Dark Roses Dress

$75 rental
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Want the perfect prom dress? Rent this adorable Diane von Furstenberg dress. .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Product Details

Black pleated chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Full skirt with rosette detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 26'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
84 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(22)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2012
Great party dress!

this dress fit true to size...i normally wear between and 4 and 6 and the 4 was a bit snug around the rib cage...6 fit very well. great for a cocktail party in the summer time

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 8, 2012
trying to decide which shoes to wear with it! so in love with this dress! i never wanted to take it off! <3

this was my first time using Rent the Runway and i could not be happier! i will never buy a formal dress ever again!!!! This dress is gorgeous!! It fit great! The only little complaint i have is that some of the ruffles were folded the wrong way and i was too terrified to try to iron it, so i just left it. Otherwise, it was perfect! The skirt is a little longer in the back than the front so that was nice. The top fit however if you have a larger bust, we all know there is more of an issue with things staying in place, but none more than usual. Overall, i was so so happy with this dress and hated to have to return it!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
August 10, 2012
Great Dress!

LOVE this dress. For me it was a little small in the bust area. I fashion taped it so it fit correctly. Everyone loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 10, 2012
Fun, Flirty, Perfect!

A great dress for any occasion. Fit was true to size, if not just a touch large. Cut and design makes this an eye catching dress!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 5, 2012
no good for a busty babe

super cute but no good for a big chest!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Loved this dress - not crazy short, but the bust was a tad large on me

This dress fit beautifully and I received loads of compliments. I wore a two, which i usually alternate between that or a four in RTR gowns. Bust was a tad large on me but I'm freakishly under-endowed in that area. I'm about 5'3, 120, 32b (ish) chest.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 22, 2012
Amazing and super cute dress! Perfect for any formal affair!

I wore this dress to a black tie affair that many celebrities and retail exectives attended.Knowing that high profile guest would be at this gala, it was important that I find the perfect dress. When ordered this dress I was nervous about how it would fit, but it ended up being true to size. My only issue was that the chest kept sliding down, but the free Hollywood tape RTR provided fixed the problem! I definitely recommed this dress!

AshleyOctober 22, 2012
I love the belt you added to it! Where did you get it or do you have a label with it?
AkuaOctober 22, 2012
Ditto on the belt. Where'd you get it?
AshleeOctober 22, 2012
Yes the belt is fab! Where did you get it?
JenniferOctober 22, 2012
belt!! <3
RTR CustomerOctober 22, 2012
You look beautiful!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
Unique twist on the traditional LBD

DVF never disappoints! I rented this dress for a romantic birthday dinner with my husband and it was so fun and flirty! The only thing that I could say about this dress is that the bust could have used a little more support. I had to use double sided tape to keep from having a wardrobe malfunction - other than that it was great! The waist fits true to size, so the size 0 fit my waist great, but the 2 was better on the bust so I went with that size. Definitely recommended, but get yourself some double sided tape and you will be good to go!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
really cute dress

really pretty dress. Flattering and super comfortable. Would definitely recommend it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 159lbs
November 16, 2012
I had to send this one back

The bodice on this dress was MUCH shorter than I was expecting. I have a long torso, in order to have the waist of the dress be at my waist (not look like an empire cut) the top was low enough that I wasn't comfortable wearing it to a wedding. The dress was beautiful, but it did not work with my body type.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 6, 2012
Very cute dress! I didn't get to wear it, but I'll be renting it again.

Very cute dress! Great fit for pear-shaped girls, as it's super flattering for the bust, shoulders, and arms, while concealing full hips & bum. I am 5'10", so I was concerned about the length being too short. It was about as short as I'll go, but it was definitely wearable. I didn't get to wear it due to unforeseen events, but I'll be renting it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 18, 2012
Adorable but short!

This was a beautiful dress. When I ordered it I ordered a size 10 and the backup sign of a 12. The 10 was out of stock and RTR was very nice enough to send me another dress in its place. The problem with this dress was that the 12 was too big in the chest area and overall way too short. I am 5'10. If I had worn this, I would have been worried about it all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 27, 2012
RTR overnighted me this replacement dress when my original was delayed

Pretty tight right below the bust area, but I like a snug fit. I was pleasantly surprised with this dress when I had to choose it last minute after the dress I ordered was delayed. It is fun and young, perfect for going out for my birthday! Makes for a good twirl :)

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2013
I LOVED THIS DRESS! Material is so soft and pretty, amazing detail too. Best time dancing in it!

The bust area is of course a little loose, but with the double sided tape it looks great. I could even fit a strapless bra underneath, so that made it even better! I'm a 34c, so not too big, but I didn't see too many problems with it. The pros most definitely outweigh the cons. The top of the dress sits pretty low on the chest, but not enough to make you look inappropriate. It bares the chest just enough to make you feel really confident and sexy! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS DRESS!!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 16, 2013
Fab dress!! Received compliments all night long, definitely made the event very memorable.

The dress was delivered in a timely fashion and Although I ordered the alternate size bigger because several reviews said it ran small it wasn't necessary. The fit was true to size and no garment tape was needed. I was able to wear a nice VS strapless bra and had no slipping or wardrobe mishaps. As I mentioned earlier I received compliments all night long but the kicker was when someone stopped me on the dance floor and said I had to tell you your dress is stunning and people have been admiring it all throughout the night. I was truly happy overall with my RTR experience and I will definitely utilize their site again. I highly recommend their services.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2013
Great Dress!

I was definitely skeptical about renting a dress, but it worked out perfectly. I found a Diane Von Ferstenberg size chart online and measured myself just to make sure I was getting the right size. My measurements were for a size 8 and it fit perfectly. Based on the stylist tips on RTR I got a size 6 as a backup size, but it was too small, I couldn't even zip it up. The only thing is that it does run a teeny bit large in the bust, and the dress sits pretty low on your chest, so it when I first put it on it felt like it was going to fall off. I fixed this by wearing a strapless bra and using fashion tape to tape the dress on securely. It stayed on with no problems and I got tons of compliments all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
I loved this dress and would rent it again.

The fit is awesome and true to size. I am 5 ft 7 and 130 lb. The size 4 was perfect.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 26, 2013
I loved this dress; it was fun, flirty, and I got a lot of compliments on it!

I had to make sure my boobs were still in the dress because of the balconette style top.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
April 19, 2013
This was for the opening night of Motown the Musical on Broadway.

I felt beautiful in this dress and would recommend RTR to everyone and use them for every event. I placed my order at midnight and it was delivered by 4pm the next day. I did pay for same day delivery. Enjoy!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 27, 2013
This dress looks amazing on!

The fit of this dress is perfect, and very flattering. The only con is the top of the dress is really thin fabric, so you have to use fashion tape to keep it in place. Other than that, this dress was a big hit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 9, 2013
I couldn't stop twirling

The dress fit very well and was still in great condition. I wore a pair of fun and crazy heels to make the dress less formal and more appropriate for my event.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
June 5, 2013
So many compliments!

I ended up taking a risk and ordering a 6 when I normally wear a size 8 (RTR didn't have an 8 the day I wanted to rent one). Though the 6 was a little tight, it worked well because the top of the dress is naturally loose (and I have a small bust). I had to use double sided tape to keep it up all night, but I would wear the dress again in a second. It's the perfect little black party dress. One thing to be aware of is that the dress doesn't photograph all that well because the camera has a hard time picking up the texture/design of the dress. In person though the dress is stunning!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 18, 2013
Beautiful dress perfect for pear shapped women!

I wore this dress for my junior prom and I loved it! I ordered a size 2 and 6. The size six fit better but there was a rip next to the zipper and it ended up not zipping up or down which made it quite the hassel to get out of. But I was able to squeeze into the size 2. The bust runs a bit large but other then that it's pretty true to it's size. It looked great and I got compliments all night! I would recommend this dress and RTR who anyone who hasn't tried it before!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2013
Adorable

I rented this as a backup dress. I am a size 4 but they only had a size 6 available the weekend I needed it so unfortunately the dress was too big around my bust and ribcage! If I could have gotten it in a size 4 I definitely would have worn it instead of my original dress. This dress is so cute I was obsessed with it. Definitely would recommend

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Gorgeous dress, but unfortunately arrived damaged so I was unable to wear it.

This dress is absolutely beautiful and fit well for a petite figure, but unfortunately arrived damaged for my event.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
November 23, 2013
This is prettier in person...

This is such a pretty and fun dress, I really wanted it to fit, but again I just could not get the zipper around my bustline. However, it has a good amount of room up top, so I think if I had been able to order the size larger I would not have filled it out. If you are narrower in the waist this will look great - it will hide all manner of sins in the hips!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 24, 2014
REALLY SHORT.

I'm 5'7" and am not afraid to wear dresses on the shorter side. The fit was perfect. However, this dress arrived and was so short it made me blush. I didn't end up wearing it. Renter beware! You don't want to be flashing anyone at your formal functions!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
Too Short, Too showing - not good for tall girls

I rented this for a wedding & unfortunately had to return it- because it was un-wearable. It was sooo short on me i wasn't able to move w/o showing off private parts. There was no room to pull it down because the dress was so low cut. This is definitely a risky dress & i would not recommend.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 1, 2011

Wear double sided tape to keep the dress up in the front. True to size. Perfect length! You will look 1 size bigger because of all the layers. Great party dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2011

The dress is adorable and true to size! fits great super comfortable! recieved tons of compliments!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 20, 2012
This dress was the perfect mix of sassy and sweet. Don't forget your hot pink lipstick!

I loved this dress. I wore it to my engagement party. It was such a fun party dress and so comfortable to wear throughout the evening. I must note that the top does not have boning so there is little structure to support your chest. Perhaps not the best choice if you are larger up top. Overall, a great dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 30, 2012
Loved the dress, looked great, and got tons of compliments.

Top of the dress does not stay without fabric tape. This became very bad at the end of the night, especially if you are doing lots of dancing. Size fit like a glove. Also does not photograph very well, but the texture of the dress in person is fabulous.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 19, 2013
Great little black dress!

I wasn't sure about this dress, so when I ordered a different dress for a bachelorette party I threw this one in too, at the reduced price. I was happy I did! It was a great little party dress! It was a bit shorter on me than I would normally wear, but for the occasion it worked out alright. The texture doesn't photograph as well, but in person it is an intricate dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2011

Super duper cute dress!!! Perfect for a girlie girl...wore it honky tonkin' for my bachelorette party in Nashville...wore the cutest glittery kate spade shoes to make it ultra fantastic! Usually am a size 4 (sometimes 2 or 6) and got both 4 and 6 but 4 fit perfectg!! It runs true to size!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2011

Great dress! Zipper was a bit hard to zip up. Very fitted through waist/rib cage. I am 6' tall and wear a size 8. Fit true to size. The dress was a bit short on me, but for what I was wearing it for, it worked. Got a lot of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2012
LOVE!

Loved this dress, the size guide is right on and so are the reviews. I ordered a size 2 and 4 but ended up wearing the size 4. I have size 32 C bust and it was perfect but very tight, so if you have a bigger top i suggest sizing up to a 6.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Totally sexy and great party dress

Love the fit. I have small breat, but dress really created nice breast cleavage. Would order dress again!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 22, 2012
Great dress! Just not the right fit for me.

The dress was beautiful. My mom was going to wear it for my graduation part, but it didn't fit.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2012
Not too much, I'm afraid.

To be honest, this dress didn't work for me. The top section was short and in order to keep covered, the waistline was high and the A-line flair wasn't flattering. I was so disappointed because I think the dress is beautiful, but being pear shaped and having it not sit right on me was terrible.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
December 16, 2012
Ended up not wearing the dress but it was adorable!

Adorable dress, but rented two dresses and ended up not wearing this one. Was a bit more party dress (low cut/short hem) than I expected so I went with a more conservative dress for a wedding.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×