Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

In the Limelight Dress

$40 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself! Take over the dance floor by wearing this little number by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka. Pair with a colorful cuff for a great overall look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Charteuse silk faille. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Front ruffle with gold sequins. Grosgrain ribbon at waist. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

143 reviews

Fit
Small 80
True to Size 61
Large 1
Photos 80
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2012

Not what I expected

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for prom in a 10 and 12, which are the sizes I normally wear. First, the dress was the same color as the picture -- it had more of a green tint which I was not expecting. When I tried the dress on, it was very tight and wouldnt zip. Its still pretty, just not fit for curvy girls.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Jun 15, 2012

Loved it, but runs small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress, but I wasn't able to wear either of the 2 sizes I ordered which was a 4 and a 6. I am 5 ft. 4 and 124 lbs. I needed an 8 in this dress. It runs small so keep that in mind. Perfect for summer wedding!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 26, 2012

Looks Great!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit perfectly! I wore it at a reception and was able move, dance, and look amazing all at the same time. Yellow really isnt my color but I loved the dress and would rent it again for another formal event. Awesome dress thanks RTR!
CM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 2, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There isn't much to be said about this dress besides it's absolutely gorgeous! It was definitely a stand-out at the wedding we attended.
Sonya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Jul 19, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
First let me start off by saying that this dress is so so cute and that the RTR customer service team is AMAZING! The color is so flattering and it looks so pretty on. IF you have curves (bigger hips or booty) I would definately say that this dress tricky. I generally wear a size 4 but after reading that this dress fits tight in the hips, decided to order a 6 & 8. Boy was I glad I did because the 8 fit and was still a bit of a squeeze. I had zipper issues with the dress (it got stuck right around the ribbon area) and the RTR team overnighted me another one. As I was leaving to go to my friends wedding I put the new dress on and the zipper got stuck again in the same spot and wouldn't go up. I ended up wearing something in my closet and was so sad that I couldn't wear this beautfiul dress. RTR thankfully took care of me! Overall if you are a Pear or Hourglass shape be prepared to go up a few sizes.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 2, 2012

Stunning Dress, Runs Extra Sma

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a knockout, perfect at any summer event. I was unable to wear it as I ordered incorrectly. I wear an 8 and ordered that and the back-up 10, and it was still too tight. I was able to get it zipped etc, but there was that unflattering bit of extra pull in the hips, not to mention it was very tight when sitting, so I opted for my back-up. If you ever waffle between two sizes, I would absolutely rent your larger size, and then size up for your back-up.
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 8, 2012

Worth Every Penny

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved the dress! I'm glad I read reviews and ordered up though. I normally wear a 2 but this dress was snug in the hips so the 4 fit much better (I have a small chest but larger hips). I had so many compliments, I would recommend to anyone!
Nancy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Aug 9, 2012

a special dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was a show stopper, it did run small so I suggest sizing up. It was flattering on my petite body and the ruffles w sequins on the side made the dress light up. I adore it and would probably rent it again for another event.
Katherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

pretty - runs so small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was so unhappy when I got this. First off, it looked quite worn, and secondly, it was SO tight in the hips. if you are a curvy girl...FORGET IT. If not, I am sure it will be stunning on you as it is quite pretty. Also, just FYI - the color isn't as bright yellow as it looks here, it's sort of a green-ish yellow.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Stunning...but runs small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning and is a great summer look. I was unable to wear it because I had to go up a size to accommodate the narrow hips/no stretch through the hips, which made the top too big and the midsection had too much material and looked pouchy.
Meagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Great fun little dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a fun charity cocktail hour. Loved it and got tons of compliments. The belt added a little nighttime glamour without making it too dressy.
sabrina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Love this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a friends wedding. Great dress and fit. Ordered it in a size 2, but it was a little too loose around the hips, called RTR and they sent the size 0 straight out. Great experience, so easy and would definitely rent again!
Christine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Aug 24, 2012

Runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'3" and am about 140 lbs and never in my life have I ever been anything larger than a size 8, but the size 10 hardly fit. Needless to say, I did not wear it and had to return it and go shopping right away for another dress for the wedding. Seriously, take your measurements before you order this dress and see what size you would be in this dress, because I am usually a 6/7 in dresses but not this dress.
Liza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 29, 2012

Kentucky Formal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I adored this dress. I'm typically a 4, but ordered a 6 as a backup size to be safe. I ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little snug around my hips and I knew I'd be dancing! The 6 looked and felt great. Would definitely recommend this dress. Everyone complimented me- its fun, yet conservative.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 29, 2012

Runs Very Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 6 or 8, and ordered this in both sizes. I could not even begin to zip the 6 and the 8 was so tight I could not function properly or even sit down in it. I was very uncomfortable and ended up wearing something I already had. I wish the sizing chart for each designer was posted.
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Super Cute but runs small...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is the cutest dress!! But it was too small allover to wear for me. I recommend ordering a size up.
CCH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is a total knock out! Fit great and loved the bright color
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Sep 3, 2012

Fun and Spunky!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress....particularly for those of us who are short and small chested :) A lot of fun to wear. The comments about wrinkles are true - it needed to be ironed before wearing it out, and it did wrinkle a bit throughout the evening.
ts
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 4, 2012

Yellow Mark & James

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in a 4 & got a 6 as my backup after reading all of the reviews. The 4 fit great but had a small defect - the sequins attachment was sewn on. It seemed to have been ripped off, so after calling RTR a few times trying to let someone know right away, I finally got through & the person I spoke with was very helpful & said that she would overnight two size 4s just to be sure. I told her I needed the dress by noon CST & it got here at 8 AM!!! Talk about GREAT service! The dress was AMAZING!! Fit great & I got so many looks & compliments with it BUT....toward the end of the night I was talking to some friends & a very drunk wedding guest came up & spilled red wine ALL over the dress! I panicked. Luckily the wedding planner came to the rescue with a bottle of seltzer & we tried our hardest to remove the stains. I called RTR first thing the next morning to let them know my dilemma & again, the person I spoke with was extrememly helpful & said they deal with a lot of stains & that it shouldn't be a problem getting it out but that someone would contact me once they receive it to let me know my next steps. Luckily, when i went to ship the dress back you could barely see the red wine. I guess club soda really works! I love RTR & will be back again & again, & again...
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Tight in the bust, color more green than yellow

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not for the busty or the pale. The dress was very tight through the chest (given I wear a 30 D, which isn't even a size option on this website...). The dress also has a strange greenish-tint, so that it's more a pale yellow-green in person than the cheerful canary yellow in the photos. Still think it's pretty, but not for this curvy, pale woman.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Great dress, lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great color for end of summer wedding and good length too. Not too short for family friendly wedding. Dress fit overall was great, but I'm in between 4 and 6 and sometimes XS or S depending on dress maker and the 4 in this dress was just a little snug on my hips. Still zipped and fit well, but not as comfortable as 6, just seemed classier in slightly loser fit. Larger size wasn't too big on chest either.
Amanda E.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Belt isn't anywhere near as thick as in photos.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Cute dress, I rented it for an outdoor beach wedding. Fits great, a little tight in the bust (and I'm a small "B"), but the belt that came with the dress was about a 1/2" thick ribbon, not the thick sash-type belt in the photos. Also, the dress smelled of b.o. - and went right back to RTR.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

n/a

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unable to wear b/c i didn't order a backup and the dress ran REALLY small
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Love, love, love this dress!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flattering fit! The 6 (my usual size) was just a little too snug in the stomach area to be comfortable, so I went with the 8. This dress had enough room in the bust in both sizes. Definitely recommend this dress- overall, the fit and color are fab!
orlagh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Golden Goddess

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous! I got TONS of compliments on the color- it's a little bit brighter than the picture shows. The top was a little bit big in the bust area (I'm a 32B) so I had to wear a strapless bra with a LOT of padding, but besides that, I would say the dress fit true to size. I would definitely recommend it!
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

This was a gorgeous dress that was great for my sorority's formal.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Normally I'm a comfortable 00, but in this dress the 0 was snug. I'd recommend ordering up a size or two.
Anita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

Didn't get to wear it but want to rent again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't actually wear this dress since I ordered two dresses. However, I ordered this originally in a 4 and a 6 and the zipper didn't work and it was wayyyyyy too small. RTR was great about overnighting a new dress and I ended up asking for the 8 since the 6 fit but was really snug. I plan to rent this dress again since I didn't get to wear it. It's really pretty but make sure to order up in size. I should have read the reviews better.
Ammy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Oct 13, 2012

I didn't get to wear the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It runs very small.
Diana
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

I absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was super comfortable, ran true to size, elegant, gorgeous color. Not as dressy as the picture makes it seem but the color really makes you stand out!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress, however, I could not even fit into it :( I usually wear an 8L but I couldn't even get this dress over my hips. I could squeeze into the size 10 but it was far too tight and not flattering for my body type. I was very bummed because it is so cute.
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 3, 2012

Perfect yellow color- amazing fit and loved the sparkle

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is the perfect shade of yellow and the gold sparkle puts it over the top. It fit slightly small, so I was happy that I ordered one size up. Very comfortable too- overall a big hit!
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Adorable but wrinkly and zipper was broken

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to wear this dress but the zipper was broken when I received it. Very flattering dress, loved the color and fit.
Niki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2012

I am a teacher & wanted to wear this to Prom, but neither dress fit! Thankfully I brought an extra!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a size 2 or a 4, so those were the two sizes I ordered. Neither one fit at all! I was able to get the 4 on and zipped, but it was so tight in the hips that I would not have been able to sit. So basically if you do not have hips (which I do) and your bust is at least a B or a C cup, then this dress will probably work for you. Just note that the fabric does not stretch at all. It was beautiful on the hanger, but unfortunately did not work with my body at all. What a bummer!
Brandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

was so excited about this dress, but too tight for my curves

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my first RTR rental and it was beautiful online and in person. i was so disappointed that the was absolutely NO GIVE to the material. In hindsight, i should have paid close attention to the reviews. I have since ordered 3 other dresses and been very pleased as I now pay close attention to the reviews. This would be great for a person who doesn't have an ample "booty" :-)
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Dec 10, 2012

Great dress, really unique and felt pretty

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
ran smaller in size than normal, I would suggest ordering up
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Beautiful dress. Really stands in the crowd.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs very small. I am always a size 4 in every brand but I was definitely a 6 and that was still tight and contricting.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Did not get any pictures, but it was great!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress, fit like a glove, the color was pretty, the cut super cute and I had three guys hit on me at the party, so I think that's a success :)
Danielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

Bright and Sparkly!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super fun to wear. Being very short, I was worried that the dress would not fit, but it did! The only issue was that it was a very stiff material and had no stretch to it. I had a fun night!
JC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Beautiful shade of yellow, very little give in material

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress! Was perfect for a wedding I was attending. However, even though I usually wear small, xsmall, 0-2 I couldnt zip this dress up. Fit perfectly everywhere except around my chest/rid cage. The material had no give and could no zip it past darker sash material. No time to send it back, had to eat the money and go with another dress. Thank god I packed one. Really sorry I couldn't wear it- it was gorgeous.
Nichole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 14, 2013

I was excited to receive the dress, but I didn't like the way it fit. I didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I didn't think the dress was flattering on me. Thank God for the 2nd dress, as I loved that one and wore it instead.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×