Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$79 to buy
$250 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
269 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(179)
Small
(46)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2016
Perfect dress
This dress covered a lot more than I thought it would. I am 5'4 and it hit just above my knee. I am also a 34D and I was fully covered up top. So this dress was the perfect mix of sexy and conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2016
Perfect dress for a wedding!
I wore this to my friends wedding and received several complements! I typically wear a size 4 and had to do the 6 in this one! It ran a little small! Glad I ordered two sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2016
Got a ton of compliments!
I wore this to a fall wedding. It fit perfectly and I received a ton of compliments. I probably could have worn the size 4 but felt more comfortable in my hips to wear the 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
June 5, 2016
Perfect LBD
Loved this dress. The arms fit a little snug but overall fit was good. I'm usually a size 4 but wore a 6 for more room and comfort. The length is classy but still fun and flirty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
July 17, 2016
Simple snd elegant
The fit was true to size. Very comfortable. Great for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
August 2, 2016
Sent a worn out damaged dress
The dress fit perfectly in size 4. Unfortunately the dress had a hole in the black lining at the waist area which was visible through the lace. The right sleeve was literally coming apart. This dress should not be rented out again without major repairs. I sent photos of the damages to rtr immediately after receiving it. I have not heard anything back. Very poor customer service.
RTR CustomerAugust 2, 2016
did you ever hear back? I have not rented from rent the runway before and it is concerning that there are comments about the couple dresses I have looked at so far concerning HOLES. I hope your money was refunded.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
October 16, 2016
Snug at waistline
Fit well other than snug at the waist. Nice length for someone on the shorter side.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 17, 2016
Great dress
This dress fit great and tan true to size. I got several compliments, wish I got to keep it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 18, 2016
Love this
Wish i could own this
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2017
Classy black dress.
This size fit perfectly. I loved the length of the dress, and also the lace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 29, 2017
Pics don't do it justice!
This dress was amazing, and I selected it over several others that were flashier and retailed for much much more. Lace overlay is subtle and elegant, and I got so many complements.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 125lbs
December 1, 2014
So comfortable and classy!
I absolutely loved this dress. It was extremely flattering and perfect for this fall evening wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2014
The customer service was AMAZING. I will absolutely be renting again!
I felt the dress fit true to size. I carry majority of my weight around my hips and thighs so I was slightly concerned when I read some of the other reviews, however it fit wonderfully and I was able to stick with the 4. Also, the size 6 in this dress was returned to RTR "damages beyond repair" a customer service rep contacted me and allowed me to pick out a second dress to fill the size void. Cannot wait to rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2015
LOVE THIS DRESS
Perfect dress for my schools black and white themes black and white themed Sadie Hawkins dance! The sleeves were a little constricting on my shoulders for dancing but other than that, my dress fit nicely. This was my first dress I rented from RTR and the customer service was great! Definitely will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 9, 2015
I felt great in this dress and it wasn't too short or long (since I'm short this can be tricky)
When I picked out the dress I was risking quite a bit since I'm in between a 2 and 4. While a bit tight the dress was great! Loved the fact that I could wear a normal bra with it. I rented this for a Valentine's Day party and due to weather I was unable to send back my dress in time. I contacted RTR and they waived the late fee, I wasn't expecting that but it was so great that I didn't have to worry about trying to get it back. I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 19, 2015
Surprising my little brother:)
Another perfect dress by Lilly. Beautiful black lace overlay. This one is perfect for day or night because it's lace and black so it can be dressed up or down. This Lilly is TTS rather than running large but it also comes in 00 which is rare for them. The bra hook straps are always well appreciated and the neckline isn't too much in the front with a subtle V in the back as well. This is a somewhat short dress if your torso is long like mine, so be advised. Gorgeous though. A re-rent.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2016
?
I normally wear a size 10 but ordered a size 12 due to I had another Lilly dress and the 10 was tight. The 12 fit like a glove. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a winery wedding!
I LOVED this dress! I did not want to return it! It was the perfect little black dress for an early April wedding in Temecula. I typically wear a size 2 in Lilly but found the arms to be a bit tight so I'm glad I had the size 4 as backup. The 2 would've been hard to dance in! The lace adds a little something! Pair with a fun clutch and you're good to go :) can't wait to rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2015
Easy and reliable! Loved it.
This dress was a great fit for me. I am tall and thin with a long torso so I have a hard time finding dresses that aren't too short. This one fit great! I got lots of compliments, I would totally recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 20, 2015
this dress was prefect for a winter wedding and my husbands Christmas party!
fit perfectly and was super comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
August 10, 2015
Great fit
Great dress for rehearsal dinner
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 9, 2015
Classy and elegant!
I fell in love with this dress!! It was actually painful to return. I wore it with plum shoes and pearls and felt so beautiful all night! It fit true to size and the lace detail is much more defined in person than the picture. I'm fairly curvy and usually have issues with dresses being a little lose around my waist and tighter around my thighs, however this dress hugged me well without being too tight anywhere and didn't accentuate any flaws! I was able to wear a normal bra and it was a good length for the fundraiser gala I wore it to. Definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
June 13, 2015
Great dress! I felt awesome all night.
I was so happy with this dress. I'm always worried about the bust and this fit perfectly and it has snaps to hold a bra in place. The material is great and was form fitting but smoothed everything out in the mid section. I have one year old and haven't felt this awesome in an outfit in over two years! I definitely recommend. Super comfortable and easy to dance in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 6, 2015
It was a comfortable dress and still looked formal.
The size 4 for so perfectly I knew I would get uncomfortable after eating. So I did wear the size 6 and it still got well plus not too tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 19, 2015
Perfect Fit
The dress was great! I wore this 3 weeks after having a baby and it fit perfectly! I weighed 145 pounds and my chest was an F cup due to nursing. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
August 10, 2015
Pretty but uncomfortable
I wore this to a wedding. It was a very nice dress and got a ton of compliments. The downfall was that it was not made for an athletic body type. I went with the larger size but still too tight. The cap sleeves were also very tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2015
Gorgeous dress! So fun to wear!
Great dress so flattering. Order a size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2015
Perfect fit.
I got this dress as my backup and I am so glad that I did! I am familiar with Lilly sizes and my regular size 4 fit perfectly. I spiced it up with some hot pink peep toe pumps. My husband absolutely loved the dress on me and I felt great in it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2016
Wore this dress for a Valentine's Day Chef's Table dinner at a vineyard. Love this dress so much!!!!
The dress fits perfectly. I have larger hips and thighs so I was concerned about the fit of a size 4. I am usually a 2 in a dress if it isn't fitted. It was a beautiful dress and it fit like a dream. I was very comfortable all night. I am considering purchasing this dress if I can locate it. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 16, 2014
Classic LBD with pretty lace detail
00 fit perfectly. Not much give but easy to dance in for most of the night. A classy look
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 4, 2016
The great service
Cute dress fits well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
June 30, 2015
Perfect fit for large bust and hips
Perfect fit for large bust and hips. Perfect date night dress for an upscale place
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 17, 2015
Beautiful dress
It fit very well, not too tight not too loose. It looked amazing on me and I could dance in it. As usual loved the dress I rented.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
April 28, 2017
Perfect Bridal Shower Dress!
Lily Pulitzer does run bigger (i usually wear a 2 but a 0 was perfect) but it is so flattering on all body types!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 3, 2017
Simple but classy LBD
I wore this dress for a fundraising gala held by my job... Got multiple compliments from colleagues! Definitely ran small, had to wear a size larger than usual. Overall, a great rental!
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
July 3, 2017
Love this dress! Received so many compliments!
This was the perfect classy little black dress to wear as a bridesmaid in my friends wedding. Loved everything about it! Great first Rent the Runway experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2017
Loved trying a new dress
Classic LBD. True to size and tons of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2017
Beautiful and classy! Very comfortable!
Such a perfect dress! Very comfortable for eating and dancing the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
September 30, 2017
Staple LBD
This dress was a staple item. Little black dress that is versatile, but with added sophistication with the lace. The dress fit nicely, was comfortable and I was able to finally wear a pair of fun-colored heels to make the look more lively.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2017
Classy Dress!
Loved this dress! Very classy for a wedding. Was able to wear a regular bra, the length was perfect for my 5'4" 114lb frame. Would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×