Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$60 – $80 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
584 reviews
Fit
Large
(181)
True to Size
(322)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 27, 2012
Best bridesmaid dress
I wore this as a bridesmaid in my friend's wedding and it was a hit! Very comfortable - runs somwhat large as the top was a bit loose. Very elegant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 1, 2012
Hollywood beautiful
I loved this dress!! I felt beautiful all night. Wore this for an after-five party that I had for my husband's appointment as judge. I wanted to look elegant and this dress was it !! Hated to send it back!! Definitely need spanx if you are curvy in hips and tummy area. Length was perfect with 3 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 20, 2012
LOVED THIS GOWN! WORE IT IN MY SISTERS WEDDING!
Love this gown. My sister told me to wear a long black gown as her matron of honor and I went straight to rent the runway! This is simple and classy. This is the 4th time I have rented this gown, I have rented the navy, the red and the black twice. I need to buy it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 9, 2012
Gorgeous and Sophisticated!
I rented this gown for a black tie wedding and received lots of compliments. I had a baby just a few weeks prior, and this dress was not too form fitting, but still very flattering. I ordered both a 2L and 4L- the 4L was very short, and the 2L was just right...not quite sure what that was about, but just a warning to fellow renters... Overall though, the dress was perfect and I can't wait to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 9, 2012
Great gown
I loved wearing this gown. It feels and falls like a high end gown should. This was such an easy wear and the one shoulder ruffle added just enough flair to this simple, elegant black gown. I wore very simple vintage earring and carried a fully beaded vintage bag that popped against, but didn't compete with the gown.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 19, 2012
loved this dress! it was a great fit and very flattering!
having had a baby a few months prior, i needed a dress that would flatter my changing shape! i received so many compliments on this dress and was so pleased with RTR's service!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Feeling regal and like a salsa dancer with the ruffles!
This was super comfortable. The one shoulder was not constricting at all, and I received tons of compliments. The ruffles were the perfect amount of mature, and not too girly. Also, the ruffle extended down around my underarm - which was a flattering feature. The skirt was surprisingly flowy - yet contained - so it was SO fun to dance in!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2012
The dress was amazing and easy to wear - completely comfortable!
Fit was true to size - perhaps a bit generous - definitely great for a curvy figure. AMAZING!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
This dress is unforgettable. My husband's jaw actually dropped.
Fit perfectly. Not too clingy, but curves in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
September 27, 2012
Stunning!
I wore this gown to an opera gala and received many compliments. It's a lovely dress, very well made and comfortable. I'd rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
October 1, 2012
Gorgeous elegant dress!
Everyone loved the dress and wanted to know where I got it from. Perfect for an evening formal wedding.
TaraOctober 17, 2012
Hello. I'm looking at getting this dress. But nervous as its my first time renting on the website. I'm 128, 5'5" as well..wear a 2 typically. Sounds very similar :) was the dress fitting for you? Form fitting? Length was ok?mid say my body type is more athletic (as in I don't like strapless on me at all...) any suggestions would be VERY appreciated. tarahuinker@gmail.com
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this dress for a high-society wedding. While browsing for options I was hesitant at first because I thought it was maybe a little too plain, but it was just perfect – the fabric is heavenly, flows beautifully (the tourists at St Patrick’s Cathedral were thrilled), and the ruffle detail is stunning. Super comfortable, which you wouldn’t necessarily expect. For a little sparkle I accessorized with Jimmy Choo navy glitter heels and mini-tube clutch - I was complimented all night long. The dress is chic without being overkill – you cannot go wrong with it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 4, 2012
Perfect NYC Engagement Moment!
I wore this dress for my engagement photos and paired the dress with cowboy boots to pay homage to my Texas roots. Dress fit great. I am 5'11" and it was a little short, but nothing I couldn't live with. The fit is amazing!
sweetJanuary 4, 2013
It looks beautiful on you. I wish you a happy ever after:)
sweetJanuary 4, 2013
I know you say its a little short. I am 6'1'' and I am worried it will be too short. What do you think and how high are the heels you wore with it ?
PaigeJanuary 8, 2013
Hi, thanks for the compliment. I am 5'11 and the dress probably hit me a little below the start of my ankle with no shoes. So if you wear heals they would need to be kitten heels I would think.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
October 6, 2012
Nice Dress
Not a flashy dress, but great to wear with some statement earrings or bracelets. Stretchy material makes it very comfortable and received a lot of complements throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 10, 2012
This was a great dress, but I ended up wearing the other option I ordered.
I did try it on. It was true to size and beautiful. I just liked the other dress I ordered better for the particular event I was going to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2012
It really made me feel glamorous- I wore it to an advertising awards party and it was a hit!
It was a little loose around the waist, but ended up being a good length for me with heels (I'm on the shorter side at 5'3." It was different enough from other long dresses that women were wearing to make
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2012
Pretty dress!
I ordered this dress as my back-up dress but did not end up wearing it. The fabric is very heavy and clings... which is fine for anyone has a perfect body! But, I do not. It showed every little imperfection in my stomach and butt. No good! It was pretty, but not the right dress for me. Length was just right on me with short (2") heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
This is a truly black tie-worthy dress that is as comfortable as it is gorgeous.
I thoroughly enjoyed wearing this dress but wish I had ordered it a size smaller (I wore the smaller of the 2 sizes I ordered). I was most surprised by how long it was...I'm 5'8" and intended to wear 3.5" heels, so I ordered the longer length after reading all the other reviews. It trailed on the floor, so I had to make an emergency run to CVS for some hem tape to make it work. That said, I still think it's an amazing dress for a black tie occasion and would highly recommend it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2012
Dress fit so comfortably! Felt Gorgeous!
Dress was so comfortable! My only complaint was the hanger loops, to help hang the dress, kept coming out of the top of the dress...not a huge deal though! I felt so great in this dress! I loved the earrings they sent with my dress! I cannot wait to rent another dress with RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Perfect for a formal, sophisticated event.
I loved this dress; was very special for being "just a black dress." It hit the nail on the head for the conservative, black-tie work event I wore it for... I felt awesome not be be wearing a blah, knee-length black lace dress like every other woman. My husband and I were the youngest people there by about 20 years and this dress felt young and fresh without standing out too much. The 0R was still in good condition for having been rented a lot (based on the current # of reviews). I would definitely rent it again. Also, I have a flat chest and this fit elegantly, didn't gape on the non-strap side. Oh and you'll probably want Spanx or the like! I rarely ever wear Spanx and am quite tiny, but still wanted a little extra help in the stomach-area.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
Classy, sophisticated and easy to wear.
I wore this dress to a black tie function with co-workers so I wanted something formal and sophisticated, but safe and professional. This dress proved to be the perfect combination of all of the above. I received a ton of compliments, and the fit was flattering but forgiving, so I felt entirely appropriate around my boss and colleagues. I am 5'4", but with heels around 5'8". I should have probably ordered the 6L, as the 6R was slightly short in the front (in the back the dress is longer and the hem fell right at the floor).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
Stunning and simple - The perfect black dress!
I rented this as a back up and though I didn't end up wearing it (my husband picked) it was gorgeous. It's very simple, and it hides every little extra bit you may have. I ordered a 10R and it was long enough. It was big though. I usually wear an 8 but was unsure this time. I should have gone with my instincts!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
A timeless knockout that will make you stand out in a good way!
The minute I put this dress on, I felt instantly glamorous. This is one of those dresses that you need to try on to see how amazing it is. I was a little unsure based on the pictures, but in person this dress seems to highlight all the positives. The ruffled shoulder helps create the illusion of curves and the fabric has just enough stretch that it drapes beautifully. While a one shouldered, black gown can seem a bit blah and overdone, this dress is anything but. This dress is timeless and elegantly chic. The reason I didn't give this dress 5 stars is because it was very long. I'm not sure if it was meant to have that pooling around the feet look or not. I'm 5'9" and wore 2.5 inch heels so the long should have fit perfectly, but this was easily an inch or so too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2012
Very Pretty Dress! If you have curves and a chest this dress is for you!
This dress runs big. I usually wear a 6 in David Meister and Bagley Mischka but the 6L was way too big on me. Probably need at least a size 4. However my sister who is 6 foot, usually wears a size 12, 36D chest had this dress in a 8L and looked stunning! So for all you girls with a chest and curves this dress is what you need! (Wish I had that because I love this dress.)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
November 9, 2012
Usually you have to compromise between beauty and comfort, but this dress was the best of both!
I was worried the dress would be too long, but in 2.5 inch heels, it just barely touched the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2012
Flattering fit!
This is a great dress! Overall, lots of compliments. However, it does run large. I am ALWAYS a size 6. Sometimes a 6 is even tight through the bust and I have to go to an 8. I had to call to get the size 4R in this dress when my 6 arrieved and was huge. If I wanted a more fitted look, the 2 would probably have fit. The style and fabric are very forgiving. I wore spanx, but didn't have to. Great dress, but order smaller than you think.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Felt like a million bucks for a black tie affair!
Great cut for women who are large on top. Did not feel like I was going to pop out while dancing the night away. Fabric is forgiving and the cut is not fitted through the bodice. Great with 3" heels! Elegant and stunning with a unique one-shoulder ruffle. I ordered a 2 and 4 to be sure and I was super comfy with the 4. Order a size smaller for your second option.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2012
Great Dress!
The dress fit great. I wore it for a wedding. I got tons of complements. It fit perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 14, 2012
The dress was beautiful and I received many compliments throughout the night.
I rented a 4R and 6R. I typically wear a 4, but this 4 was a but baggy in the mid section area. The 6 would have been way too big. I wore the 4R and it looked fine, but I would have preferred if it was a little smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 16, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this
Didn't like how it fit on me and the shoulder design was a little much for me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2012
Very basic black dress
This dress I didn't choose, it just was very plain.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 19, 2012
such a classy dress!!!!!
perfect fit-true to size, i got the regular rather than the petit due to the fact i wore 6in aldo heels, and it was right on!!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
November 21, 2012
I loved this dress! It was absolutely stunning.
I am 5'8" and this dress was not long enough, it barely hit the floor. I used it for evening wear in a pageant and it looked beautiful under the lights. I had to buy a different pair of heels to wear with the dress because I didn't want to wear flats in the pageant, but if it had been 2-3" longer it would have been perfect. I included a picture with a side view so that you can see the length of the dress, I was wearing 2" heels in this picture.
RTR CustomerJanuary 23, 2013
what color accessories did you put with the dress?
RTR CustomerJanuary 24, 2013
Hi! You can really do anything with this dress, but I suggest our Glimmer Of Radiance Earrings by Ciner, they look gorgeous with this dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2012
Hot and regal
Amazing - looked and felt fantastic in this. The shoulder is so fun and can be worn in a couple of different ways, I found. Great fabric - feels expensive and is form fitting without being clingy. Got compliments all night - felt like a million bucks. May rent this in red and blue, too, in the future.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2012
This dress was PERFECT for the formal affair we went to! I had a fabulous first RTR experience!
This dress fit like a glove. I am 5'7, typically wear a size 4 and wore 2.5 in heels and the 4L was perfect! The fabric was so flattering and hit the floor beautifully. It fit slim through the waist and was a little looser through the hips which is perfect. it is so comfortable, even for a long night of dancing! I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone who needs a formal dress!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
I'm hooked on RTR because of this dress!
For my first RTR rental, I chose this dress for a formal benefit and masquerade ball and could not have been happier with my selection and overall experience. It was perfectly tailored to my body in a way that was both comfortable and flattering, which is unusual for me given I have a small waist and fairly large bust (34DD). At 5'7", the regular was a perfect length on me with 3" heels. I highly recommend this gown for any formal occasion as it can be easily accessorized and the ruffled sleeve adds just enough intrigue. Fun and elegant all at once!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 3, 2012
Absolutely loved it!
Wore the dress for a friend's black tie event, and I have never gotten so many compliments on a dress! It fit perfectly, and I felt amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 4, 2012
Head turner!
I needed something elegant for a black tie wedding in NYC and this dress was perfect! It was gorgeous and it made me feel AMAZING. It fit true to size and the 12L was actually a lot longer than I expected (I'm 5'9 and wore 2" heels and it dragged slightly). But it dragged in the most awesome way. I LOVED this dress. My boyfriend kept asking if I had to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
December 6, 2012
The dress fit perfectly and I got so many compliments!
I called RTR one day before my black tie event and they were able to have the dress to me by 2pm the next day. The girl I spoke with was very helpful and I am so grateful to RTR for helping me out so last minute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
A classy, elegant dress!
I wore this dress to a black-tie-optional wedding this weekend. Overall, I was happy with it. The shoulder ruffles add some fun flair to an otherwise classic gown. I wish that I had ordered a 2, because the dress was a bit big (although definitely still workable, so I didn't bother trying to exchange it). Probably because it was a little large, I didn't feel like it was quite as flattering as it could have been--it was especially loose-fitting in the waist. I wore low-ish heels (probably 1.5 to 2 inches) and the dress dragged on the ground a bit, but not too much. In sum, I would advise sizing down for your backup size, but it's a really beautiful, fun dress! I got a lot of compliments.
See more reviews:
1 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×