Diane von Furstenberg

Dark Roses Dress

$75 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want the perfect prom dress? Rent this adorable Diane von Furstenberg dress. .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black pleated chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Full skirt with rosette detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 26'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

81 reviews

Fit
Small 22
True to Size 49
Large 10
Photos 32
Ashley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2013

Not Wedding Appropriate

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I did not end up wearing this dress. The fit is very small. I fit in to a 10 from all other styles fine and this I could not zip all the way. It is also VERY SHORT. Would be great for a party, but not enough coverage on top or bottom for a wedding! It is a pretty dress though and would work for other events.
mariah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013

if you want something fun, this is perfect.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered a size 6 & 8 and both ended up being too tight. Luckily, RTR has great customer service and I was sent a size 10 the next day. The 10 was still hard to zip up, but doable. I wouldn't recommend this dress if you have a larger bust. I'm a 34 B and I felt like I was about to fall out of the top most of the night.
Elle Dee
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

This dress looks amazing on!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of this dress is perfect, and very flattering. The only con is the top of the dress is really thin fabric, so you have to use fashion tape to keep it in place. Other than that, this dress was a big hit!
ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

I loved this dress and would rent it again.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit is awesome and true to size. I am 5 ft 7 and 130 lb. The size 4 was perfect.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 4, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a perfect dress! It fit perfectly and was flirty and fun! I didn't end up wearing this dress since I rented two for one event.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Rent This Dress With Caution

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress itself was lovely, but it simply did not fit. I have a 34D chest so I was cautious with reading others' reviews before deciding to go with this particular strapless. I normally wear a 4 but rented a 6 and 8, assuming I would need a little more fabric up top. After a new strapless bra and countless pieces of fashion tap, the 6 still exposed waaaayyy too much boob! As in, if it was literally 1/8th of an inch lower, it would have been a disaster. The 8 was WAY too big on my back/ribs so I had to stick with the 6. Also, tugging the top up all night shifted the hem line up too high and thus added a solid 10lbs on to my waistline. If you have a large chest, I'd definitely recommend a different style- not worth feeling self conscious on a special occasion!
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

RTR overnighted me this replacement dress when my original was delayed

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pretty tight right below the bust area, but I like a snug fit. I was pleasantly surprised with this dress when I had to choose it last minute after the dress I ordered was delayed. It is fun and young, perfect for going out for my birthday! Makes for a good twirl :)
Chelisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Adorable but short!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a beautiful dress. When I ordered it I ordered a size 10 and the backup sign of a 12. The 10 was out of stock and RTR was very nice enough to send me another dress in its place. The problem with this dress was that the 12 was too big in the chest area and overall way too short. I am 5'10. If I had worn this, I would have been worried about it all night.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Ended up not wearing the dress but it was adorable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Adorable dress, but rented two dresses and ended up not wearing this one. Was a bit more party dress (low cut/short hem) than I expected so I went with a more conservative dress for a wedding.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Dec 12, 2012

Wore this to a formal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit a little small on the top, but it was amazing and so flattering I LOVED it, I would buy it if I could afford it!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Cute dress, but runs very large

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wanted to wear this dress for my bachelorette party, but ended up wearing my backup dress. I usually wear a 6, but the 6 on me was definitely falling down. It's a shame, because it's a really cute dress. Definitely go down a size or two when renting
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Very cute dress! I didn't get to wear it, but I'll be renting it again.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Very cute dress! Great fit for pear-shaped girls, as it's super flattering for the bust, shoulders, and arms, while concealing full hips & bum. I am 5'10", so I was concerned about the length being too short. It was about as short as I'll go, but it was definitely wearable. I didn't get to wear it due to unforeseen events, but I'll be renting it again.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 159 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

I had to send this one back

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bodice on this dress was MUCH shorter than I was expecting. I have a long torso, in order to have the waist of the dress be at my waist (not look like an empire cut) the top was low enough that I wasn't comfortable wearing it to a wedding. The dress was beautiful, but it did not work with my body type.
Cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

really cute dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
really pretty dress. Flattering and super comfortable. Would definitely recommend it!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

I wore this dress for my best friend's rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress ran a little bit big, but still looked great. I got compliments on my look all night long! The best part about this dress is the short but full skirt - SO much fun to dance in!
Cecilia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

I rented this dress for a wedding and it was sooo cute! However, both sizes were too small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear sizes 8 or 10 and I am a 34B cup however, I couldn't even finish zipping up the size 10. It's such a cute dress! I really wish it would have fit.
Jane
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Sep 24, 2012

Not too much, I'm afraid.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
To be honest, this dress didn't work for me. The top section was short and in order to keep covered, the waistline was high and the A-line flair wasn't flattering. I was so disappointed because I think the dress is beautiful, but being pear shaped and having it not sit right on me was terrible.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Loved this dress - not crazy short, but the bust was a tad large on me

