You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Sliding Shoulder Dress
Rental $40 Retail $475
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
With a flutter sleeve and jewel embellishment shoulder, this Badgley Mischka dress is a chic solution for any evening affair. For maximum glamour, complete the look with the Alexis Bittar's Crystal Vine Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Black matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with split sleeve and beading detail at right shoulder. Draping with exposed shoulder at left sleeve. Side ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos66

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 8444
Jan 15, 2013
Sexy, sleek.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is as gorgeous in person as it is on the website. Worn with a pair of spanx, it fits like a glove- not too tight, not too loose.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6531
Jan 3, 2013
Nice LBD!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress quite a lot. The fit was a bit more snug than I expected, but it was flattering overall.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Dec 20, 2012
party dress !
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very nice dress. Thought too much material but has a nice flare to it. Fun and flirty
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Dec 12, 2012
Gorgeous and flattering!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Carneval event in February. The fit was so flattering and the little jeweled detail at the top was just enough and not overly sparkly. The off the shoulder style required a strapless bra, but I wore spanx and it created perfect and clean lines. A great rental for a night on the town, NYE or even a wedding. I will definitely be renting this dress again :)
ostrvl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Dec 3, 2012
Lovely
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very simple dress. Wore this to the Christmas Pops in Boston. It was perfectly simple and fit the occasions. Very comfortable too.
Denise
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7624
Nov 14, 2012
very comfortable! Lots of compliments
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR rental! Love it!
GN
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Nov 2, 2012
NA
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fitted very nicely. Very classy. Nice detail. Loved this dress.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Oct 22, 2012
This was my back-up dress. It was sophisticated, comfortable and true to size.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The side zip with the ruching is a little tricky and one of the beads arrived with loose threads and was hanging off (easily fixable though). The dress fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable with nice quality fabric. The beading at the shoulder was a nice detail. For me, I just liked my first choice better but this would be an excellent versatile formal or date dress.
Elena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3234
Oct 17, 2012
Overall, a pretty and very comfortable dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress ran true to size. It was a little longer than I would have liked. Overall, a pretty and very comfortable dress!
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Oct 12, 2012
Cute dress. I wish I ordered the right size.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up returning this dress because it didn't fit. I gained 15 pounds this past year and have been wearing a size10 lately, but for some reason this dress didn't fit. Oh well, next time I'll get the next size up.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Oct 5, 2012
Adorable and comfortable!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress has been on my wishlist for a while. I was so glad to have the opportunity to wear it. The material is great, a little stretchy. I did not need spanx underneath. The length was also perfect for me. Another successful RTR!!
fashion chick
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 4, 2012
classic choice for a wedding
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was just perfect, fitted but not too snug. I loved the way the one side draped off my shoulder. Came to a little above knee on me. Highly recommend if you are looking for a lbd
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Oct 1, 2012
Stunning and chic LBD
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal charity event and it was perfect. Subtle off-the-shoulder style, well-placed jeweled broach -- these little touches make it much more than a basic black dress. Runs a little small, so size up.
Brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2542
Oct 1, 2012
This dress was stunning and I got compliments from everyone all night!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to fit, just be careful about the zipper. Since the fabric is bunched around it it can be difficult to zip on your own
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Sep 22, 2012
Didn't wear it because of the material
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress, while pretty, offers no stretch at all and really doesn't hide many body flaws. You can see every line under the dress.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3421
Sep 19, 2012
Loved!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to an evening wedding. Was super cute and fit perfectly. Love the drape and the detailing on the shouler. Is definitely a great rental!
deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2624
Sep 15, 2012
Sexy, Glamorous, Perfect
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Though I had some concerns about BagleyMishka dresses that I've owned in the past, I decided to give this dress a chance since it was the perfect combination of being appropriate but sexy. The dress was very comfortable and fit perfectly. I received so many compliments. I thought it was an easy dress to style. I wore my hair a la Eva Longoria - loose bold curls and. My sole jewelry were bronze earrings with black crystals. My bag was a Bottega Venetta and my shoes were from Via Spiga - an irredescent gold and silver fabric. Thanks RTR - I'm coming back to you for my next occasion.
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Sep 9, 2012
Smashing!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and received a ton of compliments! The fit was flattering, and the off-the-shoulder effect was sexy!
