Dark Roses Dress

$75 rental
$650 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want the perfect prom dress? Rent this adorable Diane von Furstenberg dress. .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black pleated chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Full skirt with rosette detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 26'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size49
Small22
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2012
Cute dress, but runs very large
I wanted to wear this dress for my bachelorette party, but ended up wearing my backup dress. I usually wear a 6, but the 6 on me was definitely falling down. It's a shame, because it's a really cute dress. Definitely go down a size or two when renting
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 6, 2012
Very cute dress! I didn't get to wear it, but I'll be renting it again.
Very cute dress! Great fit for pear-shaped girls, as it's super flattering for the bust, shoulders, and arms, while concealing full hips & bum. I am 5'10", so I was concerned about the length being too short. It was about as short as I'll go, but it was definitely wearable. I didn't get to wear it due to unforeseen events, but I'll be renting it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 159lbs
November 16, 2012
I had to send this one back
The bodice on this dress was MUCH shorter than I was expecting. I have a long torso, in order to have the waist of the dress be at my waist (not look like an empire cut) the top was low enough that I wasn't comfortable wearing it to a wedding. The dress was beautiful, but it did not work with my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
really cute dress
really pretty dress. Flattering and super comfortable. Would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
Unique twist on the traditional LBD
DVF never disappoints! I rented this dress for a romantic birthday dinner with my husband and it was so fun and flirty! The only thing that I could say about this dress is that the bust could have used a little more support. I had to use double sided tape to keep from having a wardrobe malfunction - other than that it was great! The waist fits true to size, so the size 0 fit my waist great, but the 2 was better on the bust so I went with that size. Definitely recommended, but get yourself some double sided tape and you will be good to go!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2012
I loved how fun and flirty this dress was...it was so much more than a little black dress!
Diane Von Furstenberg's dresses tend to run on the smaller side, especially if you have a larger bust like myself. I had to size up for this dress. I normally wear an 8/10 in dresses and the size 10 would not zip up the bust. Other than that, the dress was great and I got a lot of compliments on it! I'd definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress to dance in!
I usually vary between a 0 and 2 in DVF but for this dress I was absolutely a 2. So thankful that they give the option of sending a 2nd sizes or I would have been in big trouble. If you have a bigger chest and are debating between 2 sizes - go up to the next size. Dress was a lot of fun and received a lot of compliments. I usually wear fitted dresses but this was a nice change.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 22, 2012
Amazing and super cute dress! Perfect for any formal affair!
I wore this dress to a black tie affair that many celebrities and retail exectives attended.Knowing that high profile guest would be at this gala, it was important that I find the perfect dress. When ordered this dress I was nervous about how it would fit, but it ended up being true to size. My only issue was that the chest kept sliding down, but the free Hollywood tape RTR provided fixed the problem! I definitely recommed this dress!
AshleyDecember 7, 2012
I love the belt you added to it! Where did you get it or do you have a label with it?
AkuaDecember 7, 2012
Ditto on the belt. Where'd you get it?
AshleeFebruary 25, 2013
Yes the belt is fab! Where did you get it?
JenniferMay 8, 2013
belt!! <3
RTR CustomerDecember 6, 2013
You look beautiful!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 15, 2012
I wore this dress for my best friend's rehearsal dinner
The dress ran a little bit big, but still looked great. I got compliments on my look all night long! The best part about this dress is the short but full skirt - SO much fun to dance in!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2012
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was sooo cute! However, both sizes were too small.
I typically wear sizes 8 or 10 and I am a 34B cup however, I couldn't even finish zipping up the size 10. It's such a cute dress! I really wish it would have fit.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2012
Not too much, I'm afraid.
To be honest, this dress didn't work for me. The top section was short and in order to keep covered, the waistline was high and the A-line flair wasn't flattering. I was so disappointed because I think the dress is beautiful, but being pear shaped and having it not sit right on me was terrible.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
September 24, 2012
I loved this dress!
This is a great party dress. The volume of the skirt was fantastic and I loved the texture of the fabric. I found the length to be perfect. It ran a little big, however and I needed to use fashion tape to make sure the top didn't slip on me. The 0 probably would have fit better, but wasn't available. I added my own belt to tighten the fit around my waist a little and I was happy with the fit for a night. Overall, the dress was fun enough to make these modifications worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Loved this dress - not crazy short, but the bust was a tad large on me
This dress fit beautifully and I received loads of compliments. I wore a two, which i usually alternate between that or a four in RTR gowns. Bust was a tad large on me but I'm freakishly under-endowed in that area. I'm about 5'3, 120, 32b (ish) chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2012
Great dress! Just not the right fit for me.
The dress was beautiful. My mom was going to wear it for my graduation part, but it didn't fit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Totally sexy and great party dress
Love the fit. I have small breat, but dress really created nice breast cleavage. Would order dress again!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
September 13, 2012
Love this dress but unfortunately was way too small and didn't end up wearing it.
The bust area was too small.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 5, 2012
no good for a busty babe
super cute but no good for a big chest!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 4, 2012
Loved!
This was the first time I ordered from RTR and I was really excited to get the dresses. I got the shipment on time so that was great. I ordered a 0 and a 2 but got 2 0's. I usually wear a 4 for DVF so I will say it runs a little large. Luckily, I was able to fit the 0 and since I am not heavy on top, the fit was actually quite great! It's a beautiful, fun dress! Got lots of compliments all night. Thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 10, 2012
Fun, Flirty, Perfect!
A great dress for any occasion. Fit was true to size, if not just a touch large. Cut and design makes this an eye catching dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
August 10, 2012
Great Dress!
LOVE this dress. For me it was a little small in the bust area. I fashion taped it so it fit correctly. Everyone loved it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 8, 2012
trying to decide which shoes to wear with it! so in love with this dress! i never wanted to take it off! <3
this was my first time using Rent the Runway and i could not be happier! i will never buy a formal dress ever again!!!! This dress is gorgeous!! It fit great! The only little complaint i have is that some of the ruffles were folded the wrong way and i was too terrified to try to iron it, so i just left it. Otherwise, it was perfect! The skirt is a little longer in the back than the front so that was nice. The top fit however if you have a larger bust, we all know there is more of an issue with things staying in place, but none more than usual. Overall, i was so so happy with this dress and hated to have to return it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2012
Bust was wayy to small
I ordered a 4 and 6 for this dress, and the 6 fit better. All night I was pulling up my dress because the bust kept falling down. I do not have a very big bust so I was surprise it didn't fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2012
I danced in this dress all night!
I loved wearing this dress. It was really comfortable and flattering. The top sits really low and you NEED Hollywood tape. One inch higher and that's the reason I gave it 4 stars. The sexy top is evened out by the flirty bottom of the skirt. The texture doesn't photograph well at all, but in person it is amazing. Size up because it is a bit tight like the other reviews mention.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2012
Great party dress!
this dress fit true to size...i normally wear between and 4 and 6 and the 4 was a bit snug around the rib cage...6 fit very well. great for a cocktail party in the summer time
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2012
Great party dress!
this dress fit true to size...i normally wear between and 4 and 6 and the 4 was a bit snug around the rib cage...6 fit very well. great for a cocktail party in the summer time
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2012
Best Dressed Girl at Formal
This dress was a huge hit at my boyfriend's fraternity formal. I am usually a 6, but I had to go with the 8 because the bust was so tiny. It still was a little tight, but the compliments were worth it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2012
It gave me the opportunity to wear a gorgeous dress and bag for a fraction of the cost.
I felt super sexy in this dress, the layers don't read on camera but are delightful in person. My husband was beyond proud to have me on his arm. I have noticed I wear a size up in designer dresses, the curse of "vanity sizing." The size 2 was an exact fit, but the 4 allowed extra room for a strapless bra. I would not recommend this dress for anyone over a "B" cup. I wore a petty coat under the dress to amp up the volume, I would highly recommend the same for a cute party look.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
small in bust
This dress was very cute but ran extremely small in the bust. We used double faced tape to hold it up but the cut and style of the bust line is just extremely small
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 20, 2012
This dress was the perfect mix of sassy and sweet. Don't forget your hot pink lipstick!
I loved this dress. I wore it to my engagement party. It was such a fun party dress and so comfortable to wear throughout the evening. I must note that the top does not have boning so there is little structure to support your chest. Perhaps not the best choice if you are larger up top. Overall, a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
February 20, 2012
RTR had great customer service that answered any question I had!
I rented this dress for a formal date party and loved it!! It was super flattering! My only complaint - the size 2 was stretched out in the bust. My best advice for small busted girls like me would be to use a stick-on bra (because the dress rides low and you would be able see the strap across the back) and then pin/tape the dress to the bra.
KarleyAugust 28, 2012
Love the shoes! So Cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2012
LOVE!
Loved this dress, the size guide is right on and so are the reviews. I ordered a size 2 and 4 but ended up wearing the size 4. I have size 32 C bust and it was perfect but very tight, so if you have a bigger top i suggest sizing up to a 6.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2012
flouncy skirt + major boobage
loved this dress - it was flouncy, fun to dance in and the overall fit was flattering. if you have big boobs (i'm a 34D), this gives you some major cleave! wowza, but that could be a good thing, right? great for you shotr ladies too - no hemming needed, i'm 5'1 and it was a good length for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2012
fun and flirty
I rented this dress for NYE. It's fun, flirty and feminine. Received so many compliments. I have a small bust (34B) and I just fit into the top, the cups are small, but the a-line gives your body a nice shape. It's also a bit on the short side but I think that adds to the flirty quality of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2011
I was too big :0(
I am a 36DD and My girls did not stay in... But it was a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
October 19, 2011
LOVED LOVED this dress. Although I did not wear this to my event it is a gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2011
Great dress! Zipper was a bit hard to zip up. Very fitted through waist/rib cage. I am 6' tall and wear a size 8. Fit true to size. The dress was a bit short on me, but for what I was wearing it for, it worked. Got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2011
The dress is adorable and true to size! fits great super comfortable! recieved tons of compliments!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 1, 2011
Wear double sided tape to keep the dress up in the front. True to size. Perfect length! You will look 1 size bigger because of all the layers. Great party dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2011
Super duper cute dress!!! Perfect for a girlie girl...wore it honky tonkin' for my bachelorette party in Nashville...wore the cutest glittery kate spade shoes to make it ultra fantastic! Usually am a size 4 (sometimes 2 or 6) and got both 4 and 6 but 4 fit perfectg!! It runs true to size!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 2, 2011
I felt gorgeous and who doesn't in a perfect little black dress?!
This dress was beautiful, cute, and classy for the prom I was attending. I thought the size ran a little big as the top was loose and tended to fall a lot so I would suggest getting a size smaller than what you think you may need IN ADDITION to the size you believe you are. I would also suggest dressing this outfit up with some accessories as the dress is simple! Great dress I would suggest for even a formal event despite the length as well as a more casual occasion.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×