Jenn's Jaguar Dress

$47 to buy
$535 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this insane hot little black dress by D&G by Dolce and Gabbana, with a bold bracelet for a great going out look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up - built in underwire at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - flattering fabric cinches in waist - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips; bust has built-in underwire
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up - built in underwire at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - flattering fabric cinches in waist - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips; bust has built-in underwire
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk satin. Square neckline. Black satin inset. Adjustable straps. Exposed back zipper. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
150 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size106
Small42
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 11, 2013
The Dress was perfect!
Fit perfectly! Amazing dress- I wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
Top too small, knew it would be!
Usually wear a 4, knew that it ran small but the size 6 was out of stock. Took my chances anyways, but the 4 was too small as expected (way too tight in bust and I am a 34 B-C). Dress itself is absolutely gorgeous and looking forward to wearing the 6 to something else when it's back in stock! Rent the Runway was awesome with the return, too: full refund. Pleasure to deal with!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 3, 2013
Didn't get to wear it. Both sizes were too small.
It runs way too small. NOT for girls with any hint of curves. For example, at bebe I'm an XS or a small. At BCBGMAXAZRIA I'm a xs or a small. At Banana Republic I can wear a 4P. Halston Heritage I have two dresses that I own that are both size 4. I have a Karen Millen that is a US size 6. I got both the US size 2 and the US size 4 in this dress -- neither fit. I don't know if its because I'm short or if its because while I'm petite I have a little bit of curves, but this was terrible. HOWEVER, on the bright side, the material was soft, zipper was excellent quality and the overall quality was the dress itself was superb. I sent BOTH sizes back to RTR for a refund, sadly. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 21, 2013
If I could give it 50 stars, I would
Seriously, oh my god, greatest dress EVER. I want to should from the rooftops how much I freakin loooooved this dress!! This was my second dress (secretly my first choice) for my friend's bachelorette, but when the first dress was a little too tight and binding, I was excited I had this as an alternate. The funny part is that the bride ended up wearing the same dress but in the leopard print so we were twins, haha. The material is stretchy so it hugs all your curves like a glove, but it isn't binding so you're still free to move. The black color slims you, while the cut flatters your figure. There's also a build in under-wire bra to perks the girls up. When I put it on for my boyfriend he didn't want to let me leave the house -or return the dress! I had to promise to rent it again for date night with him ;) I have honestly never received so many compliments about a dress I was wearing ever, and I've honestly never felt so stunning in a dress...I'm just bummed the only picture I remembered to get was at the end of the night, but I guess that's just one more reason to have to re-rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
AH-MAZING
I've never felt as sexy as I did in this dress. My husband took me to Alinea (Chicago, IL) for my birthday dinner. The dress was perfect for such an amazing dinner. I felt comfortable and sexy. The dress fit wonderfully, with lots of stretch for a flattering, form-fitting look. I really didn't want to return it. <3
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 3, 2013
Great dress, loved wearing it!
I'm normally a dress size 8. I think the 46 would have been perfect, but it was not available, so I made the 48 work. 48 was a little big on me, but it still looked realy nice. I loved wearing the dress, and had a great time in it. Would have given five stars, but the zipper was problematic at times.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2013
This dress is amazing!
Perfect fit! I wore a size 4.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2013
fabulous dress, will rent again
form fittind, very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2013
Holy grail LBD. I want to keep it!
Best dress I've ever tried from RTR. Got the 38 with a 40 as my backup size. As a bit of background, I already have a similar dress from D&G in pink in size 38 and it's very, very tight. I put on the 38 in this dress and was shocked how comfortable and not tight the dress was. Sure, the waist bunches up when you walk, and the bra is a bit odd fitting since there's no strap to adjust. All that considered, it's still the BEST DRESS EVER! It creates and accentuates a sexy hourglass shape. Everyone will be staring at how hot you look all night. The fabric, length and color are just subtle enough to keep it event appropriate and not over the top sexy. I've seriously been looking forever for a dress that makes me look like a better version of me, but that's still appropriate enough to have dinner with parents and coworkers. It's the holy grail LBD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
Amazing dress! It accentuates every aspect of your body perfectly!
Fit was perfect. It was slimming, hugged my curves perfectly! Got a ton of compliments - definitely recommended!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 12, 2013
Sex Goddess much?
Oh.My.God. First of all, I want to buy this dress. I really, really, really want to own this. The way my boyfriend's eyes lit up and slid over me when I came out wearing this....Let's just say this baby did the trick. I love how wide-set the straps are, I love the slinky, yet substantial material... I love all of it. Oh my God. I felt like Bettie Page. I wore this for our two year anniversary and his 30th birthday weekend to dinner and the casinos. More than once, I felt how proud my man was of how good I looked next to him. The best money I've EVER spent.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
April 8, 2013
I got lots of compliments wearing this beautiful dress.
flattering fit, beautiful neckline and nice fabric
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 25, 2013
Felt great!
When I opened the garment bag I said "uh oh" to myself because it looked really small but it ended up fitting like a glove. I can imagine it being pretty small in the chest area for those larger in that area so i'd suggest they go one size up. Great time. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 20, 2013
I got tons of compliments on this dress, and it fit like a glove!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I originally ordered a 42 and a 44 thinking that I would go with the 42, but I ended up wearing the 44. It fits really, really tightly around...everything. Generally those are the types of dresses that I like to wear, but it became something of a problem when I couldn't zip the 42 around my bust. That being said, if you have a large bust I suggest swallowing your pride and going with a larger size. The waist will stick to your skin anyway, so all you're doing is sacrificing comfort by going with a too-small size. I felt great in the dress, but looking at pictures later I thought that it hugged my tummy fat a little too much and made my arms look a little flubby. I was assured, though, that I looked amazing in it, so maybe that's just a little insecurity seeping in on my part. I wore this dress to my school's winter formal, so naturally there was a lot of dancing going on. If you're thinking about renting this dress for something where you're going to be doing a lot of moving, I highly suggest wearing a strapless bra underneath. I didn't because it has a bra built in and, well...it wasn't quite as supportive as I expected it to be. The length was good, though, and it didn't ride up too much. It's just long enough to be classy (instead of slutty) and just tight enough to be sexy. As soon as I find myself with some spare change (like a lot of spare change) I'd really like to make this a permanent part of my wardrobe.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 15, 2013
So hot!
This dress is ridiculously hot and creates curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 12, 2013
STUNNING DRESS!
Fit like a glove! Definatly a VERY figure flattering dress. Got soo many compliments, will ABSOLUTLY rent this dress agaiN! Felt like a million bucks! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2013
great dress!!!
fits small around bust.
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172lbs
February 26, 2013
Fabulous sexy dress!
What a great night it was wearing this amazing dress. I received a lot of compliments and felt on top of the world. One warning - if you're very full busted the zipper might decide to slip a bit when you're on the dance floor. I would suggest putting a safety pin inside to keep it up, just in case. Other than that, sheer perfection!
RTR CustomerApril 21, 2013
I wanted to say you look great! I was wondering...did you wear a strapless bra under the dress?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109lbs
February 21, 2013
Sexy, classic LBD
I liked this dress but it wasn't up there amongst my favorites. I would usually wear a 0 but this dress came up really small, especially in the bust area, so I went with the complimentary size up instead. Still found this to be a squeeze on my top and it took quite a lot of adjusting to get everything in the right place. Due to how form fitting it is, it can be a little awkward i.e. requires adjusting at regular intervals to straighten it out to prevent bunching etc. Other than that, it was great. Looked great. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2013
Wedding
Very pretty. True to size. Only issue was the top has a built in bra that crept up. Otherwise awesome dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
Fit amazing. I wish I could own this.
Wore it to a black tie event. There is a strip of fabric at the bust line which I couldn't see in the other pictures. It's a little weird and wouldn't lay flat but I'm not sure anyone else noticed it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2013
Beautiful fit and feel!
Love this dress and will rent again. The fabric feels luxurious and it looks beautiful on. The built in bra is a little annoying for us girls on the larger size but in no way would that keep me from renting again. Excellent dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 30, 2013
Not for a large bust.
If you have anything larger than a C I can't see this working. I couldn't keep everything in the dress at the top. The waist how ever was very form fitting and flattering. On a small chested person this would be such a sexy dress.
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
January 28, 2013
Super easy and fast loved the packaging!!! Was skeptical but now a true customer for life!
Def. true to size I have a large bust and did not need a bra LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS DRESS!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 135lbs
January 24, 2013
Perfect dress for the TREME Gala.
In a last ditch effort I decided to rent a dress when I hadn't found the time to shop for one. It was the best decision I'd made. The size 40 fit like a glove. The material kinda pulled you in where I needed it to (was +10lbs over my normal weight, (Production Life))
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
Beautiful!!! Extremely flattering, would absolutely rent again!
I ordered the 38 and the 40. Could have gone with a 42 as my chest had trouble fitting! Couldn't wear a bra with it but the underwire in the cups did the job!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2013
My husband said, "wear that one!" when I tried it on.
This dress was amazing, it held in my DD chest so I could dance and not worry about spilling out. I have a lot of trouble with dresses because if I order one that fits my chest, it can be too roomy in the body or shoulders.This one has a great cut and fabric.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
Looked an felt amazing!
Loved this dress. It looked great but it was slightly small in the bust and lacking in support for bustier women. I chose to wear the larger size and wore a strapless bra for extra support and it worked out great. Wish I owned the dress. Looked amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
Classic and flattering
I wore this dress to a NYE masquerade ball and it couldn't have been more perfect! The silhouette is flattering and sexy, and the classic color and shape let me wear really over the top accessories. The top bralette, as described by others on here, is pretty weird. I was afraid that the bust would be too small, but its actually a bit minimizing which I liked. The fabric lays nicely and the construction is beautiful but it doesn't leave much to the imagination.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Gorgeous and comfortable!
I'm not big busted, but the top of the dress was tight on me. Other than that, it was absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable! I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 4, 2013
Once I put this dress on, I felt like I transformed into a model! I was instantly hooked to RTR!!!
The fit was so snug but without feeling like it was too tight and uncomfortable. It defined all the right areas I'd definitely choose this dress again if I could. The one piece of advice I'd give to bustier women like myself would be, make sure (if you wear a bra) that is does not have much padding. The dress itself provides a bit of a "boost".
shaniethaOctober 13, 2013
u look great!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2013
Perfect
Unfortunately I have no picture because I had a stomach virus hit me hard just as I was getting ready for a NYE party. So before I mailed it back, my boyfriend insisted that he still get to see me in it. Words can't describe his reaction other than OMG and WOW! I will be seeing this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
A Dress Everyone Should Have in Their Closet!
I felt so amazing in their dress! I got tons of compliments all night long! I rented a size 38 and 40 - I ended up wearing the 40 and I have to say it was pretty snug. The next size up probably would have been perfect just because I'm a little bigger in the hips and backside. All in all I will 100% be renting this dress again. It's understated, classy, and sexy and will definetly make you feel great!
ClaireMarch 7, 2014
love those shoes- where did you get them? i rented this dress too and was looking for some just like that to wear with it :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 2, 2013
everyone was obsessed with this dress!
This dress fit super snug, just like it's supposed to. It made all my curves stand out even more in a good way! I wore it for NYE to a black tie affair and everyone was seriously obsessed with it. I loved it so much I would totally rent it again for another event. You really can't go wrong with this dress.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2013
It was a beautiful dress that I felt great in!
The dress is very slimming and is really great for curves. The only thing I didn't like it about it was that there was a built in shelf bra that would stick out and you have to keep pulling up the top of the dress to cover it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 2, 2013
Amazing dress
This dress is a sure bet. I loved everything about it and would rent it again. I do, however, wish RTR had it available in a size bigger (they did not at the time). I rented a size 4/40 (I typically wear a US size 4) and rented another dress as a back up because a size 6/42 was not available. The reviews are true and you do need to go one size up for a comfortable fit and to not feel as if your top is spilling out of the bust area. I hope RTR has this dress available for a long time to come, it's timeless and quite sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 1, 2013
Great for all occasions! Classy and Comfortable!
Loved the material. One of the most comfortable dresses I've ever worn. The only con is that the zipper came down repeatedly during the evening, however that could've been fixed if I had a safety pin=) Interested in buying. Great for all occasions!
Ashly MichelleApril 2, 2013
You and I are about the same weight and cup size, so I wanted to ask how you felt about the bust area. Are the straps comfortable, and are they removable? Did you need to wear any shaping accessories?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 23, 2012
Love this dress!!
Wore this for a special event. The size 26 was not available so had to go with the 28. It ended up fitting perfectly. I would recommend going one size up. The material is very thick, stretchy satin that is form fitting. Top of dress is super tight. Was a little longer than I usually like but the length made it formal yet still sexy.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2012
Sexy, sexy, sexy
Runs small (VERY tight), so size up. And get ready for a fun night :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Movie Star Dress!
This dress always makes me feel like a movie star! I have rented it before and had lost weight so this time around it was the 44. The dress does stretch, so order a size smaller because this dress should be form fitting! Very comfortable, too! Probably be renting this dress for NYE !!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×