Rent the Runway

David Meister

Black Seductive Sequin Gown

$135 rental
$648 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this sexy v-neck David Meister gown for that big black tie event you are attending. You'll stop everyone in their tracks when you walk in wearing this stunning style. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey with sequin inset(100% rayon). V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

106 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 85
Large 6
Photos 29
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

Very elegant

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this one to the ballet. It is perfect for performing art events.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 12, 2013

Too short.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. The shape was super flattering, but it was too short to wear. I'm only 5'6, so I'm not sure who this is made for. Definitely order a long.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR rental and was very pleased. I read all sizing criteria carefully and my dress fit like a glove. I am 5'4 and about 105. I wore the 2R with three inch heels and it was just right. I will absolutely rent again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

I did not wear the dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the dress but could not wear it because it was too short. If you are over 5'4" the regular length will be too short.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

Beautiful fit!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me perfect. Length was also perfect which I was worried about- I'm 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels. Received lots of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 16, 2013

Beautiful dress.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Kind of heavy, but it hugs you in all the right (or wrong for some) places.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

Awkward Fit

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't actually wear this dress. I ordered it as a backup. I tried it on and I felt that the fit was very awkward at the hips. It made it seem like I had much larger hips.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Pretty dress for an older audience

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Even the long sizes were too short. I would not have been able to wear this dress with heels. Returned it and wore something I already had. RTR always provides great customer service. The other girls I had suggested RTR to for this event were extremely satisified with their dress choice.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Sizing didn't work out and had to send it back :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 4L and a 6R just in case....I am 5'4 and had on 3 inch heels and the 4L was too short. The 6R was too big so I couldn't wear either one. So sad to send them back.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

More mermaid shape than I realized!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I should have looked more closely at the pictures as this dress is much more mermaid shape than I expected. The dress itself was lovely, but I do not have a bodyshape that is flattered by mermaid cuts so this was immediately a no go. Good thing my first pick worked out perfectly!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 1, 2013

Fit very well, and was very flattering

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
-
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 2, 2013

Very Unflattering

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am so glad I ordered a backup dress for this event! I really didn't like this dress. The mid-section, hip, and upper leg parts of the dress are really unflattering. It gave me a lumpy, boxy shape. I don't even thing spanx would have helped. It is super long too. Definitely wouldn't recommend it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 23, 2013

Smashing at Carnegie Hall!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My high school performed at Carnegie Hall, and this dress made the perfect statement. It was simple yet stunning. The detailing on the side made the dress stand out, and contoured my body well. I have nothing bad to say about this dress; it's a great investment.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190 lbs
May 28, 2013

It was too short. I am 6'1 and 6'4 heels, dress came right above my ankles

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress did not fit my tall frame, i went larger in size but it was too short.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Comfortable, elegant, sexy, and RTR has INCREDIBLE customer service

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress. It fit just right, the length was just right, and it was made out of this cool, stretchy material that was ridiculously comfortable. I felt like I walked out a movie and I was getting compliments all night. It looked really classy with a soft updo and red lipstick. As always, I found that RTR's customer service is INCREDIBLE. Due to some ridiculous, unforeseen circumstances, the dress was returned a teeny bit late. All I had to do was explain and they waived any fees. WOW. I seriously didn't expect that. Just think, how many companies would do that these days??? Love em.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this dress. Instead, ended up scrabbling to find another at the last minute.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the pics online but the dress fit me very awkwardly. It made me look like I had super long thighs - in a bad way. Also, I'm not that tall and the dress was pretty short...and I ordered the regular size, not petite. Unfortunately, this one didn't work out for me. Good thing my friends came through with back up dresses!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 12, 2013

Tight on the hips - did not wear this

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a little tight on the hips and not long enough, even the long version. If you are above 6 feet I would not recommend it
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Perfect fit and comfortable.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was really beautiful. I rented it as my backup and did not end up wearing it. The dress' neck line does not fall as deep as shown in the model photo.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Short-waisted, and therefore, short all over.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a black tie optional wedding and had high hopes but only 1 size was available so I wasn't able to get the recommended larger backup size. I took a chance and unfortunately the dress was just too short all over. The top part hit me up too high and then resulted in the whole dress hitting me in all the wrong places and being so short I couldn't even wear flats with it. Luckily I was able to get a backup dress sent to me that was wonderful. I would recommend sizing up at least 1 size on this dress and if you are particularly tall, it may not work even with a bigger size.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 15, 2013

Didn't love it - made me look like I was pregnant

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros - Beautiful dress if you have a completely flat stomach. Very nice material. Cons - it gives you a "pouch." I was in great shape to begin with but it made me look like I was 3 months pregnant or something. Not the look I was going for.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

TOO SHORT!

Size worn: 10P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't get to wear this dress so I don't have a picture - but I ordered the 10P (as I would usually buy in a David Meister and still have to have hemmed!) and this dress was so short I couldn't even wear flats with it without looking silly. I'm only 5'2". Other than that, this dress was gorgeous on. Too bad I didn't get to enjoy it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

LOVE IT (and so did boyfriend)

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup, but it fits so nicely and is so flattering that I had to wear it! I only had it on for 1 hour so I can't give much detail about stretching ect.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 13, 2013

pretty but not as elegant as I expected

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
nice for a formal affair
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 26, 2013

Great dress. Fits perfectly and nice fabric.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 6r went a little below my ankles and not all the way to the floor but if you have fun shoes it actually works out better.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Jan 2, 2014

simple but classic

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
received this after my initial RTR dress did not fit. While the dress did not arrive in time for my event, when i subsequently tried it on, the fit and style were perfect. Would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was an emergency backup dress that RTR recommended and shipped overnight when neither of my first 2 choices fit. I wore it to an office formal affair and received compliments all night long. And it was amazingly comfortable. Perfect fabric weight and stretch!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 23, 2014

Flattering, comfortable, fun dress!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am typically a size 8 in a dress and am only 5'4" tall, but based on other reviews, I ordered the 8L as the backup size. I'm so glad I did! The 8R barely made it to my ankles, but the 8L was perfect! I wore it with 2" heels. I am a curvy girl and this is absolutely the perfect dress for my body type. It accentuated my chest, but allowed me to wear a regular bra. It slimmed my waist and did great things for my backside as well. In the words of my boyfriend, "Wow, your butt is amazing!". I loved, loved, loved this dress and would wear it again in a heartbeat. It was comfortable for dancing and sitting to eat. The only downside and it is a small one is the fact that the sequins on the side chafed my inner arm a bit as the night wore on. I wore the dress from 1pm until nearly midnight and didn't really notice the chafing until late into the night. It didn't leave a mark and felt fine the next day. Like I said, tiny downside.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Elegance.. with sparkle!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So beautiful. The sparkles were just the added touch to help keep this formal dress classy yet fun! The waist cinching is excellent and helps accentuate a toned figure. Low cut but the sleeves make up for it since they aren't thin, they cover a lot of the cleavage area. Beautiful and I would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

Beautiful fit but length is very short!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was amazing and it is a gorgeous gown....the downside is it was too short. I'm only 5'3" and the dress hit me at my ankles with no shoes on. I measured it and it was only 54" instead of the 58" listed on the length. I didn't end up wearing this gown and had a replacement gown sent.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Way too short!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress that barely touched the top of my feet. Thank goodness I had a backup!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Flattering and classy!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great for dancing and moving, it looked great and I got so many compliments
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

An annual fund raiser for our local hospital.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2L and it was still too short (I had on 4inch heels). While the dress looks wonderful on the lovely model, it was not very flattering on me. I am 5'10, with a narrow build and the dress looked rather dowdy. The neck line was also much more modest than the photo represents. I'm a 32C and it showed no cleavage, not even a hint.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Runs really short

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Reserved two styles and sadly they didn't work out. Had this one and another style sent to me overnight and got it before noon the day of my event. Tried it on and sadly it was way WAY too short and I'm only 5'3". Reserved both the 4R and 6R and the 6R was still too short. Thankfully the second style worked out.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 2, 2014

Black-tie Affair

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't actually end up wearing this dress, I picked the other one I had ordered. It was still gorgeous, I just liked the other one better.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 4, 2014

I absolutely LOVED this gown! I received so many compliments; I felt absolutely beautiful all day.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6L and and an 8R- the 6 long was perfect with 3.5 inch heels. This gown was very comfortable and fit beautifully. I rented this for my goddaughter's wedding, so it had to be special. I wore it to the church and to the reception. People were asking me where I got thegown so I told them all about RTR. Some of them got right on their cellphones to look at all the beautiful clothing you have. I would recommend this gown to anyone who wants to feel glamorous and chic.I will definitely use RTR again. Thanks for making my day beautiful.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 10, 2014

Queen of the party

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect fit, i loved this dress
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2014

Elegant dress. Not as low as it looks on the model.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It wasn't as short as I thought it would be based on other's reviews. However, I was glad to order the long size. I would not have ordered long if it weren't for the reviews and it was definitely perfect in the long.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 19, 2014

Easy to wear

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a black tie function. I found it very comfortable and easy to wear. The only exception is that the sequins under caused a few scratches on my arm, but nothing serious. The dress is the perfect length for someone under 5'3" with three inch heels, anyone taller should get the long. I would definitely rent this dress again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 2, 2014

Nice but very basic

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as my backup dress and didn't end up wearing it. Nice classic black dress, not too showy, good coverage and slimming. To me, it just really lacks a wow factor.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Dress was pretty great for a curvy body!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Way too short for me even in a long!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×