Yellow Peacock Chiffon Dress

$149 to buy
$422 retail
Stylist Notes

Work the dance floor in this vibrant yellow cocktail dress by Badgley Mischka. Perfect for the girl who can throw off her shoes and dance the night away with her girlfriends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust with structure and boning; fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - lossely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to built in support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust with structure and boning; fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - lossely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to built in support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Yellow chiffon(100% Polyester). Strapless neckline. Ruffled bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder the hem. Imported.

Share
419 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(275)
Small
(80)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2012
This dress is to die for and flattering for all sizes and body types.
I rented this for a Wedding Rehearsal but I wasn't able to wear it. Only one size was available for the date I requested and I wasn't able to zip it up all the way. Luckily, my RTR Stylist (Erica R) was able to help me pick another dress that fit perfectly. This dress runs very small so make sure sure to order a size or two up. I normally wear a 6 or an 8 depending on the brand but the 10 didn't fit. This dress is extremely flattering on small or curvy women. I will be renting this again in a size that fits because the dress is breath taking. It's absolutely gorgeous, comfortable and light weight. For a lady who is busty, I normally don't like to wear strapless because I dislike showing off my chest. This dress made me feel gorgeous and I didn't worry about that. The sweetheart neckline is very flatterring and it does not slip so you don't need to worry about pulling the dress up. There is boning so it stays up and you don't need to wear a bra with it. Make sure that when you rent it you get a killer necklace like the Dannijo Omala Necklace or the Kate Spade Crystal necklace. This dress is gorgeous. GET IT! It's amazing and super flattering.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2012
Delivered on-time as always!
The dress fit small, so I wore a size up, but the material was beautiful and I loved the color. It was perfect for a spring wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 14, 2012
the dress
Loooooved this dress! would reccommend highly for anyone. great color, makes you standout. perfect length for formal affair. comfy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2012
The yellow color is so much brighter in person - perfectly on trend for summer's bold colors
I wore this dress for a charity polo tournament. The color is gorgeous - much brighter yellow in person. I had tons of compliments and people asking where I got it all day long! The fit is slightly on the small side and there is boning in the bodice that can poke a bit when sitting, but over all I loved this dress and would purchase it in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
The color really stood out! Completely different from any other dress in the wedding crowd!
I really liked this dress. I ordered both the 4 and the 6 - I am a pretty solid size 4, but I ended up wearing the 6. The 4 fit perfectly in the bust, but was wayyy too tight across the butt! The 6 fit okay in bust, but fit much better around the butt. Loved the color. Paired with the Kate Spade midnight statement earrings. Some people have complained about the boning in the dress - it was a little annoying at times, but not enough to prevent me from wearing. There were also a few small snags in the fabric, but overall it did not take away from the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Bright and Cheery!
This dress was great! Very bright and Fun! The dress came a little above the knee which I thought was very class...especially since the top has a little bit of a plunge. I would definitely recommend it for more of a summer wedding or vacay. Too Bright for Fall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Everyone saying that yellow was my color!
Fit great everywhere and pinched nowhere. Good length. Didn't feel like anything was out of place. best rental yet !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
Perfect for a spring wedding
The yellow was gorgeous, got compliments all night. The ruffle on the bust is flattering and its roomey around the waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2012
Color of this dress was beautiful. I have an olive complexion and received compliments all night.
I am on the busty side, so the 12 fit me perfectly. It has plenty of built-in support, so I didn't have to mess with a strapless bra which was great. The color is bright and the dress is really comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress if you are on the curvy side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress, loved the color and fit!
I would say that this dress is a bit sheer, I wore nude spanks to hide panty lines. Also, the boning is sharp and was painful at timse when sitting down. Overall, loved the dress and got a lot of compliments at an outdoor summer wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
September 24, 2012
This dress was gorgeous. The material felt expensive and the boning made it easy to wear.
I usually wore a 0 and had to wear the 2. If I hadn't had the back up size, I probably could have worn the 0 if I had had someone to zip me into it. The 2 fit beautifully though and I didn't have to wear a bra because of the boning.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 24, 2012
Pretty color but I didn't wear it because it was small around my hips.
It was tight around my hips and butt, and the top ruffle hid my waist, which wasn't a good combination. Very pretty color though! And the dress was in great shape when it was sent to me. Customer service was fantastic, I wish every business had the customer service that RTR does!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was amazing! A must rent for any formal affair!
