kate spade new york

Tiebreaker Dress

$55 to buy
$578 retail
Stylist Notes

Strut it in this kate spade new york red floral lace dress. A flirty style that will make him fall in love at the summer party! Go with stylish bangles like the Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red lace. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Full skirt. Exposed gold zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
292 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(184)
Small
(43)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2012
The dress is beautiful! Received tons of compliments on it!
The material is very heavy! Felt like it weighted 10 lbs. I ordered a 4 and 6 and actually wished I would've had a 2. It's a beautiful dress, loved the lace detail.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2012
I got this dress for my bridal show ant it was perfect. I kept getting compliments on the dress!
The fit was a little larger than I would have like but nothing that a little belting couldn't fix. The dress was a beautiful color and it felt really great. It was a really wonderful color and I kept getting compliments on my beautiful dress from strangers.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
A bit disappointing.
I had high hopes for this dress, but it unfortunately didn't work out for me. The skirt was definitely fuller than I thought it was going to be, but it wasn't too full. I ordered the 4 and the 2 as my backup. The 4 was too large and the lace on the 2 puckered in between my chest and the waistline. This dress might just be one of those for small chested girls.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2012
Everyone kept telling me how fabulous I looked - even the beautiful bride!!
definitely hangs heavy, but great for a fall wedding!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 24, 2012
Got a ton of compliments!
I rented this dress for a work holiday party, and really loved the style. I wore it with pearls and black heels and got a ton of compliments. I wear an XS or a 0, and the 0 in this case was actually a little loose. It wasn't too big to wear, but I do think it runs larger than other 0s I've worn so keep that in mind when sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2012
This dress was gorgeous but much too longer than I thought, despite the reviews. I returned.
This dress was beautiful but much too longer than I anticipated, despite the reviews. The skirt was VERY full and just too long for my liking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Engagement Photo Dress
I rented this dress for my engagement photos. I'm in between 8 & 10, rented both, and found the 8 just a bit too big in the waist. It was a beautiful dress, and it popped in my photos. I'm very curvy and tall, and it fit very well! If I get an opportunity, I might buy it. Photo by John Cain Photography.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 6, 2013
The waist is a little strange
This is one of those times I wish the dress was mine and I could get it altered. I have a thick waist and was surprised that there was a bunch of extra fabric around the middle of this dress. It didn't have the slimming effect I was hoping to achieve. The lace detail and color are great but I felt a little odd. I think RTR has added some better red lace frocks to their inventory since I rented this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
March 11, 2013
Ran large, heavy fabric but very cute cut and color
I really loved the color and style of this dress but unfortunately it ran a little large and just didn't quite fit right. If I had gone down a size (or maybe even 2!) I think I would've loved it. Also the fabric is pretty heavy so this dress is probably better for fall/winter events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2013
fun dress with a vintage feel
I actually rented another dress but learned, just days before, that my original rental pick would not be available. I was very bummed and at work when I learned about this. I didn't have time or means to check for another dress, so Lindsay, a stylist made a few suggestioins and sent this one to me in its place. I probably would have never picked this dress on my own, so I'm glad she did! I got thousands of compliments and although the dress was a little big- I just added a belt and it looked great. Fun dress. Detail of the crochet was gorgeous. Fabric was a little on the heavy side and I could see it being a little uncomfortable in warmer weather. It hit me at about knee and I'm 5'5". I had some extra room at the waist and chest area. The skirt is full and so fun. Again, thanks Rent the runway and a special thanks to Lindsay! The stylists make this company and its customer service so stellar
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 63
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 6, 2013
Didn't think about what I was going to wear until 5 days before the wedding... RTR was there for me!
This dress, while beautiful, was not an all-time favorite for me. Loved the color and fabric, but the style was not quite me. I chose it because I had very little time and I knew it would fit. That being said, i received several compliments at the wedding (all from strangers) and my husband loved it, so what more could I ask for? The fabric is very heavy (very high quality) but i thought it looked slightly worn. I said it runs large, but if you are big busted which I am not, it might be tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2013
Cute but not for petite girls.
The dress is very cute, very Betty Draper. However, it is HEAVY and was very long on me. It was more flattering with huge heels but I still ended up going with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2013
Nice dress
I was looking for something to wear for my rehearsal dinner before my wedding. I married into a Chinese family and needed something traditionally red and conservative yet still ME. This dress worked out pretty well. Color was great. Bold, retro type red. Fit: I ordered a 2 & a 4 based on reviews saying to size up, but wished I had a 0. It was a little big but not too noticeable. Quality was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
July 30, 2013
Beautiful evening
Very pretty dress. It was alittle large for me but not so much that I could not wear it. I liked it because it was long enough but not frumpy long. I am 5'9".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2013
Perfect Look!
I rented this dress for a horse race! The dress was bright and beautiful. The lace work gives the dress a lot of detail. It runs really big, I had to wear the smaller of the 2 sizes I rented. It was pretty long on me too, but I am not that tall - would be great for a woman over 5'7". All in all, I really liked the dress and wanted to keep it.... Typical for a RTR experience!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
June 7, 2014
Gorgeous color!
Runs a little large... The fabric has a great weight to it!
JilliAugust 12, 2014
Where did you get this belt!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2014
Cute but lace was faded
I didn't like that the lace was less vibrant than the satin underlay. I think this dress has been dry cleaned too many times. I am small on top and large on bottom and the 2 was a great fit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 24, 2014
Fun pattern and fabric but some waistline bunching if you have a short torso :(
Great dress. Great color/ fabric. Only negative is that I experienced some bunching at the waistline because I have a short torso.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 1, 2014
indoor wedding
really heavy and felt like I was drowning in fabric. No pomp, like on the model, kind of hangs limp.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2014
Heavy overlay
This dress is a lovely color, but the overlay material was way too heavy, and resulted in an unflattering look. I have now rented five RTR dresses, and this was the only one I didn't actually wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
August 4, 2015
Cute dress
The dress runs a bit large at the waist than my other Kate Spade dresses. The dress feels heavy at the bottom (which is good on a windy day). I absolutely love the lace work. However, I take a star off because of the overall fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 21, 2014
Great Color and Comfortable!
I rented this for a wedding but it was a backup so I only had the size ten. It was slightly large up top and since the bottom is loose I probably could've worn the eight, but it certainly wasn't uncomfortably large. I tend to have that issue with clothes because I have a small chest and a larger bottom. The color is gorgeous and detail is really pretty. Received lots of compliments! The wedding was outdoors and more casual so I paired it with wedge heels and a gold belt. Overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
This was a great dancing dress!
I wore this dress to a 4:30 outdoor wedding and loved it! The color stood out and the fit was perfect for spinning on the dance floor. The dress is a little big in the waist if you have an hourglass shape so I would size down next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 20, 2012
Great color. Heavy material.
While this dress was really comfortable, I probably should have sized down. I have a small chest and larger hips, so Kate Spade dresses have worked well for me in the past. I wore this dress a few months post-partum and was worried about my hips, so I went with the size 8; however, the size 6 would have been a wiser choice because this dress is very forgiving in the butt/hips region. Great selection and a great color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2013
not for me
It was a lot of fabric for me- I was also sent the wrong size so it did not fit well
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2012
lady who lunches
I received this dress as a back up option for a wedding. The dress was really pretty, with the fabric having a nice weight to it for a lace dress. I really loved the shape of the dress, but the top didn't do much for me. The fit was beautiful, but I normally wear a 4 and this dress fit in a 2. I really liked it, it just wasn't right for the evening wedding I was attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
cute dress, but could benefit from tailoring
I rented this dress for a wedding, but the fit wasn't as I expected. The fabric was heavy and cute through the bodice, but the skirt was way too long. I returned it. If I owned the dress and was able to tailor it, it might work. Maybe this will work better on taller girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2012
I felt fab in this Kate Spade dress. The detail is pretty elaborate and special. Very Mad Men.
The fit was great but be aware that it runs small. Like if I cared what size I was, it might be nice , but it wasn't tight. Just glad the rental comes with 2 sizes. Great with the vintage grandma pieces I wore, but some of the accessories on RTR would be amazing too. Thanks RTR for making my facebook comments on this dress off the chain!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
January 1, 2013
compliment from my boss on how pretty this dress was
The fit was a bit small and I had to go up a size but it fit perfectly once I did! The lace is beautiful but sturdy and the color is vibrant. I got so many compliments! on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2013
Loved the Red and lace combo!
This dress was great, a little tight but nothing too bad, I didn't have to wear a bra! Great length and great weight! LOVED!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Great color
This dress is very pretty and the red is vibrant. I've found that Kate Spade dresses are not great for those with broad, athletic shoulders as the chest/shoulder area generally seems to run smaller. At 5'10", the dress hit at a nice spot, right at the knee. This would be great for a garden party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
October 22, 2013
Too tight for my postpartum body
Cute dress but I just had a baby. I am nursing a newborn so this dress was way too tight in the bust. I should have ordered it a size bigger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 2, 2013
none
Ended up not wearing but loved the quality and detail. I wish it fit. Too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2014
Great Dress, Small in Bust
I rented this for a Valentine's Day wedding but I unfortunately couldn't wear it. The dress is beautiful but there is NO give in the fabric which made the bust so tight on my 34C/32D that I couldn't even zip the back. If I had ordered the next size up the top would have fit but the waist area probably would have been a little large since it's already kind of loose. Great for comfort though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 5, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it, was used as my second dress
Too snug across the bust and flared out too much at the hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 21, 2014
Beautiful orange red color with lace details
I usually wear an 8. This dress has a very tight waist band, so I chose to go a size up which made the top half really loose. If you have a tiny waist and big boobs, this dress will fit your shape. If you have a big waist and small boobs, look elsewhere.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 30, 2014
Beautiful and vivid orange-red hued dress.
This dress was lovely, but did not work for me. I am a 36D and have a wide torso. I am between a size 10 and 12 depending on the designer. Unfortunately for me, the size 12 & 14 that I ordered did not work. It was very difficult to zip up the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 28, 2014
Beautiful dress
I felt absolutely beautiful. So many compliments!! Waist band has no stretch, so breathing room was a bit tight. But otherwise, perfect length, color, and feel! Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 3, 2014
Not for ladies with a really full bust
The style was a bit different than I expected. As many reviewers stated it is heavy, however it's not unbearable. It reminds me of a crochet blanket. A little more old fashioned than I expected. Unfortunately, it gave me the uniboob look and was way too tight in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 4, 2014
Perfect for the Tea Party!
I wore the size 6 as the 4 was very tight in the bust area. This dress photographs really well. The material was heavier than I expected.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×