Rent the Runway

Haute Hippie

Winged Embellished Shoulder Dress

$49 to buy
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Haute Hippie dress epitomizes feminine glamour. Mix it up with an edgy cuff or bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS, S, M, L. Size XS=0; Size S=2, 4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS, S, M, L. Size XS=0; Size S=2, 4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Jersey. One shoulder neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Poncho sleeve. 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

146 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 56
Large 77
Photos 44
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Very Pretty and Unique

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5 months pregnant and this is very bump friendly. got compliments all night!
MT3
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

It is not loose!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the look of this dress and picked it because it was "bump friendly" (4 months post twins). However, it looks fairly loose on line but it is more of a sheath dress. I ended up not wearing it but it is beautiful.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 9, 2012

My first RTR experience and definitely will be renting again!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress but runs very large. Rented a small and medium and the small still looked like a tent on me.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 10, 2012

Very comfortable!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a fancy wedding last October. I wanted something comfortable that was easy to move around in and had a little something extra. This dress did just that! I didn't want to take it off by the end of the night.
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Dress was amazing. Lots of compliments. Great fit.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Excellent choice.
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

The dress was stylish but the material had a cheap feel to it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the dress and thought it was really elegant and stylish but the feel of it was kind of cheap, like an inexpensive slinky material.
Betsy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 28, 2012

Stunning!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday party. I'm 5'10" and it was very short on me, but I wore it with 4" heels and felt like a super model! This dress was very flattering and very forgiving. You can definitely wear with a convertable bra - one shoulder - but I wore with a bustier and it was great! Definitely made me feel like the star of my party!
Karli
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Dec 31, 2012

Comfortable and perfect for the occassion

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it with black tights and black heeled booties. I loved it.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Didn't work. Too short, too tight.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so excited to wear this dress on New Year's Eve, but unfortunately, it just didn't work. I am curvy through my midsection, and the dress was just too clingy--but if I had been able to get a size larger, it would have been baggy in places. It was also too short for me. Oh well.
Jessie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

Great dress!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress at a holiday work party. Got the small and the medium and could have worn either but went with the medium. The dress is longer than I thought which was perfect for my since I am tall but if I was shorter I don't think I would have liked the length. The material is a little but see through in certain light.. make sure you have a black slip/spanx of some sort! Would definitely wear this again. Super comfortable and so pretty!
misty
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Get ready for complete strangers to approach you with sincere yet envious compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
For sure the dress runs large! The jeweled accent on the shoulder was sorta shifty at times, but stayed put for the most part. ( I do have wimpy shoulders). I wore this for a cruise formal night and was stunningly dressed without appearing over the top, just super-classy without needing elaborate jewelry. The hem hit just above the knee, which is hard to find for a petite girl whose legs usually appear stumpy in everything else. Looooved the fit and flow of the fabric. Spanx not even needed, though I am sometimes a size 4P and have had 2 kids. The night passed in such a whirlwind so that I didn't have time for a good full frontal pic, but my advice: Get This Dress!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Perfect Dress for an evening wedding!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a sexy but classy dress. I loved the embellishment detail on the shoulder.
Mely
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 13, 2013

Amazing, received many copliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect, received many compliments.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
May 9, 2013

too big

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am short and small so this dress swallowed me..:(
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 15, 2013

What a beautiful dress! Loved wearing it and would love to own it

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit and was so comfortable.
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 27, 2013

Fantastic, shapely dress for an upscale night in Vegas!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress fit beautifully. The shoulder detail adds glam and the asymmetry, fashion. It was perfect for sipping classy beverages in a roof-top bar in Vegas. It certainly caught a number of eyes. The fabric feels luxurious and drapes in a very flattering way.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

The EASIEST dress to wear!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I rented this for NYE dinner and felt like a million dollars! Since the dress is pretty swingy, I chose the smaller of the 2 rental sizes sent. Could have worn either though. What made it even better was that I could actually EAT, drink and dance without feeling like I was going to bust a seam. Pulled my hair back to show off the shoulder detail and wore fun earrings. Definitely would rent again!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 9, 2013

perfect mix of dramatic yet conservative for sorority recruitment (or anything that calls for it)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I either wear a 4 or 6 usually, but ordered XS and S for this based on the reviews, and was glad - it certainly runs large... the XS wasn't even tight, I only opted for the S for the extra length as I am on the taller side and wanted to be more covered up, don't need to be showing off décolletage or leg trying to talk to a roomful of other young women! Just a great and eye-catching dress, I stood out even with everyone wearing black!
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

Truly bump-friendly!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am 31 weeks pregnant and wore this dress to a black tie wedding. The fit and style was far better than any maternity dress. I looked better than I possibly hoped, considering I look like I swallowed a basketball, and received compliments all night long. The material is not as thin as some reviewers indicated, but I followed the advice to wear black skivvies so had no problem with flash photos. This is a really fun, comfortable dress that I recommend for anyone with a round midsection.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 11, 2013

Sexy dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super cute. I ordered it as a back up for a company party and ended up wearing it out the next night on a date with my bf. I received a lot of complements on how flattering the dress was for my bodytype. I wore spanx and tights underneath the dress and when looking at pictures the day after I realized the dress was completely see through! If you're going to wear undergarments with this dress make sure they are black not nude! I would order this dress again in a heartbeat.
Alexandrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2013

