Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$40 rental
$540 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

210 reviews

Fit
Small 116
True to Size 90
Large 1
Photos 133
Erica
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

This was my backup dress.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits tight around the hips.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 23, 2013

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

Very classy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It didn't end up wearing it and went with another rental, but it hugs your curves perfectly! It is on the conservative side, but with the neckline you're not too-too covered up.
pearls
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Did not feel like the dress was extremely well made.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Highlighted my curves.
Jenn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 8, 2013

I recieved so many compliments on this dress and felt beautiful.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding three months after having a baby. I wasn't feeling super confident about the way I looked and was dealing with a chest I'm not accustomed to, but I felt great in this dress! I went one size up from normal and the dress fit and was extremely flattering. Hopefully I can add a picture soon!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 8, 2013

Nice dress but it runs small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress but unfortunately wasn't able to because it runs a little bit small. I would rent it again but in a size 6 instead of 4.
megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
May 13, 2013

Stunning dress, but the hem simply too long

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a gorgeous dress overall. However, there are a few complaints. First, the hem under the dress ran about 2 whole inches below the dress itself. I didn't have any fashion tape, so had to be creative when trying to stick the hem under, I folded it. It was annoying having to constantly worry if it was sticking out. Second, there is a small slit in the back of the dress (between the legs). The slit itself is kind of cut out funny, and looks a little bit cheap behind this gorgeous dress. There was some evidence of wear on the dress, but only if you looked very closely, no one else would notice. FYI, the dress in person is more of a brown than a champagne or gold (you could definitely wear this at a wedding). What was great was that you can wear a regular bra with this dress! Thanks, RTR!
Doyle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 19, 2013

The dress looked pretty overall.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The zipper was off track on the size 6, so I had to safety pin the dress closed. There was loose material in the upper back. Dress seemed as if it had been worn too many times.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 21, 2013

In LOVE with this dress. I'd definitely rent again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was my back-up dress for an out of town event. I was originally concerned that I would feel naked because of the nude color, but it fit really well and I got tons of compliments. The hem of the lining underneath was slightly longer than the dress itself, but that was easily fixed with a few safety pins and a flat iron. Wore it with red lipstick and gold heels. Definitely recommended!!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 28, 2013

I got so many compliments on how well it made me pop! It fit me like a dream, it was fabulous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It runs small, I'm normally a 4 and the 6 felt and fitted much better. It was very flattering for my body type (i'm like a pear/petite shape) and the color was easy to work with. I would rent this dress again!
Hannah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

Amazing dress for an amazing time!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this for a prom and the fit was a tad bit small but other than that it was amazing!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Rent if you're looking for a nude-colored lace dress (not a cream dress with sequins).

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a little worn looking so I didn't wear it. The slip underneath is either going to show an inch or more underneath or be bunched underneath the lace. I didn't think it looked bad showing underneath because the slip is silk and you can tell that the lace overlay is a separate material, but my boyfriend did not like it showing. Also, the sequins are not noticeable on this dress as shown in the picture. In person, it looks like a lace dress.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Pretty dress but fit is a little challenging

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my backup for my wedding rehearsal dinner and I ended up not wearing it. The sparkle and details are amazing, but the fit is a little strange. The lining on the skirt sticks out the bottom unless you are always pulling down the top skirt (looking at photos on the website it appears many others have this issue too). Probably best for a narrow hip.
Peggy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Not as conservative as it looks!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was worried that the dress looked too conservative for my bachelorette party. Not true! Very cute and form fitting. I don't have much going on top but the dress still complemented my assets. I do have some junk in the trunk and I'm tall so the bottom half looked awesome. Only drawback is the dress did look a little worn. The sequins do snag on things. But that's about the only cons to the dress.
swlinz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

Pretty dress, but a little worn from frequent use.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress online, but when I got it, it still like it but you could tell that it had been worn a lot. I ended up going with my second choice instead.
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Didnt end up working for me....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fit a little tight - the lace overlay didnt lay right
Morgan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 17, 2013

I didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful. Longer than expected.
S. D.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

Pretty dress, but not very forgiving

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was very pretty and in good condition when it came (although the fabric belt had seen better days, it could have gotten by without anyone noticing) but both sizes were way too small in the chest. I think it would have been beautiful if there were a little stretch to it so that I could fit into the top part, but I wasn't able to for the event. I would say if you are busty, this might not be a good choice, but if you're not, then it is a really pretty and classy dress.
Christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2013

runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
i rented this as my first choice but the 10 was not available. i rented the 8 but it was SO small. I suspected that it would be so i ordered a second style that fit very well. anyway, this dress is gorgeous but make sure to get your size and for sure the size up!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Bridal shower beauty!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my shower. Thank goodness I got the 6 because even the six was tight. A bit worn out but still beautiful!
ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 26, 2013

I got this dress as a backup and loved it. I decided to go with the other dress but would rent again

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size.
Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 27, 2013

Didn't like this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The shine was way too flashy for me and the sequins were way more apparent in real life. Online it looked like a nice shimmer, nothing too flashy, but for me it was a little over the top.
Brie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

I got like 1000 compliments, from my friends and from strangers

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits kind of tight, would recommend Spanx! Also, the slip part kind of hangs down below the hem so I had to do some crafty work with fashion tape. Would rent again though! Definitely an beautiful dress, I never wanted to take it off.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

