You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Kiss of Death Gown
Rental $85 Retail $520
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Be mysterious with this insanely sexy Helmut Lang gown. With the front slit and cowl neck style, this dress is perfect for any black tie affair. Shown here Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff and Erickson Beamon Chrysler Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Black jersey. Cowl neckline. Cut-out back. Front slit.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos22

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5333
Jun 4, 2012
Perfect for me
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was excellent! It was a little on the short side but I don't know if a long would be too long. I wore it for prom and it was unique and I got a lot of compliments on it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Danielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2421
May 21, 2012
lang
Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have to say this dress was gorgeous but I could not believe RTR sent me a dress in such horrible condition, the back was ripped as well as the top of the slit in the leg. I did not have time for them to send me out another dress so I wore any how. It runs true to size - I had to wear 5" heels for the length to be correct.
Girl19
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3633
Apr 23, 2012
Not as SEXY as it seems
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is OK really, its not as SEXY in person as it seems on the model. The slit is not as high, and its very black, so all of the form fitting knots on the top of the dress are not very visible in person. Really a little blah, i didnt even wear it.
Z
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Feb 24, 2012
super satisfied
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this guy for a formal black tie wedding in San Francisco City Hall. Big hit - I felt very comfortable and received many compliments. I'm a street size 6...rented both a S and M and chose the wear the S - it hugged my body in all the right places despite not being floor length.
Antoinette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4343
Dec 12, 2011
Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I interned with UNICEF and wore it to their West Coast Ball in LA. It was a black tie event and this dress was perfect--formal, sexy, but not too over the top! I'm 5'9-5'10 and I would have liked it to be a bit longer, but overall it was perfect. My only complaint is that the slip attached to the dress rode up pretty often, but it was easy to adjust.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Nov 22, 2011
Felt Beautiful
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a beautiful dress. The only reason I didn't wear the xs was the length. I am usually between a 2/4 and it was just about 2 inches too short without heels. The slit was not too high and the dress was formal enough for an event that I was unsure of.
Natalia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Canonical User Type: 5434
Oct 17, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This is the worst dress that I have ever tried on. It looks great on the model but on me it was horrible. The quality of the dress was very poor and it was super stretched out. The draping on the front is not flattering one bit.
drea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Sep 12, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved the style of the dress - but it is not exactly as pictured: my rental was worn out with hanging seams, a torn in the front that had been repaired and the gathering over the stomach also showed signs of heavy use. The leg slit ends at the knee. Again, loved the style but this model should be retired.
Crystal E
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1531
Sep 12, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Unfortunately my rental did not fit and I could not wear. The Xsm was way too small and too short. The Small was enormous - I was literally swimming in it. XSM must be better on a petite woman 5'2 and under.
KLJ518
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1531
Aug 31, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved the draping in the back, and as others have said, the slit in front is not nearly as high as it appears in the photo. My only complaints that kept this from getting 5 stars are the following: first, it was very hard to get the drape in the front to sit correctly. It kept looking like a bulge of fabric that needed to be tucked somehow. Once I got it in the right place, the short lining kept riding up until there was a bunch of fabric at my hips and I had to go to the ladies room several times to "adjust". Also, the drape at the neckline has a raw edge that kept flipping over so that it was visible and did not look very neat. Overall, I liked the dress, but I probably would not rent it again. This was my first experience with RTW, and I was totally happy with them. I will definitely rent again, just not this dress.
Mama Bass
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
May 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was a HIT at a black tie event for work. It was appropriate for the occasion, and the slit ended just above my knee... way less revealing that the picture. Also took the advice and added a sparkly broach to the knot at the waist. No necklace as the cowl neck was perfect. I rented the large having just had a baby 9 months ago and (I'm 165 and 5'6") and this accentuated all the right spots... with spanx and a sticky cup bra! I felt glamorous and comfortable in this gown... not always easily combined!
TMKRR
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1541
Apr 21, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Stunning dress. Understated, very flattering. The jersey is comfortable and drapes wonderfully. The slit is lower than pictured, but is still provocative.
yyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Mar 27, 2011
Would rent again.
Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress in XSR is 150 cm / 59 inches long. As with most Helmut Lang, it is cut slim. I am 5'2", and with a pair of 3" heels, the hem lightly brushes against the floor (very elegant, just the perfect floor length). The slit back is a great detail: from the side, the bottom edge of the slit creates a subtle drape. And unlike the photo, the front slit does not cut as high as it looks (it hit an inch above the knee for me, in heels). I felt great in this dress and will definitely rent it again for the next black tie occasion.
PromQueen
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1331
Mar 25, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for my senior prom along with some extremely classy, silver earrings and bracelet (different from the ones pictured, but from rent the runway), and I loved it. The slit is in just the right place, so I don't show my whole leg, and the way it hugged my lower body made me feel really confident all night! I followed an above suggestion by putting a brooch where the fabric wraps around your middle and it made me look like a very classy, svelte princess.
Cmyaus
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Nov 22, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented the size 4 which is my typical size and it fit perfectly with a pair of 3" heels. I added a crystal brooch at the waist where the draping is and it really took it up a notch. The slit on the leg is much lower than pictured. I felt beautiful in this dress.
Marie H.
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1431
Nov 8, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was a perfect fit for someone with my height and weight. 5'6'' 107 lbs. It was super comfortable because the fabric is a little forgiving which was a nice change from the uncomfortable dresses we sausage ourselves into. Very sexy, very feminine, very modern. Loved it.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 5, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
No offense to the model, but she does not do this dress justice. It is a very sexy dress! If you have curves in all the right places, it will show! I loved it! I received tons of compliments all night. The dress was very comfortable. My only suggestion is to keep your heel height in mind when you order this dress. I ordered a regular size dress, but I probably could have gotten away with a long since I wore 3" platform shoes.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress