Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$30 – $45 rental
$250 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
263 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(179)
Small
(45)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 18, 2017
Would have been perfect, if I'd received my back up size!
Rented this for my best friend's rehearsal dinner. Unfortunately the back up size wasn't available. The size 8 was a little small in the chest so I ended up wearing a completely different dress. Really liked this though and would have worn if I had the 10.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
July 3, 2017
Love this dress! Received so many compliments!
This was the perfect classy little black dress to wear as a bridesmaid in my friends wedding. Loved everything about it! Great first Rent the Runway experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
May 16, 2017
Lots of compliments especially the back
super cute dress! very comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 3, 2017
Simple but classy LBD
I wore this dress for a fundraising gala held by my job... Got multiple compliments from colleagues! Definitely ran small, had to wear a size larger than usual. Overall, a great rental!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
April 28, 2017
Perfect Bridal Shower Dress!
Lily Pulitzer does run bigger (i usually wear a 2 but a 0 was perfect) but it is so flattering on all body types!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 23, 2017
Great Dress, But Short
I liked this dress a lot, but it was much shorter than I expected. I am on the tall side, so it's probably fine for those medium height or short. But if you're tall, be prepared to pull it down routinely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 29, 2017
Pics don't do it justice!
This dress was amazing, and I selected it over several others that were flashier and retailed for much much more. Lace overlay is subtle and elegant, and I got so many complements.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2017
Classy black dress.
This size fit perfectly. I loved the length of the dress, and also the lace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 16, 2017
This was the perfect dress for the work holiday party!
Super comfortable, felt appropriate not wearing a bra. Perfect blend of classy, sexy and just pretty overall with the lace details. Tons of compliments and danced all night! Size 0 is my usual size and it felt perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 49
January 5, 2017
Perfect dress! It fit so well, and I felt like a million bucks wearing it to my friends wedding.
The dress was very comfortable and easy to wear, and the soft lining was a nice touch. I did not have to worry about a slip. I loved being able to move around and dance without worrying about the wrong thing being shown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 18, 2016
Love this
Wish i could own this
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 17, 2016
Great dress
This dress fit great and tan true to size. I got several compliments, wish I got to keep it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
October 16, 2016
Snug at waistline
Fit well other than snug at the waist. Nice length for someone on the shorter side.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 13, 2016
Great dress!
Great fit and perfect for a formal wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
September 12, 2016
Pretty but underwhelming
I rented this dress as a backup. This dress was pretty and but I felt the neckline was somewhat awkward and too high for a v-neck/much too conservative. The lace detail was very beautiful and the length was perfect for my height. I ended going with my first choice (Shoshanna Lace Sierra Dress) which was shorter than I would typically wear but the neckline was just a little (maybe an inch) lower and hit me at better place on my chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 6, 2016
Perfect lace LBD
I seriously loved this lacy LBD! It was perfect for a black tie optional wedding I attended this summer and I received compliments all night. Would absolutely purchase and wear again and again. The cap sleeves and neckline are super flattering and the lace overlay is a nice touch that just takes the dress up a notch from a classic LBD. Worn with black pumps and minimal jewelry, I was comfortable eating, drinking and dancing all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
August 2, 2016
Sent a worn out damaged dress
The dress fit perfectly in size 4. Unfortunately the dress had a hole in the black lining at the waist area which was visible through the lace. The right sleeve was literally coming apart. This dress should not be rented out again without major repairs. I sent photos of the damages to rtr immediately after receiving it. I have not heard anything back. Very poor customer service.
RTR CustomerAugust 29, 2016
did you ever hear back? I have not rented from rent the runway before and it is concerning that there are comments about the couple dresses I have looked at so far concerning HOLES. I hope your money was refunded.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 48
July 27, 2016
Loved it!
I wanted to keep this dress! I loved it and felt great in it all night. I was concerned at first that it would be too "plain," but the lace overlay and the scalloped edge is much prettier in person than in pictures. The 8 fit - but was tight, so I wore the 10 for comfort for dancing (and eating!!) I will keep this on a short list to rent again! I accessorized simply with a strand of pearls and a summer clutch bag and wedge sandals = done!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2016
Wore this for a wedding in brooklyn in October
The dress fit well. I had actually ordered this as my backup dress. I had ordered another dress I thought I would like better, but the other turned out to be too young for me (age 31). This dress is great because it is elegant but also fun and flirty and long enough to be respectable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
July 17, 2016
Simple snd elegant
The fit was true to size. Very comfortable. Great for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 8, 2016
Beautiful Dress
This dress was wonderful and fit like a glove! Simple and stylish- was perfect for a summer wedding. I received complements all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
June 5, 2016
Perfect LBD
Loved this dress. The arms fit a little snug but overall fit was good. I'm usually a size 4 but wore a 6 for more room and comfort. The length is classy but still fun and flirty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2016
Got a ton of compliments!
I wore this to a fall wedding. It fit perfectly and I received a ton of compliments. I probably could have worn the size 4 but felt more comfortable in my hips to wear the 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2016
The perfect little black dress!
I wore this dress out for my friend's batchelorette in Boston! Unfortunately, I don't have a photo of me in the dress, but I can say that it fit true to size. My only compliant is that I have a broad back and it was a little tight around the armpits. Other than that, the length and style were perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2016
Perfect dress for a wedding!
I wore this to my friends wedding and received several complements! I typically wear a size 4 and had to do the 6 in this one! It ran a little small! Glad I ordered two sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2016
Perfect dress
This dress covered a lot more than I thought it would. I am 5'4 and it hit just above my knee. I am also a 34D and I was fully covered up top. So this dress was the perfect mix of sexy and conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 4, 2016
The great service
Cute dress fits well.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2016
Classy, yet super comfortable and easy to dance in! No worries about my figure or strapless bra.
I usually wear a size 2-4 in most brands. (5'4'', 130lbs, 34B) This brand runs a little small I ordered this in 4 and 6, and am glad I got the 6 - it fit perfectly! Not too tight or loose, and I could wear a normal bra. Danced the night away, received a lot of compliments, and ate as much as I wanted. I would absolutely wear this again - I wish I owned it! Thank you, Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
April 18, 2016
The dress was very comfortable to wear and easy to dance in.
The dress had a thing where you could hook in the strap of your bra at the shoulder so you didn't have to worry about your bra strap coming out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 13, 2016
Great dress for a formal country club wedding!
It's hard to see it in the picture but there is a nice somewhat lace overlay on the dress. I could have worn the size 4 but I felt like the size 2 fit better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 1, 2016
Fit perfectly!
I wore this dress for a February wedding. I LOVED the way this dress fit. The V in the back and the front, with the cap sleeves, was gorgeous. I ordered the size 2 and 4 because I can be in between sizes, and I was very happy that the 2 fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 22, 2016
Perfect dress for a Midwestern fall indoor/outdoor wedding! Compliments all night.
This was honestly an incredible find to wear when I was asked to be a +1 for a wedding last minute. It's the right amount of classy without being prudish, and was super flattering on my (very flat) body. It does run a bit small, and is a little tight (NO STRETCH)--I usually wear a 2, and I don't think I could have worn it in a 2 without dying. The dress looks really short in the picture, which I was concerned about--turned out to be a non-problem. Totally normal length for a dress. As I already mentioned, there is *no* stretch in the fabric so don't count on that; it also gets a little tricky to dance in all night since raising your arms can be a bit trying. I would size up for your second size, but really, this dress is a knockout.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2016
?
I normally wear a size 10 but ordered a size 12 due to I had another Lilly dress and the 10 was tight. The 12 fit like a glove. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2016
Wore this dress for a Valentine's Day Chef's Table dinner at a vineyard. Love this dress so much!!!!
The dress fits perfectly. I have larger hips and thighs so I was concerned about the fit of a size 4. I am usually a 2 in a dress if it isn't fitted. It was a beautiful dress and it fit like a dream. I was very comfortable all night. I am considering purchasing this dress if I can locate it. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 9, 2016
Wonderful dress!!!
Fits- Tight (had to wear spanx), very cute though and great for dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 96lbs
February 4, 2016
It was a wedding.
It was a great dress. Fit well, which i have a hard time finding so that was very exciting for me :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
January 28, 2016
Wore it to fall wedding
Little tight around the arms
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
January 11, 2016
Perfect dress for company holiday party!
I wore this dress for my company holiday party and it fit so well! It was slimming and well constructed. There is very little give to the fabric so based on other reviews I ordered my normal size, 6, as well as an 8 and ended up wearing the 8 which was very fitted. This was my first RTR experience and I am HOOKED! The process was seamless and I was so pleased with the outcome- I will definitely be back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 22, 2015
Beautiful dress and lots of compliments.
It fit really well, i could have gone a size smaller but the 0 wasn't available to ship. I loved the lace design.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2015
Simple, flattering version of the LBD
This was a last-minute selection because my original choice was damaged. It turned out to be a great option, with beautiful details to make it different from the average little black dress (LBD). The length was appropriate for a formal holiday party, and the cut was flattering on my curvy body. The top plunged a little lower than expected, but it wasn't a problem or cause for adjustment/discomfort. I'd pick this dress again if I needed a LBD for another formal party. Worn with nude hose and black heels.
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×