Elie Tahari

Colorful Canvas Sheath

$52 to buy
$298 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stand out at the cocktail party by wearing this fab Elie Tahari brushstroke sheath. A colorful and flirty style to turn heads. Go with classic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolor brushstroke printed stretch cotton. Crew neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(18)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2013
Perfect fit for a FAB dinner at The Palm in LA!

This dress is a work of art! It has some stretch to it that fits your curves and is a very flattering length. I felt stunning and got lots of compliments from many of the other ladies attending this event.

KeshaFebruary 9, 2013
lovely
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 5, 2013
Very pretty dress

I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. I had hoped the colors would be a bit more vibrant, but they are true to what is pictured. I only gave it four stars because it wrinkles easily near the groin area. I wore it with red shoes and though it went really well together. I really like the dress a lot and got a lot of compliments on it. The length was great on me. It hit either right at or right below my knees. It was a tiny bit snug in the chest but I'm a 32D and wore a Victoria secret push-up bra with it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 1, 2013
This was my back-up dress, but I wound up wearing it to a casual birthday party. Loved it!

I'm short, but with heels this was still a good length on me. It was tight at the waist and the belt kept coming unsnapped. It was also more of a cotton material, not shiny like it appears in the pictures. So the colors were not as bright which is why I felt comfortable wearing it to a more casual party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 12, 2013
Nice print.

The overall fit wasn't bad. It was roomy in the hips. It was annoying that the back did come unsnapped twice. I would rent again.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 16, 2013
Wonderful first rental:)

This was my first rental (even though I already had one planned for a bach party in Florida) and I was very happy! The freebies were awesome and it came nicely packaged. The colors were not as bold/bright in person, kind of looked like the dress may have been a bit faded however if you didn't see an online picture than you had no idea! The fit was great, very true to size. Perfect length, may run a tad snug for those with a fuller bust. The only reason I wore a larger size than I normally do is because I wanted the little extra room since I was the MOH and needed to bend/move more. In pictures, it looked a slight bit larger but I needed it for what I was doing. The dress got a little wrinkled by the end of the afternoon but I am very happy with my purchase! I'm hoping my sassy bach dress leaves me just as satisfied!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
April 24, 2013
Perfect dress for a brunch bridal shower!

I am a bridesmaid for one of my college friends in July. We had her shower this past weekend. I chose this dress to wear! Everyone could not stop talking about the dress! I received so many complements I lost count! The dress fits extremely well, and the fabric is comfortable and easy to wear. I am always very self conscious wearing sheath dresses because I have wider hips. This one was perfectly fitted around the waist to make my hips lok fabulous! I will certainly rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 107lbs
May 30, 2013
Perfect for a destination church ceremony, many compliments!!!

This dress officially became my dream dress, it is the most comfortable thing to wear, I am actually considering buying it, if I find my size. I inner lining is soft and I didn't feel hot at all and this was Mexico in 90 degree weather! I received so many compliments! Definitely renting again!

IrisMay 30, 2013
Love the shoes you wore! Are they more of a red or brown/bronze?
VaniMay 30, 2013
Thank Iris they are more of a red/burgundy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 11, 2013
This is a great dress!

I rented this dress for a bridal shower that I was hosting. It was very appropriate for the occasion and I got a lot of compliments. This dress runs TTS.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2013
RTR is so easy for those one time events when I don't want to spend a lot of time shopping!

This dress is perfect for the class reunion (40th!) when you want to look nice but not too formal. Its a classic dress, classic length and it flatters your waist line! For me, it was a tad tight across the chest and around my ribcage so that when I moved, the belt unsnapped in the back. It was plenty roomy in the hip and waist line and comfortable. Its a heavy fabric so I was glad I was not hot outside. On this occasion, this was the perfect answer for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2013
Unusual Colors

This is a fun dress. Pros: the color is splashy and fun. I wore it to my niece's baptism and paired a yellow blazer with it and it was nice and colorful. Cons: I would have liked the skirt to be much more fitted. It poofs out a bit and doesn't have the streamlined look I usually go for. I enjoyed this dress, but it definitely wasn't my favorite rental.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 24, 2013
Beautiful dress and cut!

