Magnetic Attraction Dress

$118 to buy
$698 retail
Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
399 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(282)
Small
(45)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
March 19, 2015
This dress was amaaaazing!!!!
I wore this for a charity event. Fits great, very comfortable to dance in, sexy yet sophisticated. Love, love, love!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2015
Really liked how it combined lace & sparkles! Perfect for a holiday party.
The fit was pretty true to size. It worked perfect for the occasion. Only issue I had with it was it seemed to snag my tights and grab my hair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2015
The delivery and return was so easy
This dress was so perfect for a loft black and white tie wedding. I got so many compliments all night. The fit was rest not too tight and I was able to dance all night in it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
March 10, 2016
Tons of compliments!
I wore this for an awards gala for my local chamber of commerce and as a board member, I wanted to snazz it up a bit as it was our first one. Needless to say I got a boatload of compliments!! Everyone asked where I got the dress and I told them RTR and how great it is! Only downfall of the dress was it being a little tight in my biceps and then the lining occasionally hung longer than the dress. But I loved it regardless!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2017
Winter Rehearsal
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and it was cozy and perfect for the winter time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 27, 2012
.
dress runs a little large, like most DVF clothing. but beautiful dress, the beading is amazing. i would wear it again!
LizNovember 28, 2012
i am thinking of getting this dress for NYE - do you have any photos of you in it? I am the same height as you, how short was it? Was the length comfortable?
ChristinaDecember 3, 2012
Same question! I'm 5'9" and don't want this dress to be super short. Where did it fall on you for length?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
Just enough sparkle to grab their eye...
I absolutely loved this dress. I chose 2 different styles and ended up wearing this one. BUT, it was a hard decision. The neckline is perfect for someone with a long neck or wide shoulders. Also very flattering to your collarbones. I would recommend wearing your hair swept to one side or all the way up as to not hide the neckline. The fit was comfortable. I rented a 2 and it fit loosely. It wasn't too loose but just enough that it draped on me. I could've easily worn a 0 had I rented that instead and I'm sure it would've still fit wonderfully. This is one dress, though, that I'd choose a size DOWN instead of up as your backup size. I also thought the length of the dress was perfect. A size smaller wouldn't have made it too short either. I have long legs, but I'm sure someone shorter would still find it an appropriate length for almost any event. The beads on the dress are incredible. They sparkle just enough to be beautiful and classy without being too "in-your-face" sparkly like some sequin dresses. These are not sequins at all; they are beautiful beads sewn into the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 11, 2012
Received incredible compliments and the dress was a winner!
Could have gone down a size to a 4. Would have fit much more snugly, but still a great dress to wear!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
December 12, 2012
Pretty dress but runs big. Long sleeves are a nice plus so you can look cute but not be cold.
I wasn't able to wear this dress for my event because both sizes I ordered were too large. I would recommend going a size down for your backup size, especially if you are small waisted. It was a very generous size 0 - more like an average 2, I'd say. Also, I'd rate this dress on the conservative side of things, overall. Good for an office event or a formal occasion with family.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 19, 2012
Appropriate and classy, perfect for company holiday party
Although this isn't the typical style that I opt for, I decided to give it a try. I was able to try on the dress at Scoop and realized that the fit is rather generous. So instead of ordering the usual 10, I got a 8 (and 6 as backup). When the day arrived, the 6 felt a tad too snug -- especially around the arms and waist. The 8 looked about the same, except I could actually breathe. So I went with the 8. The quality of the dress was superb. The metal pieces are really fun, but not overly cumbersome. It was easy to move around and dance in this dress. Many compliments were given -- but I'd recommend pairing it with some really sexy shoes or (in my case) statement-making tights! Pros: + Comfortable, easy to wear -- the chest area is the only place that was a bit snug, so to avoid looking flat, wear a push up bra underneath + Unique look -- the metal really shines in photos! + Tasteful -- front is covered, back is covered, but since it's form fitting, it still feels sexy Cons: + Metal pieces on the arms can snag + When flash photography is being used, the inside lining looks a bit too white/pasty for me + Boatneck has a bit of loose fabric that feels a bit strange/distracting + Not a "huggable" dress
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 2, 2013
I would recommend this dress
This was a bit large on me. Size 2 are usually a bit snug and this was definitely not. It hit middle thigh so it wasn't too short though. It is nice quality and exactly as I expected from the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
Classy LBD
I was supposed to wear this for a NYE party but the dresses were delayed until after NY. It was cute but ended up being too big. I don't know that I would rent it again for a NYE event as it was a bit too conservative for a NYE party. The boatneck ended up looking weird on me but that could have been because it was too big. Otherwise it was a classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107lbs
February 4, 2013
Fun, classy, unique dress!
Although this dress was pretty, I had to do a few things to make it work since it definitely ran large on me and I needed to temporarily hem it up and fold up the sleeves. Overall, it's a little glitzy without being over the top and looks classy and fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 13, 2013
Rent the Runway got my dress to me right in time and even delivered to the hotel!
Super comfortable, long enough for my long legs!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 24, 2013
Pretty, comfy, and I received compliments all night!
This dress is so cute! The way the dress hangs on the midsection/stomach area is quite forgiving and flattering! It runs a little large though (I usually wear a 6 and probably could have worn a 4 except I ordered an 8 as my extra size), but overall I think that was better to have it a bit looser for dancing. The fabric isn't terribly breathable, which makes the dress pretty warm to wear. This was my first time to use RTR and I will be using it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 1, 2013
Sexy, Classy, Show Stopper!
This dress is absoultely gorgeous! It looks even more beautiful in person because you are able to see the gold beading much better. It is not soft, but definitely comfortable to wear (I danced in it all night!). The length was perfect--Short, but not too short. This gave it a sexy, yet classy feel. My only qualm was that I wish that I could have sized down. The 8 was a little big--the 6 would have been perfect. It was forgiving and extremely flattering. I really can't say enough about this dress. I would say though that I was a little warm at times, especially while dancing. I would not suggest wearing this dress in spring or summer--the material is a little heavier. Show stopper nonetheless..I couldn't believe the amount of compliments I got! Thanks RTR :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2013
Absolute stunner!
I loved every minute of wearing this dress and felt like a celebrity in it! I saw other reviews that it ran a bit large so I ordered a 2 and a 0 and wore the 0. I want to rent it over and over again!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
I got so many compliments!
I wore this dress to my boyfriends fraternity's formal, and since it was on a yacht the long sleeves were perfect! I usually tend to wear a 2 or 4, since you get a second size free I ordered both but ended up wearing the size 2. This dress was super comfortable and I got complimented all night long! This was my first RTR and I cannot wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113lbs
February 7, 2014
Pretty but BIG!
Did not wear this due to it being to big, it is also VERY short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
March 13, 2014
Theatre Award Ceremony
So overall I thought the dress was nice but it didn't blow me away like I wanted it to. And unfortunately it had a few issues. It's a popular dress so I imagine that it gets rented a lot and it showed. There were a few holes, some of the sequins were loose, and the lining of the dress was too long and it kept creeping down past the hem. I thought it looked nice on me but it was a little big and I probably should have rented the zero too instead of the four. I got a lot of compliments but it just wasn't perfect. This was my first RTR experience and while I will continue to use the service I was a little disappointed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 12, 2014
Pretty.
The fabric is a knit. Wasn't expecting that. The details are quite pretty.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 22, 2014
Great dress for a formal cocktail gala.
Pros: -long sleeves for cold wintery evenings -versatile: started at a formal gala, ended at more casual bars & never felt out of place or uncomfortable Cons: - runs a little large. I wear a lot of DVF. I usually wear 0 in the brand but sometimes they're a bit snug. I was surprised that I had extra fabric in the waist on this one. - the slip moves around a bit (probably because dress is a little big) Overall a beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 14, 2015
Pretty and conservative dress
It's a pretty dress that runs slightly big, I wore it to a work holiday party, I ordered both the 2 and the 4 and went with a 2. The sparkly bits will snag and some have already fallen off (when I received it). it's not really noticeable. If you are wearing a sweater though, it will snag on everything.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
January 31, 2015
Great dress!! Highly recommend.
Great fit. True to size. I was worried that the sleeve length would be too long, but the petite fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 16, 2015
Fun and flattering
I love pretty much anything DVF does, and this dress was no exception. It was VERY short - so keep that in mind if you're renting for something more formal. It was very comfortable though and gave you lots of space in the mid-section. Not too tight, but the shortness made it sexy still.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Weight: 133lbs
February 10, 2016
Stylist Review!
I wore this dress to a holiday work party and received so many compliments! I loved the fit as it was fitted but super comfortable. I also loved the long sleeves and silver accents - it matched perfectly with my silver and black heels. This is a great option for an evening event and can be easily dressed up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 11, 2013
Cute but not for me
I ordered this dress for a formal event. I tried it on and found it to run large. It was baggy and not flattering on my body type in my opinion. I ended up sending it back and wearing a dress of my own. Cute on the model but not on me. Might have been better if it fit more snugly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
Better in person
This was my backup dress and I'm really glad I got it. I ordered this in a 2 and it fit perfect, just a tad short. I'm 5' 11" so it was definitely a mini on me, but it fell at my hips and shoulders just right and the sleeve length was perfect. I'm glad it had long sleeves, it made it feel a little less revealing for how short it was on my tall frame. The pictures don't do the lace and beadwork justice. It was beautiful!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2013
This dress was a hit. I am typically a size 6, but the size 4 fit perfectly. Loved it!
I'm 5'7" and the length was perfect. I typically wear a 6, but the 4 was absolutely perfect in this dress. It hugged of the right places. I would highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
September 13, 2013
Beautiful dress. Wish I could have worn it.
Both sizes were too big. Couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
December 10, 2013
Fun dress!
I ended up renting this dress after my original became unavailable last minute, and I have to say I was so excited to try this one! It ended up fitting well, though ran a big large. I usually am a 4, but I had a fair amount of room left/extra fabric, and I think sizing down may have been more flattering. It wasn't enough to stop me from wearing it, but I would size down on your back up. Fun dress though - especially for the holidays!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103lbs
November 25, 2014
I loved this dress so much, but I didn't get a picture in it!
I've been losing weight, but this 0 ran larger than other 0's I own or have rented. The top of the dress flipped out a little around my neck. It was beautiful for the occasion, but unfortunately, the right sleeve was ripped and had a gaping hole in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2012
The dress was beautiful but a little "high maintenance."
I loved the look but hated the "high maintenance.". First, the neck line didn't always lay flat, and I had to tug at the length and sleeves to keep the front neck line from gaping. Next, there were two hanger straps that kept creeping out of the dress at the shoulders. Either I was tucking them in or someone standing near me was. It was annoying. If I owned this dress, I would have cut those out as you didn't really need them to keep the dress on the hanger. I was worried about the dress being too short, but it was perfect. Note: you need a strapless bra as the neck is cut wide.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
February 10, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress. Wore it to my office holiday party, with black tights which helped!
Fit okay, but maybe the 6 would have been too big!!?? Really stunning dress. I received compliments all night long. Would recommend renting your usual size and a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 189lbs
February 19, 2013
Felt like Cinderella and a nice change from my mommy gear of tennis & yoga pants!
Pros: I am tall with athletic legs, loved the fit but definitely tugged it down when I sat to not flash everyone! Comfortable and easy to wear. My hubby kept telling me how sexy I was all night! It was a definite show stopper for people I had not seen in 14 years ;-) Cons: Ran a bit small, I am a true Size 10 so I am glad that I got the 10,8 to be sure. I have quite large chest so I felt they were smashed a bit but workable. Would wear again in a heartbeat!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 15, 2013
This dress is absolutely stunning in person. Really flattering fit and high-quality fabric.
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party in Miami. I normally wear a 0 but it was very snug so I went with the 2. The dress was a huge hit...so many people told me how classy but sexy it looked. I love the cut of it: just tight and short enough, and the boatneck gave it great lines. I think it would look really nice to wear hair up or half back. I wore the dress with black patent pumps and diamond studs. No need for much jewelry as the dress speaks for itself.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2013
So fun!
Rented it for a NYE party. I'm tall and this ran pretty short on me. I normally wear a 6 but went with the 8 because I didn't want it to be quite so form-fitting. So maybe consider going a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139lbs
January 2, 2014
Beautiful dress. I just ordered too small.
Would look great for hourglass shape, but not for the large busted. I am normally between 6 & 8, but 8 was too small. Also, I suffer from square butt syndrome and it did nothing for my shape. But dress is pretty. Just no give in material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 6, 2014
So many compliments, so little time!
I wore this dress to my company Holiday Party this year. I was flooded with compliments and felt very comfortable. It did run a little smaller than I expected, but that's why you get a backup size, right? :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 9, 2014
.
the 0 fit, but the sleeves were way too tight for comfort. size 2 was great! paired it with sheer black leggings- great for a wintery night out!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×