Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$77 to buy
$565 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
189 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(109)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 2, 2016
Love this fabric
I did not end up wearing this dress for a wedding because it seemed a little overdressed but I wish I had. Super flattering! I will be renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2016
Beautiful color and texture!
I wore this to a work-related holiday cocktail party, and I received so many compliments. The color is beautiful and the texture of the flower-print adds interest to the dress. I was told over and over how different it was from "boring red" holiday dresses. It was really comfy for standing and mingling. But, I had to hike it up a little to walk up the stairs, since the leg opening isn't very wide. I also would not suggest this is you are dancing and plan to get low. ;) Otherwise, it is fabulous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 14, 2016
Flattering in all the right ways!!
I wore this for my graduation, it is conservative, yet form-fitting and I felt amazing in it. I was concerned that i might be between sizes (I rented the 8 and the 10), but was relieved and thrilled that the 8 fit so perfectly. The one downside is that it is difficult to sit in because it is a tapered skirt. But if you don't have wide hips, it should be fine. I just sat with excellent posture. The color is gorgeous and classmates and professors alike remarked on how pretty it was. Sorry, I don't have a photo, all the photos had my gown over top!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2016
Wore this to a formal downtown DC Club for a winter engagement party
The dress was just eh. Certainly sophisticated and a nice color palette for a March event in DC but the material was exceedingly stiff and the pencil skirt was very tight and uncomfortable the entire night. I do have hips but even I felt uncomfortable sitting and standing in this dress for fear of ripping it up the back. I didn't feel like the circumference of the skirt matched the fit of the top of the dress. It was certainly pretty- just size up!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
January 5, 2016
Got lots of compliments on this dress. I have rented it twice.
Its dressy enough for a black tie gala but I also wore to a cocktail party. Love the colors!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 27, 2015
Clean lines and fabulous color!
Got this overnight yes when my originals didn't fit correctly. The print/color are fabulous in person! I have a large chest and I love that it concealed that area (no cleavage falling out!) without looking frumpy. I am btwn a 10-12 in dresses (often need the 12 for the chest!), but the 12 in this was icy too large in the waist and hip area which made the peplum look a little frumpy on me. Another one that I would definitely try in the correct size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
December 13, 2015
This dress was definitely a hit! Lots of people loved my outfit and accessories.
I normally wear a size four, I had to wear the size six because the fabric won't give. I'm smaller up top, so the six was a little loose, but perfect for my hips and thighs. All in all, it was great! Thanks, Rent the Runway!! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2015
Great for an office holiday party and meeting clients
Rented for my office's annual holiday party that's open to our law firm's clients, and wore it under a suit jacket. The print, while jacquard, wasn't overly sparkly and remained conservative and appropriate for the occasion (which skewed more professional formal than some of my friends' holiday parties) and the color was gorgeous!. The length hit me right at the knee (5' 6" with a long torso) which was perfect, but also made me take smaller steps than normal. The fit was overall true to size, but be aware- those with pear or hourglass shapes may have a little trouble shimmying it up to use the restroom as the material has no give.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 44
December 6, 2015
This dress turned heads when I walked into the room!
Wore this dress to a holiday networking party. It was very comfortable and the design is very flattering to my figure. The fabric is sturdy and high quality. I got many compliments on this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 5, 2015
Work Holiday Party
The top for like you would expect a 10 to fit. The bottom was pretty snug on me, but I've definitely got booty and thighs compared to my top half. Bending down and sitting were a little bit difficult. No long strides in this one! But the fabric was beautiful and thick. Lovely emerald green. Got lots of compliments. I think it looks better in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
November 30, 2015
Classy dress
This dress was super cute on, very flattering, but has absolutely no give in the hips. I have been wearing a 10 lately and this was super tight in my hips. It seemed to fit true to size in the bust. I would recommend sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 30, 2015
Gorgeous Color
I absolutely loved this dress. I am a gal with big hips so it was a little snug when I sat down, but other than that I loved this dress. I received many compliments. The green color is so unique, and no one was wearing anything close to similar! The peplum detail is adorable. I wore with black tights & shoes and paired with a chunky pearl necklace. Super easy to style . Thanks, RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
November 29, 2015
This may have been my favorite rental dress to date. It fit to a tee, and I got so many compliments!
It was just the perfect size. There is zero give in the dress. The dress is so well made and the material is very nice. I think I'm going to rent this again for my company Christmas party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
November 18, 2015
Loved this dress, and received several compliments.
I added a thin gold belt to the dress and it really made the look. It would be great for a holiday party. I would absolutely rent it again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
November 18, 2015
I got so many compliments in this dress!! Felt sophisticated yet comfortable, win & win!
The top and waist fit perfectly to my size! I felt supported enough that I also did not need to wear a bra. The peplum element is not overwhelming which is good, but it does give the appearance of a little lift in the area, which is nice for us women lacking in the lower regions. My only complaint was that since it is a pencil skirt dancing was a slight challenge, but I assumed as much when I rented it and felt that the dress was still worth it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 17, 2015
Perfect for a Book Signing/Cocktail Party at the former Gov. of Georgia's home
The dress was gorgeous! I loved the material...it is better suited for a holiday party although you can certainly wear it during the summer like I did. Like other reviewers mentioned it is a bit tight around the thighs but it won't prevent you from wearing the dress comfortably in my opinion. I received many compliments including from the former Gov. of Georgia Roy Barnes and his wife Marie. I definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
November 12, 2015
The dress was beautiful. I wear a 12 and it tight. I was able to get the dress on but didn't wear it
Go for the next size up when renting this item.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 2, 2015
Loved the dress. It was perfect for my company's annual fundraiser.
When trying on the size, try sitting down to make sure it's comfortable. It seemed to tighten up in the shoulders upon sitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 21, 2015
Pretty and Classic
Beautiful dress. Love the heavier fabric. It was perfect for a fall wedding. The size 2 was slightly large but worked. I usually wear a size 0 in this designer. Overall, such a classic and feminine dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
October 15, 2015
Lovely fabric and overall attractive dress.
Fit was not great on me (36-28-38). I got a size six as that was the size recommended for me plus the eight as a spare as it was suggested that one should size up for the spare. The six fit but was too loose in the torso. It fit reasonably well around the hips and thighs. Overall I could have done with a four. The peplum looked a bit odd too. But in general it was a perfectly OK dress for the event. Dress was knee-length on me at 5'8".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
October 13, 2015
Dress was a pretty color and nice for a fall wedding.
The dress was very pretty - the color is more of a jewel tone dark blue green than emerald - however the brocade has NO give at all. Tough for someone with normal sized hips/thighs...literally had to take it off when I went to the ladies room!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
October 10, 2015
Great color for fall wedding
Got lots of compliments and family and friends said I looked great. Great color for fall wedding and very flattering for my hour glass figure body. I am usually between an 8 and a 10 depending how forgiving or stretchy the lower half of the dress due to my hips/derrière. 8 fit good on top but tight on the hips so went with ten that fit like a glove. The "flaps" on the hip didn't perk up like they do on the model and more so rested right on the hip which was ok - but something to note for the "bigger" sizes compared to a 2-6 probably. Thick material - felt expensive as it should! Another RTR success!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
September 20, 2015
Lovely
Rented for a wedding... The fit is a little snug.. I could barely get Into my SUV because there is not a lot of room in the skirt. It is a very pretty dress though. I loved the glam floral pattern and the peplum is elegant and flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2015
Loved this dress!
My friend asked if I would be an honorary bridesmaid and asked if I would wear emerald green. I couldn't find a dress, so I decided to use RTR for the first time. Loved the dress! It's a classy look and perfect for a wedding. It accentuated my curves and I received a lot of compliments! However, because I am more bottom heavy, to use the restroom I would have to take the dress off hahahah. Otherwise, a great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 9, 2015
Great customer service.
Fit perfect. Color jewel-like. Length- fashion forward. Over-all opinion- I'm renting this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
September 4, 2015
Love the color!
Got several compliments. It runs true to size, so get a larger backup size to be safe. Overall, very happy with it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2015
Beautiful dress for black tie optional charity event
This was form-fitting and very snug, but I felt beautiful... which is key post-baby! I'm glad I ordered the extra size up. I'm a pretty true size 12, and I barely got the 14 over my hips. I received many compliments throughout the evening, though. Lovely dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 69
August 27, 2015
Elegant dress. Wonderful, vibrant signal-light green.
For a full figure, dress was a snug -- but not overly -- snug 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 20, 2015
Great Dress! ... If you plan on standing all night.
The fabric, color and shape are all fabulous and when standing it's an A+ look. But...the second I sat down I realized its short comings. The neckline choked me, the hemline has no stretch and the bust became loose and unflattering. As gorgeous as the peplum looks on the model, in real life it is far more limp, I kept trying to fluff it up to no avail. Great dress, terrible functionality. Also, way to heavy and not breathable for a summertime party. (My bad!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 12, 2015
Indoor summer time wedding
This dress was beautiful. The green was so vibrant and had a vintage feel to it. Regretfully the dress didn't fit my hips in the size 12 and there was not a 14 available for back up. I will attempt to order this dress again in the 14 because it was a really nice looking dress. There was enough room in the 12 for my 36DD chest but I couldn't sit down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 28, 2015
Tight around the middle, but extremely loose up top.
The dress felt very awkward. The bottom was tight but in a good way, the top had so much room it looked awkward and I couldn't wear it. And I am not small on top so it was odd. The peplum is flattering, but since it isn't in the front I felt like it made me look large.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 9, 2015
It was great!
The bride asked us to wear one of our sorority colors (green) and the dress was perfect. The pattern and affect showed up great in pictures and I received so many compliments!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 1, 2015
Semi-formal dress for an autism benefit
This dress was such an amazing fit and really accentuated my waist, which was perfect. The subtlety of the green pattern is absolutely gorgeous, and the cut of the dress is conservative but classy. The one (tiny) complaint that I have is that the skirt tended to feel very tight and ride up while I was seated (and I had to be seated for 3 hours), but it's a very comfortable and beautiful dress. I would totally rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 29, 2015
Got a lot of compliments.
Great for a night wedding.
LorraineSeptember 12, 2015
Evelyn, please tell me did you shorten the dress? Perfect effect! Thanks. Lorraine
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
May 26, 2015
Danced into the night under the stars!
This dress was beautiful- great color and a gorgeous texture, but unfortunately it didn't fit me at all! I am on the hippy side and I couldn't zip it. Would love to try it again in the future in a different size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
May 25, 2015
Great for curves
I've rented a few dresses from this designer and I think it's perfect for curvy girls . The design of every dress accents the curves perfectly !
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 14, 2015
Loved the retro feel.
The dress is very comfortable and fits well. I got tons of compliments. Only issue...make sure you can get the bottom of the pencil skirt over your hips, otherwise, the only way to use the restroom is to take the dress off completely. Luckily, I was able to, but if my hips were ANY bigger, I would have had a big challenge. I will definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 4, 2015
This was a beautiful dress. I was very happy with the rental.
The dress was beautiful. It fit me great. No complaints.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2015
Wore this for a Mad Men event and it worked perfectly with my pillbox hat and pearls.
Wore this for a Mad Men event and it worked perfectly with my pillbox hat and pearls. This dress fit perfectly in the chest and waist. The length just covered my knees. It was slightly snug in the hips, but it worked fine. There was no give to the fabric, so the skirt rode up some when I was seated for awhile. Otherwise, the fabric was luxurious and the dress made me feel so glamorous.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
Wore this dress for my sister's NYC wedding. I received so many compliments! Loved the color!
The peplum hid my momma pooch and created a nice waist. It was true to size and fit just right. It was a sit down dinner with no dancing, but the skirt may have inhibited my moves if i had a chance to show them off.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×