since they said it ran big so the Xsmall fit like a glove. A+++!! This was my first RTR experience and I am bragging to the WORLD about it! Can't wait for my next event so I can RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2012
Great Winter Dress
I wore this dress to a winter black tie event. I was able to stay warm all night while still looking dressy enough. I chose not to wear tights and did not feel that it was too short. The color is a little darker than pictured but still a really pretty dark blue. I would definitely suggest adding some fun earrings for a little pop. The only complaint I have is that the cut of the dress seemed to be more suited for girls with wider hips - I felt like there was fabric sticking out in that area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
February 16, 2012
Sure to get compliments!
Absolutely beautiful dress!! It does run a tad big though. I usually wear a 2 or 4 depending on the brand, and this seemed like a big 4. I received lots of compliments and overall was very pleased with my rental, especially for the price!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
February 15, 2012
very sexy and comfortable
I wore this dress on Valentines day for a dinner date and I got so many compliments. This dress is stunning and it fits so beautifully. Will add pictures later. I also wear a small but this dress runs a bit bigger so I ended up wearing the the XS. I loved wearing this dress, it's so comfortable too, I really didn't want to return it :-)
CandiceApril 30, 2013
STUNNING!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2012
Feeling like the belle of the ball in this beautiful blue dress!
This dress was so comfortable, sexy and perfect for an NYC holiday party. The only trouble I had was figuring out what type of brassiere to wear, but I ended up going with a strapless corset-type. The color popped and the velvet texture was so unique in a crowd full of LBD's. I loved the metallic accents at the shoulders too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 9, 2012
Great Dress
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and it worked well-ordered it several times and it's quite comfortable.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2012
I felt like a million bucks in this dress!
This dress was not my first choice for date night. In the end I was happy with the fit, cut, and color. I had compliments all night. I would recommend this dress for any occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2012
Fireworks on NYE!
This dress is very pretty, and was great for NYE, especially the bright color and draping back. It runs a bit big -- a medium was a little large for me.
AmyJanuary 11, 2012
were you able to wear a regular bra with this dress?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
December 30, 2011
Christmas Hit!
This dress is very beautiful and fits great! In my opinion, top heavy girls like myself wont be as comfortable without the full support but If you're like me, cute is everything.. comfort is secondary :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2011
Absolutely stunning.
I loved this dress. I wore it to a show and could not have been happier. All evening I caught other women eyeing my dress, and it was a great feeling! The fabric was thick enough to hide your flaws, but not too warm either. Rent this dress. It will make your life more glamorous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2011
Beautiful dress
This was my first rent the runway rental and it won't be my last! This dress was even more beautiful in person. I was afraid it might be too short on me (I'm about 5'6") but it hit hit just a bit above my knees. It looks absolutely beautiful on. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and the medium was perfect.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2011
Too Big
I ordered a XS and a S and when they got here, i loved it right away out of the box. Fabric is great and it is well made and a beautiful color, but when i tried on the extra small, it was too big. The hips were too big and it was very long. almost to my knees. I would have loved the dress if it fitted more like the picture.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2011
SUNDANCE STANDOUT
Wore this to the Sundance premiere of a film I was in. I usually wear a small but wore the xsmall and it fit perfect! I thought I needed a backless bra but a regular bra didn't even show in the back. I LOVE this dress! It is perfect for any winter formal event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
When we arrived in LA for this wedding the earrings I had packed looked pathetic with such a fierce dress. My boyfriend immediately made it a priority to go shopping for the perfect earrings so I could feel just as sexy as the dress made me look! I never forget him buying those earrings, and I love wearing them to this day.
sexy dress for a cold weather, winter wedding! the cut in the front ius exactly right, making your silloutte look sexy while covered up. the back doesn't go that low. the leather detail on the shoulders adds some rock n roll. i got lots of compliments, and its a very unexpected, original dress which I loved.
RachelFebruary 13, 2012
that dress is stunning on you!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2011
soft soft velvet!!
ordered small and medium, small fit well but probably would have fit into extra small, so order down! i decided not to wear a bra with this but i am modestly chested and found that the material was thick enough that i didn't need any additional support. dress is long especially on petites(hit at top of knee) but i wore really high pumps so it worked out just fine. Dress made me feel expensive which i loved wearing to a NYC black tie event!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 2, 2011
Great dress. Looks amazing without looking like you're trying too hard. I ordered an XS bc it was the only size available for the weekend. I was afraid it would be too small but it fit perfectly...hit a couple inches above the knee and was just tight enough...a small would have been too big. I'm 5'5", 130lbs, 34DD and have a slim/athletic build.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
November 1, 2011
Dress was a disappointment - Odd fit. Ordered an XS and S. And didn't work well for a thin frame like mine. At my height, 5'8 - it still hit right above the knee. My opinion, Pick another dress. Plenty to choose from! :)
BethanyAugust 17, 2015
You are absolutely STUNNING in this! I'm ordering it too...we have very similar shapes! Thanks so much.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2011
I should've read the reviews before ordering! This was stunning, but not form-fitting like it looks in the picture. I'm a size 6 and ordered a Med. due to the fact that the stylist notes said it was fitted in the bodice. It was also too long. The color and the fabric are to die for. It looked great in my pictures.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 61
Body type: Petite
October 5, 2011
I ordered this dress for a birthday dinner for my boyfriend at an elegant New Orleans restaurant. The dress was a hit not only with my boyfriend but with several paople as we walked to our destination that night. I ordered a medium with a large as a backup, but the medium fit perfectly.Loved it!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2011
I ordered this dress in an xs...usually i am a small... So def order a smaller size..i wore this dress to a wedding I was attending...this dress was absoutely amazing it fit like a glove it fell just above my knee but with a nice high strappy heal it looked perfect...I highly recommend this dress.. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
May 1, 2011
I was disappointed in this dress. It does run large, which means it can look a little homely or elderly if the fit isn't right. I like the idea of it, but I don't think the back dips low enough for it to have any sex appeal. Also, the length is kind of long. I think depending on your body type, it can be really flattering, but for me, it was too big and made me look old, so I went with the backup dress I ordered.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 171lbs
April 18, 2011
This dress was amazing. I wore this dress to a friends birthday in February and it was perfect with black tights and suede booties. The draping in the back has a magnet to attach to your bra which won't show at all. I got a ton of compliments almost bought it.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
February 15, 2011
What a gorgeous dress! The back doesn't dip too low (so there are no bra issues), but it goes low enough to definitely be sexy. I'm 5'10" and a 32D and wore a small, so this dress definitely runs large -- in terms of length, it hit me mid-thigh. All in all, this is a truly dazzling piece that looks and feels as luxurious as the picture betrays. My boyfriend was speechless when he saw me in it (which is definitely a first). I paired it with the Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings and they worked beautifully together.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
January 17, 2011
This dress is very beautiful and the color is very flattering. However it does run large so get a size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 16, 2011
Perfect find for a winter wedding!
This dress runs pretty true to size. I'm 5'4'', 107lbs and and XS fit perfectly. The back does not drape as low as it does in the photos but the dress is gorgeous and super comfortable. I wore it to a winter wedding and got so many compliments on it! Styled just like the photo, the dress was actually pretty warm too! Fabulous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2011
absolutely loved this dress! super flattering, soft stretchy fabric, and hit about mid thigh. I am pear-shaped, 5'5", and 135 lbs - the small fit me perfectly!
See more reviews:
3 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×