Perfect for Vegas with the Girls!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I got TONS of compliments on this dress all night and the little embellishment on the shoulder added the perfect something extra to what would have been a plain black dress... I loved it so much I rented it again!
Nadine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 4, 2013

Cute, but very short!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I gave this dress three stars, not because of the quality or the sizing of the dress, but rather because it was so incredibly short that I could not wear it out. The overall fit was correct and everything about the dress was fun and pretty-- but just beware that it cuts a little high on the legs. I'm not a very tall person, but I do have a big bum that sometimes gets in the way of dresses and hikes them up a bit. If you have the same problem, I was suggest going with a different dress as this one came up literally right under my bum.
Pamela
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Beautiful dress, however, I ended up wearing the "back-up" dess.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is completely see thru and does not have a slip so make sure you wear a full slip underneath it. It does run a bit large ( I am 5'0 tall and wear a small). However, it is stunning and was disppointed I could not wear it.
Joelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Very easy to wear!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a little big.
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Dec 3, 2013

LOVED IT!!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I picked this dress for my 30th birthday in Vegas. I felt so comfortable in it! I'm so glad I read the reviews and got black spanx as it's so true that it is shear. I wore the large for length, I'm all legs but I wanted to make sure I was covered. I would absolutely recommend this dress!!!!!
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Cute and flirty

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved it
Ki'ara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 164 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

I wore this dress 8 months pregnant at my baby shower.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My baby bump made this dress quite short but it was still beautiful. I felt very pretty and I received many many compliments. I don't have any cons seeing as how I was 8 months pregnant but this dress can make a statement anywhere.
heartnurse
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Stunning!!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Worn to a Valentine's Womens Heart Gala. At age 56, let's face it...we have some figure imperfections. This was the perfect dress. Figure flattering w/o being too revealing. I felt confident and beautiful especially after all the complements. My husband loved it so much he went on line to try to find one for purchase.
Janel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Flattering Fit! Great for a Night Out!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress would be flattering on any body type and I would highly recommend this dress for those that want to hid some flaws. I wore this dress to a party, and received compliments all night. My other issue was the it didn't lay exactly right, and i had to adjust it throughout the night. I plan on renting this dress again!
Gillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Rented this for a girlfriend and she looked great.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fun and flirty
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Did not fit.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Unfortunately this GORGEOUS dress did not fit. I read many of the reviews and rented the XS in order for it to fit, but when it came in it did not. Thank fully I rented a second dress for another event and it fit beautifully along with a pair of earrings I rented. The staff member I chatted with assured me that if I returned the dress I would get a credit for another one. I really appreciated knowing that the customer service here cared so much about me and still wanted me to feel better when a dress didn't even fit. Thank you!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 18, 2014

Everything fit, but it was way too short.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great material, loved the concept, but the dress was just way too short. I didn't end up wearing it. I was so disappointed!
michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2014

didn't get to wear it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Dress was big even for an extra small
jill
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

A cocktail party.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did't end up wearing the dress. The back is VERY short. I am 5'4 and it barely covered my butt if I bent over even a little bit.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

I didn't wear it, but not because it wasn't a beautiful dress!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress; the sequins on the shoulder were beautiful- but I rented it for a semi-formal wedding with my boyfriends family, and the dress was just too short to be comfortable in. I would LOVE this for a girls night or Vegas, but to meet his grandma? Not so much. I'm usually a Medium or Large- and it was HUGE, didn't fit at all. The small fit perfectly, with the exception of length. Again, I hate to give the dress a bad review- but it is just too short for my height to be "classy" with heels.
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Didn't wear it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wayyyy to short. Maybe a medium would have been better but it didn't cover my butt. It was more like a tunic
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Sep 11, 2014

Comfortable and roomy, but a little sheer and some fit issues

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this in XS at almost 31 weeks pregnant, which gives you an idea of how generously this dress is cut. The S was a back-up but it was too loose on the top. I was happy overall with this pick, but the back of the dress was oddly much shorter than the front, even with my huge baby bump, so I found myself needing to tug down the back hem periodically. As many other reviewers mentioned, the length is a little short and the material is a little see-through.
Val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 17, 2014

Great party dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love the one shoulder look and this dress is no exception. It was a tad short for my liking so I wore the large for more length, another downfall if you raised your left arm the dress rode up - just watch it when your dancing.
bvina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Flattering and forgiving!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I have not shed all my baby weight yet, so this was my first RTR rental mostly because I couldn't comfortably fit in what I have and didn't want to buy a new dress only to not fit in it again once the weight is gone. This dress was super forgiving and I fit very easily in an XS. Renting it was so easy too!! Pros: Unlike most one shoulder dresses, this is designed perfectly to stay up on your shoulder all night. I did not have to pick up the shoulder nor did I feel like it was drooping off my shoulder. Cons: The only con was that the embellishment is pretty heavy so that slid forward and backward sometimes requiring a little adjustment but it wasn't super noticeable.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Tons of compliments. Renting it again for a different party!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
Loose fit. Very cute.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×