Colorful Canvas Sheath

$52 to buy
$298 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stand out at the cocktail party by wearing this fab Elie Tahari brushstroke sheath. A colorful and flirty style to turn heads. Go with classic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor brushstroke printed stretch cotton. Crew neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(18)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2013
NICE DRESS BUT EVERYBODY LOVED MY SHOES INSTEAD!
TOP FITS NICE,BUT IN THE AREA OF THE BELLY DOESN'T LOOK THAT GOOD SINCE I HAVE SOME HIPS AND BEING WHITE COLOR LOOKS WIDER THAN EXPECTED, ALSO WHEN I RECEIVED THE DRESS IMMEDIATELY I NOTICED IN THE AREA WHERE THE BELT SNAPS IT HAD SOME TREADS THAT WHERE LOOSE AND I FOUND OUT WHY, WHEN I TRIED ON IN THAT PARTICULAR AREA IS VERY TIGHT TO ZIP THE DRESS , FINALLY AFTER I GOT IT, THE BELT WAS CONSTANTLY UNSNAPPING SO I HAD TO USE SOME SMALL SAFETY PINS TO AVOID THAT BELT CAME UNLOOSE, I GUESS I WAS NOT SO HAPPY WITH THAT SITUATION AND PROBABLY I REFLECTED, SO EVERYBODY NOTICED MY SHOES INSTEAD OF THE DRESS , IN GENERAL GOOD and PRETTY DRESS BUT I WOULD NOT RENT IT AGAIN.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 5, 2013
Very pretty dress
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. I had hoped the colors would be a bit more vibrant, but they are true to what is pictured. I only gave it four stars because it wrinkles easily near the groin area. I wore it with red shoes and though it went really well together. I really like the dress a lot and got a lot of compliments on it. The length was great on me. It hit either right at or right below my knees. It was a tiny bit snug in the chest but I'm a 32D and wore a Victoria secret push-up bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2013
Perfect fit for a FAB dinner at The Palm in LA!
This dress is a work of art! It has some stretch to it that fits your curves and is a very flattering length. I felt stunning and got lots of compliments from many of the other ladies attending this event.
KeshaMay 19, 2014
lovely
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 28, 2013
Nice dress for professional evening event. The colors were a bit faded than in picture.
Waist is small so make sure to go up a size if you are in between.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
January 27, 2013
Feels like you are wearing a watercolor painting!
This dress was incredibly comfortable, classy, and unique. The detail on the neck and waist make the dress very flattering. I got lots of compliments and did not want to return the dress! The stylists helped me pick the perfect size and backup size for my body shape since the size measurements did not match me perfectly. I ordered a 10 and 12 and ended up with the 12 because it fit better in the bust. It was great flying to a destination wedding without having to worry about transporting a nice dress. I have rented several times and this dress remains one of my favorite rentals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2013
Conservative yet modern, perfect for a daytime event!
I'm nursing, and at the time of this review was 5'6", 128 pounds, and wore a 30F. I loved this dress--it was perfect for the daytime bridal shower I hosted for a dear friend. I loved the modern print, and the conservative, extremely flattering cut of the dress. I received so many compliments! I wish I had ordered a 2 and a 4 rather than a 4 and a 6; I am not sure a 2 would have fit my chest, but the dress was too large on bottom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Colorful
Wore to a family Christmas party. The waist band snaps in the back over the dress zipper and if you eat too much, you might have to keep re-fastening it if you inhale too deeply. ;) Fits great; the fabric is like a stiffer luxury cotton blend, which I really liked. Love w orange heels but we were traveling and I was trying to limit my shoe packing to only a few pairs. I think I need to stop rolling my shoulders down in pictures bc it makes me look top heavy, which I am very much not.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Kept getting complements
It fit like a dream & the cut was very flattering. The only con I had is the belt detail has snaps on the back, and my Husband kept accidentally unsnapping them while we were dancing- not that big of a deal, but something to be aware of :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Stands out in a sea of LBDs!
This was a really lovely dress. It was classy and conservative for a professional Christmas party, and definitely stood out in all the black and grey most people were wearing. The fabric feels very high quality, and the fit was pretty standard. The top may have been a bit tighter than other size 6s, but it fit perfectly on me with a thin bra (no padding). The lining of the dress was hanging down a bit, but tape was an easy fix. As usual, I got lots of compliments and questions about where I found the dress. Very fun!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 14, 2012
the dress is great quality and a perfect fit, if i were just a little skinnier. i couldn't breathe
i'm probably about 5 lbs heavier right now, and i could get it zipped but i felt too uncomfortable in it to wear it around Las Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
Beautiful!
Wore this for Easter and got so many compliments on the dress. Could easily wear during the day in the office and then out in the evening. Beautiful dress...and would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
November 25, 2012
I was best dressed at the party!
A little snug but overall fit very nicely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Wore it to a wedding, looooooove this dress!
Wore this to a summer wedding in Maine. It was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
Freaking gorgeous dress!! Like a work of art.
I put "runs small" only because it's definitely form-fitting. I didn't get to wear this dress to my occasion (it arrived late due to hurricane), but I have a feeling it would have been too uncomfortable for hours of wear. I don't want to suck everything in all night. BUT the dress is unique, gorgeous -- I loved it so much. Hoping to have the chance to rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2012
Perfect for a wedding
The dress was beautiful. It was tight around my hips and thighs, but I have big hips and thighs. I wish I would have gotten a size 10 due to this. The tags on the back of the dress kept coming up out of the dress as well, which was annoying. Other than that, the dress was beautiful and worked out great for the occasion.
RTR CustomerNovember 20, 2012
where did it reach you in length?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 11, 2012
The dress was one-of-a-kind and very classy!! Just my style
The fit was perfect and the design was gorgeous... I didn't even have to get an extra size.. If sheath dresses are your style then this is perfect.. And the colors give you many colors to choose from for pumps to match.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 8, 2012
Lovely dress - perfect for an office party event on the bay.
Body hugging but not too tight - would buy it in a second.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 2, 2012
great fit. beautiful dress
flattering for curves. perfect length beautiful print
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
I received compliments on my dress all day!
This dress fit like a glove. It is perfect for a full bust. The fabric provides some give and was extremely comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
September 23, 2012
Felt like a million bucks!
As soon as I first touched the fabric, I appreciated that this is a fine piece of clothing. The satin lining also felt very luxurious. The brushstroke design worked well for September, as summer transitions to fall. I wore this to a business networking cocktail party and received several sincere compliments. It felt a big snug in the bust when I first tried it on, but with a thinner bra, it was perfect. The dress was cut in such a way as to discreetly hide the bit of tummy bump that still has stayed with me since my last child was born, hooray!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Sexy Sheath
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner in California wine country. It was gorgeous and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 11, 2012
An understated statement
Beautiful colors and a nice fit and classic shape, with an appropriate length for a family engagement dinner with my boyfriend's parents. The one thing I will say is the bust ran tight on me as the fabric doesn't have any give. I am an hourglass and typically wear a 6 in Tahari dresses, but I had to wear the 8 to comfortably clasp the attached "belt" (it's hook and eye in the back) and so I didn't completely flatten my chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2012
Beautiful
I rented this dress to wear to my bridal shower. I was a tiny bit disappointed in the colors. In the picture it looks very vibrant, but in person it's not quite as bright. It is still very gorgeous though. It fit like a glove and I got a lot of compliments. I would wear this dress again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
September 10, 2012
Formal Wedding - church part
Rented it for the church ceremony of the wedding and I was very pleased with the fit. I am 5'10" and it cut me off at the knee similarly to the picture. I wish it came an inch or so longer but oh well. Also I have a very small waist as compared to my hips and I had some room. There is no way to adjust the belt as it is sown on. It wasn't obvious to anybody though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 9, 2012
Fabulous dress
Rented this for a Rehearsal Dinner. It is prettier on than in the photo or even in the hangar. Great fit -- I have a straight shape. I don't thinnk it would work well on someone with curves/hips. Very striking and unusual -- received lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
Elegant Conservative Dress
This dress is elegant and simply classic. If you need a conservative dress for a function, this is it. The waist sits high and does not give so be sure to accurately pick out your size. The skirt had a comfortable amount of room and reaches your knees (I'm 5'7") and the top is of average size--as in, if you are really busty, consider going one size up.
