David Meister

You See Me I See You Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let everyone stare at you in this beautiful David Meister embellished one shoulder dress. It shine and sparkle will light up the room! Add a hint of color with a great bracelet to pull your look together.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - ruched detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Metallic knit matelasse(100 % polyester). One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
55 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(40)
Small
(2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
July 1, 2011
Great dress, I got lots of compliments! I ordered an 8 and a 10, ended up wearing the 10 because I thought the 8 was just a touch too snug to wear to a church wedding. I liked it because it was different than what everyone else was wearing.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2011
I have a 32 E bust which makes it difficult to find dresses that fit without alterations. I had picked this as my backup dress to wear to a wedding & ended up liking it better. I received a lot of complements & it was very comfortable. The only thing was that the hem came out halfway through the wedding, luckily I doubt anyone noticed but me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109lbs
September 13, 2011
LOVED LOVED LOVED this dress. Fit perfectly and was comfortable. Wore it to a wedding and got so many compliments on it. I ordered a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6 (I fit into both sizes but went with the 6 because I wanted a little extra breathing room.)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2011
Between running true to size and large, I'd say. I normally wear a 4 or 6, and wore the 4. Very nice dress. Accurately depicted in the photo. Very flattering, forgiving fabric.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Body type: Pear
October 5, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and got tons of compliments. It is a flattering style and was very comfortable. I usually wear a size 6 but was more comfortable in the 8 in this style (tried both sizes--I'm 5'2" and 130 lbs). It came to just below my knees. I had tried this dress on in person and really liked it but didn't think I'd wear it often enough to justify purchasing it. I'm now sold on the option of renting as is everyone I told that is how I got the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 9, 2011
Gorgeous and Comfortable!
I rented this for my best friend's wedding. I had seen it at Neiman Marcus and tried it on, and loved it, except for the price tag. Then I came home and checked out RTR and was thrilled. The dress was super comfortable. I wore it with shapewear (I just had a baby) and a strapless bra and some sparkly shoes. It was so comfortable, even with the shapewear on underneath. The fabric was beautiful and soft, not itchy as you might think because it is metallic. If I wasn't still losing the baby weight, I would have bought this dress, but I thank RTR for offering it. It's a GREAT dress! I even saw it in Breaking Dawn (one of the guests was wearing it) and she rocked it too. Love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
January 6, 2012
putting on the perfectly fitting dress
The dress was very flattering and I received many complements. I am 5'2 & 1/2 inches tall and weigh around 110 lbs. Usually dresses this length are too long for me but this nicely hit above my knees.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
February 19, 2012
Unique and Classy
This dress was beautiful and comfortable and I received lots of compliments, however, even in a 2 this dress was just a little bit too big for me. I am 5' 0" and would have put up the hem with fashion tape but the ruching on the side of the dress made that impossible; the dress fell below my knees. Overall, I was happy with this dress, but I would not recommend it for a petite frame.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 29, 2012
100 compliments!
I am 5'7", 128 pounds. The size 4 fit perfectly, not too tight either/had a little room to spare and feel comfortable. I got a million compliments on this dress all night long! I wore it to a black tie Oscar party. I also felt very comfortable in it as it is not too skimpy or revealing but definitely sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 26, 2012
This was the only sparkly dress among lots of black, fun!
This was my first experience with RTR. I rented this for a black tie fundraiser. I ordered a size 4 and 2 for the back up based on recommendations shown. My only disappointment was that the 4 fit great, but the back-center seam had two holes in it- one in the back and one in the middle of the hiney. I couldn't fix that with tape, so luckily the 2 fit (though tighter) well enough to wear. I got tons of compliments and it was comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 9, 2012
Great Dress
This dress is very figure flattering. It hugs and stretches in the right places for an hour glass figure. Material is not stiff at all. I wore it to a white party and the subtle color worked very well for me. It is a little more gold than pictured.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 16, 2012
Instant Bombshell
This is one of the most amazing dresses I've ever worn! Its just gorgeous - the ruching and sparkle makes it extremely flattering in person and in pictures!! I am 5'8, 165lbs, in shape but with curves - and I'm not super tan and wore it in February and it just makes you glow!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 23, 2012
I Rocked it!
This was my first experience with RTR & have to say won't be the last. It's so great getting to wear a designer dress worth several hundred dollars retail & only paying a fraction of the cost. The dress definitely looks more silver online & pictures but it shows a lot more gold to the naked eye. So either silver or gold accessories & shoes would work with it. I loved this David Meister dress. So elegant, clean lines & comfortable to wear. The size 2 fit me very well that I didn't even bother trying on the 4. Of course there was a little more room in the chest area , but it's the norm for me with a 34A bust size . Nothing that a padded bra couldn't help! The ruching on the side is attractive as well as very forgiving if there are any untoned areas. It felt comfortable to wear all night as it was lightweight and nicely lined. This dress rocks as I had so many compliments & people asking me where I got my dress. RTR is so easy to use, I highly recommend for anyone who hasn't tried it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 24, 2012
Show stopping dress
This dress was so wonderful and was perfect for the fall wedding I wore it to. HOWEVER, it did come with a strain :( so I was a bit self-conscious in pictures. Other than that, it was such a comfy, awesome dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
Perfect dress for a second reception!
We got married in Colorado, but a lot of my family couldn't make it for the wedding. My mom hosted a second reception, and I ordered this dress to wear for the party. First, the dress is really comfortable. As you can see from my action, dancing shot, it moves really well. I didn't want to take it off! The length was just slightly above the knee, which I like. I have a small chest and was wearing the wrong bra - cups, no back. All my dancing made them move, so I would highly recommend a strapless bra instead (I had changed out of my wedding dress earlier and forgot to bring the strapless). My waist is small and my hips are wider,, so the dress bunched slightly at my waist where it is cinched. It was dark and very unnoticeable. I received a lot of compliments and would rent this same dress again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 29, 2012
Beautiful dress. Shinier than in the pictures!
I wore this to an outdoor garden wedding. It was very shimmery in the sunlight and fit great! The dress is sturdy and heavier than a jersey, but still comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 1, 2012
Very flattering dress. Runs on the larger size.
Dress runs on the larger size (the stretch is forgiving) however when I dropped down to a smaller size the strap became tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
October 6, 2012
It was Truly You see me, I see you dress. Thanks RTR.
This dress is gorgeous I got lots of compliments, it is true to size and very light. It was very comfortable to dance in as well. I was expecting it to be a shade darker gold, but it worked very well with Red lipstick, clutch and RTR Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops Gold plated clip-on earrings. Absolutely Love it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2012
SO MANY COMPLIMENTS!
This dress was perfect. My only wish is that I had lost a few pounds before wearing it. It's very form shaping and so any chub is definitely noticeable. I was wearing SPANX underneath, but my body still seemed a little boxy. But other than that, the dress is beautiful. I got compliments literally all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
I ordered this for New Years in Miami and ended up wearing my back up.
The dress would be better suited to wear to a wedding than a Miami New Years Eve bash in a club. Has a conservative look that would work better for a conservative and fancy event. The fit was spot on, but I didn't find it slimming. The shiny material seemed to have the opposite effect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2013
Shimmery gold perfect party dress
The fabric is light and clingy... but also very comfortable. It's not exactly gold or exactly silver- kind of a white gold. I wore silver strappy stilettos and painted my toes gold and wore Oscar de la renta gold and emerald earrings from rtr. The dress was a big hit with my husband and my friends!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 1, 2013
Perfect for a New Year's Eve party
The dress was beautiful, shimmery and a very flattering cut - I received compliments all night. The color is a bit difficult to accessorize - it is in between gold and silver. I went with obviously gold accessories for a mixed metallics look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2013
Looked cheaply made.
This dress was sent as a replacement since the one I ordered wasn't available in a back-up size. It looked like the material would be used for a junior high homecoming dress. I didn't feel comfortable wearing it to a formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 17, 2013
Perfect
I loved this dress even though it was much more metallic than I expected. I wore a size 4 but probably could have worn the 6 due to it being a little too close and tight around the armpit area. I paired this dress with a RTR gold Kate Spade bag, gold earrings, and gold strappy heels. This dress would have been very comfortable if it weren't for a piece of the plastic reinforcement near the zipper that had broken through the fabric and had been stabbing into my side. Overall, the dress worked for the occasion but was not 100% perfect.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 20, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress. It fit really well and the fabric is amazing.
I am 6'1" for reference when you are looking at the length. I ordered an 8 which is what i usually wear and it fit great.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
I wore this dress for the rehersal dinner of my wedding. It was STUNNING!
I think I liked it more than my wedding gown. Seriously. FIts true to size, would have liked it just an inch shorter and I'm 5'7"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2013
Nice, but a bit long.
I wore this for a grad school formal. I liked the way the ruching hides the midsection, though I would still recommend shapewear to hide lumps and bumps. It was nice and sparkly but I wish it were just a tad shorter.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2013
Very pretty, comfortable, and flattering!
I LOVED this dress! It was so comfortable and fit perfectly. The material is very stretchy so I could have gotten away with a 2 or a 4, depending upon how snug I wanted it to fit. I have a difficult time finding dresses that fit me in the bust and waist, but the stretchy fabric flattered both areas. Beautiful champagne color was perfect for the NYE wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 9, 2013
Felt like an Oscars statue all night!
I wore this for my wedding's after party. I got lots of compliments in this dress and felt like a million bucks! It's got sparkle and a flattering fit and you WILL get noticed. Demands red lipstick, in my opinion. I wore the 4, but could have worn the 2 as well. I'm 32D-25"-36" and the size 2 was only too tight under my arms, so if you are less busty, you may be able to wear the smaller of your two sizes. My only complaint about the dress is that it was a slightly warmer gold tone than what the picture shows, but I still loved it. I did have an issue with shipping as the dress arrived a day later than it was supposed to, so I will probably continue to give myself more cushion time than I need in the future...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2013
The dress fit beautifully and was really comfortable.
The dress was shimmery already so I didn't need a lot of accessories. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and the 4 fit perfectly and was appropriately fitted. The 6 was a little loose, a little too much fabric. This was my first rental and I am now a big fan of RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 20, 2013
subtle shimmer perfect for date event!
fabric doesn't snag or scratch like others with sequins, but runs a bit big
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2013
Glamorous and comfortable!
This little gold number is stretchy, but that does not make it cheap looking at all. The material still looks very nice and formal. I wore the smaller size 4 instead of the 6. I didn't even try on the 6. I still wore shape wear to keep it all smooth. I wore with nude strappy sandals and Nicole miller drop earrings I rented. I would recommend this dress for sure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2014
Great dress fit perfectly!
The fit was great very true to size very comfortable not to tight but it was fitted to show off your curves! Loved the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 14, 2014
Snazzy sparkler
Wore this to a wedding on our first wedding anniversary. I wanted something I could wear with the shoes I'd worn in our wedding. This was perfect! The dress definitely shows some signs of wear...piping coming out on the side. But if you're not looking you wouldn't notice it. I got lots of compliments on this. It was very comfortable and had lots of room to dance and eat tons without it showing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 14, 2014
Was pretty but runs large
Pretty fabric that is stretchy and therefore forgiving but ran too big for me!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2014
loved not having to shop
side zipper puckered out because of the large fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 29, 2014
Emergency dress, FTW!
So I was a bit panicked when my chosen NYE dress fit just a bit too snug. The RTR team was wonderful in suggesting this alternative, which I felt like was undersold on the website and in some of the reviews versus my experience. I found this dress just perfect. The one shoulder style made it stay in place all night long without my ever having to think of adjusting anything. It works well with a simple strapless bra. The material isn't super thick, but the texture to it and the finish made it dressy enough for NYE. I liked the longer length on it, as it was quite cold in NYC this evening. Highly recommend this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2015
Stunning
Fit well....longer than I expected but classy! Perfect NYE dress. Wore with nude heels and red lips!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
January 2, 2015
RTR made it very easy to find a fantastic dress.
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve because the girls in our group of couples decided we should all wear sparkle dresses. It was a bit of a last minute decision and I didn't want to buy yet another dress. The dress was true-to-size, arrived on time in very sturdy packaging, and was in great condition. I received many compliments on the dress, and it was easy to dance in. I wore it with black velvet pumps, only because it was freezing outside which rendered pantyhose as a necessity, and the pantyhose with the peep-toe on my sparkle pumps wasn't a good look. It was very tasteful, an appropriate cocktail length, and covered my chest (important for the venue). Easy to wear a strapless bra with as well. Very easy rental process, and I would absolutely "RTR" again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2015
Couldn't wear
Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress because the 2 was too small in the arms and baggy all around. The 4 consisted of too much material. The dress felt cheap, and the primary reason for not wearing it was that although I could have worn the 2, it had stains right on the neckline as though the precious renter spilled a red sauce and scrubbed it out causing the shimmer in those spots to disappear. Not a good fit.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×