Ruched Sweetheart Gown

$90 rental
$900 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball. Shown here with Dannijo's Cecile Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
477 reviews
Fit
Large
(102)
True to Size
(315)
Small
(38)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
Ruching adds too much volume around the hip area...
This dress was quite beautiful but unfortunately I wasn't able to wear it as the size I had was way too big. I think a 0 or 2 would have made all the difference but I was swimming in the 4. Also, as someone with a pear shape, I felt that the ruching on the dress added a little too much volume around my hips which wasn't flattering for my body type. I really think this dress runs large so I would suggest going a size down if you want to give it a try.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
June 8, 2014
Super comfortable and elegant
Loved this dress. Material was really nice and thick and boning held gowns shape. Was very comfortable wearing for 8+ hours. Wore 3.5 inch heels and gown was the perfect length. Beading was a little bit worn but you really couldn't tell unless right light and up close. Very classic dress and great first rental experience!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2014
it was very small, and too short. Recommend a size up and not for tall girls.
It is very pretty, but recommend a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
June 1, 2014
Not what I expected
This was my first time using RTR, and it was a week before my event so my options were somewhat limited. I ordered this dress, thinking it's a beautiful simple black strapless gown, can't go wrong. I normally am a size 2 or 4, and at 5'7" I prefer my gowns long, so I ordered the 4L and 2L as back up. When the gowns came, I was soo disappointed. The bottoms of both gowns looked like I personally tried to hem them myself and I am certainly no seamstress! It cheapened the dress tremendously! So panic mode immediately set in, since it was now the day before my event. I called RTR and they were so helpful and found another dress that was available in My size and they over nighted it to me, promising it would arrive before noon. The next dress came before 10 even and it fit beautifully! It's unfortunate the bottoms of these dresses were so shaggy, because it's a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 27, 2014
The dress was so pretty!
The dress was so pretty and I wish it would have fit a little more snug in the bust. Not sure if this area was either stretched out from rentals or if it ran a little big. Was a beautiful black gown and wish they had a 00 or 0 petite.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 27, 2014
beautifully simple dress for a black tie wedding
Overall positive experience with rent-the-runway.... the fit was true to size, with the exception of length. Rented a 6L and 8L, and the 6L was significantly longer than the 8. Recommend the long for anybody who is 5'7 or taller when wearing heels. Boning in the dress was a bit uncomfortable and left a few marks in the rib area.... but overall the look of the dress was worth the pain :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 25, 2014
Understated yet elegant look for a black tie wedding
The dress was very flattering, but the sizing was off. I ordered both the 6L and the 8L, and the 8L felt both shorter and tighter. I 6L fit perfectly with 4+ inch heels. The bead work on the bust line was a special touch without being over the top. I received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 25, 2014
Dress was simple and elegant. The ruching on backside was so flattering, lots of compliments!
Boning in the front of the dress pokes when sitting, but also helped to make the front of the dress just thick enough that i didn't have to wear a bra. I am 5'4 and 32D and the dress fit perfectly in length and around the bust. The 0R was way too short, so I would say the dress runs on the shorter side. If I had been over 5'4 def would have needed the long size to cover my shoes. I wore 4" heels and it hung perfectly. The little train in the back was very pretty, just have to be careful not to get caught up in it. The dress also has a lot of "give" the material is very stretchy and great for dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2014
I ordered this dress for a black tie affair in California.
I ordered the 2R and 4R. Both were pretty long on me, I'm 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels. The 4R was a little big. The 2R fit me pretty well in the torso and below. However the bust was stretched out on this dress and the zipper was pretty touchy so I didn't end up wearing it.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2014
The process was simple and I had no issues. The night was perfect with this dress.
This dress fit like a glove. I ordered the 2L and 4L, I ended up wearing the 4L. I am normally a size 4. I didn't have to wear a bra which was nice not having to readjust the top all night. The wiring in it held me in all night. My only compliant, the wiring on the top poked me a few times but after a little tape on the wire, all was good. The length was perfect! I am 5'9" and was able to wear 3 1/2 inch heels and it still hit the floor. The back is a little longer which made it flow and even more elegant.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 16, 2014
Customer service employees are wonderful!
Overall I hated this dress! I was very happy neither sizes fit. The dress runs super short and tight. I am pregnant but I tried dresses on in the store with the same sizes and didn't have a problem fitting into those so I know this dress runs small. Also the dress felt very cheaply made. My backup dress was also too small since I'm 6 months pregnant, but RTR came to the rescue!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2014
I didn't wear this dress.
Was perfect for the event but I didn't want to wear it. It was my backup dress
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
May 15, 2014
I wore this dress for my senior prom and it was perfect for the "black tie affair" theme.
