kate spade new york

Tiebreaker Dress

$30 rental
$578 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Strut it in this kate spade new york red floral lace dress. A flirty style that will make him fall in love at the summer party! Go with stylish bangles like the Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set and a clutch like the Lauren Merkin's Caroline Croc Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red lace. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Full skirt. Exposed gold zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

230 reviews

Fit
Small 30
True to Size 161
Large 28
Photos 111
Noelle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 18, 2014

Perfectly matched my school colors for graduation

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the look of the dress and the length. The only small downside is it sort of flattened my boobs out a little bit. Not enough that anyone else could tell but I noticed.
Cari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
May 18, 2014

The most perfect dress ever made.

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this dress, but I suppose I am a little biased since it’s the dress I was wearing when my boyfriend proposed! I rented this dress as part of my birthday gift (thanks, RTR Pro!) and it fit like a dream. I ordered the OO and the 0 for my backup, but the OO fit my very petite frame perfectly. The length wasn’t too long or too short, and the chest and waist fit perfectly without being too snug. The dress is slightly heavy due to the overlay, but luckily it wasn’t too hot. We ate outside around 7:30PM in the beginning of May in Texas on The Oasis and luckily I didn’t melt or even get too warm. The silky fabric underneath provided a nice shimmer when the light hit it just right. My only complaint is that the lace seemed to be slightly faded, but I think I’m the only one who noticed.
LaurenLP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 21, 2014

Great Color and Comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding but it was a backup so I only had the size ten. It was slightly large up top and since the bottom is loose I probably could've worn the eight, but it certainly wasn't uncomfortably large. I tend to have that issue with clothes because I have a small chest and a larger bottom. The color is gorgeous and detail is really pretty. Received lots of compliments! The wedding was outdoors and more casual so I paired it with wedge heels and a gold belt. Overall a great dress!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139 lbs
May 27, 2014

Great fit and fun color! Perfect for a spring wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of this dress was great. I found it very flattering. I also really loved the color. The details were also very stunning. I thought the dress fit pretty true to size and was pleased with the overall fit. I got plenty of compliments on the dress and I felt wonderful in it. I didn't want to return it! Highly recommend this Kate Spade stunner.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 28, 2014

The Perfect Little Red Dress for a Kate Spade Party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I attended a party at Kate Spade in Chicago so I of course wanted to wear the designer without spending a fortune so RTR came in handy! The color of this dress is so vibrant and it really was the perfect choice for a fun party! It is a rather heavy dress so if you are going to an outside wedding this summer, I wouldn't recommend it. BUT if the reception is inside, go for it girl!! This dress is perfect!! It's also true to size. Thank you as always RTR!!
Jenn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 28, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful, but was very heavy. Perfect for a chilly Memorial Day weekend, but might be too heavy for a summer event.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 31, 2014

I got lots of compliments on my dress from everyone!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The Tiebreaker Dress is perfect for San Francisco's unpredictable weather. On Friday the weather was not the balmy 80 degrees we were expecting earlier that week. Heavy fog rolled in, so instead it felt like 65-70 degrees. The dress would have worked well in both situations as it is sleeveless but also offers coverage because it's longer and sits under the collar bone. At first, I felt that the material was on the heavier side but I was glad when the temperature slipped into the lower 60s by 4pm. This dress also worked during my bbq the next day when it was 80 degrees and climbing. My only regret is that I ordered this dress close to the date, so I was not able to try the size 00. I think that would have fit better as the dress was a little loose on my torso and long past my knees.
RTR Customer
Jun 2, 2014

Great dress! Comfortable, fit like a glove and stylish. Received a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great and comfortable!
RTR Customer
Jun 7, 2014

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a little large... The fabric has a great weight to it!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Jun 8, 2014

I selected another dress but it arrived & was a bit snug. Rtr overnighted this dress instead. Love!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits snug around ribs. The full skirt is so fun! Especially out on the dance floor.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Jun 23, 2014

Great color and flattering, but...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was great. I wore it to a wedding in June where the temperature was mid-70s. Yes this dress is heavy, but I really didn't find myself feeling too hot in the dress. Color was also great. The dress hit me right above the knee, so its great for tall women who usually have trouble finding dresses that are an appropriate length. My only complaint is that for some reason the zipper kept sliding down on my dress. I didn't have any trouble zipping up the dress, so I am assuming it was a zipper malfunction on that particular dress. I wasn't a big deal, I just had to do a zipper check every once and a while. I wore the Oscar de la Renta Pave Bouquet Earrings with this dress.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Jun 24, 2014

A trendy dress for a friend's wedding!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, great dress! Very roomy skirt and good for defining a waist. I'm not a very busty person, but the top felt rather constricting; I recommend sizing up to allow for room in the chest. Also, the color looks more orange-y red in person than in photos. I added a turquoise belt for contrast and nude shoes and bag. Great for a summer evening wedding!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Gorgeous Pop of Color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! Can't go wrong with Kate Spade. The 4 fit better in the chest but was a little too tight in the lower ribcage/waist so I ended up wearing the 6. The color is beautiful bright red with a crochet overlay. I did get it caught once! It is a heavier fabric but definitely a summer dress. I paired with a yellow gold necklace I also rented, Ben-Amun Castile Statement necklace. I loved the full skirt, it was fun to twirl on the dance floor! I would like to own this one!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

The dress was so much more beautiful in person. I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit true to size and was an appropriate length for a taller woman like myself.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

The dress fit great & was a welcome pop of color at a friend's summer wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great, it was super comfortable. The wedding was outdoors, so the lining got a little hot at times but other than that, a definite great dress!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 30, 2014

Great dress, beautiful color and fabric!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bridal shower and absolutely loved it! It is very well made and has such gorgeous detail!
Ally
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

Everything! The wedding was absolutely amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! It was perfect for a black tie optional wedding in May. The fabric is a bit heavy but it wasn't a problem at all and I was easily able to dance the night away. Also it runs small so make sure to order your regular size and then a size up as well. Other than that the dress was perfect!
Cait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Elegant and intricate

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was lovely but as the other reviews say, very heavy. It was nice for a winter wedding because it kept me warm! I thought overall it was a nice dress and I did receive a number of compliments on it, but not my favorite RTR rental.
Zoey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

I received many complements on this dress and felt like it was totally appropriate for the occassion

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fabulous. I normally wear a 6, but that was not available so I ordered the 4 and the 8. The size 4 was tight around the bust, and I am small chested, but I think a 6 would have been perfect. The material was heavy in a good way, and the dress moved great on the dance floor. Highly recommend this dress. The only comment would be that the fabric on the size 8 was starting too look a little worn. The 4 was in better shape and more vibrant.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Such a fun, cheerful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was super comfortable and very cute. The length was perfect and I wore a regular bra without having to worry about straps peeking out at all. I received tons of compliments on the style and color. The 4 was the tiniest bit loose, but I think a 2 would have been too tight.
hayley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 26, 2014

This dress is a compliment grabber!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everywhere I turned, someone was telling me how beautiful this dress is. It fits true to size. The overlay fabric was much heavier than I expected, but was very comfortable. Other reviewers mentioned the zipper falling down. I didn't have that problem! :) This is a very flattering dress and the color photographs beautifully - a true standout! Would rent it again!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

Great dress for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a summer wedding and loved it! It definitely runs small in the chest area, so you may want to size up unless you are pear shaped. I loved the color and style and it was a fun, full skirt that was great to dance in.
Laurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Perfection! Compliments all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love, love, loved this dress! So many compliments, great quality. My boyfriend absolutely loved it. It's a very classy yet fun dress. The skirt of the dress has some sway to it which is great for dancing. I paired it with a pair of blingy, dangling earrings and champagne colored pumps. What was even better about this experience was how amazing customer service was!!! The two sizes I ordered were too small, and the RTR girl that I chatted with overnighted this dress to me with a bonus bracelet to wear with it and it got here just in time for the wedding. RTR to the rescue yall! Absolutely perfect! I would totally rent this again.
christine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Was a great dress to wear for a wedding, very flattering & great bright red color.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought it fit well, it fit true to size. It was a very heavy material, but good quality
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 28, 2014

I cannot recommend this dress enough!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Absolutely love it! Wore it to my law school graduation and it was just the best.
Yelena
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

indoor wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
really heavy and felt like I was drowning in fabric. No pomp, like on the model, kind of hangs limp.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 11, 2014

Amazing customer service and an adorable dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I originally rented a size 6, but it did not arrive prior to me needing to travel to the wedding due to a snafu with UPS. RTR sent me a 4 (all they had) plus a similar back up dress in two sizes straight to my hotel. The 4 was a tiny bit tight but still looked great and made for a perfect evening. The back up dress was so cute too I wish I had time to wear it! Amazing customer service as usual from RTR!
RTR Customer
Oct 27, 2014

The details of this dress are what make it special. Perfect for a Fall wedding or special event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the fit and style of this gorgeous piece! The dress is a little heavy since its crocheted, so if you're looking for something light, this isn't the dress. It's perfect for a Fall wedding or event!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Classy, Comfortable, Cheerful.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as a bridesmaid in a November wedding but didn't end up wearing it because the color was a little too bright for the autumn color palette they were going for. The fit was a little roomier than expected and the fabric is a rather heavy. The floral lace overlay is really pretty, the color is bright and cheerful, and the fuller skirt is fun to whirl around in.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Nov 26, 2014

The color is very pretty. Got alot of compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I am probably in between sizes right now. The ten fit better but the top was tight. The dress is also very heavy. Not my favorite rental but a pretty dress. Very holiday.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Beautiful Color & Material for a Fall Wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the 6 and the 8 and ended up wearing the 6 because it fit better in the waist. It was slightly tighter in shoulders but I didn't notice it throughout the night. The dress was really comfortable and a great length, the material is beautiful and heavy, it was very fun to dance in and I received several compliments on it throughout the night. Overall it was a great dress for a fall wedding. I didn't want to take it off!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Dec 14, 2014

Great dress, great color, great fun!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 2 and the 4 (I am usually a 4) and the 4 fit perfectly. I was able to wear a regular bra with the dress so it was very comfortable. The dress had great weight to it so that made dancing fun! The color was brighter than expected but it was an elegant bright red and made the dress a stand out. Compliments all night!
Julz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 15, 2014

So comfortable and classic!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! The only con is I wish it had pockets. It was comfortable and classic. Loved it
Virginia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

I was suppose to wear red for a fundraiser at my work.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was beautiful. When the dress game I was very excited about, until I opened it up. It was orange, not red!! I was so bummed as I needed to wear red for the event. Also, the dresses felt old and really worn, which was also a bummer. Even though I love Kate Spade and the dress was still cute, it was not as described. So I ended up having to send it back.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

Great dress- perfect for a Valentine's Fundraiser!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
The size 2 fit perfectly! The lace on this dress was a little bit worn, but you could only really see that up close. Love the color, really stood out! I'm smaller on top and bigger on the bottom so the 2 fit perfectly, but if you have a slightly bigger chest it may be best to go up a size!
Ryane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

All of the family members telling me I looked "RED HOT"... haha

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bodice is very true to size and without any stretch. I tried to wear the size 8 (I fluctuate between 6-10 depending on the dress) mostly because the zipper worked and it had a functional back clasp. But the top was too tight and I could see where my chest was smushing out of my bra, haha and it felt too tight in the shoulders. So we went with the 10 and "macguyvered" the back with safety pins - the zipper is such that it doesn't stay up on it's own. The overlay is pretty thick and bulky - I think it would be very heavy in the summer, but for this winter wedding/valentine's day party, it was perfect. But because I'm curvy, I felt the skirt was a little bulkier than I would've liked. The waist was nice but felt it wasn't as complimentary given the structure of the dress. Overall, I liked it a lot and received a lot of compliments! Am also noticing a trend in ordering dresses that have a lot of reviews/photos to ponder, is that none of the zippers work :/
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Feb 22, 2015

It was fun to rent a red dress! Something I wouldn't have bought.

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was good but snug in the chest. Length was fine and I'm 5'1. Overall a cute dress and I got lots of compliments.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Loved with a pearl necklace

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my husband's dissertation defense and out to celebratory dinner afterwards. I loved this dress. It was very comfortable and the lace was pretty. I especially loved pairing it with the Kate Spade pearl necklace. I was between the 4 and the 6, but ended up wearing the 6 because it was a little more comfortable in the arms. The 4 would have probably fit my chest better, though. Loved it!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

Beautiful fit, maybe worn a few too many times.

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Wedding
Fit a little small and could have worn the smaller size, but the smaller one didn't have a hook at the top (it had fallen off). The larger size was a little big but had a hook and thank god I wore that one. This dress is a gorgeous cut and color, loved it, but it's clearly been worn too many times and the zipper no longer locks. I was pulling up the zipper every couple minutes all night long. So embarrassing.
Renee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Can be dressed up or down

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a birthday date. My husband took me out to dinner and to see a show. I paired the dress with a denim jacket to dress it down for a Sunday matinee but the Kate Spade pearl necklace and earrings (also from RTR!) still made the outfit classic. I felt that the 8 was just a little too snug under the bust but the 10 was a little too loose in the shoulders, just not enough to bother me. I wore the 10 because I wanted to be comfortable.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×