Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
497 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(317)
Small
(76)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2016
Loved the way it looked on me
Pro: fit true to size. I have an athletic build. Size 32 c bust and bottom I have "thunder thighs"... Ordered size 2 and 4 but wore the size 2. It is stretchy so I was able to fit into the smaller size. Con: can't wear a bra with it . It is also hard to lift your arms up without the dress messing up. Highly recommend this dress. Looked amazing on as long as you are ok not being able to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2016
Amazing dress. Looks stunning on and fits like a glove.
True to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2016
Headturner!!
I rented this dress for a wedding. At first I was nervous the off the shoulder straps would be annoying when dancing, but they did not ride up as much as I thought. It has an elastic band around the bottom and did not ride up. Fits true to size. My boyfriend loved this dress and I got compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 25, 2016
Beautiful! But not great for dancing.
This dress was beautiful and I got compliments all night! I thought since it was fitted I would be pulling it down all night but that wasn't a problem at all. I was comfortable enough to dance all night. The only negative of the dress I would say is that since it's off the shoulder every time I raised my arms when dancing I had to readjust the straps. Wore with a (faux) fur shrug to an outside wedding and people LOVED it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2016
As my first RTR purchase, I was very happy with the quality, style, and overall experience. Great!
I am 5'7 and weigh 125. Fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 5, 2016
Lady in red!
Love this dress! Got a lot of compliments and had a blast wearing it! My only complaint would be I had to wear spanx because it showed EVERY detail!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 10, 2016
Gorgeous dress
The dress was beautiful & fit true to size. The arms were a bit restricted, but didn't really bother me. Overall, I loved it!!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
June 29, 2016
Lots of compliments!
Loved this dress! It fit me perfectly and I was only able to order one size. It's a stretchier material but is very flattering and hugs in the right spots!
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
July 20, 2016
Head turning hot dress!
I saw this dress and knew I wanted to wear it on a date night with my boyfriend ! The material was high quality and made for a great curve hugging fit! I loved the off the shoulder look although it can be hard to adjust the material just right when you first put the dress on. Also I was very aware of shoulder material because as I moved it would move up of shoulder or the fold would start to unfold! It was little bit bothersome but I still really enjoyed the dress and felt great wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 7, 2016
This was my 1st experience with RTR. I'm hooked! Super easy process & so fun!
Loved this dress! Super classy, sleek & sexy. I thought I could get away with wearing my strapless bra but the arm holes are very large so I ended up buying a bra with sticky sides & that worked. I love the neckline & felt so glamorous in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 8, 2016
Form Fitting
The stunning red to this was beautiful, however I found it almost to tight, that caused the off the shoulder to adjust funny when I moved. would go up a size of renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
August 8, 2016
Loved it! Felt so sexy for my anniversary date.
Loved the fit of this dress! It fit true to size and I felt amazing in it. I'm giving it 4 stars for 2 reasons. 1. The garment straps were annoying and kept coming out of the sides in the back. My husband was on strap patrol all night. Lol 2. The band at the top was awkward how they have it pictured on the model. I ended up folding it over. It looked great like that, but I had to re adjust it a couple times throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 15, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
While I didn't end up wearing this dress, I did try it on for the fit/look. The 2 fit perfectly! Definitely recommend wearing spanx or something underneath because the fabric shows everything. Will definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 21, 2016
Birthday girl
Loved this. It really made a statement without looking over the top. It was a little big on me since I don't have much bust to fill it out but thought it was a nice length. The material held you in without coming off bulky. It was exactly what I he expected. The only thing is that it's hard to keep the top looking nice and lying flat while you move around.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2016
The quality for the price was amazing!
There isn't another LRD for the price that will show off like this
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
October 18, 2016
I love the feel of this dress - it's comfy, stretchy, and stayed put. However, I think that the two dresses I received had been stretched out a little too much. My backside had a difficult time filling out the dress, which I had never happened to me before, and the bottom of the zipper was literally sticking up off of me like there was a rock under it. I would have worn the size 2 because of that, but it was so loose on me the dress didn't look right. Other than that, I had so many compliments and loved the night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 5, 2016
Rented for a summer wedding in LA
I LOVED this dress! It is true to size and so comfortable! The material is that kind of stretchy material that hugs your. Pay in a flattering way. The dress was a great length for me because I don't like anything to short. I was even able to wear my baby in her Ergo and dance with her. Again, love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Age: 20
November 7, 2016
Red Dress Date Night!
The dress was true to size and very comfy! Felt great about it. The top was a little big, but if I was bigger chested it would probably fill it out! Would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Age: 29
January 29, 2017
This dress was amazing! It fit great and the fabric makes this dress so comfortable.
The only con is that I have to send this back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
April 8, 2017
Red dress was a hit
I rented this for an evening event, and it's the perfect dress for cocktail attire events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 1, 2015
22 weeks pregnant and felt sexy and comfortable in this dress
Great fit!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
May 11, 2015
Stunner!
