Badgley Mischka

Off-the-shoulder Beaded Sheath

$58 to buy
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This eye-catching LBD by Badgley Mischka is the perfect party dress. With sparkly beading and a shoulder bearing cut, you simply can't go wrong with this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Square neckline. Cold shoulder detail with beaded straps. Ruched body. Hidden back zip.

Share
80 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 27, 2010
I absolutely loved this dress! It hugged my curves in the appropriate places, and was still very comfortable. The beaded neckline is unexpected, and I received a lot of compliments!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2010
This dress is gorgeous, I absolutely loved it. I received many compliments!!! The dress is somewhat heavy, but this is to be expected with all the beautiful beading. Thank you RTRW, I looked fabulous
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2010
I wore this to a black tie event and felt so comfortable in it. It was a cooler evening so the heavier fabric was very appropriate and it was just clingy enough without being trampy. My only negative note was that in a not-so-busty girl, the neckline had a tendency to sag a little so smaller chests may benefit from some inserts or extra padding. All in all, I loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2010
I loved this dress! And received many compliments. The material is a bit heavy, but that worked well for a fall wedding.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
November 10, 2010
This dress is gorgeous. However, I ordered this dress as a backup and ended up not wearing it for two reasons. One, the material was much heavier than I anticipated. Two, this dress is not meant for petites - the size that fit me well around my body had too long of shoulder straps and went well below the knee on me. Not for petites!
Overall fit:
Small
Age: 32
December 29, 2010
This designer runs small overall - I usually wear an 8, but even the 10 in this dress was snug. The fabric was very heavy. It was a beautiful fit, but beware the beading on the dress - both of the sizes I rented arrived with the trim not up to par. The colored beads were peeling, leaving cheap plastic white beads showing along the neckline. Not flattering. RTW was terrific about refunding my money, but I was forced to shop for a dress the morning of my event as there was no time to ship another selection.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 5, 2011
Ick! I rented 3 dresses and this one was the worst on me by far. The thick fabric plus the ruching was so unflattering on my petite/hourglass frame. My boyfriend actually said it looked like I had pillows stuffed under it. The length hit below the knee which was also not cute. That said, I think it could be flattering on really stick straight or very curvy girls because the dress is pretty on the hanger.
Chelsea September 22, 2015
*I'm 5'1" and don't want it to be too long!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 21, 2011
Beautiful dress but definiately request a size up. I normally wear a 6 and sometimes 4 and based on the reviews I requested a size 8 and that is what fit the best! Dress was perfect for a winter event with very nice beads on straps and along the front. Great rental price. Will use Rent the Runway again. Thanks Kati S. for the recommendation.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2011
Most "body-hugging" styles accentuate my hips and thighs in all the wrong ways (which is why I tend toward A-lines), but the heavier weight of this fabric is very forgiving. It was also nice to have a more substantial dress in the winter. Be careful about sizing, though. I'm usually an 8 (sometimes a 6), and based on the fit specialist's recommendations I ordered an 8 with a 10 as back-up. I couldn't even get the 8 over my shoulders, and although *technically* the 10 fit it was uncomfortably tight. RTR overnighted a size 12 which arrived just in time for my event and fit nicely (although a bit large in the waist). All three dresses I received had some chipped beads, but I just spun each one around on its thread until I found a better side.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2011
Pros: beautiful beaded neckline, interesting shape, very unique dress, excellent dress for showing off curves, conservative and easy to wear. Cons: Not best for shorter women. Notes: There is a lot of stretch in the fabric, but its heavy and thick, so its a little bit difficult getting the dress on. Once its on and zipped, its so comfortable. Until you have to walk if you're short. I had to take small steps because it came right to my knees, so I recommend it for taller women with longer legs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2011
Absolutely beautiful dress! Wore it to my hospital department's Christmas party in December and received many compliments. The shirring and form fitting fabric hid many a body flaw and smoothed things out beautifully! Would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 16, 2011
Great for a fancy event!
Received a lot of nice compliments on this dress. It's great for showing off your figure without revealing too much. Fit like a glove except in the bust area. Surprised b/c I'm a 36C and still needed to tape it down. The beads were chipped in places but I'm the only one who seemed to notice. The length was great but tended to ride up a bit and the fabric kept 'tucking' under itself. Otherwise was very pleased with the overall fit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2011
Just rec'd this as my "backup: dress in case my other one didn'tt work out. I actually liked this one better, but yikes, did it run small. I am 6'7 and 125 lbs and the size 6 was way too small. Thanks and good luck!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 21, 2011
Subtle statement-making dress. Didn't upstage the bride but stood out amongst the guests
Gorgeous dress but the fabric was SO heavy. I wore a 6 which fit like a glove & the length hit right the the knee.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 23, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and got a ton of compliments on it. The ruching hugged my curves and looked great on and the beading is very sparkly. The only thing that bothered me was that the sashes on the sides prevented me from lifting my arms while dancing.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
September 12, 2011
I really liked this dress. I expected it to be a lot lighter than it actually was. It was a little longer on me since I'm short, but overall it was wonderful to wear it. BM has a wonderful collection.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Body type: Petite
September 21, 2011
This is a pretty dress but it is a lot of dress. Very heavy and I wouldn't want to wear it in hot weather. It is very tight through bust and rib cage but fine through the hips. It was too long for me so I didn't wear it--it needs to be worn by someone tall with a small rib cage.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
September 21, 2011
absolutely loved this dress although ran very small...thank God I ordered a backup size...and thankfully weather was cool because dress is a very heavy material....got many compliments and look forward to ordering my next dress!! Thank you RTW!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 3, 2011
The pictures do not do this dress justice... the dress looks a little bit big and bulky on the model but I can assure you that is not the case. I rented it for a very high society wedding in the fall. The length and neckline keep the dress classy while at the same time the snug-as-a-glove fit and dropped shoulders are super sexy. The neck line beading is surprisingly beautiful and appreciated. The dress is a heavier material which makes it great for cool weather. I can not recommend this dress enough.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
The beads on this dress were scratched and some were missing, so there were threads sticking out from many places. I was disappointed with the beading, as I felt it looked cheap. The material of the dress was pretty, but I have big shoulders and I felt like they were accentuated by the drape material on the shoulders. It was very slimming, however, so I give it a 3 star rating.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2011
I loved loved LOVED this dress! Heavy, so not for hot weather, but I rented it at the end of October, so it was perfect. Gorgeous, I felt like a goddess!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 2, 2011
I loved this dress. Beautiful beading. It is very fitted so I may have been able to go up a size. I rented an 8 and 10. The 10 fit snuggly and fit every curve. The material has a bit of stretch so it was extremely comfortable. Lots of compliments too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2011
Great LBD
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and it was perfect! I got several compliments on it. My back-up size of 6 was not available. The 4 was tight, but with the ruching it didn't look too tight.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2011
Bday Dress
Wore it for my birthday dinner. I'm 5'7" 150lbs 36-29-38, hourglass in other words. Got size 6 and 8. Wore the 8, gorgeous! Super warm for my Oct 29th bday- didn't wear a jacket. Pearls were a little worn down looked white instead of shiny or metallic. Very snug so I would order a size up. Very flattering. A little shorter on me than shown in the photo.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 23, 2011
What a Hit
This dress fit beautifully. I wore this to a black and white wedding. It was perfect. Thank you so much.
RobinDecember 28, 2011
I am having a hard time picking out shoes for this dress :) what did you go with?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2012
Tummy tucker
I loved this dress. It hid a multitude of sins especially tucking in my tummy. I felt comfortable in it and got many compliments on it too.
StephanieFebruary 14, 2012
Thanks for your input. Your one of the first that are closest to my size. I am alot shorter, 5'2. Nice to not see just tiny ones loving the experience
CKJuly 28, 2012
I second that!! I get so worried since I am 5'3 & a size 12
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2012
Loves Your Curves
This dress is wonderful for highlighting shoulders and complimenting curves. It's comfortable and runs true to size. I received many positive comments and one woman, who is always beautifully dressed, told my husband I looked stunning. What could be better? Deciding what to wear for special events used to be depressing and time consuming (not to mention pricey). Not any more!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 25, 2012
knowing I had a top notch dress for a night on the town made me feel so comfortable, like I belonged there. The best compliment was my husband saying he wished he could come with us so he could keep looking at me in that dress...
I rented this dress for my sister in law's bachelorette in NYC. I ordered the 10 and 12, the 10 wouldn't get over my hips, but the 12 went on with ease. I was never uncomfortable, and made me look smooth and curvy. fabulous. The only drawback is that the 12 was a little long at the knee and in the beaded shoulder straps, which slid down all night. but it looked fine! this picture is me with the Bride, in her RTR dress, too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Sexy dress but too tight
The dress was very sexy but very tight as well. Too tight for a hot summer day and it was hard to go to the rest room in it. I LOVED the service and will definitely be using it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
I felt worthy to walk their red carpet -this dress was the best in the room!
The dress fit great and I felt like a princess! I would recomment this dress to anyone wanting to get really dressed up.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Very Classy
This dress was perfect for a VIP meet and greet event I attended. The length was appropriate and the neckline and beading gave it just enough to stand out without it being over the top. Perfect cocktail dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Great dress but heavy and hot
This dress was great. A real head turner! It doesn't show off curves very well so I would recommend it for someone who is well endowed. I do not have a large chest and it almost made it non-existent! However, I do have a large backside and it fit that perfectly! I loved it, but it was pretty heavy, Iwould recommend wearing this to events where you will be cool.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Pretty dress, but...
...although I think this dress is very pretty, I felt like it was a little mature for me (I'm 27). It fit well, and it's a very heavy material so I would not recommend for summer or any place warm.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2012
When I was told..."It looks like the dress was custom made for you".
Stunning, amazing, breath taking, HOT. Just a few of the adjectives use by my hubby and friends when they saw this dress! Rented for a New Years Eve Florida wedding, and was very comfortable in this dress even after dinner! The stretch in the dress helped with that :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 12, 2012
Nice...
I needed a dress last minute to wear to a black-tie optional event for work, and it worked out well, I felt like I was dressed appropriately even though I did not want to wear a long gown. This dress feels very heavy and adds a bit of "thickness" to the body, however the ruching somewhat offsets that because the ruching itself is flattering. Overall this dress is OK for the right occassion.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2012
Maybe the most beautiful dress I've ever worn!
So flattering! It's a really pretty dress. Like others said, it's quite a heavy material, but was perfect for December in a cold climate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2012
The dress fit beautifully and comfortably. Loved the elegance of the dress.
Snug, but flexible fit, the folds hold in your body shape for a nice forgiving fit. Detailing along neckline is pretty enough to skip a necklace. Detailing is more pearls and beads with pink and multicolor- tones then rhinestones, but lots of sparkle. bottom of the dress was a little tight, and you could not take big strides (but who does in a dress?!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2012
I loved this dress. Loved!
Body con style without needing to be totally conscious of your body. The ruching of the fabric allowed the dress to hug in all the right places leaving me feeling beautiful at my friend's wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2012
Good dress - it covers all the curves with ruching.
Good dress - it covers all the curves with ruching to hide flaws. plus the side arm straps hide the part of the arms I hate the most. It is also very easy to move in, so if you feel like dancing at the end of the night, the dress is very wearable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful! HEAVY!
I ordered this dress in a 10 and a 12. The 12 was snug but it fit. This dress is beautifully but it is EXTREMELY HEAVY! The dress appears to be very small before it is put on, it stretches alot but if you dont like to be squeezed don't rent this dress. I felt amazing in the dress but it was not comfortable.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×