Lela Rose

Python Matelasse Dress

$30 rental
$1295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

In a stunning cobalt hue, this Lela Rose matelasse dress is a true showstopper for any evening affair. With a flattering pleated skirt, this style is the perfect cocktail choice.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted on hips and backside - women with full hips should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted on hips and backside - women with full hips should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt embossed matelasse. V neckline. Asymmetric draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

75 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 61
Large 8
Photos 32
Megs
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is stunning. The color is beautiful and the fit is a show stopper. Perfect for a night out with the girls or date night with the man. You will definitely turn heads.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved, loved this dress! The color and texture of the dress is stunning and definitely got me noticed.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 13, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Better for ladies with a bust! Straps feel a bit long for someone without much of a chest. The color is so pretty though!
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I wore it to a party on NYE and couldn't have been happier. The fabric falls perfectly and the color is eye-catching! The v-neck fell slightly lower on me than it does on the model, which I liked. Overall, LOVED it and would recommend it to anyone as a great rental piece!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got this dress by accident (they didn't have one I ordered and suggested this one) and I really loved it. It's comfortable and flattering and the color is beautiful. It is made of a wooly type of material which was unexpected, and looked much better on the body than on the hanger. I have a medium sized chest for my height and the bust of the dress fit perfectly with a bra underneath...you can wear a normal bra and the straps dont show. I'd recommend it!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Didn't wear it to my event because although the color is stunning it looks a little cheap and loud, with the short lenght and color and animal skin texture pattern all going on on the same dress-- so it felt more like something only someone under 25 should try to pull off. Great for a teenager with a hot body.
Anne
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I LOVED this dress, I got so many compliments on it throughout the night, that I wish I owned it. It was so flattering and so comfortable to wear, I'm definitely going to rent it again.
ashley.e
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! The fabric is deep yet bright cobalt in person, and the subtle print is to die for. The dress is also made out of wool, which gives it some structure. I normally am a 6/8, and in this dress I definitely needed the 8. I wore it to a black tie event and stood out (in the best of ways).
Jamie
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm definitely an hourglass figure with a large bust 34DDD (38 bust, 28 waist and 39 hips) and this dress showed off my curves perfectly. I ordered a 6 and it was wonderful. Because I am so short the length was a little longer but it didn't effect the overall look.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I guess I should have looked up what matelasse was because the material of the dress was nothing like how it shows in the photo. It appears to be a waxy material with a sheen of some sort, but it's really a heavy sweatery material....probably not the best for an August wedding, oops! Besides for that, the fit and color are absolutely amazing. I would rent this again, but in the fall or winter for sure!
Christina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Please note before renting that matelasse is a double-woven, almost wool-like fabric. The cobalt blue color is stunning, but the python pattern is much more subtle than it appears in the photo. The V-neck fell too inappropriately low on me for a family wedding rehearsal dinner. My solution involved wearing a black lace vneck tank top underneath. The look was seamless, and appeared like it was part of the dress. Normally I'm a size 8/10, but certainly needed the size 10. Would definetly rent again for a fall or winter event.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I thought this dress was leather, or looked like leather. It's not. And it doesn't look like it. It's cotton. The color is amazing, but it's more appropriate for a daytime work event than an evening fete. Fit was perfect though.
Marina
Age: 38
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Per advice of the stylist the dress was supposed to be true to size, so for my second size I was suggested to go up and should have gone down instead, since even the size 10 I ordered was large on me, needed an 8. But I think it is because both dresses sent were worn too much and after dry cleaning the bottom on one side stretched out really bad, the dress was assymertical with no structure, just hanging like a rag. This dress may have been something at one time, but clearly not at this point. I sent both dresses back immediately and will not use this service again.
Rae
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
As other reviewers have said, the color of this dress is stunning. I also found it to be true to size. However, the material is not at all how it appears in the photo. It's definitely a thin wool dress that can get very nubby. I did end up wearing the dress during my rental period, but not for the event I was planning on. I didn't think the dress was of great quality.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

Great color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my works Christmas Party. The color of this dress is amazing and looked great with my super fair skin tone. No one at the party had a dress this color. I am pretty large bust, but this dress is so well made that I didn't look as if I was 'popping' out. It was very tasteful. This picture makes the dress look leathery, but it was more like a thin wool. I will most likely rent this dress again!
ginene
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 4, 2012

Great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress worked great, I wore it to a party that was on a Thursday night. It was just the right mix of not to dressy but I did not look under dressed for the event. I will say the v neck came down lower on my body than the model, so this is an nightime dress, but I loved it and so did my husband.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
May 10, 2012

Want to love it, but...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress a lot, although, as other reviewers point out, it does not look like the photo at all. It's not just the fabric, which looks shiny and almost like leather or sateen in the photo but is actually a sweater-ish knit with no sheen whatsoever. The dress in the photo, at least to me, looks very structured. But the actual dress, all the structure comes from the cut (which is very cool). The fabric itself has very little structure. It fit true-to-size, but I didn't end up wearing it at all because I couldn't sit down in it. If you are straight, you won't have a problem. I have a long torso, so my hips are little lower than most people. When standing, it wasn't tight at all, but since there is no stretch I couldn't really sit down without looking like a weirdo. I think this dress is very cool (even my husband said so!) and I think it's a hard one to represent in a photo. RTR, have you thought about adding a closeup photo of the material?
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 24, 2012

Great color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This color was a hit at the event I went to. The top part was a bit loose and the dress billows out, but it is perfect for an hourglass or pear!
Winn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

beautiful, but hot material

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lovely dress, wish I rented it for the fall or winter, the photo made the material look different from what it actaully looked and felt like, which was a woven wool.
GlistenHere01
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Not Flattering

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress and didn't end up wearing it. The material is a light wool, and the way it's cut made it look uneven when I put it on. Not a fan.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Aug 26, 2012

Sexy show stopper

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the electric blue really stands out in any event. Also the top creates great cleavage
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

Incredible dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked like it was made for me. Don't trust what it looks like on the hanger - the skirt looks like it's half the size it should be and cut on an angle, but when you put it on it hangs beautifully and completely justifies the cost. As previous comments have noted, the fabric is darker (and heavier) than on the model and the pattern is more subtle, but that's what I wanted and I thought it was gorgeous.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 7, 2012

loved this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing! I've rented a lot from RTR and this has by far been my favorite rental. It cinched in my waist and was extremely flattering. The color really pops and the dress is so well made. Loved it!!
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 17, 2012

Wedding Shower Day Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric does not really look like it does in the photo, which some other reviewers have said. I loved the color, but thought that the dress looked a little worn when i got it. It's a cottony kind of material and it seemed like it had started to ball a bit. I wore the dress and the photos are great, but in person it was underwhelming.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

I wore this to a formal college alumni event. The color is beautiful.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a little bigger than I expected, I should have gotten a 0. This is definitely a winter-time dress. The material is heavy and almost wool-like.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Perfect color and fun design

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It looks odd if it is not a little tight, so don't wear a size up!
ko
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 9, 2012

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is beautiful. Really sticks out! It's a perfect dress for a fall wedding with the sweater-like material.
Lizbeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Easiest/hassle free rental! Will definitely use Rent the Runway for my fashion needs! :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this dress, I had high hopes judging from the photography but in real person it's doesn't compare. The fit was loose very unflattering, & the fabric texture was very scratchy. But to my advantage I luckily ordered two dresses from RTR which I truly loved the 2nd one, so make sure you back up on an extra wardrobe!
Bryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

Dress fit.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress does not appear as it is in the photo. It looks like it is made of leather and shiny in the photo, however it feels as if it is made of wool.
LCR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Great color, comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the 6 and it fit without looking ridiculous, but it was a bit large- unfortunately the 4 wasn't available as a back-up size. I was surprised that the bottom of the dress was pretty roomy - typically with "straight" dresses without stretch I find that the waist fits and the hips are too tight, or it fits in the hips and isn't form fitting in the waist ("pear" body type - woo!). The materials is also not even remotely what it looks like in the picture - the material is woven, without a discernable pattern (or sheen), and is almost wool-like. I wore it for a company holiday party and it was great - fun enough to be fun, and covering enough to be work appropriate. My only wish was that the 4 was available :)
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Beautiful styling, cut, and color.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a semi-formal work event. I feel the overall dress runs true to size and decided to go with the size four to comfortably accomodate my bust even though the size two fit my waist and hips better. This is a common fit issue for me so it was not unexpected. The cut and color made me noticeable in a room of hundreds in traditional work sheaths and suits, yet I still felt work appropriate. I received many compliments and feel the dress is well made, of a good quality fabric, and stylish. I did not review it as five stars because I was disappointed that it did not have the sheen or python pattern I expected from the photos online. Neither were very apparent in person or photos.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

Gorgeous color but too big :(

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as an option for a photo shoot, and was only able to rent a size 6. I was so thrilled when I saw the color, but sadly, it just ran too big in the shoulders and hip/thigh area... enough so that I simply couldn't use it for my photo shoot. Also, the dress I got must have been used a lot because the zipper was not in the best condition. I'd size down for this one.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 20, 2013

I wasn't crazy about this dress. The color is beautiful, but it wasn't right on my body.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress size fit me alright, but was too long. The fabric in the image looks shimmery and shiny, but the dress I received looked more solid blue with hints of gold. I didn't end up wearing the dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Cute, but not really for me.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this for a fancy date for my boyfriend's birthday and it wasn't really for me. It ran true to size the bust but the lenght was a little too long for me. Plus, the fabric is totally different in person. Not shiny and you can't really see the pattern.
Rachna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Sep 15, 2013

Absolutely Gorgeous

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Looked amazing!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×