Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with a gold bangle and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
164 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
November 5, 2012
Too big :(
I loved this dress when i saw it online, but it was way too big for me and had to send it back. I wouldn't recommend it for someone with an athletic, straight build. Maybe better suited better for curvier girls.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 8, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! It commands attention without being showy.
That said, it definitely runs big. I am consistently a size 6 but I ordered an 8 as back-up just in case - turns out I should have ordered a 4 as back-up, because the 6 was very roomy on me. Also, I am 5'10" and this came right to my knees - so for someone on the shorter side, this dress might be longer than you're expecting. Since it was longer than I had envisioned I was sort of questioning my choice as I wasn't sure if it was as formal as it should/could be for a wedding, but with the right jewelry I think it can be made much dressier. I got a big statement necklace that helped give the look some sparkly, and some gold strappy sandals to complete the look. All in all I was happy, but just be wary of the sizing and the length.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
Very odd fit...
I have a fairly normal body type, although a bit larger in the chest than the bottom half. I am usually a 4-6 and ordered both in this dress. The 4 fit the best but thats not saying much. The dress was really fitted, but when I tried on the 6 it was huge in the arm holes. The main problem with this dress was the fact that there is no slit or anything in the skirt and the seam around your legs does not let you take a full step. A really big problem for such a slim fitting dress. Also, I found it odd that the pepum hit literally at the bottom of my butt cheeks and made a rather small bum look much larger. I sent it back almost immideately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
November 26, 2012
Beautiful, classy & formal.
I liked this dress. It is formal. I usually wear a 6, but the 4 fit nicer. I do have a full bust and it was very accomodating! The material is stretchy so it is super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
November 28, 2012
Very classy. Nice bright and red!
I usually wear a 6. This size 6 ran large. If you are short, this dress needs to be worn with heels. I tried to wear it with flats and it made my legs look stubby because the dress is long enough to hit below the knee. It was comfortable, and covered my stomach area. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2012
Red!
It was longer than I thought it would be, but I'm short. I loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
December 4, 2012
Beautiful!
Red is now my new favorite color! I love the material and design of the dress, it fit great and received lots of compliments...even from men! Wore it to my husband's holiday party. Thank you rent the runway!!!
SeyonDecember 5, 2012
Hey you're my size and I'm thinking about getting the dress. Can you please send a pic or post a pic of the back? Thanks!
LolisDecember 28, 2012
Sorry for the late response, but I don't have a pic of the back...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
Perfect fit!
Loved everything about it! The material had stretch and it was easy to move in. I received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 5, 2012
So many complements!
This dress is not made for small cup sizes. I'm a 32A and the top looked rather slumpy but I was still able to pull it off. Length is fine on me, however, there is no slit in the back so walking up and down staircases makes it a little tricky as you are confined to the tight circumference of the skirt portion. I know I looked silly trying to walk upstairs in my 5 inch heels barely able to move my knee up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
Loved this dress - would buy or rent again
I rented this dress for my husband's company holiday party. It was perfect. Very classy and feminine. The color was vibrant and prefect for the holiday vibe. Erin Fetherston is one of my new favorite designers. I rented a size 8 & 10 and wore the 8. There is no slit in the narrow pencil style skirt so it can be limiting when dancing... but I did ok! I wore it with a Kate Spade necklace, also rented on RTR. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 11, 2012
Great holiday party dress!
Dress was great, I was a little concerned it would be too big based on other reviews, however the 2 ( my normal size) fit great! The fabric is similiar to a jersey fabric so it fits comfortably and is great for dancing. The only thing I wish was different was the length, I am 5'2" and the dress hit right at my knees, looked fine but I wish it was a inch or two shorter. If you are short just keep this in mind, it will be longer than pictured on the model. I paired it with the "en vogue" necklace also pictured and definately was happy with both rentals!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
Perfect work holiday party dress!
I loved wearing this dress for my work holiday party. I got a lot of compliments on it. It was a great color red and fit like a glove. I am usually somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and unfortunately the 4 wasn't available when I ordered the dress so I risked it and got the 2 after reading other reviews that it ran a bit on the large side. I'm glad I took the gamble because the fit was perfect. I wasn't sure how the peplum would work since I don't usually like full skirts on my body but it was actually very flattering. My only complaints would be that i wish there was a slit in the skirt. It's pretty fitted so without a slit it was hard to walk up stairs etc. I also wish it was a little lower cut in the back since it is a very full-coverage dress...I guess its a sexy shape without showing too much skin :) I would definitely order again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2012
Cute dress, but I didn't wear it! :(
RTW was out of my size(6), I got the 8 hoping it would fit- too big. The material is a jersey stretch type, looks way more casual than pictured. Cute for a day function but not a cocktail party. The peplum in the back has a weird opening for the zipper.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2013
Fit great!
I didn't get to wear the dress because of a snow storm delaying the arrival but when I got it and tried it on it was very sleek! Loved it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 2, 2013
I wore this dress for my father's 50th Birthday Party. Fit great! Comfortable! Classy!
The dress totally accented my cursed in a very classy manner. The dress as a little snug because there is no split but not uncomfortable. I am normally a 2, but when I heard the dress ran small I tried a 0, and it really fit perfectly. I would recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 7, 2013
Loved the total look.
I have worn size 8 in other rental dresses but had but a little weight on and was worried about the sizing. I order a size 8 and 10 for my back up. The 8 fit good so I did not try on the 10. I am only 5'1" so I used the heming tape to shorten one hems length and it camp to my knees. The gold leaf was the perfect touch and I received many compliments on both items. I have two more dresses reserved one for January and one for February. They will be my 5th and 6th rental. Thank you for providing this service RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Very cute dress!
Dress ran large. Am normally a size 6, but ended up going with the size 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 12, 2013
Great dress!
I wore this dress to my corporate Christmas party. I added a thin, black belt and wore black shoes. It was very appropriate and I received lots of complements. It fits snug through the hip area but the fabric has a little "give" so it appears sexy, not uncomfortable
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 12, 2013
I felt GORG in this red peplum number!
This dress fit perfectly!Felt amazing, would totally recommend if you want to be classic & fabulous. Got so many compliments! Especially if you have olive skin tone or just look great in the color RED! The only thing I would look out for is the bottom is pretty fitted and not stretchy so had to take smaller steps, wasn't uncomfortable at all though! LOVED!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
Classy yet sexy.
The dress ran a little big for me. I rented a size up after reading several reviews that stated the dress was a little small and to go up a size. I LOVED the color of this dress!!! And I never wear red. The dress fit like a glove. It hugged my curves in all the right places. I wore it to a wedding and the color definitely stood out in a good way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2013
The dress was beautiful, and it made me feel beautiful, too!
I was initially worried that the dress wouldn't fit up top, but it fit perfectly! Also, it was stretchy enough at the bottom to fit my hips. I got the size lower, however, because I had noticed in the reviews that this dress ran particularly small. The dress arrived on time and it was super easy to send back! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2013
This dress is perfect!
Unexpected gem! I ordered this as a backup and it was perfect. Fabric was casual, but fit really well. Peplum draped nicely and was a little "edgy." Really comfortable to wear and made me feel very confident for my interview. Got a ton of compliments and the job!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2013
Sexy, sophisticated, sleek
This was my first time to use Rent the Runway. I ordered this dress in a size 4 and 6 for my fiance's semi-formal work party in San Francisco. Both sizes fit, but the 6 was a little baggy around the waist so I chose to wear the 4. I felt like it was sexy yet sophisticated and got compliments from several people throughout the night. I have to say that it is pretty tight fitting around the hips and through the thighs/butt so if you plan to be doing a lot of dancing, be careful! Other than that, it is a beautiful dress and would be great for a wedding, date, girls' night our or work party.
ShinoJune 14, 2013
what a cute couple!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
January 27, 2013
Great dress - beautiful color, and love the style.
It was very fitted (almost like a stretchy thick cotton), but very comfortable. It did run a little on the larger side, as I would typically wear a 6 for my hip size in fitted dresses such as this, however I had tried the 6 on in a store and it was way to large on top. I dressed it up with a large necklace but you could definitely put a sparkly belt with it to give it a dress up the fabric. It does add a little bit of width to your hips with the peplum style, but I think it does it in a flattering way!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
February 3, 2013
Loved this dress!!
I received so many compliments on this dress! What a confidence booster! The only thing that I disliked was that it was a little snug at the bottom, which made it difficult to walk, but I'd rather have the dress hug my curves than be too loose. Definitely may have to rent this again!
marieFebruary 18, 2013
That looks beautiful on you! Marie Ricci
AngelaFebruary 24, 2013
You absolutely win the "wore it best" award!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
February 7, 2013
Not what I expected
This dress is just "okay" - the quality nor style seems like a Designer Dress to me. The fabric is just like a cotton blend (seems inexpensive) so it's not all that flattering. The size 10 fit fine, I just thought it was a little bland of a dress, and I wasn't a fan of the split peplum look. I had rented it for a conference but ended up wearing a REISS dress I own that looks much more expensive and stylish.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2013
Not flattering. A cool necklace made it work, but I didn't feel pretty.
