Rent the Runway

BCBGMAXAZRIA

Deep Blue Sea Gown

$80 rental
$388 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want just a little sparkle with your formal gown? Rent this beautiful cobalt blue BCBGMAXAZRIA gown that has just a tad bit of shine for your night of bliss!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with ruching detail at midsection - conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in Regular length - best for heights 5'4" to 5'8"

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with ruching detail at midsection - conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in Regular length - best for heights 5'4" to 5'8"

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cobalt silk with sequin detail at bust. Strapless neckline. Ruching at bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

73 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 54
Large 14
Photos 45
K
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was my replacement dress, and I love it more than my first choice. The colour is much more vibrant in person. I got a 4R and I wore 3 inch heels with it which was fine, it did not drag on the floor.
Hannah
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Apple
Jun 9, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress would have been beautiful -- if it had fit properly. It was absolutely way too long for me. Even though it says it's for those 5'1" - 5'6" (I'm 5'3" + 3" heels), I would not rent this item unless you're 5'6" or over and planning on wearing heels. There was about 5 inches of material dragging on the floor when I tried it on. I only ordered a size twelve and it was very very big on me (even though my "backup" dress that I ended up wearing fit perfectly, also a size 12). Then again, I've lost a lot of weight and was almost just guessing my size in designer clothes so maybe my size difficulties was a personal problem. In essence, I would be cautious on renting this dress unless you're moderately tall. I could see that it would have been very beautiful if it had fit me properly.
Kate. S.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 19, 2011

Stunning

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 6, but the dress was only available in a 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 8 and it was only slightly lose on the top, which was fixed with some double sided tape. It looked amazing, and was just the right length with heels. I would definitely recommend this dress, especially for girls with curves, or larger chests, like me.
kal
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a really beautiful dress. I wore it to prom, and I got so many complements on it! It was a little long on me, but I wore crazy high heels, so it was fine. :) The jewels on the sides are really the perfect amount of sparkle, and it's beautiful with a pair of chandelier earrings and a cocktail ring.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
As always, BCBGMAXAZRIA fit perfectly. Usually wear a 4 and the 4 was perfect, maybe slightly loose in the chest, but that is normal for me. I ordered a regular on a gamble, since I'm 5'6" and on the cutoff, and it worked fine with heels, meant I wasn't walking on my dress all night. I really didn't want to take it off and got complements all night on the dress. I highly recommend it!!
Carolina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 27, 2011

Xmas Party...smash hit!!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Got a lot of complements. It was long since I am 5'0 but I play with my "Train" and made it work.
Kayla
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Dec 27, 2011

Wonderful Dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Length and fit were perfect! As always for me, the bust was a bit big but that was easily remedied with a padded bra. Gorgeous color and very nice material. Definitely recommend.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 2, 2012

The dress was really pretty...

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
But it ran really big on my bust It was my second choice for my winter formal and I really like it but it just wasn't my size but overall it's still a good choice
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress, that I did not end up wearing. I usually wear a 6, but was nervous about it fitting my bust so I sized up. The bust fit perfectly, but was way too big everywhere else (hips, thighs). The dress would be perfect on someone with more even proportions, but if you are more uneven, this may not be the dress for you. I wish it did perfectly though, because the side details and color were gorgeous! I would recommend it to friends with even proportions!
Jenni
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2012

Great Dress! Love it!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding and it was just perfect! It fitted perfectly, the only thing is that it was a bit too long and I'm 5'2, but I managed to be confy. I will for sure rent this dress again.
So
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 27, 2012

adored by all

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved it :) I received a lot of compliments on this dress because of its simplicity but vivid color. The material of the dress is so comfortable and silky so dancing was no problem which was a plus. I'm normally a size 4 because of of my butt but a size 2 when it comes to my bust (I'm a 32B). Although, I wore a size 2, the dress didn't fit me like a glove. It fit well but it wasn't as tight and secure as I thought it would be. Another downfall is that the dress was super long. I'm 5'4 and a half and I wore 3inch heels and it was still loong! wear platform heels!
JRM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 7, 2012

Gorgeous Color!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous, the picture doesn't do the color justice. I wore this gown to a formal January wedding and got lots of compliments. The embellishments add just a touch of sparkle. I am 5'6" and wore some pretty high heels, probably 4", and the length wasn't a problem. The only issue for me is that I am not very busty and the dress kept falling down on top. I'd recommend a good bra and maybe some tape to keep it up if you're lacking up top like me ;o)
Cristin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
Apr 16, 2012

So pretty

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress. Ran a little larger in the bust but good for waist & hips.
Alicia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104 lbs
Apr 21, 2012

Prom Dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros -so comfortable -very flattering -the color is the same in real life as the internet picture Cons -big in the bust (I'm pretty small) but i used hollywood fashion tape all around and it held up okay. still, if youre my size, i would recommend a dress with a smaller fit -really long. I'm only 5 foot 5 and I wore 3 inch heels and it still dragged on the floor
Anna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2012

Disappointing

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as a back up and was very dissapointed with it. The fabric looks really cheap. The bead work looks really pretty but is covered by your arms most of the time. It was also wrinkled when I got it. I am 5'11, however, and it was long enough.
Vee
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 16, 2012

ummmm.......

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
this was my first rental on RTR I waer an 8 in department store dresses, so i ordered and they didnt have my backup which was a six. The dress was much tpp big, and i had to keep pulling it up even though i'm a 34 D. The dress is really pretty though, I was just sad it didn;t fit well.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

I wish I could keep it

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress a little loose and long for me. My friend gave me a pair of tall high heels and used some fashion tape to shorten the hem. Although it didn't fit perfectly, I stilled love it.
Jasmine
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

The dress fit amazing and complemented my body perfectly.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my boyfriends prom. I think this dress was perfect since it was not my prom and i did not want to go too fancy. I got complimented all night long. It's very simple and elegant. I thought the sequence on the side would bother my arms but i barley even noticed they where there through out the night.
Divya
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

Timely arrival in perfect condition

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Since this was not a body fit dress, the fit of the dress was not an issue at all- and the second size for free is a blessing! In case you happen to be on the cusp - unsure which size fits, you can always order a second size! I love that part of the service.
Genevieve
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

The dress looked beautiful. A little long, but other than that great fit.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I would recommend wearing pretty high heels. The dress dragged a little and I kept stepping on it. Not good if you'll be moving around a lot. Other than that it was absolutely beautiful. I got tons of compliments all night. I recommend wearing red lipstick.
AG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

So many compliments

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress! It fits perfect and is so flattering!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Jan 17, 2013

It was beautiful! Got many compliments. Good classic choice.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fabric is smooth, dress was perfect length for me. The crystal details on the side were the best part!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 9, 2013

Fit was perfect for me. Side sparkles were nice and not so visible on the picture here.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm ususally a 6 or 8 and wore a 6 with this dress. Fit like a glove. Fabric was nice and light for a summer event and the bodice construction was great - never felt like it would fall down.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 14, 2013

Not the best fit

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress for my 2nd option, and its a pretty color but I did not like the fit at the top. There is also some beading on the sides that makes the dress bunch up around your mid-section.
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2013

Beautiful dress, fits well!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great for all sizes! Wore it to a formal gala with my BF's colleagues and it was perfect - not too sexy, but not too matronly.
juliana
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 9, 2013

beutiful dress. very comfortable, too long

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
it was a beautiful dress. I really wanted to wear it but it was just too long. the size chart told me a regular would be appropriate for my size, but even with 4 inch heels, it was still too long. but otherwise. beautiful!
Hannah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful dress though it does run small...

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore it to a gala event and received many compliments. I was worried that someone else may have worn the same dress since renttherunway is so popular..BUT I was the only gal that wore a long length dress~ The color is a beautiful blue and the length was perfect when I paired it with 3 inch heels (I'm 5'6'') The biggest complaint is that it's not exactly "true to size." If you are wider on top (ie big ribcage) the dress may not fit because the bodice has NO give on top. So even if you have a smaller cup size...if your width is 38 or larger (in circumference) then you should definitely go at least a size up. Otherwise, it will be quite a struggle to get into your real size. OR you can try to lose a bit of weight...since I'm an hourglass kind of figure..I had to squeeze into the 8R and luckily, it fit because the 10R had already been taken. Would I recommend this dress? Yes! But would I ever order it again? Probably not. Since it was such a struggle to get into
Gayle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 17, 2013

Beautiful dress, but some flaws.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress--the color is very pretty. However, I am a bit disappointed with the condition of the two dresses I received. The dress was a little short. The hem on both dresses looked uneven and I wonder if they had been cut off and rehemed due to damage. A tear on the hem of the alternate size dress had been repaired. Also, the fabric is silk (which is very pretty) but the dresses looked puckered all over and not pressed smoothly.
Elle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

Flattering

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually have trouble with dresses - I am a 34 A but with wider hips so it is hard to find things that fit me but aren't too big in the bust. This dress fit me well in the bust (though it would also easily fit a larger bust) and wasn't tight at all around my hips. The 2R was still long on me with 3" heels. The blue is a little brighter than in the picture and I got lots of compliments.
Morgan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Great

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit great. It looks so much better in person then it does this photograph. The side panels with the beads there were a few that had come off but nothing that was too noticeable. It was really comfortable through out the night so that was really nice. There was an issue with the credit card that I had used just a few days after and had to cancel it. Overall though it was a great dress for my occasion and no one else had the dress which made it feel more special.
Stella
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 19, 2013

Elegant dress for a formal wedding

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very long, and I worried about the bottom of the dress getting dirty dragging on the ground. The fit was exactly as expected and was really a beautiful color. I would rent this dress again!
Tai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

So quick and easy!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a blue themed gala to support child abuse. The color was more vibrant in the picture. It is made from a soft, silky fabric and hangs beautifully. The dress was elegant and I received compliments all night!
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 24, 2013

Holiday Evening Stunner!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous fit on a curvy girl. Appreciated a not-skin tight fit and made dancing and movements easy without popping out. Thought the color was much better in person (not crayola like) and definitely flattering. Many compliments.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×