Babcock Belted Romper

$112 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline and become obsessed with this ERIN Erin Fetherston three quarter length sleeve black romper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash and elastic waistband; not recommended for women with longer torsos as that can cause the romper to become too short
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe. Surplice neckline with shawl collar and single button closure. Silk satin bow tie with elastic waist. Side pockets. Measures 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(32)
True to Size
(111)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2013
Probably won't work if you are tall
I really loved the look of this romper. The material is nice and if it fit I'm sure I would have been really happy with it. But it was so small length-wise that I definitely could not wear it. The space for the butt was up on my back--it was not even close to long enough for me. I'm between 5'7" and 5'8" and tried on the size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
What's not to like about a fancy romper? Seriously.
This romper is cute and comfortable — perfect for a NYE party at our apartment. Black tights make it a bit more modest, as it's very short if you're tall or tallish. I wore a big necklace and pretty lace bandeau to manage the low plunge. All in all, fun to wear! I loved it and really enjoyed the outfit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2014
Legs for days!!!
My Rent the Runway package came right on time with tons of helpful tips that came through emails (i.e. your package will arrive soon, tips for if neither size fits). Normally I wear a 2, but since I have a longer torso, the rise was a bit short. I decided to go with the 4, even though it was a little big in the shoulders, because the rise was much better. Still, though, you really couldn't tell it was big in the shoulders, it just felt that way. The fabric was amazing, the silk tie at the waist was the perfect touch and the shorts were the perfect length. By far my favorite outfit I have ever worn on New Years Eve. Its cute and sexy to boot. I got so many stares and compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
February 4, 2014
Felt amazing at my birthday!
This was my first romper experience. I was hesitant since I assumed they only look good on tiny people but the other reviews convinced me to go for it. I rented this for my birthday brunch -- didn't want to look too fancy but still wanted to feel special -- and I loved it. I ordered the 6 and after chatting with a go-to girl, I got the 4 as my backup. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the 4 fit perfectly and I still had room to put my arms up sans camel toe. I consider myself pretty curvy and was happy to see that the shorts didn't hug my thighs or butt like most shorts do. I used the Braza Strapless Adhesive Reveal bra since it's pretty low cut, which worked well on my 32DDD's. Overall, a great first RTR experience and I can't wait to rent again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2014
Loved! Rented the recklace too!
I am 5'4" and a 34 D. It was pretty short even for me, but I got a ton of compliments. Showed some cleavage which was okay since the necklace was so bold! I would absolutely rent again, maybe a bigger size, for the length, not the waist....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2014
Flawless
I was nervous to get this romper but after I tried it on I absolutely loved it! It was super comfortable and the fabric was a little stretchy for space. No complaints what so ever!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 18, 2014
Made me like skinny!
This made me look much thinner than I am! I am 5'7" and usually wear things in a 10, so it is true to size. My only complaint was that it felt like it was riding up in the crotch. Proabably would have been better if I was shorter. But all in all I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 22, 2014
Wore this to a concert. It was very comfortable and I felt super sexy in it!
I ordered a 6, based off of other peoples reviews. I usually wear a 4, but I have a bigger butt and legs and didn't want it to fit too short or tight. The 6 worked out very well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 3, 2014
It was a fun party outfit! I don't think it was the MOST flattering fit, but it was comfortable!
I had to pin the top because you could see my bra a few times. It was short, but not tooooo short. For the actual party I I wore grey tights.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
March 7, 2014
I had the best outfit!
I wore this with tights. It was a little bit shorter than I thought it would be, I also had to use tape for the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 8, 2014
Cute romper but not made for a long torso!
The material is heavier than I was expecting but the idea is so cute. Being as though I was looking for something to wear in Palm Springs I needed something lighter. It was too short through the torso as well, anyone with a particularly long torso, beware.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
March 24, 2014
Fun and comfortable! I loved having another option for the LBD.
The day started sunny and warm but the closer we got to the start of the event, the quicker the temps dropped. I paired it with a pair of tights and black booties. The pic doesn't due it justice as it was the end of the night. Everyone thought this was a hot look! It's been 3 weeks since our party and people are still asking me about it. I was worried about the length and bust but I didn't even need a cami.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 11, 2014
Great romper for Vegas!
I wore this to get remarried by Elvis to my husband of 10 years. I felt it was a bit short, but figured "what the hell! I'm in Vegas" and went for it. I am short waisted, and didn't have a problem, but it can see that you would if you have a long torso. Danced and partied all night. Sorry we don't have pictures we can show. It got a bit crazy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2014
Amazing romper!
I rented this outfit for my birthday, and I could not have been more pleased! The material is heavy, so although my birthday is in April, I was still able to wear it and not be freezing. It was so flattering and I got compliments all night long. My only word of warning is that it is VERY low, but I just wore a black bra and used some fashion tape and it worked fine. I ended up wearing a size up from what I normally would because I wanted it to be a little slouchy, but it is true to size typically. I wish I could purchase this, I will definitely rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2014
I loved this look. It was so chic. I wore it for my birthday and absolutely loved it.
It was extremely low cut which I wasn't expecting but I loved it and received tons of compliments all night. Was the perfect 23rd birthday dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 17, 2014
I want this!
I rented this jumpsuit for an art show at my new job. I was also being introduced to my new clients, so I wanted to look great but professional. I felt super confident in this outfit and everyone was telling me how great I looked all night (which is a pretty fun way to spend an evening, you guys). The fabric is sturdy enough for someone curvy, although I did wear a little light shapewear underneath. The only issue is that now I want it for myself!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 164lbs
April 25, 2014
Comfortable and Classy
I never wore a romper and decided to do something different and I was comfortable in this, there was no pulling and tugging. It was perfect for an engagement rooftop party in NY. I paired it with 6 inch powder pink pumps and accessories and the compliments kept coming all night. Perfect for my first Rent The Runway experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2014
Everyone was in a dress so I definitely stood out in this edgy romper!
This was such an awesome romper, I wish I owned it! The fabric is thick and perfect for winter, with or without pantyhose underneath. I had no issues with the snap or cleavage showing, I was covered just enough and it never showed too much. The belt cinches at the perfect spot, and this outfit hugged my curves in the best way! My boyfriend loved it, I felt awesome in it, id definitely rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 37
May 18, 2014
Great romper- got tons of compliments!
Wore it out in South Beach and loved it. Material is thicker than I expected, but the fit was flattering. A little low cut, but nothing a safety pin couldn't fix. Felt great in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 15, 2014
Really nice material but not meant for longer torsos...
The material was nice and thick, well-made. Pretty romper. It just didn't fit me properly. I have a longer torso and shorter legs and it looked awful on me, not flattering at all. I don't think it's something that going up or down a size would have helped because I tried both sizes. The waist hit really high - few inches below my chest - and it was like a "mom jeans" look but in a fancy romper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2014
Simple yet Sassy!! This was a fun, flirty outfit to wear for my friends 30th bash
I wore this for my friends 30th birthday weekend in New Orleans. It was just the right amount of sass for our last night out. The neckline shows just enough cleavage to be sexy. I did not wear a bra - the fabric was thick enough that I didn't have to worry about inappropriate exposure. I'm 5'2" and the length was just right for me as it cam just above my fingertips. I wore black heels and gold jewelry to accessorize. The only "complaint" was having to basically undress every time I needed to go to the restroom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 16, 2014
Perfect alternative to the LBD!
The romper fit great! Got so many compliments that night. I wore a white tank underneath because it dipped a little lower than I'd like. Also, like any romper, going to the bathroom was a little challenging. But worth it! Would definitely rent again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2014
I loved this romper! wore it my 22nd birthday out in Uptown Dallas and received many compliments!
the fabric is very flattering, and fit just right!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
I love this romper! The fabric is very luxe feeling and the fit is extremely flattering. Perfect neckline for a statement necklace.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2014
Loved this outfit! Fit well, and received tons of compliments!
Pros-Very classy and dressy Cons-Having to get out of it to use the bathroom can be tricky
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2014
I got loads of compliments on this outfit! Wore it for my birthday dinner out.
