Dark Roses Dress

$75 rental
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Want the perfect prom dress? Rent this adorable Diane von Furstenberg dress. .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Product Details

Black pleated chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Full skirt with rosette detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 26'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
84 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(22)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 27, 2013
This dress looks amazing on!
The fit of this dress is perfect, and very flattering. The only con is the top of the dress is really thin fabric, so you have to use fashion tape to keep it in place. Other than that, this dress was a big hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 9, 2013
I couldn't stop twirling
The dress fit very well and was still in great condition. I wore a pair of fun and crazy heels to make the dress less formal and more appropriate for my event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 17, 2013
I was so glad I decided to go dressy to a hotel's 25th anniversary party!
This dress fit perfectly except for in the top. Runs very small in the bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2013
Not Wedding Appropriate
I did not end up wearing this dress. The fit is very small. I fit in to a 10 from all other styles fine and this I could not zip all the way. It is also VERY SHORT. Would be great for a party, but not enough coverage on top or bottom for a wedding! It is a pretty dress though and would work for other events.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 26, 2013
I felt absolutely gorgeous in this dress! Like a princess.
The dress itself is beautiful - the shape, the texture, everything. It was incredibly flattering. It made my waist look tiny. The main problem (which was my fault, not the dress's) is that I'm fairly full-chested and the dress was very low cut. I taped it and it stayed up for photos, for the most part, but as soon as it tried to dance it fell down and my boobs were falling out all night. Other than that, I have nothing to complain about. I felt incredible all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
June 5, 2013
So many compliments!
I ended up taking a risk and ordering a 6 when I normally wear a size 8 (RTR didn't have an 8 the day I wanted to rent one). Though the 6 was a little tight, it worked well because the top of the dress is naturally loose (and I have a small bust). I had to use double sided tape to keep it up all night, but I would wear the dress again in a second. It's the perfect little black party dress. One thing to be aware of is that the dress doesn't photograph all that well because the camera has a hard time picking up the texture/design of the dress. In person though the dress is stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 18, 2013
Beautiful dress perfect for pear shapped women!
I wore this dress for my junior prom and I loved it! I ordered a size 2 and 6. The size six fit better but there was a rip next to the zipper and it ended up not zipping up or down which made it quite the hassel to get out of. But I was able to squeeze into the size 2. The bust runs a bit large but other then that it's pretty true to it's size. It looked great and I got compliments all night! I would recommend this dress and RTR who anyone who hasn't tried it before!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2013
Perfect "Little Black Dress"!
I rented this for my sister's Bachelorette Party in New York with the theme "Little Black Dress". It was great! The bust is definitely low cut but a gorgeous neck line. The body fit fine on the smaller sizes I originally tried, but only was too small in the bust. Even if it fits you well up top, I recommend fashion tape. Super cute and flattering over all... I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
July 31, 2013
Super cute, wish I could have worn it!
While this dress is super cute and looked great on a lot of the girls who rented it on the RTR site, unfortunately when I got it, it was just too short. I am 5'7" with long legs and a long torso and sad to say it was just not long enough to cover my butt and my chest at the same time, if I wanted to be able to sit down at all. Unfortunate because it is a really adorable dress, makes me wish I was a few inches shorter because I think this dress would look great on any body type just not any height...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2013
Cute dress, fun skirt, bust fit weird.
Runs small in the waist and large in the bust--not the cups but the top seam of the dress was too loose, like maybe it had been stretched out. Also the side zipper puckered right below the waist, which was unflattering. But if it had fit better, it was a cute dress with a fun, swishy skirt. It wasn't nearly as short on me as on others, I'm 5'3" and it hit at the top of my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2013
Adorable
I rented this as a backup dress. I am a size 4 but they only had a size 6 available the weekend I needed it so unfortunately the dress was too big around my bust and ribcage! If I could have gotten it in a size 4 I definitely would have worn it instead of my original dress. This dress is so cute I was obsessed with it. Definitely would recommend
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Gorgeous dress, but unfortunately arrived damaged so I was unable to wear it.
This dress is absolutely beautiful and fit well for a petite figure, but unfortunately arrived damaged for my event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2013
I wore this to a wedding after flying in the morning of from an international trip, it was perfect!
PROS: I wore this to a wedding after flying in the morning of from an international trip. I wanted something that was comfortable and cute. This dress was both! The top line is super cute and the length was wedding appropriate!!! CONS: Fit too big. I am usually between a 6 and a 4. The 4 would have fit much better and I think I would have loved the dress rather then thinking it was just ok. By the end of the night it stretched out a little and kept falling down.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
November 23, 2013
This is prettier in person...
This is such a pretty and fun dress, I really wanted it to fit, but again I just could not get the zipper around my bustline. However, it has a good amount of room up top, so I think if I had been able to order the size larger I would not have filled it out. If you are narrower in the waist this will look great - it will hide all manner of sins in the hips!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 24, 2014
REALLY SHORT.
