Haute Hippie

Gold Peacock Lace Dress

$109 to buy
$995 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like the belle of the ball in this insanely beautiful Haute Hippie peacock feather printed dress. Such a unique style for a fashion forward renter.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and gold metallic lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Tiered full skirt. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(59)
Small
(26)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 15, 2015
Animal theme fundraiser
Super fun dress. Looks much brighter in person. Made a statement at the event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2016
It was the perfect dress for an aviary fundraiser! I added the feather on the top for extra flair.
It runs true to size. Even with my petite bust, the dressed was fitted in such a way that I never worried. The dress is heavier than expected, but I never felt too hot on the warm July day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 14, 2015
LOVED IT
Seriously so many compliments with this dress! The dress fit true to size for me, and it also has boning which really holds you in. The fabric is not obnoxiously peacock, it's very tasteful and gold. I loved the full skirt! I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
November 12, 2014
So many compliments at Fuel the Cure charity gala!
This dress was gorgeous - high quality, well made, beautiful details. Got tons of compliments, would definitely recommend. A few tips - if u have a small rib cage (like me) I'd recommend an xs. I ordered a small & medium & the small was falling down all night (it's a heavy dress). Definitely need double sided tape and my strapless bra wouldn't fit in it so you'll need petals. But if worn properly, this dress is to die for.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 6, 2015
love !
great !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
November 26, 2015
Unfortunately I had to return it for store credit...
I had to return it for credit. I am usually a size XS or S and read all the reviews saying that this dress runs smaller than usual and that I had to go on a miracle diet days before wearing the dress, etc. So with that in mind I ordered an S being sure that it would fit. To my surprise, it was too big for my ribcage and breasts.... there's absolutely no grip in the fabric so it kept falling down! It was also longer than I expected, it went all the way down to my knees. Very awkward. Unfortunately no Fashion Tape or improvised hemming could make this work. It was just too off. An XS could have worked better, but it would have been too long. So I basically don't recommend this for girls that measure 5'1" like myself :) Good luck
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2011
This dress is very pretty when I pulled it out of the packed! Beware though this dress runs extremely small! I received only an XS because the other dress I ordered was missing so I chose this one instead. I was so mad though because it did not fit!!! Order a size up or two instead or you will be let down so much!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2011
This is a gorgeous, gorgeous dress! I wore it to a charity event and got compliments all evening -- I couldn't help but feel fabulous! Be aware that the bodice is very fitted. I usually wear a S and have trouble filling out the tops of strapless dresses, but I had to size up to the M in this dress and it stayed up perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
October 25, 2011
I totally loved this dress. I don't actually think the bodice runs that small; I think it has zero stretch and is very structured so it feels tighter. I fit into my usual Small, but it was definitely super snug around my ribcage. I think if you have a large ribcage, you should consider ordering up 1 size. However, I felt completely secure in it all night (no chance of the top coming down because of the structure of the bodice) and got about a million compliments. It wasn't nearly as short on me as it is on the model because I'm petite, but still looked awesome. The skirt is amazing.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 1, 2011
Runs quite small. I am usually a small or x-small (5'3", 123lbs, 33-27-35) and I would have needed the medium - although I'm afraid a medium would have looked absurd in the hips. Probably best for a pear shaped body.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 2, 2011
This is a gorgeous dress - I got compliments all night! The bust area is a bit small so if you're getting two sizes, it makes sense to get the larger one also.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2011
Very cute but a little snug
I had so much fun wearing this dress. The skirt portion is puffy and fun and the top is kind of corset like (felt tight at times). The peacock feathers didn't look as peacocky as I expected but it was still fun to wear and I got a ton of complements.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2012
great dress for small waist.
runs small! it is black with gorgeous gold, not green. looks very expensive. loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 23, 2012
I loved looking down on that beautiful skirt all night.
The fabric is beautiful, especially on the skirt. The one problem I had was that it made my torso look very boxy. I am short wasted, and it wasn't doing me any favors.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 23, 2012
Gorgeous Dress!
Got tons of compliments. MADE FOR DANCING! I ordered the XS and S - I usually wear XS, so this dress runs small. FYI
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 21, 2013
this dress is so unique and was the best for my formal!
the fit is very tight, so don't order it if you're not sure. I basically tried it on and was instantly on a diet. the color and look are true to the picture although the detail is even more amazing in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
August 7, 2013
super cute but not much room for the girls
if you have implants this may be a hard fit. my 34d's just wouldn't fit into the space provided and there is NO stretch in the top. you need to put it on over your head and not slip on from below if you have hips. i tried the small and medium and both were a no go. The material is cute but a little scratchy...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2013
My size in this dress must not exist!
I ordered both an XS and the Small. The XS was crazy small, and the Small fell down on the top - which does not work well for a formal event where you will be dancing. Yikes! I say "runs small" but that's not consistent across all of the sizes since the small was so big. Would likely work better if you are my height with a bigger bust. The material was very pretty though, which was nice. Slightly less mutlicolored than it appeared online - more of just straight black and gold. Seemed to be more of a youth cut than for a woman. Thankfully a plan B is en route from RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2013
super cute, but EXTREMELY fitted & unfortunately too small on top to wear
short version: although the size was "M" and a normal size for me, it probably would be best suited for someone who wears a 2 or 4 dress size, but with a generous bust (or an amazingly padded strapless bra) to keep it up. long version: i laughed when i tried this dress on, since the zipper (it goes up the side, so that's a big advantage if you're dressing up without an extra pair of hands available to help!) was seriously gaping open. i probably had a good 6 inches of flesh keeping the zipper from closing. the bodice is super tiny. a couple of slimmer co-workers i foisted this dress on could zip up the dress, but the bust area would gape unless one was well-endowed (not too crazy, but anything less than a C cup would risk having a wardrobe malfunction). the dress itself is adorable and super unique, so it's too bad i wasn't able to wear it. a plea for RTR: make this dress available in L and XL, pretty please!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
January 1, 2014
Great party dress, perfect for New Years Eve
I took advantage of the NYE dress deal to rent this dress and was very happy I did. It was fun and appropriate for the type of party I went to. I rented an XS and S and the S fit perfectly, Id recommend sizing up for this an accessorizing with a belt!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 7, 2014
Runs extremely small!
I can't believe how small this dress runs! I am 120 pounds and always wear a size 2 as my rib cage is very narrow... I couldn't even get close to zipping this up. In addition the top of the dress looks a bit cheap. The bottom part of the skirt is very cute, but the top isn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 17, 2014
Didn't fit XS OR the S - #bustprobz
Thank God I rented two dresses because this dress was just not fitting me. The XS was too tight to zip up, and the S was too big on my chest and I had to keep pulling it up. I'm a 32D with a small top, so maybe it was just me, but neither size fit correctly. I was so sad that I couldn't be a glam peacock for the evening :(
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 24, 2014
I did not get to wear this to my event because it did not fit.
I did not get to wear this gorgeous dress because despite the reviews, the dress does NOT fit true to size- it fits about 2 sizes smaller than your normal size. I couldn't even get it zipped past my waist!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 18, 2014
Gorgeous gown...runs very small. Wasn't able to wear it..
The top is meant for a very narrow rib cage. Again very beautiful dress..runs very small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 30, 2014
So much fun to dance in!
This definitely runs small, but the next size up was super comfy! The detailing is beautiful and it photographs very nicely. My favorite dress I've ever rented. Wish I could wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2014
Unique, Glamorous and Fun!
I wore this dress to a charity party for Pittsburgh's Riverlife. It runs very small. I typically wear a small or a size 2. I rented the small and the medium after reading other's reviews. I ended up wearing the medium. So, I would recommend sizing up. However, the dress is beautiful! I loved the detail in the lace. The charity event was called Gold, Glitz and Glam. So, the dress was perfect for the event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 20, 2014
I bought this dress to wear it to our firms Holiday Christmas Party. Idea: something fun/different.
Fit: Runs very small (granted, I had gained a few lbs). Pros: Fun dress, the ability to get two sizes. Cons: Dress had some pilling on the top of the bodice. Seemed cheap for a designer dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
January 14, 2015
Received many compliments on the dress!!
Very tight in the chest/bust area...Overall very comfortable. I'm very small chested and almost needed to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 4, 2016
Sadly did not fit
I rented this in a medium for NYE festivities, but unfortunately it didn't fit and I returned it. I took a gamble on this one, as I have a slightly wider ribcage and larger chest (36D), and wasn't able to zip it up. Just a warning out there for gals with a similar physique, as there's no stretch with this material. It is a beautiful dress, though!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
July 23, 2014
Super cute peacock party dress
This runs small. I had to do the Slim Fast diet for a few days before I wore this so it zipped. So it's a tiny "medium". But it's adorable and I got tons of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2016
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner the night before my wedding. I felt beautiful!
I suggest getting a size bigger just in case. The cups were a little small in my bust area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2015
Super Pretty- If it fir
The dress was very small and short, I was unable to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 32A
June 21, 2016
Such a fun dress!
I was late ordering for a NYE so my only option was XS, I probably would have been more comfortable in the waist in a small but it wasn't unbearable. I'm small chested so the top fit me great. I was worried it would be too short but it was longer than I expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 2, 2011
The dress has such great detail!
Absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a wedding and it was a big hit. The flowers are a bit more gold than in the picture but it is gorgeous. The top does run a bit small, I normally wear a 4-6 and the M was the right size.
AllieNovember 2, 2011
Haha, I know you!! I love how it looks on you- obviously we have good taste ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 12, 2011
FABULOUS!
I had an amazing evening (homecoming!!!) in this dress! I got so many compliments and the best part was I could just send it back without having to worry about dry cleaning! Getting the 2 sizes was also great! I love this dress, and I am so happy that I rented it! It is more gorgeous in person!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 26, 2011
I was told this was the best dress at the event. That's always nice to hear ;)
This is an amazing dress! I wore it to my sorority formal and got so many compliments! I was a little bit worried about the size because of the reviews I had read, but when the dresses came in the small and medium fit me. I chose to go with the medium, and once I got full of wine it was a bit snug. But overall I loved it and will be renting from rent the runway again! I'm including some pictures because I really wish I could have seen it on someone that wasn't a 5'9 100lb model before I bought it. Ha!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2012
My friend said I looked like a magical peacock!
Awesome dress! I got so many compliments on it. The previous reviews say it fit tight on top but for me it was true to size. Gorgeous detailing! It was the perfect NYE Dress :) Thanks RTR xx
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
January 21, 2012
RTR makes every moment unforgettable
I wore this dress for NYE and it was great! It was a little tight in the rib cage, but I don't blame the dress, I blame the holidays for that. I had the size small as my backup, but that was too big for me. The XS fit, but no big meal for me that night. All in all, the dress was great! Perfect for a fun night :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 10, 2012
Cute, but a strange fit.
This dress is VERY cute, the rental I received was in very good shape, and I was just so disappointed when it didn't fit well. My measurements are 34-25-35, and the small, which I initially thought would be too tight for me, did fit well in the bodice, but it was pretty loose in the bust. This was surprising to me, since, while I am small, I have a C chest--and I usually never have a hard time filling out size 2 dresses. I think that I wasn't broad enough to fill out the dress, and while I could have used a padded strapless bra and stylist tape to keep it up, it just wasn't super flattering on me, and I would have been yanking it up all night long. I suggest that petite girls with a big bust be wary of this one, or order the XS as a back-up if you think you can fit. Boobs alone will not be enough to fill out the bodice. You'll need to be a little broader across the chest and back, or else it'll be roomy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 13, 2012
A truly unique and comfortable party dress. Loved it!
A beautiful, fun party dress that I didn't want to return! Super comfortable (well, for a corset top anyway), sexy (hello cleavage!) yet still tasteful (hit me a couple of inches above the knee). Great to dance in all night with no need to tuck in the tummy. And lastly, made of a unique fabric that demands notice.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×