You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Colorful Canvas Sheath
Rental $30 Retail $298
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Stand out at the cocktail party by wearing this fab Elie Tahari brushstroke sheath. A colorful and flirty style to turn heads. Go with classic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Multicolor brushstroke printed stretch cotton. Crew neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos35

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Tracy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Jul 24, 2013
Negative turned POSITIVE
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately, the dress that I chose for my daughter's bridal shower arrived in perfect time but the sizing was smaller than I expected. I contacted RTR and was offered an OVERNIGHT dress of my choice to replace this one. Unfortunately, I was traveling the day before the event so I could not accept the offer. I returned the dress the day after I received it and accepted a credit for my next rental The staff of RTR went above and beyond to remedy my situation. I will continue to use RTR for my special occasion dressing.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4542
Jul 9, 2013
i didn't wear this.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it ran large in the hips (i am narrow) and overall i thought was 'meh.'
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Jul 8, 2013
Everything as promises from RTR
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As you have read the service and deliver from RTR are great. I had two dresses to choose from for my event, and as experienced during a previous rental - they will send you a new dress in time if doesn't fit. As for this dress, it fit pretty true to size. It was lovely for a suburban country club wedding. Both appropriate for the 4 pm service in an unairconditioned church on July 6 and for the evening wedding. My only issue with this dress is that the sash around the middle is attached to the dress, but has a snap to shut it in the back. This is located right at the bottom of your rib cage so if you move to quickly or breath to deeply it would unsnap. I swear that the dress fit me fine all over and I had no problem zipping it, so it wasn't the fit. But this is an area on all dresses that is usually snug, so maybe it was me after all.
j.r.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jun 30, 2013
Unusual Colors
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a fun dress. Pros: the color is splashy and fun. I wore it to my niece's baptism and paired a yellow blazer with it and it was nice and colorful. Cons: I would have liked the skirt to be much more fitted. It poofs out a bit and doesn't have the streamlined look I usually go for. I enjoyed this dress, but it definitely wasn't my favorite rental.
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7633
Jun 17, 2013
RTR is so easy for those one time events when I don't want to spend a lot of time shopping!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for the class reunion (40th!) when you want to look nice but not too formal. Its a classic dress, classic length and it flatters your waist line! For me, it was a tad tight across the chest and around my ribcage so that when I moved, the belt unsnapped in the back. It was plenty roomy in the hip and waist line and comfortable. Its a heavy fabric so I was glad I was not hot outside. On this occasion, this was the perfect answer for me.
Kristina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7542
Jun 11, 2013
would wear this dress to every formal event!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
uber comfortable. extremely flattering. i'm tall and have gained about 10 pounds over the past 6 months. i've always been a bit bottom heavy, and this dress knows how to fit an ample bottom. it's lined, and comfortable, and a little stretchy. perfect length. i have nothing bad to say. well, only that i had to return it!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
May 23, 2013
Loved, but had to send back
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my daugher's Communion. Although I loved it - quality construction, beautiful colors- I had to send it back and unfortunetly weren't able to get an alternate size when I placed the order. The issue was with the sewn on belted empire waistband (snaps in back) which made it difficult to breathe although the rest of the dress fit fine. I could have made it work, but decided to forgo it because I didn't want to be uncomfortable for the day.
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
May 22, 2013
Classy and sophisticated
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a summer cocktail event. The length was perfect, hitting me at just above the knee, and the fit is very true to size. I am 5'7 and 145 pounds, and usually wear a size 8, and every once in a while a size 6 dress, but the size 8 was perfect. It's easy to wear because you don't need any special undergarments either!
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
May 7, 2013
wearing a comfortable but attractive dress.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
it appears the dress may have gotten smaller with a wash, the lining was showing at the hem and pulling at the neckline. I recommend getting two sizes just in case you don't get a brand new dress. Added a belt - doesn't come with it.
marina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
May 3, 2013
this dress fit great and looked fabulous on! no complaints!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit good. no issues with sizing.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
May 1, 2013
classy but fun dress for a bridal shower
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Both the 8 and 10 fit ok, though the 10 gave me a bit more room in the bust and waist that was nice for a party that involved noshing on cupcakes. The fabric was very high quality and the dress was beautiful.
Ashlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Apr 12, 2013
Nice print.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The overall fit wasn't bad. It was roomy in the hips. It was annoying that the back did come unsnapped twice. I would rent again.
Jose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Apr 1, 2013
work fete
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for a work semi-fancy event. Got many compliments. It is not form fitting, especially at the waist so I went a size down.
