Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$95 to buy
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share
556 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(338)
Small
(181)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2013
Not the right dress for a pear shape
I really wanted to love this dress but it was ultimately my back-up dress and I only had it in one size (10). I normally wear a size 10 but the dress was too snug through the hips and thighs and very loose on top (am normally a 34B). There was also too much length between the chest and waist, which made the material bunch and sag right at the waist. Anyway, suffice it to say that the fit was not flattering and sizing up wouldn't have helped because the chest was already too big. But the condition of the dress was very good and it was pretty on the hangar!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 15, 2013
Rented this for a Santa Barbara Wedding
Fit tight around booty...loose in arms, and it was short...but I still loved it. My waist is the smallest part about me and I wish it were a little more fitted there, otherwise was fun to wear, tons of compliments and easy to dance in!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
Great night for a Bollywood themed wedding!
Great dress! I usually wear a 6, but went up to an 8 for my safety size. I could have made the smaller size work, but it just looked better a little bigger.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Beautiful Dress
I loved this dress, although it ran a bit small on me, which I was expecting with my very hourglass figure and the shift style of the dress, but going a size up fit very well. it was shorter than I expected, but still appropriate. Overall, a beautiful dress for which I received many compliments throughout the night. Comfortable, photographs very nice, and easy to move in.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
March 25, 2013
gorgeous dresss but awkward fit
For the first time in my life it was too loose in the bust and too tight everywhere else. didn't end up wearing it.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2013
Not for big busted girls.
Beautiful dress but it was very very tight across with chest. I'm a 36DD or E depending. The size 16 would prob have fit better. It was avaiable at the time of my rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2013
Great dress, just too tight.
I rented two dresses for a banquet I was attending, chose the other one over this one as I felt better in the other. This is such a cute dress, but I have hips and a bit more booty that some, and it was a bit thighs at the bottom. Tried a size 6 and 4, 6 was too big over all and the 4 was just too tight around my thighs. Other than that, it was very nice.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2013
sent back didn't fit
didn't fit. sent back, very pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2013
So fun and unique!
This dress has absolutely no stretch in the fabric BUT it camouflages very well. It is short and I found it to be a bit tight on my rear end but you really couldn't tell because of the flowers and the sequins. I didn't even wear Spanx with it. The sheer sleeves were very comfortable as my party was outside. This dress might work better on someone that isn't as pear shaped as me but it was a GREAT dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
Not what I expected.
This dress looked kind of cheap. It was thinner than I thought and the beading looked a bit worn. It's probably nicer if you get a newer one, but the one I got definitely showed some wear and tear. I didn't end up wearing it as it wasn't formal enough for my event, and also the 6 was skin tight on me and very short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Too tight around the breast area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2013
The blingiest dress I have ever worn.
This dress is definitely an attention getter. I had fun wearing something so sparkly and outside of my comfort zone. That said, I would say this dress is better for a party or going out than a wedding. The dress runs a bit tight through the rear and hips, but it is blousy elsewhere. It also runs pretty short.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 18, 2013
Really loved this dress even found some Badgley Mischka navy satin pumps to match!
The dress runs like a usual formal dress and you need to order a size up. There were a few strings where sequins had been. Overall a great dress although in my mind I thought it would have more of a 'new' look but of course it is a rented dress so what do you expect? Still love the concept of Rent the Runway and will be ordering again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
May 23, 2013
Not true to size
Unfortunately I was not able to wear this dress. I ordered the 8 and the 10 and they were both to tight in the hips/thighs/butt. I would order up 2 sizes if you are bigger in the bottom area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 29, 2013
Sparkly!
Dress was sparkly as expected and added some party wow factor. Wore it for birthday cocktails and dinner in December so happy I had the long sleeves. Unfortunately the fit was not great - I usually wear a 4 but have an athletic shape so the shoulders cut in on the front, and despite its sheath-like cut it was narrow in the thigh area and was just too uncomfortable to wear the 4. The fabric does not give at all, and I had to do some sequin repair, hence only 3 stars. My experience with RTR has been the size 4's unfortunately have a lot of wear and tear (stains, snags, zipper problems), which also unfortunately means I have to always order a backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2013
Nice dress, beautiful detail and sparkle
This dress was very lovely, but I did feel there was very little give in the bodice. It ran small in my opinion and while both the 4 and 6 fit me, the 4 was a little too snug and the 6 just seemed a little big in certain places but tight through my hips -- may just have been my body shape. Knowing there was going to be quite a bit of dancing at the wedding I was attending, I opted to wear a different dress ordered from RTR. However, I did love the color and overall wow factor to this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2013
Evening wedding
Tight in the hips. Sequins on arm kept getting caught on sequins on body of dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
June 16, 2013
Fabulous!
This dress was a little hard to put on because it has so much threading inside the sleeves to keep the sparkles in place. It;s very easy to rip the threads. That would be my only complaint. All and all it was a great dress and I received tons of compliments and really stood out in the crowd
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 24, 2013
Better for skinnier girls
This dress was not flattering on me. I am a size 12 and opted against wearing this dress. Was not flattering to my curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2013
Runs really small if you have curves... Couldn't wear it :(
I was really disappointed with this one... Had my eye on it forever just waiting for an occasion because it looks so great in all the pictures! I have an hourglass figure and broad shoulders and normally wear a 6 or 8. I ordered the 8 but at least needed a 10 or even a 12, it was super tight across the hips and shoulders. Order way up if you have curves ladies!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 9, 2013
This was a spectacular dress. I absolutely loved this eyecatching dress.
