Pebble Illusion Dress

$100 rental
$598 retail
Stylist Notes

So runway chic! This Diane von Furstenberg pebble print sheath is beyond words. Earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops are the final piece to this fashion puzzle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Lace (51% Viscose, 49% Polyamide lining, 97% Polyester, 3% Spandex). Long Sleeves. Mock neck. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 42” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
123 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(89)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 25, 2012
"Hey! I just saw your picture!"

I really felt like I was a part of the upper crust wearing this number last night at the RTR Our Runway exclusive event! It was extremely flattering to my curves without making me feel out of place. The sleeves did fit a little snug on me, but that's because I work on my arms a bit. I was flattered when another girl walked up to me and said, "Great dress! We should take a picture!" until I realized she was in the same dress as me! My boyfriend already requested if I could rent this again soon, and I sure will!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 25, 2012
Narrow sleeves so if you tend to have bigger arms, you may find it tight. Good shape, great dress!

Narrow arms and a wee snug around the hips, but such a good dress. Don't plan on lifting your arms and dancing as there isn't a lot of movement in the sleeves.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
October 27, 2012
Absolutely amazing DVF!! Sexy with conservative undertones. A must have for this party season.

Nothing like lace and silk against your skin, and when you I wore this very sophisticated dress I felt like the diva of the party. I am definitely thinking about purchasing this one for my wardrobe. Thank you RTR!!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2012
Its a very nice special occasion dress.

make sure to order two sizes, as sleeves are rather narrow. upper shell is lace, therefore its rather an evening dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 67
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
October 29, 2012
Many compliments, slimming!

I got both a 10 and 12 because I tend to be in between, but with my Spanx slip was able to wear the 10. It looked great on. It looked to me like a print in the photo, but it is actually kind of a mesh layer of lace with an under layer. Very light weight and comfortable to wear. Only complaint is that the sleeves were too long...like 2 inches! Its not a sleeve that easily pushes up, so I just turned the excess under. If it were my own dress, I would have had the sleeves shortened. If I'd had to wear the size 12, those sleeves were even longer, that would have been a hassle. Overall, this was a great dress that everyone I know saw, so I wouldn't be wearing it again. I'm glad I didn't pay the $595 for it to sit in my closet. RTR made it really easy. It came right away and was very easy to return. I will use RTR again!~

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
November 7, 2012
This dress was a showstopper. i wore it to 2 events received so many compliments on the fit/design.

Fits perfectly. Sleeves are a little tight (as they should be), but if you have larger arms may be an issue.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 24, 2012
Beautiful dress

Very nice dress, especially if you are looking for something that shows your body, but is classy and conservative at the same time. It was great for a semiformal occasion. Keep in mind that sleeves are very narrow, so it's not a dress for dancing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
December 7, 2012
Don't let the high neck and low hem fool you - this dress is deceptively sexy.

I ordered the 6 and the 8, and the 6 fit like a glove. There was extra room in the waist, but I fixed that with a small jeweled belt. I didn't find the sleeves to be tight. The dress hit right below my knee, so a beautiful high heel made the dress flattering and sexy without revealing much skin. My husband absolutely loved it! I felt totally appropriate for his company holiday party, where dress is always a mixed bag (suits to cocktail dress). Can't go wrong with DVF - many compliments. Thanks RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2012
Unfortunately, I could not wear the dress although it is very elegant and well made

The con was that the lace netting arms were very very tight at the upper arm for someone who has very thin upper arms. I was very afraid that I was going to rip the dress if I opened and closed my arms. While maybe a larger size might have bigger arms the rest of the dress fit perfectly so it was disappointing. If your arms are not petite, thin, you may have trouble getting the lace on.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2012
I wore this for the Birchbox Dec Sneak Peek video and it was a great choice! http://birch.ly/WcD5OT

I usually wear a 4/6, and I ended up wearing the 4 because I wanted it to look form-fitting. The sleeves are on the tight side so it's probably not the best dress to wear to a wedding where you'll be dancing, but it's great for anything else. I had a great time wearing it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
December 17, 2012
Nice dress but don't forget the double-sided tape

the dress is beautiful and more comfortable than I thought it would be especially since I have very sensitive skin and I was afraid the lace sleeves will make me itch or sweat. The one thing that ruined the whole look was that the nude slip underneath was actually longer than the lace by a bit so it kept peeking on the front and the back the whole night! Additionally, the dress kept riding up which made it even worse. It is sewn to the lace on the sides so I couldn't just push it up underneath and I forgot the doublesided tape at home so I was really frustrated. Instead of looking well put together I ended up having to pull and push and tuck and adjust and fidget every few minutes.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
VERY SEXY

I think this is my absolute favorite dress from RTR. I received tons of compliments on it. I will point out that the sleeves on this dress is super fitted and if your arms are on the bigger side it will be hard to get into.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
Great dress for my firm's Holiday Party!

This was a great last minute rental for my law firm's holiday party. I have pretty muscular arms so it was a bit snug around the shoulders but I made it work. It's the perfect length and not-so-snug fit to it. I received many compliments that night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2013
This was my first experience, and I can't stop talking about RTR! I tell everyone to try it!

The dress fit according to most of the reviews and the RTR stylists' info. The sleeves definitely were tight, but nothing uncomfortable. I was a little worried about breaking through the lace, but probably unnecessarily so. I wore Spanx, and I would recommend doing the same. The size 6 fit perfectly, like it had been tailored for me personally. I ordered the size up, because of the sleeve tightness comments, so I would recommend the same, especially if you have larger biceps. The dress hung like it should.. I never felt like I had to pull or tug at it when standing up or sitting down (something that I think is so annoying and tacky!). I wore it with shiny goldish-silver shoes and simple red and silver earrings similar to the ones on the model. I started getting compliments on the dress even before arriving at the event!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 8, 2013
Fab for a Girl's Night in NYC!

Fit like a glove! Looks fab with a red lip, perfect for the holiday season.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
February 16, 2013
Brought all the boys to the yard

Great dress, great fit!!!! The only thing that was a slight issue were the sleeves they were kind of tight. The silhouette this dress gives is something i live for! So many people were trying to figure out who I was. RTR made me a celebrity for an evening.

StacyFebruary 16, 2013
Where'd you get your bracelet?
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 20, 2013
Very nice dress, unusual and made with attention to details

I wore it to a NY Party. It was perfect: the fabric, the cut, the pattern, the fit. It's a very classic dress that everybody from the party still remembers.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2013
Great fit. But blah on me.

This dress was edgy and fun and a bit tight on the arms. Be warned: the slip is longer than the dress. I returned the dress. Didn't do much for me.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 27, 2013
...tons of compliments on the dress!

...lovely dress - fit well but as others have stated the arms are VERY tight fitting - my arms are not huge but toned & I had some difficulty getting the sleeves on. Other than that the dress was great & fit like a glove...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 11, 2013
Amazing dress!

This dress is so elegent and so sexy at the same time. Like the other reviews said the arms are tight so if your arms are on the larger side i would say pick another dress, but the dress fit amazingly. I got so many compliments on how great my body looked in the dress. I would absolutely rent this dress again.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 30, 2013
Felt very comfortable while wearing a sexy dress!

I didn't realize the dress had overlying lace on a slip like material. I thought for some reason it was a spandex printed dress. I was pleasantly surprised it wasn't because the dress was all the more elegant. I was so happy with this dress, I danced all night without a care. I paired it with nude heels. Will def rent the runway again, this was a great experience!

AllisonMarch 30, 2013
I have a question: Do you think this dress would be good for an event in May at the beach? Or is it more of a "fall/early spring" dress?
RTR CustomerMarch 30, 2013
Hi Allison, I think this dress would be a great for a fall or spring event. The neck does make it not so summery
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 10, 2013
the dress was perfect for this occasion

the lining kept coming out from underneath and showing but dress itself was very comfortable. from the pictures it looks like a graphic print when in fact its just the lace that makes it look that way

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 23, 2013
LOVED this dress!! Rented it for my birthday party and received so many complements!

The pattern of the dress is fabulous! Photographs well. As some have also said in their reviews of this dress the sleeves are a lil tight. Lucky for me my arms are not that big so it wasn't uncomfortable. I so wish I could rent this dress again for the next big party!! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 2, 2013
This is an OK dress.

A second choice to a few others but still a nice dress. There are others that I prefer, however, a good second choice

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 23, 2013
everyone loved this dress on me!!!!

I wore this dress and people were looking like this is nice .. different and nice.... looks great on the bod!!!! fits true to size I think. I could have gone smaller to a 4. but the size 6 was ok!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 20, 2013
Sophisticated and elegant.

I wore this to a large Ivy League event where most of the other women were in your basic LBD with pearls.....it was a great way to stand out from the crowd. Got lots of compliments. It is very form fitting and really hugs every curve. It hit me just above the knees, which was a great length for the event .

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2013
Great dress and fit.

Wore this to a gala and got a lot of compliments. Great fit in all the right places without looking too skimpy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 21, 2013
SO many compliments on this beautiful dress~!

Fits like a glove! Perfect for a fall wedding or holiday party. The dress was right below the knee and is very figure flattering! Would love to buy this dress for myself!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
many compliments

many compliments

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 26, 2013
Stunning on! Was noticed and regarded as the Belle of the Ball! Flawless! Def Rich and Famous!

Fit well however the line in back moved about all night! Slip showed all night! Could have worn the 8 or the 10 however the 8 had a huge hole down the side. The 10 had a small hole on the arm which I masked.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 30, 2013
The dress is great quality and arrived in perfect condition.

Unfortunately, the shape of the dress just did not sit well on my body. The 4 was extremely fitted but there is not much give so any movement made me feel like I might bust out. The 6 fit more comfortably where the 4 was too tight - hips/bust - but was much too loose around my waist/lower back. The length was PERFECT for my height so it was disappointing that when I walked around a bit the dress rode up slightly (may have been because of the poor fit on me). Overall, the dress is great and I would recommend it for someone more inclined to be comfortable in a fitted dress with limited range of motion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 1, 2014
The dress it like a glove!

Pro: Youll look amazing in it, it shows all your curves Con: NOne!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2014
First RTR experience was perfect.

Dress was well made. I thought it was more grey but it was a black lace over an ivory slip. The sleeves are tight unless you have pencil arms. The dress length and arm length was perfect and the cut was very flattering. I received the dress early, it was in perfect condition, and I will be using RTR for my next event!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
January 23, 2014
The design is very tasteful and flattering to hug any body type!

I loved this dress, it was very flattering on me although my waist is a little slimmer than my hips so it fit a bit loose there but other than that it fit pretty well! Overall loved the dress and the long sleeve on it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 20, 2014
I looked fabulous...no one else had this dress....and three women stopped to say how stunning it was

it is a form fitting dress...so no lumps or bumps...wear your spanx...the sleeves are tight, but I have thin toned arms so it was not an issue. if you have "plumper" arms...maybe not for you. the dress is comfortable and easy to move it...you don't feel like a stuffed sausage...I ordered the 6 and 8....I am 5' 8" and weigh 130 lbs. the 6 was perfect...the 8 was huge.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
February 22, 2014
I loved the dress, runs a little small and doesn't stretch, also a little too long for me.

Runs small, a little too long other than that very sexy dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
February 24, 2014
The look on my husband's face when he saw me in the dress was unforgettable!

Fits like a glove. I was expecting a print fabric but the design is actually from the lace overlay. Still a lovely dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2014
Sexy dress that hugs the curves

Overall, amazing dress! I run between a size 10-12. Would have liked to have worn the 10, but it was in a little rough shape (some snags and underslip hem undone), but this way I was super comfy all evening. This dress shows off all the curves in all the best ways. Underslip could drop below hemline, but totally fixed with fashion tape affixing to "spanx slip". Would rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 2, 2014
LOVE this dress! Super simple, very flattering, super sexy with out being 'hootchie'.

This is a style that works best on tall, athletic shapes. The fabric is thin and the fit snug so unless you want to be sucking in your stomach all night - do your crunches before renting! The arms are also on the snug side so if you are VERY muscular or bigger in the arm this dress won't work. The fabric is a sort of pebble-lace design which adds interest but not overly patterned.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
April 18, 2014
A barrage of compliments

I wasn't prepared for all the compliments i rec'd on this dress! I picked it because it covered me from my neck to my knees, needing modesty for a corporate evening event. However it is also fashionably form-fitting (w/o being overtly sexy) and it was obviously a hit judging from all the positive feedback. The size 4 fit well except around the neck which had to be pinned tighter to keep it from sagging. It is true the sleeves could be tight if your arms aren't small but this wasn't an issue i had. The dress was a thin material, was comfortable, and didn't wrinkle even after being seated for several hours. I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×