Manhattan Socialite Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
511 reviews
Fit
Large62
True to Size326
Small52
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
May 2, 2016
Waist is too low, runs small
Runs small, waist falls lower than I'd expect making the top look baggy and there is too much fabric (making me look larger). Returned, did not wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
April 28, 2016
Comfortable, cool dress
I got the long version of this for a wedding last fall and picked this for a concert I was playing. Great length to sit in, not super short, so comfortable, love the sparkliness and draping. You can wear a normal bra with it, which is fantastic. Absolutely loved it.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
April 25, 2016
Worn as bridesmaid dress, so classy & pretty! Easy to wear all night and dance in'
Fit was perfect and I run between 2 & 4 usually
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 17, 2016
Love this dress
I rented the gold first and loved it so I decided to try with the black. Very pretty and lots of compliments. Such a flattering fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 17, 2016
I am glad they provide options for various dresses and sizes.
Did not use this dress. Would not zip up in back. Glad it was my backup.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 14, 2016
I got so many compliments in person and online about this dress! It was AWESOME, fit & looked great!
The zipper was really HARD to get up. I think it was due to it being an invisible zipper with all the sequins. My husband's remark was "let me get the pliers!" but we got it up... put your hands on your hips, line up the zipper and go! The sequins were soft and did not rub on my skin or cause me to have a rash, and I have a sensitive skin! LOVED THIS DRESS, I didn't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Weight: 185lbs
April 11, 2016
Fun sparkly cocktail dress!
This is a great fun sparkly dress. It's comfortable and easy to wear (no spanx needed!) The zipper can be a little challenging with all the sequins. Also, it's pretty low cut in the front, and if you've got a larger chest, a safety pin or tape will help to keep things in place. Got lots of compliments on this fun dress!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
April 6, 2016
This dress was so comfortable and I didn't feel too pudgy in it like I usually do.
I have a wider back and found the size true to fit...pic shows where it landed slightly above knee so not as short as the model pic. I didn't find the scratchy sequins a problem though I could see how some could be sensitive to it. The zipper was hard to pull up (hence didn't get it fully up for my pic here) but with a little help got through that one spot with thick material. Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2016
Sparkly and Formal
I got this is a back-up dress but it was too small to consider wearing. Good thing I liked my first choice! Normally I'm a 2 (or XS or S) with my RTR choices, so I was surprised with this one. I'm smallest around the waist and ribs but was worried I wouldn't be able to breathe, bend or eat. Go up for your back up size in this one.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
April 3, 2016
Everyone saying how they loved the dress, even guys!
It fit great, super comfortable to wear. Others may comments on their reviews about how it was scratchy, it never bothered me. It was a hard dress to get low on the dance floor! ;-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
April 3, 2016
Loved this dress
Loved this dress! I rented this for a bachelorette party when I was 21 weeks pregnant. The zipper is a little hard to get up near the middle seam (not because it's too small, because it's hard when you're not wearing the dress too) and a little rough on the underarms because of the sequins but other than that it was awesome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 29, 2016
007 Bond Girl Dress
Rented this dress for a 007 James Bond event. Perfect outfit for this new mama (3 months postpartum) to hide my tummy and feel pretty. Super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 22, 2016
Great dress!
Fits very true to size. As other reviewers mentioned the zipper is tricky so turn the dress backwards, zip it up, then turn it around and put your arms through if your size allows. Looks great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 14, 2016
This dress was great for New Year's Eve
This dress got the job done. I didn't feel really beautiful in it but I felt pretty. It's a great dress for New Years Eve. Easy to dance in and fun to wear. I wear a 4 and this dress was true to size. Does not show off cleavage or anything too scandals. This dress is alright.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 9, 2016
Beautiful dress!
We had an adult prom to attend and I had no reason to purchase a dress, so a friend recommended RTR. Wow! I decided to rent a 14 and a 16, most dresses I wear a 14, however I am a little large in the chest so wanted to make sure I wouldn't have any issues. Glad I ordered a size up, because the 14 was tight in the chest as I had worried. The 16 was a little large, but it looked beautiful and I was comfortable all night. Tons of compliments! I will most definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
March 4, 2016
This dress was comfortable and perfectly bump friendly.
I wore this dress 22 weeks pregnant with a little bump and found it to be very comfortable and forgiving. The tight part hit right above my bump, which meant I was able to wear my normal size so the straps/top fit perfectly. With a lot of sequin dresses, you get some rubbing under the arms, but I was in this for 6+ hours and didn't have that happen at all. Definitely recommend, especially for the price!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2016
The simple dress worked well with my accessories for a 1920s wedding. It's a very flattering fit
Flattering, easy fit. The one I got was already pinned in the bust, unlike the one I tried in the store- which is useful it can be a bit low cut. It's also a bit low cut in the back- I was able to wear a regular bra but needed to select one with a thiner back band.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
March 3, 2016
Loved this dress! Very flattering!
This dress fits true to size, it is very flattering. Covered up my pooch. I received many compliments. The only con is the zipper! It is SUPER hard to zip up! Also, if you are bustier it is a little low cut. I pinned it and was able to make it work. Overall I LOVED this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 26, 2016
Well, I picked up a super hot lady in this dress.
For a short woman, the straps were a little long. So the whole, "can be worn with a bra" thing was NOT true for me. At all. I was free-boobing in this thing. But, nothing fell out. It did get a bit hairy sometimes in that regard. But the dress was shockingly comfortable, even with the sequins. I have really sensitive skin and sequins irritate my skin really easily. But this wasn't bad at all. Plus, I looked super hot. Solid A- grade.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2016
I rented this for a NYE wedding; it fit very well and was a fun dress!
Well made dress- fit great! Only downside is after wearing all day and night my underarms were raw from the material rubbing against my skin.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
February 21, 2016
I wore this to a New Years Eve party.
I received so many compliments wearing this dress!
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
February 18, 2016
Best deal EVER!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I felt so fancy in a dress that I would have never been able to afford otherwise. I read several reviews that the sequins were scratchy, and I didn't have that experience at all. I think it was fit true to size and was totally flattering on the tummy area. I would absolutely order from rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 17, 2016
Made me feel amazing. Got so many compliments.
I loved this dress so much! Unfortunately I'm bad at taking pictures and have none from the evening. I'm pretty curves with a bigger chest and wide hips but a small waist and this fit me perfectly. The sequins didn't scratch AT ALL which was a huge plus. I wore this for a fraternity formal in New Orleans and my 21st birthday (they were on the same day). I would 100% wear this dress again. I wore the long version in gold for my sorority formal and that was also perfect. The only thing I can say is that I had to tape the front a little so it would stay in place and my boobs didn't fall out. But that could've been because I'm on the busty side. Rent this dress!! You won't regret it!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2016
Perfect fit, perfect shape!! I would definitely wear this again :)
The fit was perfect! It hugged all the right places :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Weight: 145lbs
February 10, 2016
The black made it understated, but the sparkle made me shine!
This dress was very comfortable for my long evening - there was some stretch in the tummy area, but I didn't mind since my night included a 4-course dinner! The dress was a bit heavy, but since the straps were thick it was okay (and it helped from the dress riding up on my thighs). My biggest complaint was how exposed by bosom was -- I am pretty well endowed (D-cup) and I had to pin it in a few places so I wasn't over-exposed!
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 225lbs
January 31, 2016
Loved this dress. All night compliments and super comfy! Perfect dress for dancing the night away!
This dress was perfect for a party! Surprisingly didn't irritate my arms like most sequence dresses. This dress is on the top of my list for a possible rerental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
January 20, 2016
Fun party dress!
This was great for a boozy party where I wanted to be comfy but cute. The armpits were scratchy but I would still wear this again! There is some stretch so I could've sized down but went for the larger option.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 18, 2016
Super sparkly and tween daughter approved!
I rented the 12 and 14 based on previous reviews and it fit fine. I wasn't super in love with the gathered material in the waist, which is why I gave it 4 stars. I probably should have pinned the v together to keep some cleavage covered since I was at an event with my daughter, and I ended up not wearing a bra at all because my bra gave me more lift and therefore more cleavage. This was my first rental and I loved the whole process! I can't wait to rent again next month.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 15, 2016
This was my first RTR experience! Excellent website service and delivery!
The dress was perfect, and very flattering! It was comfortable and fit well, this event was a casino Christmas party and it was appropriate for the theme of the party! I had several compliments . This designer is one I will chose again! Also I really liked the accessories I ordered. I do think the dress runs a bit long, so for a petite it was just the right length for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Age: 40
January 14, 2016
Pretty and comfortable!
This dress is very pretty! I wore it to a New Years Eve dinner in Vegas. The 4 was a bit tight in the rib cage so I wore the 6 and it was big in the top. I had to use fabric tape in the v and pinned it in the back. However I loved the dress and how comfortable it was.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
January 13, 2016
Loved the sparkle. Perfect black tie optional dress
Found the dress last minute in Georgetown/DC for a wedding. Little snug in the arms since I usually wear a 6. But very comfortable, easy to dance in and got compliments all night. Would absolutely rent again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
January 12, 2016
Great dress, fits nicely. Give in all the right places.
The dress is very pretty and fit well but the dress was very used and the zipper didn't work great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2016
Comfortable & beautiful! Would definitely rent again.
This dress was fantastic. I received so many compliments on it throughout the night. I wore a size up due to the zipper. When zipped up, it was quite snug up top. But, as I am very small chested, was very beneficial for me. I loved this dress & would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
January 6, 2016
Perfect for New Years Eve!
The dress fit well and was perfect for NYE. The dress was a little longer than I had wanted (it came to my knees) and the zipper was problematic. Overall, the dress was great and I'd rent again!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2016
Pregnant on NYE
Second time using RTR and loving my dress. I was 4 1/2 months pregnant when I rented this with a small bump, you couldn't even tell I was pregnant. This dress makes your boobs look great, they're definitely on display but because the dress is about knee length it's not trashy looking. Only con is the zipper. I tried on the 4&6 and both zippers were extremely difficult to zip up. My poor husband tried for 10 minutes before it finally got zipped all the way up.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
January 4, 2016
Loved the sparkles
A little tight around the middle but still was able to wear my normal size
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 172lbs
January 4, 2016
I rented this dress for NYE this year.
I really liked it, it fit a bit snug under the best but the rest fir great. ultimately I returned this dress without wearing it. It turned out not to be right for me for this event. Also the zipper kept getting stuck at the waist seem. even with the size twelve we had trouble zipping it up and that size was large on me. overall the look of the dress and the sticky zipper made this not the right dress for this occasion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2016
Lot of compliments. The fun sequins were just right for a NYE house party that I hosted.
Fit well. It would be a bit better if I had bigger boobs: it was cut to wow if you had cleavage!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2016
Dress was perfect for New Year's Eve Party.
The dress fit great but the zipper was EXTREMELY difficult to get up and down. I was afraid I was going to break it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2016
Beautiful dress!
I felt more comfortable in the 6 vs the 8 - definitely order a size down. I'm 5'6 and the dress hit right at knees ( not short like the picture shows ) straps are very loose, even in the smaller size. My underarms were a bit red from rubbing against the fabric. Other then that it was fun Andy easy to wear. I felt very comfortable and everyone loved it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×