Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$50 – $85 rental
$935 retail
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1122 reviews
Fit
Large
(64)
True to Size
(722)
Small
(102)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 21, 2015
Many compliments on this dress, casual but gorgeous
Tight in the right areas, overall very flattering. The slit makes it a little more interesting as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
August 31, 2015
Great dress!
Wore this dress to a holiday party for my boyfriend's company. It was a perfect fit, the long sleeves kept me warm in the winter weather and the gathering was very flattering. I was not wearing flats the the dress was too long but I was able to pin it along the slit so that I didn't
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
September 14, 2015
It looked and felt great!!!
I've never received more compliments on a solid black dress...stunning draping
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
October 7, 2015
Comfortable, but also very "safe" - definitely needs a statement necklace or jewelry.
I thought the dress was an attractive option for a black tie wedding. I'm 5'7", 117lbs, thin build. I ordered a 0L and a 2L I'm usually in between sizes. The 0 they sent must have been regular, because it was WAY too short. The fit was great on the 0, but no one wants a high-water dress, so I went with the 2L, and it was fine. The fabric swooping around the hips was a bit stretched out, I'm assuming from all the wear. If I owned the dressed, that fabric would need to be pulled and altered, as it laid on the hips, not the best place to highlight! Pinning it up a bit will help. The top portion fit beautifully, but definitely needs a necklace or something to break up all of the black fabric and coverage. I wore my hair up in a messy ponytail long drop earrings.
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 11, 2015
Great!
I usually wear a size 2 or 4 but in this dress the 2L fit perfect. I'm 5'8" and with high shoes it was just right.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 27, 2015
ran small
Pretty Dress. I'm 5'9 and a size 6. I think I would have needed a 10 in this dress for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
October 27, 2015
Gorgeous but short
This dress has draping in all the right places. However, I'm 5'5 and it barely came up to my ankles. I reordered in a Long size. Here's hoping that I can wear it with heels. The dress itself is stunning but if you're over 5'4, definitely go for the long size.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
November 2, 2015
Beautiful drape
While it might look like a simple black dress, the fabric draping on the hips, strategic ruching at the bust and mid-thigh slit make this truly exceptional. The 14 fit, but sized up to 16 for length. Incredibly comfortable, glamorous and easy.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 16, 2015
This was a really great dress - super comfortable!
This dress was very flattering. It was form fitting but not too tight, sexy but not revealing, and kept me warm in the chilly building. The best way to describe this dress is understated elegance. Great with a statement necklace or earrings!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 191lbs
November 16, 2015
Beautiful dress. Would rent again
It fit perfect. Was a lifesaver as I am up and down in size. I wore it to my daughters wedding and got many compliments
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
November 17, 2015
Honoring my daughter at this gala and being very comfortable in this dress.
This is an excellent sight...I will definitely use it again if the need arises and will definitely let other people know if they need a dress. Very convenient and affordable. Awesome experience.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 22, 2015
Dress drapes really well, but the long size left something to be desired
I fit much better in the 6L, but the dress was not long enough. It barely skimmed the ground so wearing even a low heel would look ridiculous. The 8L fit great in terms of length (I wore a kitten heel), but the overall fit was not nearly as good as the smaller size. It was just a little too big and didn't hug my body the way the dress was intended to. The dress itself is really beautiful though and the fabric draped well... just maybe consider the length if you are around my height and weight.
sadeJanuary 13, 2016
Hi, What is your height?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 28, 2015
loved this, received many compliments. simple and sexy
Loved the way this dress fit. I am curvy and dont like to accentuate but this dress made me feel great
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
December 1, 2015
Very elegant!
Fit true to size for me. Slimming and forgiving with lots of stretch. Felt sexy without showing a lot! Perfect backdrop for beautiful jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 7, 2015
Felt great in this dress!
Slimming and easy to wear! I went for the 4L, as it was all thats available, but it worked fine with a good pair of heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2015
I felt confident in this dress, which always makes for a great night!
The dress was beautiful. The slit is not as high as indicated in photo, nor is it in the front, but more to the side. The dress has some draping detail across front that had to be sorted out as it was not done prior to coming to me. The lining shifted a lot during the evening. It was a stretchy, heavy fabric that was perfect for a winter event. The long was still a tad short when paired with normal heels.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
December 8, 2015
This dress is so flattering, it's unbelievable.
It has ruching around the belly and down the back to cover some trouble areas and it also somehow pulls you in at the waist giving you incredible shape, I was getting compliments all night long.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
December 10, 2015
I've never felt more beautiful! I got so many compliments. It hugged in all the right places!!
The fit was perfect. However, there was a ripple to the zipper in the back which annoyed me at first (and you will need help zipping!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2015
Great fit, classy, so many compliments!
There were lots of thin layers that rode up and needed to be managed via a visit to the bathroom to adjust them. I was warm, covered, and I felt sexy and appropriate for the event.
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 4, 2016
Classy dress
I ordered the 4L and 2L and wore size 2L. I'm 5.7 and 123 lbs. It fit well but I gave it 3 stars because it had a tiny (but visible) hole on the sleeve and I couldn't wear the 4L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
January 7, 2016
Classy Yet Sexy! Will Definitely Rent Again
This dress is amazing, and I am beyond bummed out that I never actually got to wear it, due to a change in plans. I had planned to wear it as my New Year's Eve dress, and it would have been PERFECT! The quality and fit were both fantastic; although I was covered up, I still felt so sexy because the structure is so flattering. The slit up the leg in particular was perfect ... it gave just the right amount of leg. Length was fine for me too, which is tricky because I'm short. Basically, when I tried this dress on for NYE (just for fun), my boyfriend was insisting I just go ahead and wear it regardless, because he liked it so much. Thank goodness I didn't.. I would've looked ridiculous at the informal event we went to, where people wore sweatshirts and sneakers. Sooo sad, but will definitely be renting this one again!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2016
Comfortable, comfortable, comfortable! Giving fabric. I received a lot of compliments on it.
Size fits well and it hangs nicely. There was a big difference between the 6 and 8. I decided to go with the 8 because the size 6 was way too short. almost as if it was altered. The 8 was a little big through the waist and hips - but overall still looked great and I received a ton of positive compliments - so although not perfect, it was a win for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174lbs
January 12, 2016
Very forgiving dress for a recent weight gain.
This is a very forgiving dress. I am usually a size 12 but have put on about 15 pounds in the past 6 months so wasn't feeling good about my prospects for a dress. This dress fit well and I felt good in it. It did a good job of masking my tummy. Other reviewers wrote about the weird slip configuration inside the dress - I did not find that to be true. I am 5"6" and the long length worked perfectly with 3" heels. The zipper was a bit sticky but not a problem once it got up.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 74
January 14, 2016
Don't think I've ever received as many compliments on anything I've ever worn.
It fit perfectly except for the length. I'm 5'3" and was told the 4R would be okay but it was about 3" too long (so gently basted it up). Didn't include the photo because the lighting was such that the beautiful draping at the hips doesn't show at all. Would definitely rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2016
Wish I took a photo in this beaute!
This dress was perfect! I rented both the regular and the long, but ended up wearing the long bc I'm 5'5" and wore 4.5" heels. The material is like spandex but thicker, so it was stretchy in the right places (arms), and the ruching in the front hid my tummy perfectly. There's a sexy slit in the leg, I will definitely rent this dress 100 more times. It was perfect!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 208lbs
January 20, 2016
It was a really nice dress. Simple yet sophisticated in the details and attention grabbing.
I didn't have to add too many accessories- Just some nice bracelets and long earrings. I did notice that the sleeves were short on me for some reason so I ended up pulling them up. Also the length of the 12L compared to the 14L was a little shorter. I would've preferred the length of the 14L on the 12L Overall, beautiful dress and an amazing experience using RTR for the first time.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
January 26, 2016
It was easy. I didn't have to worry about finding a dress.
None.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 3, 2016
Dress was beautiful. Fit great.
The fit was perfect. Length was long enough too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2015
I rented this dress for my law school Barrister's Ball (law school prom). The theme was Roaring 20s.
The dress was nice and fit well from the waist up, however the dress was extremely short. I'm not sure if the one that I got was defective but I ended up having to go with another outfit. I did explain the situation with my dress to RTR and they were very gracious and refunded my rental via RTR credit, which I will be using for the next Barrister's ball.
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
October 20, 2014
The dress was very nice but it was very short.
If you are tall DO NOT GET THIS DRESS! I am 5'11 and this dress was at my shins! The slit is also much higher then pictured on the model. If you are a little shorter, this is a beautiful gown for any formal affair.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2016
This dress is perfect for a black tie event!
The dress fit perfectly, although if I had it to do again, I would have gone a size smaller as it is stretchy and does not run small. The dress still looked great. The only issue I had was the zipper broke before I even left for the event. I ended up using safety pins to keep the dress closed in the back for the remainder of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2016
Classy dress!
Fit true to size and was very comfortable.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 29, 2016
LOVED this dress!!
The materials hugged my body perfectly, and the draping hid my belly and hips. Seriously made me feel like a million dollars. The leg slit adds enough skin that I didn't feel like a prude with a full sleeve-high neck dress. The material was heavy, but there were only a couple times I was really hot, and that was after dancing. Would rent again if my whole family hadn't seen me in this already!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
March 1, 2016
Very comfortable dress to wear, many compliments on how nice I looked.
The dress fits well, has a bit of give, I'm a size larger on top, with smaller hips so this fit me well. The zipper is a bit of a pain to get up so needed help with that. I felt elegant and comfortable all night.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
March 3, 2016
I did not end up wearing this dress.
The dress itself fit very well; however, it was a little short. I am 5'7 and it didn't even touch the floor barefoot. I ended up going with another dress. If you are taller than 5'5 and plan on wearing heels, I would recommend getting the Long
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 6, 2016
The dress fit perfectly the only thing was the sleeves were a little short but I'm super tall so.
Great rental
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2016
I have rented this dress twice and have loved it.
Fits perfect on hourglass figure. I wear a size 12 and have a small waist. The dress fit perfectly and wasn't too thin of material. I have rented it twice because of the comfort and how it fits me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 18, 2016
I received a lot of compliments!
This dress is beautiful! It fit true to size and I was able to wear a regular bra with it. It is a heavy dress, so be prepared for that. I wore it to an event on a cold night in Boston, so that worked out well! I will say the only possible negative is that it has a little bit of fussiness to it. There is a significant amount of ruching on the side which got a bit tangled up during travel and it was confusing to figure out the positioning. But once I got that sorted it out I didn't need to bother with it again. I highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 1, 2016
Classic, Comfortable and Chic
I rented this for our engagement pictures. We're getting married on NYE so I wanted something a bit more formal. I ordered the 10L and 8L. I'm 5'5" and wear a 10, but the reviews said go smaller and longer. When I got the dress, the zipper was out. You would think I wouldn't have given this dress 5 stars, but because RTR is so amazing, they saved the day. They overnighted me an 8R (all they had left in the dress) and it fit like a GLOVE! It was a little short, but we were able to hide that in the poses. I felt so great for our pictures, so glamorous.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2016
Beautifully styled dress for formal affair. Easy to wear and dance in.
I ended up wearing my back up size 6R since the 4L came with a broken zipper. 6R was slightly too big for my 128 lb. slender upper body but nicely concealed my pear shape lower body.
See more reviews:
1 / 29

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×