In the Limelight Dress

$40 rental
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself! Take over the dance floor by wearing this little number by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka. Pair with a colorful cuff for a great overall look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Charteuse silk faille. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Front ruffle with gold sequins. Grosgrain ribbon at waist. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
157 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(83)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 14, 2014
This dress is stunning! I would fed only wear it again!
I rented this dress for a wedding and it did not disappoint! Go one size up for your backup because I ended up wearing my backup size. I am generally a 2 but since this dress has no stretch in the fabric, the 4 fit much more comfortably. The color is stunning and the sequin detail is just the right pop of sparkle without being too much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 13, 2011
I was looking forward to wearing this dress however, the size 6 was very tight throughout the hips. I would go up a size just in case if you have an athletic or hour glass shape. The color was beautiful with just the right amount of sparkle and shape to make it interesting. The fabric itself was in great condition. Unfortunately I was not able to wear it!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 1, 2011
Beautiful, but not for curvy
Really is a fun, and beautiful dress! Just very straight through the hips... so size up or pick a different dress if you are curvy in that region!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2011
Runs Small
I absolutely loved this dress but it was a strange fit. I have large hips and that seemed to be the place where it fit the tightest. Other than that the dress is gorgeous. It's probably best for those who are straight and narrow though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
June 15, 2012
Loved it, but runs small!
Loved the dress, but I wasn't able to wear either of the 2 sizes I ordered which was a 4 and a 6. I am 5 ft. 4 and 124 lbs. I needed an 8 in this dress. It runs small so keep that in mind. Perfect for summer wedding!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 2, 2012
Stunning Dress, Runs Extra Sma
This dress is a knockout, perfect at any summer event. I was unable to wear it as I ordered incorrectly. I wear an 8 and ordered that and the back-up 10, and it was still too tight. I was able to get it zipped etc, but there was that unflattering bit of extra pull in the hips, not to mention it was very tight when sitting, so I opted for my back-up. If you ever waffle between two sizes, I would absolutely rent your larger size, and then size up for your back-up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 9, 2012
a special dress
The dress was a show stopper, it did run small so I suggest sizing up. It was flattering on my petite body and the ruffles w sequins on the side made the dress light up. I adore it and would probably rent it again for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
November 29, 2012
was so excited about this dress, but too tight for my curves
This was my first RTR rental and it was beautiful online and in person. i was so disappointed that the was absolutely NO GIVE to the material. In hindsight, i should have paid close attention to the reviews. I have since ordered 3 other dresses and been very pleased as I now pay close attention to the reviews. This would be great for a person who doesn't have an ample "booty" :-)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
December 10, 2012
Great dress, really unique and felt pretty
ran smaller in size than normal, I would suggest ordering up
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
April 8, 2013
The Customer Service at RTR is top notch!!
This dress is beautiful straight from the box. I read the reviews and I was a little worried about the fit. I had rented a BM dress in Oct in a size 10 so I thought the 12 would fit. Before ordering, I did chat with a stylist to make sure that I could be issued a refund, if the dress did not work. Sure enough the dress came in, and the 12 did not work. I did not have the problem of it going over my hips, but I tend to be larger in the ribcage area, and the dress was very tight. I probably could have zipped the dress, but I would have been very uncomfortable all night. The dress is gorgeous though! Soon after I knew the dress was not going to work I called RTR and they gave me two options..I could get a refund, or they could overnight a backup dress. Not only did they send one backup dress, but two different styles. WOW! They could not confirm the dresses would be here before eight o'clock the next night, but I took my chances and they did arrive around 300pm. GREAT Customer service...I will continue to use this service for years to come. Only a 4star cause the dress did not fit..Not A RTR issue
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
I felt like a celebrity in this hot dress! I wore it to a wedding and it was a big hit.
I have a big butt and small top half, I wore the larger of the two sizes as it was a bit snug on my bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 166lbs
June 28, 2013
Runs Small
Dress was way to small . woudl need to go 2 sizes up
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 11, 2014
Didnt wear the dress and had to wear one from my closet.
It fits entirely too tight around the hips. I am a little larger in that area but not too big by any means. After reading the reviews and normally being a 6-8, I ordered an 8 and 10. I couldnt get the 8 over my hips at all and the 10 wouldnt zip all the way up. I got a credit and will be ordering a different dress but if you are even a little bigger in the bottom half, dont even try.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 30, 2014
Way too small.
I usually wear a 10 and the 12 was way too small, it looked horrible. I suggest going up at least 2 sizes.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 22, 2011
This dress was amazing! The material was very flattering. I did have to go up a size because of the fit across the hips. The bust and waist run true to size, but I needed a little bit of extra room in the hips for this one. Absolutely loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 8, 2011
This dress runs true to size though it's a bit tight in the hips. For an alternate size, I would go up just in case. The color of the fabric is easily effected by variant lighting- at times it can be a beautiful, vibrant yellow but it can also take on a lime green hue. At first I wasn't crazy about the dress because it seemed so ill fitted in the hips and because the fabric looked inexpensive to me. However, when I wore it for the wedding (which was during the late afternoon to evening), the dress came to life for me- I never thought I would have that much fun with looking sparkly in sequins, and it ultimately made a strong positive impression on the other guests. I received a lot of glowing compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 30, 2011
AMAZING DRESS. I didn't want to take it off! Very fitted dress so may seem tight at first, but smaller size ended up looking better. Definitely order 2nd dress one size up, if available, just in case.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 4, 2011
I rented this dress for an afternoon summer wedding. It was so bright and sparkly and fun, it put me in a great mood. I found the fit to be odd, the size that fit my hips and waist was HUGE across the chest. I have a small rib cage, but am not flat, (32C) so it was strange to me that it didn't fit up there. I wound up pinning the side when cutlets in my bra still didn't do the trick. But it was worth it to get to wear this gem of a dress. I got so many compliments. I would definitely get a back-up size if you are getting this dress. Maybe go your true size and then go up a size if you are hippy. Go down a size if you are flat chested.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
August 30, 2011
Very cute and fun dress but (as other reviewers stated) ran small through the hips. It was too tight through the hips for me to wear it. I should have ordered a size up. Thankfully my backup dress fit like a dream!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 1, 2011
I love this dress! I rented it for a June wedding, and received so many compliments on it! It fit like a glove and the dress is wonderfully made. I'm not one to dress up often, but was thrilled with the fit, color, and style. I got a 4 and a 6, and either would have worked, but I felt more comfortable in the smaller size- no fear of it falling down. My only dilemma was that RTR doesn't rent shoes too!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 12, 2011
This dress is super cute and fun, and I was so disappointed I wasn't able to wear it! The smaller size was too tight around the hips for me, and the bigger size was huge up top. Totally cute dress but not for the pear-shaped.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
September 20, 2011
I wore this to a wedding in June and LOVED it! I went up a size only becase it was tight in the hips...everything else was true to size. I got tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks in it! Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2012
At the end of the night a girl told me she'd been staring at my dress all night. She said she loved the color and thought it fit my figure really well.
I was nervous after reading reviews that this dress isn't for girls with hips (which I have) so I ordered my normal size 4 and a 6 to be safe. I ended up wearing the 4...it was a little snug in the hips, but the 6 was baggy. This was a great dress for NYE! I had 3 different compliments (other than my friends) telling me what a great color it was and how great it looked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
April 23, 2012
It was very nice that the dresses arrived on time and completely laundered. I love shopping online and this process makes it so easy to do!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding and was very satisfied! I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was really nice to wear something "different" rather than the typical white house, black market dress for me. I will be using RTR again for my 10 year reunion this summer... it is very easy to use. Size wise: I am normally a size 0 in pants and skirts but ordered the 0,2 to be on the safe side. I wore the 2 because it was snug in the rib area and the 2 was much more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 26, 2012
Looks Great!
I rented this dress in a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit perfectly! I wore it at a reception and was able move, dance, and look amazing all at the same time. Yellow really isnt my color but I loved the dress and would rent it again for another formal event. Awesome dress thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
July 2, 2012
Beautiful dress!
There isn't much to be said about this dress besides it's absolutely gorgeous! It was definitely a stand-out at the wedding we attended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 19, 2012
3rd time renting here and I love it!
I was eyeing this dress for a long time and knew I wanted to get it for my Birthday. I ordered the 0 and the 2 but wish I got the 2 and the 4. I ended up wearing the 2 which fit fine but was bit tight in the hips. So if you're very curvy I say order up. I would recommend this dress if you are considering it, it's very pretty and fun for the summer!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
July 20, 2012
Great Fit!
I rented this dress for my high school homecoming and it was a great fit. I am 5'2 and it was a bit long on me so i pinned it to make it shorter and above the knees. I paired it with nude heels. I would highly recommend this dress, i got lots of compliments on it and it was very unique. None of my friends had it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 16, 2012
Great fun little dress!
I wore this dress for a fun charity cocktail hour. Loved it and got tons of compliments. The belt added a little nighttime glamour without making it too dressy.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
August 18, 2012
Love this dress!
Wore this dress to a friends wedding. Great dress and fit. Ordered it in a size 2, but it was a little too loose around the hips, called RTR and they sent the size 0 straight out. Great experience, so easy and would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 23, 2012
loved the sequins!
This dress was so fun! I loved dancing in it, it wasn't as bright of a yellow as I thought it would be, but still very cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, compliments all night. I think RTR will have a few more customers from my bragging :)
I rented this for a friends wedding and got MANY compliments all night, even from strangers! It is true to size but there is no give in the fabric, so my normal size fit until I sat down...so the size I wore was a bit big on me but still looked great. The only problem I noted was the zipper is very hard to zip up. Also, when I received the dresses, the size 6 had a bit of a stain, so I called RTR and they shipped me another one that night no problem - great customer service!!
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
August 29, 2012
It was my rehearsal dinner and I felt amazing in this beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for me rehearsal dinner and I received so many compliments. When I confessed to renting it from RTR, I was told never to return it (but I did). It was comfortable and very flattering on; also photographed beautifully.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2012
Fun and Spunky!
Great dress....particularly for those of us who are short and small chested :) A lot of fun to wear. The comments about wrinkles are true - it needed to be ironed before wearing it out, and it did wrinkle a bit throughout the evening.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Yellow Mark & James
I rented this dress in a 4 & got a 6 as my backup after reading all of the reviews. The 4 fit great but had a small defect - the sequins attachment was sewn on. It seemed to have been ripped off, so after calling RTR a few times trying to let someone know right away, I finally got through & the person I spoke with was very helpful & said that she would overnight two size 4s just to be sure. I told her I needed the dress by noon CST & it got here at 8 AM!!! Talk about GREAT service! The dress was AMAZING!! Fit great & I got so many looks & compliments with it BUT....toward the end of the night I was talking to some friends & a very drunk wedding guest came up & spilled red wine ALL over the dress! I panicked. Luckily the wedding planner came to the rescue with a bottle of seltzer & we tried our hardest to remove the stains. I called RTR first thing the next morning to let them know my dilemma & again, the person I spoke with was extrememly helpful & said they deal with a lot of stains & that it shouldn't be a problem getting it out but that someone would contact me once they receive it to let me know my next steps. Luckily, when i went to ship the dress back you could barely see the red wine. I guess club soda really works! I love RTR & will be back again & again, & again...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Belt isn't anywhere near as thick as in photos.
Cute dress, I rented it for an outdoor beach wedding. Fits great, a little tight in the bust (and I'm a small "B"), but the belt that came with the dress was about a 1/2" thick ribbon, not the thick sash-type belt in the photos. Also, the dress smelled of b.o. - and went right back to RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 8, 2012
Looks great for pics, but no stretch.
Don't get me wrong, I loved this dress and don't regret this being my choice for the wedding, but you can see from reviewer's pics that the dress looks best when it is tighter so there are less wrinkles and extra material around the stomach. However, the fabric has no give. It wasn't super easy to sit in but the boning in the size 4 was a little weird around the chest so I went with the 2. The material of the dress also shows sweat marks - if you sweat, it will be visible when it dries. That said, the color felt like I was wearing a sunbeam and it was really a fun piece to wear at a fall wedding. I'd never buy a yellow dress, but borrowing from RTR gave me the freedom to wear one! I loved it and am really glad I went with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 16, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress!
The dress was super comfortable, ran true to size, elegant, gorgeous color. Not as dressy as the picture makes it seem but the color really makes you stand out!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Adorable but wrinkly and zipper was broken
I wanted to wear this dress but the zipper was broken when I received it. Very flattering dress, loved the color and fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2012
Fell in LOVE with this dress! The perfect balance of cute, classy, and glam.
I wore this to a outdoor wedding outisde San Francisco. It was the perfect dress. It was bright, fun, and comfortable for the summer, but the beautiful gold ribbion running down the side stepped it up a notch to become dressier and added an a flattering element. I had strangers complementing it all night. great, fun, dress for a summer affair. Fit true to size, snug, which you want for a strapless.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×