It hugged my body in all the right places and just looked beautiful. The rouching on the sides is a great addition. Only con was the wires poking me under the breast and below the armpit. Pretty train in the back too! Definitely using RTR again :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 12, 2014
Classy black dress.
I ordered size 0R and size 2R. Oddly enough, the size 0R was much bigger on me than the 2R. Maybe it was just stretched out from too many wearers, but I just ended up going with the 2R, which I still had to keep pulling up all night. It didn't hug my body as much as I would have liked. The length on both were fine for me. The boning was also poking me in the ribs all night long. It was a decent dress, though, and I think it would work much better on someone who it actually fit properly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
May 10, 2014
Too big!
Unfortunately, I could not wear this dress because it was just way too big and since I'm a size 0 there were no smaller options for me. The top portion was so large that it would fall down to my waist! Not even 3 bras could keep it up! I'm sure with the right fit, the dress would have looked gorgeous but it is just not meant for petite girls. Thankfully RTR was able to get me a different dress at the last minute which fit perfectly :)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
May 5, 2014
Comfy and gorgeous!
Great dress overall! Pros: really comfortable, stayed up, kept it's shape all night. Cons: that zipper was almost the end of me, a huge pain but once it was on, I was good to go! Insight: I'm only 5'5" and found that the dress was a great fit with flats so just a heads up to the taller crowd
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 4, 2014
The dress was stunning
The bodus is a little uncomfortable but it goes unnoticed very quickly overall I loved it and received compliments all night !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2014
This dress is absolutely amazing!
I ordered both a 6R & 8R - I went with the 8R because it was a little longer, I wear really high heels and should have gone with the 6L/8L. They both fit, true to size - although my bust was way too big on me in the 8R, but that's a problem I'm always running into with any dress. The 6R was also a little large in the bust area, but the 8R gave me the extra room for dancing. Overall, the dress was lovely and I wish I owned it!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2014
Loved how I looked!
Dress is a tad long, but nothing high heels won't solve! I loved this dress! It was comfy and glamorous at the same time.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
April 28, 2014
I went to my church's annual "Biazo" ball and it was a wonderful night!
I was a bit nervous to order this dress because this would be my first time ordering a dress online. I ordered the dress on Wednesday and it got here on Friday just like I requested! I ordered 2L and 4L just to be on the safe side. The 2L fit like a glove so I didn't even try on the 4L. I am about 5'4-5'5 and wore 3 inch heels and the dress was just long enough so heels higher then that would have made the dress too short for my liking. Wonderful detailing around the bust and beautiful ruching along the hip and bottom area. ONLY con is the boning of the dress, it kept poking me throughout the night BUT without it the dress wouldn't have fit as well as it did (no having to pull it up throughout the night) so I didn't mind it at all! Loveeeee this dress and this website!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 28, 2014
I wore this dress two years ago for my senior prom! I still think it was the best I've ever looked:)
I loved the fit of the dress. I wore a size 0 because I liked the way it showcased my curves. I also loved the ruched seems down the side. I would recommend this dress to anyone.
MadeleineSeptember 25, 2014
Hi Sophia! I was looking at the dress you wore and I have a question -- did your friend in this photo on the far right also get her dress from RTR? I love it! Thanks :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 25, 2014
...I wish it fit!
I loved this dress! It is a beautiful style with great movement to the fabric. Unfortunately, it runs large and was way too big! The chest practically fell down, despite the corseted interior. I think I would have taken a 00 instead of a 2. I am 5'4" and 115 pounds with an athletic build. My back is small (28") but I wear a D-cup bra. Had the dress fit, I definitely would have worn it. It was gorgeous!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2014
I really wanted the dress to fit right, but it wasn't working for me.
I rented this dress for a formal evening, and I saw this dress online and wanted to wear it immediately. I tried on both the size 8 and the size 10, but neither of them fit me well. I am 5'10" and both of the dresses were too short even without heels which was very disappointing. I was also surprised by the amount of material around the stomach area which also wasn't exactly flattering. Overall I was extremely disappointed on this dress. I don't have unique proportions but it still didn't work on me. Although, I do think this dress could work on other body types.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 22, 2014
very comfy simple fit dress!
Very pretty, simple, chic, nothing too crazy so great when keeping it low key. Comfy because of the slinky material and cinched top
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 18, 2014
Stunning...My favorite part was the neckline and ruching in the back!
This was the first time we used RTR, and we couldn't have been happier! We ordered a 2R and 4R, and the 4R ended up being the one! It is very true to size. I wore 4" heels, and the length was about 1/2 shorter than I really wanted, but it was fine. We also ordered the bracelets modeled in the advertisement, and while they were absolutely gorgeous, they were TOO heavy to wear all night....so, I wore them for pictures, and left them at home. :) The dresses arrived in impeccable condition, and customer service was SO very helpful! I will be back!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
April 15, 2014
I looked stunning for my sorority formal
The only con I have with this dress is that both the 0 and 2 that were sent to be had the underwire sticking out which made it extremely uncomfortable to wear as the night went on... but beauty is pain...
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2014
Classy black number!
Worn to a black tie gala. Pros: is very flattering on an hourglass figure, ran true to size. Cons: The rouching bunched up a bit at the small of my back, and the front of the dress seemed a bit too short. All in all a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 13, 2014
AMAZING!!!!
This dress was AMAZING! I cannot begin to describe how I felt in it. The dress hugs in all the right places! I rented a 4L and a 6L but the material started to stretch so I ended up wearing the 4L and it fit PERFECTLY! I received compliments all night! Even the bride told me she loved my dress! Rent this dress and you won't be disappointed! The worst part was having to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 11, 2014
Even the bride said I looked gorgeous!
I rented this dress for my best friends wedding and even she said I looked beautiful. My husband is begging me to rent it just to wear around the house he loved it so much. The ruching makes the dress super flattering and the built in boning kept my ample girls looking great and in place all night long. It is long - I'm 5'2- but nothing some sky scraper stilettos couldn't fix. Stunning dress and I'm absolutely renting it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2014
Not for the pear shaped
I didn't end up wearing either the 4 or 6 of this dress - they both fit, but the look wasn't very flattering for someone with hips. Fabric was nice and was detailing, just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
April 4, 2014
I could dance all night & felt comfortable
It is cut very small. I'm usually am xs or 2 and this dress the 4 just barely fit my busy but was beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 31, 2014
This was a great event for charity and since it was a gala a long dress was required
The dress was okay...I was looking for a long dress for a reasonable price, and this fit the bill. I got compliments on the dress, but would not recommend it for someone who is larger chested. It is not very supportive dress, but overall it was a decent dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
March 25, 2014
I absolutely loved this dress! I felt beautiful!
I was in NYC for work so I went to the RTR in Henri Bendel and had not originally chosen this dress. I put it on and just loved it! The rouching in the front, back and side is very flattering! No spanx necessary with this gown! Was so comfortable!!! The only slight issue is that there is some boning in the front and when I sat down, it dug into me a little but overall the dress was very comfortable and I got so many compliments! Very elegant gown! I am 5'4" and ended up wearing 3-4" heels so I wore the long. You won't be sorry renting this gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 19, 2014
Very strange fit
I received this dress as my backup for a work event. I am petite with a small torso but hips/butt on the larger side. This dress was way too tight around my hips, but huge on my torso. I could fit my first between my chest and the dress. Perhaps it was just my body type, but there was nothing I could have done to make this dress fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104lbs
March 15, 2014
Great fitted dress
I had so many compliments how the dress accentuated my lack thereof curves. Prefect for my formal wedding event. The dress did run a little small and tight so luckily I had reserve a size up. I'm not tall by any means so the dress was a tad long for me, but with 3" (maybe 4) heels it came out to a perfect length that didn't drag on the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2014
I decided to wear another dress, but this is a really nice dress fro a fancy occasion.
If you're any taller than me, I highly recommend you order a "long". Unless you want to wear it with flats.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
March 8, 2014
I was able to dance the night away and not worry about tripping over my dress.
The dress was beautiful. It was perfect for a black tie affair. It fit true to size. I did however, need a strapless bra underneath to fill out the top more. I received several compliments throughout the night. I was a little worried about how long it was going to be because it said the dress runs short but It was the perfect length. It didn't hit the floor but it was long enough for me. I did have to keep pulling it up throughout the night but otherwise no complaints. I was the belle of the ball.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 5, 2014
Fit pretty snug and I had no problems with the top fitting perfect
I usually wear a 4 but I worn the 2 because it fit tighter I had not problems with the top falling down and the length was great I didn't trip not once overall lovely dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2014
Great customer service
This gown was lovely but the sizing didn't work quite right on me. The 12 l was a bit too short with heels and a bit snug in the waist. It fit great in the chest area. The 14l was the perfect length with heels however the bust was too large for my small a's.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 4, 2014
Fabulous black dress
This dress fit like a glove, it's very flattering and form fitting. I wish the embellishment around the sweetheart neckline stood out more but it was still nice accent. I wore probably 4" heels with this and the length was great, it does have a little train at the back though and that was kind of annoying throughout the night, got stepped on a lot. But overall it was comfortable and pretty, if you're looking for a sexy black dress this would be a great choice.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 12
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×