Badgley Mischka

Off-the-shoulder Beaded Sheath

$58 to buy
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This eye-catching LBD by Badgley Mischka is the perfect party dress. With sparkly beading and a shoulder bearing cut, you simply can't go wrong with this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Square neckline. Cold shoulder detail with beaded straps. Ruched body. Hidden back zip.

Share
80 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(34)
Overall fit:
Small
Age: 32
December 29, 2010
This designer runs small overall - I usually wear an 8, but even the 10 in this dress was snug. The fabric was very heavy. It was a beautiful fit, but beware the beading on the dress - both of the sizes I rented arrived with the trim not up to par. The colored beads were peeling, leaving cheap plastic white beads showing along the neckline. Not flattering. RTW was terrific about refunding my money, but I was forced to shop for a dress the morning of my event as there was no time to ship another selection.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 5, 2011
Ick! I rented 3 dresses and this one was the worst on me by far. The thick fabric plus the ruching was so unflattering on my petite/hourglass frame. My boyfriend actually said it looked like I had pillows stuffed under it. The length hit below the knee which was also not cute. That said, I think it could be flattering on really stick straight or very curvy girls because the dress is pretty on the hanger.
Chelsea January 5, 2011
*I'm 5'1" and don't want it to be too long!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 21, 2011
Beautiful dress but definiately request a size up. I normally wear a 6 and sometimes 4 and based on the reviews I requested a size 8 and that is what fit the best! Dress was perfect for a winter event with very nice beads on straps and along the front. Great rental price. Will use Rent the Runway again. Thanks Kati S. for the recommendation.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2011
Most "body-hugging" styles accentuate my hips and thighs in all the wrong ways (which is why I tend toward A-lines), but the heavier weight of this fabric is very forgiving. It was also nice to have a more substantial dress in the winter. Be careful about sizing, though. I'm usually an 8 (sometimes a 6), and based on the fit specialist's recommendations I ordered an 8 with a 10 as back-up. I couldn't even get the 8 over my shoulders, and although *technically* the 10 fit it was uncomfortably tight. RTR overnighted a size 12 which arrived just in time for my event and fit nicely (although a bit large in the waist). All three dresses I received had some chipped beads, but I just spun each one around on its thread until I found a better side.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2011
Pros: beautiful beaded neckline, interesting shape, very unique dress, excellent dress for showing off curves, conservative and easy to wear. Cons: Not best for shorter women. Notes: There is a lot of stretch in the fabric, but its heavy and thick, so its a little bit difficult getting the dress on. Once its on and zipped, its so comfortable. Until you have to walk if you're short. I had to take small steps because it came right to my knees, so I recommend it for taller women with longer legs.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2011
Just rec'd this as my "backup: dress in case my other one didn'tt work out. I actually liked this one better, but yikes, did it run small. I am 6'7 and 125 lbs and the size 6 was way too small. Thanks and good luck!
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
September 21, 2011
absolutely loved this dress although ran very small...thank God I ordered a backup size...and thankfully weather was cool because dress is a very heavy material....got many compliments and look forward to ordering my next dress!! Thank you RTW!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
The beads on this dress were scratched and some were missing, so there were threads sticking out from many places. I was disappointed with the beading, as I felt it looked cheap. The material of the dress was pretty, but I have big shoulders and I felt like they were accentuated by the drape material on the shoulders. It was very slimming, however, so I give it a 3 star rating.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 2, 2011
I loved this dress. Beautiful beading. It is very fitted so I may have been able to go up a size. I rented an 8 and 10. The 10 fit snuggly and fit every curve. The material has a bit of stretch so it was extremely comfortable. Lots of compliments too.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2011
Bday Dress
Wore it for my birthday dinner. I'm 5'7" 150lbs 36-29-38, hourglass in other words. Got size 6 and 8. Wore the 8, gorgeous! Super warm for my Oct 29th bday- didn't wear a jacket. Pearls were a little worn down looked white instead of shiny or metallic. Very snug so I would order a size up. Very flattering. A little shorter on me than shown in the photo.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Sexy dress but too tight
The dress was very sexy but very tight as well. Too tight for a hot summer day and it was hard to go to the rest room in it. I LOVED the service and will definitely be using it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
I felt worthy to walk their red carpet -this dress was the best in the room!
The dress fit great and I felt like a princess! I would recomment this dress to anyone wanting to get really dressed up.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Great dress but heavy and hot
This dress was great. A real head turner! It doesn't show off curves very well so I would recommend it for someone who is well endowed. I do not have a large chest and it almost made it non-existent! However, I do have a large backside and it fit that perfectly! I loved it, but it was pretty heavy, Iwould recommend wearing this to events where you will be cool.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2012
Good dress - it covers all the curves with ruching.
Good dress - it covers all the curves with ruching to hide flaws. plus the side arm straps hide the part of the arms I hate the most. It is also very easy to move in, so if you feel like dancing at the end of the night, the dress is very wearable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful! HEAVY!
I ordered this dress in a 10 and a 12. The 12 was snug but it fit. This dress is beautifully but it is EXTREMELY HEAVY! The dress appears to be very small before it is put on, it stretches alot but if you dont like to be squeezed don't rent this dress. I felt amazing in the dress but it was not comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2012
That I was not able to wear the dress....
I was only able to request the dress in one size as stock was limited at the time. The dress runs small...it is "layered" so sort of thick...and it is like putting on a glove. I thought it was lovely, but had to send back unworn..
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
February 4, 2013
The dress was beautiful. Got lots of compliments. The beading & rhinestones were very pretty.
The dress is a little heavy but was perfect for the cold weather. Very comfortable and I felt very pretty in it. I would suggest to get 1 size up because it's very fitting but it holds everything in place. Overall, it was a gorgeous dress and I was very pleased with the whole rental process.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
April 10, 2013
Great quality! Flattering on anyone!
First thing I noticed on the dress was the weight: lots of high quality fabric and beautiful sparkly beads! I was concerned about how heavy the dress felt out of the box, but once on, there were no issues - the weight was evenly distributed and felt just fine! The dress hugs and stretches for a flattering fit. I loved the look and feel of the dress, but needed to have a much larger size than normal for me... I couldn't zip up the size four at all and I'd probably need a size six or eight (I generally wear sizes zero to four, depending on how the dress fits across the back as I have an athletic build). Beautiful, but order a size up if you're not straight and narrow.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 1, 2013
I couldn't wear it- material is heavy.
fits really nicely, but the material is heavy. I couldn't wear it for that reason. If you are an older client, however, or thin or slightly heavier, this would be a great dress, because the material is heavy and fits your body while not showing much detail of your skin, etc.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 6, 2013
Lots of compliments!!
The fit is snug - I usually wear a size 6 or 8, so I'm glad I ordered the 10. The beading is beautiful and the dress was comfortable to wear. Perfect for the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation Gala! I will continue to rent!!! Have had nothing but positive experiences!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
October 13, 2013
Classy dress. Order 1 or 2 sizes larger.
This was my first time renting from RTR and I am hooked! The dress I ordered was beautiful. However, it run VERY SMALL. I usually wear an 8 and I am a D cup. After reading all the reviews, I ended up ordering size 10 and 12 as a back up. The size 10 felt like a 6. Needless to say, I ended up wearing the 12. Overall, I was very satisfied with this dress and with RTR customer service.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 1, 2013
I felt so special in the dress I received so many compliments all night!
I had read a lot of the reviews commenting on how small this dress ran; it did; however it fit my curves perfectly. I love shopping and being fashionable RTR is my new favorite place to shop. I don't think I will ever buy a dress for that special occasion again! The entire renting process was seamless! I can't wait for the next opportunity to rent that special dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2013
Good dress
I wore the dress to my 50th birthday really great dress especially for somebody who has some parts of the body to hide
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 23, 2013
The Corset-like mid-section really slims your figure! Gorgeous!
Loved the fit of this dress - so sexy, yet elegant. It was extremely tight, with a corset-like mid section, which puts all of your bits and pieces exactly where they should be, This is a 2-pairs-of-spanx dress. It hit me exactly at the knee, which made me look especially nice when walking because of the fit. The beading at the top was simply gorgeous. I found shoes to match the beading and declared victory. It is the perfect LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 2, 2014
It's all about the service at RTR
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve. I thought it was the perfect blend of sexy with a little bit of bling for NYE. I did see the mentions of the dress running small but I had no idea just how small. I'm 5'9'' 150 pounds so generally things "just fit". This barely got over my head. I tried it on a number of times and got as far as trying to zip it up. I would definitely go up a size on this one. Luckily for me, I ordered a last minute back up dress with the help of Claire at RTR. That fit like a dream!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2014
Perfect Dress for New Years Eve
This dress is heavy but comfortable. Due to the weight it might not be good in summer or warm climate. It was perfect for New Years in Denver. As others have said, the dress runs small so order one size up. I loved wearing it. Very flattering and it has a natural shaping effect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2014
I loved this dress!
This dress was perfect for NYE. I went to a formal event. Someone even said that I looked like a princess! This dress Is also very forgiving. It forms to your shape, has some stretch and has ruffles. Its eye catching but not over the top. You have the option of wearing the black straps on your lower arm or not. There were some reviews that said that this dress is heavy. It is a heavy dress but you don't feel the heaviness when its on. Its not a dress you have to mess with when its on. You just put it on and go! I loved it. It does run small. I usually wear a 4 or 6 but the reviews all said to size up so I went with an 8 and I NEVER wear an 8 so I figured that would be helpful to know.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
April 4, 2014
Beautiful dress but runs very small
This dress is beautiful, and does a great job of hiding extra bulges due to the ruching. I typically wear a size 4, so I ordered a 4 and a 6 since reviews/styling tips says it runs small. I tried to put on the 4 but couldn't even get it over my thighs. I was able to get the 6 pulled up all the way, but I had to squeeze everything in just to get it over my hips and then couldn't get it to zip all the way. It was very snug around my legs, which would have made dancing difficult. Other reviewers had mentioned that it is a heavy dress, and I have to agree...I will rent this dress for a winter event some time in the future but not for an event during warmer weather. I will also have to rent it in a size 8 since even the 6 was too tight. Luckily, I had ordered a back-up dress that fit me perfectly. I would rate this dress higher if the fit was more true to size.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2014
got compliments all night in this dress! And, it was comfortable.
Loved the ruching- made it possible to eat a 5-course meal without feeling self conscious, and the slight stretch in the dress helped it to stay put after many hours on the dance floor. It definitely runs small- I've worn size 8 in Badgely Mischka recently, and the 10 barely zipped up. Thankfully I'd ordered the 12 as my back-up size based on RTW's recommendation, it was a tad big in the bust but still fit well enough that I wasn't worried about it slipping down. I would definitely consider renting this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 20, 2014
Great looking dress~
Like the other reviews, the fabric is heavy. The fit is very snug. Do not recommend if you need to walk up stairs to accept an award.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 18, 2014
The people there (and my dress)!
It fit snug and i needed help zipping it up. Once it was on it felt great and I felt beautiful in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2010
I am usually a size 4 but got the 6 too just in case. well NEITHER dress fit. I think I may have been sent the wrong size. It looked very odd on my and made me look bigger. The dress itself was very heavy and the ruching I only know how to describe as intense. It looks great on the model and the beading was pretty, but it did not come to me as pictured. I'm glad I ordered another dress (which the size 4 fit with room to spare).
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 28, 2011
Lovely dress! Wore to Black Tie event at Beverly Hilton. Ran a little tight so ordered one size larger and fit fine. Gourgeous lines and detail. Perfect match for event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2012
Dress runs super small
Really pretty but incredibly tight. I usually wear a 0 or 2 and even the 4 didn't fit. Also the material is a little "cheap" feeling to me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 27, 2010
I absolutely loved this dress! It hugged my curves in the appropriate places, and was still very comfortable. The beaded neckline is unexpected, and I received a lot of compliments!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2010
This dress is gorgeous, I absolutely loved it. I received many compliments!!! The dress is somewhat heavy, but this is to be expected with all the beautiful beading. Thank you RTRW, I looked fabulous
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2010
I wore this to a black tie event and felt so comfortable in it. It was a cooler evening so the heavier fabric was very appropriate and it was just clingy enough without being trampy. My only negative note was that in a not-so-busty girl, the neckline had a tendency to sag a little so smaller chests may benefit from some inserts or extra padding. All in all, I loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2010
I loved this dress! And received many compliments. The material is a bit heavy, but that worked well for a fall wedding.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
November 10, 2010
This dress is gorgeous. However, I ordered this dress as a backup and ended up not wearing it for two reasons. One, the material was much heavier than I anticipated. Two, this dress is not meant for petites - the size that fit me well around my body had too long of shoulder straps and went well below the knee on me. Not for petites!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2011
Absolutely beautiful dress! Wore it to my hospital department's Christmas party in December and received many compliments. The shirring and form fitting fabric hid many a body flaw and smoothed things out beautifully! Would definitely rent this dress again!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×