I loooved this dress. My hair is black and looked awesome with this dress. I loved the fit. It's so sexy and received a ton of compliments. My favorite rental so far
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2014
The color of the dress.
The dress fit like a glove. It was comfortable to wear. I loved the lengths. The arms were kinda hard to move because of the top. #derby #sororitysemiformal
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 6, 2014
I felt beautiful, sexy and comfortable all night!
This dress was amazing and highlighted all the right spots. I received compliments all night and I wish I didn't have to return it. I ordered the zero and two and ended up wearing the two because the zero was a little too tight around my butt and thighs which also caused it to rise up more. The two fit great and also stayed in place all night and did not have a weird side boob like some other reviewers mentioned. This was my first experience with RTR and I have nothing but positive things to say. I can't wait for my next order!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2014
Beautiful, high quality dress for fraction of the price.
Fit was great. 8 fit very well. True to size. Only downside was arm holes were quite large. Bought a backless strapless bra, which did not work at all. Even if it would have stuck, you cannot wear a bra, because it will show through the side arm holes. Material of the dress was thick and form fitting. Overall, pleased with my first experience using RTR. Will recommend and use again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
December 16, 2014
Great dress, got tons of compliments!
Dress was a nice thick material. Great silhouette and loved the off the shoulder look. I ordered both the 6 and the 8, but decided to wear the 8 because it was a little longer and had a bit more room in the cut. I'm definitely a 6 up top but I'm more curvy and liked having the room in the butt. Overall, great dress and perfect for a holiday party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 22, 2014
Show stopping dress!
This dress is a lot of fun. Fabric is thick, so no need for spanx. Arm holes are a bit weird, but I sized down and was able to wear a regular strapless bra. Dress is short and rides up a bit while walking, but not a huge issue. Neckline is versatile, I wore it asymmetrically.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
December 29, 2014
Pretty dress... Fit a little ackward
Very pretty holiday dress. I actually fit into the size 2 great but it was a little tight for Church on Christmas Eve so I decided to wear the 4 which wasn't as form fitting . Wearing a bra with this dress was hard since you could see on the sides under your arm pit. Braless would have worked out great if I wasn't attending church :) Overall very pretty dress and great first experience with RTR! Happy Holidays !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 25, 2015
The dress is sexy and classy.
The dress is form fitting. I also used fashion tape to hold the straps off the shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2015
Best rental yet
I wore this dress to a sales meeting award dinner. I was worried the sleeves would roll up but it fit perfectly all night. Loved the color and fit. I would rent again for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2015
Perfect Valentine's Day Dress
This dress fit perfectly other than the small bump in the lower back area due to the zipper. I tried on the 2 to see if maybe the 0 was too tight but the two had the same effect. It was not as noticeable as I thought and if you pulled the dress down every so often it would go away. The sleeves were perfect - not so tight that you couldn't lift your arms but definitely challenging to do without the sleeves moving up to your shoulders. I wish it had been warmer so I didn't need to wear black sheer tights and black boots (it was a blizzard here). Overall; My boyfriend thought the dress was beautiful. I would rent again but more likely in the summer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 19, 2015
Fit is amazing! Compliments all night.
The fit is amazing which means it either fits true to or a bit small. It clings to every inch of your body, so it's rather not forgiving to any "trouble" areas, but it was beautiful yet simple....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 30, 2015
Red and sassy
This dress just didn't work for me. The top gapped on the 6 and the shoulder was too tight on the 4. Ended up not wearing it then was overnighted a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2015
Very hot! Doesn't allow for much arm movement, but worth it.
Skin tight, fabric can be revealing of every little bump
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2015
I felt like a movie star! I received so many compliments!
It fit absolutely great, it is a tight dress but ran true to size. I received non stop compliments about the color and style of the dress. I did not have any issues with it at all. Definitely wear a nude heel!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2015
The easy shipping is what keeps me coming back
It began to ride up a little but nothing unexpected for me. It was a gorgeous dress. I want to rent it again for another event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
May 28, 2015
The dress fit wonderfully!
When I received the dress (a day early...thAt made me happy) I looked over the dress, the zippers on both dresses were a little worn but not totally noticeable. Both the 0 and 2 fit well but the 0 fit better. The dress is pretty short but I'm 5'1 so it wasn't a big deal. I got a lot of compliments for the dress so the mission was accomplished!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Weight: 120lbs
June 1, 2015
Perfect for a work cocktail party
I wore this dress to a work cocktail party/dinner. It's a pretty color, the actual fabric is more casual then it appears online but was still appropriate for this kind of affair and got a lot of compliments. Runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
June 1, 2015
This fit great! I got a lot of compliments all night, even from the bride!
The only thing I didn't like was the straps were a bit unruly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
June 6, 2015
Sexy dress
Rented this dress for a weekend trip to Vegas Pros- loved how the dress hugged my curves and made me feel so beautiful and sexy No cons! Will definitely rent again
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×