Off-the-shoulder Beaded Sheath

$58 to buy
$650 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This eye-catching LBD by Badgley Mischka is the perfect party dress. With sparkly beading and a shoulder bearing cut, you simply can't go wrong with this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Square neckline. Cold shoulder detail with beaded straps. Ruched body. Hidden back zip.

Share
80 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size46
Small34
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 20, 2014
Great looking dress~
Like the other reviews, the fabric is heavy. The fit is very snug. Do not recommend if you need to walk up stairs to accept an award.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 18, 2014
The people there (and my dress)!
It fit snug and i needed help zipping it up. Once it was on it felt great and I felt beautiful in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 14, 2014
Eye catcher !!!
This is a beautiful and super comfortable dress! The bust was to tight to zip on the 4 so I went with the 6. It was a little longer than expected but made me still feel like a princess!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2014
got compliments all night in this dress! And, it was comfortable.
Loved the ruching- made it possible to eat a 5-course meal without feeling self conscious, and the slight stretch in the dress helped it to stay put after many hours on the dance floor. It definitely runs small- I've worn size 8 in Badgely Mischka recently, and the 10 barely zipped up. Thankfully I'd ordered the 12 as my back-up size based on RTW's recommendation, it was a tad big in the bust but still fit well enough that I wasn't worried about it slipping down. I would definitely consider renting this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
April 4, 2014
Beautiful dress but runs very small
This dress is beautiful, and does a great job of hiding extra bulges due to the ruching. I typically wear a size 4, so I ordered a 4 and a 6 since reviews/styling tips says it runs small. I tried to put on the 4 but couldn't even get it over my thighs. I was able to get the 6 pulled up all the way, but I had to squeeze everything in just to get it over my hips and then couldn't get it to zip all the way. It was very snug around my legs, which would have made dancing difficult. Other reviewers had mentioned that it is a heavy dress, and I have to agree...I will rent this dress for a winter event some time in the future but not for an event during warmer weather. I will also have to rent it in a size 8 since even the 6 was too tight. Luckily, I had ordered a back-up dress that fit me perfectly. I would rate this dress higher if the fit was more true to size.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2014
Fit Perfect
This is a gorgeous fitting dress. The material has a puckering/scrunching effect which adds a classy touch. The beading & crystal detail in the pictures doesn't do it justice. Gorgeous Stunning dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 18, 2014
I received so many compliments on this dress!
The fit was sung, but perfect with a pair of Spanx. There was no way I was going to fit into the 10. I love how the fabric really conceals any trouble spots, which made me feel even more confident. I really hated to send this dress back because I loved it so much. This was a great first RTR experience for me and I will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
January 19, 2014
I felt gorgeous!
I wore this to my husbands company Christmas Party in New Orleans. It fit like a glove. WIth a spanx you couldn't tell I had a bit of a holiday weight gain! I got so many compliments I couldn't keep track! For some reason the picture won't upload, but I'll try again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2014
I loved this dress!
This dress was perfect for NYE. I went to a formal event. Someone even said that I looked like a princess! This dress Is also very forgiving. It forms to your shape, has some stretch and has ruffles. Its eye catching but not over the top. You have the option of wearing the black straps on your lower arm or not. There were some reviews that said that this dress is heavy. It is a heavy dress but you don't feel the heaviness when its on. Its not a dress you have to mess with when its on. You just put it on and go! I loved it. It does run small. I usually wear a 4 or 6 but the reviews all said to size up so I went with an 8 and I NEVER wear an 8 so I figured that would be helpful to know.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2014
Perfect Dress for New Years Eve
This dress is heavy but comfortable. Due to the weight it might not be good in summer or warm climate. It was perfect for New Years in Denver. As others have said, the dress runs small so order one size up. I loved wearing it. Very flattering and it has a natural shaping effect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 2, 2014
It's all about the service at RTR
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve. I thought it was the perfect blend of sexy with a little bit of bling for NYE. I did see the mentions of the dress running small but I had no idea just how small. I'm 5'9'' 150 pounds so generally things "just fit". This barely got over my head. I tried it on a number of times and got as far as trying to zip it up. I would definitely go up a size on this one. Luckily for me, I ordered a last minute back up dress with the help of Claire at RTR. That fit like a dream!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 23, 2013
The Corset-like mid-section really slims your figure! Gorgeous!
Loved the fit of this dress - so sexy, yet elegant. It was extremely tight, with a corset-like mid section, which puts all of your bits and pieces exactly where they should be, This is a 2-pairs-of-spanx dress. It hit me exactly at the knee, which made me look especially nice when walking because of the fit. The beading at the top was simply gorgeous. I found shoes to match the beading and declared victory. It is the perfect LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99lbs
December 9, 2013
Great dress- but too heavy.
I thought this dress was quite nice, but was just too heavy. It was a bit of a pain too get into and just didn't feel right for a summertime outdoor formal affair..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2013
Good dress
I wore the dress to my 50th birthday really great dress especially for somebody who has some parts of the body to hide
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 1, 2013
I felt so special in the dress I received so many compliments all night!
I had read a lot of the reviews commenting on how small this dress ran; it did; however it fit my curves perfectly. I love shopping and being fashionable RTR is my new favorite place to shop. I don't think I will ever buy a dress for that special occasion again! The entire renting process was seamless! I can't wait for the next opportunity to rent that special dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
October 13, 2013
Classy dress. Order 1 or 2 sizes larger.
This was my first time renting from RTR and I am hooked! The dress I ordered was beautiful. However, it run VERY SMALL. I usually wear an 8 and I am a D cup. After reading all the reviews, I ended up ordering size 10 and 12 as a back up. The size 10 felt like a 6. Needless to say, I ended up wearing the 12. Overall, I was very satisfied with this dress and with RTR customer service.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 6, 2013
Lots of compliments!!
The fit is snug - I usually wear a size 6 or 8, so I'm glad I ordered the 10. The beading is beautiful and the dress was comfortable to wear. Perfect for the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation Gala! I will continue to rent!!! Have had nothing but positive experiences!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 29, 2013
Makes you look HOT
So I like to show off what my mama gave me like any girl, but I do have some trouble spots I get self-conscious about, The magic of this dress is the material: there is very little stretch (so you may want to size up?) but the lack of stretch and the thickness of the material make it so it skims your body in the right places and pulls in the trouble areas. For me that meant it held my tummy in and gave me a slimmer silhouette while showcasing my butt and chest in a way that was hot but classy ;) This is easily my favorite of the 6-7 or so dresses I have rented from RTR and would recommend to any girl of any size or shape--it will flatter!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 1, 2013
I couldn't wear it- material is heavy.
fits really nicely, but the material is heavy. I couldn't wear it for that reason. If you are an older client, however, or thin or slightly heavier, this would be a great dress, because the material is heavy and fits your body while not showing much detail of your skin, etc.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 15, 2013
i have rented this dress many times, still and will always be my favorite
scrunchy middle hides belly
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
April 10, 2013
Great quality! Flattering on anyone!
First thing I noticed on the dress was the weight: lots of high quality fabric and beautiful sparkly beads! I was concerned about how heavy the dress felt out of the box, but once on, there were no issues - the weight was evenly distributed and felt just fine! The dress hugs and stretches for a flattering fit. I loved the look and feel of the dress, but needed to have a much larger size than normal for me... I couldn't zip up the size four at all and I'd probably need a size six or eight (I generally wear sizes zero to four, depending on how the dress fits across the back as I have an athletic build). Beautiful, but order a size up if you're not straight and narrow.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172lbs
February 26, 2013
Wonderful dress! Fit my curves perfectly and I didn't need Spanx!
Very comfortable and flattering dress. Received loads of compliments and best of all I could wear a regular bra and didn't need spanx - the dress holds you in beautifully. A bit tight in the bust but then most things are for me so that wasn't a surprise. I would guess this dress looks great on most!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148lbs
February 25, 2013
Great dress! Looked great and easy to dance in.
No cons
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
February 19, 2013
I LOVED this dress!
This dress was extremely comfortable. It was true to size. I received a ton of compliments on it. I did need hem tape because the length was long on my 5 foot frame. I wore a total body spanx under it for comfort and it was perfect. I actually could have stayed in it for hours and been happy.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
February 4, 2013
The dress was beautiful. Got lots of compliments. The beading & rhinestones were very pretty.
The dress is a little heavy but was perfect for the cold weather. Very comfortable and I felt very pretty in it. I would suggest to get 1 size up because it's very fitting but it holds everything in place. Overall, it was a gorgeous dress and I was very pleased with the whole rental process.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
January 24, 2013
glitzy little black dress.
Dress fit great, very comfortable. The false sleeves/shoulder straps were a little hard to get used to. I received compliments all night long.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
December 6, 2012
Perfect for New Years Eve!
Very comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2012
Awkward look
this was my back-up dress and i was glad to not have to use it, it looked incredibly awkward on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2012
That I was not able to wear the dress....
I was only able to request the dress in one size as stock was limited at the time. The dress runs small...it is "layered" so sort of thick...and it is like putting on a glove. I thought it was lovely, but had to send back unworn..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful! HEAVY!
I ordered this dress in a 10 and a 12. The 12 was snug but it fit. This dress is beautifully but it is EXTREMELY HEAVY! The dress appears to be very small before it is put on, it stretches alot but if you dont like to be squeezed don't rent this dress. I felt amazing in the dress but it was not comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2012
Good dress - it covers all the curves with ruching.
Good dress - it covers all the curves with ruching to hide flaws. plus the side arm straps hide the part of the arms I hate the most. It is also very easy to move in, so if you feel like dancing at the end of the night, the dress is very wearable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2012
I loved this dress. Loved!
Body con style without needing to be totally conscious of your body. The ruching of the fabric allowed the dress to hug in all the right places leaving me feeling beautiful at my friend's wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2012
The dress fit beautifully and comfortably. Loved the elegance of the dress.
Snug, but flexible fit, the folds hold in your body shape for a nice forgiving fit. Detailing along neckline is pretty enough to skip a necklace. Detailing is more pearls and beads with pink and multicolor- tones then rhinestones, but lots of sparkle. bottom of the dress was a little tight, and you could not take big strides (but who does in a dress?!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2012
Maybe the most beautiful dress I've ever worn!
So flattering! It's a really pretty dress. Like others said, it's quite a heavy material, but was perfect for December in a cold climate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 12, 2012
Nice...
I needed a dress last minute to wear to a black-tie optional event for work, and it worked out well, I felt like I was dressed appropriately even though I did not want to wear a long gown. This dress feels very heavy and adds a bit of "thickness" to the body, however the ruching somewhat offsets that because the ruching itself is flattering. Overall this dress is OK for the right occassion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Pretty dress, but...
...although I think this dress is very pretty, I felt like it was a little mature for me (I'm 27). It fit well, and it's a very heavy material so I would not recommend for summer or any place warm.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Great dress but heavy and hot
This dress was great. A real head turner! It doesn't show off curves very well so I would recommend it for someone who is well endowed. I do not have a large chest and it almost made it non-existent! However, I do have a large backside and it fit that perfectly! I loved it, but it was pretty heavy, Iwould recommend wearing this to events where you will be cool.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2012
Sophisticated
I wore this dress to a formal affair and loved the dress, although the fit wasn't perfect on me. I had to wear the 4 as my ribcage/chest wouldn't fit in the smaller size (I often have this issue - my hips are small, but my ribcage is not :)), so the straps were too big and as I was going straight from work and ordered at the last minute, they kind of flopped around on me all night. Otherwise, I thought the dress was beautiful and think it's great for a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Very Classy
This dress was perfect for a VIP meet and greet event I attended. The length was appropriate and the neckline and beading gave it just enough to stand out without it being over the top. Perfect cocktail dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
I felt worthy to walk their red carpet -this dress was the best in the room!
The dress fit great and I felt like a princess! I would recomment this dress to anyone wanting to get really dressed up.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×