Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Sapphire Star Dress

$141 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

126 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 63
Large 59
Photos 73
lynn
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Dec 30, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
this dress was amazing!!! thank you RTR!!
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
absolutely loved this dress! super flattering, soft stretchy fabric, and hit about mid thigh. I am pear-shaped, 5'5", and 135 lbs - the small fit me perfectly!
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 17, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress is very beautiful and the color is very flattering. However it does run large so get a size smaller.
Michaela
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Feb 15, 2011

Overall fit: Large
What a gorgeous dress! The back doesn't dip too low (so there are no bra issues), but it goes low enough to definitely be sexy. I'm 5'10" and a 32D and wore a small, so this dress definitely runs large -- in terms of length, it hit me mid-thigh. All in all, this is a truly dazzling piece that looks and feels as luxurious as the picture betrays. My boyfriend was speechless when he saw me in it (which is definitely a first). I paired it with the Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings and they worked beautifully together.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was amazing. I wore this dress to a friends birthday in February and it was perfect with black tights and suede booties. The draping in the back has a magnet to attach to your bra which won't show at all. I got a ton of compliments almost bought it.
Summer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
May 1, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I was disappointed in this dress. It does run large, which means it can look a little homely or elderly if the fit isn't right. I like the idea of it, but I don't think the back dips low enough for it to have any sex appeal. Also, the length is kind of long. I think depending on your body type, it can be really flattering, but for me, it was too big and made me look old, so I went with the backup dress I ordered.
Lola310
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I ordered this dress in an xs...usually i am a small... So def order a smaller size..i wore this dress to a wedding I was attending...this dress was absoutely amazing it fit like a glove it fell just above my knee but with a nice high strappy heal it looked perfect...I highly recommend this dress.. Loved it!
Margaret
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Body type: Petite
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered this dress for a birthday dinner for my boyfriend at an elegant New Orleans restaurant. The dress was a hit not only with my boyfriend but with several paople as we walked to our destination that night. I ordered a medium with a large as a backup, but the medium fit perfectly.Loved it!
April
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I should've read the reviews before ordering! This was stunning, but not form-fitting like it looks in the picture. I'm a size 6 and ordered a Med. due to the fact that the stylist notes said it was fitted in the bodice. It was also too long. The color and the fabric are to die for. It looked great in my pictures.
Jamison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 1, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Dress was a disappointment - Odd fit. Ordered an XS and S. And didn't work well for a thin frame like mine. At my height, 5'8 - it still hit right above the knee. My opinion, Pick another dress. Plenty to choose from! :)
ChrisMich
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Great dress. Looks amazing without looking like you're trying too hard. I ordered an XS bc it was the only size available for the weekend. I was afraid it would be too small but it fit perfectly...hit a couple inches above the knee and was just tight enough...a small would have been too big. I'm 5'5", 130lbs, 34DD and have a slim/athletic build.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

SUNDANCE STANDOUT

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore this to the Sundance premiere of a film I was in. I usually wear a small but wore the xsmall and it fit perfect! I thought I needed a backless bra but a regular bra didn't even show in the back. I LOVE this dress! It is perfect for any winter formal event!
Katelyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Too Big

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a XS and a S and when they got here, i loved it right away out of the box. Fabric is great and it is well made and a beautiful color, but when i tried on the extra small, it was too big. The hips were too big and it was very long. almost to my knees. I would have loved the dress if it fitted more like the picture.
love the shoes
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 7, 2011

Beautiful dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my first rent the runway rental and it won't be my last! This dress was even more beautiful in person. I was afraid it might be too short on me (I'm about 5'6") but it hit hit just a bit above my knees. It looks absolutely beautiful on. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and the medium was perfect.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 30, 2011

Christmas Hit!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is very beautiful and fits great! In my opinion, top heavy girls like myself wont be as comfortable without the full support but If you're like me, cute is everything.. comfort is secondary :)
diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and it worked well-ordered it several times and it's quite comfortable.
Margot
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Sure to get compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Absolutely beautiful dress!! It does run a tad big though. I usually wear a 2 or 4 depending on the brand, and this seemed like a big 4. I received lots of compliments and overall was very pleased with my rental, especially for the price!
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 22, 2012

Great Winter Dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a winter black tie event. I was able to stay warm all night while still looking dressy enough. I chose not to wear tights and did not feel that it was too short. The color is a little darker than pictured but still a really pretty dark blue. I would definitely suggest adding some fun earrings for a little pop. The only complaint I have is that the cut of the dress seemed to be more suited for girls with wider hips - I felt like there was fabric sticking out in that area.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 29, 2012

Rent me!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. Sadly I had no place awesome to go, but I surprised my boyfriend where he works as a waiter and he loved it. The bartender also seemed to like it, until he recognized who I was and realized he couldn't flirt with me anymore, lol. It is a fabulous dress and the small fit perfectly. It's a great feeling when you get to go down a size and look absolutely stunning.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 13, 2012

LOVED

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
not too low in back! received many compliments. :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Aug 18, 2012

Great holiday dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was really cute, I seriously considered buying it!
EK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Couldn't get the drape right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this based on the look on the model, I thought it would be perfect for my 'hourglass' shape. I didn't like it. I couldn't get the drape to look as it did in the picture, and the front was just boring boring boring, not flatering at all. I have a small waist relative to my hips, and the dress didn't reallly accent it at all. So I never did wear it.
Ilsa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Sep 15, 2012

The overall fit was awkward.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The overall fit was awkward. I expected the dress to be a lot shorter and it cut at mid-thigh. Additionally it was loose around the stomach area, I assume due to the draped back. If I was going to a formal affair (i.e. wedding) I would wear this, but for my high school dance it just didn't work.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

LOVE THIS DRESS

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
So many comments on it all night long. Looked great against my tan. Low back but not too low.
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Sexy and sophisticated.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED it! Totally not what I would usually wear but due to a cooking injury I needed a long sleeved short dress and this fit the bill! I haven't worn velvet since the 80s but this worked. Many compliments all night at my event at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Highly recommend. FYI you will need the special pasty bras due to the back, but it is so worth it!
Rhees
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Very pretty. Short.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Be sure to get a backless optioned bra for this! It's very cute, but be careful when sitting down because the hem can ride up. Super soft material.
B.Butterfly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

I was like this beautiful blue light that everyone wanted to know about.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress. I'm a short girl with a lot of hip, so the dress fit nice. I hugged my hips and gave me a nice waistline. I agree that this dress fit more people with curves. Loved the color and so did everyone else at the party. I usually wear Large, but the Medium fit better. The velvet is soft and beautiful. I'm not sure if it was because I'm short, but the back was open and low for me. Hid some of my flaws. In terms of length, it was right above my knees with heels on.
Michele
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Wore this to a Christmas event for a non-profit. Stunning

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true to size. Ultra-flattering cut.
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 3, 2012

.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Fit was nice, however, it was longer than it actually appears on the model.
Riney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Nov 4, 2012

This was my fist time using RTR and was scared...I had nothing to be scared of. It was on time!!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits perfect. The color was gorgeous with my skin complexion. And the material keeps you warm during these cold months. And the back is soooo sexy. It will have your man drooling over you all night!!!!
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Was looking forward to wearing this dress but just fit strangely : /

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
When I opened up the package I was soooo excited about this dress because the color and the velvety fabric were sooo luscious I really thought it was going to be a favorite. But when I tried it on I was sadly disappointed as my boyfriend aptly nicknamed it the 'Star Trek dress'. Unfortunately, it was way tighter through the bust than expected, looser through the middle/torso, and the spacing at the shoulders seemed like it was meant for someone who's shoulders and collarbone started about a foot higher than mine. Also, I could've done without the strange detail at the top of each shoulder. Such a cool looking dress laying down but fits and looks like a curtain on. : /
Lizzay
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Fun and Classy

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in both a M and L thinking that because of my big bust I might need to size up. Definitely not. I would say it is true to size and possibly even runs a bit large. The medium was falling off the shoulders a bit but I think the small would have been too tight everywhere else. The color is just as vibrant in person. Definitely got a lot of compliments.
abigail
Age: 22
Nov 22, 2012

i did nt have any moment

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
i could nt wear it cause my date was rescheduled. but the dress is beautiful
Florelisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Everyone loved it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was beautiful
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Pretty dress.. but not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it didn't fit me very well.. I think this dress would work better on taller women. You definitely can't wear a regular bra with this dress because of how low cut it is in the back, so it's probably better for someone who is comfortable going braless or with a stick on bra. I will say that this is a gorgeous dress, its a beautiful color, I wish it looked better on me!
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Comfortable and Sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my husband's Christmas party, I loved it. He did too! the color is gorgeous..I will definitely rent from RTR again. Thank you for making me feel beautiful.
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Fantastic, flirty dress, perfect for a winter wedding!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I apologize for not having a photo, but I was having so much fun at the wedding, I barely stopped dancing enough to take any at all, let alone full body. This dress was fantastic and I got so many compliments. I have a small bust, so i could go braless. It was so comfortable and the back was the right about of sexy. The color was also amazing! It was a bit large around the waist, but RTR was out of the small so I didn't have my second size option. I would def rent again.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Looks better on the website

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a first selection, but I was disappointed. It was kind of blah, the black leather on the shoulders just doesn't go and takes away from the dress.
Alexandria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Dec 28, 2012

Great night, great friends, great dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size, but is a little loose at the shoulder. I received a ton of compliments on this dress. Back is a little less draped than shown.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

I felt so classy and retro in the right way!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Beautiful color, warm fabric for a winter's night out, and super glamorous while still being elegant and understated. I do think it runs a bit big, and you should be be warned that the fabric can be a little grabby on the love handles if you aren't wearing shapewear. Otherwise, I loved this dress. My boyfriend and I were told by the MC of the event that we were the most attractive couple there!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×