I normally wear a 4 or a 6 but after reading the reviews, I ordered this in a 2 and a 4. The 4 fit fine. Because of my chest, I couldn't get into the 2. But really, I think that you have to be taller (I'm 5'2") to pull this off. The dress came past the top of my knee; I would have preferred that it be a few inches shorter. As a result, it was fitted through my thighs and then baggy around my knees. I tried "hemming" with fashion tape, but you could see the bulk of the material, and it looked worse. Between the high neckline and the too-long skirt, I felt too covered up. The material is so casual, too. If the fabric were dressier, then maybe a more covered-up look would have been comfortable. This was my first RTR disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 20, 2013
Great dress! Perfect for a work party
This dress is awesome. It looked beautiful on and the peplum is just enough (not too big) to add detail but still showcase your own figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2013
Classy, flattering, perfect for the charity event!
I wore this dress for a "cocktail" type charity event for the American Heart Association. I usually where a size 6 but was pleasantly surprised when the 4 fit perfectly. This dress hugs in all the right places and the peplum is very flattering. I am 5'7' and have a bit of a "booty" so sometimes dresses like this are just TOO short or TOO tight. This one was perfect...there was no pulling it down the entire night and because the top was sleeveless I could wear a regular bra for ultimate comfort. I paired it with a "statement" necklace and a belt (dresses that fit my lower body tend to be a bit large around my waist...so the belt was a great final touch. I'd recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2013
...
I rented this dress as my backup but I tried it on.. This dress is great. I ordered the 4, but probably could have worn the 2 for a little more snug fit. This dress would be perfect for a night out to show off curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
Beautiful dress, lots of compliments
I wore this dress for a wedding (along with one of the statment necklaces from RTR) and accessorized in black. I usually wear between a 4 and 6 depending on the designer and I went with the 4 for a more snug fit. This dress was super comfy and I received a lot of compliments. I would recommend this dress. I would say the only drawback was no matter what size I tried on, the dress pulled a little in the leg area. I noticed in the pictures from other reviewers it also did that on some other women. Not a big issue but throwing that out there. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Classic and trendy
Very formfitting but not too much which was nice. It fit my chest well without making me appear large, which is sometimes hard to find when you have bigger breasts. I wore it to my friends engagement party and felt like it could've easily been dressed up more if necessary. I normally wear a 4 but was able to wear a 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 24, 2013
I wish I had bought this dress!!
I was deciding between the 0 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2 since the 0 was tight around the knees at the bottom. I wore it to my sorority formal and absolutely loved it! It was easy to move around in and flattering. Definitely find a cute necklace or pair of earrings though since the neckline is pretty plain. All around fantastic dress, wish I could buy it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
Absolutely Stunning & Comfortable!
I love this dress! It was very flattering - the peplum is in the perfect location on the waist - and very comfortable. It fit as I expected, it was a bit tight around the legs since it didn't have a slit, but it didn't look too small and wasn't uncomfortable. I would recommend this for a cocktail party, a work function, a wedding or a date. Very sexy without being revealing at all. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
April 19, 2013
I got so many compliment and was completely comfortable all night!
4 fit perfectly. I could probably have also worn a 2, but with no slit in the skirt it was nice to have a little extra room. The material is heavier but so soft with just enough stretch. It was nice to find a dress that was both fun and appropriate for a professional event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 109lbs
April 22, 2013
Very impressed with the dress received
I received this dress in 2 sizes, day before a black tie wedding. It was a great dress for the occasion. I am petite (5'1") and a 34DD so I ordered a size 4 and 6. I am normally a 4 unless a dress runs tight in the chest and I have to go up a size. The 4 fit PERFECTLY across my entire body, including the chest. But it was long, which I expected given the other reviews and my height. I had ordered the hem tape, unfortunately for some reason, it didn't arrive with the dress. This was my first rental from RTR and it was just human error. Although I could not wear the dress (I had no time to go find/buy hem tape ) I would not hesitate to rent again- they were very gracious in refunding my money under the circumstances. The dress was beautiful and flattering!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2013
great dress. Got a ton of compliments.
worked great with a beaded necklace i have and nude pumps. Wore it under a denim jacket for a casual dinner, super cute. Transitioned great that night into the dressy party outfit i wanted!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 28, 2013
This color was really great - poppy in a sea of black dresses!!
This dress was very flattering especially from the front. I was comfortable in the length and the fabric. There is not a ton of give in the skirt or armholes as others had mentioned, but still was perfect. I got lots of compliments. Nude sandals made it less conservative and more fun!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 20, 2013
Felt like a ROCKSTAR in this dress!
Incredible fit, incredibly comfortable, and absolutely awesome dress. The fit and cut was perfect. I am 6 foot tall and everything hit in the right spots! I was a little nervous to see if the peplum would make my hips look wider but it had a great slimming affect. I would wear this again....and again...and again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2013
Great dress! Reviews about the fit were spot on.
I wore this for a bridal shower tea that I hosted with the rest of the bridal party. I wore it with nude shoes and beige hat...I received so many wonderful compliments. The dress was very comfortable. I agree that it was fitted around the leg, which made it a little difficult to climb stairs, but not really difficult to walk in.
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×