Halston Heritage

Black Eclipse Dress

$60 to buy
$475 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this insanely sexy Halston Heritage off the shoulder dress. Curves, sass, and beauty all in one!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Satin Waist Inset. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
138 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(105)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2014
Perfect LBD
This dress was perfect. I loved wearing it. Simple and chic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
December 7, 2014
LOVE!!! SO ELEGANT!!
Loved this dress, the fir was fabulous! Very comfortable although I did tend to fidget with the off the shoulder aspect!! Not ideal for dancing but looks and feels fantastic!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
December 12, 2014
I went one size up. Usually a 0 and the 2 fit perfect. Hugs your body and the material sucks you in.
Only con is the arm holes are large so you have to be mindful when choosing undergarments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
December 15, 2014
My first RTR experience was great! Sad to shop this beauty off tomorrow. I want to keep it forever!!
Fit was true to size. There's a lot of give, and I could've easily worn the 0 or the 2, but the 0 fit better. Both sizes did scrunch up at the end of the zipper above my butt, but I think that might just be my body type- tiny waist, big donk. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 29, 2013
I FELT FABULOUS!!!
THE DRESS WAS HOT! SOO MANY COMPLIMETNS. I ACCESSORIZED WITH RED SHOES AND NECKLACE....IT WAS AN ABSOLUTE HIT. THERE WAS A WOMAN, WHOM I NEVER MET, AT THE WEDDING WHO TRIED TO SET ME UP WITH HER SON...SHE FOUND ME STUNNING...I GIVE THE DRESS ALL THE CREDIT. I NORMALLY WEAR A SIZE 4 WHICH WAS MY FIRST SIZE CHOICE BUT I ENDED UP LIKING THE 2. IT FIT JUST A LIL BIT BETTER IN THE WAIST
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2012
Felt so confident!
This dress really flatters in all the right places. While this dress is very form fitting the stretch in the dress makes it very comfortable and not too restricting. Such a sexy dress without being over the top, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 3, 2012
sexy
This is a very sexy dress. It's definitely a bodycon dress - fits very snugly. I liked the neckline, and you can style it different ways, but I found myself fidgeting with it a bit because it felt a bit awkward at times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
Sexy and flattering, but not for dancing.
Despite the rave reviews, I found this dress to be a bit too constricting for my taste. It tended to ride up and I couldn't raise my arms without the off-the-shoulder straps going awry (a problem on the dance floor!). This would be a great dress for a cocktail party or date night, just not for a long, active event, such as a wedding. The dress is very slim with no zip (it goes over your head, so watch your make up!). Very flattering and fit like a glove- almost like a wet suit! It definitely brings out your best figure features.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
December 17, 2012
Pretty dress
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was REALLY small. You should definitely size up (or two). The fabric is nice with a good stretch to it. The only thing I didn't love about it (besides that it was SO tight) was that the arm holes were a little big. You could see way too much of your skin underneath your arm. not in a good way. Then again that might have attributed to the bad fit. Would be perfect for a wedding reception or cocktail party. It was sexy without being TOO obvious.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
Lots of compliments!
This was my first experience with RTR and I was thrilled that there was no telling these dresses from new dresses. They were lovely fabric, quality construction, arrived on time and well packed/not wrinkled. I decided to wear the size 6 (my usual size being 4) because A) the off-the-shoulder aspect was a bit slim fitting for my athletic frame and B) the dress does ride up a bit when you are walking around. Overall I felt that it was a great, sexy style and I received many compliments. I would say this style is not easy to wear because of the size of the armhole... it looks a bit large when the dress is pulled smoothly in the front, and if you close the hole (pulling the dress up a bit) then the fabric puckers a bit in front.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 2, 2013
not suitable for work (parties).
I was sent this dress as a last-minute replacement when the LBD I had originally rented was unavailable at shipping time. Unfortunately, I was renting with the intention of wearing the dress to a holiday work party... an event to which the Black Eclipse dress would be entirely inappropriate. The super form-fitting cut, the off-the-shoulder neckline, and satin side panels make this dress wearable for a bachelorette party or night out dancing, but certainly not for a work event or wedding. I explained this to an RTR stylist, and she promptly overnighted another dress to me (thanks for the great customer service!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2013
So small and didnt love it
if you are straight up and down, i think it may look good. Sleeves were tough too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 11, 2013
Such a classy fit for a wedding or cocktail party!
I loved how the sleeves were off the shoulder. I felt very classy wearing this dress to the wedding I attended in March.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
April 16, 2013
I planned to wear this to Christmas, but chose not to.
The dress fit awkwardly. There's no other way to describe it. I think it would look great on a taller girl, maybe with smaller breasts. Ultimately, it looked so awkward I found something I already had to wear instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2013
Disappointing dress
I have rented this dress twice now, hoping that a 4 would fit me after the 2 I had previously ordered was wayyy too small. I am usually a size 2 so I thought the 4 would definitely fit me, but even the 4 was way too short and tight. I don't think sizing up to 6 or 8 would've helped either -- I really wanted to make this dress work since I love the off-the-shoulder look, but the dress was the least flattering dress I've tried from RTR on my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2014
v day dress
i didn't end up wearing this dress although my husband loved it. i think the other reviewers captured it great. its prefect for a night you'll just be sitting in one spot and not moving. it also was very tight but in a good way if you like to show off your curves.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 8, 2014
Worn for a date night
Runs a little small, I probably could've worn size 4. Great dress overall. I would recommended it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2014
Elegant, flattering and comfortable!
I usually wear a size 2 or 4. The only reason I chose to wear the four this time was that it was a tad bit snug for my taste. I would definitely recommend this for a cocktail party. I felt like it was very flattering while being extremely comfortable to move around in. Perfect dress for statement jewelry, too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2014
I'm a huge sucker for an off the shoulder dress.
Loved this dress! I'm usually a size 6 and had to wear an 8 so I'd recommend ordering up. Fit like a glove and I was comfortable the entire night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
January 9, 2015
Didn't end up wearing -- arm holes were huge!
While this was a cute dress, the arm holes were huge and showed a ton of side boob/my bra in a way that was more trashy than at all sexy. It just didn't work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 24, 2012
SO SEXY!!!!!
I am very petite and this dress fit me perfectly, like it was made for me. I LOVED it!!!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful and Classy!!
I loved this dress! I received so many compliments and it was very flattering to my figure. The material is snug but has some stretch in it. I would recommend going up one size up in this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2012
Very flattering
I usually wear a 2, but decided on size 4 for this dress. I really liked the dress and the fit, but the part that hangs off the shoulders kept riding up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
May 5, 2014
Classic LBD
Very form fitting and shows everything! Must eat clean before wearing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 4, 2015
Party Dress
Beautiful little black dress. This dress is very fitted, I highly recommend spanks or control top stockings. The fold-over top of the dress can be annoying but looks great in pictures. I paired with red heels. I am very curvy and have a booty so I probably won't rent this dress again but probably great for other body types.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2013
Simple, chic LBD
I wore this dress to our office Christmas party and then a friend's Christmas party just after. It was great because it was sleek and chic without being overtly sexy so it worked well for both parties. It was tighter than I expected though
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2013
Flirty and sophisticated!
I got this dress in a 2 and 4 and really struggled with which one to wear. I'm usually a 2 and this dress does run small, so the 4 fit very well and the 2 was on the tighter side. I ended up going with the 2 and only wearing the strap on one shoulder, which looked great and was perfect for the event. I got tons of compliments all night! The dress will definitely cinch you in and is very flattering. I also loved that it was kind of sexy but without being too showy. Overall, great pick!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2013
Too small
Ordered a size 8, which I wear pretty much across the board, but the dress was just too tight.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 13, 2014
I received so many compliments on this dress! It's truly timeless.
I ordered the 2 and the 4 and ended up wearing the bigger size. The straps did ride up at times but it never looked bad. Timeless dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
February 2, 2015
Pretty dress!
Great dress, ran a little small but fit decent in the larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2014
Loved the fit and style
It is very figure flattering, I ordered up one size for comfort and it fit like a glove. I had to wear a nu bra to prevent the lines from showing under the arms. It would be difficult to wear to a wedding or event where you need to move your arms a lot. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect. Would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2014
Awkward fit but cute idea
The fit around the neckline was strange - it wouldn't sit across the shoulders as well as the model in the photos, and it gaped around the arm holes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2015
Fashionable
This is a beautiful dress, perfect for a date night. It was slightly on the small side and is very unforgiving as it is tight and the fabric doesn't have much structure to it. I don't even think you could wear spanx without it showing. The top is a little annoying because if you want to wear a strapless bra with it is cut in a way that it is hard to conceal the under armpit view of the straps unless you are pulling up your dress all night. I just went with a colorful bra and let it show. Overall I felt very modern and high fashion. A nice dress and glad I rented it for a night but not one I would want to buy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 28, 2016
I loved the way this dress hugged my form. It was the perfect NYE dress.
The shoulder fit was something to get used to, but I ended up like it in the long run. I think the underarm holes were cut a bit too wide and I had to watch to make sure my strapless bra didn't show on the side. Other than that, it was a fun dress to wear.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
September 11, 2012
great classy dress
when i ordered this dress i was nervous it would be to big on me, but it fit perfect. it was sexy and classy. the only thing was, if you wore the top the way the model shows, you cant lift your arms much, without the dress folding back up.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
September 18, 2012
Nice dress but for the shoulder area.
Love the way the dress flatters your figure. It's not too loose or tight. Only reason why I took away two stars was because the shoulder area is too tight. If you wear it as shown on the model you cannot raise your arms. I suggest wearing it as a one strap dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
awkward fit
The quality of the dress is great; I loved the fabric and the details. However, the top strap is very awkward and i felt restricted (i couldnt lift my arms up without disturbing the strap). I rented a 2 and 4, in fear of the fit being very form-fitting, but the 2 was still too baggy around my stomach. I really wanted this dress to work, but it just didn't. I think you can do better with another dress--e.g., the catherine malandrino smoking shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
September 20, 2012
Fabulous anniversary dinner dress!
This was a great dress! I wore it for a fancy wedding anniversary dinner with my husband and it was exactly what I wanted - classy and a little sexy. It fit perfectly and I really liked the versatility of the sleeves - you can wear them up, down (like the model) or one up and down (like I did) for a little modern twist. The material was really nice and length was great. I would definitely recommend this dress, I was thrilled with it and felt great in it all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 25, 2012
Absolutely love love love! AMAZING DRESS!
This Dress was very comfortable. It looked great and was true to size. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2012
super pretty
I was told this item ran small so i sized up.. If I would have rented my actual size it would have fit perfectly and I would have given it 5 stars. It was still beautiful. Order your regular size!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×