You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Black Seductive Sequin Gown
Rental $135 Retail $648
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Go with this sexy v-neck David Meister gown for that big black tie event you are attending. You'll stop everyone in their tracks when you walk in wearing this stunning style. Stack two beautiful bracelets like the Kate Spade's Putting on the Ritz Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle then earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Black matte jersey with sequin inset(100% rayon). V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.
Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos23

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
May 2, 2013
Very Unflattering
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am so glad I ordered a backup dress for this event! I really didn't like this dress. The mid-section, hip, and upper leg parts of the dress are really unflattering. It gave me a lumpy, boxy shape. I don't even thing spanx would have helped. It is super long too. Definitely wouldn't recommend it.
Lydia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
May 1, 2013
Fit very well, and was very flattering
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
-
mrs. p
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Apr 22, 2013
More mermaid shape than I realized!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I should have looked more closely at the pictures as this dress is much more mermaid shape than I expected. The dress itself was lovely, but I do not have a bodyshape that is flattered by mermaid cuts so this was immediately a no go. Good thing my first pick worked out perfectly!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 25, 2013
Sizing didn't work out and had to send it back :(
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 4L and a 6R just in case....I am 5'4 and had on 3 inch heels and the 4L was too short. The 6R was too big so I couldn't wear either one. So sad to send them back.
Jamie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Mar 25, 2013
Pretty dress for an older audience
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Even the long sizes were too short. I would not have been able to wear this dress with heels. Returned it and wore something I already had. RTR always provides great customer service. The other girls I had suggested RTR to for this event were extremely satisified with their dress choice.
Krishna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2233
Mar 20, 2013
Awkward Fit
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't actually wear this dress. I ordered it as a backup. I tried it on and I felt that the fit was very awkward at the hips. It made it seem like I had much larger hips.
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Mar 16, 2013
Beautiful dress.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Kind of heavy, but it hugs you in all the right (or wrong for some) places.
Marcie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Mar 13, 2013
Beautiful fit!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me perfect. Length was also perfect which I was worried about- I'm 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels. Received lots of compliments!
Lbs
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Mar 3, 2013
I did not wear the dress
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the dress but could not wear it because it was too short. If you are over 5'4" the regular length will be too short.
CK
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Feb 20, 2013
Fit like a glove!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR rental and was very pleased. I read all sizing criteria carefully and my dress fit like a glove. I am 5'4 and about 105. I wore the 2R with three inch heels and it was just right. I will absolutely rent again!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8533
Feb 12, 2013
Too short.
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. The shape was super flattering, but it was too short to wear. I'm only 5'6, so I'm not sure who this is made for. Definitely order a long.
Irina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3633
Feb 5, 2013
Very elegant
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this one to the ballet. It is perfect for performing art events.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Jan 23, 2013
They were great about returns when the dress was too short.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was excited to wear this to an Inaugural Ball but it was WAY too short even without heels. Otherwise a beautiful dress and very flattering on top. I also wish the sequins on top showed a bit more but it was really the length that made it unworkable.
Michelle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2623
Jan 17, 2013
If at first you dont succeed...call RTR and they will make it happen
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR really needs to amend the picture, as well as the style & fit section for this dress. As noted by many reviewers before me, this dress looks/fits nothing like the picture. It is NOT a deep v by any stretch of the imagination and therefore makes the dress look rather mature rather than elegant and sexy as pictured. I suspect the model sized up to get the look in the picture. I normally wear a size 0 but ordered a 2 and the fit was snug but not uncomfortable). Finally, the dress is extremely short! I am 5'2 which is considered petite by most standards and the dress did not hit the floor in my bare feet. The actual length measurements at 55 inches, not 58 as noted in the description. The good news is, I called RTR and the representative was quite patient in helping me to find a replacement dress at the last minute. Keeping my fingers crossed that the second time will be a charm. I think I'm in love with RTR.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4431
Jan 16, 2013
Great dress. Fits like a glove and super comfortable.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely get the Longer dress if you're a taller girl. The 4L was almost too short on me.
Grace
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5243
Jan 13, 2013
I wore this to my senior prom and it was just perfect.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
A bit short, wish it would've been longer. The material was a bit heavy too so since I wore it in May, I was sweating at some points. Overall a great dress though, I got so many compliments on it. I thought the sequins would be too much but it was just enough.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jan 6, 2013
underwhelming and short!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress fit fine but came to my ankles, and Im only 5'4! the black sequin detil is pretty and I adore rtr- it came on time in perfect condition and all that but the dress was not as pretty as the picture due to the shortness.
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4434
Dec 17, 2012
comfortable, classic black
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress was easy to wear and extremely comfortable. able to wear a normal bra and the dress wasn't very heavy. the v is not super deep, just deep enough - which i appreciated not needing fabric tape or maintenance. dress runs true to size which threw me a bit, almost every other dress i've rented ran large. only complaint is the dress doesn't photograph well - looks plain (looks better in real life).