RTR CustomerNovember 7, 2012
Love this on you! Great bag.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2012
Not Your Typical Fit
I wore this to my brother's graduation. It fits a little strange; not as tight fitting around the waist/hips as I thought from looking at the picture. But I felt good in it. It is tight in the bust, so if you are larger than an A you may want to get a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 28, 2012
I LOVE RTR!!!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I wore this dress for my aunts 80th Birthday Party and received so many compliments that I felt like a star!! RTR is the best!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I wore this for my husband's client appreciation dinner and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2012
Beautiful dress, didn't fit
Lovely dress, would certainly receive many compliments but I didn't find the fabric all that forgiving. Also, I'm quite short waisted and this didn't seem to cinch me in the right place. Perhaps because I'm larger busted? Overall, lovely dress but it didn't fit my body style well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Classy!
It was a little tight in the bust but still fit. I would go up a size next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2012
Sadly I didn't! I think its expected of me to wear something nice. People cared more about my workout routine. LOL But the dress was great!!!
RTR is so incredibly easy and as a first timer, a great experience! This dress was delivered in two sizes. I am 5'9, 130lbs and muscular. The size four was perfect for my broad back. However, the skirt of the dress could have been altered to fit me better since it was rather loose. But not noticably enough to not be worn. The size two was too short in the body and rode under my arms too much. Overall, I was happy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 10, 2012
Could not zip. #defeated
I usually wear an 8, but went larger on this dress because of my chest. I didn't end up wearing it because I couldn't zip it up past my chest. I think the fit would be have been perf in terms of snug-ness (is that a word?), but I couldn't (even with spanx) get the zipper over my 36D's. It was a great length and cut, but just didn't zip. And I'm not an enormous woman-- I am athletic (run marathons) and have a chest. I was really looking forward to this one, too.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
First time renter
I absolutely loved this dress! I normally wear either a size 8 or 10 depending on the cut of the dress. I wound up wearing a size 10 which fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 2, 2012
The beautiful evening overlooking the New York Skyline in the perfect dress!!
I rented this for my brother's rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect dress for the occasion!! Very comfortable and elegant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 1, 2012
Just the fact that I felt comfortable while feeling beautiful really made my night!
I received so many compliments at the wedding while wearing this beautiful piece of art. I normally wear a size 2, but since most designer dresses run a little small, I decided to order a size 4. It was a little roomy, but it gave me some extra cushion around the waist for the reception so that I didn't have to worry about a pooch showing through. The cut is perfect for any shape or size. The dress does run true to size.
KristenAugust 3, 2012
I am also planning on wearing this to a wedding. I'm worried that it will be too "white" though and don't want to compete with the bride. Did you feel comfortable in it? Thanks!
RTRAugust 7, 2012
Hi Kristen, this dress is definitely a printed style so you can easily wear it to a wedding. It's supper fun for a summer event.
KristenAugust 8, 2012
Thank you!
BurnetteDecember 14, 2012
You will not compete with the bride :) It's just a fun outfit that allows your personality to shine through.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2012
Best compliment - "You look like art!"
I rented this dress for my law school graduation and loved it! The dress was TTS and created a slimming affect throughout. The colors were vibrant and popped perfectly all day. I had a long day of celebrations to get through and the dress held up well the entire day! I paired the dress with red heels and received tons of compliments. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 21, 2012
Gorgeous but snug on hips
I am a curvy size 12 and this dress didn't have enough give for me in the hips. The dress is positively GORGEOUS, and I loved it, but if you need any give in the hips, size up!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 9, 2012
Love it!
i normally wear 0. but this size-2 fits my like it is made for me. got great compliments from people. definitely a beautiful dress. I wish I could buy it off...but i guess they won't let me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2012
Classy
Wore it for my bridal shower and everyone commented on the pattern, design and fit. It sat a little higher than my natural waist which hid the troublesome belly and gave me a great silhouette. After sitting for an hour or so opening gifts, and it wasn't wrinkled in the back. So sad to return it.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×