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit beautifully and I received loads of compliments. I wore a two, which i usually alternate between that or a four in RTR gowns. Bust was a tad large on me but I'm freakishly under-endowed in that area. I'm about 5'3, 120, 32b (ish) chest.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

Great dress! Just not the right fit for me.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful. My mom was going to wear it for my graduation part, but it didn't fit.
Sunny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Totally sexy and great party dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the fit. I have small breat, but dress really created nice breast cleavage. Would order dress again!!
Hermola
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
Sep 13, 2012

Love this dress but unfortunately was way too small and didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The bust area was too small.
Maddie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

no good for a busty babe

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
super cute but no good for a big chest!
Chebam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Loved!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the first time I ordered from RTR and I was really excited to get the dresses. I got the shipment on time so that was great. I ordered a 0 and a 2 but got 2 0's. I usually wear a 4 for DVF so I will say it runs a little large. Luckily, I was able to fit the 0 and since I am not heavy on top, the fit was actually quite great! It's a beautiful, fun dress! Got lots of compliments all night. Thank you RTR!
lalalauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Fun, Flirty, Perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A great dress for any occasion. Fit was true to size, if not just a touch large. Cut and design makes this an eye catching dress!
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Aug 10, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVE this dress. For me it was a little small in the bust area. I fashion taped it so it fit correctly. Everyone loved it!
Mika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 25, 2012

Bust was wayy to small

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 4 and 6 for this dress, and the 6 fit better. All night I was pulling up my dress because the bust kept falling down. I do not have a very big bust so I was surprise it didn't fit.
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 19, 2012

Great party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this dress fit true to size...i normally wear between and 4 and 6 and the 4 was a bit snug around the rib cage...6 fit very well. great for a cocktail party in the summer time
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 19, 2012

Great party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this dress fit true to size...i normally wear between and 4 and 6 and the 4 was a bit snug around the rib cage...6 fit very well. great for a cocktail party in the summer time
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 21, 2012

Best Dressed Girl at Formal

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a huge hit at my boyfriend's fraternity formal. I am usually a 6, but I had to go with the 8 because the bust was so tiny. It still was a little tight, but the compliments were worth it!
Debbie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 23, 2012

small in bust

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very cute but ran extremely small in the bust. We used double faced tape to hold it up but the cut and style of the bust line is just extremely small
ShoeGirl00
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 9, 2012

LOVE!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress, the size guide is right on and so are the reviews. I ordered a size 2 and 4 but ended up wearing the size 4. I have size 32 C bust and it was perfect but very tight, so if you have a bigger top i suggest sizing up to a 6.
sub
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2012

flouncy skirt + major boobage

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved this dress - it was flouncy, fun to dance in and the overall fit was flattering. if you have big boobs (i'm a 34D), this gives you some major cleave! wowza, but that could be a good thing, right? great for you shotr ladies too - no hemming needed, i'm 5'1 and it was a good length for me.
DG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

fun and flirty

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE. It's fun, flirty and feminine. Received so many compliments. I have a small bust (34B) and I just fit into the top, the cups are small, but the a-line gives your body a nice shape. It's also a bit on the short side but I think that adds to the flirty quality of the dress.
MoMo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2011

I was too big :0(

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am a 36DD and My girls did not stay in... But it was a beautiful dress.
KarDaw31
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED LOVED this dress. Although I did not wear this to my event it is a gorgeous dress.
Bree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress! Zipper was a bit hard to zip up. Very fitted through waist/rib cage. I am 6' tall and wear a size 8. Fit true to size. The dress was a bit short on me, but for what I was wearing it for, it worked. Got a lot of compliments!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress is adorable and true to size! fits great super comfortable! recieved tons of compliments!
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Wear double sided tape to keep the dress up in the front. True to size. Perfect length! You will look 1 size bigger because of all the layers. Great party dress.
sgerene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Super duper cute dress!!! Perfect for a girlie girl...wore it honky tonkin' for my bachelorette party in Nashville...wore the cutest glittery kate spade shoes to make it ultra fantastic! Usually am a size 4 (sometimes 2 or 6) and got both 4 and 6 but 4 fit perfectg!! It runs true to size!
Whit
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 2, 2011

I felt gorgeous and who doesn't in a perfect little black dress?!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful, cute, and classy for the prom I was attending. I thought the size ran a little big as the top was loose and tended to fall a lot so I would suggest getting a size smaller than what you think you may need IN ADDITION to the size you believe you are. I would also suggest dressing this outfit up with some accessories as the dress is simple! Great dress I would suggest for even a formal event despite the length as well as a more casual occasion.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×