Lilly Pulitzer

Derby Girl Dress

$75 to buy
$250 retail
Stylist Notes

Turn heads at the party wearing this flirty Lilly Pulizter navy, full skirt dress. Waist cinching and one style that you'll look radiant in all night long.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy faille (100% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with black soutache detail. Full skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
457 reviews
Fit
Large
(98)
True to Size
(316)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Classic!
I loved the dress! The material was a bit heavy but perfect for a fall wedding/event. Also being that this was the first dress I ever rented I was happy with what I got and will be renting again!
NicoleOctober 1, 2012
Did you find that the dress ran really large? I am 5'4 105lb, and usually wear a 0. I ordered this dress already and now I'm worried it won't fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2012
Awesome dress!
Fantastic dress, gorgeous deep navy with detailed lace overlay neckline. Loved the soft A-Line shape and the pockets. Flattering in all the right places. Got so many compliments on this dress. Pretty thick material but not in a bad way- keeps a nice shape throughout the night. Not too short- I'm 5'6" and it came just an inch or two short of my knee (not as short as it looks on the model). Would buy this dress if I ever saw it in the stores- great go to dress for wedding/parties etc. Would def recommend and will rent again for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2012
Didn't wear the dress.
Got this dress as a backup, so only got one size (10) which is a shame b/c it just may have been perfect in the 8. It's really beautifully made. Great fabric, good shape, super special pretty detail on the top. The top was simply too wide on me and the back was too long, so it bunched up near the small of my back. Definitely not for short-waisted bodies even though it looks like it has a high waist in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved it! Highly recommended for a wedding.
It ran large. Thank goodness I choose the smaller size just in case! Thanks Rent the Runway!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 2, 2012
Loved the dress, wedding appropriate
Great dress, fit was pretty true to size. I would have preferred a petite size I think, but overall it was good. I have a small bust so there was a little extra room, but nothing noticeable. It was obviously much longer on me as well as I'm only 5'1", but still slightly above the knee. Anxious to get this as there were no reviews... so hopefully this helps a bit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect dress for any occassion
The original size I ordered for this dress wasn't available in the warehouse any longer (but they sent me replacements!) so I tried on the 4, it fit OK which is why I say this runs large. The material is forgiving and the style timeless - I could have worn this to a cocktail party or black tie affair, it's that versatile. Lovely dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2012
Perfect for a Fall Wedding!
I rented the 2 and the 4 in this since I am usually one of those sizes. The 4 was pretty big on me so the 2 was the perfect. The wedding was in Buffalo so the heavier fabric on this dress was perfect! It was so pretty, looked great on and it was comfortable! The only thing I didn't like was the slip underneath, it has an elastic band to give the skirt shape. It felt weird and kept folding on me but if I had more time to get ready I could've ironed it to stay straight. Otherwise no complaints - loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2012
Classic and comfortable
First time I rented from RTR and everything was so simple and easy. The dress was great and very appropriate for the Everyday Health event I attended. A pleasant surprise was the hidden pockets in the skirt! Will definitely rent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
Cute dress! But runs large and long!
The dress was very appropriate for the wedding I attended. However, I was surprised at how big it was in the bust, which made it look large on me. It is also a lot longer than it looks in the picture. I would recommend this for a tall person with a larger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 10, 2012
Love this dress. Very comfortable yet classy and sexy!
It was a nice comfortable fabric. Easy to dance and move around in. Also, loved that is has pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
Feeling beautiful at my bridal shower!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower in October and it was a hit! It was the perfect mix of fun and lady-like. I say it runs large because although I got a size 2, it still fit my chest well. I tend not to wear dresses that have such a high neckline because it maximizes my chest (in a bad way!) but the way this had a nude panel at the top with detailing, that wasn't the case. The material is heavier than you might expect, which makes it better to wear to a fall or spring event. It has cute pockets and I love how the skirt flared out a bit! I am short (5'2) so it was definitely longer on me, but still hit just above the knee, and wearing nude pumps lengthened the whole look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
October 10, 2012
Everyone thought i looked classy and stunning
It was triangular in the bust area
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 18, 2012
Material is perfect for all day/night event. It is so comfortable and does not wrinkle.
Fit's TTS for Lilly. Maybe a little large in comparison to other brands, I think Lilly runs a little larger in general. if you are inbetween sizes, size down. The pleating shown on the model in the skirt is definitely not as noticeable (which is a pro, I think) detail on neck is beautiful and back zipper is right just for the finishing touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
Super cute dress! I got so many compliments on it! Loved it!!
This Lilly dress runs pretty true to size, but it was a little tight around my bust, so you may want to go up a size if you have a larger chest. But it fit great everywhere else! You can dress up or dress down this dress so it is perfect for any occasion! Blue and black are a great color combo right now! You'll definitely stand out in this dress. I loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 22, 2012
fun & sophisticated dress!
Loved this dress! The fit was great (probably better if you have a larger bust). and although I wasn't expecting the skirt to be so full, I liked how it ended up looking. The only problem I had was that the dress wrinkled somewhat easily. The length was great for the type of function (wedding) and the neckline is really flattering. I also loved the zipper up the back & the pockets!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
It was one of my best friend's wedding day and I wanted to look classy & elegant. Perfect!
Order a size smaller, runs a bit large at the bottom. If you have a larger chest however, stick to your normal size. Fits wonderfully with all types of bras.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2012
Loved the dress!!! I got a ton of compliments. The dress was lined perfectly! GREAT quality!
I got both a 2 and 4, ended up wearing the 2. So I agree with the advice of getting a size smaller, but I could have worn the 4 if needed. The dress arrived on time, such an easy and wonderful service. I cannot wait to use again! The dress was so comfortable and the quality obvious. A+!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 30, 2012
Great fall wedding dress!
I wore this dress for a wedding with my boyfriend's family and it worked out perfectly! It fit really well and was a classy and elegant yet simple dress. I wore black high heels, and gold drop earrings with a black beads which was a good combination as the zipper in the back is gold. The downside is that someone wore the same dress to the wedding! And I saw someone with another RTR dress that I almost rented for the wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 31, 2012
Classy
This dress fits great and is flattering. The full a-line skirt helps make your waist look slim. The fabric is heavy, the lining isn't itchy, and it lays well. I liked the exposed zipper in the back, and I would suggest wearing an updo to show off the soutache detail. It did wrinkle a bit from the car ride. One thing that was surprising is that there is "nude" fabric backing behind the soutache. I thought it was the model's skin, but it is fabric. My skin tone is darker than the "nude" color, and I thought it looked a little odd that what appear to be chest and back cut outs were lighter than my skin. It would be even more noticeable on a person with darker complexion. The dress is nice and it fit well, but I don't think I would wear it to a wedding again. I could imagine wearing it to work with black pumps, and I like to wear things with a little more flair and fun to weddings.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2012
Perfect dress for a fall evening wedding - dressy, classy, perfect!
Perfect fit. Ordered 4 and 6, usually wear 4 and the 4 worked well. Length was just above the knees. A line. Tighter at waist. LOVED IT!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 9, 2012
I LOVED THIS DRESS. I received so many compliments, I felt like a princess!
I wore this to a dance and it was absolutely perfect. I usually wear a 2, but I got a 0 as a backup and ended up wearing that instead as the dress runs a little large (as many Lilly Pulitzer dresses do). It was so comfortable and very high quality. Absolutely lovely. I will definitely be renting this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
November 12, 2012
Perfect dress for a formal bridal shower!
This was my first experience with RTR and now I'm hooked! The fashion choices where I live here in FL are fairly casual, tacky, and young. This dress was the perfect combination of sexy, classy, and fun! The material feels luxurious and it fits like a glove. I'm an hourglass shaped woman and the full skirt definitely accomodated my hips! I wore an 8 and could have gone down to a 6 if I wanted it a little more snug and a little shorter. I rented the 10 just to be safe but it was way too big. Typically in dresses where the skirt is form fitting I'm around a 10/12, but with a loose skirt I'm usually an 8. I highly recommend this dress! I'm in love with it! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2012
Perfect timing with delivery!
Loved the fit! The material was heavy and lined so it masked any flaws. The pockets were a nice surprise...runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2012
Great!
Gorgeous, great fit and very flattering. Great for pear shape. I did not end up wearing this because I liked my second dress more, but it was a tough decision!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2012
I rented this dress for my sorority semi-formal.
The dress fit wonderfully! I received many compliments on it-- it is so classy and perfect for every occasion. However, it was somewhat large. I would order your regular size and then a size lower.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 18, 2012
Beautiful & Classy
I rented this dress for a Fall Gala and loved it! The lace details were beautiful and it is perfect for fall (The dress is more navy in it looks it the picture). It was slightly large in the waist, but fit perfectly other than that. Highly recommend! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
The dress was very classy and I received a lot of compliments!
The dress runs large in the waist. I love that it has pockets. I wore it with black tights and heels since it was cooler outside. It was very comfortable as well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
November 27, 2012
Perfect for a Fall Wedding!
This dress fits beautifully and looks elegant. Perfect for a formal affair! Perfectly flattering on the top and complementing flair on the bottom. It was a little linger than I thought it would be but it was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 28, 2012
Great dress, lots of compliments!
I've been adding dresses to my favorites list, but never rented before. I had a wedding to go to and decided to give it a shot. I am so glad I did, I got a great dress that I got a lot of compliments on! I'm most likely going to just rent dresses from here for weddings and events from now on since I rarely want to wear them again for the next wedding/event that comes up and wind up buying more dresses then I need.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 29, 2012
The perfect dress.
This dress runs a little large - I typically wear a 4, but the 2 fit perfectly. It's a heavy material, perfect for winter. I got compliments on it all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
Love at first sight!
This was my first order with RTR. Everything about my experience was wonderful. I ordered a backup size of 0 since I can float between that and a 2. Both fit but I went with the 2 so that I could be sure I was comfortable dancing. The 0 felt a bit tight around my armpit area. I received a ton of compliments and the dress is very high quality. Would definitely recommend. Classy :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 2, 2012
great dress-perfect!
fits nice-I wore the smaller size. The hem underneath was a little crumpled but after I ironed it it was fine. I had a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
December 2, 2012
The perfect party dress!
This dress fit perfectly and was true to size. The detail on the front and the exposed zipper in back were the perfect combination. I loved the dress!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2012
Great fit and got a lot of compliments on it
I loved the way it fit, it was just a tiny bit to short for my 5'9'' frame, but other than that it is true to size and looked great with a pair of classic black heels!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 4, 2012
Rtr has great service !
Dress was true to size.. Great service .. Was here on time.. I've used rtr. Few times..great service everytime !
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2012
I loved all the compliments I received and how classy and pretty I felt!
The dress fit super true to size and was very comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
Unexpectedly lovely
I'm not a huge Lily Pulitzer fan, and was surprised that I even liked this dress enough to rent it. It ended up being a great choice, and I received so many compliments on it throughout the evening! It's a great dress for "shoulder seasons"--spring, fall--because the material is heavy enough to give it substance without feeling too wintry, and the style is delicate enough without making it feel summery. It definitely runs a little large, so size down if you're on the fence. My only word of caution is that the embroidered/lace detailing at the top is not as much of an illusion as it appears in the photographs, unless you're very fair skinned. It's more of a mesh overlay on top of ivory fabric. If you're fair, this will look pretty close to your natural skin tone and have an illusion effect. My skin tone is a little darker, and it didn't look like an illusion. It was still nice, just not exactly what I'd expected based on the photos.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2012
cute and classy
Wore this to a wedding and got a lot of compliments. Very flattering and classy. The sheer part on the neck is actually flesh color and was lighter than my skin, which i thought looked a little weird so if you are super tan, I wouldnt go for this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Comfortable and beautiful
This is a gorgeous dress. I wore it to a Christmas cocktail party. The size six fit perfectly, though I usually wear an 8. It was extremely comfortable and I love that it had pockets.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
December 16, 2012
Perfect balance of class and fun.
I wore this dress to a work holiday party and it was exactly what I was looking for. The fabric is a beautiful navy blue color has a bit of stretch. The cut made it perfect for a professional event. I paired the dress with a wine-colored belt and wedges. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×