You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Sexy Back Gown
Rental $80 Retail $465
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Show off your curves in this open back gown by Diane von Furstenberg. A sexy style to strut your stuff at the black tie event. Go with the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Earring and AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack to complete this look.
Chat with a Stylist
Plum crepe (80% Triacetate, 20% Polyester). Sleeveless. Cowl neckline. Straight skirt. T-strap back. Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet can not be worn with a strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos39

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Dierdre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8642
Feb 23, 2014
I felt like a superstar in this dress! I loved it and so did everyone else!!
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little challenging to put on but the fit was outstanding!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3631
Dec 11, 2013
Definitely a wow dress for work anniversary party!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Color of this dress is beautiful. The draping is very flattering and the back is amazing. Tons of compliments on it all evening! Fit was perfect.
Julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Oct 23, 2013
Loved this dress! I got so many compliments all through the night!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was pretty long on me since I'm only 5'2". I wore 4 inch heels and it was still about 3 or 4 inches too long but I used the hem tape and that worked really well. There were some slight stains on the bottom of the dress probably from other short people wearing it but you couldn't notice it. I will definitely use rent the runway again as it was so easy and dress was amazing!
Jessalynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Aug 6, 2013
Amazing Dress! Wanted to own it!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I actually rented this dress as a backup for a recent wedding we attending. Turns out the dress I originally planned to wear just paled in comparison to how gorgeous this one was. I received tons of compliments all night and the open back is sexy and elegant! The dress isn't too tight, the fabric feel lux, and drapes in all the right places. However, you will deifntely need to wear a nu-bra because of the open back.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jul 29, 2013
I wore this dress for a wedding, and I received SO many compliments, especially on the back!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a summer evening wedding. Strangers approached me and told me the dress was "stunning," "breath-taking," among many other adjectives. It was very comfortable so I could enjoy myself the whole night. I am 5'2", so the dress was a little short on me. But, some temporary hem and heels solved that problem.
Treva
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jun 3, 2013
This dress is AMAZING! Perfect for red carpet or formal event. I wore it to the NAACP Image Awards
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The fits is flawless and made me feel quite regal. The color popped on my skin tone. It has delightful details in how it's cut, especially the back. The almost backless gown stunned and received numerous compliments. You can't go wrong with this dress!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5533
May 25, 2013
Many compliments on this one, loved the dress and didn't want to send it back!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect, ran true to size. At 5'7", I'm right on the border for length. I chose the longer dress, wore 2-3" heels and it tripped me up a bit, but the regular dress seemed a bit too short.
Alisha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5533
Mar 1, 2013
Gorgeous back, comfortable.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I read the reviews from others on this dress and at 5'6, found myself on the border of regular length and long. Based on the reviews and my 3.5 inch (strappy gold) heels, I went with a 4R and 6R, which ended up being too short. If you are 5'5 or 5'6, go with the long (if wearing 3-4 inch heels)! The 6 was too big and drooped around my midsection, but I ended up wearing the 6 for some extra length. This dress is extremely comfortable, though the material wrinkled quite a bit at the bottom of the dress during shipping. Overall, I was happy with my dress and loved having it waiting for me at the hotel when I arrived for the wedding.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6531
Feb 10, 2013
Purple Reign
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
After a few hiccups in my first RTR experience, Stylists Janna and Hanna were my fairy fashion godmothers and I'm happy to say, "and she lived happily ever after" in this dress! I ended up wearing the 8L as the 6L was not available; the 6L would have fit like a glove Go down a size when renting this one. Amazing dress!
martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6642
Feb 8, 2013
Stunning, comfortable and easy to wear.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. The color is a little more purple than plum. I wore it to a formal with Erickson Beamon earrings and received a ton of compliments. Underneath I wore a shapewear "short" with no obvious seams.. the back is not so low that you can't have some tummy panel help. You need to wear a stick-on bra, but the draping on the sides and back helps disguise any underthings. The long was a little short for my 4" heels (I am 5'11") but otherwise a hit. I danced for 3 hours in it with no "oopsie" moments! I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
DCdiva
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jan 23, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I felt both classy and sexy, which can be hard to have at the same time.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5"3 so I wore 4-inch heels which worked perfectly with the dress length. I also used a bit of fashion tape to hide my spanx and silicone bra cups.
Carrie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Jan 23, 2013
Beautiful!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was an absolute hit! It was ordered as my back up gown, but it looked so good & fit so beautifully I just had to go with it. The back is gorgeous & the fit is so flattering that I was actually able to go down a size & who doesn't love that! The length was perfect & the color was wonderful. I loved everything about this dress.
Melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 13, 2013
Got so many compliments and felt Gone with the Wind FABULOUS!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this DVF dress for my fiance's best friend's wedding. I received compliments all night long and felt amazing! Spanx were definitely needed because I've got a stomach but the dress draped and fit so well. I was pleased that I could still wear the Spanx tights for coverage, and it still not be shown with the low back. The back was the absolute STUNNER and I felt like a million bucks! The length of the 4R was perfect for the heels I wore, but if you're over 5'5" or want to wear 4+ inch heels, I'd get the long length! The 2R was too short for the heel, and I felt the 4R just fit me better in general!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 11, 2013
Loved the dress and cut, but WAY too short!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my holiday work party (it was actually Prom themed). This was my first rental after months of looking at Rent the Runway. I ordered the 2R and 4R, as I am only 5'5". The dresses arrived in a very nice garment bag on the delivery day selected. I was stunned by the beautiful magenta material, which does look more like a wine color in dim lighting. I got compliments all night on the gorgeous open back of this dress!! HOWEVER, both sizes were WAY too short. I ended up wearing the 4R, which fit me nicely, but in order for the length to be correct, I would have had to wear flats. I tried one my shortest heels (about 2 1/2 inches) and it was still too short. I ended up wearing the heels I intended with this dress even though they were 4 inches tall, because you were going to see my shoes regardless of the height, so they had to be the best ones. I was self-conscious all night due to the short length, and kept finding myself trying to pull the dress down so it would cover my shoes more. Despite the situation, Rent the Runway was extremely helpful and accommodating! Since their warehouse was having issues the day before my event, they were not able to send me a different length. However, they allowed me to wear the dress to the event and gave me a credit for my next RTR rental. I will DEFINITELY be trying RTR again! Their customer service is some of the best I have ever received! Though, next time I will definitely chat with a RTR stylist before placing my order and will opt to have the dresses arrive 2 days beforehand, just in case. THANKS RTR!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Jan 8, 2013
Didn't want to send it back!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I've done several rentals with RTR but this is my favorite so far! People kept commenting on how great the dress was. It's so classy yet sexy...and comfortable too! The draping on the front is really nice too. I rented both the 2R and the 0L (the 0R wasn't available) but the 2R fit my pear shape better. It was a tad roomy on top so I wore a NuBra and secured both sides of the dress with fashion tape. The length was perfect with my 4.75 inch heels. I accessorized it with chandelier earrings and a rhinestone bracelet. Also, I can't say enough about RTR Customer Service: the day of my rental I was accidentally shipped the wrong dresses. After I called and explained the situation I was overnighted the correct dresses right to my hotel since I was leaving the following day for my event.
Bari
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 1, 2013
Comfortable, beautiful, eye-catching dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 2R and the 4R and while they both fit I found that the 4R was even more comfortable because it fit perfectly but just hugged my mid-section a little less in front (post-baby that little bit can make a big difference!). The dress was easy to dance in, and I got so many compliments. My friends couldn't get over how pretty the color and fit was, and then when they saw the back they were floored! I'm 5'6" and wore 2.5" heels, which were necessary given the length of the dress -it's a touch longer in back than in front.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 1, 2013
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding and received many compliments!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The low cut back was dramatic but still wedding appropriate. It would have been impossible to wear a bra with this dress, but I didn't need it with the draping. It's a very fluid fabric, so I wore Yummie Tummie girl shorts for a smooth look. Even with 4 inch heels, it was still a bit long in the back, but the slit made it easy to walk in.
Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 16, 2012
Beautiful dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked great and it was super comfortable to wear. Definitely works well for small busts! I think the 4R was a little large on me so the 2R would have been perfect. Even though it was a bit loose I did not feel like I was on the verge of a wardrobe malfunction. This dress was a little bit longer than other R length dresses that i have rented.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 13, 2012
Stunning! Not only did I feel that way but so many people told me I looked Stunning! Perfect Dress!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using RTR and I was super nervous! I looked at a ton of dresses and read so many reviews. I loved being able to see the dresses on "real" people. I wore this dress to a Black Tie Charity Event. It was absolutely perfect! The front of the dress is very pretty but the back of the dress is the stunner! I got the 4R and 2R. The 4R fit pretty good but the 2R was absolutely perfect! I wore 3 1/4 inch heels and the reg. length worked great. The draping on the front gives just a little bit of hiding in the tummy area however no spanx because you would be able to see the lines. A Nubra worked absolutely perfect since there is no back with this dress. The color is even more stunning in person than the picture shows. I also use the Stylist Mystery Bling and was sent the Anton Heunis Pink Lotus Earrings. These went perfectly with the dress and I never would have picked them out myself. Just the right amount of bling. I can't say enough good things about this dress and can't wait to use RTR for my next event.
Shelby
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4332
Nov 10, 2012
The back is absolutely beautiful! I received so many compliments!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore a 4L and I am 5'7". I wore about 4" heels and it was the perfect length. People kept on complimenting on how beautiful this dress was, and I didn't want to return it! Great designer, I love DVF.
Clara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 23, 2012
WOW!!! Stunning, comfortable, gorgeous color, & glamorous...PERFECTION!!!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I originally rented the Badgley Mischka Putting on the Glitz gown, but it felt uncomfortable to wear (tight around my ribs) and I knew I didn't want to deal with being in an uncomfortable dress. It was Friday and I was panicked bc I was attending a black tie wedding in Santa Barbara Saturday afternoon. Thank goodness for Whitney at RTR...she was super helpful with ordering replacement dresses and jewelry for me to be overnight shipped by 12noon to my hotel on a Saturday. I wanted to order the DVF Sexy Back Dress in a 4R and 6R, however, they weren't available in those lengths, so I ordered the dresses in 4L and 6L along with some hem tape and wore my Yves Saint Laurent Tribute patent-leather Mary Jane pumps which are 6 inch heels with a platform (I am 5'6"). I typically wear either a 4 or 6, but since this dress is so beautifully draped, the 4 fit perfectly, aside from needing a 1 inch hem with the hem tape. If you are 5'6" or under, I definitely recommend getting the regular length, vs. the long (even if you're 5'7" and plan on wearing heels under 5 inches). I paired the dress with the Dannijo Finley Golden earrings, a gold clutch, a gold Dior cuff bracelet, and my YSL pumps, and LOVED it! I received endless compliments all night on the dress, color, fit, etc... (particularly the back of the dress). There were some flowers growing on the wall of the villa at the wedding, so my friend picked a few off and put them in my bun...what a fabulous accent the flowers were to the color of the dress. The best part is that this dress is beyond comfortable!!!! I highly recommend this dress for a wedding or formal...I'm still getting compliments from my pictures. Plus it looks expensive...I can't believe it retails for under $500. LOVE DVF and LOVE the RTR service...I will definitely be renting again ;-).
kaleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Oct 18, 2012
Classy and backless!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a black tie gala at the Lincoln Center. It is a beautiful magenta colour that looks wine coloured in dim lighting. The fabric drapes elegantly and the bottom has a gather and slit. I loved the way this dress fell across the shoulders and was fitted at the waist without being tight. Really, this is a stunning and super wearable dress. The back is the big stunner, so wear your hair up.
elainer0124
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Oct 17, 2012
Excellent dress - so comfortable!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I have been gaining a lot of weight lately, but the dress fit me so comfortably at a size 2R. I got many compliments on throughout the night. Only issue is that the dress is very long on me - I had to pull up the dress while I was walking around even though I was wearing 4 inch heels. Not really recommended for petite girls, but if you're 5'5 +, this shouldn't be a problem. I mean, maxi dresses do make us petite girls look taller, but sigh...usually they're too long on us. I love the open back design; for that, I wore a nu-bra, which was perfect for this dress. :)
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Oct 15, 2012
Overall, pleased. I was lucky to be first to wear it!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 8R and 10R. I should have ordered the Long length as I originally planned but the stylist told me to go with the Regular length. The 8R fit but was too short; therefore I put the 10R on and while it was bit larger overall; I determined that was o.k. because the 10 gave me a little more length. I had to wear much shorter heels than I normally do to compensate for the shorter length. Otherwise I was lucky enough to be the first person to receive the 8 or 10 because the tags were still on both! Therefore both were in great condition. I did receive compliments all night long on the dress so that's a "win" in my book. Only thing to be a bit aware of; obviously your back is completely exposed...so because I had to go with the size up, mine gapped a bit so I had to use double sided tape on the sides of the small of my back and had to remember to stand up straight all night to ensure I had no fat rolls. LOL! I would recommend this dress to everyone. It was comfortable and pretty!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Feb 10, 2014
Sexy and glam
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit wonderfully.... I went without a bra just used petals.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4544
Nov 23, 2013
GORGEOUS dress!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so effortlessly beautiful. The color was gorgeous and very flattering next to my fair skin and red hair. Have to go braless or use a sticky bra, which I was not used to, but other than that it was a simply gorgeous dress.
Sunny11
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Sep 9, 2013
Sexy and unique, but as a back-up dress for a wedding it stayed that way.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress, but a bit too sexy for a black tie wedding for my taste. Also, even with 4 inch heels the dress was too long and I didn't have the time or energy to hem it with hemming tape. It is beautiful though and quite unique. I wish I had another occasion to wear it!
Tami
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 152 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8624
Aug 14, 2013
I wasn't able to wear it.
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The description says 5'2" to 5'6". I am 5'3" and it was way too long. The back middle strap hung down. It was a very unflattering dress.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Jun 10, 2013
Pretty dress, but didn't wear it
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the long length was not long enough. I am 5'11" and was wearing flats due to a foot injury and the long just barely touched the ground. Would have wanted it to be 1-2 inches longer to feel comfortable in it. I did love the back, though, and the color is really beautiful in person.
Karen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6442
Apr 30, 2013
This dress was amazing and super flattering. GREAT COLOR.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
You definitely dont want to wear this dress if you are well endowed. I am very flat chested so I was fine but it would be problematic if you really need to wear a bra.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Apr 30, 2013
BEAUTIFUL!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. Very simple, but extremely elegant. I highly recommend it. I got tons of compliments as most people had never seen this design.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4443
Mar 12, 2013
Dress and color were beautiful -I got so many compliments!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fits true to size and is gorgeous. Can pull off Regular length if you are tall and wear a black shoe or another color that blends with dress and doesn't have too high a heel (2" max probably). Otherwise, I would go with the Long. Also, you will definitely need to buy an adhesive, backless bra.
layla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5542
Mar 12, 2013
Gorgeous and elegant dress!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color of this dress is stunning. Completely elegant look , but sexy at the same time!
jacki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Mar 4, 2013
A classy, sexy dress!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress has a very flattering drape around the mid-section and hips, so if you want it to be skin-tight or form fitting you should size down. I preferred that the cut was figure flattering and elegant but not super tight. I'm 5'7 and I'm glad I got the long size in this garment - it was skimming the floor in 4 inch heels, so it was perfect. The color is a little brighter in person than pictured in the photo (more purple than plum), but I thought it was beautiful and the back on this garment is an absolutely show-stopper. I will definitely rent this again!
Kristin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Mar 1, 2013
Great, great, great!
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Picked this dress for a friend's formal wedding. The color was vibrant and the fit was great. I ordered a 0L and a 2L; ended up wearing the 0L. I might have been able to get away with a 0R though. I'm 5'5" and wore 4 inch heels, and the slight train on the dress got in my way on occassion, mostly while dancing. This was the first time I've used Rent The Runway and I will definitely be renting again soon. Overall, great experience and great dress.
Stacie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3633
Feb 25, 2013
Wore this to my husbands black-tie work event-can't believe all the compliments!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'7 and typically a size 4; ordered both the 4R and 2R- the 2R fit perfectly with 1-inch heels. I wore a NuBra and used the side tape and everything stayed in place all night long.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Jan 27, 2013
I loved this dress but unfortunately was unable to wear it!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous and very flattering from the front. I am 5'4" and have a short torso. The back strap was a bit too long and buckled in the back. I usually wear a size 10, but the size 8 fit perfectly. I also have a full size D bust and it fit perfectly. The back of this dress is very revealing. At 160lbs, I was a little self conscious of wearing this dress because my back is not toned enough.
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4432
Jan 25, 2013
The color is a great alternative to black!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would strongly recommend this dress. First, the back is beautiful and the real highlight of the dress. I thought i would need to use fashion tape to keep the edges down, but there weren't any gaps. Also, when ordering online, it may be difficult to choose the correct size, but because this dress isn't meant to be worn skin tight, it is more forgiving, and it is more likely to fit you. I normally don't wear a zero (as my mom was quick to point out to me), but the dress runs slightly large. I knew I was going to be standing all night so I wore 1-2 inch heels. The dress dragged a little bit on the ground, but it is not overly long. If you get the regular length, you don't have to kill yourself wearing those 6 inch heels that always seem like a good idea at the beginning of the night that you just end up taking off! I hope you enjoy the dress as much as I did!
AC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Jan 9, 2013
the color and the back
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit a little loose in the back but great looking in every aspect
KK
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 1, 2013
Great color, Great back, Would rent again!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I chose to wear the bigger size because I needed the length with the shoes I was wearing. The fit was flattering, and it worked well with a NuBra. The color is fantastic. The dress was forgiving to problem areas, but I did not feel like I was wearing something without shape.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress