Badgley Mischka

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
650 reviews
Fit
Large
(70)
True to Size
(381)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 5, 2012
Great dress, but not proportioned for a short, short-wasited woman
I absolutely love this dress, and with alterations it would have been spectacular. As it was, however, it didn't fit me properly. I am short-waisted, so in order for the top to fit properly and the waist to hit at the right point, the entire top would have needed to be pulled up by a tailor. I probably could have gotten away with it, but the length was also a problem,. While the dress seemed like a mini on the (tall) model, ti completely covered my knees and fell to an unflattering length. This would have also needed tailoring, and given the density and weight of the fabric, it was not something that could have been done with hem tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 7, 2012
Lots of compliments, as always with a RTR dress!
I rented the 10 and 12, but wore the 10 since it runs pretty big - especially in the front. I have a larger chest so it was fine to fill it out but you'd want to buy some Hollywood Tape if you are smaller chested to keep it in place. Overall super comfy, the material has stretch to it which is always great for dancing. It's pretty long compared to the model photo (I am short though) and would have preferred a shorter version. Lots of compliments as always with a RTR dress!
MarthaNovember 9, 2012
Are there other dresses you like better? We look like we have the same body type.
RTR CustomerNovember 13, 2012
Hi Martha! This dress would be great for your body type and it also comes in a navy sequin and champagne colored dress! Also, take a look at the dresses page and make sure to filter by the "apple" body type, you will find many options there!
MelissaMarch 25, 2013
I am so glad to see you wearing it during the day. I planned on wearing it during the day and thought it may have been inappropriate because of the glitter. I love how I can also wear this to a party in the night. You looked stunning.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2012
It had the "Wow" factor!
I rented this dress for a wedding with a group of friends who always dress to the nines. I definitely stood out! I received soooo many compliments and my fiance had to fight the other guys off given the sexy cleavage :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 11, 2012
Super sparkly
This dress is pretty - very sparkly and fun (as my husband said). I didn't end up wearing it because I felt it made my butt look big (my husband also said that). I know a lot of people say this is a flattering cut on most body types, I have to disagree. It gave me serious junk in the trunk!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2012
Great dress
Rented this for a wedding. Great dress, great fit (runs a tiny bit large - thought I'd be a 4 but ended up wearing the 2 and it was a little loose), I'm 5'6" 125lbs and the hem was right at my knee, a little conservative if you're looking for a vegas party dress but perfect for a more serious event. The sequin makes the dress stand out a lot, I kind of felt like a disco ball but maybe that's because everyone was dressed conservatively. Overall great experience with RTR!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 17, 2012
Everyone loved the dress!
I loved that I could wear a normal bra with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
Great Dress
Loved this dress. My husband thought I looked amazing and I received many compliments throughout the night. Very comfortable, the fabric had some give.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
October 29, 2012
Fit very well, very flattering.
The dress is comfortable, I would recommend this dress to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2012
Gorgeous AND comfortable! A perfect combination.
Pros: True to size Perfect length (it hit right above the knee) Sexy without being too revealing (at least, for smaller-chested ladies like myself) Cons: The zipper gets caught in the fabric, if you're not careful
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
I had this dress delivered to my office the day before an event - so easy!
The dress drapes beautifully. It is very comfortable and easy to wear. Although form fitting, the draping in the front makes this dress wearable without spanx or any other horrible undergarments. I got many compliments on it and am glad I rented it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
November 11, 2012
Fancy dress with just enough sparkle
I felt this dress runs a bit large. I definitely could have sized down a size, maybe even two. I was worried the sequins would be irritating around the arms, but the arm holes are large enough that I didn't notice it throughout the night. You can definitely wear a regular bra with this dress, but I thought it was strange that the shoulder straps didn't have bra hooks to keep your bra straps in place. I had to adjust a few times since the dress was a bit large and the shoulder straps would move to the side. I'm not as tall as the model, so the skirt hit right above the knee. I would have liked it to be a bit shorter, as the length did make the dress feel a bit more 'old'. However, I paired it was some incredibly high heels to combat the issue and I think it worked.
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 240lbs
November 15, 2012
STUNNER!
THIS DRESS WAS STUNNING! I had a hard time choosing between two dresses and I ended up picking this one. I was so pleased with my choice. All night long I was getting compliments on how great my dress was! I'm still gettin compliments on just the picture alone!!!! I loved it. It was a bit big for me (Although no one could notice) I normally wear a 16 so that is what I ordered, but a 14 would have been perfect. I can't wait for NYE because I am think the 5th Ave Show Stopper is most certainly in the plan!
RTR CustomerDecember 8, 2012
Wow now I might get this looks great and we same size.
MalisaJanuary 16, 2013
Wow...gorgeous! I think I may rent this dress! :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 189lbs
November 16, 2012
Overall, the RTR experience has been AMAZING, although I did not end up wearing this dress
This was my backup dress, and I have to say, when I first opened the dress, I was surprised at how heavy the dress actually is. While heavy and very substantial, the dress was not figure flattering at all and ran very short. I did not end up wearing this dress and was thankful that I had other options to choose from.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2012
Love. Love. Love.
Lighter than other sequined dresses I've worn. It's got a little stretch to it. Super comfy and i got lots of compliments on it. Just needed a little tape to make sure the straps don't fall down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
November 20, 2012
Perfect mix of class and style
This dress fit like a glove and was very comfortable. I wore it to a black tie gala for work and it was the perfect mix of being conservative enough, while still feeing young and stylish.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
LOVE!
The dress was amazing! I was almost 20 weeks pregnant with my second child when I wore this dress and it was very flattering. Doesn't show too much cleavage and a lot of room at the midsection. pre pregnancy I was a 10 but I wore a 12 and I would say it probably runs pretty true to size but maybe a little large. It's a little scratchy from the sequins but all around I loved it!
gmjerzJune 21, 2013
I'm thinking about renting this dress, i'm 26 weeks pregnant. Did you feel you had extra room in the belly??
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 4, 2012
Beautiful dress, classic fit.
I'm usually a 6/8, and definitely needed the 6 in this. So, think about ordering down a size. The v-neck was flattering; not to deep. The materials gathers around the hips, but I thought it was still flattering-- it skims over the hips, even if it does add a bit of bulk because the material is a bit heavy. Interestingly, this dress is cut slightly differently than the gold Badgley Mischka version on RTR-- the v-neck is a bit higher, and there's a bit more material in the hips in the black version vs. the gold.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 6, 2012
RTR is easy to use!
The dress was perfect. I ordered a 10 and 12. The 10 was a little too short and was snug when zipped. The 12 fit perfectly all around. The dress was in fantastic condition, no snags, loose sequins, etc. Overall it was an awesome experience to rent.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2012
This dress is flawless!!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a Rent The Runway fashion show and got dozens of compliments. The dress is extremely comfortable and very flattering. I really love that it's so sparkly, but doesn't itch or feel heavy. It does run a tad big, but I opted to wear the larger size so that I wouldn't feel constricted. I would absolutely wear this dress again, and honestly, I really want to buy one!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2012
This dress is just as comfortable as it is beautiful!
I rented this for a birthday party in Vegas and it did not dissappoint! The dress is beautifully lined and fits like a dream. I was both comfortable AND pretty all night long. <-- an unusual combination!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2012
Rent the Runway made it so easy and fantastic customer service. I can't wait to rent my next dress!
I did not end up wearing this dress but Rent The Runway sent it as a backup. When it arrived I did try it on and it is a beautiful dress - it really brightens you up and adds an air of party! Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 12, 2012
Amazing party dress!
This dress was just what is needed for a formal affair! It was so comfortable to wear and was lined well. It was a little big on the bottom but with the movement and sparkle, it was hard to tell. I would def rent again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2012
Not my favorite but not bad.
Goofy photo from my husband's party, but shows most of the dress. I got compliments and I liked the sequins but I wasn't a fan of the cut. I have a short-ish waist and I prefer sheath to empire and this was close but more empire than I wanted. I wore a 4 which fit fine in the top but the skirt portion just wasn't cut well for me and not particularly flattering I didn't think. It is less fitted in the skirt and sort of flares out at the waist in a non-beneficial way. The length was fine about mid-thigh and age appropriate. The sequins were scratchy on the arms a bit but nothing that was a deal breaker. You need a helper to zip it up for sure as one functional note. Overall it was fine but I wouldn't wear it again which makes me SO glad it was just a rented dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2012
I received many compliments on my dress. Everyone liked the sparkles.
The neckline dipped very low and I needed to secure it so my bra didn't show. Overall, the fit was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 16, 2012
Perfect meld of black tie preferred with holiday sparkle
Wore the dress to a private club dinner where it was the perfect balance of black tie without being overly formal. A long version would have been "too much" for the event. The dress was wonderful - arrived clean, pressed and fit just as other reviews have described. I'm a bit long-legged for my height and it could have used my tacking the shoulders as the top was a bit large (I'm a 36D and it was a little gappy). Being post-baby, it hid all the tummy sins - I'm a hip 12 still, but based on reviews went with the 10. With the tightest Spanx, probably could have gone 8. Taping wasn't right, and if I had more of a plunging neck bra, it would have been fine. My entire RTR experience was fantastic! I'll be renting again for 2 weddings in 2013, and am so excited to do so.
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2012
I felt like an absolute unstoppable diva for my 25th birthday!
The dress fit INCREDIBLY well! It was true to size and fit my bust; I was a little worried about that because I read other reviews. It fit me like a GLOVE and i didn't have any problems with itching or chaffing. I looked like a sparkly dream and my friends, boyfriend, and loved ones raved over how remarkable the dress was and how amazing I looked. What a way to ring in the 25th year! Have NO doubts about this dress; you'll be absolutely ravishing!
MacyJanuary 20, 2013
Beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 16, 2012
This dress was very flattering and fun to wear. I got lots of compliments and people loved the idea!
The dress fit pretty well and I was told that it was very flattering. It's a bit low cut in the chest but that wasn't an issue for me, luckily. The zipper does stick on the sequins a bit and can be hard to pull up yourself(the size 8 was sticking so bad that I didn't even wear it). Overall It's very comfortable and fun dress to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
ABSOLUTELY LOVELY DRESS
The dress does run large and appears to make the bust area look a little larger. It was not scratchy and not too short. This dress is a conservative ladies dream - it is a wow but you will not feel exposed. I wasn't able to wear the dress because the 4 was perfect but the zipper was sticking and I did not want to pull too hard and rip it out. The 6 was just took big and I looked heavy in it. I will order this exact same dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2012
RTR made it very easy. I spent less then I normally do for a fantastic dress.
The fit was a little big. I choose a 6 and 4 and wore the 4 that was still a little big but fine for the event. I did pin the dress - a little too much cleavage for a work event. Overall I liked the dress and received many compliments. I would use RTR again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
October 31, 2012
Compliments all night long
I love anything sequin-y so this was perfect. Wore it for a work event so it straddled an appropriate line of conservative but festive. Was very pleased that the sequins weren't irritating to the skin at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2012
Lots of compliments!
I normally wear an 8, but the 6 fit perfectly. It was actually a bit large on top. I don't think I could have fit into the 4, but the top on the 4 probably would have fit better. Really beautiful dress, this process was so easy. I would rent another dress from rtr in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
December 24, 2012
I got sooooo many compliments on my dress. I really stood out that from everyone else that night.
I wear a sz 14, but 16 in a stretchy dress because of my oversized DDD breasts, and I still had to pin up the front. Thank God for my mom who was able to sow them together in a discreet and un-noticible way. Otherwise fit great around butt and thighs, and had enough sequins and rouching to mask the dips and lumps (with the help of Spanx of course). Looked and felt sexy and sparkly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2012
Eye Catching but Very Heavy!
I got this as a back up dress. I didn't wear it because the sequins weighed down the dress too much. I normally wear an 8 so I ordered an 8 and 10 as a back up. The 8 was too big and didn't flatter my figure like the model. I also have a large bust so the dress wasn't very tasteful. I would suggest going down a size or maybe even two if you have a small chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I did really love this dress, but it was pretty long -- I had to pin up the hem about 3 inches to make it a real "party dress". Definitely recommend for a more formal affair, it fit nicely and was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2012
A great dress with lots of sparkle.
This dress is a sure thing, appropriate for almost any event. The only issue is that the draping in the hips is a little voluminous, but overall really pretty and very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 1, 2013
This dress is a classic shape and elegant. Great for any occasion you can think of!
The dress fit great and was forgiving in the midsection area and in the back. The V-Neck was deep enough but not too deep. The sequins do scratch a little under your arms, but the dress makes you look so great it's totally worth it! I will definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
This dress was a perfect New Years Eve dress! I really loved it! Got a ton of compliments!
Its a little low cut but you can wear with a regular bra which is nice. It is fitted at the waist and pretty relaxed through the hips. I probably could have used a 4, but it was unavailable at the time of rental.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
January 15, 2013
Perfect!
Love this dress. I received tons of compliments. The dress is very forgiving and I really could have worn the Size 4. Other than that, I felt very comfortable and confident in the dress. I will definitely rent from RTR again. AND, recommend to my friends!
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 21, 2013
A very beautiful and comfortable dress.
Great to be able to wear a regular bra with this dress. Made it even more comfortable. If you have a tummy (and I do), it's very well-designed for you. A little pleating of the beautiful sequined fabric at the waist means your tummy isn't on show but you don't look pregnant. I think it looks short on the model but it was a very appropriate length for my formal business event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 23, 2013
This dress was so pretty on and very comfortable.
The strech fabric made this dress comfortable all night long. I really didn't want to send it back.
See more reviews:
1 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×