Art Deco Print Beaded Shift

$75 rental
$520 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This beautiful nude shift by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka is a sweet and subtly sexy style for summer. Perfect for daytime dressing or evenings out, and best with simple jewelry.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8, 10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - shift dress is cut straight at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Nude silk with cream beading. V neckline. Art deco beading on body. Hidden side zip. Shift body style. About 35" from shoulder to hem.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2011
Really pretty

This dress is gorgeous! It didn't fit me right which was very unfortunate so I couldn't wear it :( but it is quite beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2011
Fabulous

Wore this dress for a cocktail party and absolutely loved it. The dress worked perfect for my tall height. The waist is looser than the rest of the dress, but it hangs nicely. I would definitely recommend this dress, especially for the taller ladies!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2012
This is a GORGEOUS dress.

It added some sparkle for NYE without being trashy (a danger with sequins). The small fit my body better, but it was too short for me at 5'8". The medium was perfect, except it was a bit poochy in the stomach. I think that's just the sheath style. I would totally wear this dress again, and I'd recommend it to everyone!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2012
Moves Like Jagger all night. Thanks RTR Happy New Year!

This dress looks just like the picture but what you cant see is the intricate detail of the beading, it is simply stunning. I wore this dress on NYE and it was almost a Roaring 20's look. Often I hesitate on choosing beaded/sequin dresses as the next morning the sides of my arms are raw from the rubbing.. that was not the case with this dress, the beading is soft and fantastic! The picture shows black shoes...I chose a patent nude with light gold jewelry and it was a complete RTR worthy Look =). The only thing I noticed when looking at Pictures the next morning is the bottom of the dress kind of buckles out between your legs when standing straight. The Fit: This dress fits exactly as it should, it is not tight by any means. This dress hangs flat... If you are looking for shape, this is not the dress for you. The V neck dips right to the top of your chest giving you enough cleavage to feel sexy in a box dress without feeling slutty!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2012
no one was wearing anything similar and i got a ton of compliments! loved the elegant simplicity!

i really liked this dress and got a ton of compliments on it! i paired it with some costume jewelry bracelets, long diamond drop necklaces layerd and the kenneth jay lane Pave Pearl Ring (rented for $15) I wore it with nude pumps. it was super comfortable and no one else had anyting else like it on! my friend is seen here in the halson heritage Liquid Gold Dress that she also rented!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 27, 2012
My boyfriend compliments me even when I wear sweats but the look on his face when I came out in the dress was unforgettable.

I am 5'2" with an athletic build and I ended up wearing the XS. The small just looked like a burlap sack on me and was super loose in the stomach. The XS was a little bit tight on my butt but it fit a lot better in the stomach than the small. For dinner I paired the dress with a blazer and rolled up the sleeves to dress it down a bit and also for added warmth. I loved the dress though and got so many compliments on it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 16, 2012
huge fan of RTR... such a great concept for people who hate re-wearing clothes

The beading on this dress is beautiful. It totally speaks for itself. In addition, I feel this dress is extremely versatile. Other reviewers have worn it to formal events and looked amazing, but I wore it over my bathing suit and out to lunch on vacation. So comfortable and chic! I ordered the XS and it was loose in the stomach but tighter in the butt. If you have bigger hips and thighs I would consider going a size up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 2, 2012
I loved this dress! The beading on the front is gorgeous!

This dress is one of the prettiest dresses I've ever worn. Unfortunately my pear figure made the fit a tad tight in the bottom and too loose throughout the stomach. The medium would have been too big everywhere else so the small worked best. I got a lot of compliments and loved the gorgeous front of the dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2012
One girl came up to me and said, "I don't even go here, but I was looking around and judging everyone's dresses, and I saw yours and told my boyfriend 'THAT is an amazing dress! It's beautiful!'"

I wore this to my boyfriend's college senior formal. As it wasn't my senior year, I wanted to not wear a floor length dress but still stand out. I loved wearing this! It is very short, but so snug at the bottom that I never worried about it riding too high. I wore the XS because it fit better on top and I didn't mind how tight it was around the hips/butt, but it did wrinkle a bit in front. The S would have been gorgeous too, but with next to no shape. I only gave 4/5 stars because I didn't love how loose the middle section was, but I knew it was supposed to be a somewhat saggy fit going into it from others' reviews. As long as you are OK with that, the beading is absolutely gorgeous and this was perfect for a warm spring/summer evening formal!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 10, 2012
Wore to summer wedding

Really lovely in person. Darker in color than it appears in the picture. Fit well in an XS. Hung beautifully. Not too loose, not too tight. Came to my knees because I am petite, and the V neck gave me a little cleavage but was not too low.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 24, 2012
arrived on time as usual, great experience as always.

Loved this dress! The beading and sequins are beautiful. I did notice one tiny area missing a few beads/sequins but only because I was looking...otherwise could not tell at all. This dress is very luxurious, doesn't look or feel cheap at all. Very versatile, I wore this to my college graduation. Do keep in mind that it is a shift-- it's not going to be tight, or at least it's not supposed to be. I did tie a black ribbon around the waist to define my shape a little.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Fingers crossed for next time

Hope I get to try this one again, I ordered it but it was unavailable on its ship date.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2012
The dress stood out among everyone in fringe and sparkles!!

I rented this dress for my sorority's "Roaring 20's" date party. It was by far a stand out among all the fringe and sparkles. The dress was a great fit through the chest and shoulders. It was very much more fitted than expected around the waist and hips, and was very short. I had to wear tights or it would have been inapproproate. Overall, a great look that continues to be bragged on!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2012
beautiful beadwork

I didn't actually end of wearing this dress because I felt that it was a little too summer-y for a middle of winter affair. I rented this originally for my engagement party, but it didn't look quite right on my bust (mind you, I am very busty so its hard). The V neck was a little too high and my boobs looked squished. I would definitely recommend this for girls with a smaller bust than myself because the bead work is great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Beautiful but sack-Like

It was a beautiful dress and the sequins where stunning. However I am not sure if the dress was just too big or illfitting but it fit like a potato sack!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
Perfect Vegas Dress!

I felt like a movie star in this dress! The different neutral shades looked really cool and worked great with my nude pumps. I have a larger bust so the dress didn't 'hang' as nicely as it should have, but the v-neck helped with that. Length was great too. All around a great dress!

johannaSeptember 25, 2012
you say that you're usually a size 8, but that's a definite medium. in shirts and pants I'm usually a size 8, but with dresses or button downs I'm more of a 10. did you really wear a small in this dress?
RTR CustomerSeptember 25, 2012
Hi Johanna! I would suggest ordering a size M and then a S for back-up if you are typically a size 8!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 3, 2012
gorgeous one of a kind dress

didnt' get a chance to wear this dress since i was still trying to lose weight after giving birth five months ago.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
The dress was gorgeous!!

It was a fantastic dress and fit perfectly the only problem was that its length was a lot shorter than expected. I got both a small and medium to try and both were the same length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
October 9, 2012
loved the dress and fit!

this dress fit perfect! I would rent it again for another event

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 29, 2012
This dress was so comfortable & flattering for a large bust!

This dress is more gray than pictured & fit very true to size. Extremely flattering & forgiving too.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2012
Loved this dress!!!! It's a must rent :-)

Dress was in perfect condition....only down fall due to Hurricane Sandy.... I was delivered only ONE size -the Medium. I got lucky! It fit perfect. Thanks Rent The Runway.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 21, 2012
beautiful dress with easy fit and gorgeous details!

Ordered a L and it fit perfectly - even had a little room to move around in, which was great. The sequin detailing is gorgeous and I got so many compliments on it! It was such a great dress that I almost want to order it again for another event!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 25, 2012
This dress was amazing! Wore it for my wedding rehearsal, go so many compliments!

It's flattering without being tight to the body. Doesn't feel too heavy even with all of the beading. Easy to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 26, 2013
Great dress

I didn't end up wearing this but was super cute...loved the dress.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2013
Very Pretty

Great dress, though I wish the beading went all the way around. The back looked a little cheap.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2013
So many compliments!

I wanted to wear the xs because the top of the dress was a little loose with the small, but the xs WOULD NOT fit over my hips. Wide hip girls should order a size up for their second size, otherwise fits true to size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2013
Sassy dress- great depending on body type

This is a beautiful dress and the beadwork is stunning. Looks better in person than in the photo. I found it to be a bit short, so I opted to wear the medium, which was too baggy in the midsection/stomach area for me. If you don't mind short, I'd recommend it. If you prefer something that's a bit more forgiving in the length, I'd go for a different style so it doesn't end up feeling too big. Also, it's a little heavy from all the beading!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2013
Wore this dress for snow-coming court election! Felt beautiful. The dress sparkled all night long!

I'm 5'9''. It was a little on the short side, but nothing inappropriate. I felt very comfortable, as the dress is not form fitting--more of the loose, flapper style. And the beading is so much more beautiful in person! I got tons of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 28, 2013
This was my first RTR experience and it was wonderful.

The dress fit perfectly, I wore it to a Speakeasy event and it was perfect. The fit is lose but not baggy, and it's really comfortable. The beading is amazing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 144lbs
April 9, 2013
Gorgeous Beading

True to size. The beading was beautiful! I loved this dress!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 24, 2013
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's Casablanca themed work party. The color and detail were awesome

Fit beautifully and was super comfortable all night!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 7, 2011

I was not able to wear the dress because I have a slim/straight figure, therefore even the XS was too loose. It appeared as though I was wearing a potatoe sack...I would recommend this dress for somewith with more curves.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 10, 2011
Great Rental

Amazing dress! Color is a little different than in the photo. Lots of compliments. XS fit me well.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2011
GREAT DRESS!

Overall good order. I rented the small too, and that was a little too tight in the hips area, so the M worked best. the V neck is very low though, so I would suggest some fashion tape to be worn with it. kind of a heavy dress. the sequins were not 100% perfect, but overall I loved the dress and it looked great to me. very pleased, wish I could wear it again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
The great memories and laughs I had in the dress celebrating my best friends 21st Birthday and the new year!!

I wore the dress for a New Years party and loved it! It was my first time renting, but it was so easy and fun. I'm fairly tall so the dress was a little short in the back but other than that it fit great, I got a lot of compliments, and I'd definitely recommend it. :)

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2012
A random guy at the event I was at came up to me and told me I looked stunning in my dress. It made my night!

Great dress! Amazing beading and color pattern. Fit really well, a little tight on the butt though. So if you have a larger butt keep this in mind when picking sizes! Loved the length and the neck line. Got so many compliments and had a lot of fun with it! Did not need to really accessorize it because of the beading. Also, didn't need a bra which I usually always have to wear!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
Great Dress & tons of compliments!

This dress was perfect for my law school "prom". Most girls wear cocktail dresses and this was perfect. I ordered an xs and a s... the Small fit perfectly, the xs was too tight. Although I am only 5'1 (about 120lbs) I have a bigger bottom and thighs and like to de-emphasize my mid-section... this dress hugged all the right places and skimmed my body perfectly. It's perfect too because you can wear a regular bra and get some good "push up" action if you want to sex-it-up a little. Got TONS of compliments all night... highly recommend!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
October 21, 2012
Just in time!

I ordered this dress for my Senior Homecoming, and I loved it; however, it is verrryyyy short. When I raised my hands, you could immediately see the spandex I was wearing underneath. A little out of my comfort zone regarding the length, but the beading on the front is fab and the shift style made it classy. I would definitely recommend to those 5'5'' and under.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 11, 2011

Maybe I got the wrong size, but this fit like a paper bag. Check out the model; her middle is baggy if you zoom in. It had no shape in the waist and a belt would've been too much, so I didn't wear it out. I loved the beading and it is just gorgeous on a hanger!!!

AmberAugust 11, 2011
Was the 0R floor skimming for you?
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2012
Beautiful Beading

I wore this dress for a formal and it was beautiful. At 5'5" it fit just right in length, but a warning to taller girls: this can be very short/barely cover your butt. My roommate (who ordered this dress for another occasion and is only an inch or two taller than me) tried the M and S on when I ordered it and it was very short in the back for her. Overall, the dress has great coverage (in the bust) and looks stunning (the beading on the front really is beautiful!).

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×