BCBGMAXAZRIA

Deep Blue Sea Gown

$62 to buy
$388 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Want just a little sparkle with your formal gown? Rent this beautiful cobalt blue BCBGMAXAZRIA gown that has just a tad bit of shine for your night of bliss!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with ruching detail at midsection - conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in Regular length - best for heights 5'4" to 5'8"

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Cobalt silk with sequin detail at bust. Strapless neckline. Ruching at bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
I was the only one in the room in this color dress. Loved that!

Great fit. Little long. So high heels a must. The first dress that came the beads were falling off. Stylist overnighted a new one. I ordered the 8 and 6. Went with the 6. Must nicer fit and did not spend the night pulling up my top. Lots of wonderful comments. Color more beautiful in person

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2013
Not the best fit

I got this dress for my 2nd option, and its a pretty color but I did not like the fit at the top. There is also some beading on the sides that makes the dress bunch up around your mid-section.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
March 9, 2013
beutiful dress. very comfortable, too long

it was a beautiful dress. I really wanted to wear it but it was just too long. the size chart told me a regular would be appropriate for my size, but even with 4 inch heels, it was still too long. but otherwise. beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 21, 2013
The color was beautiful and I loved the flowy fabric.

The 6 fit perfectly, but wasn't quite as long as I hoped after reading some of the other reviews. Wish this dress came in a long!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 7, 2013
A lovely color, cut, and cost!

I have to admit, I'm a bit frugal. That being said, renttherunway was an amazing idea for me. I hate having to spend tons of money buying a dress that I'll wear for one night. Even so, I was a bit nervous renting a dress -- doubts that it wouldn't fit or I would be disappointed kept crossing my mind. When I first got the dress and tried it on I was so relieved. It was true to size for the most part. My only complaint is that it was a little long on me even with 2" heels, but that's honestly not a surprise since I'm so short. The color was gorgeous (although a bit darker than portrayed) as well as the beading on the sides and the style. I loved this dress, and while I almost wished I could keep it for memory's sake, I'm excited to see it worn by different girls as they have some of the best times of their lives wearing it :)

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Glamorous dress for a formal ball!

This dress was awesome for a formal night out. It fit well all around. The only negative was the excessive length! I am somewhere between 5'3" and 5'4", and with 4-inch heels the dress was still all over the ground. I literally had to hold it up whenever I walked anywhere - it's a good thing I don't dance! The color is a really beautiful royal blue and the rhinestone embellishments on the sides gave it that extra excitement. I wore it with a rented Badgley Mischka necklace that really made the ensemble complete. Definitely recommended!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Beautiful dress, but some flaws.

This is a beautiful dress--the color is very pretty. However, I am a bit disappointed with the condition of the two dresses I received. The dress was a little short. The hem on both dresses looked uneven and I wonder if they had been cut off and rehemed due to damage. A tear on the hem of the alternate size dress had been repaired. Also, the fabric is silk (which is very pretty) but the dresses looked puckered all over and not pressed smoothly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 21, 2013
I felt stunning!!

I wore this dress to a friend's prom, and I LOVED it. The 8R was absolutely perfect! The 10R actually fit pretty well too, but the bust was a lot bigger on it. The length with my 4 inch heels was good, though I did step on the hem a few times. The color is so beautiful in person, and the jewels on the side are gorgeous. I paired it with the Bling It On Necklace from Cara Accessories and everyone commented on how well the two went together. The fabric was a lot lighter and more flowy than I expected. Very good for a hot dance floor. I would recommend this dress to anyone!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 22, 2013
Great choice! Great fit, just enough detail to make it exciting, and great color!

I loved this dress. Great price, for an elegant number that wasn't too much. I wanted a simple, yet elegant look. I am an instructor at a small college and I went to the "senior ball." I knew the female students would be "very glitzy" and rightfully so. I wanted to look pretty, elegant, and fresh without competing with the students. This dress was perfect. The color and simple detailing added a flare that got me noticed without looking too young or like I was "trying too hard." I highly recommend this number for an "easy elegant look." I ordered the 8R and it was a great fit. Not too tight and not too loose. I am between a B and a C cup, and the bust could have been a little tighter to make me feel more comfortable. I would have been interested to see if the 6 would have been a better fit. I wore some two sided tape, and the bust stayed in place pretty well. I only tugged on the dress once or twice, and I think I did that more because I was self-conscious and not because it was actually slipping.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 25, 2013
We were called the prom couple!!

Wore this dress to a formal event and I definitely stood out amongst all the black dresses! This dress was a little long even with 3 inch heels but nothing I couldn't manage. I like that it wasn't too tight at the top and the twist in the front hides anything that might need hiding. I felt pretty and would rent this one again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 1, 2013
I felt beautiful and perfectly dressed for the occasion.

The dress fit beautifully. I am typically a dress size 8 - it fit true to size and I didn't feel like I had to pull the bodice up all night. It was quite long, even with 3-4 inch heels, but nothing a little double-stick tape couldn't fix. The fabric is lighter and more flowy than I expected from the photo, but that was a good thing! Comfortable and elegant gown.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

This is such a beautiful dress. I loved the detail of side. The length was not as long as I thought. I received numerous compliments for this dress. Thanks for letting me rent this dress! :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 17, 2013
Great

This dress fit great. It looks so much better in person then it does this photograph. The side panels with the beads there were a few that had come off but nothing that was too noticeable. It was really comfortable through out the night so that was really nice. There was an issue with the credit card that I had used just a few days after and had to cancel it. Overall though it was a great dress for my occasion and no one else had the dress which made it feel more special.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 19, 2013
Elegant dress for a formal wedding

The dress was very long, and I worried about the bottom of the dress getting dirty dragging on the ground. The fit was exactly as expected and was really a beautiful color. I would rent this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2013
So quick and easy!

I rented this dress for a blue themed gala to support child abuse. The color was more vibrant in the picture. It is made from a soft, silky fabric and hangs beautifully. The dress was elegant and I received compliments all night!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 11, 2013
Gorgeous and comfortable!

My first time renting was definitely a success! I was really nervous that something was going to happen and I wouldn't have my dress in time for my dance. But it arrived right on time, and I even got a goodie bag! I ordered an 8R and 6R, but the 6R fit better around the bust area. Returning was even easier; I put it in the bag and dropped it off at UPS! I can't wait to rent my next dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2013
Beautiful!

This dress fit perfectly! It was a little too short for my liking and I had to wear flats with it even though I planned on wearing heels. Still a great choice, though! Really easy to move in!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2013
Comfortable AND beautiful!

This was a gorgeous gown, and the material felt great against my skin. I'm kind of between sizes 6 and 8 (especially because of a 32G bust). I probably could have worn the 6, but it would have been awful tight across the chest. It was nice though that the chest was supportive enough to not need a bra! The only drawback was how LONG it was--even with heels (only 1.5" because I truly cannot walk in higher heals!) several inches of fabric dragged on the floor....which of course made me nervous because I knew I'd be returning the dress! The stylist I chatted with before renting led me to believe that there would be fashion tape in the package, and definitely said there would be directions for "shortening" the length, but neither were included. Being absolutely fashion deficient, I really needed directions at the very least ;) Next time I'll be a little more prepared. Overall, I was more than happy with my first RTR!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2013
Beautiful gown and great fabric!

This gown was PERFECT. I had a formal event the day after Thanksgiving, and needed something a little loose around the waist to wear. The bust DOES run large-- I am a 34C and I was pulling it up often especially when dancing. Also, the dress is long-- I am 5'5" wore about 3.5" heels and it still hit the floor, so be weary if you are any shorter/wear shorter heels. The side jewels were perfect and added just enough bling to stand out. I only wore earrings, no necklace, which worked well but it could easily have a simple necklace to enhance the neckline.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2014
Pretty

I ended up wearing a different dress to the event, but this dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. I just looked better in another dress that I rented.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 20, 2014
wore on stage for a pageant

Not very flattering through the hips or chest

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2014
Gorgeous royal blue dress to make you feel like royalty!

Absolutely loved this dress! The royal blue was just the color I wanted, definitely brighter than it looks on the RTR model. The black beading on the side definitely added style and contouring, highlighting your figure. Fit like a glove, true to size! Comfortable, moved well. I have a large chest and sometimes strapless dresses don't work for me, but this fit great, didn't worry about spilling over or having to pull it up all night. My nude bra showed on the side sometimes, but some double sided tape would've fixed that. It was just slightly long on me and I wore 4" heels, stepped on it a few times, but didn't trip. Overall, got lots of compliments and felt like a million bucks. Would definitely recommend! Paired it with Kate Spade Black Agathe clutch & Kenneth Jay Lane Galactic Glam earrings, went perfectly together!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 3, 2014
Loved the color & the embellishment in the middle! I felt beautiful!

I loved the color of the dress! I wore it to prom. I am 5'1 ft tall though so the dress was a bit too long. However it fit me nicely everywhere else nicely, even in the chest area. I wore a simple black strapless bra and black seamless spandex shorts and you couldn't see a panty line at all! Overall it was a great dress and I received so many compliments! It was simple and elegant but also it had some wow features. I would recommend this anyone but I would suggest you be atleast 5'3 .

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 11, 2014
I wore this to the Marine Ball. I got it on time and received lots of compliments.

I'm 5'7 and the dress was almost too long.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2015
Many wonderful and delighting compliments!!!

This dress is true to size. This classy and elegant dress fits perfect.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
August 16, 2015
This was the most comfortable and beautiful strapless gown I have ever worn!

After years of Marine Corps Balls, I finally tried RTR services. It was a great experience! The 4 they sent me had a slight mark on the bust, and they overnighted another gown that was perfect. I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
April 17, 2016
Great dress material was high quality

Great fit a little long

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
What was so great about RTR was that I didn't have to stress about having an outfit. The system works perfectly; get a package in the mail, enjoy the dresses and mail it back. It was easy, dependable, and I felt gorgeous!

Loved this dress! It's very comfortable, slimming, and beautiful. The color is gorgeous and pretty accurate to the photo. For someone who has hips, like myself, the dress plays to your curves just the right amount.

hanaNovember 30, 2011
hi hailey! i'm the same bust size and height as you are, and i was wondering how high the heels were that you wore with this dress?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2012
the minimal yet sparkly and fun detail on the sides made this dress unforgettable

I wore this dress to my university's founders day ball at the library of congress - it was a formal event. I got so many compliments on the dress. Even though I was working the event, I still wanted to blend in and this was sophisticated and fun and not too much but not too little. it was just perfect and the detail on the sides was typically what everyone noticed first but everyone agrees it was the perfect amount of detail!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 11, 2013
Mardi Gras perfection in my backup dress!

This dress was my backup (decided against the Nicole Miller Exquisite Eliza gown - washed me out and was uncomfortable), and the color made me love it before I put it on. The material is silky and lush without being too shiny, and the flow is lovely. It was a bit too long, which I remedied with double-sided tape, and I slapped some up top because I'm fairly small-chested. The fit was great, and I'm so glad I went with it! The jewel detail on the side is beautiful, and I got lots of compliments!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2013
I received so many complements on how this dress fit!

The dress was gorgeous! I attended my fiances USAF awards banquet, and needed a formal dress. This was perfect. It was classy and formal without being too fancy, just right for the occasion. My fiance complimented me on how good I looked! Plus it was comfortable, it wasn't too tight and the material was so nice. I'm 5"6 and I wore 4 in heels and the hem was about 1.5 inches from the floor so I didn't step on the dress at all. I really didn't want to send this back!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
May 11, 2014
Very comfortable and stunning color

The dress is a beautiful shade of royal blue in person and the beads did not irritate my arms at all. I had to keep pulling up the top all night, but that's true for most strapless gowns. It's also a little long, I had on 3 inch heels and there was still material dragging. Otherwise it's very comfortable and easy to move around in-great for a prom!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2014
This dress was beautiful!

This dress was beautiful! I have a straight and petite body type so the gathering at the waist helped give my body more of an hour glass shape and also helped camouflage any roundness in my abdominal area. The length was slightly long, I am 5'4" and wore 3" heels and the dress pooled at the floor/I had to lift it a little to walk, but I didn't think it was so long that I needed to use hem tape. One area to take note of is the bust area. I ordered a 6 and a 4, and I weigh 130lbs, I found they fit very similar, except the 6 was slightly longer so in the end, I wore the 4. Also, I wear a 34B bra size and I felt like the bust of this dress didn't quite cover the girls as high up as I wanted. You can see in the photo I posted that the top showed a little more cleavage than I wanted it to at the conservative gala I attended. I felt I could live with it since I have long hair that helped cover my shoulders, and I also used a pashmina for additional coverage, but I would take the smaller bust area into consideration if you have bust larger than a B cup. Overall, I loved the dress, thought it was very flattering and enjoyed my first experience with Rent the Runway.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Hourglass
July 19, 2011
Stunning

I normally wear a 6, but the dress was only available in a 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 8 and it was only slightly lose on the top, which was fixed with some double sided tape. It looked amazing, and was just the right length with heels. I would definitely recommend this dress, especially for girls with curves, or larger chests, like me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 26, 2013
Beautiful dress, fits well!

Great for all sizes! Wore it to a formal gala with my BF's colleagues and it was perfect - not too sexy, but not too matronly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 24, 2013
Holiday Evening Stunner!

Gorgeous fit on a curvy girl. Appreciated a not-skin tight fit and made dancing and movements easy without popping out. Thought the color was much better in person (not crayola like) and definitely flattering. Many compliments.

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×