Cascare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Sep 3, 2012
decent
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
dress fit well (a bit big, but i ordered up since rtr did not have my size). it is far more conservative and casual than it looks in photos.
Jennette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Sep 1, 2012
Love
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing dress... great fit! LOVED!!!
Galina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 6433
Aug 31, 2012
Odd fit
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't hate this dress, but it just happened to fit my body weirdly. Maybe it was just me, but the bust and skirt was fine except that the lower torso was uncomfortably tight! I don't know why, I'm a pretty proportional person :(
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Aug 29, 2012
Perfect Party Dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was perfect for the event I was going to . I ordered a size 6 and 8. I wore the 6 and the fit was excellent. All the comments about the zipper were TRUE! The zipper on both dresses were awful. The zipper on the 8 broke even though the dress was large on me. Aside from that, the dress is beautiful and the side ruching is great to hide any "flaws". The shoulder detail was simple but very pretty and was enough sparkle so no need for a necklace. I would love to rent again if the zippers could be fixed.
Nancy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6633
Aug 25, 2012
Great Dress! Would rent again.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Flattering dress and comfortable. I am petite and the length/fitting was fine. I wore it to a "casual cocktail" fund raiser and felt it was perfect. The zipper was difficult as others indicated. However, it is such a great dress, I would rent it again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Aug 21, 2012
Classy Dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental from RTR and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy and convenient the process was. The dress came packaged nicely and was ready to wear. It fit perfectly, though it seemed slightly longer than it was in the photo (or maybe I am shorter than the model). In any case, it was a hit at the party, which was a fundraiser event. If you're looking for something classy and understated but still sexy...this is the dress for you!
Cheryl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Aug 20, 2012
THE Black Dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Buy it, buy it, buy it. This dress will make everyone feel gorgeous. It is stretchy, hangs and drapes off the shoulder perfectly. Eliminated my mental arm issues. The detail of black sequins gathered in a nice styling over the gathered shoulder was something I originally missed, but it gave it that extra pop. A little oomph. The waist gathers at one side seam down a bit to give everyone the perfect figure and confidence on those ugh days. The dress fell great on the leg and was not too short, or even that I would consider it short. I received endless compliments. This was my first RTR dress and it sealed my love for RTR instantly. It also swooned and impressed my husband so much that he agreed with using RTR for everything. Hands Down! Everyone should have this in their closet. It is a little more then the little black dress, but not too much where you can't wear it to many events. Rent this one with confidence. This one did hang a little more looser. However not it the way that I couldn't wear either size, but gave me a choice to hang more with the 12 or a little more fitted with the 10. Using fitted in th loosest form because the comfort could be matched with jammies. I believe this was also when I was closer to a 10, but scared from store dresses varying in sizes so much. Great first RTR dress. Have a blast.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 8533
Aug 15, 2012
Fun Dress
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. The only problem with the dress was some freying at the zipper and the emblem was a bit "worn" looking. But overall it was a fun and elegant dress
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Aug 12, 2012
Perfect little black dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For an evening wedding this dress was perfect. It's classy yet sexy and I received many compliments. It is tight and form fitting, so I wear a slimming slip underneath. The zipper was a little warn as well as the beads, but nothing noticeable.
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Aug 9, 2012
Cute-ish
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got this as a backup. It fit fine but the top was just weird. Happy it was my backup and not my only choice.
jngr
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6543
Jul 25, 2012
AMAZING!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing! My friend requested that her bridesmaids wear a black dress of their choosing for her wedding and this was my backup dress. The jersey hides all sins, stretches enough to accomodate any body parts that are bigger than the size and the rouching and shoulder details are gorgeous. I wore the sliding shoulder all the way down. It is a little longer (I'm tall and it was almost knee length) which I thought was perfectly appropriate with the fit and shoulders being bare. It was a little difficult to zip, as there is so much fabric around the zipper (the pull actually came off the zipper when I was putting it on, but it still zipped up with the help up a safety pin), but other than that it is comfortable, sophisticated, on trend and classy. This dress will look amazing on anyone!
linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Jul 24, 2012
WOW WOW WOW
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is perfect. its just quality all around. It hugged me where it should and made me look sophisticated and lovely. The zipper on both sizes I got in this dress had issues...but was able to get it up with hubby's help. I would rent this dress again in a minute as it just screams awesome and classy. Loved it.
LG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Apr 17, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress...it fit flawlessly. It both looked comfortable and was incredibly comfortable. I got lots of compliments and definitely did not want to take it off. Note: I am tall: 5'11" and the length was great.
Catherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5634
Mar 5, 2012
First Rent-the-Runway....LOVED
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I chose this dress for a fundraiser at my son's school. Got loads of compliments and really loved it.....as others have said, the zipper is a pain (need an extra set of hands), but once you have it on, it's perfect.
Gab
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6641
Feb 12, 2012
Amazing dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a benefit event for school, I ordered an 8 and a 10 and I wore the 10 because the 8 was missing a stone and was very obvious. That is the only reason i gave it 4 stars because the dress is beautiful and got lots of complements I felt I was a size 6 but I couldn't wear the left don't because it was to big so I wore it as asymmetric neck :)
Susan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Jan 27, 2012
Just fabulous
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks great on and does wonders for your body. I felt like a movie star and that doesn't happen often enough at my age. The ruching cinches in the waist. It's comfy and glamorous at the same time. And yes, I am renting it again.
kristin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6531
Jan 27, 2012
RENT THIS DRESS!!!!!!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this was my back-up dress and I just fell in love with it! YOU MUST RENT THIS DRESS!!! I'm a bigger size (size 8) and i felt like a size 4. the dress is quality and you can feel how well the dress is constructed. I got complements all night long. This was my first time renting from RTR and this dress is the reason they now have a life long customer. One of my favorite things is that the dress hides the fatty part of the underarm area. I also really liked how it was sexy (the shoulder showing) without being skanky.
Kristy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7434
Jan 23, 2012
Flattering fit
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was perfect for the wedding I attended this weekend: dressy enough to fit the formal reception, but not so formal that it felt weird to walk around Bourbon Street. I would definitely recommend Spanx to smooth anything underneath, but the fabric is pretty thick, so I think it could still be flattering on some body types without Spanx. The side ruching is also nice & camouflaging without looking like oddly bunchy fabric. I'm 5'4, and the skirt hit about 2 inches or so above my knees. And since the top isn't low cut at all, it should work with any bra size. A couple minor annoyances: the zipper is difficult to unzip, as several people have mentioned (zipping up was a little easier), and the very thin lining in the skirt doesn't stay in place. It kept twisting and riding up. I don't think you could tell from looking at it, though, given the thick fabric of the dress. I would definitely recommend looking over the beads on the shoulder when you get it. The center one was unsewn on one side when I got it. Easily fixed, just something to check. The hem in the front also had some threads coming loose. Overall, definitely worth renting again. Unless I can buy it, since my husband didn't want me to send it back.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3531
Jan 19, 2012
Good go to Black Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable! Wore to a wedding and danced the night away and felt great. I usually wear between a 2 and 4 and the 4 fit better but was a little loose in the top. Was my first Rent the Runway experiance and will definitely do it again.
Elyse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 5, 2012
Loved it!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect for a classic body (i.e., small waist, boobs/butt)! Very classy and sexy without being garish. Had a great experience with RtR!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 23, 2011
Great Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this and another dress for a recent date to a Symphony. I actually ended up wearing the other dress, but dress was also great. I rented a 4 and 6 and preferred the 4. It is classy and sexy, and pretty comfortable. It hides flaws and is flattering even for a undefined waistline. The only trouble I had, was zipping its side zipper. It never got stuck on any fabric, it just had a lot of material around the zipper so it would have a hard time zipping/unzipping (even when I wasn't wearing it). Also, I feel it was a bit large around the bust area for a A or B cup. It wasn't too bad, but it just seemed slightly baggy, but that just might be me. It was a lovely dress, and I will probably rent it again to wear it out!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3421
Dec 20, 2011
classy in black
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I wore it to a friend's wedding and got several compliments on how classy it looked. I think the off the shoulder gives it a little sexy too. I paired the dress with gray suede peep toe platforms and a colorful clutch. I'm usually between a 2 and a 4 and struggle with sizing, but the 4 fit just a little more comfortable than the 2 this time. The draping fit just right with my petite frame and the fabric was very comfortable and easy to move in. I'd highly recommend this dress! Home run for my first rental from RTR!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress