You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Ruched Sweetheart Gown
Rental $90 Retail $900
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball. Shown here with Dannijo's Cecile Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.
Chat with a Stylist
Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos158

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Teenah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Mar 15, 2014
Great fitted dress
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had so many compliments how the dress accentuated my lack thereof curves. Prefect for my formal wedding event. The dress did run a little small and tight so luckily I had reserve a size up. I'm not tall by any means so the dress was a tad long for me, but with 3" (maybe 4) heels it came out to a perfect length that didn't drag on the floor.
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6524
Mar 14, 2014
I decided to wear another dress, but this is a really nice dress fro a fancy occasion.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you're any taller than me, I highly recommend you order a "long". Unless you want to wear it with flats.
Candice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Mar 5, 2014
Fit pretty snug and I had no problems with the top fitting perfect
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 4 but I worn the 2 because it fit tighter I had not problems with the top falling down and the length was great I didn't trip not once overall lovely dress
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Feb 24, 2014
I love the beading/detail at the top!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It definitely runs short! It is short in the front with a slight train in the back. I am 5'5 and the 2L was good with 3 inch heels. The dress is very fitted but flattering!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6423
Feb 21, 2014
Classic and simple
Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A simple strapless dress with classic details. A bit heavy up top. I would suggest fashion tape to keep it up.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5523
Feb 15, 2014
I wore this dress to a concert event in NYC. It was a bit long, but manageable with heels.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress did become a bit more loose over the course of the night. I had to pull it up more, but nothing too annoying. Would wear again-great black dress!
Carrie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8631
Feb 13, 2014
N/A
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress runs true to size yet short as others have mentioned. Thus, I ordered a 12L. The dress delivered to me showed obvious signs of wear and should be retired/replaced: back zipper seam pulling out from too many tight wearings; rubber lining around top of bustline cracked. The style was unflattering on me and so I wore the Badgely Mischka Rosalind Peplum gown instead, which I've previously rented and am satisfied with.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Feb 11, 2014
I wore this to a gala in Washington, DC.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was wonderfully made with soft fabric and beautiful draping. I would love to own this dress.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7521
Feb 9, 2014
Classic Black Dress
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented the 8 and the 10 as a backup, and ended up wearing the 8 because there didn't seem to be much difference. The dress was short enough that I wore flats. The boning in the dresses made it stay up, though it did poke a little on the left side.
Daryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 31, 2014
I did not wear this dress, I wore my backup!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit awkwardly in the butt/hip/stomach area. This was most likely due to my tiny waist and larger hips but I don't usually have a problem with most dresses. The dress was very nice, just not an appropriate fit.
Vycki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jan 19, 2014
Wore to a black tie wedding. Very comfortable and with heels not too long.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Found it to be comfortable for a wedding....loved the gathering around the waist. Has a small train
Eleanore
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6533
Jan 16, 2014
Beware of boning!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
As the other reviews state, this dress does run short, so the 8L worked well for me. This dress really shows off (or overexposes, depending on how you feel) your cleavage if you are a C or beyond. It is flattering though and I received several compliments. I was very disappointed in the condition of the dress though. The boning was exposed in multiple places w/in the bodice, and it was so bad I had to return home to change into something different. I had a small sore in one place! If you rent this dress, wear a bustier bra - I cannot stress this enough. I only wore a strapless bra and was so annoyed after 1-2 hours.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5533
Dec 20, 2013
FIts like a glove
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ok, this dress, while people say it has support, really doesn't. I would definitely recommend spanx. I was surprised as well at the length, I had a 6R and an 8R and both were really short, at my ankles. I'm 5'5", so I was surprised that I didn't read any reviews on length. I wasn't sure what size would fit me, but the 8 was way to big all around, loose to the point of not staying up. I called RTR and they overnighted me a 6L! THANK YOU!!! I was so happy I did, the 6L fit perfectly, and was just floor length with heels. 3 in I think? The only complaint is the boning in the bodice scratched me in the front, it stops just below your ribcage. But I didn't care.