Rosa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6523
Apr 1, 2013
This was my back-up dress, but I wound up wearing it to a casual birthday party. Loved it!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm short, but with heels this was still a good length on me. It was tight at the waist and the belt kept coming unsnapped. It was also more of a cotton material, not shiny like it appears in the pictures. So the colors were not as bright which is why I felt comfortable wearing it to a more casual party.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Mar 5, 2013
Very pretty dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. I had hoped the colors would be a bit more vibrant, but they are true to what is pictured. I only gave it four stars because it wrinkles easily near the groin area. I wore it with red shoes and though it went really well together. I really like the dress a lot and got a lot of compliments on it. The length was great on me. It hit either right at or right below my knees. It was a tiny bit snug in the chest but I'm a 32D and wore a Victoria secret push-up bra with it.
mg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Jan 28, 2013
Nice dress for professional evening event. The colors were a bit faded than in picture.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Waist is small so make sure to go up a size if you are in between.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Dec 14, 2012
the dress is great quality and a perfect fit, if i were just a little skinnier. i couldn't breathe
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
i'm probably about 5 lbs heavier right now, and i could get it zipped but i felt too uncomfortable in it to wear it around Las Vegas.
kuta-san
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4634
Dec 13, 2012
Beautiful!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for Easter and got so many compliments on the dress. Could easily wear during the day in the office and then out in the evening. Beautiful dress...and would rent it again.
Becca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4531
Nov 24, 2012
Wore it to a wedding, looooooove this dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a summer wedding in Maine. It was perfect.
Suzi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7634
Oct 8, 2012
Lovely dress - perfect for an office party event on the bay.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Body hugging but not too tight - would buy it in a second.
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7544
Oct 2, 2012
great fit. beautiful dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
flattering for curves. perfect length beautiful print
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5534
Sep 19, 2012
Sexy Sheath
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner in California wine country. It was gorgeous and comfortable.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Sep 11, 2012
An understated statement
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Beautiful colors and a nice fit and classic shape, with an appropriate length for a family engagement dinner with my boyfriend's parents. The one thing I will say is the bust ran tight on me as the fabric doesn't have any give. I am an hourglass and typically wear a 6 in Tahari dresses, but I had to wear the 8 to comfortably clasp the attached "belt" (it's hook and eye in the back) and so I didn't completely flatten my chest.
Toi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Sep 11, 2012
Beautiful
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to my bridal shower. I was a tiny bit disappointed in the colors. In the picture it looks very vibrant, but in person it's not quite as bright. It is still very gorgeous though. It fit like a glove and I got a lot of compliments. I would wear this dress again in a heartbeat.
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Sep 10, 2012
Formal Wedding - church part
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented it for the church ceremony of the wedding and I was very pleased with the fit. I am 5'10" and it cut me off at the knee similarly to the picture. I wish it came an inch or so longer but oh well. Also I have a very small waist as compared to my hips and I had some room. There is no way to adjust the belt as it is sown on. It wasn't obvious to anybody though.
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Sep 9, 2012
Fabulous dress
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for a Rehearsal Dinner. It is prettier on than in the photo or even in the hangar. Great fit -- I have a straight shape. I don't thinnk it would work well on someone with curves/hips. Very striking and unusual -- received lots of compliments.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Aug 31, 2012
Not Your Typical Fit
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to my brother's graduation. It fits a little strange; not as tight fitting around the waist/hips as I thought from looking at the picture. But I felt good in it. It is tight in the bust, so if you are larger than an A you may want to get a size up.
Malikah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6421
Aug 28, 2012
I LOVE RTR!!!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I wore this dress for my aunts 80th Birthday Party and received so many compliments that I felt like a star!! RTR is the best!!
rena
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Aug 20, 2012
Beautiful Dress
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my husband's client appreciation dinner and felt like a million bucks!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Aug 15, 2012
Beautiful dress, didn't fit
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Lovely dress, would certainly receive many compliments but I didn't find the fabric all that forgiving. Also, I'm quite short waisted and this didn't seem to cinch me in the right place. Perhaps because I'm larger busted? Overall, lovely dress but it didn't fit my body style well.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Aug 14, 2012
Classy!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little tight in the bust but still fit. I would go up a size next time.
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8434
Aug 10, 2012
Could not zip. #defeated
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear an 8, but went larger on this dress because of my chest. I didn't end up wearing it because I couldn't zip it up past my chest. I think the fit would be have been perf in terms of snug-ness (is that a word?), but I couldn't (even with spanx) get the zipper over my 36D's. It was a great length and cut, but just didn't zip. And I'm not an enormous woman-- I am athletic (run marathons) and have a chest. I was really looking forward to this one, too.
Joanne
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6134
Aug 10, 2012
First time renter
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! I normally wear either a size 8 or 10 depending on the cut of the dress. I wound up wearing a size 10 which fit perfectly!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8534
Jun 21, 2012
Gorgeous but didn't work for m
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a curvy size 12 and this dress didn't have enough give for me in the hips. The dress is positively GORGEOUS, and I loved it, but if you need any give in the hips, size up!
Julia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2531
Jun 9, 2012
Love it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
i normally wear 0. but this size-2 fits my like it is made for me. got great compliments from people. definitely a beautiful dress. I wish I could buy it off...but i guess they won't let me.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6531
Apr 21, 2012
Classy
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore it for my bridal shower and everyone commented on the pattern, design and fit. It sat a little higher than my natural waist which hid the troublesome belly and gave me a great silhouette. After sitting for an hour or so opening gifts, and it wasn't wrinkled in the back. So sad to return it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress