You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Sapphire Star Dress
Rental $50 Retail $470
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. Complete the look with Erickson Beamon's Heart of Glass Earrings. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.
Chat with a Stylist
Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos73

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Alexandria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 28, 2012
Great night, great friends, great dress.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size, but is a little loose at the shoulder. I received a ton of compliments on this dress. Back is a little less draped than shown.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6644
Dec 26, 2012
Looks better on the website
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a first selection, but I was disappointed. It was kind of blah, the black leather on the shoulders just doesn't go and takes away from the dress.
Valerie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 17, 2012
Fantastic, flirty dress, perfect for a winter wedding!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I apologize for not having a photo, but I was having so much fun at the wedding, I barely stopped dancing enough to take any at all, let alone full body. This dress was fantastic and I got so many compliments. I have a small bust, so i could go braless. It was so comfortable and the back was the right about of sexy. The color was also amazing! It was a bit large around the waist, but RTR was out of the small so I didn't have my second size option. I would def rent again.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4624
Dec 17, 2012
Comfortable and Sexy
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my husband's Christmas party, I loved it. He did too! the color is gorgeous..I will definitely rent from RTR again. Thank you for making me feel beautiful.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Dec 5, 2012
Pretty dress.. but not for me
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it didn't fit me very well.. I think this dress would work better on taller women. You definitely can't wear a regular bra with this dress because of how low cut it is in the back, so it's probably better for someone who is comfortable going braless or with a stick on bra. I will say that this is a gorgeous dress, its a beautiful color, I wish it looked better on me!
Florelisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2443
Dec 3, 2012
Everyone loved it!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was beautiful
abigail
Age: 21
Canonical User Type: 1311
Nov 22, 2012
i did nt have any moment
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
i could nt wear it cause my date was rescheduled. but the dress is beautiful
Lizzay
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 9424
Nov 12, 2012
Fun and Classy
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in both a M and L thinking that because of my big bust I might need to size up. Definitely not. I would say it is true to size and possibly even runs a bit large. The medium was falling off the shoulders a bit but I think the small would have been too tight everywhere else. The color is just as vibrant in person. Definitely got a lot of compliments.
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 11, 2012
Was looking forward to wearing this dress but just fit strangely : /
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
When I opened up the package I was soooo excited about this dress because the color and the velvety fabric were sooo luscious I really thought it was going to be a favorite. But when I tried it on I was sadly disappointed as my boyfriend aptly nicknamed it the 'Star Trek dress'. Unfortunately, it was way tighter through the bust than expected, looser through the middle/torso, and the spacing at the shoulders seemed like it was meant for someone who's shoulders and collarbone started about a foot higher than mine. Also, I could've done without the strange detail at the top of each shoulder. Such a cool looking dress laying down but fits and looks like a curtain on. : /
Riney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 4, 2012
This was my fist time using RTR and was scared...I had nothing to be scared of. It was on time!!!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits perfect. The color was gorgeous with my skin complexion. And the material keeps you warm during these cold months. And the back is soooo sexy. It will have your man drooling over you all night!!!!
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6323
Nov 3, 2012
.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Fit was nice, however, it was longer than it actually appears on the model.
Michele
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5521
Oct 17, 2012
Wore this to a Christmas event for a non-profit. Stunning
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true to size. Ultra-flattering cut.
B.Butterfly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7423
Oct 11, 2012
I was like this beautiful blue light that everyone wanted to know about.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress. I'm a short girl with a lot of hip, so the dress fit nice. I hugged my hips and gave me a nice waistline. I agree that this dress fit more people with curves. Loved the color and so did everyone else at the party. I usually wear Large, but the Medium fit better. The velvet is soft and beautiful. I'm not sure if it was because I'm short, but the back was open and low for me. Hid some of my flaws. In terms of length, it was right above my knees with heels on.
Rhees
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5332
Oct 8, 2012
Very pretty. Short.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Be sure to get a backless optioned bra for this! It's very cute, but be careful when sitting down because the hem can ride up. Super soft material.
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 7, 2012
Sexy and sophisticated.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED it! Totally not what I would usually wear but due to a cooking injury I needed a long sleeved short dress and this fit the bill! I haven't worn velvet since the 80s but this worked. Many compliments all night at my event at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Highly recommend. FYI you will need the special pasty bras due to the back, but it is so worth it!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8233
Sep 24, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
So many comments on it all night long. Looked great against my tan. Low back but not too low.
Ilsa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3331
Sep 15, 2012
The overall fit was awkward.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The overall fit was awkward. I expected the dress to be a lot shorter and it cut at mid-thigh. Additionally it was loose around the stomach area, I assume due to the draped back. If I was going to a formal affair (i.e. wedding) I would wear this, but for my high school dance it just didn't work.
EK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Aug 20, 2012
Couldn't get the drape right
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this based on the look on the model, I thought it would be perfect for my 'hourglass' shape. I didn't like it. I couldn't get the drape to look as it did in the picture, and the front was just boring boring boring, not flatering at all. I have a small waist relative to my hips, and the dress didn't reallly accent it at all. So I never did wear it.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 8342
Aug 18, 2012
Great holiday dress!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was really cute, I seriously considered buying it!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8433
Apr 13, 2012
LOVED
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
not too low in back! received many compliments. :)
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Feb 29, 2012
Rent me!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. Sadly I had no place awesome to go, but I surprised my boyfriend where he works as a waiter and he loved it. The bartender also seemed to like it, until he recognized who I was and realized he couldn't flirt with me anymore, lol. It is a fabulous dress and the small fit perfectly. It's a great feeling when you get to go down a size and look absolutely stunning.
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2444
Feb 22, 2012
Great Winter Dress
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a winter black tie event. I was able to stay warm all night while still looking dressy enough. I chose not to wear tights and did not feel that it was too short. The color is a little darker than pictured but still a really pretty dark blue. I would definitely suggest adding some fun earrings for a little pop. The only complaint I have is that the cut of the dress seemed to be more suited for girls with wider hips - I felt like there was fabric sticking out in that area.
Margot
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Feb 16, 2012
Sure to get compliments!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Absolutely beautiful dress!! It does run a tad big though. I usually wear a 2 or 4 depending on the brand, and this seemed like a big 4. I received lots of compliments and overall was very pleased with my rental, especially for the price!
diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
Jan 9, 2012
Great Dress
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and it worked well-ordered it several times and it's quite comfortable.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 30, 2011
Christmas Hit!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is very beautiful and fits great! In my opinion, top heavy girls like myself wont be as comfortable without the full support but If you're like me, cute is everything.. comfort is secondary :)
love the shoes
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6633
Dec 7, 2011
Beautiful dress
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my first rent the runway rental and it won't be my last! This dress was even more beautiful in person. I was afraid it might be too short on me (I'm about 5'6") but it hit hit just a bit above my knees. It looks absolutely beautiful on. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and the medium was perfect.
Katelyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Dec 1, 2011
Too Big
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a XS and a S and when they got here, i loved it right away out of the box. Fabric is great and it is well made and a beautiful color, but when i tried on the extra small, it was too big. The hips were too big and it was very long. almost to my knees. I would have loved the dress if it fitted more like the picture.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Dec 1, 2011
SUNDANCE STANDOUT
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore this to the Sundance premiere of a film I was in. I usually wear a small but wore the xsmall and it fit perfect! I thought I needed a backless bra but a regular bra didn't even show in the back. I LOVE this dress! It is perfect for any winter formal event!
ChrisMich
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Nov 2, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Great dress. Looks amazing without looking like you're trying too hard. I ordered an XS bc it was the only size available for the weekend. I was afraid it would be too small but it fit perfectly...hit a couple inches above the knee and was just tight enough...a small would have been too big. I'm 5'5", 130lbs, 34DD and have a slim/athletic build.
Jamison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3541
Nov 1, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Dress was a disappointment - Odd fit. Ordered an XS and S. And didn't work well for a thin frame like mine. At my height, 5'8 - it still hit right above the knee. My opinion, Pick another dress. Plenty to choose from! :)
April
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1531
Oct 19, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I should've read the reviews before ordering! This was stunning, but not form-fitting like it looks in the picture. I'm a size 6 and ordered a Med. due to the fact that the stylist notes said it was fitted in the bodice. It was also too long. The color and the fabric are to die for. It looked great in my pictures.
Margaret
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1621
Oct 5, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered this dress for a birthday dinner for my boyfriend at an elegant New Orleans restaurant. The dress was a hit not only with my boyfriend but with several paople as we walked to our destination that night. I ordered a medium with a large as a backup, but the medium fit perfectly.Loved it!
Lola310
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1531
May 2, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I ordered this dress in an xs...usually i am a small... So def order a smaller size..i wore this dress to a wedding I was attending...this dress was absoutely amazing it fit like a glove it fell just above my knee but with a nice high strappy heal it looked perfect...I highly recommend this dress.. Loved it!
Summer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
May 1, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I was disappointed in this dress. It does run large, which means it can look a little homely or elderly if the fit isn't right. I like the idea of it, but I don't think the back dips low enough for it to have any sex appeal. Also, the length is kind of long. I think depending on your body type, it can be really flattering, but for me, it was too big and made me look old, so I went with the backup dress I ordered.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 7443
Apr 18, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was amazing. I wore this dress to a friends birthday in February and it was perfect with black tights and suede booties. The draping in the back has a magnet to attach to your bra which won't show at all. I got a ton of compliments almost bought it.
Michaela
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1441
Feb 15, 2011
Overall fit: Large
What a gorgeous dress! The back doesn't dip too low (so there are no bra issues), but it goes low enough to definitely be sexy. I'm 5'10" and a 32D and wore a small, so this dress definitely runs large -- in terms of length, it hit me mid-thigh. All in all, this is a truly dazzling piece that looks and feels as luxurious as the picture betrays. My boyfriend was speechless when he saw me in it (which is definitely a first). I paired it with the Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings and they worked beautifully together.
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Jan 17, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress is very beautiful and the color is very flattering. However it does run large so get a size smaller.
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4431
Jan 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
absolutely loved this dress! super flattering, soft stretchy fabric, and hit about mid thigh. I am pear-shaped, 5'5", and 135 lbs - the small fit me perfectly!
lynn
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Dec 30, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
this dress was amazing!!! thank you RTR!!
Amanda
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1321
Nov 16, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
the dress was absolutely stunning. The color was so vivid and the style of the dress so classy. The dress was not too short, but fell just at my knee and the back came down to just above the middle of my back. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to be noticed, in a good way, because this dress will definitely do it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress