Rent the Runway

Diane von Furstenberg

Pebble Illusion Dress

$100 rental
$598 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

So runway chic! This Diane von Furstenberg pebble print sheath is beyond words. Earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops are the final piece to this fashion puzzle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Lace (51% Viscose, 49% Polyamide lining, 97% Polyester, 3% Spandex). Long Sleeves. Mock neck. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 42” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

91 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 71
Large 7
Photos 47
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Don't let the high neck and low hem fool you - this dress is deceptively sexy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 6 and the 8, and the 6 fit like a glove. There was extra room in the waist, but I fixed that with a small jeweled belt. I didn't find the sleeves to be tight. The dress hit right below my knee, so a beautiful high heel made the dress flattering and sexy without revealing much skin. My husband absolutely loved it! I felt totally appropriate for his company holiday party, where dress is always a mixed bag (suits to cocktail dress). Can't go wrong with DVF - many compliments. Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Unfortunately, I could not wear the dress although it is very elegant and well made

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The con was that the lace netting arms were very very tight at the upper arm for someone who has very thin upper arms. I was very afraid that I was going to rip the dress if I opened and closed my arms. While maybe a larger size might have bigger arms the rest of the dress fit perfectly so it was disappointing. If your arms are not petite, thin, you may have trouble getting the lace on.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Nice dress but don't forget the double-sided tape

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress is beautiful and more comfortable than I thought it would be especially since I have very sensitive skin and I was afraid the lace sleeves will make me itch or sweat. The one thing that ruined the whole look was that the nude slip underneath was actually longer than the lace by a bit so it kept peeking on the front and the back the whole night! Additionally, the dress kept riding up which made it even worse. It is sewn to the lace on the sides so I couldn't just push it up underneath and I forgot the doublesided tape at home so I was really frustrated. Instead of looking well put together I ended up having to pull and push and tuck and adjust and fidget every few minutes.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

VERY SEXY

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I think this is my absolute favorite dress from RTR. I received tons of compliments on it. I will point out that the sleeves on this dress is super fitted and if your arms are on the bigger side it will be hard to get into.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Beautiful dress, but size is hit-or-miss.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I hate to give this dress a mediocre rating, because it was just as lovely on the hanger as in the pictures. However, DVF runs large and I should have kept this in mind. It was not form-fitting on the "small of my back" and it is supposed to be a fitting dress. If you are quite petite, I would keep this in mind-- it was tight on the butt, bust, and on the arms but simply too large on the waist. There is no stretch material so it either fits, or it doesn't. Unfortunately, I experienced the latter :(
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 20, 2013

Fits like a glove!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is true to size and fits like a glove. The arms / sleeves felt a bit tight when I first put on the dress but within 15/20 minutes they were fine. The dress fell below the knee for me - I wore a size 6. Love this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Very nice dress, unusual and made with attention to details

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to a NY Party. It was perfect: the fabric, the cut, the pattern, the fit. It's a very classic dress that everybody from the party still remembers.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 23, 2013

Great fit. But blah on me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was edgy and fun and a bit tight on the arms. Be warned: the slip is longer than the dress. I returned the dress. Didn't do much for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Overall - amazing dress!, very classy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my birthday and was SO glad with my choice!! Received a lot of compliments throughout the night! The dress definitely stood out. It is a bit large around the waist area..and the arms are slightly small, but overall was a decent fit.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

...tons of compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
...lovely dress - fit well but as others have stated the arms are VERY tight fitting - my arms are not huge but toned & I had some difficulty getting the sleeves on. Other than that the dress was great & fit like a glove...
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

disappointed :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sadly, I did not get to have my moment in this dress. It is a beautiful, unique look and a lovely dress overall, but the lace arms are not cut for an athletic build. I usually wear a 4, and the size 4 fit everywhere except for the upper arms. I also ordered a size up 6, and could not get into the arms of it either. Would have loved to wear this one but unfortunately, it won't work for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so elegent and so sexy at the same time. Like the other reviews said the arms are tight so if your arms are on the larger side i would say pick another dress, but the dress fit amazingly. I got so many compliments on how great my body looked in the dress. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

The dress was spectacular.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I normally wear a size 8 or 10. The size 10 fit me but I chose to wear the size 12 so that I would have extra room. The size 10 was very form fitting and I normally like a little room in my clothes. This dress is awesome. I received many compliments. It really looked great. Thank you.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

Wore this to an elegant restaurant for dinner.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit is perfect. A great relatively conservative, yet very flattering dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
May 11, 2013

Beautiful dress, made me feel like a diva, husband LOVED it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit was perfect (size 4), the arms are a little snug getting into the dress and my arms are lean and long. But once you're in it, the dress looks great. Only item to watch out for is the hem for the under-bodice is a little long. Otherwise, you're covered up from neck to knee but in a very sexy-sophisticated-glam way. Perfect for my birthday dinner celebration at the #1 restaurant in the SF.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

everyone loved this dress on me!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress and people were looking like this is nice .. different and nice.... looks great on the bod!!!! fits true to size I think. I could have gone smaller to a 4. but the size 6 was ok!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2013

many compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
many compliments
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

Sophisticated and elegant.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a large Ivy League event where most of the other women were in your basic LBD with pearls.....it was a great way to stand out from the crowd. Got lots of compliments. It is very form fitting and really hugs every curve. It hit me just above the knees, which was a great length for the event .
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

Great dress and fit.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a gala and got a lot of compliments. Great fit in all the right places without looking too skimpy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

The dress is great quality and arrived in perfect condition.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately, the shape of the dress just did not sit well on my body. The 4 was extremely fitted but there is not much give so any movement made me feel like I might bust out. The 6 fit more comfortably where the 4 was too tight - hips/bust - but was much too loose around my waist/lower back. The length was PERFECT for my height so it was disappointing that when I walked around a bit the dress rode up slightly (may have been because of the poor fit on me). Overall, the dress is great and I would recommend it for someone more inclined to be comfortable in a fitted dress with limited range of motion.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

First RTR experience was perfect.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was well made. I thought it was more grey but it was a black lace over an ivory slip. The sleeves are tight unless you have pencil arms. The dress length and arm length was perfect and the cut was very flattering. I received the dress early, it was in perfect condition, and I will be using RTR for my next event!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

Beautiful Dress - Great Fabric!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was a gorgeous dress and I absolutely loved the fabric and illusion. It was a back up dress and unfortunately my first choice trumped this one.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

LOVED. Fit like a glove.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got a TON of compliments on this dress. I loved everything about it for my Holiday party.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

Unfortunately i did not have a chance to wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 2 was perfect on my body but i couldn't get the sleeves on and the size 4 was perfect on the sleeves but loose on my body.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

I looked fabulous...no one else had this dress....and three women stopped to say how stunning it was

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it is a form fitting dress...so no lumps or bumps...wear your spanx...the sleeves are tight, but I have thin toned arms so it was not an issue. if you have "plumper" arms...maybe not for you. the dress is comfortable and easy to move it...you don't feel like a stuffed sausage...I ordered the 6 and 8....I am 5' 8" and weigh 130 lbs. the 6 was perfect...the 8 was huge.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 22, 2014

I loved the dress, runs a little small and doesn't stretch, also a little too long for me.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Runs small, a little too long other than that very sexy dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

The look on my husband's face when he saw me in the dress was unforgettable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits like a glove. I was expecting a print fabric but the design is actually from the lace overlay. Still a lovely dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Sexy dress that hugs the curves

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Overall, amazing dress! I run between a size 10-12. Would have liked to have worn the 10, but it was in a little rough shape (some snags and underslip hem undone), but this way I was super comfy all evening. This dress shows off all the curves in all the best ways. Underslip could drop below hemline, but totally fixed with fashion tape affixing to "spanx slip". Would rent again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

The dress is beautiful.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Arms were tight. Slip underneath kept showing but honestly i felt like a million bucks. Would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

LOVE this dress! Super simple, very flattering, super sexy with out being 'hootchie'.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a style that works best on tall, athletic shapes. The fabric is thin and the fit snug so unless you want to be sucking in your stomach all night - do your crunches before renting! The arms are also on the snug side so if you are VERY muscular or bigger in the arm this dress won't work. The fabric is a sort of pebble-lace design which adds interest but not overly patterned.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 28, 2014

Liked the dress but did not wear it. Fit not great on me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a medium. But this dress I needed a large. It was tight in the shoulders and the zipper buckled in the back and would not lay down. I am hourglass and maybe if I did not have the curves it would have layed down properly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 3, 2014

Not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
In general a good conservative dress. Nothing to complain about, really, just not very exciting. Also did not like the way that the neck gaped in contrast to the tight rest of the dress. The sleeves were uncomfortably tight and I don't have very big arms. I would say just ok but comfort/look ratio was off. If I'm going to be uncomfortable I want to at least look great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2014

The pattern

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jun 26, 2014

Fabulous

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this dress fit like a dream. Had to wear the smaller back up dress due to the Med had a hole in the sleeve that couldn't be hidden, but worked out. Unique design,
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 25, 2014

It was an amazing dress! Got tons of compliments and fits perfectly! Would highly recommend!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress for any affair! Not too tight and very comfortable especially for a taller female!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Eh..if it weren't for the arms...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is definitely beautiful and unique...however, as others have mentioned - the arms have zero stretch. I have an athletic build so my arms are not skinny - unfortunately, I had to return the dress. Even going a size up didn't help.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Conservative show-stopper!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
After a minor mishap with my original order, I worked via online chat with Melanie R. at RTR to find a new dress. She was so very helpful and offered many wonderful suggestions for a replacement. Based on what I told her I was looking for, we decided that this was the dress for me, and I definitely did not feel like I "settled." I can usually wear a 10 (and on rare occasions, an 8), but the 12 was the only size available on such short notice. While there was a little bit of extra fabric around the middle, it was something only I noticed. I loved this dress. It looked great and felt so nice, and the length was exactly how it's pictured. My husband said I looked "fantastic!" We had to stand for 30-45 minutes while people walked through a receiving line and shook our hands, and I never felt the need to adjust my dress -- and that's aways a good thing! I'm actually glad I ended up with the 12 after reading comments from others that the arms were tight because I felt comfortable all evening. The slip showed a little while I was seated, but I don't think it's a big deal.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Wanted to like it more, but didn't

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Took a risk and tried this one, but chose not to wear it because I didn't like the "snake-like" look of the pattern on me. Also was a little creeped out with the Morticia-like sleeves. Thought it looked great on others, just not for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Mar 16, 2015

Amazing! The most beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Perfectly fitted dress. Prettier in person than in photographs.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 6, 2015

Cool dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress and it fit like a glove. Like I read in others reviews the arms were a little tight for my muscles!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×