Manhattan Socialite Dress

$30 – $50 rental ?
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
576 reviews
Fit
Large
(65)
True to Size
(349)
Small
(56)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 21, 2016
Great time!
I absolutely love this designer and her dresses. However, the cleavage area on this dress was a little loose. I wear a 34 D and every time I leaned forward I felt like I was hanging out! I used a safety pin to try and cover up a bit, which helped. Other than that, I really enjoyed wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 18, 2016
I had my first baby earlier in the year- in the dress I felt beautiful and confident.
The fit was true to size, the sequins around the sleeves do scratch a bit so for those with really sensitive skin this might not be the most comfortable choice.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 17, 2016
Received tons of compliments and felt comfortable all night, even on the dance floor!
The dress fit perfectly thanks to the stretch in the fabric. It appears to be structured but under the sequins it has some give so it moves with your body really well. The bust line was a little low, but I was able to pin it to a more appropriate level and you couldn't tell at all. The only con was how stubborn the zipper was. If you've got a slightly broader than average rib cage/back, you'll definitely need a second set of hands to get this dress zipped up all the way! Paired with some sparkly earrings, bangles, a bold lip, and simple black shoes similar to those on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
November 14, 2016
Great fit but just didn't end up wearing it.
The dress fits pretty true to size. I liked how it fit and I brought it with me to Vegas. But I just didn't up wearing it. I would rent it again though.
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
November 10, 2016
Chose this lovely sequin dress to celebrate my best friend's bachelorette party in NYC!
This dress was perfect for the occasion! It fit great, hugged my curves and was easy to move around in. I would highly recommend it, especially for busty girls. It showcases just enough skin, and keeps it classy. Everyone was raving over it all night, and I felt like a million dollars. :) The only slightly negative thing was that my underarms by the bottom of the arm hole were slightly scratched from the sequins - but I expected that considering the dress design.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
November 7, 2016
Pretty dress
Pretty basic dress but it's perfect for a dressy occasion because it's sequins. Very low neckline so keep in mind you may need tape depending on your chest size.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 1, 2016
Received so many compliments on the dress!
Very comfortable, did not get stabbed by the sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 30, 2016
GORGEOUS dress, super comfortable...LOVE
This was a replacement last minute as my first choice was damaged. Customer service helped me to figure out sizing, I ordered a 2 and 4..I am typically a 0-2/XS in clothes. As many have reviewed, the zippers on both are terrible...I was afraid Id break the 4's zipper since it was so stuck, so i went with the 2. Fabric has a bit of give too..once on its stunning...a very flattering cut although, like others said, I worried the drape of the front made me look hippy. I had to pin the front since im small chested and it was way too low for me..then it was PERFECT...I loved it so much I wore it the next day at home just to have fun, lol...
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 26, 2016
Perfect for a Masquerade Murder Mystery dinner
I wore this for dress for a Masquerade Murder Mystery Dinner, it was perfect. Got tons of compliments, it was very pretty. It fit well everywhere except under the bust, it was really tight in that area and has no stretch. It was also a little difficult to zip and the zipper didn't lay flat. It's really low cut so shows lots of cleavage, which I'm okay with. That being said it was a great dress, I'm glad I went with it. *my profile wont update - I'm 5'-2", 165lbs, normally wear a size 12 which is the size of the dress I rented and I'm very busty as you can see from the pic 36DD
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 26, 2016
Little Black Dress on Fleek
I loved this dress and this process! Rented for my sorority line's 20th anniversary banquet where the dress code was advertised as cocktail/dressy. I was initially worried that the sequins would be overkill but it absolutely worked. The dress had oomph without being too sparkly. Size wise I feel the dress ran small. Other reviews reported differently. For me it was challenging around the bust and midsection. I wear 14s and 12s usually.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
October 13, 2016
This dress made me feel amazing- Showed off the "girls"!
This dress was SMALL. The 14 and the 16 were almost identical in size, which was frustrating. The gathered waist and sequins made the zipper stick. HOWEVER, I felt amazing in this dress and got a million compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
October 4, 2016
.
This was beautiful. The overall fit was good. The top was a bit big on me as I have a smaller chest than most of the girls in the pictures. It is also really low so if you're not comfortable with it being so low, look at other options. Overall, I had so many compliments on this dress!
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Other
October 1, 2016
Sexy and comfortable!
The dress fit great, but the zipper catches and was hard to zip.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 30, 2016
The entire bridal party(myself included) rented dresses from Rent the Runway & looked fabulous!
Of the two sizes ordered(sz6 & sz8) the six was the better fit. I felt like it was a little snug around my hips, but that is normal for me. I'm 6ft tall and my hips measure at bout 39." The 8 was too baggy in the waist so that was definitely a no go. Overall, the size six fit well and the dress was pretty comfortable. I was in it for 8-10 hours and considering it is a semi-formal dress it was comfortable. Now if only I could have said the same for my shoes. Haha. I recommend this item for a formal or semi-formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2016
Perfectly sparkly!
The dress fit great, and it was extremely comfortable. I felt confident and beautiful all night long. Wish I had remembered a safety pin because the girls were out to party all night, but overall loved this dress and plan on renting it in every color!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 26, 2016
Complements galore!
I usually wear a size 8-10. So when the 6 fit like a glove, it gave me an instant confidante boost. Compliments on the dress all night long, including the bride and my boyfriends grandmother, who kept asking me the next day where my pretty dress was. I am very pear shaped, little on top and curvy on the bottom. I would highly recommend this for any pear shaped girl. Very flattering, hides all the things you want it to. Appropriate length, hit me right above the knee. I was sad sending it back. Can't wait to rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2016
Great dress!
Great dress - true to size. The zipper is tight, and you'll likely need help getting it zipped - but once it's on it's real comfortable. You can wear a regular bra with this which is a huge plus - but it is very low cut, so if that makes you uncomfortable, this might not be the dress for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 215lbs
September 20, 2016
Had a great time at a fancy affair!
This fits true to size. It was very comfortable. It was a little longer than I wanted and of course my hips are bigger than my chest so the top a little big but not very noticeable. Looking to be comfy and dance all night then definitely rent this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 18, 2016
Loved the dress and recieved so many compliments!
I rented the 6 and 8. I found only a slight difference of the 8 being bigger. I almost went with the 8 for that extra bit of wiggle room, but the zipper didnt want to lay flat on my back side and kept curving up annoying me. The zipper ughhh very hard to manuver and I was so nervous to damage it. Loved the lower cut cleavage baring front.. just low enough to wow, but paired with the slightly longer length of the skirt kept it from being too much. Im 5'9 and it hit a couple inches above my knee. Loved tbat fact.. a couple other dresses i liked were just too short.. And being able to wear a regular bra was a bonus. I didnt find the sequins to itch or scratch once you actually got into the dress. No issues while dancing at all. Boobs stayed in place, bottom didnt ride up and arms didnt get scratched. The pictures I posted arent the best for highlighting this dress but show the chest and the length. This was my first rental and I will definitely be back!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2016
When it finally zipped up
This dress is exactly how it looks, it has a somewhat slimming design. The zipper gets stuck mid zip and took quite awhile to get it to line up right. It's stretchy enough to dance, but the sequins are scratchy under the arms. I had a lot of cleavage showing which normally isn't my thing so I spent much of the night pulling my dress together haha. All in all not a bad dress for the club in Vegas.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Age: 29
August 21, 2016
I loved this dress! I wore it for a video shoot with my wedding band and it look amazing on camera!
I was surprised that it ran slightly big. I loved the fit but, wish the length were a bit shorter. I typically wear a size 6 and I'm glad I got the 4 as a backup because I ended up wearing it. Great dress for someone who is bigger cheated.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Weight: 155lbs
August 9, 2016
Family friends wedding, formal venue.
Awesome dress! It was super comfortable. Both sizes fit, but the zipper on the 10 was really hard to get up because of the sequins. I was able to wear regular undergarments, which is always solid in my book.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 31, 2016
Perfect dress for formal bachelorette dinner and party
The dress is gorgeous on, very flattering… Fitted underneath the bust so you will most likely need to size up, as this area can be hard to zip. I typically wear a 14 but went with the 16 because it was much more comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
July 31, 2016
Pretty dress, but runs tight under bust and too loose in body
We had a Vegas bachelorette party where all the girls wore black and the bride wore white, and this was a good selection for the occasion. This was a very pretty dress but I felt frumpy with the long hemline and very loose fabric in the stomach. It actually fit just like a maternity dress and would be perfect for an expecting mommy, but not necessarily the feel I wanted for this seasoned, not-pregnant mom. The smaller size could have fit but the zipper would not go over the seam under the bust. I recommend this for pregnancies and anyone that has a tummy they want to hide.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2016
Great dress!!
The dress fit in both size 8 and 10 but 10 was more comfy, the girls were a little out there in this dress so if you r modest it may not be 4 u lol. Received a ton of complements and the dress was beautiful the shoulder straps on the larger size were a little loose but I think the 8 would have chafed my underarms to much. Thx for the dress I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
July 26, 2016
I wore this for my Engagement photo shoot and it was beautiful and photographed really well.
I ordered the 12 with a 14 back up and tried them on in the store just in case I needed an overnight size instead but they both fit very well. I ended up going with the 12 because the zipper was easier to maneuver. I only wore the dress for about 30 -40 minutes but it was very comfortable for that time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
July 25, 2016
I loved loved loved this dress!! It was very flattering and I received many compliments all night!!
I ordered a 12 and 14 because I am sort of in between the two sizes. The 14 fit the best and with the combination of eating and drinking at event I was comfortable in it all night. It fit true to size and everyone loved the dress!
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
July 23, 2016
Great dress!
Awesome dress! Looks great on and covered my bloated belly! The sequins are a tad bit itchy and the top is cut to show cleavage... Lots of cleavage. A pin is necessary if you don't want the ladies too exposed. I selected the 12 and 14. I ended up wearing the 14 because the zipper was so hard to get up on the 12. Overalls I was extremely satisfied.
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
July 21, 2016
Great dress
Fits great but was to big in the bust, both sizes. Other than that very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 19, 2016
Great dress for a bachelorette party!
Beautiful, comfortable dress worn for a bachelorette party. Ordered the 8 and the 10 and ended up going with the 10 since the band around the chest was a bit tight, although the 8 would have been totally doable as well. As other reviews mentioned, the zipper is a bit tricky since it's surrounded by sequined fabric and the armpits get a bit itchy after a while, but I wore this for 6+ hours without any issue. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
July 18, 2016
Perfect dress for a wedding! Really happy with my choice!
This was my first order with RTR and I was little nervous about sizing, but this dress fit perfectly! Pros: it's a perfect wedding guest dress! The sparkles really stand out and it's nice and comfortable for a night of dancing. Cons: the middle piece is a little thicker with fabric and it was somewhat hard to zip up just that part. Also, I have really long hair and from the minute I put the dress on, my hair constantly stuck to the sequins on the dress. All night I was pulling my hair out of the sequins and it was kind of a pain. Overall great first experience with RTR and really loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 17, 2016
Cute dress for wedding
Fit was a little bit big overall. I had to safety pin the boob area a bit so nothing fell out! Cute though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
July 17, 2016
Love this fit
Great for busty girls. The sequins didn't scratch me. I have worn this dress in two other colors for two other formal events. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Lots of people comment on the sparkle factor, very flattering and very fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
July 17, 2016
Feeling confident and finding a dress was easy
Fit perfect and was so comfortable. I was able to wear a regular bra which was so nice. It was perfect for mj even!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 15, 2016
Bachelorette Party Dress
Amazing! Runs true to size. Forgiving in the hip and tummy area. Definitely shows off your chest so you may need some tape. This is the 3rd time I have rented this style. It's perfect!
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2016
Very well made and comfortable dress! I was impressed on how comfortable a sequins dress could be!
Pros: quality, style Cons: zipper was a little difficult to zip
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 10, 2016
Perfect for Vegas
I rented this dress at the vegas store. I loved it. It was comfortable and perfect for vegas night out! The neckline was a little too reveling for me. The store said they had a pin I could borrow so the bust didn't show as much but they forgot to give it to me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 7, 2016
Felt like 1,000,000 bucks
Loved this dress! Went to Vegas for my birthday and wore this out to the clubs. Felt beautiful, secure, and looked great! Highly recommend
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
July 4, 2016
Sparkles everywhere
A bit itchy along the seams, very little give.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Wedding
July 2, 2016
Compliments galore
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I'm very self conscious about my stomach but I love my butt, waist and boobs. This hid my problem areas and emphasized what I liked. I had dozens of people come up to me and tell me how much they liked my dress and no one believed it was rented and I had just gotten it two days prior. I did have to pin it in the chest area (picture was after the pinning) (with an E cup size I didn't expect less) or else it would have been even more exposing. I thought it was gonna be itchy and uncomfortable but I was very very comfortable in it. Overall I'd give it a ten out of ten. My only (minor) complaint was that my hair kept getting stuck in the sequins all night.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 15
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×