I rented this for my friend's wedding. The dress was so beautiful in person and the color is stunning. I received so many compliments all night. It was a little difficult to zip up because I have a fuller bust, but once I got it zipped, it fit like a glove. I would definitely reccomend this dress to everyone! This is my favorite dress I have rented so far!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
bright and summery
I wore this dress to a friends wedding and received compliments all night! I think the bride wished she had picked yellow as her color theme. The only downside was that the boning was a bit painful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2012
Size up for chest area
I rented this dress to attend a Gala ballet performance. The dress itself is beautiful, color, cut and it is very well made with the internal corset. However it ran a little small on me on the chest area, I could zip it but it felt very restrictive, not good for sitting dancing and eating all night for me. Wish I could have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2012
strange fit
I was not impressed by this dress. The extra fabric on top was a bit overwhelming, even in the size 0. I actually returned this dress and used the credit to get another. For taller girls, beware of the Big Bird look, might look better on those of you that are shorter than 5'9".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2012
Flattering and Pretty
The dress was great, but I definitely had to go up a size. The particular dress I rented had the plastic boning poking through so that made it very uncomfortable. I added some tape over the pokey areas and it seemed to make it better. I got a lot of compliments on the dress, and it flatters just the right spots!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 16, 2012
Pretty Color
It was nice and bright at the wedding, never had to adjust the top which is why I almost never wear strapless dresses. Only thing was the he boning kept coming out and stabbing me in the hip. Kind of bothersome. Definitely needs a statement necklace!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2012
Beautiful dress, possibly too big.
Luckily, I choose 2 different dresses for a wedding. I didn't end up wearing this one because the molding in the top (bra area) was a little too much so there was a funny bump when I put the dress on. Maybe a size smaller would've been a better fit (I chose a size up as my second size) but I ended up wearing the second style. The 3 stars are because I did love the look of this dress but I couldn't give it 5 because I couldn't wear it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 26, 2012
LOVE
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and it was a hit! I usually wear a 4 or 6 and the 6 fit perfect, the 4 was too tight.
MeredithMarch 14, 2013
where did your necklace? I love it, especially with this dress!
RTR CustomerMarch 14, 2013
Hi Meredith! This is our Kate Spade Swirl Triple Row Necklace! You can find it here: http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/short_jewelry/swirltriplerownecklace
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 18, 2012
Yellow Rose of Texas
I wore this with boots for a Texas party. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 fit better. The color and fabric are great! The boning in the dress is a bit uncomfortable and you will need sheer underwear or a nude slip as it is a little see-through in the back. Fun dress and I received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
January 19, 2013
I didn't even want to wear my graduation robe!
I wore this for my Masters graduation. It was the perfect pretty spring dress for the occasion. I didn't want to wear my robe, but it was perfect for lunch afterwards, and dinner later on that night. I even wore for my sisters high school graduation in the same weekend! It fits true to size, and the boning inside made it great for me since I am small chested. Gorgeous color, but I would recommend a tan if you want to really shine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
January 21, 2013
Loved this dress, beautiful and fun!
This dress is beautifully made, with a rich color. I am a pear shape, so I bumped up a size just to ensure that the dress didn't pull in the butt area. It was perfect for my sorority formal, where I wanted a black tie dress that wasn't fussy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2013
This dress was perfection. I loved the color for a summer wedding.
Comfortable for dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 19, 2012
Runs Small
This dress is lovely, and the perfect color of yellow. It ran small on me and my larger bust, couldn't zip it up if I tried.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2012
I loved renting this dress from RTR. Bright colors are right on trend for spring, but if I purchased this dress, I would never wear it again. I received tons of compliments all night long.
I have always had great experiences with Badgley Mischka dresses and this one did not disappoint. I rented for a outdoor wedding and received tons of compliments all night long. The dress is extremely well made and the boning provides structure and support. This dress is lovely and form fitting in the waist but is still forgiving in the tummy area. The only hiccup I encountered with the dress was the bust. The dress barely zipped, but I made it work. I have this issues with all dresses so it was expected. I would definitely recommend and rent again.
KelseyMarch 22, 2012
Gorgeous!
ChristinaApril 13, 2012
Gorgeous! The dress looks like a great length! It was almost to your knees?
