David Meister

Black Seductive Sequin Gown

$159 to buy
$648 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this sexy v-neck David Meister gown for that big black tie event you are attending. You'll stop everyone in their tracks when you walk in wearing this stunning style. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black matte jersey with sequin inset(100% rayon). V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
112 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(89)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2013
Beautiful dress!

It fit perfectly and I was very satisifed with the outcome!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
February 5, 2013
Very elegant

I wore this one to the ballet. It is perfect for performing art events.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
February 12, 2013
Too short.

I loved this dress. The shape was super flattering, but it was too short to wear. I'm only 5'6, so I'm not sure who this is made for. Definitely order a long.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 22, 2013
The "Wow" I got from my boyfriend when I walked out of the bedroom with the dress on.

I loved the dress. Usually wear a size 4 but with the heels it was way to short. Fortunately I ordered a second size in a 6 long. It was perfect with my 4 inch heels. Would definitely use this service again. Thank you

CynthiaFebruary 22, 2013
You look great!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2012
was an elegant gown

great fit without appearing toooooo revealing

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
I did not wear the dress

I liked the dress but could not wear it because it was too short. If you are over 5'4" the regular length will be too short.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Beautiful fit!

This dress fit me perfect. Length was also perfect which I was worried about- I'm 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels. Received lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2013
Beautiful dress.

Kind of heavy, but it hugs you in all the right (or wrong for some) places.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2013
My brother said, "Wow, you look stunning!"

I loved wearing this dress. It was the most comfortable I have ever been in a formal gown. It was extremely flattering from all angles. I am 5’2 and I wore five inch platforms, and the 6R was the perfect length, not dragging on the ground at all. I loved the whole rent the runway experience. Easy, fast and way more reasonably priced than buying and altering even an inexpensive gown. This is a wonderful option for military wives or girlfriends who attend lots of formal events.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 22, 2013
More mermaid shape than I realized!

I should have looked more closely at the pictures as this dress is much more mermaid shape than I expected. The dress itself was lovely, but I do not have a bodyshape that is flattered by mermaid cuts so this was immediately a no go. Good thing my first pick worked out perfectly!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2013
Fit very well, and was very flattering

-

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2013
Incredible Elegant Dress

This was actually my back-up dress but it was so beautiful I had to wear it. The pictures do not do it justice. It is flattering, SO comfortable and the sequin accent is perfect. I'm very glad that I got the long because the length was perfect with 3" heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 17, 2013
Comfortable, elegant, sexy, and RTR has INCREDIBLE customer service

I LOVED this dress. It fit just right, the length was just right, and it was made out of this cool, stretchy material that was ridiculously comfortable. I felt like I walked out a movie and I was getting compliments all night. It looked really classy with a soft updo and red lipstick. As always, I found that RTR's customer service is INCREDIBLE. Due to some ridiculous, unforeseen circumstances, the dress was returned a teeny bit late. All I had to do was explain and they waived any fees. WOW. I seriously didn't expect that. Just think, how many companies would do that these days??? Love em.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
September 23, 2013
Elegant dress

This was actually my back up dress but fit me perfectly. It's also really comfortable which was perfect for dancing all night at a wedding. It just barely reached the ground so might be too short on taller people.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 23, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress. Instead, ended up scrabbling to find another at the last minute.

I loved the pics online but the dress fit me very awkwardly. It made me look like I had super long thighs - in a bad way. Also, I'm not that tall and the dress was pretty short...and I ordered the regular size, not petite. Unfortunately, this one didn't work out for me. Good thing my friends came through with back up dresses!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
October 29, 2013
Perfect fit and comfortable.

The dress was really beautiful. I rented it as my backup and did not end up wearing it. The dress' neck line does not fall as deep as shown in the model photo.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 15, 2013
Didn't love it - made me look like I was pregnant

Pros - Beautiful dress if you have a completely flat stomach. Very nice material. Cons - it gives you a "pouch." I was in great shape to begin with but it made me look like I was 3 months pregnant or something. Not the look I was going for.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2013
TOO SHORT!

I didn't get to wear this dress so I don't have a picture - but I ordered the 10P (as I would usually buy in a David Meister and still have to have hemmed!) and this dress was so short I couldn't even wear flats with it without looking silly. I'm only 5'2". Other than that, this dress was gorgeous on. Too bad I didn't get to enjoy it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2013
Elegant, Yet Comfortable

I wore this dress to a friend's black tie, New Years Eve wedding. I wanted something elegant and formal, that wouldn't be constrictive on the dance floor or uncomfortable to wear for 8 hours (the time between the ceremony and the end of the night). PROS: The pinched midsection and low neckline accentuated my figure in just the right places. The fabric was totally forgiving and the cutouts at the waist added just a bit of sparkle. CONS: While the length of the 6L was glamorous in theory, the mini-train was hard to manage in 4 inch heels. I was also doused by a falling glass of champagne around midnight (not my own, thank god), which unfortunately made the fabric of the dress smell TERRIBLE and sulfuric (think: rotten eggs, marsh at low tide). It must have been a reaction between the alcohol and dry cleaning chemicals ... not a fault of RTR, but a word of caution to be careful around liquids! All in all, a great first RTR experience and an unforgettable night :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 13, 2013
pretty but not as elegant as I expected

nice for a formal affair

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 26, 2013
Great dress. Fits perfectly and nice fabric.

The 6r went a little below my ankles and not all the way to the floor but if you have fun shoes it actually works out better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
January 2, 2014
simple but classic

received this after my initial RTR dress did not fit. While the dress did not arrive in time for my event, when i subsequently tried it on, the fit and style were perfect. Would rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2014
Amazing!

This was an emergency backup dress that RTR recommended and shipped overnight when neither of my first 2 choices fit. I wore it to an office formal affair and received compliments all night long. And it was amazingly comfortable. Perfect fabric weight and stretch!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 23, 2014
Flattering, comfortable, fun dress!

I am typically a size 8 in a dress and am only 5'4" tall, but based on other reviews, I ordered the 8L as the backup size. I'm so glad I did! The 8R barely made it to my ankles, but the 8L was perfect! I wore it with 2" heels. I am a curvy girl and this is absolutely the perfect dress for my body type. It accentuated my chest, but allowed me to wear a regular bra. It slimmed my waist and did great things for my backside as well. In the words of my boyfriend, "Wow, your butt is amazing!". I loved, loved, loved this dress and would wear it again in a heartbeat. It was comfortable for dancing and sitting to eat. The only downside and it is a small one is the fact that the sequins on the side chafed my inner arm a bit as the night wore on. I wore the dress from 1pm until nearly midnight and didn't really notice the chafing until late into the night. It didn't leave a mark and felt fine the next day. Like I said, tiny downside.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 23, 2014
Elegance.. with sparkle!

So beautiful. The sparkles were just the added touch to help keep this formal dress classy yet fun! The waist cinching is excellent and helps accentuate a toned figure. Low cut but the sleeves make up for it since they aren't thin, they cover a lot of the cleavage area. Beautiful and I would rent again.

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
February 8, 2014
Sexy and comfy!

Fits exactly as described by others. I'm 5'6" and in 2 1/2 heels it barely touched the top of my foot. I did wear a regular brA which was great and just control top hose. Would definitely rent again

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 11, 2014
Way too short!

Beautiful dress that barely touched the top of my feet. Thank goodness I had a backup!

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 25, 2014
Flattering and classy!

Great for dancing and moving, it looked great and I got so many compliments

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2014
An annual fund raiser for our local hospital.

I ordered the 2L and it was still too short (I had on 4inch heels). While the dress looks wonderful on the lovely model, it was not very flattering on me. I am 5'10, with a narrow build and the dress looked rather dowdy. The neck line was also much more modest than the photo represents. I'm a 32C and it showed no cleavage, not even a hint.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2014
Runs really short

Reserved two styles and sadly they didn't work out. Had this one and another style sent to me overnight and got it before noon the day of my event. Tried it on and sadly it was way WAY too short and I'm only 5'3". Reserved both the 4R and 6R and the 6R was still too short. Thankfully the second style worked out.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2014
Black-tie Affair

I didn't actually end up wearing this dress, I picked the other one I had ordered. It was still gorgeous, I just liked the other one better.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 4, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this gown! I received so many compliments; I felt absolutely beautiful all day.

I ordered a 6L and and an 8R- the 6 long was perfect with 3.5 inch heels. This gown was very comfortable and fit beautifully. I rented this for my goddaughter's wedding, so it had to be special. I wore it to the church and to the reception. People were asking me where I got thegown so I told them all about RTR. Some of them got right on their cellphones to look at all the beautiful clothing you have. I would recommend this gown to anyone who wants to feel glamorous and chic.I will definitely use RTR again. Thanks for making my day beautiful.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 10, 2014
Queen of the party

Perfect fit, i loved this dress

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2014
Elegant dress. Not as low as it looks on the model.

It wasn't as short as I thought it would be based on other's reviews. However, I was glad to order the long size. I would not have ordered long if it weren't for the reviews and it was definitely perfect in the long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2014
Easy to wear

I wore this dress for a black tie function. I found it very comfortable and easy to wear. The only exception is that the sequins under caused a few scratches on my arm, but nothing serious. The dress is the perfect length for someone under 5'3" with three inch heels, anyone taller should get the long. I would definitely rent this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 2, 2014
Nice but very basic

I rented this as my backup dress and didn't end up wearing it. Nice classic black dress, not too showy, good coverage and slimming. To me, it just really lacks a wow factor.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2014
Wore this dress to ball

The dress fit absolutely perfect, the sequins under the arm were a little bit uncomfortable and irritating. But overall it was super comfortable and a flattering fit

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
June 2, 2014
The dress I did wear not this one but this dress is beautiful

Very sexy and I would of wore this bit my first choice was the dress for me

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
June 6, 2014
Classy and elegant.

I loved the way this dress looked, It was such a great pick. I would rent it again.

Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 19, 2014
The dress was highly complimented at a business gala I attended! Steph (also pictured) was jealous!!

The fit was perfect. However, I am a true size 12. I am 5'8", so I was worried that a "L" may not be long enough with heels. But it worked out wonderfully. I will definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×