Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$935 retail
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1250 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(786)
Small
(106)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Age: 30
February 7, 2015
Everyone said I was the best dressed of the evening! I went with old Hollywood glam!

Beautiful dress for any event!

Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
January 11, 2016
Loved the idea of the dress and ended up being very nice overall but I could of used a size up

Loved the idea of the dress and ended up being very nice overall but I could of used a size up (my fault I didn't ask for 2 sizes) it was very short. I'm 5'4 and wear a size 18 and I should have asked for the 22W.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 6, 2015
Everyone kept telling me I look like hollywood

It was a little long for me but I wore flats to dance in. Other than that, I got compliments all night long!

Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
May 18, 2015
My order came on the day it said it would which was two days before and the complementary lotion.

First, I ordered a 20 and get my second size as a 22 because reviews said it ran small. When I got my order, they sent me a size 2 instead of a 20, but I was super lucky that the 22 fit perfectly, but that's what kept it from being a 5 star review. Now the dress was more than I expected! I was very happy with how it looked on me. It did seem a bit tight in the stomach area but the color and design made it less noticeable and made me feel comfortable. The fabric isn't as heavy as the reviews I read made it seem and the fabric itself is actually pretty nice and feels nice when you're wearing it. I wore this dress to my Sorority's formal so I sat, took photos, walked around and danced in this dress with no problem really. It is a long dress so I expected there to be a small little mishaps like usual but it wasn't something significant. Overall, I had a good experience renting a dress and wearing thing dress. The service was good and the dress looked classy and beautiful while receiving some positive comments from people!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 16, 2014
Easy to return

There is a decent amount of stretch in the fabric

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 20, 2014
I was looking for a long sleeve dress and long at length, this was prefect

Everything was prefect

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
November 24, 2014
This was a very comfortable and flattering dress.

It fit really well, I am only 5'4'' and ordered a long after reading other reviews and I was glad I had. The sleeves were still a little short but it still looked nice. I received numerous compliments. It did take a little fussing to get it to lay right, but it was smooth sailing after that.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 29, 2014
N/a

Runs pretty small. I'm a size 10 and wore a 12 long, which was still extremely tight on me. I should have worn a 14 instead. This dress is beautiful but runs super small so even with spanx it will show all the curves, even those you don't want seen.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
December 3, 2014
This dress was perfect and I got tons of compliments!

It's hard to tell but this dress has an interesting (but gorgeous) cut to it. It's heavy, but perfect for a colder night. I wore it to a marine corps ball in North Carolina and it was perfect for a chilly November night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Bust size: 32D
December 14, 2014
Didn't get To wear it ... A little too long

So this was a back up size to the 0P ... Unfortunately the 0P was damaged and not sent as a result. This dress was perfect just too long and I didn't want to damage it. Fits true to size and perfect for winter ! Thanks RTR for everything!!!

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 17, 2014
I got so many compliments with this dress! It fit great! It was very comfortable!

My only complaint about this dress was it was a little short in the front. I am 5'7" and with heels on I was even taller so I think if I rent this dress again I will get the 6L instead of the 6R.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2014
Great dress. Classy yet sexy. The length was perfect with heels. Got a lot of compliments!

Loved that it had stretch so even if it's a little small/big it still fits great. The slit is higher than it looks so sitting in public can get a little tricky..

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2014
Loved this dress

I really could have worn the 4L as the 2 was a bit tight in places, but the 4L had obviously been hemmed at some point. I'm 5'7" and it came up almost to my ankles with heels on. The 2L still didn't reach the floor, which I prefer, but it was a much better length. This dress is extremely forgiving and flattering and great for a winter formal affair.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 143lbs
January 2, 2015
This dress made my night! I got the 6L which was perfect for my 5'2 height.

Perfect gown for a formal affair! I would definitely rent this again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
January 3, 2015
I had so many compliments all night long on NYE. In a sea of black dresses I still stood out.

I'm 5'8, so I ordered the 4L and back up 6R. They ended up being the same length on the legs, which I though was strange, so I had to go with the 6 for the arm length which was significantly longer. The 6 was a bit loser in the body as well which made it more comfortable to fit in. If you have curves I recommend going a size up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2015
Always perfect timing and wonderful customer service!

This dress was beautiful and perfect for a formal New Years party. It ran a little small and has extra material on the left side I didn't see in the model photo. Over all is was wonderful!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 6, 2015
Amazing customer service!! Responsive and very friendly.

I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding. After reading the reviews, I decided to go with a 10L and a 12L. When the dress arrived, the smaller size was a little too big in the waist. I emailed customer service and they offered to send me another style of dress since they did not have an 8 available. They were extremely responsive and very nice about everything. I ended up wearing the 10 and I just bought a gold belt from Express to pair with it. It looked amazing in photos and I wS very happy with it! The dress runs shorter so I would definitely go with the Long. It always runs big, so when in doubt I would go smaller. It's a very modest dress, so I felt it needed to be more fitted to look flawless. All in all I was very happy! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 14, 2015
Gorgeous dress. I don't have a picture that does it justice. Modest and sexy with a high slit!

This dress runs true to size. I wore 3" heels and the dress was the perfect length.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2015
Dress feels like a red carpet gown.