Lili
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 15, 2012
WAY TOO SHORT
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5' 4'', and the dress hit above the ankles. It looked terrible with heels, and I ended up returning both dresses ASAP. Thank goodness I had a backup dress for my event. I ordered 2R and 4R, so I should have gone for long. The picture with the model wearing a floor-length gown is DECEIVING. Go for long unless you are very petite. And if you are tall, forget about it. Also, the flares on the stomach area are very unflattering as they puff out and create the illusion of a gut.
Effie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4432
Dec 11, 2012
never wore
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was very disappointed in this dress because I ordered a size 2L and 4L based on the reviews that people gave and both of them were short on me without heels
Beth
Age: 31
Canonical User Type: 1511
Nov 20, 2012
WAY too short
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I put it on, I was in love---until I put my heels on and realized it hit me above the ankle! Way too short to even consider. If you are petite, go for it!! You will love this dress, but if you are even a little on the tall side, you'll be disappointed.
Cass
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Nov 19, 2012
Elegant, slinky and the bottom moves 2 seconds after you do.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No one mention the flounce skirt on the bottom! If you look closer the skirt has a angular seam from mid-thigh to knee. The bottom skirt has a flippy do-flounce that is Great for dancing... I felt like Ginger Rogers. I wore a 3 inch heel which made the regular length perfect and I could wear my standard bra. I'm curvy.... so the way the back lays can make you look like Pippa from the rear . :) Not a bad thing!
mimi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Nov 18, 2012
was an elegant gown
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great fit without appearing toooooo revealing
Melysa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Nov 9, 2012
Wore to a benefit ball, the added sequins gave it a beautiful and elegant touch.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very pretty dress, but not as fitted in the tummy as I had hoped.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2334
Nov 7, 2012
Didn't wear
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not like the dress on me because it was a little too big and was not as low cut as the picture. Since it was too big, the dress flowed oddly when I walked. Besides that, I can see someone else really enjoying this dress.
Jillian
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5234
Nov 3, 2012
I wore this for my Prom.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this gown for my prom. I really liked it, however, the back was a little strange. The material above my butt bunched up a bit. Additionally, it wasn't as low cut as I was hoping. Other than that, I would recommend it.
Rhm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Oct 17, 2012
Sent me the wrong size.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered an 8R and must have received an 8P. Dress was above the ankles without shoes on. A bit conservative for me.
Keri
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 3521
Sep 14, 2012
Nice dress - a bit worn
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was nice - it was definitely worn & not as striking as it looks in the picture, although I did get numerous complements. I was, however, a bit disappointed with the RtR service. I only received 1 dress (instead of 2) - thankfully the size I received fit - and the Spanx I purchased (as recommended) had a run.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Sep 10, 2012
Sexy Conservative
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress went very well with my curves adding a sleek conservative flair to my evening. The detail around the V neck was just the perfect touch.
Whitney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 18, 2012
Fantastic
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit my curves beautifully! I got so many compliments on it. It was a little difficult to find the right shoes.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 8543
May 2, 2012
Hollywood Glamour
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a fundraiser with the theme of Old Hollywood glamour. It was the perfect mix of modern and vintage. I received all kinds of complements and I felt beautiful in it. My only concern was that it seemed a little short (I'm 5'9" and it didn't hit the floor even barefoot) but it still worked out wonderfully.
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3542
Mar 25, 2012
Loved it!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a great dress to wear to a formal event. The cut is very flattering and the material is so comfortable. I was able to wear a normal bra with it which was great. The bottom has great movement and made it very fun to dance in. I am almost 5'8" and wore 3 in heels and the length was perfect. Also, it isn't as low cut as it looks in the photo, so no worries there.
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4544
Jan 6, 2012
Elegant Black Dress!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie nye party! It is very elegant, but was just a black dress so I didn't stand out like I had hoped. I normally wear a 4 in dresses or 6 in pants. But the 2 fit great and was the most flattering. Definitely go with the long! I wore mine with 2 inch heels and at 5'8" ..wish it could have been a little longer.
Madison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5331
Nov 19, 2011
Elegant, but short
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs short, so if you are between lengths, go for the long one because I could not wear high heels. Also, the neckline was much higher than it appears to be on the model. Otherwise it was great!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Nov 17, 2011
Slimming
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. It was very comfortable and slimming. I received several compliments on it. I ordered a 6L and a 4L and they both fit really well, but the 4 was a little tighter in the bust and since I am smaller chested, I went with that size. My only complaint was that it was not as long as I would have liked. I am also a high heel wearing gal though and happened to have some shoes from when I was in a previous wedding that worked with the dress. I did not want to go out and buy 2" heels that I will never wear again. Any heels taller than 3" would have been too much. Another comment was that the neckline is not as low as it looks on the model, you can still wear a regular bra with it. But overall great dress!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 17, 2011
Neckline is really high
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for the Marine Corp ball and did not wear it. The neckline is so high (not like it's shown on the model) and was the most unflattering dress I have ever put on because of the neckline and odd gathering. True to size.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 8, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This is a pretty dress, but not as stunning as I thought it would be. It's just your simple long black dress. It was almost too long for me. I wore 3 inch heels and it hit right at the floor. It fits true to size.
kdoodaa
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1431
Nov 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Unfortunately, this dress was too short, and I had to return it. If you are between the regular and long lengths, definitely go for the long. Beautiful dress otherwise!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress