Playing In Paris Shift

$83 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Walk underneath the Eiffel Tower with your man wearing this chic Mark and James by Badgley Mischka shift.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black baroque jacquard (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Pleated drop waist skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (100% polyester). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large
(30)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 11, 2015
Great dress, modest but still interesting and fun. I wore it for an evening work event - perfect!
Nice, slightly loose fit. Great length on me, inch or two above knee
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2015
Did not wear. It was way too big
The arms were snug but the rest of the dress was huge and just hung baggy. Also the zipper was on the side and made the baggy hip look even bigger.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 21, 2015
N/a
I loved this dress! Unfortunately it was too big. I am short and petite (5'1" and 105 lbs). After reading some reviews I was hoping that it would fit because what I lack in height I make up in bust. It was awkwardly long and large around the hips as well. If it had fit I would have given it 5 stars. I think this dress would look amazing on someone a few inches taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 16, 2015
Super adorable, can be dressed down or up!
The dress was so adorable, I dressed it down for a work event but with the right accessories it could easily be very dressy too. I wore the 6 but wish I had ordered the 4 or worn a belt to add more figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 29
August 18, 2015
This dress was perfect for a winter/early spring rehearsal dinner. The fit was amazing!
The length was perfect. I am about 5'3 and it hit about two inches above my knee. The lace and details in the skirt looked even better in person!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2015
Perfect dress for a fall event!
This dress was so comfortable and unique- I got compliments all night! I wore it for a 20s theme party but would wear it even if that wasn't the theme. The xs fit better for me- the sleeves were a little tight at first but they loosened up over the course of the night. The small was too loose through the body and bunched up around my waist. It is a heavier material so it perfect for a winter or fall event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
January 1, 2015
Perfect dress for 1920s theme!
This dress runs true to size. The quality of the material is great for winter events. I don't think this style is particularly flattering on my body type (short & pear shaped) but because I wore it to a prohibition party I thought it was fitting. Would definitely recommend for a 1920s themed event. I think the look would be hard to pull off for anything else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Age: 42
February 5, 2015
Comfortable and fun
The dress has a liner that is pretty thick so the outer mesh- type material doesn't cling. It was a little warm as the night went on, but still comfortable. It is MUCH longer on a 5'3" person than shown on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 14, 2015
Party dress
I did not end up wearing the dress because the fit did not work with my body. Overall the dress was very nice and good quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 4, 2012
Long Dress - Awkward Fit
Not a nice looking dress on.... I'm tall and slender and it was super super long on me. Doesn't fit at all like it's pictured. Would not recommend.... :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
Gorgeous dress ... was a bit overkill for my date but he was impressed! :)
I was afraid that the band that went around my hips was going to be too tight with the extra small so I ordered the small as back up. The small was waaay to big in the stomach and was hanging around the hips (my hips are what cause me to order larger sizes depending on fit). The extra small was perfect! Loved it ... LOTS of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 23, 2012
Loved this--little bit long and little bit big
I loved this dress, it was a little bit long on me came right above my knees and the XS had extra material. I wore the XS and it was great for a conservative party but looked much better on my friend who tried it on and is 4 inches taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 3, 2012
Not for petite people.
I ordered the two smallest sizes based on other reviews saying that it runs large. The XS was still extremely large on me and the dress is very long. Needless to say, I returned the dress immediately. I would not recommend this dress to women that are petite. It will probably end up being baggier and longer than you expect. Such a shame because it's a cute dress. This is the first time one of my RTR orders did not work for me. I was so bummed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 17, 2012
cute but underwhelmed
This is a cute dress for work/date (if dressed down) or can be played up for a more formal event. I received compliments but it is in no way a statement piece and I'd spend my $50 for a different RTR dress if given the chance over again. Also, the dress could get borderline dowdy due the fact that it runs quite large so be careful. I'm normally a 4-6 (small) but the XS fit much better. S
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 6, 2013
Great for a 1920s themed party!
I rented this dress for a 1920s themed birthday party, and it was perfect! I think the drop-waist is better suited for a straighter body type. (I'm more of an hour glass.) I'm 5'3" and typically wear a dress size 4 (sometimes a 2 sometimes a 6, depending n the fit) and an XS was perfect for me in every aspect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 14, 2013
so comfy
Cute dress so comfy. I'm 5'3' so the dress was a little longer than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 8, 2013
Very cue dress!
The hem was loose but fashion tape fixed that. I am glad I got the XS as this seems to run a bit large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2013
Tons of compliments by strangers!
Beautifully constructed dress; great for a cold night. It was just too long and large for a petite frame like myself.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2013
This dress was perfect for a 20s party I attended.
The dress is definitely longer than pictured. I have long legs and wore the medium because I wanted the dress to come to just above my knees. I had some room to move in the medium.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 5, 2013
Ill fitting. No wow factor.
