Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$77 to buy
$565 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
190 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(110)
Small
(35)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 70
August 27, 2015
Elegant dress. Wonderful, vibrant signal-light green.
For a full figure, dress was a snug -- but not overly -- snug 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2015
Beautiful dress for black tie optional charity event
This was form-fitting and very snug, but I felt beautiful... which is key post-baby! I'm glad I ordered the extra size up. I'm a pretty true size 12, and I barely got the 14 over my hips. I received many compliments throughout the evening, though. Lovely dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 9, 2015
Great customer service.
Fit perfect. Color jewel-like. Length- fashion forward. Over-all opinion- I'm renting this dress again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
November 18, 2015
Loved this dress, and received several compliments.
I added a thin gold belt to the dress and it really made the look. It would be great for a holiday party. I would absolutely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 2, 2016
Love this fabric
I did not end up wearing this dress for a wedding because it seemed a little overdressed but I wish I had. Super flattering! I will be renting again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 19, 2016
The dress fit perfectly for a Fall wedding!
I loved the unique body shape this dress provided as well as the length was perfect. I am a very tall female with LONG legs and it hit right below the knee cap. The design on the top was simply beautiful and the green color was stunning. I received MANY compliments on this all night. The one thing to note is that the under arm area did get a bit tender towards the end of the evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 30, 2012
I mistakenly ordered this dress for the wrong weekend. The RTR team changed the date and the items!
This dress is beautiful. The colors, fit, and style. The dress did run a little big. I am usually a 2 or a 4, but I could've used a 0 around my waist. I got the privilege of taking the tags off the dress so wear did not have a factor in running large. I am 5' 2" and the dress hit me right below the knees, but I used Temporary Hem Tape and it worked perfectly. I accessorized with the Kate Spade Clean Break Statement Necklace and it took the dress to another level. The colors complemented each other beautifully. I wore this dress to a December wedding with a burgundy pashmina and everyone loved it - I received so many compliments. The dress is the perfect combination of classic and fashionable and in 20 years I will not look back and say "what was I wearing?" I would recommend this dress to anyone and especially to those women who want to remain classy and timeless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 4, 2012
Gorgeous Holiday Party Dress
This is a gorgeous dress, but it was too large from the waist down. I ended up having to return it because the size 6 wasn't available. I was so sad because it really was stunning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party!
I wore this dress for a friend's holiday cocktail party. The dress was a hit. I was in between a 4 and a 6 so wish the fit would have been a bit better on me but overall a beautiful dress and classy and beautiful for the season.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2012
I felt so festive!
This dress is LOVELY and CLASSIC. Pairing it with the Kate Spade Clean Break Necklace really took it to another level. With my red hair and fair skin, the color was perfect. All of that being said, the fit was a little strange but still worth a shot. I normally wear an 8 in dresses. I have more of an athletic build and have had two children, so fit can sometimes be all over the place. I was sent the 10 in this, and while it worked, it was a little uncomfortable to wear during my evening out. The top of the dress fit well and I would say it was even a little large. It more than accommodated my 36C chest with room to spare. I don't think it looked TOO big, though I was aware that it was a bit on the larger side as I was wearing it. This fabric is heavy and will provide zero stretch, so I'd say that the top will be a good fit for anyone moderately well-endowed in the chest. If you are below a C and above a D cup, I'm not sure this would be a good fit. The bottom is where I had more problems. The waist was nice and tight so it definitely did a good job of cinching in any 'tummy problems'. However, the skirt was RIDICULOUSLY tight! I almost never have this problem because my legs are pretty slim, but I was shocked at how packed into this dress I was (on the bottom). It was a little uncomfortable to sit at first. After a few glasses of wine, I didn't really notice as much. Either it was the wine or perhaps the dress was being broken in a bit? Hard to tell. I did receive the dress brand new with the tags still on, so it's possible that it just needed a little 'wear' time. Overall, I think this was a gorgeous dress and I was happy to be able to wear it. I think the fit will be tricky for lots of people, though. I would highly recommend it to ladies who are more straight and narrow as it will give you the illusion of lots of beautiful curves. I would recommend going up a size simply for the bottom even if the top might feel a little too big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Great dress! It was classy, perfect for a December wedding.
