Carmen Marc Valvo

Botanical Berry Sheath

$30 rental
$725 retail
Stylist Notes

This gorgeous lace sheath by Carmen Marc Valvo is everything you've been looking for to wear for the engagement party. Add delicate accessories in contrasting colors.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16 & plus 16W-22W

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Fuschia lace (100% Nylon). Three-quarter length sleeves. Crew neck. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
832 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(497)
Small
(81)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 16, 2016
Great color for a January wedding!
Fit great - I found a magenta bra to wear underneath & it just looked like part of the slip. Lace didn't itch at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2013
Lovely dress - feminine with a little bit of sexy.
Love it! The color is vibrant in person and the peakaboo lace added just enough sexy to this dress. I wish I could keep this dress for myself. I got so many compliments throughout the night. Thank you RTR!
mariesdApril 8, 2013
Did the dress have any stretch to it?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Marie, This dress does have some stretch too it but not a lot! Would recommend sizing up for backup!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 27, 2013
I got lots of compliments on this dress.
Fit true to size. Can't wear certain jewelry with it for fear of catching it on the dress but thanks to the detail of the dress you really don't need it. Gorgeous berry color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 27, 2013
Elegant berry bliss
Sexy date night fabulous.
AnnetteMarch 28, 2013
You look great! Does the dress have enough fit around the breast area so you don't need to wear a bra? I'm almost 50, so believe me, it's a an appropriate question.
RTR CustomerMarch 28, 2013
Hi Annette! This dress is not super fitted, so I would suggest wearing a strapless bra with the dress!
BMarch 28, 2013
I wore a strapless bra. I recommend a strapless bra as the material is delicate and doesn’t supply much support.
meganApril 1, 2013
How tight are the arms? Is the lace a bit stretchy?
RTR CustomerApril 5, 2013
Hi Megan! The arms are not too tight, so you should not have a problem in the arm area. The lace is not super stretchy, so I would recommend sizing up for back-up if you are worried!
HannahApril 9, 2013
How forgiving is this dress in the midsection. It looks quite fitted and as a person of some size, that is worrisome. It is gorgeous on you!
JackieMay 18, 2013
How about length? I'm 5'7 and 68 years old...I like my dresses around the top to middle of the knee
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 9, 2013
I wore this to my best friend's rehearsal dinner and it was perfect!
The color is vibrant and keeps the conservative lace and cut of the dress youthful and fun. I loved it and look forward to my next RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 13, 2013
Beautiful lace dress!
This dress was so beautiful. I was the first one to wear it, got to cut the tags off! My only minor complaint is the color of the dress on the model isn't accurate. I was expecting a berry/wine-ish color, but the dress is brighter and more magenta in person. I was a little disappointed it was so bright at first, but after putting it on I loved it. The smallest size available is a 2. I would have preferred a 0 as it was a little big, but it still fit and looked great. I'd definitely recommend this dress for a classy night out!
AnnaApril 22, 2013
You look beautiful and elegant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
Fantastic dress! Fabulous look! Sensational color!
I rented this dress for a charity event in New York City where my company sponsored a few tables. Two very high ranking executives were supposed to be at our table. North American chairman for pharmaceuticals was supposed to attend, but she was unable. The president of the company did attend. Knowing that very highly placed executive women were attending I wanted something that would look great but not be "too much." This dress hit the right notes. It was trendy, being all lacy, but not overdone. The color in the photos is pretty accurate. It was exactly what I wanted.I felt great in the dress and received some complements. The positives are too numerous to mention. The color is great. The fabric has a sheen that's very pretty. The lace is great. The dress looked good even on my less than perfect figure. I looked good next to Neil Patrick Harris who, along with David Burtka, was sitting at my table. Not too many negatives. I did have to go up a size but even a size up was close fitting. The lace is a bit itchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 23, 2013
Beautiful!
Absolutely loved this dress! Beautiful color and great fit! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
April 27, 2013
love, love the dress
Absolutely loved this dress! It is gorgeous and comfortable, i rented this dress for a bridal shower and i'm very happy with my choice, i could wear size 10 but the only problem that is the lace is tight arround the arms, the fabric is so sensative u have to be careful with your jewelery, other wise the color is stunning & the fit is perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013
lace and color stood out!
I only rented one size because I assumed the hips would be a little bit more fitted and sizing up definitely made it much more comfortable. The sleeves were beautiful. A strapless bra is perfect for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2013
Lace obsession!
Loved this dress! Perfect for a romantic date night. The color, the lace and the fit was very flattering. The dress was true to size but I would highly recommend going a size up for back-up as the lace sleeves were very snug on my arms.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
The dress was perfect!
