Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Art Deco Print Beaded Shift

$75 rental
$520 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This beautiful nude shift by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka is a sweet and subtly sexy style for summer. Perfect for daytime dressing or evenings out, and best with simple jewelry.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8, 10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - shift dress is cut straight at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8, 10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - shift dress is cut straight at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Nude silk with cream beading. V neckline. Art deco beading on body. Hidden side zip. Shift body style. About 35" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

91 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 63
Large 17
Photos 41
Caitlin
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 30, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Definitely order a larger backup size, as this is very narrow through the hips. Because the shape is a true shift, it does hang straight down, and doesn't do much for the figure. The beading, color and detail are spectacular and I got a lot of compliments - I love this dress!
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway, and I will do it many times again and recommend it to everyone! The dress came in perfectly on time, and fit perfectly! Having two size options was very nice. The dress is a tad short, but only noticeable when sitting down...nothing really to worry about, just sit carefully! All-in-all, a great dress & a great first experience!
A.
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 23, 2011

more gray in person

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress thinking it was more cream/champagne color, however I got it and it looked more gray and darker in person. I'm a size 0/XS, 34B bust and it fit me well. I ended up not wearing it to a bachelorette party in vegas where everyone was wearing white. I sent it back in the mail the day after I received it. :(
liz
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Body type: Petite
May 31, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Looks beautiful on the model, and has beautiful detailing, but does nothing for the figure. Im not skinny at all but the small was still too big and had way too much fabric in the midsection.
Chloe
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jul 10, 2011

Great Rental

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Amazing dress! Color is a little different than in the photo. Lots of compliments. XS fit me well.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 8, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I ordered both a S and XS - S is my normal size but the XS fit much better. This dress is pretty in person, but mine came damaged and was missing a lot of beading. RTR was great with customer service, but I couldn't wear the dress. Besides the missing beads, it did look a little worn. As a new dress, this dress is really pretty.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Maybe I got the wrong size, but this fit like a paper bag. Check out the model; her middle is baggy if you zoom in. It had no shape in the waist and a belt would've been too much, so I didn't wear it out. I loved the beading and it is just gorgeous on a hanger!!!
JS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am usually between an XS and S and could have squeezed into the XS but the S was much more comfortable. It's meant to be a little loose and looks fab!
JJP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and loved it and received rave reviews. A tip on the sizing - a small fit me pretty well but it was way too short for a nice dinner, so I went with the medium.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED this dress! I'm tall and very thin and this dress worked great. It's easy to wear, no special undergarments required. I wore it with some black heels to imitate the look in the image, but nude shoes would look amazing as well. The sequin pattern is so chic!
Emily
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 15, 2011

Really pretty

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is gorgeous! It didn't fit me right which was very unfortunate so I couldn't wear it :( but it is quite beautiful.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

Fabulous

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for a cocktail party and absolutely loved it. The dress worked perfect for my tall height. The waist is looser than the rest of the dress, but it hangs nicely. I would definitely recommend this dress, especially for the taller ladies!
Wyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

This is a GORGEOUS dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It added some sparkle for NYE without being trashy (a danger with sequins). The small fit my body better, but it was too short for me at 5'8". The medium was perfect, except it was a bit poochy in the stomach. I think that's just the sheath style. I would totally wear this dress again, and I'd recommend it to everyone!
Hailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Great rental!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love love loooveeddd this dress! I was so happy with the way it looked and the beading is absolutely gorgeous. It was a tad short, but not too short that I couldn't wear it. I definitely recommend ordering a size up with your extra rental. I wore the size S and I definitely couldn't have worn an XS. Definitely recommend for formal events and parties!
Kyle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

Beautiful Beading

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a formal and it was beautiful. At 5'5" it fit just right in length, but a warning to taller girls: this can be very short/barely cover your butt. My roommate (who ordered this dress for another occasion and is only an inch or two taller than me) tried the M and S on when I ordered it and it was very short in the back for her. Overall, the dress has great coverage (in the bust) and looks stunning (the beading on the front really is beautiful!).
cm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 1, 2012

great, but very short

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is VERY beautiful in person. But it does not have give. It is also pretty short. I was not able to wear because it was way to short and tight on the bottom. Probably looks great on someone with less curves.
Marisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 24, 2012

LOVED the dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, the beading and sequins were exquisite. I'm a medium because i'm thicker, but i'm really short, so the medium was too long for me. I wore the small and it fit fine, but was a little tight around the butt (I have a big butt). The fit was perfect for a true small, and I got tons of compliments all night long and it was perfect for the event. I would definitely recommend it for anyone!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100 lbs
May 26, 2012

Bedazzled Sensation

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit just right. Normally a size 0/2 and it was just right. Not too tight, and flowed in all the perfect places. Shined on my big day at graduation. Pony up!
Kelly
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 28, 2012

Bachelorette Party

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my party, and while it is not very form fitting it looked great! I ended up wearing the XS
AR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 10, 2012

Wore to summer wedding

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really lovely in person. Darker in color than it appears in the picture. Fit well in an XS. Hung beautifully. Not too loose, not too tight. Came to my knees because I am petite, and the V neck gave me a little cleavage but was not too low.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 15, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was such a beautiful dress! It fit a little tighter around my lower body and a little bit looser around my stomach. I think it would probably be best on someone with a straight (not curvy) body type, but I really enjoyed wearing it!
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Not flattering

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was in search of a cute cream dress for a formal bach party. This dress wore me, it was big and boxy and not flattering in the slightest. It was way too short too.
Belle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 10, 2012

Cute and Classy

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the front details. Wore it with nude pumps to a semi-formal dinner. Lots of compliments.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Fingers crossed for next time

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Hope I get to try this one again, I ordered it but it was unavailable on its ship date.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

beautiful dress, awkard fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to the afterparty of my wedding. The dress is beautiful, but as other reviewers mentioned, a bit awkward fitting. The top fit fine (I am a bit busty), but the dress was tight in the hips. I also thought it looked a bit strange that the back of the dress had no beading. The fabric on the back was a bit thin and combined with the tightness around the hips- probably not the most flattering.
Tara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Classic and beautiful

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful color and great fit - eye catching without being too intense. & fun to wiggle in!
Mikaela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

Beautiful, well-made dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was gorgeous, unfortunately the size I ordered (there was no backup available for the dates I needed it) did not fit my body type well. It was a little too loose up top, and way too tight in the hips, so it rode up when I walked. I didn't end up wearing it, but it was very beautiful - order up with your extra.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 14, 2012

beautiful beadwork

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't actually end of wearing this dress because I felt that it was a little too summer-y for a middle of winter affair. I rented this originally for my engagement party, but it didn't look quite right on my bust (mind you, I am very busty so its hard). The V neck was a little too high and my boobs looked squished. I would definitely recommend this for girls with a smaller bust than myself because the bead work is great!
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Beautiful but sack-Like

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a beautiful dress and the sequins where stunning. However I am not sure if the dress was just too big or illfitting but it fit like a potato sack!!
Kendra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 19, 2012

Wore it to a wedding. Fits a bit baggy -- but got so many compliments. Rent a size down.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore it to a wedding. Fits a bit baggy -- but got so many compliments. Rent a size down.
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Unfortunately I did not get to experience an off the runway look.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately this dress looks beautiful on the model, however when I received the dress, I ordered small and medium, the small was too small and missing beads, and the medium was so stretched out I couldn't even make any quick adjustments to make it fit. It looked like a potato sack. I ended up wearing a dress I already owned, but I don't know if I would rent again, because I might not be as prepared with a back up dress of my own. To be honest it took me about 3 months to select this dress after looking at so many of the other dresses. After all that time, I was extremely disappointed when the dresses didn't fit.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Unique and fun

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal party and was not disappointed. It stood out from the crowd and was pretty without being over the top. I could have worn the extra small, but it was too short and tight for the occasion, so I went with the small. It was not very form fitting, but was still flattering.
J
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
They unfortunately didn't have my second size choice available for my rental period so I was taking a risk by only ordering the small, but it absolutely worked out. My second choice would have been a M, which in retrospect would have been way too big. I loved the dress and it was an easy fit due to the shift dress style.
joy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

gorgeous one of a kind dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
didnt' get a chance to wear this dress since i was still trying to lose weight after giving birth five months ago.
Brianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

The dress was gorgeous!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a fantastic dress and fit perfectly the only problem was that its length was a lot shorter than expected. I got both a small and medium to try and both were the same length.
Kelly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

Loved this dress!!!! It's a must rent :-)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was in perfect condition....only down fall due to Hurricane Sandy.... I was delivered only ONE size -the Medium. I got lucky! It fit perfect. Thanks Rent The Runway.
Jayne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Short and tight.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was shorter on me than on the model. I did not think it was not appropriate for a wedding for someone my height.
Haley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 17, 2012

adorable!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
loved this. not to short! perfect fit!
JM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

loved the dress but didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress but it didnt work for me. The dress was too big on top and too small for my hips. May not work for pear shapes!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

This dress was amazing! Wore it for my wedding rehearsal, go so many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's flattering without being tight to the body. Doesn't feel too heavy even with all of the beading. Easy to wear.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×