My dad telling me I looked beautiful! I was his date to a Marine Corp event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
FIt like a glove! The lining came down a bit in the front, but i pinned it up and it was fine.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

Definitely not true to size

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up not wearing this gorgeous dress because I couldn't zip it up the back, I needed the 4 which wasn't available. It is very snug and I'm an athlete and I strength train so I bet the 4 would have been perfect.
Caroline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 5, 2013

It looks even better in person, absolutely stunning!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was absolutely gorgeous, I wore it for a school dance with nude heels and I got so many complements. Rent this dress for sure, no picture can truly do it justice. As soon as I got it in the mail, I fell in love with it. It's classy and sexy, I didn't want to send it back!
Liv
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

great dress for plus size teens!!!! I loved the dress!!! totally unforgettable.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
wore it to my schools homecoming. loved it and got tons of compliments. ladies with a big bust and who are plus size, this dress is a winner! lovely fit and very forgiving! lace was itchy but wasn't too big of a problem, slip underneath extended a bit from bottom but was easy to fix with fashion tape. all in all I had a good experience I would recommend it to someone who wouldn't mind using some fashion tape.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

Overall, a great dress to celebrate my first wedding anniversary!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit was right on, but the lining kept sticking out of the bottom which was pretty annoying! It looked great though, so hopefully people were looking at my smiling face and not my thighs! I wore this for my first wedding anniversary on New Year's Eve. It was a great night!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this dress - was too tight. It's gorgeous, though!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs small; tight fit; order a size up from your normal size.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

Didn't fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I normally wear a size 6, but also got the 8 as a backup. Even the 8 was too small to zip over my bust which was a little surprising since I'm only a C cup. Definitely recommend ordering up. Even if it had fit, I would have been disappointed though because the sequins and detailing on the front of the dress looked worn/broken in.
Krystyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

I LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a bit damaged when it came, and the slip underneath kept showing. Other than that it was a win!
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Just Disappointed with Both Sizes Tried

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Pros: both dresses sent are in fantastic shape: beautiful beading work on the belt & sequin overlay; style is appropriate for a wedding, fundraiser dinner/dance or milestone anniversary evening out. Cons: both sizes 8/10 run small (the 8 even more so, I think I could work with the 10). However, I could not wear any undergarments (husband said he wouldn't mind!) & as other RTRs have noted, the sequin overlay rides up in the front to reveal the underslip...for me about 2 inches. The back lays fine & level with the slip. Even with using some fabric tape to tack it, I don't think I would have been comfortable wearing the dress. Nevertheless, RTR's stylists have come through & immediately worked with me to suggest & send new dresses which will hopefully work out. If not, that's ok & I will try again in the future just based on the fantastic customer service alone!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Gorgeous dress, form fitting and very flattering!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress I wore for a wedding. Got so many compliments! Runs a little small so I had to wear a size up. But the size up fit great and looked so good!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 19, 2014

Beautiful dress, but runs small, very short, and the liner was a major issue

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to love this dress - it really is stunning, but it was unwearable for a number of reasons. It runs very small, I ordered a size up and it was still pretty tight. It was also way too short on me - I'm 5'10" though, so this probably wouldn't be an issue for the shorter ladies. The biggest problem is the liner. It sticks out several inches in the front, which looks really strange. I guess you could use fashion tape, as other ladies have suggested, but it still bunched up and looked odd on me.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 4, 2014

Very pretty and classy dress that helped me stand out from the typical black at a work party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is elegant and has subtle glitter that is fun but not gaudy. The belt on the dress is very beautiful. The lining on the dress does peak out from the bottom ,but it is obvious this was the look the designer was trying to achieve. I don't think it made the dress look worse. Overall, I thought the dress was beautiful and I am very happy I wore it. Fit: I usually wear between a 6-8, and wore the 8. I think the 8 was most certainly a smaller 8. I have broad shoulders, so the dress was a little tight on them. I would definitely recommend sizing up. It's a good length too! Fun, but not too short for a work function, and I'm 5'7. Fabric: The dress is overall beautiful, and catches light wonderfully. The ribbon on the belt on the 8 had been creased in half, which was a little odd. However, when tied, it was not really a huge factor. The sparkles are slightly itchy on the underarms, but I think this is bc it was a little snug on my shoulders.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Super Tight

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I've worn Bagdley Mischka before in a size 4, but this dress was so tight, I didn't even try to zip it up! While it looks shimmery in the picture, the fabric is more like a crochet, kindof woven. It's not very sparkly.
kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Beautiful dress fit perfectly.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my friend's bachelorette party. It was beautiful and fit perfectly!
elizabeth
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

I didn't end up wearing this dress and left town before I could get a replacement

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The torso of the dress fit wonderfully, but the bust/sleeves fit oddly and pulled on my 36DDD bust. Also, it was so much shorter than I expected, the slit in the back went up to my panties!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

I didn't end up being able to wear it unfortunately

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE but due to a snowstorm it didn't arrive on time. But I did try it on and it was a beautiful. Would rent this style again
n/a
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

great dresses to choose from

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The rent the runway team did an excellent job of sending me a new dress in a timely fashion since the sparkle in the sky dress ran SOOO small
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×