Halston Heritage

Tidal Wave Dress

$74 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Slip into this Halston Heritage breezy silhouette for an effortless style! This waist cinching dress is great for all body types.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
93 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(43)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 20, 2015
The fit of the dress is absolutely fabulous. The ruching of the top is extremely flattering!
Make sure you size up! I normally wear a size 8 and had to go with the 10 because of how small the top is. Absolutely no stretch. The color is a beautiful royal blue. I got tons of compliments all night. Id say that the only downfall is that if you sweat, it will show! Other than the mild marks if you sweat, this is a great dress and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 3, 2015
Great dress
Wore this to my friends wedding. It was the prefect dress. Great color, great fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 10, 2016
Great dress for dancing.
The dress was a little shorter than I'd hoped but great for dancing and twirling. I wish it was more flattering near the armpits but I still received compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
The added details put this experience over the top - garment bag, free samples, extra day to return.
The description of the fit of the dress was accurate. I normally run between a 6-8, 6 on top and 8 on bottom. There is no give to the top of this dress and it said it ran a little small. I ordered an 8 and 10 and the 8 fit me perfectly. Because of the flowing skirt of the dress, there was no issue in how it fit though my hips. This is one of the reasons why I picked it. It was a perfect dress for a wedding to dance around and twirl in circles. Even walking made the dress flow. It was an awesome first experience and I would recommend this dress and this service to anyone (and I did!)!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 21, 2013
Beautiful dress, bodice runs very small.
This is a beautiful dress. I wasn't able to wear it because the bodice was too small. The color is awesome and I'm sure on the right person it would be great. I think it would be a great fit on a slightly smaller frame- my rib cage was a little large.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 4, 2013
It was a beautiful dress!
This was my first time using rent the runway, and I was a little disappointed. Although it was a beautiful dress, I did not even get to wear it to the wedding and had to scramble to find a last minute dress! It runs small, which contrary to what was on the comments did not follow along. It was WAY too small in the bust, and when I called to return the dress they stated that these dress do run small in the dress. I usually wear a size 2 or a 4 and I ordered both. The two fit perfectly in the waist, however I could not zip it up once it got to my chest...the same with the four. Although I did not get to wear the dress, they were very helpful and reimbursed me, with the exception of the shipping cost.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
I was unable to wear this dress because it was WAY too small in the bust!
This dress was unbelievably beautiful, but I couldn't wear it because it was too tight in the bust, even up one size. It fit perfectly everywhere else. It made me very sad that it didn't fit. I've never had this problem before, and don't even have a large chest, so be wary. My advice would be to go up at least one size or more. Luckily I was able to send the dress back without any problems and received a credit back on my account, so it truly is a risk-free purchase! I'm at least grateful for that.
RTR CustomerMarch 24, 2013
what size did you order?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 15, 2013
Amazing - I stole the show!
This dress was absolutely AMAZING!!! After a bit of a debacle with my original dress choice, this one was overnighted to me, and I have to say, I should've picked this one from the beginning! It was just the right amount of stretch and the skirt was really flirty and fun to spin and dance around in. I got complements ALL night! I wore it with peep-toe black pumps with a feather on the front and some sparkle in the back to match my feather hair piece, and the smokey mirrored bangles and a black clutch (both also from RTR). The whole outfit really came together and the stylist was integral in me picking an awesome dress! This dress definitely runs small (I'm usually a 4 and had to go up a size), so keep that in mind, and the skirt is pretty short. It was fine on me since I'm short but I can see it being a problem on some taller gals out there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 30, 2013
Awesome dress to dance in!
As previously stated by other reviewers, the top of this dress runs small and has zero stretch to it. It was fine for a small-busted girl like myself, but be careful how much padding you plan to wear underneath. This dress is so fun to wear! It's super comfortable and perfect to twirl in! I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2013
Didn't wear
Didn't wear this because the zipper was tough to close. Fabric is really comfy and color stands out.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 6, 2013
This dress was super small.
This dress runs very small. I usually wear a size 4 in dresses, so I ordered a 4 and a 6. Both sizes were very small in the chest and I couldn't zip up the dress. I was unable to wear this dress to the event. I even had a friend try it on and it was VERY small on her as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
June 10, 2013
Great Color!
I ordered this as my back up dress. It was a pretty blue color and the length wasn't too short. The top did fit a little snug when worn with a strapless bra. I didn't end up wearing it because my first choice dress fit and this dress had a burn hole in the skirt when I received it so I couldn't have worn it anyways. Luckily RTR staff was amazing and gave me a discount code for the inconvenience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2013
Great dress for girl's night out!
The color is gorgeous in person. I got this as my backup, but loved it. The top runs a bit small although I was able to wear my normal size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 29, 2013
Gorgeous Color!!
I wore this dress to a fall wedding, and it was perfect! I am on the short side so it hit right above my knee, which was a good length for a wedding. The only problem with the dress is the bust, it runs extremely small up top!! I had to wear a size up than I normally do. The color popped, and the dress was extremely comfortable all night for dancing! Definitely one of my favorite dresses that I have rented.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
September 30, 2013
Pretty but dress was a bit worn
The dress was a beautiful color for a summer wedding. However, I was not very happy about the pulls and stains on the skirt. I assume its from previous rentals. Luckily it was pretty hidden in the pleats and the dim lighting of the venue. I was pretty disappointed but didn't have time to call RTR for help as it was delivered late. Overall, glad I had a dress to wear to the wedding. I still got compliments on the dress and danced the night away but I dont think I will be renting this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 26, 2013
Pretty dress but ended up wearing the back up dress. Back up was much more flattering.
Pretty but waist hits high and is not as comfortable as it could be
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 25, 2013
Didn't get a chance to wear it.
I got this as my second option, but I was truly hoping it would work. I am usually an 8, but this dress I couldn't even close, it fit as if it was a size 4. Pretty color, but order a size to two sizes up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2013
Two thumbs up!
Great dress! I'm almost 5'11 and usually wear a 4 but the 6 worked better length-wise. It is a bit short but is an adorable, flirty dress and great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2014
didn't end up wearing this dress but...
this dress was so pretty, but there is absolutely no stretch. i rented the 4 which would not zip over my 34 C boobs (even without a bra... i tried to squeeze). the 6 wasn't available, but i would definitely rent this dress in a 6 :) size up!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 14, 2014
Gorgeous color, beautiful, flowy dress, runs VERY small in the bust
Order 1-2 sizes up, and expect to wear the dress that's at least 2 sizes too big. The dress is much longer than pictured, and is actually a perfect length for a wedding. I'm 5'11" and it was a few inches above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2014
Runs Small
Like many other reviewers have noted, this dress runs small. No matter what size your chest is, I would advise you size up one size and then get a back up in two sizes bigger. I normally wear a size 4 and I could not get this dress zipped up for the life of me. I didn't even wear a bra! I had ordered the size 6 for my backup size, but RTR contacted me the day my order was going to ship to notify me that the size 6 had been damaged so badly by the previous renter that it had to be discontinued. I was really bummed, however, thanks to RTR's awesome customer service, they sent me a second style in two sizes for FREE. Huge thanks to RTR! Back to the dress - The color is gorgeous - very vibrant and I imagine it photographs well... just keep the sizing in mind.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 9, 2014
Nice dress, no wow factor
It was nice - I was a little indifferent about it. It def ran small - in the bust area especially. I almost always wear a size 2, and had trouble zipping the size 4! Zipper was tough in general. I did love the color and the flow of the bottom. Worked well for an outdoor beach wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
July 26, 2014
Loved this dress! It was so easy and comfortable.
It's a little small in the torso/chest area. I'm a 32D, though - usually wear a 0 or 2, but wore the 4. Got lots of compliments all night … and even my cousin who is a fashion designer and celebrity stylist in LA went on and on about it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 1, 2014
Vibrant color. Size up!
This dress is gorgeous, and has a very flattering, feminine fit. I would definitely recommend going up one size. My back-up dress was one size larger than I normally wear, and I needed it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 3, 2014
Feels like a (nice) bridesmaid dress
Ordered this to attend a wedding. Once it was here, it was nice, but I was afraid I would be mistaken for a bridesmaid. This turned out to be very close to the truth, and I did not wear it. I would consider it for a different type of event or outing. Other reviews are correct that the sizes run small. I'm usually an 8 but rented the 10, and it was an exact fit. Also, this is more of a royal blue than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
September 22, 2014
Beautiful color and comfortable dress.
I liked this dress but I didn't love it. The color is beautiful and it was overall very comfortable and easy to move in. It's true that it runs small, I wore a size larger than usual. The bust fit perfectly, but the torso was a bit long that led to bunching on the sides and skirt made my bottom half look wider than usual. The zipper can be very tricky, so get a friend to help you with the last two inches.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 22, 2013
Halston is my fave designer!
Fit was small but that is good, because the size up (which I thought would be baggy) was loose. So I had the option. Zipper is the con. It is difficult to zip. You know it is when the paint on it is worn off before you get to put your hands on it. Didn't need a bra, but then, I am not flat chested nor am I well-endowed. I'm just enough. So it worked for me, sizing down. I imagine you'd have to go TWO sizes up if you are well endowed. the dress is just THAT fitted on top. Well made/construction wise. Compliments on it all night. The color (blue) was popular at the wedding I was at last nite but my dress was definitely something different. Not run-of-the-mill.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 13, 2015
Everyone loved the dress. I got tons of comments on how great it looked and the perfect color!
The arm hole was a little small for me but i loved how tight the top was (didn't have to wear a bra!). The zipper buckled a bit and I tried the larger size to see if it helped but I think girls with hips will just have to deal with it. The skirt had a great flow and it was so comfortable to dance in all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Weight: 135lbs
August 3, 2015
Beautiful dress!
Thanks to everyone's advice, I ordered 1 size up, and I'm glad I did. It still fit very snug around the bust and waist. I'm glad the dress provided enough bust support, so you don't need to wear a bra, otherwise I don't think the top would've zipped. I would advise other girls to order 1 size up with the backup 2 sizes up! I wouldn't recommend this dress if your bust size is larger than a C cup. I got lots of compliments on this dress. The color is beautiful and the dress quality was top notch!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
It came on time, packaged great, with a great dress.
The dress was gorgeous! It was tight in the bust, so I had to size up. It was perfect for homecoming, but a little longer than I would have liked, but still above the knee on my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2012
Beautiful color
The reviews were not kidding when they said small in the top. Other than that it was a beautiful dress- but like the reviews said- order up a size if you are larger on top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Beautiful Party Dress!
I rented this as a bridesmaid dress for a wedding. I found it to run a little small. I usually order 0/2 as my two sizes, and in this I rented the 2/4 and though I ended up wearing the 2, the 4 would have worked as well. I was REALLY happy with this dress. It is a beautiful, rich, blue color. The material is super soft and expensive feeling. It doesn't wrinkle as easily as most dresses with a chiffon layer. It is super flattering, and flows beautifully. I have nothing bad to say about this dress - definitely a great one for any spring/summer wedding or other fun event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 13, 2013
Very tight bodice
There is no give in the bodice, so I barely fit! The color and the fabric were both beautiful and flattering. The dress is pretty long even on me, I'm 5'10" and it was almost at my knees.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
July 8, 2013
Comfortable and Flowy
I tried this dress on in the studio with my MOH for potential bridesmaid dresses. It fit her figure as nicely as it did mine, and we are so opposite. The dress is A LOT darker and richer in color than the image shows. It is a cobalt blue, but still pretty. I did not have to wear a bra with it because it is so tight, and my MOH could NOT zip it up with a bra, but was able to without one. It is definitely snug around the rib cage and bust. I felt more comfortable in the 12, but the stylist said it was too big, and I needed to go down to a 10, which is my normal size. We ended up ordering these for the wedding! I can't wait for all my girls to be donning these dresses!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
July 15, 2013
Perfect dress for a beach wedding!
This dress is a bright, beautiful blue color in person. I wore it a friend's wedding on the beach and it was the perfect style. I loved the length. I'm 5'10 and the dress hit right above my knees. Like so many other reviewers have noted, the top is pretty snug - I didn't even need to wear a bra and everything stayed perfectly in place. I usually wear a 6 so I ordered a 6 and 8. Ended up wearing the 6 mostly because the zipper of the 8 was broken and incredibly hard to zip. Loved the dress overall and would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2013
Great beautiful dress for the wedding of some close friends.
Runs a tad bit small as other commenters have mentioned. But, didn't need a bra with it, and once zipped in it fit like a glove and was incredibly comfortable! I managed to eat, drink and dance the night away without feeling like it was restricting my movements. Got a million compliments on the color, which is truly a gorgeous shade of blue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2013
Loved it!!
This was my first time renting, and it was an awesome experience. Everyone thought I was crazy for renting a dress instead of buying, but I loved it! I ordered an 8 and a 10 (I normally wear an 8). The 8 would not zip up because of my boobs, so I had to use the 10, which fit great. It wasn't too tight on my chest at all. The zipper is definitely hard to zip up though, I couldn't do it by myself. It came on time, with all the stuff I needed to return it and even some free goodies! I got tons of compliments on the dress the whole night at the wedding we attended. I will definitely be renting again!! Another note--in this picture, it looked like I was sweating a lot because it's dark around my underarms, but it was actually pretty cool that night and I wasn't sweating at all. I think it just might be the shadow on the folds of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
The perfect wedding guest dress!
The dress was incredible. It was so flattering, I loved how it flows and the cut was perfect. The only negative was the zipper was awful, it took two people to zipper up and get off, I was so worried it was going to rip!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 26, 2014
Great dress for dancing; definitely size up
I'm really glad I read the reviews. I sized up from my normal dress sizes and was glad I did. The size 4 gave me enough room for my large chest and fit without any issues. The zip was a bit tricky to zip the last couple inches, so I had a friend assist. Other than the zip issue, I loved this great. The color was bright and great for a summer wedding. The skirt was super light and flowy--great for hitting the dance floor. I'd definitely rent this again in this color--or one of the other two!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2014
Beautiful bright blue dress!
Wore this for a summer wedding and it was gorgeous! It is a little tight up top, but I ended up going with the two anyways because the four was just a teensy bit loose in the chest. It was comfortable regardless and I got plenty of compliments, especially from my boyfriend. Great dress and AMAZING color!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×