jordan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 19, 2013
baggy up top and had a HUGE flaw!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress itself is really beautiful. In pictures I look fantastic and flawless in the dress. However...there were MANY secrets to my success. The bust is HUGE. I have C cups and they were swimming without a bra. There is some piping and cups in the dress itself but it simply isn't enough alone. On top of that...there was a HUGE sharp strand of plastic sticking out from the left arm side of the dress up top near the underarm area. I'm guessing where the tag was cut off? But there was at least two inches of this plastic and a few more little ones under an inch (barely) also sticking out. It was SO incredibly uncomfortable and really threw me for a loop every time a picture was taken I was so worried it'd show up. Tacky central. LUCKILY it didn't and I was able to tape it down but I thought that was a major bummer! Maybe this is how all the dresses are? This is my first time renting from here so I'm not totally familiar with what's considered normal. The dress looks fantastic and I got tons of compliments and it really is elegant as a silhouette however I definitely will not be renting or recommending this particular dress again.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6534
Dec 18, 2013
Classic look, nice fabric
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress generally fit well, draped nicely, and stayed up securely despite being strapless. The fabric around the zipper in the back puckered a little bit so I felt like I needed to keep tugging it down but otherwise, the dress worked well for my company holiday party.
maylene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Dec 16, 2013
fits and flatters any and all shapes.
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
theses dresses always do the trick when you dont have a chance to make it to the show room to try on!
carolyn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Dec 1, 2013
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's company holiday party. It was perfect for the occasion!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The length was good - I looked at other reviews because i was concerned about it being too long, but it worked out fine. The ruching on the sides was very flattering. Great sophisticated dress!
christina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7424
Nov 16, 2013
Okay 1st experience
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a 10R and 8R that I rented. The 10 was tight around my chest and the 8 was very loose, which is why I went with the 10. The 10 also had a white line on the bottom by the train, looked like when it was cleaned starch was burned into or something . I just folded the bottom up an inch and used double sided tape that was provided to hide it. Over all not bad experience, next time I would have the dress delivered at least 2 days before event so that if I wasn't 100% happy I could exchange for a new dress or new size.
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 12, 2013
Gorgeous dress, was perfect for the Marine Corps ball!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran short, I am only 5'4 and was able to comfortably wear a 'long' with 4in heels. The dress also stretched out throughout the night, so for smaller busted girls in between two sizes, I recommend going down. Overall the dress was amazing and flattering, I would definitely wear again!
Qynn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2232
Nov 3, 2013
Back up for prom
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got this as my back up for prom, and I wore my first choice. The boning was uncomfortable to me and it wasn't exactly flattering. I think it takes a different type of person to wear it. Great service, just not the dress for me.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Oct 23, 2013
opted not to wear. spotty material, and ran small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was disappointed by the fabric. looked almost cheap, up front. and it was HEAVY! I had a long night ahead of me, opted to wear a dress that was more comfortable and had a little more give.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7533
Sep 23, 2013
This dress runs short.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this for a back-up, thankful the other dress worked. This dress runs really short-- the 10 (which fit the best) grazed the top of my feet. Any shoe, including flats, would have shown. The 12 was better in length but way too big at the top. Lastly, the boning in both sizes was popping out of the top. Had I worn this dress, I would have been self-conscious about the boning all evening.
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Sep 9, 2013
So comfortable
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit perfectly, tons of compliments
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Aug 22, 2013
Would have been a show stopper had the dress fit.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately I don't have a photo of me in this dress because the dress did not fit. I ordered a 6L and the waistline and bust were too big. The dress was very pretty in person and the length would have been perfect with my 4inch heels just too bad it didn't fit. I would recommend to go with a size smaller if your measurements are similar to mine.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3423
Aug 19, 2013
Photographs beautifully...but doesn't look as good in person
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Being short and petite, I wasn't worried about renting this dress despite the reviews saying it was shorter than expected. But I was shocked when it came how tight it is...I almost couldn't wear it. And it does run very short. I definitely recommend ordering the long size, even if you think you won't need it. What surprised me most was that the fabric and beading on this dress looks so much cheaper in person than it does in the pictures. And the dress has a small train that wasn't described or shown in the photographs. I wouldn't have worn it at all, except it was for a black tie wedding out of town and I had no other options. Luckily, the dress does seem to stretch out a bit as you wear it, so it became more comfortable after having worn it for a while. The best part is that this dress looks amazing in photos, so even though I wasn't super happy with it, the pictures all turned out great.
ME
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3433
Aug 18, 2013
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding. Lots of compliments! Really glad I ordered 2 sizes.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 2R and 4R. The 4 seemed stretched out and was too big for my bust. The 2 was pretty tight and hard to zip, but no problem once I got it on. A size in between would have been great, but overall, loved the dress!
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Aug 12, 2013
It was such a great dress and so funny that one of the other bridesmaid order the same dress.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit pretty true to size was a little short when i put on my 4 inch heals so i had to buy shorter healed shoes. All in all i felt very comfortable
Kim
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3633
Aug 9, 2013
I wore this to a red carpet themed party for my son's preschool. I received so many compliments!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove!
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Aug 6, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me perfectly. I loved that it held everything in place. I received many compliments!
Kat
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2634
Jul 24, 2013
My dresses arrived on time
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. I had two options and it was difficult to decide but I went with a different one from rent the runway.
Kendall
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Jun 27, 2013
This dress was beautiful, comfortable and easy to move in...perfect for a black tie wedding!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress...the fit was great and very flattering. It was elegant but fun and the detail along the top made it unique (I got several compliments on it throughout the night). I would definitely recommend this dress for another formal event.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jun 14, 2013
Not for tall girls!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved the shape of this dress and it was super flattering.. except that it was WAY too short! I'm 5'10, but I ordered the long version and it was even too short with flats. I wouldn't recommend this if you are over 5'7
ldm51277
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 9533
Jun 11, 2013
Runs large
Size worn: 16L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
rented this for a black tie formal, i ordered a larger size because i was worried that it wouldnt fit, it was to big on me and didnt get a chance to wear it. If your a certain size, no need to rent higher or lower. it will fit.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5431
Jun 8, 2013
Very comfortable dress! I felt fantastic and it let me tare up the dance floor!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great. It hugged my curves and provided support for the boobage area. I'm a 34DD, so not a usually a fan of strapless gowns. I was very skeptical when I ordered this dress and was pleasantly surprised. What made me take away is that I wish the dress was available in another color!
Lindsey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6524
Jun 2, 2013
hmmm
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
well I rented the dress to try it on and the 8 was great, then when I rented it for the wedding the 8 was incredibly short and felt cheap, and I'm only 5'1"! So the 10 fit better felt better quality and was an appropriate length.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
May 28, 2013
A bit large
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as a test-run for a friend's wedding and found that for my size the dress was quite large. It might be due to my small bust size, but it did not work on my body. Additionally, the dress was a bit worn; some of the sequins were loose and it didn't have the crisp feeling of a new dress.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 8, 2013
Perfect Balance of Sexy and Elegant
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was INCREDIBLE!!!! It fit me like a glove and I felt so sexy and beautiful in it. I usually opt for a more conservative dress for formals, but I couldn't resist this bodyhugging silhouette. The material is thick enough to hide any flaws. My boyfriend's jaw dropped to the floor when I took my coat off to reveal the gown. He couldn't stop complimenting me all night. It must have done the trick, because he proposed to me 2 days later! This dress will always have a special place in my heart and I cannot say enough great things about it.
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Apr 30, 2013
Felt so classy.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The regular length worked great with 2 inch heels that I didn't have to worry about tripping over the dress. There was a train that I had to lift as I walked up stairs. The boning in the bodice kept the dress up and I didn't have to worry about it falling down. It was slightly tight around the ribcage but it helped give me some cleavage.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Apr 16, 2013
This runs short! I'd get the long if you are any taller than 5'4 or 5'5
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It runs short!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Apr 16, 2013
Classic black formal gown
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Heavy fabric with a lot of stretch. I wore an 8 but a 6 would have been a better fit, if I hadn't ordered this as my backup, as the top was rather large for an 8. Ruched fabric gave nice texture and shape and did a good job hiding any imperfections. Creates a flattering hour glass figure and the bottom has enough fabric to give the dress a little swish when you dance. Beading detail at the top was a nice touch but not too much to still wear a necklace.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress