Black Seductive Sequin Gown

$135 rental
$648 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this sexy v-neck David Meister gown for that big black tie event you are attending. You'll stop everyone in their tracks when you walk in wearing this stunning style. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey with sequin inset(100% rayon). V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
112 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size89
Small15
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 23, 2014
Elegance.. with sparkle!
So beautiful. The sparkles were just the added touch to help keep this formal dress classy yet fun! The waist cinching is excellent and helps accentuate a toned figure. Low cut but the sleeves make up for it since they aren't thin, they cover a lot of the cleavage area. Beautiful and I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 23, 2014
Flattering, comfortable, fun dress!
I am typically a size 8 in a dress and am only 5'4" tall, but based on other reviews, I ordered the 8L as the backup size. I'm so glad I did! The 8R barely made it to my ankles, but the 8L was perfect! I wore it with 2" heels. I am a curvy girl and this is absolutely the perfect dress for my body type. It accentuated my chest, but allowed me to wear a regular bra. It slimmed my waist and did great things for my backside as well. In the words of my boyfriend, "Wow, your butt is amazing!". I loved, loved, loved this dress and would wear it again in a heartbeat. It was comfortable for dancing and sitting to eat. The only downside and it is a small one is the fact that the sequins on the side chafed my inner arm a bit as the night wore on. I wore the dress from 1pm until nearly midnight and didn't really notice the chafing until late into the night. It didn't leave a mark and felt fine the next day. Like I said, tiny downside.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 16, 2014
Amazing!
This was an emergency backup dress that RTR recommended and shipped overnight when neither of my first 2 choices fit. I wore it to an office formal affair and received compliments all night long. And it was amazingly comfortable. Perfect fabric weight and stretch!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
January 2, 2014
simple but classic
received this after my initial RTR dress did not fit. While the dress did not arrive in time for my event, when i subsequently tried it on, the fit and style were perfect. Would rent again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2013
Great dress. Fits perfectly and nice fabric.
The 6r went a little below my ankles and not all the way to the floor but if you have fun shoes it actually works out better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129lbs
December 18, 2013
Tons of compliments at my boyfriend's holiday party!
I'm trying to find a good picture for this dress, everything I've found is just from my chest up. Overall I was happy with how the dress fit, but it did seem to run a little big. I'm typically around a 2/4 and easily could have fit in the 0 I think. I rented the 2L and 4R as that is all that was available. I didn't even try on the 4 since the 2 was a bit loose. Also, if you're at all tall I would definitely recommend the long size. I'm 5'8" and with barely 2" heels the dress was just skimming the ground. update: photos added! Sorry about the glowsticks... Ke$ha and Snoop Dogg/ Lion were there
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 13, 2013
pretty but not as elegant as I expected
nice for a formal affair
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2013
Elegant, Yet Comfortable
I wore this dress to a friend's black tie, New Years Eve wedding. I wanted something elegant and formal, that wouldn't be constrictive on the dance floor or uncomfortable to wear for 8 hours (the time between the ceremony and the end of the night). PROS: The pinched midsection and low neckline accentuated my figure in just the right places. The fabric was totally forgiving and the cutouts at the waist added just a bit of sparkle. CONS: While the length of the 6L was glamorous in theory, the mini-train was hard to manage in 4 inch heels. I was also doused by a falling glass of champagne around midnight (not my own, thank god), which unfortunately made the fabric of the dress smell TERRIBLE and sulfuric (think: rotten eggs, marsh at low tide). It must have been a reaction between the alcohol and dry cleaning chemicals ... not a fault of RTR, but a word of caution to be careful around liquids! All in all, a great first RTR experience and an unforgettable night :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 22, 2013
LOVE IT (and so did boyfriend)
This was my backup, but it fits so nicely and is so flattering that I had to wear it! I only had it on for 1 hour so I can't give much detail about stretching ect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2013
TOO SHORT!
I didn't get to wear this dress so I don't have a picture - but I ordered the 10P (as I would usually buy in a David Meister and still have to have hemmed!) and this dress was so short I couldn't even wear flats with it without looking silly. I'm only 5'2". Other than that, this dress was gorgeous on. Too bad I didn't get to enjoy it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 15, 2013
Didn't love it - made me look like I was pregnant
Pros - Beautiful dress if you have a completely flat stomach. Very nice material. Cons - it gives you a "pouch." I was in great shape to begin with but it made me look like I was 3 months pregnant or something. Not the look I was going for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 4, 2013
Short-waisted, and therefore, short all over.
I rented this for a black tie optional wedding and had high hopes but only 1 size was available so I wasn't able to get the recommended larger backup size. I took a chance and unfortunately the dress was just too short all over. The top part hit me up too high and then resulted in the whole dress hitting me in all the wrong places and being so short I couldn't even wear flats with it. Luckily I was able to get a backup dress sent to me that was wonderful. I would recommend sizing up at least 1 size on this dress and if you are particularly tall, it may not work even with a bigger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
October 29, 2013
Perfect fit and comfortable.
The dress was really beautiful. I rented it as my backup and did not end up wearing it. The dress' neck line does not fall as deep as shown in the model photo.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2013
Tight on the hips - did not wear this
This dress was a little tight on the hips and not long enough, even the long version. If you are above 6 feet I would not recommend it
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 23, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress. Instead, ended up scrabbling to find another at the last minute.
I loved the pics online but the dress fit me very awkwardly. It made me look like I had super long thighs - in a bad way. Also, I'm not that tall and the dress was pretty short...and I ordered the regular size, not petite. Unfortunately, this one didn't work out for me. Good thing my friends came through with back up dresses!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
September 23, 2013
Elegant dress
This was actually my back up dress but fit me perfectly. It's also really comfortable which was perfect for dancing all night at a wedding. It just barely reached the ground so might be too short on taller people.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2013
Perfect for a black tie event
I would order the long. I am 5'6 and I wish the dress would have been a little longer. But the overall fit was perfect and lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 17, 2013
Comfortable, elegant, sexy, and RTR has INCREDIBLE customer service
I LOVED this dress. It fit just right, the length was just right, and it was made out of this cool, stretchy material that was ridiculously comfortable. I felt like I walked out a movie and I was getting compliments all night. It looked really classy with a soft updo and red lipstick. As always, I found that RTR's customer service is INCREDIBLE. Due to some ridiculous, unforeseen circumstances, the dress was returned a teeny bit late. All I had to do was explain and they waived any fees. WOW. I seriously didn't expect that. Just think, how many companies would do that these days??? Love em.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2013
Incredible Elegant Dress
This was actually my back-up dress but it was so beautiful I had to wear it. The pictures do not do it justice. It is flattering, SO comfortable and the sequin accent is perfect. I'm very glad that I got the long because the length was perfect with 3" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
May 28, 2013
It was too short. I am 6'1 and 6'4 heels, dress came right above my ankles
Dress did not fit my tall frame, i went larger in size but it was too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2013
Smashing at Carnegie Hall!
My high school performed at Carnegie Hall, and this dress made the perfect statement. It was simple yet stunning. The detailing on the side made the dress stand out, and contoured my body well. I have nothing bad to say about this dress; it's a great investment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2013
Very Unflattering
I am so glad I ordered a backup dress for this event! I really didn't like this dress. The mid-section, hip, and upper leg parts of the dress are really unflattering. It gave me a lumpy, boxy shape. I don't even thing spanx would have helped. It is super long too. Definitely wouldn't recommend it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2013
Fit very well, and was very flattering
-
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 22, 2013
More mermaid shape than I realized!
I should have looked more closely at the pictures as this dress is much more mermaid shape than I expected. The dress itself was lovely, but I do not have a bodyshape that is flattered by mermaid cuts so this was immediately a no go. Good thing my first pick worked out perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
Sizing didn't work out and had to send it back :(
I ordered a 4L and a 6R just in case....I am 5'4 and had on 3 inch heels and the 4L was too short. The 6R was too big so I couldn't wear either one. So sad to send them back.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
Pretty dress for an older audience
Even the long sizes were too short. I would not have been able to wear this dress with heels. Returned it and wore something I already had. RTR always provides great customer service. The other girls I had suggested RTR to for this event were extremely satisified with their dress choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 20, 2013
Awkward Fit
I didn't actually wear this dress. I ordered it as a backup. I tried it on and I felt that the fit was very awkward at the hips. It made it seem like I had much larger hips.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2013
My brother said, "Wow, you look stunning!"
I loved wearing this dress. It was the most comfortable I have ever been in a formal gown. It was extremely flattering from all angles. I am 5’2 and I wore five inch platforms, and the 6R was the perfect length, not dragging on the ground at all. I loved the whole rent the runway experience. Easy, fast and way more reasonably priced than buying and altering even an inexpensive gown. This is a wonderful option for military wives or girlfriends who attend lots of formal events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2013
Beautiful dress.
Kind of heavy, but it hugs you in all the right (or wrong for some) places.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Beautiful fit!
This dress fit me perfect. Length was also perfect which I was worried about- I'm 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels. Received lots of compliments!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
I did not wear the dress
I liked the dress but could not wear it because it was too short. If you are over 5'4" the regular length will be too short.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 22, 2013
The "Wow" I got from my boyfriend when I walked out of the bedroom with the dress on.
I loved the dress. Usually wear a size 4 but with the heels it was way to short. Fortunately I ordered a second size in a 6 long. It was perfect with my 4 inch heels. Would definitely use this service again. Thank you
CynthiaSeptember 28, 2013
You look great!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
February 20, 2013
Fit like a glove!
This was my first RTR rental and was very pleased. I read all sizing criteria carefully and my dress fit like a glove. I am 5'4 and about 105. I wore the 2R with three inch heels and it was just right. I will absolutely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
February 12, 2013
Too short.
I loved this dress. The shape was super flattering, but it was too short to wear. I'm only 5'6, so I'm not sure who this is made for. Definitely order a long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
February 5, 2013
Very elegant
I wore this one to the ballet. It is perfect for performing art events.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
February 4, 2013
Beautiful dress!
It fit perfectly and I was very satisifed with the outcome!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2013
They were great about returns when the dress was too short.
I was excited to wear this to an Inaugural Ball but it was WAY too short even without heels. Otherwise a beautiful dress and very flattering on top. I also wish the sequins on top showed a bit more but it was really the length that made it unworkable.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 17, 2013
If at first you dont succeed...call RTR and they will make it happen
RTR really needs to amend the picture, as well as the style & fit section for this dress. As noted by many reviewers before me, this dress looks/fits nothing like the picture. It is NOT a deep v by any stretch of the imagination and therefore makes the dress look rather mature rather than elegant and sexy as pictured. I suspect the model sized up to get the look in the picture. I normally wear a size 0 but ordered a 2 and the fit was snug but not uncomfortable). Finally, the dress is extremely short! I am 5'2 which is considered petite by most standards and the dress did not hit the floor in my bare feet. The actual length measurements at 55 inches, not 58 as noted in the description. The good news is, I called RTR and the representative was quite patient in helping me to find a replacement dress at the last minute. Keeping my fingers crossed that the second time will be a charm. I think I'm in love with RTR.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Great dress. Fits like a glove and super comfortable.
Definitely get the Longer dress if you're a taller girl. The 4L was almost too short on me.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 13, 2013
I wore this to my senior prom and it was just perfect.
A bit short, wish it would've been longer. The material was a bit heavy too so since I wore it in May, I was sweating at some points. Overall a great dress though, I got so many compliments on it. I thought the sequins would be too much but it was just enough.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×