I feel that the dress ran a little small. I ordered the 8 and it fit but was snug. I had the 10 as back up and it was perfect. The length was just above my knee (I am 5'5)I had room to move around without it feeling tight and I received compliment after compliment all night long. My measurements are 36/26/36 . This was my 1st rental but not my last. Thank you for a great experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2013
A little too shiny and runs small
This ran small so I had to return it. It's also shinier and flashier than I had hoped.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2013
Gorgeous dress, got tons of compliments.
The dress ran a bit tight through the hips and I didn't have full movement through the arm (which made dancing a little difficult).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 2, 2013
BEAUTIFUL, classy dress!
This dress fits more like a body-con, thus I did not wind up wearing it. Keeping that in mind when renting a size, the dress is so beyond beautiful and all the beading and sequin work is amazing. Definitely very class, and can be pulled off in the winter or summer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 7, 2013
Not a great look on me
I really loved the look of this dress online, but it just wasn't right on me. It was far too tight in the hips and the bell sleeves were huge! The sequins and color were gorgeous, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 14, 2013
Awesome dress! Very fun to wear while out on the town in Vegas!
It was a little smaller than my true size but the back up of size the RTR sends ended up being perfect! My arms a little longer as well as my shoulders are a little wider than most so going up a size worked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2013
Stunning!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I wore this to a wedding and received many compliments!! I originally ordered a size 4 & 2, but both were tight around the hips. RTR was great and sent me a size 6 via overnight shipping to arrive just in time for my event! I was impressed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 31, 2013
Just okay.
Fit just okay. Not my style but had to choose another dress the day before it was to be sent to me because original dress was returned damaged. Ran slightly small. Pretty dress. Conservative not youthful enough for me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
November 18, 2013
Very beautiful but was too tight fitting for this occasion.
For me the fit was very tight in the midline and butt. It also was very short, not a bad thing for me since I'm 5'4'' but if you are tall, this might be inappropriate for some functions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121lbs
December 5, 2013
Beware curvier girls!
I'd been eyeing this dress in my Shortlist for quite some time. I ordered it in anticipation to wear to my annual Nutcracker outing, wherein me and my mom or me and my friends dress up in black tie/opera regala and go out on the town for a night. Unfortunately, I was unable to wear this dress. I am a true size 8 and was blessed with curvier hips and thighs. This dress style is more of a sheath style that runs straight down - perfect for girls who are straight up and down or with slight curves. The 8 was snug in the hips and thighs, but big in the chest/abdomen area. I called RTR immediately upon receipt of the dress and Katie was SO helpful in finding me a replacement. I probably gave her a headache in the process of trying to nail down my style/what I was going for in shopping for a dress, but we did narrow it down to one that she found to be AVAILABLE in time for my event!! This just shows you how impeccable RTR's customer service is. They are willing to work with you because they WANT your evening to be memorable. Hopefully with my new dress it will be memorable but so will RTR's impeccable, top notch customer service.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding and received many compliments!
The dress runs a little small. Went up a size so it was not too tight for the event. The bust area is a little loose, but the rest of the dress fit well. Don't worry about the sequins falling off, they are well attached.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 30, 2013
Very pretty but did not wear it
I wanted to love this dress but unfortunately it was too tight through the hips and RTR did not have my back-up size. However, it's very pretty in person and would have been perfect for NYE! Despite the disappointment the RTR customer service is truly top-notch. They were able to overnight me a replacement dress that was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 17, 2014
This was a dress that stood out among the normal homecoming dresses.
I'm very picky about what dresses I wear because I want it to be something no one else will wear. This dress was spectacular because it was classy, but fun. The sleeves added that extra special something to the dress. Being tall I was a little worried about the length but it was perfect. The dress was a little tight over by large butt and hips, but it was fine. The dress was a little loose around the stomach so it was good for camouflaging what you just ate. Definitely, my favorite dress that I've worn to date. Besides, Carrie Underwood wore this dress, so it has to be fabulous.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 20, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I wore this to a evening wedding in NYC this past weekend. The original dress I'd ordered didn't fit and the stylist got this one to me within 24 hrs! I am usually a 6, but found the 8 gave me a little more breathing room. The dress was a beautiful blue and so pretty with all the silvery sequence detail. I received TONS of compliments and think I even persuaded a few friends to try RTR! Once again, great experience!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 24, 2014
No give in the hips.
Beautiful dress; however, I couldn't wear either the 6 or the 8. The 6 was too tight through the waist and hips. The eight fit snugly through those areas, but was also loose in the shoulders. It was disappointing, since it is such a beautiful dress; however, the stylist at RTR was able to quickly send me other options.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 12, 2014
GORGEOUS (but tight fit!)
This dress was AMAZING!!!!! I can't believe I don't have a single picture of it. But I loved it so much I plan on renting it again for a different event. It does run very tight. I had to wrap my body in Spanx just to get into it. For both the 6 and the 4. I ended up with the 4 because once I squeezed into it, the 6 was too baggy on top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Night out in Vegas
Beautiful dress and perfect for a night out in Vegas. The dress is definitely made for less curvy ladies. The dress fit very snug around my hips and backside. Overall such a fun dress to wear out and so many compliments especially from my husband.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 6, 2014
Didn't wear
I didn't wear as it was tight around the bottom. Beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 6, 2014
Sparkle and Shine
This dress was really beautiful but did run a bit small/shorter than I would have preferred. I am taller so typically things run shorter on me anyways. Aside from that, I loved the dress and it photographed beautifully!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 9, 2014
This dress runs really small. I normally wear a 4/6 and the 8 in this dress was tight.
Unfortunately I did not love this dress. I really wanted to, but the fit was awkward. It was too tight at the bottom, too loose on the top and I felt like the dress twisted all night. Plus, whenever I walked the sequin mesh layer would ride up, revealing the lining underneath.
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×