Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$40 rental
$565 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

159 reviews

Fit
Small 26
True to Size 96
Large 27
Photos 82
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Beautiful color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the color and pattern- it is really beautiful. The cut and length made it feel a bit more "buttoned-up" than I was hoping, which made it perfect for the office holiday party but not as fun as I was hoping for dinner with friends the next night. I normally wear a six with most designers, but I went with the 8 for this dress as the fabric is not forgiving and the straight down cut of the skirt was quite snug around my hips.
Mia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

Semi-formal dress for an autism benefit

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was such an amazing fit and really accentuated my waist, which was perfect. The subtlety of the green pattern is absolutely gorgeous, and the cut of the dress is conservative but classy. The one (tiny) complaint that I have is that the skirt tended to feel very tight and ride up while I was seated (and I had to be seated for 3 hours), but it's a very comfortable and beautiful dress. I would totally rent it again.
Evelyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 29, 2015

Got a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
Great for a night wedding.
Laura
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
May 14, 2015

Loved the retro feel.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very comfortable and fits well. I got tons of compliments. Only issue...make sure you can get the bottom of the pencil skirt over your hips, otherwise, the only way to use the restroom is to take the dress off completely. Luckily, I was able to, but if my hips were ANY bigger, I would have had a big challenge. I will definitely rent this again.
Robin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Wore this for a Mad Men event and it worked perfectly with my pillbox hat and pearls.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this for a Mad Men event and it worked perfectly with my pillbox hat and pearls. This dress fit perfectly in the chest and waist. The length just covered my knees. It was slightly snug in the hips, but it worked fine. There was no give to the fabric, so the skirt rode up some when I was seated for awhile. Otherwise, the fabric was luxurious and the dress made me feel so glamorous.
Jodi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 28, 2015

Wore this dress for my sister's NYC wedding. I received so many compliments! Loved the color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The peplum hid my momma pooch and created a nice waist. It was true to size and fit just right. It was a sit down dinner with no dancing, but the skirt may have inhibited my moves if i had a chance to show them off.
TD
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

Subtlety stood out at a professional awards ceremony.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress as an honoree at a professional awards ceremony, paired with black tights, patent leather skinny belt and patent leather pumps. I received many compliments including 'Best Dressed'. When I received the dress, I felt the lining and zipper showed some wear, but the fabric itself looked and felt luxurious. I wore size 2 which was true to size, but slim in the hips. There is no stretch in the fabric which makes walking up steps difficult. The hemline was a bit long for me, going a bit past the knee. The hidden bra strap holders are useful and the base of the peplum is sewn into the dress, which does not allow it to flare out. Overall, a great dress for my evening business event that included cocktails, dinner, and speech ceremony!
Carolyn
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Apr 14, 2015

The dress was great. Hit at the knee just right, Didn't wrinkle in my suitcase.

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Other
I'm a 34DD and felt/looked smooshed in the bust, and still had a good inch of room in the waist. If I had bought this dress, I would have gone up a size and had the waist taken back down to a 10 or even 8 so the girls would have more room. For a rental though, the fit was perfectly serviceable.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Lots of Compliments at Charity Event

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress was great for an autism charity gala. The dress is not stretchy at all, so be careful when getting in/out of the car because the skirt doesn't give!
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

Customer Service

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would say generous through the chest. Beautiful color. Great fabric. I would go snug because the fabric covers any lumps and bumps. My first RTR. Great Customer Service
Nicole
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163 lbs
Dec 25, 2014

Mad Men Party hit!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everyone loved this dress at the Mad Men party we attended. I wish I got a better picture of me in it! I really didn't want to send the dress back. My only complaint is that it is very loose in the waist, but I had several belts on hand to wear with it to cinch the fabric in. I wore it with a black shrug and a thick blue BCBG belt, as well as 3 1/2 inch heels. I wish it came in a petite, as the dress hit mid-calf for me. The material is thick but sits well; it was perfect for the mid-winter party. The 12 was too snug in the thighs and hips but fit better on top--if you're only top heavy you could probably go down a size. I'm still giving it a 5-star because I wish I kept the darn thing!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Great holiday party dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I had originally chosen a different dress but was notified by RTR that it unexpectedly unavailable. I chose this dress as my alternative and it was perfect. The size 2 ran small and the size 4 ran normal so I opted for the size 4 which was slightly big for me. While the situation was less than ideal, RTR took really good care of me. Great customer service!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Dec 15, 2014

Fabulous color and fabric!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a cocktail party. It fit well but was a little big. Should have rented the 6 & 8. Very comfortable dress and tons of compliments. Very pleased with it!
Rachel
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Too conservative to wear to a party

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Great quality! Neckline was too high and shape too conservative to wear for the fun event I was going to. This would be a great dress for a work-related affair. I'm a curvy size 12; so this dress was tight in the chest, very tight on my butt and thighs, and too loose in the stomach. If I had just planned to stand all night, I would have considered wearing it. The butt/hip area was soooo tight sitting down, but the fabric looked great and hid my imperfections. I loved my backup dress and wore that. If I had to wear this one, I'd wear a belt. I would consider renting again for a work event if I lost 10 pounds in my lower body.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Amazing dress for holiday party!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely perfect for my father's holiday party. It fit like a glove and I got so many compliments on it all night. The dress is very true to size and was a little tight in the hips/ butt area but not too tight. It's a great color, perfect for this time of year and could not be happier with my rental!
Pepper
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

This dress was gorgeous! I wish I could keep it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit really well- the length was nice- I'm 5'10 and it was an appropriate length. It fit my bust and my hips very nicely, but I'm quite curvy and so I ended up wearing a narrow belt because I didn't have much waist. I think it looked great though! I would definitely rent this again. The color was perfect for me (a natural auburn, currently black-haired woman with green eyes), and is less "showy" than you think it's going to be.
Aissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 17, 2014

Absolutely LOVED this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for an outdoor evening wedding and I must say that the dress fit the occasion perfectly. The material was great and the fit was perfect. I received SO many compliments the entire night. I highly recommend this dress!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Lovely dress! Poms are not distracting at all.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ended up not wearing this one, while it was a great look, I was actually running the party. So this is a little longer, fit kind of tight in the hips for me, but a 6 would have been too large. Because it is longer, you can't move as freely and since I was hosting the event, I was running around and putting out fires - this was not the winner because it restricted me from moving freely. Wore with the Oscar de La Renta Luxembourg necklace.
Sheila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Gorgeous color, great cut, compliments all night long

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a semi formal November wedding. The brocade fabric really helps take this dress up a notch and I loved the color (which can easily pair with a lot of different accessories). I did not notice a huge difference between the 8 and the 10 except in the hips. As I'm pretty straight through the hips I went with the 8. As other reviewers have mentioned, the fabric does not have give, so the dress has a tendency to ride up while sitting. That might be a reason to size up if your shape is curvier in the hips. As for the bust, I'm a 34F (DDD) and this dress really accommodated my bust. Because of the cut of the top, I could easily wear a bra with straps. What a great dress all around!
BumbleBee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Nov 3, 2014

Elegant, Gorgeous Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me like a glove. The fabric is beautiful and the color is vibrant. The only downfall is that I have to return it. With RTR, I may never buy another formal dress again.
Jackie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Wedding at the Texas Discovery Gardens, complete with a butterfly exhibit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup option for a wedding. This dress is very pretty, but made out of heavy material, and would be better for a winter event, like a holiday party. Also, the size 12 was very narrow in the hips, but the size 14 was far too large in the bust. If I had to wear this dress to the wedding, I would have went with the 14 for comfort. Not a bad dress, but I doubt I would rent this look again.
Allison
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

Great color - unique dress that stands out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an October wedding. The cut of the dress was extremely flattering, and the color and pattern are rich and eye-catching. Overall, a classy and unique option! The fabric has no give, which makes sitting for long periods of time a little difficult. I ordered a size 4 as back up, but the 2 fit like a glove!
Katie
Top Contributor
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Sep 23, 2014

The perfect way to subtly stand out.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to accept a professional award. Most people wore suits, I wore this. Based on the model, I was a little worried the print may look matronly with those flowers. Not the case. The print looks modern. The fabric was amazing. The perfect amount of sheen to make that green really pop. But, people complimented the perfect fit all night. As long as I stood, everything was in the right spot. The bottom got tight to fit over my hips when I used the ladies room but that was literally the only negative I have. Fun surprise feature...the bra strap holders.
Sarah
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

Loved, loved this dress.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a Ovarian Cancer Fundraiser. I received so many complements and lots of people wanted to know where I had bought it. I ordered a 12 & a 14 as I usually wear a 12 but the reviews made me think it ran small. The 12 was a little tight and I didn't want to be uncomfortable. The 14 was a tad big but looked beautiful on! Loved the length and loved the overall structure of the dress!
Johanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Perfect for the Holidays!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is a beautiful emerald green! I wore it for our engagement party in December and I felt like it was the perfect dress to brighten the holidays. However, did run a little big so if you're in between sizes, order a size down.
Nancy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

I loved my Rent The Runway dress! I received so many compliments - felt like a celebrity!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
So happy to have two size choices. The size 6 - my regular size - ran too big, so I went with the size 4 based on other reviews I read. It fit perfectly. I just wish I had remembered to take a full-length picture. And it was so easy to return the dress the next day... just found the closest UPS box and dropped it off. My daughter and I both rented dresses -- she said she felt like a princess!
Alysha
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Jun 29, 2014

Great color and dress!!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am a true pear shape and this dress is not made for people with hips and backside like me. I had to get a size bigger to fit that are but was a little small on the upper area. It has great color and received several compliments! The dress was great!!
Linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Beautiful dress for Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Definitely a more structured dress. The 4 was a little tight in the hips but the 6 was too loose in the bust. Went with the four and wore Spanx to smooth everything out. Received so many complements on this dress at the rehearsal dinner at the Botanical Gardens. Perfect shade of green!
Amanda
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Color was beautiful!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really wanted an emerald dress for symbolization at this event and I thought the color and pattern of this dress was perfect. It was really flattering for the most part but the thigh area was so tight it almost created more volume on the tummy area since it was hugging my thighs so tight. Overall loved the dress but if you have thick thighs, I would rent a size up :-)
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Felt Great!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My mom wore this dress, first time renting. The 12 fit better in the hips but was fairly large in the chest so ended up wearing the 10 (spanx helped). The dress is a beautiful green color and loved the different take on peplum!
Ambre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2014

My first time using RTR...I loved the unique pattern, and the shipping process was GREAT!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was nice, I think the only thing that was a bit underwhelming, is that the skirt is very structured-- even though I could fit the 4 in the bust area, I could not sit down in the dress-- I wore the 6, because it catered a bit better for those who have a curvier bottom. But overall, it was great--- got a lot of compliments!
cccarlson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 1, 2014

Great dress, a little snug in the booty

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress. Lots of compliments. The fabric isn't very forgiving. I have a bit of a booty so it was a little uncomfortable when I was sitting. Could maybe have done an 8 and it would have fit more comfortably but might have been too baggy in the chest. Rented if for a charity event though and it was a great dress for a 3 hour event. On a different body type it might have been absolutely perfect.
Darlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 16, 2014

Gorgeous dress with incredible sheen. Received so many compliments and I might rent this one again!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am large busted (38D) and it fit perfectly. I was shocked that the peplum did not exaggerate my curves but actually created a very flirty look. Skirt is very straight so sitting could be a bit challenging for someone with hips. Also I loved the length because I am not fond of my shapeless legs, but at 5'8" it hit me at the bottom portion of my knee which was perfect. A very gorgeous dress and perfect for cool weather.
patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

The dress is elegant and comfortable

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size I choose (10) was too tight in the chest so I wore the 12 and taped up a hem of a few inches. The dress allows a bra and doesn't require tight undergarments, making it very comfortable to wear for a long evening.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

This dress made me feel so regal!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to two parties ... one at my country club and one at our local art center. The dress made me feel so elegant & sophisticated at both! The art center party was emerald themed, so my friends and I all got green RTR dresses. At both the country club and the art center we were turning heads all night! I wish we'd have had RTR referral cards to give out! I absolutely recommend this dress to any girl with some curves. The peplum is low-profile enough as not to add unwanted bulk around the hips, but pronounced enough to show off the trend. I'm a bit pear-shaped, so the 12 was tight around my hips, but fit perfectly around the bust. The 14 was perfect around my hips, but a bit too loose around the bust, so I went with the 12. Everyone kept saying it fit me like a glove, so maybe I'm just being paranoid about it being tight. :) Gorgeous dress. Great friends. A wonderful night. Hope everyone else who rents this dress has the same!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 23, 2013

Incredibly elegant dress! Necklace was the perfect combo!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am usually a 4 or 6 and ordered the 4. I have to say it was a little hard to sit in, because there is no stretch in the dress - but again I am between sizes so I think this would be great for a true size 4, etc. The print is AH-MA-ZING. So vibrant and saturated with emerald!! I wore Kate Spade's "Clean Break" necklace and the colors matched perfectly. Great styling choice by RTR. The peplum is perfect on this dress because it is only on the sides/back, not the front where it could make you look a little bigger. Very very flattering & elegant! Felt like such a sophisticated lady!
kc217
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 18, 2013

loved this dress fabric was exquisite, really looked one of a kind & high end!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
really faltering and slimming work s well if you have a larger bust like me.
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 17, 2013

I felt like I was in the Great Gatsby!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so gorgeous & comfortable, the fabric is beautiful and the peplum was perfect.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Great for a holiday party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a work holiday party and it was flattering and appropriate for a work function. The bottom was a bit fitted for a gal with some curves and it was a little long for someone my height.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Very cool peplum dress! Went very well with my red hair!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i rented this for my friend's October wedding at Harvest on Hudson in NY. Luckily she had shawls provided because I was freezing for the outdoor (very windy) ceremony. The dress was not AS form fitting as I would have liked, but you take what you can get when you have a 30'' waist and DDD chest....Overall I enjoyed wearing this dress and received a few compliments, too.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×