Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

560 reviews

Fit
Small 72
True to Size 413
Large 31
Photos 371
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

Wore this dress for my engagement photos and the pics turned out gorgeous!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress runs small- the 2 fit me and i'm usually a 4 or sometimes 6. Plenty of room in bust. Interesting draping on the hips- some may not like it. It is beautiful and elegant. So simple and makes your face and hair stand out. Nice slit too for easy movement. Loved it and love the pics!
Morgan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

Love this dress. Have rented it twice.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented a 0R and a 2R and the main difference was the fit through the middle (the 2R was a bit loose on the back) and the length. The picture, I am on the left and wore the 0R.
ashleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Feb 8, 2015

Love this dress!

Size worn: 0P
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'1 and the 0 petite fit perfectly! The size 0 was a little too big and long. The 0 petite was a perfect length even with heels! The material of the dress is thick enough but not too hot. Perfect for a winter wedding. I wore it to a charity event. I would rent it again!
RTR Customer
Feb 9, 2015

Everything arrived on time.

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The gown fit beautifully . However, I usually wear between a 2 or a 4. In this dress, the 4 was perfect and the 2 was too small. The dress was well made . It was understated glamor. I would recommend for any winter formal affair.
Julissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Wore this for one of my friend's winter wedding in Taos, NM. Dress was perfect for the weather.

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs true to size, recommend a size up as a second option. Fabric is heavy and form fitting. Loved the draping and length.
Christine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

This dress is VaVaVaVoom!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
(I'm the blonde in the picture) In truth the chest was a bit too tight, the cross body ruching was stretched a bit more than the designer intended. I ended up wearing a spanx tank minimizer (40DDs) instead of any kind of bra. I wore 6inch Jimmy Choo black suede stilettos and the regular length gown was still too long! Love the dress, great fabric (a little thick), with some give to it. I'd wear it again in a 10 petite.
Rae-An
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
Feb 9, 2015

I wish I had another fancy event to go to, just to wear this dress!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is actually my back-up dress for my event. I didn't end up wearing it because the other dress was more fitting for the occasion. But I still absolutely LOVE this dress! It fits my body amazing, and it's long sleeve! Which is perfect for anyone who's insecure about their arms .. me! & I love the slit! The only thing I though was weird was the neck line, other than that this dress is perf!
Haley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

This dress was classy and timeless. It gave me a constant stream of compliments all night long!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little short, but I'm short so that was ok. I wore a 0R and I'm 5'2 and 115 lbs if that gives you any idea! It was heavy material so I would not recommend wearing it unless its winter time.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 12, 2015

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie optional wedding. I ordered a 2R and 4R. The 2R was about 3-4 inches too short with 3in heels, so I went with the 4R which was the perfect length. I would definitely recommend and rent this dress again!
Amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 12, 2015

great dress it was worn to a masacarde ball

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress has unique rouching. At first I thought it looked like side bags when I tried it on. As the night when on the dress moved and laid nicely and no longer looked side bagish, it was faltering to my shape. This was my first time using RTR and I was very pleased and will definitely be using again!
Christine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

I was so excited about this dress, until I put it on. Its beautifully made, but was way too short.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was very tight, I couldn't wear a bra when trying it on. The length fit like a petite gown, and the arms were too short as well.
Amy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

Fundraising gala with a Studio 54 theme.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually ordered a 0P, a 0R wasn't available. I'm 5'2 1/2" and and I wish the length had been a little longer to make it a true gown. But it was gorgeous. I accessorized it with a gold belt, which I think completed the look. It fit well, although it could have been a little more snug. That's just my preference. I got a lot of compliments and I highly recommend this sexy yet elegant dress.
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

Having the most comfortable, unforgettable dress

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress, super comfortable and great to wear all night
Carolyn
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 15, 2015

I went to a winter scholarship gala and felt so sexy without trying.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was wonderful, I did not need spanx and had the ability to eat without worrying. There are draping details that are hard to see, but I think it made my waist look smaller.
Patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Wedding Fun

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 4L and 6L. Ended up wearing the 4L, it is very long had to hold it up when i walked even with 4 inch heels. The dress was beautiful and was great for a chilly night :) I felt like a movie star with this dress was sad to return it.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

This was an amazing dress. It was simple and elegant with a beautiful silhouette that stood out.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material hung effortlessly and hugged all the right curves. The ruching helped cover up all the trouble areas. I have an hourglass shape and this dress made that a very positive thing. I normally wear an eight but i ended up going with the six. The only strange thing was that the eight and the six were almost different dresses, but they may have just been altered differently. If you are even a little bit over 5'4" and if you're wearing over 3 inch heels, get a long!!!Overall an amazing, show stopping and comfortable dress to wear. I would defiantly wear it again!
RTR Customer
Feb 18, 2015

Felt so classy & got so many compliments!!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 4-6. I ended up wearing the 6 because it was more comfortable, the only thing that bothered me was the size difference in the sleeves. The size 6 sleeves were almost too loose but for the most part you couldn't tell in photos so I didn't worry about it. The size 4 was a just little snug in the tummy and the sleeves were a little short.
suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

The customer service!

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. You cannot zipper this on your own. I needed help.
Diana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

I rented for this beautiful charity event in Chicago called, "Snowball."

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was perfect for this winter event! The long sleeves were warm enough but very breathable. The length of the dress may have been a little too long for the heels I wore, and I found myself picking it up a lot to walk around so I wouldn't step on it. The size 8 almost seemed too short when I originally tried it on which is why I went for the 10, but the 8's length may have been better! Overall, the dress was flattering and comfortable, and the high slit really made it unique from "just another black dress.." I loved it!
ARC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Elegant, simple, but stands out all the same

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fabric has some stretch which makes the sizing forgiving, but generally a very tightly fitted dress! A really elegant, simply dress that stands out all the same, I received a lot of compliments on the leg slit especially!
Ashlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Wore this to a winter wedding...such a classy dress, loved it!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size and really flattered my body. The material was thick and a little heavier than I expected, but it was nice for this winter wedding as it kept me warmer. I can't tell you how great I felt in this dress and how many compliments I received.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

I wore this dress for my boyfriend's Barrister Ball. Perfect dress for a formal winter event!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is my first time using RTR and I was very impressed. I ordered a 4 long and a 6 long. I ended up wearing the 4 because it was longer than the 6 (which I thought was a little odd) but ended up working out great! Both dresses were true to size and fit snugly.The dress material is heavy, but this worked in my favor since it was so cold outside traveling to the event. I wore 5 inch heels and the dress just barely touched the floor. I received so many compliments and loved the dress! Definitely renting again!
Samantha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

GORGEOUS DRESS!! I felt like a super model!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was actually my backup dress. The one I ordered was too short with my heels on. But after trying on both dresses, this one was just beautiful. I fell in love instantly! It was very modest but super sexy and elegant. It hugged my body in all the right places and made me feel super glamorous! I had many compliments all night. Also, the customer service was amazing. I had actually order a totally different dress in a regular size, but after reading reviews about the length I was nervous it would be too long since I'm only 5'1". So I chatted with customer service and that particular dress was not available that date in petite. So she sent me links to several other dresses in my petite size for me to choose from. I went with 2 styles and they included the backup size, they also changed the jewelry from my original order and "comped" me for one of the pieces of jewelry. It arrived the day before like it was supposed to, and I have now mailed it back. I will definitely rent from here again!! It was so easy and the dress looked amazing!! Thank you RTR!!
Tessa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Beautiful dress.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Gala and was complemented all night long by people of all ages. The dress was a perfect length with heels for my body. The fabric was comfortable and flattering at the same time. No adjustments were needed.
Alyson
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Feb 25, 2015

Didn't like it at first, but it grew on me

Size worn: 14R
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I first put on the dress, I was very unhappy. It didn't look like the picture at all. I'm pretty curvy, especially through the hips, so I had to size up to fit my hips. In the 12L the rushing on my right hip looked horrible, but it looked much better in the 14R. I wish I could have gotten the 14L because the dress was too short and showed my entire foot. Overall it was VERY comfortable, and I ended up liking it, but I don't think I would rent it again.
RTR Customer
Mar 1, 2015

I felt great and my husband loves how I looked!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super comfortable. It fit very well and was flattering. It was perfect in for a chilly evening. I didn't even need a wrap.
Jessica
Age: 35
Mar 1, 2015

Very easy

Size worn: 14P
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress, it was comfortable all night. I ended up wearing the 14P instead of the 12R because my shoes were not high enough for the regular length. Overall I was very satisfied with my rental. The 14 was a little big for me but not noticeable.
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Body type: Petite
Mar 2, 2015

This dress was so much fun to wear. I would definitely rent from Rent The Runway again.

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit of this dress was perfect for me. Very slimming design.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Perfect for formal winter event!

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish I could keep this gown!! Perfect fit! So comfortable, fabric is stretchy so it's great for dancing and the leg slit gives lots of motion! I received so many compliments! I ordered the long, happy I did because it wasn't as long as I thought it would be! I had to wear different shoes as my original ones made the dress way too short...I saw in other reviews people complaining that the fabric was heavy, I didn't feel that at all! Sexy and glamorous was all I felt in this gown! Definitely renting again.
Alex
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 4, 2015

My event was a black-tie affair for an Ad Agency's 20th anniversary party. It was effortlessly fun!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVED this gown! It was the perfect blend of comfortable and sexy. My event was at the end of February so the dress was perfect for a formal event in cold weather. The dress fit pretty true to size and hugged all the right places. Just a tip, there is this extra piece of fabric on the left hip that I didn't really understand. It didn't affect how I felt about the dress at all, but I never really saw it in any of the pictures. One of my favorite things about this gown is that it can either be dressed up with a statement necklace or left alone with simple earrings and strappy shoes. I'm not much of a jewelry person so I loved that I didn't have to worry about it. I'd definitely recommend this gown! It's stunning and received a ton of compliments!!
VP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 7, 2015

The dress was perfect

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size and very flattering. If it's a warmer day the dress would probably be hot so keep temperature in mind. But I got so many compliments.
CJP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 7, 2015

I loved wearing this dress, I would definitely rent it again!

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was for a formal event and it was so classic and lovely. Also I found it to be very flattering to my figure and so comfortable.
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

First black tie gala

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress, overall, was great. The sizing—was weird. I ordered 0L and a 2R and the 2R was both WAY too short and felt even smaller than the 0L. It's was a little tight in the chest, but lucky I have a pretty small bust (32/34 B) so it wasn't an issue. I typically wear either a 2 or 4 dress—but like everyone knows, sizes vary across brands. I was concerned about the cut of this dress, and based on other reviews, thought it might run big. I still don't *really* know how it runs, except short—so I would recommend the long, as it seemed a lot more appropriate for it to drag just a bit on the ground, with the 2 1/2 or 3 inch heels I wore, than to be above the ankle. Overall, I probably would have preferred a 2L, as it was a touch tight in the bust and arms, but really liked it and it was pretty comfortable and super elegant. The swooshy things around the hips are a little weird, but also make it a little more flattering and gave me a little extra curve.
Alex
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

Due to bad weather my dress was delayed but RTR worked magic and made sure I got my dress in time!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very comfortable and I would highly recommend it. I wore regular undergarments, but I would suggest nude underwear as the slit comes up high and flashing is a possibility.
RTR Customer
Mar 12, 2015

I absolutely loved this dress. Classic and stunning.

Size worn: 8L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the fit of the dress and the drape along the midsection. I was comfortable the whole evening. The length almost hit the ground when I was barefooted, but was a little short with heels. I don't feel this deterred from the overall look of the dress, though.
Nancy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 74
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 12, 2015

Everyone said it was the best looking at the affair.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Zipper is in back, need help with it. Runs a bit small.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

Stunning. Classic. Must love your curves.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this! Actually at first I hated it, I thought it was too short, I should have gone with the long. But when I put it on the day of the wedding with my shoes I loved it! I got SO many compliments on it. I wore it for a winter wedding so the long sleeves were perfect. The slit didn't go too high, but when I sat it definitely felt like I was showing a lot of leg. The dress drapes in different ways. you must love your curves because this will accentuate them a lot. It took a lot of adjusting in the cup area to get it to sit right over my bust. Overall, awesome dress!
Bailee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Fancy! Sophisticated! Gorgeous!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was incredible!! It fit tight and has such a nice thick, yet stretchy fabric I really felt like it hugged in all the right places and even helped even smoothed in all the right places (almost like it had built in spanxx). I read reviews saying it was short, so I order a long and it worked but only because I had VERY high heels. The slit is perfect and sexy, the sleeves are tight and slimming of your arms, but still allow you to roll up your sleeves if needed. The only negative I have, is that there was a weird seam the went right across my chest (I have large breasts) but it just seemed awkward. It did not look awkward though, so all is well. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
kayleigh
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

Gorgeous, flattering & many compliments. Perfect for a winter wedding.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore a ~3inch heel with this dress, the 0P I rented fit but was too short.
Miriam
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

People asked where I got the dress. I received many compliments and that is always a plus!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit well, the slit was a bit too high for my liking however I made it work and felt comfortable.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×