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Christina, this dress will be right above the knee if you are 5'4 or a bit below!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 2, 2012
tighter than expected
I'm usually between a size 2-4. The 4 fit, but wasn't flattering, it was just a little too snug around the hips and I thought the material was too sheer. I ended up not wearing the dress. I don't think a size 6 would have worked either, because the bust fit perfectly. I am a "pear" shape. 32-B/C, size 27 jeans.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2012
Beautiful.
Dress was simple and gorgeous. Looks just like on the model. Great fabric to dance in. I got compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 7, 2012
I loved wearing something that brightened the room when I walked in.
Such a gorgeous color and I received many complements on it. I am usually a size 8, but to my surprise I needed a smaller size. I felt like the top gapped in the bigger size and I have a rather large chest. Since it's strapless I felt more secure in the tighter of the two. I have bigger bottom than waist and the smaller size still fit across my booty. I loved the dress in pictures, but I felt that the way the dress laid across the stomach, made me look like I had a pooch belly. This was easily fixed by tucking the swooping fabric up a little on the front. The length was appropriate enough for a wedding rehearsal dinner. I, unfortunately, didn't take a vertical picture in the dress to show full image. I would recommend this dress because it's classy, yet sassy!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
April 11, 2012
See through!
The bottom portion of this dress is completely see through. Unless you are wearing pantyhose and no underwear, I don't know how you could do it. I rented the dress for a rehearsal dinner the night before a wedding and since I did not want to offend people, decided not to wear it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
May 2, 2012
too big
I saw the color online and thought it was gorgeous! I was planning on wearing it to my sorority formal. I'm really petite (5'3'', 32A chest, approx. 100 lbs), so I ordered the 0. But when it came and I tried it on, it was too big on top and a little too long for me (past my knees). It was cute but I couldn't wear it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2012
Get the dress and the necklace
I wore this dress and the necklace shown with the dress to a wedding and never had so many compliments!! Two things I wish is that I actually owned this outfit and that I had a picture to upload so viewers could see it. I matched it with a pair of blue suede strappy heals, and wore a short nude slip underneath because the fabric is a bit see through. Love, Love, Love!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2012
Beautiful color and dress
I got many compliments on this dress. It ran true to size for the most part but it was a little loose at the top. Also by the end of the night the boning wire in the bodice starting scratching my torso. I think this was due to previous wear. Also the zipper would get caught in the middle so I had to zip the dress all the way then pull it up. I attribute this to wear as well. If the bodice didn't scratch me this dress would have been a five. It had a great fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2012
So many compliments on both rented dresses and jewelry. No one believed me when I said they were rented.
This dress was sheer, had to wear nude slip, but was worth it. Was little large up top (i fixed with fashion tape), so smaller chested ladies beware. Despite the extra room, it had no problem staying up due to the boning. I just didn't want to flash anyone if I were to lean forward. A little shearing on one of the side seams but other than that it was in great shape and the color was amazing. Wore with the lulu blue drop earrings.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 13, 2012
Beautiful color but didn't fit
The dress is in a beautiful yellow color however, it is best for smaller bust sized girls. I am a 36D and unfortunately it dd not fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 14, 2012
Cute but didn't fit perfectly!
I am very proportionate - and this dress didn't fit quite right. The size 6 fit up top but was a little snug in the butt, and the size 8 was massive up top. I would recommend this for bustier gals who can't normally rock strapless dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
June 19, 2012
Tricky Zipper
This dress is beyond gorgeous in real life. But I was unable to wear it because the zipper would not budge over the rouching.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 22, 2012
This dress stood out - in a good way!
I rented this dress for a summer wedding in Providence. I was a little nervous about the fit due to the mixed reviews here, but it was perfect! I have a small bust and the sweetheart neckline was super flattering. The color and fabric really stood out. I got a ton of compliments and felt so comfortable dancing all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 3, 2012
Worth it.
I rented this dress for a wedding this summer. I rented a 4 and a 6 based on the previous reviews about the fit. The 4 fit perfectly and the length hit me right at the knee. The color is gorgeous in person, and I didn't find it shear, either. People complimented on the dress all day and night! The only negative is that the boning was very restrictive while trying to dance. In the morning, I had 4 identical bruised scrapes on my back where the boning had been stabbing me all night...kind of feel like it's the price you pay for a dress like that. I'm ok with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 9, 2012
Got tons of compliments all night long.
I did not want to send this one back. It was the perfect dress for a summer wedding.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×