Badgley Mischka

Ruched Sweetheart Gown

$80 to buy
$900 retail
Stylist Notes

This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
481 reviews
Fit
Large
(104)
True to Size
(317)
Small
(38)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
I loved the glam look of the dress.
It fit very tight in the bust and waist. Very flattering silhouette for an hourglass shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
The top of the dress was very large.
The top of the dress was very large and the boning was not flattering. Would be a pretty dress if it fit properly. The bottom was a lot more fitted than the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 1, 2012
Absolutely to die for. It shines in a subtle way.
The fit is amazing. I'm 35-25-38 and I wore a 4 and it fit perfectly! The dress is stretchy and very forgiving. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 4, 2012
Great dress! Beautiful and fit very true to size. Very flattering.
The boning on the bodice was a bit uncomfortable as the night went on...I think the dress sent to me in particular may have been worn a few times before and may be close to retirement because some of the actual boning was sticking out. Otherwise, I received many compliments and it was perfect for a black tie wedding! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 7, 2012
beautiful dress
I wanted to wear this dress so badly and it was only available in 8l , thank fully I ahev a friend that is a seamstress and could tack up the dress with tape for a flawlees fit
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 7, 2012
I wore this dress for a black tie event I attended with my husband's family.
This dress was beautiful, and the fit was great, although I think the dress was just a tad looser than I was expecting. I received TONS of compliments. I was a little hesitant about ordering a long since I am only 5'6", but I'm very glad I did. I wore the dress with 3 1/2 inch heels and the length was just what I wanted. The material was relatively heavy, so if you plan to attend an outdoor event in the summer I would suggest looking for something lighter weight. Otherwise I highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2012
Stylist was great in helping to deiced between long and regular length.
Extremely comfortable while maintaining a glamorous feel. Perfect for the evening wedding reception.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
October 9, 2012
Fit perfectly, I felt comfortable in it the whole night !
Made me feel even slimmer than usual , totally loved it!
reneeNovember 4, 2012
How high were your heels?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 10, 2012
Perfect for Black Tie Event!
Loved this dress however did not like the quality of the dress. I assumed alot of people have worn it but the bone was sticking out of the dress and sticking into me. However overall the dress did fit well and it clung to me in all the right places. I wore 5 inch heels and the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2012
Subtle and beautiful!
All pros! This fit like a glove in normal size, 4R. So many compliments.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 14, 2012
Senior Prom, with my boyfriend
the dress was perfect. im 5'3 and wore 4 in heels and the dress was perfect. the 0r was a little short but the 2R was perfect.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 16, 2012
I love the ease of flipping through a site and essentially playing dress up!
The dress was amazing...it hung just right and clung in all the right places!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 17, 2012
Love the dress! I felt very comfortable all night!!
I am very curvy and this dress fit extremely well. The only issue I had was that I ordered a long because some reviews said the dress ran a little short. I am 5'5" and wore 4" heels and the dress hit the ground. I just had to hold it up a little when walking because it's longer in the back. Otherwise, the dress was perfect. It was true to size because I am normally a size 4. I am a D cup and it wasn't too snug in the chest. The fabric is stretchy to so it's forgiving. I highly reccomend it and now I'm looking for another dress to wear for an event in November.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 20, 2012
Timeless and easy to wear!
I wore this to a black tie wedding, and it was perfect. I wore the 8L instead of the 6L just for extra comfort since the boning in the bust was bothering me (it still bothered me in the 8L). BM has a specific type of cut, and the boning and sweetheart although flattering can be a little uncomfortable. Still, the length was great and the material was stretchy. The ruching on the side and down the back was extremely flattering on my figure. The jewels on the top of the sweetheart cut were the perfect touch. The dress was a hit and I felt totally comfortable all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 21, 2012
When the dress fit perfectly the day before my event it was such a relief!
Not the dress for smaller chested girls..keeping it up was a hassle but other than that it fits very well and hugs in all the right places!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
Fit like a glove!
This dress is simple and sexy. I'm 5'7" and the 6L was perfect. The stones along the sweetheart neckline and the ruching gave it a little something extra. The dress does have a bit of additional length in the back which had to make me cautious when walking around, but it was manageable. The boning in the inside of the dress was a bit uncomfortable towards the end of the night, but iI think it keeps the shape of the dress nicely. This was my first time using RTR and it will not be my last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
I rented this dress for a deb ball and loved it!
I rented the 2R and 4R and while the 2 fit as far as size, it barely hit the floor when I was barefoot (and I am 5'2). I ended up going with the 4, and while it was only a tiny bit big around the bust, it was WAY longer than the 2R. There ended up being a tiny bit of extra fabric around the floor even while I was in 5 inch heels. There is a tiny bit of black jeweled detailing around the top, but it isn't even that noticeable. The dress is rouched, which kindof sucks you in, and also makes it easy to adjust length a little bit. The fabric is way thicker than you might expect (not sure exactly what it is). I absolutely loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 23, 2012
The dress was beautiful and elegant. It was great for a formal wedding.
I wear anywhere between a 4-8 depending on the fit of a dress. I am 5'4'' and ordered the 6R and 8R. The dress is stretchy and form fitting but the top was too big. I needed to safety pin it to keep it from falling. In hindsight I would have ordered a 4L. I think it would have fit better on the top and the longer length would have been perfect. Overall I am really happy with the entire RTR experience and will definitely do it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 26, 2012
Not only gorgeous but super comfortable as well! Thanks RTR for making me feel like a million bucks!
This dress was amazing! Fit like a glove with room for my belly to grow after I hit up the sweets table! This was my second choice but I am so glad I went with it. I wore it for my sister's wedding. It was the most beautiful dress for such a beautiful event! I haven't had a bad experience yet with RTR! xoxo
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2012
Received many compliments
Fit great, just too long. That was helped when I put on 3 inch heels but still was very long. Adds a little thickness to the torso. Great material and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 28, 2012
I received a lot of compliments! The dress looked & felt great!
It fits like a glove and has a small train.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 30, 2012
Beautiful dress to wear to a gala!! Absolutely loved it :)
This Badgkey Mischka fit great true to size. Very comfortable as well. Can't wait for my next order for my next event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 6, 2012
I felt amazing in this dress and received so many compliments on it!!
I loved this dress. I wore it to a James Bond Martini Night so my husband and I decided to really dress up. The fit was great, so glad I went with the long length instead of regular, I wore it with 3 inch heals, it left a little bit of a train which I loved. It was so comfortable and received a lot of compliments throughout the evening. I would highly recommend this dress! Thanks RTR!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 12, 2012
This was a beautiful dress and I felt great in it
I ordered the 6L which ended up being a little long with ~2.5" heels, but it was fine as there was no dancing so I could just hold it up a bit when walking. The all around fit was great - form fitting but not tight and I didn't feel like it stretched awkwardly in any places due to the gathering in the front. I wore this with bigger dangly earrings but could have gone necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
First time using RTR and this was perfect for a black tie wedding!! Adore this dress
The dress I wore was a 2R and it was perfect length, I am 5'5 and I wore very short heels (2 inch). The boning on the top portion of the dress did seem like it could be uncomfortable but it was an easy fix by wearing spanx. The top part of the dress was slightly big but I am quite small right there (32A). If you are much taller than 5'5 or plan on wearing higher heels you may want to try the long. (The rouching makes the dress shorter than you would expect.) The dress was gorgeous on and was very flattering because the dress hugs your body but the rouching makes problem areas look perfect! It was absolutely perfect for this wedding (black tie) and the top part of the dress the little sparkle was beautiful. There is a cute slight train on the dress too which added some wow effect. Overall perfect choice! The dresses came right on time and it was so easy! I would highly recommend this dress!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
November 12, 2012
I didnt wear the dress because it didnt fit! It was a nice dress but not true to size, runs small...
wasnt able to wear the dress, runs small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
November 15, 2012
Too big- Too long
I ordered this dress for a formal event (4R and 6R)... having successfully ordered this designer and these sizes before, I figured no problem (I wore the 4 to my last event). I'm 5'4 and haven't had issues with the length of a dress with RTR before. This dress was huge- everywhere and was way too long even though I ordered a regular length. I called RTR hoping for a quick size down and wasn't able to reach anyone- which isn't like them. I can only sum it up to problems with Sandy. I had to drive to my out of town destination and buy a dress the day before my event. Really hoping I get a credit and my next experience is positive. Disappointed, since my first experience was awesome. I even told everyone about it and all the girls at this event were wearing RTR dresses! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
November 15, 2012
I felt beautiful!
I loved this dress! It's very simple, but the shape is beautiful, and the ruching is very forgiving. I did not wear any Spanx, and you don't really have to wear a bra in this dress. I chose to wear a strapless push up bra just because I felt a little flat. I got the 4R and the 6R, I fit into both, and I'm usually a 6, but I went with the 4 because it made the shape of my body more visible. I wore it to a military ball, and it was very appropriate for this black tie event. Some of the other reviews talked about the boning, but I never really noticed it. Both dresses were in excellent shape, it looked like neither had been worn. This was my first time renting from RTR, and I couldn't be happier! I 've been wanting to do it for a while, but the whole idea of not seeing the dress until two days before the event made me very nervous. I ordered the dress while their operations were shut down because of Hurricane Sandy, and my dress was scheduled to arrive on Veteran's Day, so I was worried that something would go wrong or it wouldn't be delivered on the right day, but the dresses came right on schedule! It was super easy, and I just put them in the bags and shipped them off the next day. I will definitely be renting again!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 15, 2012
Wore for a wedding
Great dress, fit perfect and ran true to size. I would recommend a long for anyone over 5'6
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 16, 2012
Felt gorgeous!
As other reviewers mentioned the boning can stick into you a little bit. The dress itself is pretty heavy - not the material but the weight of it in general. Pictures don't really do it justice. Even if it was a little uncomfortable it was totally worth it - I felt gorgeous. In terms of the length - if you are going down a size I would recommend going with the long. I am just under 5'3" and with 4 inch heels the OL length was perfect.
EmilyDecember 7, 2012
Hey! I am about the same height and weight, but probably more of a 36C. I'm usually a size 4 so I was going to order the 4R and the 2R. Do you think the 2R would be big?
KatieDecember 11, 2012
Hi Emily - I usually wear a 4 but even the 2R seemed a bit big. It was the length of the torso part - it bunched a little with the ruching. I would def suggest going down a size.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
November 18, 2012
beautiful dress
This was my the first dress. Loved it. Flattering for all figures. Found the long length to be a little too long for me. The dress is strapless and rides down a little. I recommend using fashion tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
I felt like a true lady!
I wore this to a black tie event and it fit the bill perfectly! I normally wear a size 6 because I have a larger bust, but after reading some of the other reviews, I ordered a size 4 as my back up and I was glad I did! The wiring around the breast area is a little uncomfortable, but it keeps its shape throughout the evening, and reduces the pull and tug that you see most girls doing in strapless dresses. I train for ultrathons and occasionally mixed martial arts, so I have a pretty athletic build. The ruching in this dress was very flattering and made me appear a little curvier than I am. I am most certainly looking forward to my next RTR order!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 25, 2012
Stunning classic glamor
I loved this dress! I felt stunning in it and got a ton of compliments. As I am normally an 8, I ordered both 8L and 10L but decided on the 10L. The difference in the length between the 8L and 10L was significant as the 10L fell all the way to the floor with my heels on, and the 8L did not. Over the course of the night, I regretted choosing the 10L because the dress was incredibly heavy, seemed to stretch out and I had to keep pulling it up. It became a hassle to walk in.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 25, 2012
Was not able to wear this beautiful dress
This dress was beautiful, but I was unable to wear it because it was too large. My backup size was not available the day I needed to rent the dress for, so I went with the larger size and also rented a backup dress just in case (which is the one I ended up wearing). This dress is a little heavy, and there was just no way I would have been able to keep the top up, even with fashion tape. You don't need to wear a strapless bra with this dress, but I thought it might fit better if I did -- no luck. Would have been perfect if they had my backup size available. Dress runs large in the top so size down when ordering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
My boyfriend's friends couldn't stop talking about how beautiful I was! Definitely a show stopper!
So beautiful! I normally wear a size 4 and am 5'6", so based on other people's reviews, I ordered a 4L. I wore 3 1/2 inch heels, and it was a good length. There was no 2 available, so my backup size was 6L- WAY too large. The beading on the top was definitely not in great shape, but once it was on, it still looked stunning. It hugged me in all the right places. The fabric is a little heavy, but it will probably cover any bumps you want covered because of it. What you don't see in the model photos is a trail on the dress. This was a pleasant surprise and made me feel like a model (and it made me look taller & skinner!). However, I did have to keep lifting up the trail to walk properly.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2012
The dress was very flattering!
I am just about 5'0 so the dress was a little long which meant people kept stepping on the train!! I would recommend a 3+ inch heal to avoid this situation. Also, I am a 34C and the dress was tight up there so if you’re not comfortable with a lot of cleavage, bring a shall! The dress was very comfortable and easy to dance in. I would recommend this, I got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2012
Would rent again
I loved this dress - it was simple yet elegant and very flattering. It is a heavy dress, so I did find my self lifting it every so often, but I received a ton of compliments and really liked the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2012
Overall, ran short and a little bit big.
With the rouching in the dress, the dress definitely runs short and the extra fabric made my chest look flat.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2012
Great night and a great dress!
I thought it ran a little large. It was a little loose in the bust and waist but overall I really liked it. Simple, elegant, and easy to wear I got compliments on it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 9, 2012
Simply gorgeous!
Dress was perfect! It was gorgeous with very flattering rouching and beading. Was larger than I was expecting -- kept shifting around on the dance floor and I kept having to pull it up. Due to other reviews, I wanted a size 4L but RTR was sold out so I went with the 6L. The 6R was too short (even without heels), so I'd definitely recommend the long (I'm 5'6" and wore 3 inch heels and it was perfect). Received compliments on it all night long! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×