Badgley Mischka

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$40 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and a ring like the Dannijo's Coco Ring.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

353 reviews

Fit
Small 39
True to Size 245
Large 52
Photos 206
Mandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is beautiful. It was also very comfortable and easy to move in. I received lots of compliments on how fun and sparkly it is. It is cold where I live so I put a little black leather jacket over it and it worked perfect.
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Perfect for a night out with friends.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was classy yet fun and was forgiving in the tummy and hip area which is where I was most concerned. The dress has a lining that makes it a bit thicker so as times I felt like it wasn't as flatterening because I felt "thick" but overall I felt comfortable and was happy.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Not my favorite but not bad.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Goofy photo from my husband's party, but shows most of the dress. I got compliments and I liked the sequins but I wasn't a fan of the cut. I have a short-ish waist and I prefer sheath to empire and this was close but more empire than I wanted. I wore a 4 which fit fine in the top but the skirt portion just wasn't cut well for me and not particularly flattering I didn't think. It is less fitted in the skirt and sort of flares out at the waist in a non-beneficial way. The length was fine about mid-thigh and age appropriate. The sequins were scratchy on the arms a bit but nothing that was a deal breaker. You need a helper to zip it up for sure as one functional note. Overall it was fine but I wouldn't wear it again which makes me SO glad it was just a rented dress.
M
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

I received many compliments on my dress. Everyone liked the sparkles.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The neckline dipped very low and I needed to secure it so my bra didn't show. Overall, the fit was very comfortable.
ashley
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 16, 2012

I felt like an absolute unstoppable diva for my 25th birthday!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit INCREDIBLY well! It was true to size and fit my bust; I was a little worried about that because I read other reviews. It fit me like a GLOVE and i didn't have any problems with itching or chaffing. I looked like a sparkly dream and my friends, boyfriend, and loved ones raved over how remarkable the dress was and how amazing I looked. What a way to ring in the 25th year! Have NO doubts about this dress; you'll be absolutely ravishing!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 16, 2012

This dress was very flattering and fun to wear. I got lots of compliments and people loved the idea!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit pretty well and I was told that it was very flattering. It's a bit low cut in the chest but that wasn't an issue for me, luckily. The zipper does stick on the sequins a bit and can be hard to pull up yourself(the size 8 was sticking so bad that I didn't even wear it). Overall It's very comfortable and fun dress to wear.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

RTR made it very easy. I spent less then I normally do for a fantastic dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was a little big. I choose a 6 and 4 and wore the 4 that was still a little big but fine for the event. I did pin the dress - a little too much cleavage for a work event. Overall I liked the dress and received many compliments. I would use RTR again.
Mattie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I did really love this dress, but it was pretty long -- I had to pin up the hem about 3 inches to make it a real "party dress". Definitely recommend for a more formal affair, it fit nicely and was very comfortable!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

This dress was a perfect New Years Eve dress! I really loved it! Got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Its a little low cut but you can wear with a regular bra which is nice. It is fitted at the waist and pretty relaxed through the hips. I probably could have used a 4, but it was unavailable at the time of rental.
Lissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Jan 11, 2013

I wore this dress to a winter wedding reception and got a ton of compliments! So comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress and so appropriate for a formal winter party with family. The top was a bit loose but I could wear a normal bra because the v-back was just low enough. The zipper is tough to move past the waist because of the gathering and sequins and requires assistance. The stretch throughout allows for great movement to sit, dance...etc. Overall, a very comfortable dress that packs a lot of sparkle and glamour!
Lacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 13, 2013

Black Sparkly Dress + Winter Wedding = Great Success!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, style was impeccable, and the dress was in really good shape. This was my first time renting, so that was my primary worry. The process was super easy and I got compliments all night! Also didn't have any discomfort from the amount of sequins on the dress--I worried about how it would go under the arms, if it would scratch me up, but not a problem! Sorry that I look crazy in the picture!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 23, 2013

Fabulous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 6, but the reviews said to order down, and the 4 fit perfectly! It's the ultimate LBD!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 156 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

Loved it! Super comfortable and glamorous!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super comfortable! I tried it on at the RTR LivingSocial pop-up in gold and decided to rent it in black. I felt great in it and received a ton of compliments. Great dress.
Amberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Stunning!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great...loved the front of the dress how it gathered around the tummy area. Amazing dress!!! RTR is awesome....the whole process was so easy. I will be a return customer!! Thanks RTR for such a great night.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Absolutely loved this dress!! It was perfect for a Mardi Gras dinner party.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would definitely recommend this dress for anyone looking to stand out in a crowd! The dress was absolutely gorgeous! I received so many compliments and was excited to share that I rented the dress from an amazing site! The dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. I opted to wear tights because it happened to be 16 degrees the night of the Mardi Gras dinner party!! The only thing was the zipper was a little hard to get up because of the fabric and the sequins. Just be careful whenever moving the zipper up and down. I cannot wait for my next Rent the Runway experience!!!!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 12, 2013

Wore it for the 2013 Grammy Awards

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
LOVE this dress. It's a bit stretchy so very comfortable, and you can wear a normal bra with it which I love. Would definitely receommend it. Probably rent a size down as your extra size.
Bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Very cute and comfortable.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The neckline was a little low for me at first but I got used to it. Stayed in place; regular bra was never an issue (I.e. it didn't show).
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 13, 2013

Glitzy but surprisingly comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for an office holiday party and I was happy with it overall. I'm a definite hour glass shape, so I usually wear a size 6 but often will wear a size 8 too. I got both a 6 and 8, and the 8 was way too big but the 6 fit pretty well (I kind of wonder if I should have tried a 4 though). I was happy that it was low cut but not too revealing... but the way the fabric gather does make you look extra chest-y (which I wasn't crazy about). It was super comfortable and very sparkly... so I was pretty pleased overall!
Reta
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2013

This dress fit like a glove and was perfect for showing off my curves.

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal fundraising gala. I got plenty of compliments for this dress. It showed off my figure and accentuated my waist. It has plenty of stretch to accommodate my curvy hips and chest. This dress is fully lined and VERY comfortable. The sequins and front ruching disguised my tummy well. The downside was that the zipper was a bit bulky and was ever prevented the dress from laying smooth along the back. I would most definitely wear this dress again!
Melinda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2013

Beautiful dress that's flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress does run large, and I appreciate the other reviews that suggested ordering the second dress a size smaller, as that's the one I wore. The dress is surprisingly comfortable, with the bonus of a normal bra working with it . Assistance is required with the zipper - it's sticky getting it past the seam, and you need somebody who's not afraid to give a good tug. Definitely recommend this dress for a cocktail attire type event!
AchAy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

I wore this for a 1920s themed wedding. I used champagne accents so I'd match my gf who was in it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great, I got the gold version as a back up, but this one was definitely cut differently. I do have some war wounds under my arms from the sequins and I wondered if I was ever going to be able to get the dress on, and then off due to the crazy zipper! I feel it hid my belly well, and made me look like I actually have hips.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

I felt like a million dollars!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I hosted a charity fashion show at my school for pediatric cancer research and when it was my turn to walk at the end of the show I felt so confident and received so many compliments after the show! It was so comfortable! The only thing is that I am not large-chested so it was little too big in the chest area. Definitely wear sticky boobs (what I did) or no-bra with it because a strapless bra will be visible unless you safety pin it.
Heather
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Sparkly and AMAZING!!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress and got so many compliments! I wore this to a bachelorette party and even though we spent 80% of our time at a country bar, I got so many compliments on it. It was a little short for my usual taste, but nothing major. Definately if I ever rent this one again, I would wear spanx--the cut of the skirt in back was different and I felt like my butt was huge. Overall, it was really comfortable and the neckline was just perfect. Highly recommend this dress if you love the SPARKLE!!
Mary Frances
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Be a "knock out" in Badgley Mischka!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had the fabulous opportunity to meet the designers Badgley Mischka themselves at a cocktail party promoting their new eyewear line! Dressing to impress, I wore one of their highly rated dresses, the Manhattan Socialite. It's comfortable, sexy and very flattering to the figure. I also wore their earrings which dazzled. I went to the ballet later on that evening and was perfectly suited for both events in that gorgeous dress.
Lilly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

I wore this at an awards ceremony I attended with my family.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall the dress was on the large side, but the bust was especially large and definitely needed the fashion tape RTR sent.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Great dress, very comfortable and I got a lot of complements!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is true to size, but I would go down a size for your back up. Very comfortable and nice to be able to wear a regular bra. Great, flattering fit.
Audrey
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2013

Perfect for a sorority formal!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hit me in all the right places. I received many compliments. Although it is made of sequins which you might think could be uncomfortable, the lining of it is very comfortable. I would recommend this dress to girls who may be a little body-conscious but still want to make a statement! I would suggest wearing minimal jewelry because the dress is an accessory in of itself.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Apr 4, 2013

A beautiful fun dress for a great cause

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was gorgeous remaining classy but also an element of fun. It was perfect for the semi formal gala I attended Fit was true to size. The 4 fit but I felt better in the 6 for length to accommodate my pear.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Apr 4, 2013

I should probably just buy it...

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress in blue last October for a wedding and decided to get it as a back-up dress for my bachelorette party in March! I got it in black, and ultimately ended up wearing it instead of the other dress I rented. This dress just fits so well! And I was comfortable in it all night long. I should probably just buy this dress - I love it so much!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Talk of Chi-Town!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit beautifully! I am really glad RTR gives you two sizes, because the 4 fit a lot better than the 6. I wore this to my sister's Bachelorette party in Chicago (they are pictured also in RTR dresses) and we were complimented all night. It is cut low in the front and back; my black bra was exposed a little in the back. I 100% recommend this dress and felt very glamorous! Thank you once again RTR!
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

Felt beautiful!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 12 but I put on a little weight so I had to size up. But the 14 wasn't available for the date of the wedding so I had to size up again. So I ordered two sizes; my regular 12 and the 16. The 12 was a struggle to zip up so I wore the 16. It felt a little loose in the strap and was longer than I think it was supposed to be but overall I think it fit beautifully. I felt skinny despite the weight gain! Extremely flattering and forgiving on my belly. It was the right amount of sexy, dressy, and classy.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

You look like a celebrity!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the gold version of this dress recently, so I knew what to expect with the black one. As I said in an earlier review, the dress fit a little bit large, but it was overall nice. Very sparkly, and the neckline was quite flattering. The bodice of the dress, while flattering, fit slightly larger and the rouching made it a bit puffy and less form-fitting than I would have liked. The length was a bit long as well, but I'm on the shorter side (5'4"). Overall, liked the dress and it was good for my event with colleagues.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 5, 2013

Last minute change in plans left me without a dress, RTR saved the day.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. The zipper was a little tricky going over the seem in the back; you need an extra hand. I got complements from people I didn't even know. Everyone loves this dress.
Mama K
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 8, 2013

Classy and comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
What I loved about the dress: I could wear a normal bra, it wasn't too short, comfortable to move around in. What I didn't love: I felt like the dress was a little bulky and wasn't particularly flattering to my figure. The sequins also made it very difficult to zip up. Overall, the dress was suitable for my event, but didn't "wow" me. I'll definitely rent from RTR again though- the entire process was very easy.
Anna
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Body type: Hourglass
May 26, 2013

Fit wonderfully, and flattered my chest and hid my tummy.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
For ladies with a larger chest, it's going to be out there, so make it work. The shape is really good for big hips, though. (Esp with a little help from shape-wear).
Ktina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2013

The dress was at my hotel waiting for me when I arrived for vacation.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The dress was a true fit. It was very slimming and complemented my body. The sequins were hard to sit in though.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Great dress for a sparkly bachelorette party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was super comfortable and versatile. I wore it for my best friend's bachelorette party, which had a "sparkle" theme. I ordered the 8 and the 10; I could have worn the 10, but the 8 fit better in the chest area. The zipper was a pain to get up, but I was happy the dress could be worn with a regular bra. Fun to dress up with bright jewelry (I also rented some kate spade earrings) and shoes! The only con was that--while it definitely can be flattering on many figures--I thought it accentuated my hips a little bit more than I would have liked.
Myra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Many compliments

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a last resort dress... the two I originally ordered didn't fit, and they didn't have another size to send me. It's definitely unique, and caught attention. It's not too flashy, and people liked it. But, I didn't feel very pretty in it. I didn't like the waist line and it didn't look very flattering on me. I was impressed with the RTR customer service, as then ensured that the dress was overnighted to my hotel and arrived before noon. Even though I plan on renting again, I'm nervous about having a similar experience the next time.
Niki
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184 lbs
Jun 27, 2013

This was so easy to rent, wear, and return.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great. Was hard to zip. My boyfriend, at one point said, I'm gonna need some pliers. But I think that's normal with the hidden zipper + sequins. But we got it. (Without the help of any pliers!) Low cut but not anything inappropriate. I was able to get my dance on and be comfortable!!!
Colleen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 21, 2013

I loved how easy RTR makes it for us. Couldn't have been more pleased with this experience :)

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It was true to size and it fit really well. I'm normally a 12, but ended up wearing the 14 because the wedding was held at a Brazilian steakhouse (where you are expected to eat...and eat...and eat) and I wanted the extra room and not feel like I was stuffed into a dress all day. I'm tall (5'9) and the dress went right above my knees. It was a bit low cut in the cleavage area so thank goodness for that fashion tape lol. The back of the dress went up fairly high and the straps were wide enough that I was able to wear a regular bra without any straps showing. It wasn't too clingy and it gave you plenty of breathing room. The sequins were a bit scratchy, but nothing too bad. Great dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×