Rent the Runway

Diane von Furstenberg

Magnetic Attraction Dress

$40 rental
$698 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

355 reviews

Fit
Small 39
True to Size 256
Large 26
Photos 214
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 16, 2014

It was so fun and sparkly

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this for cirque de sole! So much fun and this dress was perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

I received a TON of compliments on this dress and felt beautiful all night! Great Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to my sister in laws wedding and felt great all night! It's a little short but as long as you don't have to bend over a lot it's nothing to be embarrassed about. Great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Fabulous dress! Very flattering. Got lots of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is definitely flattering. It's tight, but hides flaws. I felt great in it. It's a little short, so I wouldn't recommend it without tights. I got a ton of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

I wore this dress to a banquet honoring my husband and other up-and-coming Kansas optometrists.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is eye-catching, and it photographs well. I also expected it to be sort of scratchy, especially the sleeves, and it was very comfortable. My only slight quibbles were the hem and the beading, and I think this is just wear and tear on a rented dress, but: The hem bunched a little in places, given it a quickly sewn, last minute job kind of look, and some of the beads were cracked or broken. Again, nothing anyone would notice unless they were closely scrutinizing your look, but that's why I'm only giving this one 4, instead of 5, stars.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
May 6, 2014

I just found out I was pregnant, so it was fun dressing up in a figure hugging dress one more time!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually a 4 but had to wear the 6. Loved the way it sparkled!
RTR Customer
Age: 28
May 10, 2014

It was extremely comfortable and flattering.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit amazingly, I assumed the height of the model made it appear shorter on her than in reality. However, it was a little short, but it worked our beautifully. There were a few threads along the sleeve, but it's understandable considering it's been worn a number of times, unbeknownst to you. Overall: very satisfied.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 18, 2014

Very stunning and unique dress, gorgeous

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
extremely comfortable, easy to dance in, fit perfectly, was in excellent condition. One sleeve had a small pull but it was barely noticeable. For the price it was extremely worth it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Very different and fun!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up dress since the original one I'd ordered wasn't available at the last minute. I have to admit, I wasn't as excited about it at first, but it ended up being perfect! It is really comfortable and so different and distinct, that so many people stopped me to compliment and ask about the dress. And this was at a fashion show! It's definitely short, and I wasn't sure about wearing it without nylons, but it was a summer event, so I went for it. You also need a strapless bra with it, which isn't clear from the photos. It does snag very easily and the little sparkly things fall off a lot. But it fits really nicely and is a great way to stay fashionable and comfortable at an event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 7, 2014

Loved this dress! Wore it to an Emmy Nominee party and got compliments from everyone!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was true to size. Very body hugging! Felt like a rock star!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Just perfect

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly - jaw dropping. Very comfortable.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Fantastic dress and first RTR experience!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a designer Gala, and couldn't have found a better dress! Was so elegant and sexy. Got so many compliments, and made me feel like the bomb.com. Only issue I had was the lining in the back kept peeking out at the bottom. Other than that, fit and everything was great.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

Better than a LBD - sexy and glamorous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back up-back up dress as the one I really wanted was only available in one size so I had RTR mail me a totally different back up and those 2 didn't fit. I was so bummed but luckily I was able to just drop by at the NYC Flatiron store and choose this one. I couldn't have been happier with it. Went with my own shoes and the bag I also rented (Whiting & Davis Chrome Clutch) perfectly!! It was so comfortable and slimming it seemed. It had the right amount of sparkle without it being an itchy all over sequined dress. Only reason for 4 stars is that it did have a pull on one arm that wasn't noticeable to anybody but me and some of the beading was broken or scratched. Once again - not noticeable to anybody else.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

Perfect dress for a cool night and the beads were great under the lights on the dance floor.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, so comfortable. I wear between 00-2 for dresses depending on brand and went with the 2 because the 0 was a tad short. I was able to wear a bra underneath without it showing. Definitely got a ton of compliments and it looks great in the pics! Would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Cute for a wedding, not for my body shape.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Cute dress, not a huge fan of the neckline on my body type but that is probably more my fault than the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 27, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was perfect for a holiday party. The metal pieces on the dress created a great effect with the reflection of the lights. Its a thick material which helped to keep warm at night when the temperatures drops. I wore it with a pair of silver opened toed heels which really highlighted the features on the dress. Overall it was the perfect dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Danced All Night!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So I ordered the 6 and the 8 in this dress. Both fit great however the 6 was a little too short for me as I like to get down on the dance floor. The silver beading does snag a bit on the dress itself but not enough to make it annoying. It was extremely comfortable to wear and easy to dance in. Perfect for a fancy night wedding!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Perfect for an anniversary dinner

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress a a perfect combination of sexy and classy- perfect for an anniversary dinner at a fine dining restaurant in SF. You can tell this dress has been around awhile, little snags on the sleeves, some of the beads coming off and the lining of he dresses coming out from the hem of the dress. Nonetheless I was very happy with this rental!! Of course got compliments from the bf but also other men ;)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Got a ton of compliments, but dress ran small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Even though I personally didn't love the way this dress fit, I actually got A TON of compliments. It does look gorgeous in pictures (sadly I only got one picture this night). The issue I had was it fit slightly weird. It definitely runs small, so the 4 (I ordered a 2 and a 4) was even slightly tight in the stomach area, but really lose in the upper back and shoulder area. I rented this for a rehearsal dinner so I was sitting down most of the night anyways, but if it was an event where I had to stand and move more, it might have been more of an issue. Still, I was happy with the dress overall, just not one of my favorites.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

It went perfect for homecoming!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There wasn't anything wrong with it to me. Loved it!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

I went to my very first New York Fashion Week runway show, and I felt so chic in my DVF mini dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit perfectly-- not too loose or too tight.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Fun dress for a night out!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was a hit, I received a lot of compliments on the fit and the embellishments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Keepin' it Classy and Comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a brisk fall day, so the long sleeves kept me warm. The hemline was perfect for dancing all night long! I was completely comfortable.. I didn't have to worry about my boobs falling out or stomach sticking out. Great dress!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

I felt like a million bucks in this dress and got many compliments throughout the night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit me like a glove, but was slightly snug in the booty. Overall, I had no issues and it was easy to move around in and dance.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

This dress is sexy, fun, and classy! I loved it!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a dress to wear to a black and white themed party in October. This dress was perfect! It is sexy without being overt. The sequins are super fun and look great in pictures and on the dance floor. The long sleeves are comfortable and were great for the short walk in the cold to the party. The neckline is wider so it balance out your lower half if you carry your weight there. I am between a 2 and 4 and I went with the 2 because I liked how the tighter fit looked (especially because long sleeves can start looking more mature). I paired this dress with a open toe booties because it wanted to edge it up a bit and wore a simple silver stud earring because the sequins don't need any more bling. Overall this is a great fall/winter party dress!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

I awnt to own this!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Absolutely loved this dress. I had seen it many times before on RTR and almost rented it quite a few times, but never had before. I finally did and was so happy. It's the perfect date night dress or it could be dressed up for something more formal. I also wore it on a chilly October evening, but I feel like it can be worn most of the year. Fit well, but was definitely on the shorter side, if that's a problem for you.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Loved the sparkle and long sleeves of the dress. Perfect for the CMA Awards in Nashville

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The size I needed wasn't available, so I sized up. It was a little baggy but honestly only I could tell. Great dress! Only con was the lining showing at the bottom but definitely not a deal breaker. Perfect for a fun night out on the down!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Was a great looking dress that I wouldn't normally wear

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received two sizes; the 4 that is my normal size, and the 2 which I ended up wearing. I ordered down for my second size after reading some reviews. The 2 and 4 fit almost the same, but I went with the 2 because it laid across the top of the back nicer than on the 4. Both dresses seemed to have an issue with the lining staying in place (it would pop out the bottom), but I wore black sheer tights and that seemed to help a little. There was a small hole in the armpit of the dress I wore and later on in the evening my husband noticed another hole on the sleeve. Nothing crazy noticeable, but there are a lot of opportunities for snags on the dress. Overall, I was really happy with the fit and it was a very comfortable dress to wear. It allowed me to wear something I wouldn't normally pick, and it was perfect for a November evening wedding.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Nov 16, 2014

gorgeous dress! looked better in real life than in the picture, and im sooo happy it fit perfectly!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
true to size and a good length, even for a shorty like me (5 ft)! it came to about mid-thigh. no need for jewelry, the dress alone dazzles! its very comfortable, even though its fitted throughout.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Fun cocktail party dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented the 2 and 4. The 2 was basically a shirt on me. I'm 5'8" and even trying it on with tights was an absolute no-go. The 4 that I got had a large hole under the arm, the lace was tattered and the hem was a mess. I called RTR as my event was the next night. They have amazing customer service. She told me that they had another 4 but it was in dry cleaning and she couldn't guarantee it would be done so she overnighted me 2 sizes of a new backup dress and promised to send the 4 separately if it made it out on time. The next day I got 3 dresses. Ended up still liking this one more and the new 4 was perfect. 5 stars on RTR's customer service!! Was so appreciative and got so many compliments! I'm a lifelong customer now. Have probably rented 5-6 times in the past 8 months and have told SO many people about this company.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

Fun birthday dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my birthday dinner with friends. Is a bit short, but looked great with black tights and booties for the cold weather. Pretty true to size and material seemed to have some nice stretch to it, so while fitted, it didn't seem tight. Only complaint was that the lining seemed to peak out a little when sitting.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Great dress for a formal cocktail gala.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: -long sleeves for cold wintery evenings -versatile: started at a formal gala, ended at more casual bars & never felt out of place or uncomfortable Cons: - runs a little large. I wear a lot of DVF. I usually wear 0 in the brand but sometimes they're a bit snug. I was surprised that I had extra fabric in the waist on this one. - the slip moves around a bit (probably because dress is a little big) Overall a beautiful dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Loved this dress.Used it for a presentation.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered the size 2 and 4 - I am between the two and used the 2. I did use the two-sided tape at the shoulders as it would have slid side to side if I had not. It was the right length for me - a couple of inches above the knee (and I am 5'1') .
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Little black dress with sparkle!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
Comfortable dress, sleeves a tad short but I'm 5'11, long legs, long arms...This dress is a head turner
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

I wore this dress for my sorority semi-formal and it was the perfect dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly! It was very slimming; i worried that the texture and embellishments would make me look wider or emphasize my stomach, but that didn't happen at all. It might look short in my pictures, but the length was perfect for being both tasteful and youthful.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Great fun dress!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for Christmas work party. The dress is beautiful very elegant and sexy at the same time. It does run short if you have curves, hips and bigger bottom. One con with the dress was the sequins kept falling off the dress. Very flattering overall.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Dec 7, 2014

The perfect combo of flashy and classy

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wears a size 0 in dresses like this but the 0 was extremely tight in the arms. I ended up in the size 2. Only issue is that it seemed like other people might have had the same problem with the arms being small since there were a few holes in the lace in the upper arm/armpit area. Other than that, I wish I owned this dress!! Got so many compliments throughout the night... Even from people I didn't know but just wanted to tell me how beautiful my dress was!! Wish I could rent this for every event! Love it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Great "Holiday-esque" dress

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was comfortable for the most part; letting my arms was a bit difficult. The downside was I left nearly a trail of beads wherever I went. The beads started to fall off as soon as I put the dress on to when I took it off - although in sure it's purely from the use. The dress was perfect for a Christmas party at a country club and was warm enough with the sleeves to make the cold weather bearable. Great choice and highly recommend!
RTR Customer
Age: 31
Dec 7, 2014

I loved this dress! It's beautiful and very comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's work holiday party. It was the perfect dress for the occasion. I have big boobs (36DD) and read a ton of reviews to make sure this dress would fit. I am a size 8 and rented the 6 and 8 and both fit well. The 6 was a bit shorter and seemed more worn. I could see a lot of strings coming off the dress. The 8 looked a lot better which is the main reason I chose to wear it. I loved this dress! Super comfortable and really flattering.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Very flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I absolutely love this dress. I wore it all night and felt super comfortable in it. I also received several complements during the night. Would definitely recommend.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Unique and fun

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress on RTR. In person it looked like picture. The challenge was the material had a lot of give. I'd recommend getting a size smaller. Tried to follow up with RTR but one was not available for me. I wore the size 2. But , should have gotten a zero. Overall unique dress that no one else was wearing.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×