In the Limelight Dress

$40 rental
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself! Take over the dance floor by wearing this little number by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka. Pair with a colorful cuff for a great overall look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Charteuse silk faille. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Front ruffle with gold sequins. Grosgrain ribbon at waist. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
157 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(83)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 14, 2013
Fit perfectly!
This was my first time using rent the runway and I cant wait to use it again! I ordered the 0, and the 2 as a back up, but ended up fitting into the 0. I needed some help getting the zipper up, but besides that the dress fit in all the right places. I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding in November, and got many compliments all night. I was in the dress from 2 in the afternoon till 1 at night and was comfortable the entire night. To sum it up RTR was very easy to use and the dress was gorgeous!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
November 24, 2013
Great for a Vegas wedding!
Runs true to size and is comfortable for a strapless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2013
the bright color was perfect for a beach wedding!
I LOVED this dress, and received so many compliments! I wore it with nude pumps and gold earrings. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2013
Pretty in photos, not perfect in life.
The dress definitely runs small. I am generally an 8 and I went up one size with the 10 and it was still tight. It did zip, but wearing a tight dress for 5 hours can be painful. I am also very busty and it was definitely small in the bust. I'm not sure even going up a size would have fixed that problem though. The material is sort of a weird texture that looks great in photo because of the way it catches light, but is kind of odd in real life. It also is very unforgiving to stains and by the end of the night I had some issues with slight underarm stains as well as stains from spilt drinks that did show very clearly in photos. I wore it with gold glitter peep toe heels, a gold cuff, pearl earrings and a simple gold chain necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 10, 2014
Too tight and fabric with no stretch.
I thought this dress looked so cute on the model and in several of the people who rented it. I read a lot of reviews and was hesitant but decided the yellow was perfect for a friend's wedding in Florida. It arrived a day earlier than expected which was awesome because I ended up not being able to wear it and having to go with something I already owned. I am normally an 8, but I had to squeeze into the 10. The zipper was very hard to get over the belted area and the fabric had no stretch so made it very uncomfortable. Also, the fabric is very unforgiving in terms of the stomach and hip area. The color in the pictures are deceiving...it is more of a mustard yellow than bright. I am more curvy so do think this dress would look good on someone more straight and narrow. I still love RTR just do not think this was the right dress for my body type. Luckily, they have a great return policy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 10, 2014
This was the perfect dress for an upscale outdoor wedding in June.
Like many others said, this definitely runs small in the bottom portion. It also has no stretch, whatsoever, so keep that in mind when ordering. That being said, it was a great dress and the gold accent gave it just a little something unusual compared to the other yellow dresses at the wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 13, 2014
Unfortunately both sizes didn't fit!
Unfortunately both sizes I ordered did not fit! I always rent for RTR and have never encountered this problem at all! RTR was very nice and allowed me to return it with a full refund. I wish I could have wore it because it really is a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
I rented this for my junior prom. I loved the color and I received a ton of compliments!
The last dress I ordered from Rent the Runway a few weeks before this was a size 2, and I needed a size 6 for this one, so it definitely runs much smaller. It is tighter on the bottom than it is on the top, but other than that it looked great and I definitely recommend it for a formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2014
The dress looks even better in person!
It runs VERY small. I'm usually a 2-4 but I orderd a 4-6. The 6 fit great, but the zipper was worn out from the last person/people that rented it. My boyfriend tried zipping it for me, and even though there was plenty of slack, the zipper came off the track. I was so upset, because the 4 was to small. But I squeezed into it anyway. The material is thick, so it's good for spring. Or summer if its not to hot out. I loved the dress. I just wish the one that fit wasn't broken : (
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 139lbs
May 11, 2014
The wedding of one of my best friend's and I had the perfect dress!
Fit great and was very flattering on my body type which can be challenging. I wish I had a picture, but unfortunately don't. Everyone at the wedding loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 2, 2014
Compliments all night long!
This dress was amazing. It was comfortable for the most part, but after a night for dancing the side zipper dug into my skin a bit. It does not have any stretch to it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2014
Gorgeous color! A real stand out
I couldn't be happier with this rental. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments. The color was gorgeous and so perfect for a summer wedding. I hated to give it back.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 1, 2014
Great service. I have four weddings this year and when my client told me about this site, I jumped
Dress fit perfect and was a great length because I'm not tall. If you have hips you may want to go a size up. I got so many compliments and no one else had anything that looked remotely like this awesome dress on at the wedding. Material was very nice as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
July 7, 2014
Beautiful Color and Sparkle! Received many compliments!
I read many reviews on this dress knowing that it ran small and that the zipper may or may not get stuck. I ordered both the 0 and the 2. The 0 fit me better in the hips because it actually hit me in the right spot, the 2 fit a little tight in the hips because it hit me lower, but the bust in the 2 was much better. The 0 was WAY too tight in the bust. I wore the 2 and it worked great! The zipper was a little hard to move but it worked ok. The color was a beautiful yellow and I received many compliments on it. I wore it with metallic gold sandals and a yellow ostrich feather clutch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2014
Beautiful dress- strange fit!!
I am a frequent RTRW user (having 9 weddings in one year will do that to a girl!) so I always know to read the reviews of plenty of women before renting any dress. I was so grateful I did. I usually wear a standard size 6 dress, but all the reviews told me that this dress ran very small and they were right, reading those, I ordered an 8 and a 10, and I wore the 10. The dress has no give to the fabric at all and is cut very narrow through the hips/rear - I think it is made for straighter bodied women, but I've got hips so even the 8 was too tight to really bend or move around in. The 10 was big in strange places (it gapped across the top which I normally never have a problem filling out) and was roomy in the stomach, but still taunt across the hips/rear. Overall I was happy with the rental and I received SO MANY compliments on this dress, it photographed nicely, but it was not my favorite rental simply because the fitting was so off and it is not sized properly. If you're looking to rent this dress definitely head the warnings of other renters and order a size up from your usual size, and make your backup size the next size up from that!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
August 4, 2014
Such a happy dress!
The dress is so much nicer in person and on the body than the picture or on the model. The dress makes your body look so much better than the model does - this is one of those dresses that actually makes normal people look better than really skinny models! The color is also amazing and flattering. I would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2014
Loved the color! It's such a stand out at a holiday party!
Strapless dresses usually fall down on me but this dress had great structure and stayed up all night. The fabric is thick and high quality. It's flattering all over and a special color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2014
Lots of compliments, the dress looked great!
Fits well, slim cut. It was tighter around the hips since the dress doesn't have any spandex or stretch to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2014
No one else wore yellow to the wedding!
I wore this dress to a late august wedding and it was the perfect final glimpse of summer dress (even the bride complimented, and clearly she was gorgeous, so I couldn't believe she even noticed my dress) the fabric felt and looked elegant yet light and not too hot. No one else at the wedding had a dress color similar to mine so I felt one of a kind! (Thank you RTR!!) My only complaint would be that it was tight in the hips and booty and tight in the tummy after much eating! (However, I did ride 2 hours home from the wedding in the dress so it wasn't THAT uncomfortable) I borrowed the BCBG feather clutch from a friend, wore a simple Kendra Scott necklace and topped it off with dainty mikimoto pearls. Great rental and I highly recommend!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 28, 2014
OMG! This dress was amazing. So many compliments. Stunning on.
I was leery about purchasing because not everyone can pull yellow off and it went off like a bang! So many compliments. Fit like a glove. I may order this dress again. I would suggest tanning before wearing, makes the yellow pop. The only complaint that I have is the dress that came to me had an issue with the zipper. Very hard to zip up. Had 3 people helping me zip it up and I wouldn't use the bathroom the whole night for fear of not being able to get it zipped back up.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2014
Really pretty, runs small though
This dress is just as gorgeous in person, but it definitely runs very small around the hips. I ordered a size up from my regular size, and made my backup size yet another size up from that, and I'm glad I did...the backup size, 2 sizes bigger than I usually wear, still fit a little snug around the hips! Very pretty dress though--I got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2012
WOW!!!!
This was my back up dress for the Nantucket wedding. When I got it, I wasn't sure about it at all. Once I put it on, all my worries went away. This dress is AMAZING! It's classic yet sexy. It hugged all my curves without being too much. The color isn't as bright in the picture, it's more a muted yellow. It looks so great on. I kept receiving so many compliments all night. My boyfriend said I looked stunning! I will rent this dress again!!!
RTR CustomerOctober 21, 2012
looking for a dress for myslef when i saw this!!! the dress looked great and it was so awesome to meet you!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
April 30, 2014
runs small
I would normally get a size 8 or 10 this time i got a 12 and it was too small around the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 3, 2014
Runs Small but really cute.
Thankfully I rented this dress in a size up based on the reviews and it was still a little snug, but I was on a Cruise and did gain weight so that could also be a factor as well. The color was flattering. A little tight in the hips so curvy girls beware.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2014
Nice color; runs small
Overall, the dress is nice and flattering! I gave it 3 stars for two reasons: 1. It runs small, especially in the bust. 2. I didn't realize that the ruffle is sequins....in the photos it looks like the same fabric as the ribbon. Still a nice dress though and a great color for blondes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2015
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress! It is beautiful and comfortable, perfect for a winery wedding!
The 2 was just a tad bit too tight and this 4 was a bit big, but I was very comfortable in the 4 all night. The dress is stunning and photographs really well. I received compliments on it all night, as well as on FB. It does show water spots in sunlight, but they are not too noticeable unless you are looking for them. I wish that I could own this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2015
Good... Not great.
The color was amazing and while I did get quite a few complements on the dress it was not my favorite from RTR. The fit was a little strange like some of the other girls said. Very tight around your hips/butt area and not so form fitting in the bust. I did go up a size to a 6, I am typically a 4, but do have a curvy figure so I ordered the 6 as my backup based on the other comments. It was the perfect color for a circus theme party, but would never rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
April 29, 2015
Classy dress for a spring wedding!
This dress was comfortable and fit well. It was also very flattering. I am still in the process of losing baby weight and have about 5 lbs. to go--this dress worked really well. Everyone one else that said it fits small are right though. I would size up at least two to three sizes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
May 7, 2015
I wore this dress for a Kentucky Derby party.
It was a perfect fit! The color is bright and vibrant and great for spring/summer events. Lots of compliments on the style and color. Other reviews mention that it is narrow through the hips and I would agree, but for my frame and size it was fine. I definitely recommend it and would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
June 8, 2015
Order at least one or two sizes up!
I rented this gorgeous dress for a wedding in Charlotte, where it's extremely hot and it worked really well, except it runs Realy small! I normally wear a size 2 or even a 0, so after reading the reviews I ordered a 2 & 4 for back up. The 4 fit was a bit tight on my hips, so I called and had the 6 sent as well! The 6 was great on the bottom area but really large around the chest area, so I ended up wearing the 4. It's tight around the hip area because the material doesn't stretch at all. The chest area was even a little too large for me ( I'm a 34b). Order at least a size up from your normal size and if you have boobs, go with 2 sizes up! The color was beautiful and I did get compliments on it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 17, 2015
Compliments on this dress all night! Comfortable and gorgeous!
Definitely tighter in the hips, wore the size 2 and not the 0 so I could dance!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 30, 2015
Eyecatcher, but SMALL!
Wore this to the 2015 Daytime Emmys. Stood out in a sea of black dresses! Super fun! Only compliant....dress RUNS SMALL. I usually wear a 0 or 2 and in this dress I wore a 4. I wonder if I even should have worn a 6! The material has zero give. If you're curvy in the hips like me, don't expect to be dancing in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2015
Unflattering color, runs small
Unflattering color - looks yellow-greenish in person, rather than the pretty yellow in the photograph. This runs small and tight. I ended up returning it instead of wearing it to the event
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2015
everything! Wore to a wedding reception
I am normally a size 4 and the 6 fit like a glove. The length didn't bother me, at 5'6.5" but may be short for someone taller. i was able to wear a strapless bra but there is enough support that you wouldn't necessarily need to. I got a ton of compliments and the color was flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2011
Looks cheap in person, especially the ribbon belt -- kinda like a choir show dress. I found it loose around the hips and tight in the chest. Didn't wear it, would not recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
January 15, 2012
Feeling like a ray of sunshine in a cold winter night !
I rented this dress for a work holiday party I didn't end up going to, but wore it to a private dinner, feeling stylish, but not overdressed. My usual size fit well, but just about around the hips - I can see that it might not be a good fit for ever so slightly rounder hips. The fabric has no give, so it's only comfortable if it fits just right. As it was a cold day, the sturdy fabric was nice; although a sunny color, it might actually be a bit hot in summer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
August 8, 2015
Fun but different!
This was my back up dress so I didn't end up wearing it because my first dress was amazing. I really did like this but it does run small and my normal size had very little movement in the hip/butt area. Keep that in mind when renting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2015
The complements I got on the dress was awesome!
fit well and flatttering but had to adjust the fold in the front several times
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 5, 2011
This dress literally stopped traffic!
This dress was a smash hit!! I wore it to an evening wedding and it was the second most talked about dress (2nd only to the bride!. Runs a bit tight (especially around the ribs) so make sure you get the extra size one larger then you think you are. It looks great on, so do your hair and makeup and then try it on! This dress made it the best wedding i have ever been too!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
June 13, 2012
I was very happy with the pictures even though I had just given birth 4 months prior.
This dress is one of my favorite rentals from RTR. I rented it because I had just given birth and wasn't back to my original size. I received many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×