This dress wasn't meant for my body type. It was slightly too long and not tight enough in the bodice. There was zero "oh la la" with this dress. I felt frumpy. However, RTR was happy to credit me since it didn't fit!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2013
Perfect Dress for a Fall Wedding
Super fun and flattering dress! Wore it to a fall wedding and was a great choice. Classy dress for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2013
flattering
Definitely runs large…make sure to order a size down in addition to your normal size. I have fuller hips and it did tend to ride up a little but that was okay since it's not as short as it appears on the model. Perfect for chillier weather. This seems it would be flattering on any body type. Felt confident and comfortable in this beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 10, 2013
Cute dress, but awkward length
Pros: A bit of stretch made it really comfortable. The lace was interesting and I received a lot of compliments. Cons: The length was much longer than I was expecting, which made the pleated portion at the bottom awkward in the back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 13, 2014
Such a cute dress!
The dress was beautiful. It is very well made and comfortable. You can wear anything undergarments under it that you want because material is thicker, but also not too hot at the same time. I always wear a medium but the torso area seemed too frumpy on me in the medium. So I went with a small which fit perfect. I will warn you though that if you are hippy...the part wear the pleats start on your hips is a little tight. Very fun dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2014
Very cute dress, but a little uncomfortable to wear.
It's a very cute dress. Got the S and XS. XS fit me perfectly. I loved how different it was. BUT I could barely stand the material. The sleeves were unlined and were VERY itchy!! I will confess that I am somewhat sensitive to itchy material, but this dress was particularly bad. Do not recommend if you are also sensitive to scratchy clothing.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2014
Great dress. Thicker material on top. Slimming overall.
It was a bit large on me, but still worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
June 23, 2014
Loved it, husband did not like it.
Loved this dress. I got it to wear on New Years. However, my husband was not a fan of it. He said it looked like an old ladys dress. I thought it was so comfy and looked great. Anyhow, I wound up not wearing it and picked something he preferred.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
December 29, 2014
Perfect for cocktail party!
I am 4 months postpartum. This cute dress covers my tummy well & is very comfortable. Perfect for winter cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
June 18, 2014
Great for a 1920's themed party!
This dress was perfect for a 1920's themed party that I recently went to. It's longer and the fit is looser in person than on the model. It had the perfect drop waist and little flounce skirt that was popular in the 20's. It's much prettier in person, because it has some really nice detailing on the bodice and sleeves. It's a little heavy, so it might be too hot for warm weather. Thankfully, the party was in an area of California that is nice and cool at night. My husband liked it a lot and thought it was the nicest dress at the party. Also, It was soooo comfortable since it's a looser fit.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2015
Wouldn't recommend for under 5'3"
This looked very short on the model, so at 5'2" I figured it would be just slightly above the knee on me but it was well below it. That in addition to the drop waist just did not work - it was too big overall. Wouldn't recommend for petite girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2013
Flattering, comfortable, and chic!
I rented this dress for a speakeasy/roaring 20's party. The drop waist was really fun and unlike anything I'd ever worn before. I'm usually a size 2/4 and rented the XS based on previous reviews - it was definitely the right decision. The dress looks sheer but is fully lined so you can wear any type of bra etc. The 3/4 sleeves made it perfect for fall (it was really warm). It broke my heart to send this dress back!!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
November 23, 2013
Cute dress. Looks best in person.
Fun dress. Seemed to run big as it was roomy for a 0 and a bit longer than I thought it would be. Still a fun dress and super comfortable. Wore in Paris so seemed fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
Perfect for a Semi-dressy event!
I wore this dress for my husbands work party. I wanted something classy but still stylish! My great RTR Stylist Whitney W helped me pick out this dress! It was super comfortable. I ordered a size M & L but wish I would have gotten the M & S. I wore the M but I think the small could have fit a little better. Overall great dress and would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 2
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 21, 2015
Really pretty.
Runs a bit large. I would recommend renting at least one size smaller, and a great pair of legs to really pull this off. It was supposed to be for a date night with my husband, but after I put it on, I thought more for the office. I would rent again, But would need to go two sizes smaller, so I can get the look like the model in the picture. great dress though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 11, 2012
Nice dress, Little large in the waist
Not so much for women with a booty. The small fit better in the waist but I was afraid it was a little too tight around the behind and would slide up on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
January 30, 2013
The dress was perfect to wear for a fall wedding.
It ran a little big....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2013
I liked the pleated skirt
It was lovely, but a bit roomy in the hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 5, 2014
very comfortable
I rented for a a friends birthday in December. I was COLD and this dress worked great with tights and boots
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2015
Great fit and comfortable!
I wore this to see David Spade at a local casino ~ paired it with black converse to keep it casual, and it was a great fit! Extremely comfortable!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 25, 2013
great dress! really flattering!
I was super excited that the XS fit me. Even if it's due to vanity sizing, it's always nice to feel pretty. I rented the dress for a surprise bday party on a boat and then a night on the town. To dress it down, during the day, I paired the dress with a jacket and sandals. At night, I wore it with pearls and a headband and did the whole 20's look. I felt so pretty!! The dress is not as short on me as it shows on the model. but i'm only 5.3
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×