Rent the Runway

Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$104 to buy
$345 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

223 reviews

Fit
Small 90
True to Size 127
Large 2
Photos 107
CD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 4, 2010

The wedding was out of town, and the ease of having the dress delivered to the out of town location and not having to pack it or worry about wrinkles made the experience 20x better!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress and got soo many compliments. I wore it to a wedding and my date said I outshined the bride, oops! The slit is a little high. I wore a slip and had to constantly pull that up and the dress down. But it wasn't anything vulgar, just make sure to cross your legs like a lady! Very form fitting and comfortable, I would recommend it to everyone!
Mindy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Not for Short Girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit oddly and was really difficult to zip. It was a back up, fortunately, and I ended up wearing my first choice. I'm curvy for my height and size, and this dress is clearly cut for someone put together less curvy. The length was really odd on my, I think if I were a couple inches taller, the dress would have been nice. It's not a very formal material, but a very pretty dress on the right person.
elash5
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Terrible dress for me, but RTR is amazing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit, fabric and construction were terrible for this dress. Design wasn't as edgy in person as it appeared in all the photos. FIt = INCREDIBLY small. I'm usually a size 6, but am 34DD so the chest can be challenging to fit. This dress runs a full 2 sizes too small, IMO. I rented 6 and 8, but couldn't even zip up the size 8. Terribly deflating. Size 10 may have worked, but jeez... Fabric = Flat. Matte. Thin. Boring. Blah. Construction = Lining pokes out, even when hanging - worse when I tried it on (although too small for me anyway). Design = Was just "ok" in person. Does NOT have a "wow" factor in person, although I thought it was stunning in the pictures. Was incredibly disappointed in this dress all the way around.
Bailey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

This dress is simple and classy but makes a great statement...

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits true to size. I ordered a 2 and a 0. I went with the 0 which is my normal size.
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Amazing dress!! I wore it for a charity event and it was perfect.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6 but Black Halo always runs small. Both the 6 and the 8 fit, but I went with the 8 because it fit a bit better in the hips and thighs. Unfortunately the strap kept falling off my shoulder because it was a tad big on top (I am a typically pear shape). I doubt it would have happened with the 6 but I felt much more comfortable and confident in the 8.
KaseyK
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

was my back up

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for back up. I sized up as recommended which is the right choice if you want to rent this dress. Overall I didn't like it for me because I am petite and I found the straps just didn't lay right on my shoulders. I believe this dress is best for ladies who are taller than I. It's a super sexy dress, but just didn't work for me.
Fisher's Mom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 24, 2014

This dress is cool and sexy, but doesn't make you look like you're trying too had.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My husband isn't one to go on and on about a dress, but he loved this one so much that he told me I should buy it. I can't justify buying it, but I definitely plan to rent it again. People literally came across the room to tell me how much they loved it. It was the first cocktail dress I'd worn since having a baby six months before, and this was absolutely perfect.
Natasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

Great Party Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress that I didn't end up wearing. A little fashion tape did wonders to keep the strap secured.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

LOVE LOVE LOVED it - Sexy and classy - Stunning dress. Very tight in all the right spots.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Its tight - so if there are any areas you don't want to highlight the negative - this dress may not be for you I was comfortable in it all night - sexy and classy at the same time. Perfect lil LBD
christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Sexy and Classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Amazing dress, I would consider renting this again! Usually I am a size 2, but ended up wearing the 4 in this. I got a lot of compliments and felt great in this dress. It's definitely the perfect combination of sexy and classy!
Leann
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Sophisticated, sexy dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. Sexy yet comfortable and easy to dance in. I was glad I sized for my second size because if you have larger hips like I do the bigger size will be needed.
Ivy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt fabulous in this dress and received so many compliments. I had hoped to find it during a RTR sample sale but have not been lucky thus far. I will say though, if you have a small bust it can fit a little loose in the bodice. But overall, a complete hit!
liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Dress did not fit me right

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I think this dress is made for a taller person. The straps did not fit right and kept sliding off, and the body of the dress was way too tight...lots of bulges here and there on me. The size 2 was definitely too tight, and the size 4 was a bit better although it was a little longer at that point, which was not flattering to my petite frame.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Nothing worked at all with this dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I read all the reviews and ordered a size larger than I normally wear. The straps were too long on my shoulder which left me exposed on the side. The waist fit but I couldn't wear the dress and had to go buy something fast. The four which is normally my size was too small in the waist but my straps fit.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 9, 2014

Lovely

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Tight in the hips and one strap needed a pin as it kept falling. Love the dress will rent again.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 24, 2014

Unusual Cut, Very Form Fitting

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful, and I wanted to like it, but I couldn't quite get there. The style is great and I love that the cut is unusual, so that it is more than just a simple LBD. It doesn't hide any imperfections, however, and it isn't possible to wear smoothing undergarments because of the slit (I guess you could do something only around the waist, but I only had the kind that is shorts). Go for it, if you don't have much to hide in the midsection!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

I wasn't a fan of this dress for my body style

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress but it did not suit my body style. I think this dress looks fabulous on women who have more up top. It was not flattering on my smaller chest I have slightly wider hips so I went with the two for comfort. This was actually my back up dress and I ended up not choosing it
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Cute Dress...just not for me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately I did not wear this dress - the 6 was way too small on the bottom, and the 8 was way too big on the top. Just didn't work for my measurements. Needless to say I was disappointed because the dress itself is awesome. RTR sent me a different dress to wear that was perfect!
Bird
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Petite girls beware

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and so wanted to love it. Sadly, it just didn't work for a short girl like me. The proportions in the top were off so that the side strap bowed out in an unflattering way. Just needed to be on someone more elongated than me. Too bad so sad!
Mariah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Sooo many compliments...felt very sexy in this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is definitely form fitting through the bodice. I wore the size 6 and it fit very true to a wee bit snug but the 8 was too large.
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Fun dress for fun evening

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Husband loved, loved, loved it!!!!
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Cute dress, show stopping but fit strange

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress has the potential to be a real winner. It is sexy, maybe even sexier than I needed for an evening wedding. It didn't fit right, it was definitely made for a tall woman because the slit was only about 2 inches above my knee. I did have to readjust the top every few minutes but I was warned from The other reviews. I wouldn't order it again but I do not regret my rental!
kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

LBD with a twist

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought the fabric was going to have more of a satin shine to it, but this dress is more matte than the model phote portrays. I don't think the dress was flattering on my body, but the dress itself is very interesting and unique. I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and felt it perfectly appropriate.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Pretty dress, but too small for me!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was hoping that I would be able to fit into a size 8, but it was just a little too snug. I have bigger hips and I just felt it was a little too tight in that area. I should have gone up for the backup size, but it wasn't available. That being said, the dress was very pretty and if I had a size up, I would have definitely worn it!
Mile
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Oct 16, 2014

It was the perfect dress for a wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
it was very form fitting and comfortable. Definitely recommend
Kory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Gorgeous Dress! Got a lot of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved everything about this dress, but i wish i ordered a size 2 and a size 4 (instead of a 0 and a 2). it was very fitted, but complimented my body on every curve. It was a bit more snug then I expected, so i suggest you rent a size up.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 31, 2014

Would have been beautiful...had it fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's a really lovely dress. A little fancier than I expected. But god it was so tight. I normally wear a 6 and rented a size up based on the reviews. Could barely zip up the 6, and while I could zip the 8, the fabric was so tight and unforgiving that you can see a noticeable pouch in my stomach. Not even Spanx could help. It looks really pretty from the front, but it's totally unforgiving from the side. The slit is definitely high, even for someone with long legs. So you gotta love your legs to wear this. I wish it had worked, but I just felt really really uncomfortable, and ended up wearing something else. Disappointing...
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Back up dress had awkward fit.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The top was too long and the straps didn't sit right. Not for an hourglass figure in my opinion. It looks amazing on the model but I couldn't get it over my hips easily, then when I did the top flopped.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

it fit my body like a glove.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit. Classic lines. Many compliments. Very sexy with out overt sexuality. It was perfect. I am a 2 to 4 on the bottom and size 4 to 6 on top. Broad shoulders and athletic build.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Sexy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was between the size 0 and size 2. For the "sexy" effect I went with the tighter size and squeezed myself into the Size 0. I mean squeezed. It is like a corset dress. I could not wear bra in the smaller size but did not need it. I normally need bra for shape but this has shape built in. On the hangar, when it arrives, it does not look like much. But it is very sexy once on. Received many compliments from men and women. Husband LOVED it. Rented the bracelet shown. Went with black heels and kept it simple as dress makes the statement.
erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

sexy but still classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is sexy, but without being in your face sexy. I ordered this as my backup and ended up wearing it over the Sachin + Babi abstracting sheath. The dress runs true to size- I am normally between a 6 and 8 given my pear shape. Since this was my backup, I only had the size 6 so I can't compare sizes. If in doubt, I would say size up on this one- the 6 was a bit tight on me but I wore it anyways. The cut of the dress is a simple cut but unique. I really loved it and would definitely consider renting it again!
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

The dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit was great! If you are petite, keep in mind that the shoulder/straps on the top are a bit loose. Also, if you have a shorter torso, this might not be the dress for you. SO gorgeous though! Was a perfect, classy piece for a nice dinner!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

SO SMALL!!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I weigh 105 and couldn't zip the 0 or the 2. Would've loved to wear it, but couldn't get it zipped. I'd go 2 sizes up when you order!!!
Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Gorgeous dress, but runs a bit small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wasn't able to wear the dress because it runs a bit small and there were no back up sizes available. The dress is gorgeous on!
nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Very classy dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I should have order a 6. Was able to wear the 4 but breathing was not easy.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit very well and hides imperfections. I wish I could buy it--I couldn't love it more! I wore it to a fundraiser and it was perfect.
andreia
Usually wears: 4
Age: 40
Feb 12, 2015

I felt so pretty

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Date
I want to buy this dress
TEJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

Awesome Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I had been wanting to rent this for a while and finally did. Now, I'm usually a 2 so this dress runs small as I wore the 4, but, it fit like a glove! It was a sexy twist on a classic, black dress, and I ended up buying it for myself it was so great. The only annoying thing is that sometimes the strap falls down off of your shoulder, but definitely not worth not renting.
Latifa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 6, 2015

Beautiful dress, lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect fit.
Sophia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 14, 2015

I got SO many complements! Everyone loved it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So slimming; the slit slimmed my neck. Only con was it was a little inflexible and unstretchy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×