I'm normally a size 4, but it wasn't available so went with the 6. Glad I did because it's relatively short in the seat area if you know what I mean. The waist was big, but I was able to cinch it in with the ribbon belt. The fabric was definitely too heavy for a July night out, but it looked so cute, I was willing to suffer the heat!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104lbs
October 7, 2014
Cocktails and Concert Birthday
I could see how this might feel a little tight if you have a long torso but for a petite girl like me, it was the perfect fit. The material was much heavier (tux like) than I expected and I loved it.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2014
Great customer service!
I loved this romper. I ordered a size 0 and 2 which the 2 fit a little better but ultimately I have a longer torso so both sizes left the bottoms riding too high on my butt so I returned it the same day (today actually) contacted RTR and they were awesome and I was able to select something different for my event tomorrow. Hopefully (I am sure it will because they were so great) my other dress will arrive on time! So I just wouldn't recommend this romper to girls who have longer torsos but I was bummed because all else aside it was a great romper!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 2, 2014
Awkward fit
I rented this as a backup and did not end up wearing it. For me, the fit just wasn't right. It was a lot lower cut than I expected and the top was really loose. However, the bottom part was already riding up, so I don't think I needed a smaller size. It was cute but just not the right fit for me (maybe because I have a pretty high natural waist line?). The fabric was also thicker and more structured than I expected... not necessarily a good or bad thing, just not what I expected. I've had much better success with other dresses, so while I would definitely recommend RTR, I wouldn't recommend this particular jumper!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 4, 2015
Best ever! I want to buy it
Super short, great with tights/leggings and booties for a cold night. I wore it out dancing with the girls and got tons of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 5, 2015
Classy, sexy, and more fun than a regular LBD
Pros: I LOVED this romper and considered buying it that's how much I liked it. It is very sexy, yet classy. I liked that the waist was adjustable with the string, and really gave an hour glass shape. Also super comfortable. Cons: I'm 5'7, but a bit long waisted. The romper torso was slightly short, but only I could feel that. No one could see it. Also, I didn't find it too short on my legs, but if you are self conscious about your legs, you wouldn't feel comfortable in this. The shorts on it are short, so if you're very tall it could potentially pose a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
February 18, 2014
Beautiful outfit for a night out in Vegas!
Sexy length, lots of leg. Fun and comfortable! Love this outfit!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 24, 2015
Great fabric, great fit, super comfortable!
This romper was perfect for an awards show. It snowed so I wore it with sparkly tights and short black boots. I'd love to rent it again in the summer to wear with just heels - super leggy awesomeness. It was slightly short-waisted - otherwise I think I could have gone down a size.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
April 2, 2015
I was in Vegas for a bachelorette party with my best friends.
It was a little big on me so for the next time I will order a size down. Other than that it was extremely comfortable and I got compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 5, 2015
work trip/dinner at four seasons miami
could not have fit better - very comfortable & fabric but HEAVY (it was kind of chilly this night so it was fine - not good if it's going to be very hot). wore this with open toe nude slingbacks
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 42
June 7, 2015
Felt gorgeous all day!
Wore this for a summer rooftop work party - received tons of compliments. The fabric is thick and stretchy, so it's both comfortable and flattering. The shorts are short, so you have to be ready to show a lot of leg!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
August 7, 2015
Loved it! HIGHLY recommend.
This was such an easy outfit and looked really good! It's professional looking, but also could be worn for everyday if you feel like dressing up a little bit more than casual. The bottom was a slightly "shorter" fit than I'm used to, but it did not really bother me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 22, 2015
I loved this Romper, perfect for my bachelorette!
Everyone loved it as well. I was hesitant at first, as this was my first time wearing a romper. It was incredibly flattering, covered well but was still sexy. Although made from super heavy fabric (wouldn't recommend in the hot summer); it was perfect for a cool 65-70 degree night. I probably would have worn the size 6 although someone didn't return it in time for me to get it as a back up so I had no choice but to wear the 8.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 15, 2015
It was cute jumpsuit, but wouldn't recommend for busty girls.
The waistline belt didn't wuite fit at right place
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2016
Not for tall women.
Wore this for NYE and it worked okay. While the chest area fit perfectly, it does not seem like this romper was made for tall and/or curvy women. I'm 5'9-5'10 and it was riding up in all of the wrong places ;( Luckily for me, I don't have much junk in the trunk. I would not rent this again but maybe shorter women will have a little more luck with this one.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×