Loved this dress. It was a little tight in the bust (I went braless it was so tight) and loose in the waist. It is not a full peplum skirt all the way around, even though it looks like it in the picture. There is a pleat around the hip bones where the peplum begins. It was my first dress from RTR and I am so excited to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2012
This dress is cut so well and very flattering.
The fabric is luxurious and the style is sophisticated. I looked oh, so very thin and was comfortable all night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2012
Great for a work party!
I wore this to a work holiday party. It is festive and a great length. True to size for the most part. I usually wear a 0 or 2 depending on the top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 19, 2012
I loved this dress, perfect for a holiday party!
The dress fit me true to size, however it was just slightly tight in the thigh area. I loved the colors and sheen to the fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
December 21, 2012
Perfect for dinner with Dad
I wore this to a wine dinner at a local restaurant with my dad, and it was perfect! This fit is true to size, and the peplums weren't too obtrusive. I wore it with nude heels, a black cardigan (it was cold), and a black clutch. I got plenty of compliments, and people couldn't believe I'd rented it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 23, 2012
Perfect for the holidays!
I rented this for a friends Christmas wedding, which was perfect! The color was gorgeous, and goes well with nice gold, chunky jewelry. I'm 5'4", so the skirt length was a little long for me, it hit under my knees. If it was a bit shorter, that would have been great, but no biggie. The torso fit great, and created a nice waistline. Definitely unique and different!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 24, 2012
Great color!
This dress is perfect for a party/formal affair due to its bold color and fun print. It helps add shape to your figure with the peplum design. It doesn't stretch at all so consider getting a size larger tomake sure it fits well. Perfect for all skin tones!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 26, 2012
It's the perfect dress for the holidays, esp. a holiday party!
Color, fabric, cut = amazing. Stunning in a very classy, work-appropriate way. Narrow waist and peplum flatter, even big bootie gals :) Con, runs a little small, especially in the hip region. Very fitted, so I dont know if that's the dress or my delusions, but I'm very petite on top (size 0/2) and usually a 2/4 on bottom, but 4 was definitely the way to go... still a big snug though. Had to let some gents help me instead of scrambling for things that fell to the floor. No bother... I looked amazing! Everybody was willing to support this fashion-must!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
I traveled to NY for Christmas and had the dress mailed to my destination. Saved luggage space!
I loved the material and the rich colors. I usually wear a size 4, got a 6 for backup, wore the 4 which was perfect. A very flattering and comfortable dress. Wore it for Christmas - very Christmas tree-like in a way. Was great not to have to pack this dress but rather have it waiting for me when I arrived.
BrookeJanuary 8, 2013
You look great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 7, 2013
Gorgeous!
Wore this dress to a post-Christmas evening wedding. The fit was perfection. The look was sophistication. I felt so amazingly amazing in this dress. I certainly had to behave lady-like in it because there is no give. The only reason for docking a star is that it was obvious to me that someone a bit too large for the dress had worn it previously. There was a bit of a pooch in the mid section and the zipper was a bit off. It kept catching on itself, I don't think it will last much longer before needing repair. Only I noticed so not too bad.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 10, 2013
Great holiday party dress!
Dress is a gorgeous fabric and pattern. Th length is elegant and flattering. The dress was big around my waist, I usually wear a 4 and wore a 4 in this dress. Also recommend getting the temporary hem for shorter women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 13, 2013
I rented this dress for a January Christmas party in DC and it was amazing!
I was drawn to the color, peplum detail and design of this dress and couldn't wait to wear it. It did not disappoint! My only (minor) complaint - it was a little hard to sit down in. (Since I also got a size 4 with my order I tried that one, but it was much bigger on me.) It was still the perfect dress choice for the party and I loved wearing it! It's very flattering and I couldn't stop staring at the bold green rose pattern!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 18, 2013
It was perfect! I loved it and receive many compliments. It fit like a glove and it looked amazing.
It was true to size. It fit perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2013
Great style and color
Dress was pretty but seemed to run large. I am a 34ddd but this dress ran large through the top. Very sophisticated dress. Loved the fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 27, 2013
Beautiful but tight
I would size up on this dress. The dress has no give at all, it was even hard to sit down let alone walk around. Beautiful color, nice cut, and photographed nicely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
January 30, 2013
Very simple and beautiful dress!
4 wasn't available on short notice so I rented the 6 - loose fit on top but tight in the leg area. Still was a beautiful dress! The color is gorgeous and the style is very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 31, 2013
Beautiful dress, loved the fabric and color but it didn't fit quite right.
The size 6 fit perfectly in the hips and butt area as well as the chest (I could wear a bra with it), however, it was HUGE in the true waist/stomach area. I opted to wear the size 4 which was tight under the arms and chest (unable to wear a bra) and around the hips and butt. It was perfect in the midsection though. There is no stretch in this dress but the back slit does help allow movement. I really feel like I was in between sizes. I didn't have time to pick another dress because I needed this for a Holiday photoshoot. I would not rent again because of the fit issues, but it is a gorgeous dress and color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 19, 2013
Great dress!
A little large in the waist and a little long for petite ladies.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 20, 2013
the color was perfect
for me it was a little long since im short but nothing some double tape fix the fit was perfect it made me feel sexy and classy at the same time
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2013
Everyone loved the dress. Tons of compliments.
A bit tight on the bust and a little roomy in the hips - which is usually my problem. I typically wear a 4 and wore a 2 in this dress, but it was snug on the top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2013
Chic and Classy Fit!
I previously rented a different dress that did not fit, so a stylist surprised me with this gem. The color is remarkable and the fabric is thick and luxurious. The peplum skirt is on trend and gives a classy, conservative look perfect for a holiday event. There is not much give in the fabric, so be sure to order the size that will fit your largest measurement. I also rented the Elizabeth Cole necklace that went perfectly with this dress. I got so many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
March 12, 2013
Fit like a glove and was perfectly appropriate for the Xmas party I wore it to.
In a perfect world it would have been one inch shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
It is a unique, stunning dress, and it was fun to wear.
There is no wiggle room; the fabric does not give, so you might need to wear spanx, and you will definitely need to be comfortable in a form fitting dress. But it is really beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2013
Mad Men Engagement Shoot + This Dress = Perfect!
We did a Mad Men Engagement shoot, and this dress was the perfect thing for it! It runs a little small, especially if you are curvy in the bust and hips/butt. However, with some Spanx, I felt confident and ready to bring out my inner Joan. :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 15, 2013
So elegant!
This dress was beautiful and elegant. I don't think that it's the type of dress that's going to immediately stand out at an event -- which makes it a great wedding guest dress. It polished and classic and a great bet for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2013
This looked so beautiful. It was classic and elegant, but fun and made a statement
It fit like a glove. It gave a waist and hips and was slimming as well
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
April 21, 2013
Love the print! Photos online don't do it justice
I'm a seize smaller on top than on bottom so at times dresses are a hard fit for me. Overall the dress was true to size but a bit big on the top for me which happens a lot. This dress has no stretch whatsoever, so it was a bit hard to sit down. I had a minor freak out when it ripped a few inches up the back slit but I was able to get a sewing kit at my hotel and it was a quick fix. Everyone who asked about my dress was so surprised that I had rented it without ever trying it on. Next time I would definitely make an appointment at the NYC showroom to try on beforehand because I live in the city.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2013
ended up not wearing it but it is a beaut!
I am currently a 10 but ordered the 12 since the dress didn't seem to have any give. Ordered this as my back up dress and unfortunately, it was too loose and didn't have a back up size. It is really gorgeous however and the material and color is spectacular. I also loved that it hit right below my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2013
Sophisticated and fun!
Loved this dress. I felt very sophisticated and chic, yet still fun. I would say I am somewhere between a 12 and a 14, and went with the 14 for a more comfortable fit but the dress runs pretty true to size if not a little on the small side. The fabric is a really great bright floral print that is more far spectacular in person than in the picture. I would highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
May 21, 2013
This was my back up dress. Good fit and very pretty dress but it is best for evening only.
Very pretty dress and the colors are rich but in my opionion it is certainly best suited for a nightime event. I had it for a graduation event that was during the day and it was "too much" for a daytime Spring event. The texture, quality and colors are very nice. My daughters thought it was a bit too long but I am only 5'4".
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×