Art Deco Print Beaded Shift

$75 rental
$520 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This beautiful nude shift by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka is a sweet and subtly sexy style for summer. Perfect for daytime dressing or evenings out, and best with simple jewelry.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8, 10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - shift dress is cut straight at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Nude silk with cream beading. V neckline. Art deco beading on body. Hidden side zip. Shift body style. About 35" from shoulder to hem.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 19, 2012
Wore it to a wedding. Fits a bit baggy -- but got so many compliments. Rent a size down.
Wore it to a wedding. Fits a bit baggy -- but got so many compliments. Rent a size down.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Unfortunately I did not get to experience an off the runway look.
Unfortunately this dress looks beautiful on the model, however when I received the dress, I ordered small and medium, the small was too small and missing beads, and the medium was so stretched out I couldn't even make any quick adjustments to make it fit. It looked like a potato sack. I ended up wearing a dress I already owned, but I don't know if I would rent again, because I might not be as prepared with a back up dress of my own. To be honest it took me about 3 months to select this dress after looking at so many of the other dresses. After all that time, I was extremely disappointed when the dresses didn't fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
Perfect Vegas Dress!
I felt like a movie star in this dress! The different neutral shades looked really cool and worked great with my nude pumps. I have a larger bust so the dress didn't 'hang' as nicely as it should have, but the v-neck helped with that. Length was great too. All around a great dress!
johannaOctober 10, 2012
you say that you're usually a size 8, but that's a definite medium. in shirts and pants I'm usually a size 8, but with dresses or button downs I'm more of a 10. did you really wear a small in this dress?
RTR CustomerOctober 11, 2012
Hi Johanna! I would suggest ordering a size M and then a S for back-up if you are typically a size 8!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 3, 2012
gorgeous one of a kind dress
didnt' get a chance to wear this dress since i was still trying to lose weight after giving birth five months ago.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
The dress was gorgeous!!
It was a fantastic dress and fit perfectly the only problem was that its length was a lot shorter than expected. I got both a small and medium to try and both were the same length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
October 9, 2012
loved the dress and fit!
this dress fit perfect! I would rent it again for another event
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 29, 2012
This dress was so comfortable & flattering for a large bust!
This dress is more gray than pictured & fit very true to size. Extremely flattering & forgiving too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2012
Loved this dress!!!! It's a must rent :-)
Dress was in perfect condition....only down fall due to Hurricane Sandy.... I was delivered only ONE size -the Medium. I got lucky! It fit perfect. Thanks Rent The Runway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 7, 2012
Beautiful beading, but has no shape.
Some sequins were falling off at the shoulder and it seemed a little too big for me. If I had gotten the XS i was afraid that it would be too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
November 11, 2012
Short and tight.
This dress was shorter on me than on the model. I did not think it was not appropriate for a wedding for someone my height.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 21, 2012
beautiful dress with easy fit and gorgeous details!
Ordered a L and it fit perfectly - even had a little room to move around in, which was great. The sequin detailing is gorgeous and I got so many compliments on it! It was such a great dress that I almost want to order it again for another event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 24, 2012
loved the dress but didn't fit
I loved this dress but it didnt work for me. The dress was too big on top and too small for my hips. May not work for pear shapes!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 25, 2012
This dress was amazing! Wore it for my wedding rehearsal, go so many compliments!
It's flattering without being tight to the body. Doesn't feel too heavy even with all of the beading. Easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2012
Very beautiful detailing, fits strangely
I typically wear a 6. I ordered a small and a medium and the small. If you have a butt or hips, this will fit you strangely. I have a tush and hips and it was loose everywhere but there. Overall, I was happy. It wasn't so tight near my behind that I wasn't comfortable and since it was a little bigger everywhere else I could eat as much as I pleased!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 26, 2013
Great dress
I didn't end up wearing this but was super cute...loved the dress.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2013
Very Pretty
Great dress, though I wish the beading went all the way around. The back looked a little cheap.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2013
So many compliments!
I wanted to wear the xs because the top of the dress was a little loose with the small, but the xs WOULD NOT fit over my hips. Wide hip girls should order a size up for their second size, otherwise fits true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 22, 2013
This dress was unbelievable in person. The design and texture of the dress looked amazing on!!
The fit is a little large. The colors are true to what the image shows, a little grey, white and light tan. There is a texture which looks great on the body. I would totally rent it again just to wear it to another event. It looked so gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2013
The subtle-ness of this dress is what made me the best dressed!!
Runs large, but once you find your fit, it's perfect!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2013
Sassy dress- great depending on body type
This is a beautiful dress and the beadwork is stunning. Looks better in person than in the photo. I found it to be a bit short, so I opted to wear the medium, which was too baggy in the midsection/stomach area for me. If you don't mind short, I'd recommend it. If you prefer something that's a bit more forgiving in the length, I'd go for a different style so it doesn't end up feeling too big. Also, it's a little heavy from all the beading!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2013
Wore this dress for snow-coming court election! Felt beautiful. The dress sparkled all night long!
I'm 5'9''. It was a little on the short side, but nothing inappropriate. I felt very comfortable, as the dress is not form fitting--more of the loose, flapper style. And the beading is so much more beautiful in person! I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 28, 2013
This was my first RTR experience and it was wonderful.
The dress fit perfectly, I wore it to a Speakeasy event and it was perfect. The fit is lose but not baggy, and it's really comfortable. The beading is amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 144lbs
April 9, 2013
Gorgeous Beading
True to size. The beading was beautiful! I loved this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 24, 2013
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's Casablanca themed work party. The color and detail were awesome
Fit beautifully and was super comfortable all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
April 4, 2014
I received tons of compliments on this dress!
The dress was too big even though I rented the XS. It is a stunning dress and super comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 7, 2011
I was not able to wear the dress because I have a slim/straight figure, therefore even the XS was too loose. It appeared as though I was wearing a potatoe sack...I would recommend this dress for somewith with more curves.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 10, 2011
Great Rental
Amazing dress! Color is a little different than in the photo. Lots of compliments. XS fit me well.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2011
GREAT DRESS!
Overall good order. I rented the small too, and that was a little too tight in the hips area, so the M worked best. the V neck is very low though, so I would suggest some fashion tape to be worn with it. kind of a heavy dress. the sequins were not 100% perfect, but overall I loved the dress and it looked great to me. very pleased, wish I could wear it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
The great memories and laughs I had in the dress celebrating my best friends 21st Birthday and the new year!!
I wore the dress for a New Years party and loved it! It was my first time renting, but it was so easy and fun. I'm fairly tall so the dress was a little short in the back but other than that it fit great, I got a lot of compliments, and I'd definitely recommend it. :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2012
A random guy at the event I was at came up to me and told me I looked stunning in my dress. It made my night!
Great dress! Amazing beading and color pattern. Fit really well, a little tight on the butt though. So if you have a larger butt keep this in mind when picking sizes! Loved the length and the neck line. Got so many compliments and had a lot of fun with it! Did not need to really accessorize it because of the beading. Also, didn't need a bra which I usually always have to wear!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
Great Dress & tons of compliments!
This dress was perfect for my law school "prom". Most girls wear cocktail dresses and this was perfect. I ordered an xs and a s... the Small fit perfectly, the xs was too tight. Although I am only 5'1 (about 120lbs) I have a bigger bottom and thighs and like to de-emphasize my mid-section... this dress hugged all the right places and skimmed my body perfectly. It's perfect too because you can wear a regular bra and get some good "push up" action if you want to sex-it-up a little. Got TONS of compliments all night... highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
August 16, 2012
everyone loved the detailed beading!
Rented this dress for a sorority formal and it was such a hit! It was a bit tight fitting in my lower body, but other than that I loved it! The beading detail is even more beautiful in person
OliviaSeptember 10, 2012
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
October 21, 2012
Just in time!
I ordered this dress for my Senior Homecoming, and I loved it; however, it is verrryyyy short. When I raised my hands, you could immediately see the spandex I was wearing underneath. A little out of my comfort zone regarding the length, but the beading on the front is fab and the shift style made it classy. I would definitely recommend to those 5'5'' and under.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 28, 2010
Ordered a small but did not end up wearing it because of fit. Found it was too baggy in the chest (I'm a 34D) and went to my knees. Beautiful pattern and would recommend it for someone taller. Also, plan on a quick steaming before wearing as the silk back may become crinkled during shipping.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 11, 2011
Maybe I got the wrong size, but this fit like a paper bag. Check out the model; her middle is baggy if you zoom in. It had no shape in the waist and a belt would've been too much, so I didn't wear it out. I loved the beading and it is just gorgeous on a hanger!!!
AmberSeptember 14, 2015
Was the 0R floor skimming for you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2012
Great rental!!
Love love loooveeddd this dress! I was so happy with the way it looked and the beading is absolutely gorgeous. It was a tad short, but not too short that I couldn't wear it. I definitely recommend ordering a size up with your extra rental. I wore the size S and I definitely couldn't have worn an XS. Definitely recommend for formal events and parties!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2012
Beautiful Beading
I wore this dress for a formal and it was beautiful. At 5'5" it fit just right in length, but a warning to taller girls: this can be very short/barely cover your butt. My roommate (who ordered this dress for another occasion and is only an inch or two taller than me) tried the M and S on when I ordered it and it was very short in the back for her. Overall, the dress has great coverage (in the bust) and looks stunning (the beading on the front really is beautiful!).
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 24, 2012
LOVED the dress.
I loved this dress, the beading and sequins were exquisite. I'm a medium because i'm thicker, but i'm really short, so the medium was too long for me. I wore the small and it fit fine, but was a little tight around the butt (I have a big butt). The fit was perfect for a true small, and I got tons of compliments all night long and it was perfect for the event. I would definitely recommend it for anyone!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
May 26, 2012
Bedazzled Sensation
Fit just right. Normally a size 0/2 and it was just right. Not too tight, and flowed in all the perfect places. Shined on my big day at graduation. Pony up!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Weight: 120lbs
June 28, 2012
Bachelorette Party
I wore this for my party, and while it is not very form fitting it looked great! I ended up wearing the XS
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×