I wore the 2l. I wore four inch heels and the bottom just brushed the floor. This is a really flattering gown and really highlights your ASSets. Definitely go ahead and order a great necklace if you don't have one, the neckline deserves some baubles.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 18, 2015
Absolutely stunning!!

This dress runs true to size! I was nervous about the length but the 0R was prefect! This dress fit like a glove! I would rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 18, 2015
I loved having a unique dress different from anyone there!

Fit was beautiful. The leg slit was super sexy. The material weight was very nice and breatheable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2015
This dress is stunning! I got countless compliments and felt amazing. It was comfortable and warm!

Gorgeous dress! I wore it to a black tie wedding in the dead of Chicago winter...it was thick enough to only need a shawl. I usually wear a 2/4 depending on the designer and the 4 fit perfectly. Length was perfect, too.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 25, 2015
Compliments all night!

The dress fit true to size and was a perfect length for me. I'm 5'3" and wore a 3/4" heel. It was the perfect dress to wear to a black tie wedding at a mansion. I felt so glamorous. I would definitely recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 26, 2015
I didn't like this dress on me and ended up wearing my back-up dress.

I am very curvy and generally wear a size 12 in dresses but a size 14 in slacks. This dress fit very snug, and I felt that it made my hips and rear look very big.

Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
January 30, 2015
Classic and simple. Can't go wrong!

Ordered the 8 and 10, wore the 10. I usually wear a 8, but it was way too tight. I recommend ordering a size up. Also, when seated that slit is HIGH...I was at a table most of the night so it wasn't an issue, but would have been if I was sitting elsewhere :-) All in all happy with the dress!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
February 3, 2015
Too short. Didn't wear.

The dress was too short. Not bump friendly at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 7, 2015
The dress is gorgeous on. The flow makes you feel like you are swooshing through the room.

The bust is tight. Had to try a few bras.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2015
How many compliments I received on the dress.

Beautiful dress! It did got a little short. I'm 5'4", and it was too short with my initial heels I had picked out (4").

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2015
I felt so beautiful.

This dress is absolutely beautiful. Fit true to size, I may have gone with 0L but wasn't available. Length was perfect wore low heels. Got compliments all night and shared with many about rent the runway who had never heard of them.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
February 8, 2015
Love this dress!

I'm 5'1 and the 0 petite fit perfectly! The size 0 was a little too big and long. The 0 petite was a perfect length even with heels! The material of the dress is thick enough but not too hot. Perfect for a winter wedding. I wore it to a charity event. I would rent it again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 9, 2015
Everything arrived on time.

The gown fit beautifully . However, I usually wear between a 2 or a 4. In this dress, the 4 was perfect and the 2 was too small. The dress was well made . It was understated glamor. I would recommend for any winter formal affair.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2015
Wore this for one of my friend's winter wedding in Taos, NM. Dress was perfect for the weather.

Definitely runs true to size, recommend a size up as a second option. Fabric is heavy and form fitting. Loved the draping and length.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 18, 2015
Felt so classy & got so many compliments!!

I usually wear a 4-6. I ended up wearing the 6 because it was more comfortable, the only thing that bothered me was the size difference in the sleeves. The size 6 sleeves were almost too loose but for the most part you couldn't tell in photos so I didn't worry about it. The size 4 was a just little snug in the tummy and the sleeves were a little short.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 19, 2015
The customer service!

The dress fit perfectly. You cannot zipper this on your own. I needed help.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 22, 2015
Did not wear

The fit was good, but I did not end of wearing because this dress is really heavy. There is a lot of fabric and I just could not imagine carrying so much fabric around! Ended up going with a Sheath dress that I also rented.

Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2015
Didn't like it at first, but it grew on me

When I first put on the dress, I was very unhappy. It didn't look like the picture at all. I'm pretty curvy, especially through the hips, so I had to size up to fit my hips. In the 12L the rushing on my right hip looked horrible, but it looked much better in the 14R. I wish I could have gotten the 14L because the dress was too short and showed my entire foot. Overall it was VERY comfortable, and I ended up liking it, but I don't think I would rent it again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 1, 2015
I felt great and my husband loves how I looked!

This dress was super comfortable. It fit very well and was flattering. It was perfect in for a chilly evening. I didn't even need a wrap.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
March 1, 2015
Very easy

I loved the dress, it was comfortable all night. I ended up wearing the 14P instead of the 12R because my shoes were not high enough for the regular length. Overall I was very satisfied with my rental. The 14 was a little big for me but not noticeable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 2, 2015
Perfect for formal winter event!

I wish I could keep this gown!! Perfect fit! So comfortable, fabric is stretchy so it's great for dancing and the leg slit gives lots of motion! I received so many compliments! I ordered the long, happy I did because it wasn't as long as I thought it would be! I had to wear different shoes as my original ones made the dress way too short...I saw in other reviews people complaining that the fabric was heavy, I didn't feel that at all! Sexy and glamorous was all I felt in this gown! Definitely renting again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 7, 2015
The dress was perfect

The fit is true to size and very flattering. If it's a warmer day the dress would probably be hot so keep temperature in mind. But I got so many compliments.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 32

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×