I wore it to a wedding and paired it with my own Pour La Victoire Irina II grey patent leather pumps and the Janis Savitt Color Me Pretty earrings from Rent The Runway. I loved my outfit! It was cool and rainy the night I wore it. I think the dress might be too warm for the upcoming summer months. I'm 5'7'' so the dress was a perfect length for a conservative wedding. On someone shorter, it might be too long. Overall, it's a beautiful and comfortable dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 69
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 15, 2013
Gorgeous color. Fabulous fit. True 4.
This dress draws attention because it is beautiful. The color is perfect. I love the sleeves for evening wear in a restaurant that can get chilly. I think I might rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 66
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 22, 2013
Everything was perfect. Many compliments received at my 40th college reunion.
My regular size (2) fit perfectly. As others mentioned, color brighter than photos. It was perfect. I may never buy a dress again!
gigiSeptember 18, 2013
You look gorgeous!
MeredithMarch 30, 2014
You look AMAZING!! I'm half your age and could only hope to look half as good when I rent this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2013
I've never been complimented by so many strangers before!
Sadly, I was too busy having a great time to take any worthwhile pictures of this fabulous dress...but I HAD to review it because I had no idea how popular it would become! I am not exaggerating when I tell you that I received compliments from younger/older women/men all night long! It fit great, and I went for the bigger size only for comfort reasons (dancing!). The one thing I will say is that there is limited room in the sleeves, so if you have larger/muscular arms, keep in mind that the lace may feel a bit restricting. But it is by no means a game-changer. The color was beautiful, and it was so appropriate for a wedding in early spring! xoxo
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 26, 2013
This was the perfect dress for the occasion. I can't count the number of compliments from strangers!
I normally wear a 2, but the arms were a little tight so went with the 4. Everything about the dress was perfect, color, comfort, length.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
May 27, 2013
<3
This dress fit like a glove, but not too tight. I could see someone going up a size though. Received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
May 28, 2013
Dressy and elegant, but SO comfortable.
I wore this to my son's senior class dinner at lovely NYC hotel, and it was the perfect blend of hot color and conservative silhouette. I did wear a strapless bra, but didn't even bother with spanx. Great color for me (dk brown hair and eyes, ivory skin), and it was fun to stand out in a sea of black. Nude patent pumps and simple gold jewelry took it down a notch.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 1, 2013
Very pretty, didn't love the lace
It was a very pretty dress but I wasn't crazy about the type of lace. It was scratchy and looked old fashion. Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 69
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
June 8, 2013
Great dress
Beautiful dress appropriate for vineyard wedding. Comfortable, worn with strapless bra. Again, dress fit lit it was tailored for me. Lots of compliments, best of all, felt so good wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 9, 2013
This dress fit beautifully and great color!
I didn't really have an y cons about this dress. I wore it to a work function and it was a great length, especially for someone of my height. Also, the color was not one that is usually worn to functions like the gala I went to so I got a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 12, 2013
Favorite thing I've ever worn. Felt so elegant. Compliments all night.
This dress! Oh, this dress. It's my favorite thing I've ever worn. I felt so elegant and timeless, but still on-trend. The color and slightly tight (curve-flattering) cut prevent the lace chest and sleeves from feeling dowdy. Color was bold but not flashy (not too saturated, like some reviews made it seem). Even though I have no occasions coming up to wear it again, I felt sad to have to return it -- it really felt like it became "my" dress. (So now I want to have more formal events just so that I can wear this dress again and feel that glamorous.) Received compliments from other guests all night long (several of whom said I was the best dressed; one of whom compared me to Kate Middleton!). Fit: skimmed my body perfectly. Really flattering cut. Sleeves a little bit tight (especially if your dance style revolves waving your arms in the air a bunch... just me?)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2013
Best color dress! Turn around a lot heads.
It was beautiful. Color is perfect and rich. Couldn't ask for more. The only thing I didn't aware is that the lace dress can be very hot. I was heated In the ballroom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2013
Beautiful dress! Everyone loved it.
I got the size 2 and size 4 and I had to wear the 4 because the sleeves were too tight on the 2. Other than that the 2 would have looked better on me, the 4 was a little too loose everywhere but the sleeves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
June 13, 2013
Fun to wear!
Lots of lace, fun to wear. The dress I got was definitely worn...almost worn out. There was a hole in the back near the shoulder blade. The lace was coming off too. I probably should have sent it back, but didn't have time.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 17, 2013
Loved it!
I rented the dress for a wedding & it was perfect. The color is gorgeous & it fits well. I agree with the others, though..the dress is tighter in the arms than anywhere else. It wasn't as fitted through the waist as I was expecting, but it was still flattering. I'd definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2013
I loved it!
I received many compliments on this dress and wore it all night and was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2013
After a recent huge weight loss, this dress made me feel beautiful!
My daughter talked me into renting this dress and I was really nervous about it. I don't dress up and am not into fashion, but my daughter felt that we should celebrate my 100 lbs weight loss with RTR. I felt so beautiful and rejuvenated in this dress and received so many compliments. It was the first time in years I felt like being in pictures. Because of my age, I didn't feel comfortable with my arms showing through the lace, so I wore a coverup, however the sleeves did fit quite well.
LindsayAugust 14, 2013
that is amazing! congratulations to you!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 26, 2013
pretty color
Very comfortable, easy to wear but definitely an older, mother of the bride type dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
July 30, 2013
Birthday Glam!
i wore this dress to a surprise 30th birthday party for my friend (in the center in the Badgley Mischka seequins.) I loved the bright fuschia-y pink and on-trend lace. The shoulders and arms are cut a bit small, so it wasn't the most comfortable dress to wear for an extended period of time. I'm normally a size 0 (though I was 11 weeks pregnant when I wore this), and the 2 was the smallest size they offered. It was slim through the torso and legs, but not tight, so I'm not certain a 0 would have fit. This dress was the perfect finishing touch on a day of fun that included facials, pedicures, and a blow out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2013
Great Color
I rented this dress for my birthday dinner at a fancy hotel/restaurant. I got many compliments, especially on the color. I wore a strapless bra slip underneath. I normally wear a size 12, but my backup size, the 14, fit much better. I think this dress could have been more flattering - in certain light the round neckline did not photograph well. Also, at 5'8" this dress was a tad on the short side, especially when I sat down. However, my worry that this dress would be too fall-y or winter-y was for naught - the rich color works in any season. Overall it was a pretty dress that was comfortable to eat in!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 14, 2013
A delight to wear!
I wore this to a bridal shower tea and felt like a million bucks! I got a 10 and a 12. The 10 fit well but was better fitted for a cocktail standing type party--the 12 fit better for sitting (more room in the hips and thighs!) Despite being a size larger than I normally wear, it was still flattering and I am KICKING myself for not getting a picture in the dress. The color is amazing and I was able to wear a normal nude colored bra without it being too obvious because of the density of the lace. This is the only dress I have ever contemplated buying for myself. Rent it, you will not be disappointed!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 20, 2013
I never trust my taste in clothing. I knew I was "au courant" and I received so many compliments!
The dress fit perfectly. No spanx needed! However, I did need to buy a 3/4 bra because my "full coverage" bra would have shown through the lace. The good news...I have the appropriate bra for my next RTR rental. This is a sophisticated, but youthful look that would work for all ages.
gigiSeptember 18, 2013
Is the lace itchy?
RTR CustomerSeptember 18, 2013
Hi! This dress is super comfortable and has a lining along the body. The sleeves are not itchy against the skin!
KarenSeptember 18, 2013
The lace is not itchy at all
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
August 27, 2013
The dress was perfect for a southern wedding. just the right amount of coverage with color for umph!
the dress fit great for the first few hours but then the material stretched giving a looser fit. the arms are also snug but not uncomfortable. I got tons of compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2013
Perfect fit for my class ring ceremony!
This dress fit perfectly, like a glove. I had to use fashion tape to keep the inner slip from showing too much, but the dress itself was gorgeous. The color is amazing and SO flattering. I definitely recommend this. It fell just to my knees, so it was great for the conservative environment I wore it for.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
September 8, 2013
So many compliments!
I wore this dress for a wedding in Carmel and I received so many compliments - even from the beautiful bride! Based on reviews I got both my size and a size up, but my normal size fit perfectly. I didn't feel this was tight in the arms like some other reviewers mentioned. I'm tall, and the length hit right above my knees. Dress was very comfortable and the color was beautiful - true to the color it appeared on my computer. Only complaint was that dress would slip down a little and reveal the top of my nude, stapless bra. Not sure tape would help with that, especially if dancing, would just recommend pulling up before snapping pics. Paired with Kate Spade Putting on the Ritz earrings. Did NOT want to send those back!!! I'd rent this dress again, but the fun of RTR is to always get something new!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
September 30, 2013
The staff to be honest! I requested another dress which was not available & was able to upgrade.
This dress fit well and flattering to the figure. I'm 5'7 so the length was perfect on me. What I loved most were the sleeves but I must admit getting a bra to fit perfectly was challenging since the bust line is slightly low. Overall, great for the benefit dinner I attended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 4, 2013
cute but i got a size too large!
Very bright color is fun! Lots of lace which is a thing now and long enough for me but wouldn't rent again. Fit well everywhere except the hips/waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2013
Great!
Beautiful color! Wore for my husband's birthday dinner. Very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 7, 2013
Rich magenta color + stunning intricate lace-work = compliments all night long!
Very flattering and forgiving fit. Cannot say enough good things about this dress.
See more reviews:
1 / 21

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×