I'm 5'7" and am not afraid to wear dresses on the shorter side. The fit was perfect. However, this dress arrived and was so short it made me blush. I didn't end up wearing it. Renter beware! You don't want to be flashing anyone at your formal functions!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2014
Cute dress
I rented this for a wedding but when I got it--it was way too short to wear to a wedding (regardless of the season). If you have a butt--it will make it even shorter! This would be a really cute dress for a different type of party (birthday party, bachelorette party...) just not a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
March 6, 2014
This dress started my love affair with DVF
This was my first RTR dress and what a stunner! This dress has such a flattering fit! Only negative thing I can say is that I have a medium sized chest and I was busting out of the top a little. I would not recommend this dress to very busty ladies. However, if you want to look busty this one is for you! The material feels very luxurious and the detail (which unfortunately you can't see in the photo) is beautiful. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
Too Short, Too showing - not good for tall girls
I rented this for a wedding & unfortunately had to return it- because it was un-wearable. It was sooo short on me i wasn't able to move w/o showing off private parts. There was no room to pull it down because the dress was so low cut. This is definitely a risky dress & i would not recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 7, 2014
Was a great dress
Loved this dress but the top was a little big and needed double stick tape so it didn't pucker out. Dress was shorter than expected.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 1, 2011
Wear double sided tape to keep the dress up in the front. True to size. Perfect length! You will look 1 size bigger because of all the layers. Great party dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2011
The dress is adorable and true to size! fits great super comfortable! recieved tons of compliments!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 20, 2012
This dress was the perfect mix of sassy and sweet. Don't forget your hot pink lipstick!
I loved this dress. I wore it to my engagement party. It was such a fun party dress and so comfortable to wear throughout the evening. I must note that the top does not have boning so there is little structure to support your chest. Perhaps not the best choice if you are larger up top. Overall, a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2012
I danced in this dress all night!
I loved wearing this dress. It was really comfortable and flattering. The top sits really low and you NEED Hollywood tape. One inch higher and that's the reason I gave it 4 stars. The sexy top is evened out by the flirty bottom of the skirt. The texture doesn't photograph well at all, but in person it is amazing. Size up because it is a bit tight like the other reviews mention.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress to dance in!
I usually vary between a 0 and 2 in DVF but for this dress I was absolutely a 2. So thankful that they give the option of sending a 2nd sizes or I would have been in big trouble. If you have a bigger chest and are debating between 2 sizes - go up to the next size. Dress was a lot of fun and received a lot of compliments. I usually wear fitted dresses but this was a nice change.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 30, 2012
Loved the dress, looked great, and got tons of compliments.
Top of the dress does not stay without fabric tape. This became very bad at the end of the night, especially if you are doing lots of dancing. Size fit like a glove. Also does not photograph very well, but the texture of the dress in person is fabulous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
Great dress, lots of compliments!
I wore it for a wedding that I was in this past weekend. It's a darling dress. Runs a little big...normally DVF runs small, so I ordered a 6, with an 8 as a backup and it was pretty lose up top. The bust area wouldn't stay up without Hollywood tape, but all in all a fun dress to wear to a wedding. The organza material was a little worn out and wouldn't stay down along the waistline. You can see it in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 19, 2013
Great little black dress!
I wasn't sure about this dress, so when I ordered a different dress for a bachelorette party I threw this one in too, at the reduced price. I was happy I did! It was a great little party dress! It was a bit shorter on me than I would normally wear, but for the occasion it worked out alright. The texture doesn't photograph as well, but in person it is an intricate dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2011
Super duper cute dress!!! Perfect for a girlie girl...wore it honky tonkin' for my bachelorette party in Nashville...wore the cutest glittery kate spade shoes to make it ultra fantastic! Usually am a size 4 (sometimes 2 or 6) and got both 4 and 6 but 4 fit perfectg!! It runs true to size!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2011
Great dress! Zipper was a bit hard to zip up. Very fitted through waist/rib cage. I am 6' tall and wear a size 8. Fit true to size. The dress was a bit short on me, but for what I was wearing it for, it worked. Got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2012
LOVE!
Loved this dress, the size guide is right on and so are the reviews. I ordered a size 2 and 4 but ended up wearing the size 4. I have size 32 C bust and it was perfect but very tight, so if you have a bigger top i suggest sizing up to a 6.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
small in bust
This dress was very cute but ran extremely small in the bust. We used double faced tape to hold it up but the cut and style of the bust line is just extremely small
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
September 13, 2012
Love this dress but unfortunately was way too small and didn't end up wearing it.
The bust area was too small.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Totally sexy and great party dress
Love the fit. I have small breat, but dress really created nice breast cleavage. Would order dress again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2012
Great dress! Just not the right fit for me.
The dress was beautiful. My mom was going to wear it for my graduation part, but it didn't fit.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2012
Not too much, I'm afraid.
To be honest, this dress didn't work for me. The top section was short and in order to keep covered, the waistline was high and the A-line flair wasn't flattering. I was so disappointed because I think the dress is beautiful, but being pear shaped and having it not sit right on me was terrible.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2012
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was sooo cute! However, both sizes were too small.
I typically wear sizes 8 or 10 and I am a 34B cup however, I couldn't even finish zipping up the size 10. It's such a cute dress! I really wish it would have fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
December 16, 2012
Ended up not wearing the dress but it was adorable!
Adorable dress, but rented two dresses and ended up not wearing this one. Was a bit more party dress (low cut/short hem) than I expected so I went with a more conservative dress for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
if you want something fun, this is perfect.
I originally ordered a size 6 & 8 and both ended up being too tight. Luckily, RTR has great customer service and I was sent a size 10 the next day. The 10 was still hard to zip up, but doable. I wouldn't recommend this dress if you have a larger bust. I'm a 34 B and I felt like I was about to fall out of the top most of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 26, 2013
Too short
Too short for me to wear to the wedding. Top was stretched out
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 17, 2013
Hard to go wrong with a black dress
The style of the dress was nice and I enjoyed wearing it however there was a tear in the body of the dress and it clearly had been worn one too many times.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×