Loved this dress, super comfortable and above all really pretty! I would rent this again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 69
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
July 29, 2013
absolutely lovely

The dress is beautiful, though the color is a little more subdued than I expected. The fit was perfect, and the fabric is extremely soft and comfortable. Unfortunately for me, it was freezing at the outdoor wedding we attended and I had to cover up this lovely dress with a (luckily matching) bright blue wool jacket for almost the entire event. Bummer!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 12, 2013
Everything about this dress is very average:(

I ordered the 10 & the 12 for a wedding. Dresses came and the 10 (which I normally wear) did fit, but wasn't as flattering as I imagined, even though the material is very structured. The hem was super long, almost to my knees. The color was way more subdued than I thought it'd be; just all in all was a little matronly for my taste. I sent it back and did a last minute shopping trip to find something else to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 27, 2013
Lovely dress for my bridal shower

I was fortunate enough to have two bridal showers thrown for me I wore this one for the second, knowing it was going to be more of a formal and traditional shower. (FYI I wore the Kate Spade Bow Tie dress for my other shower and LOVED it). This dress is sophisticated and comfortable. The length was dress for having to sit in a chair and open gifts in front of people - I definitely didn't want something that would be short and ride up, this stayed put and I felt very ladylike. The waist cinches in beautifully and I felt very tall and long. A few other reviews said it had room in the chest but I found the opposite. I'm a large B/small C and thought it was pretty tight in the chest - though, still perfectly comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress for a fun but classy event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 31, 2013
Compliments galore!

I felt chic, ladylike and crisp in this elegant yet fun dress. I received tons of compliments and was very pleased with the fit. The dress also stood up to a long car ride without getting wrinkled. I thought the colorful details would be a little brighter, but they looked absolutely great anyway. I wore this dress with gold sandals.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 20, 2013
Perfect for a bridal shower!

I wore this for a bridal shower "high tea" thrown for me by my future sister-in-law. It was an afternoon event and I wanted something colorful and fun. This was it! I ordered it in a 6 and an 8, and although I would have been fine in the 6, I ended up wearing the 8 because it was just a shade more comfortable for my 34D chest. The only downside was that the hem of the lining was hanging down in both dresses. It hung down less in the 8, the other reason I chose to wear this size. Fortunately, fashion tape was included with the shipment, so it was an easy fix and stayed put nicely. The dress was comfortable and extremely flattering. I wish I could own it! It would be a great dress for a ton of different occasions! Definitely rent this one!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 3, 2013
I love this dress!

I received so many compliments on this dress. It was unique and it fit so well! I had a great RTR experience! Thank you!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 24, 2013
The fabric is beautiful.

It fit well, was a very pretty dress and the only downside was that the lining at the neck exposed the dress tags. I wore a shrug to hide this.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 13, 2014
...

I got this dress for a wedding... but ended up wearing a completely different dress anyway... I liked the fit of the dress - it was a little snug but very comfortable and anyone that is well endowed in the chest department would have difficult with this dress...

libertyJanuary 13, 2014
what dress did you end up wearing?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
March 22, 2014
.

Exact fit/no give type of dress

JessicaMarch 22, 2014
You look lovely!
KeshaMarch 22, 2014
nice
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 20, 2014
Unique and stylish!

I wore this for my project presentation for my Master's Degree. It loved the unique print! I struggled with finding "just-the-right" shoes; I ended up going with a patent leather red open-toed kitten heel slip-on, which looked lovely. My second Rent the Runway rental, and I couldn't be happier!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2012
Best compliment - "You look like art!"

I rented this dress for my law school graduation and loved it! The dress was TTS and created a slimming affect throughout. The colors were vibrant and popped perfectly all day. I had a long day of celebrations to get through and the dress held up well the entire day! I paired the dress with red heels and received tons of compliments. Loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
I received compliments on my dress all day!

This dress fit like a glove. It is perfect for a full bust. The fabric provides some give and was extremely comfortable to wear.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 11, 2012
The dress was one-of-a-kind and very classy!! Just my style

The fit was perfect and the design was gorgeous... I didn't even have to get an extra size.. If sheath dresses are your style then this is perfect.. And the colors give you many colors to choose from for pumps to match.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 15, 2013
Perfect for graduation!

Love this dress!! This dress fit like a glove and was the perfect combo of classy yet fun for veterinary school graduation. I cannot say enough good things about this dress, I loved it. I would buy it in a heart beat!! Only problem is it is hard to zip by yourself. Don't miss out on this one!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 8, 2013
Challenging fit for pear-shaped ladies, design colors are faded

I'm a petite gal with size 4 hips and a size 2 bust, so even if they had a size 2 available, I probably would've still gone with the 4. The design is beautiful, but you can tell the dress has gone through a few wears. I can't tell if the colors were originally faded as part of the design or if it's a result of going through so many wears. It was light and comfortable for a daytime wedding.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
August 24, 2013
Great rehearsal dinner dress!

I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner and I loved it! I rented the 4 and 6 and went with the 6 because my larger chest would not fit comfortably in the 4. Since I went with the 6 it was a little looser around my waist but it wasn't too bad and overall I really enjoyed this dress. I thought it was fun and a little different, but still white, so great for my rehearsal dinner. I would recommend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2014
Rental arrived on time, was clean. Dress fit tighter in the arm holes & chest. Received compliments

Baptism, Easter, spring. Beautiful colors.

KeshaApril 21, 2014
I would love to see the dress
LauraApril 21, 2014
Sorry, not sure how that happened. Here is a better picture
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2014
Beautiful dress!

It was a bit snug in the hips, had to wear Spanx, but other than that it was perfect. Absolutely stunning dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2012
Classy

Wore it for my bridal shower and everyone commented on the pattern, design and fit. It sat a little higher than my natural waist which hid the troublesome belly and gave me a great silhouette. After sitting for an hour or so opening gifts, and it wasn't wrinkled in the back. So sad to return it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Sexy Sheath

Wore this to a rehearsal dinner in California wine country. It was gorgeous and comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 2, 2012
great fit. beautiful dress

flattering for curves. perfect length beautiful print

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 8, 2012
Lovely dress - perfect for an office party event on the bay.

Body hugging but not too tight - would buy it in a second.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Wore it to a wedding, looooooove this dress!

Wore this to a summer wedding in Maine. It was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 13, 2012
Beautiful!

Wore this for Easter and got so many compliments on the dress. Could easily wear during the day in the office and then out in the evening. Beautiful dress...and would rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
classy but fun dress for a bridal shower

Both the 8 and 10 fit ok, though the 10 gave me a bit more room in the bust and waist that was nice for a party that involved noshing on cupcakes. The fabric was very high quality and the dress was beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
May 3, 2013
this dress fit great and looked fabulous on! no complaints!

fit good. no issues with sizing.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2013
Classy and sophisticated

This dress was perfect for a summer cocktail event. The length was perfect, hitting me at just above the knee, and the fit is very true to size. I am 5'7 and 145 pounds, and usually wear a size 8, and every once in a while a size 6 dress, but the size 8 was perfect. It's easy to wear because you don't need any special undergarments either!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 11, 2013
would wear this dress to every formal event!

uber comfortable. extremely flattering. i'm tall and have gained about 10 pounds over the past 6 months. i've always been a bit bottom heavy, and this dress knows how to fit an ample bottom. it's lined, and comfortable, and a little stretchy. perfect length. i have nothing bad to say. well, only that i had to return it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 8, 2013
Everything as promises from RTR

As you have read the service and deliver from RTR are great. I had two dresses to choose from for my event, and as experienced during a previous rental - they will send you a new dress in time if doesn't fit. As for this dress, it fit pretty true to size. It was lovely for a suburban country club wedding. Both appropriate for the 4 pm service in an unairconditioned church on July 6 and for the evening wedding. My only issue with this dress is that the sash around the middle is attached to the dress, but has a snap to shut it in the back. This is located right at the bottom of your rib cage so if you move to quickly or breath to deeply it would unsnap. I swear that the dress fit me fine all over and I had no problem zipping it, so it wasn't the fit. But this is an area on all dresses that is usually snug, so maybe it was me after all.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×