Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
864 reviews
Fit
Large
(78)
True to Size
(524)
Small
(127)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
January 19, 2017
The flow of the dress and it was a great for a day time event.
The dress fit lovely and hide the problem areas. I got tones of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2017
Great dress, runs just a tad bit small.
I ended up not wearing this dress. Normally I am in between a 12-14. I couldn't zip all the way up. I got this dress in 12P for the length (which was great); however, I think a 14P would have worked better.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
January 18, 2017
I wore this to a Mardi Gras ball and it was perfect.
The dress is so simple and elegant, I loved it. The material had less stretch than I had expected, but that was good because it had a bit of a "sucking in" effect. Regular was the perfect length with my 3.5 inch heels. My only complaint is that the sleeves are small - I think my arms are larger than most women though - and with some maneuvering I was able to get them up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 116lbs
January 16, 2017
Feeling fancy!
Unfortunately, our formal event was cancelled due to weather so the only photo I have is at home (hair and makeup half done). BUT I know if the event would have gone on, I would have felt fancy and confident all night long! The dress is actually heavier than I expected, but the top has a perfect "stick" to keep the sleeves and collar sitting just right. One potential downside: I have a small chest, and my husband struggled a bit to zip up the size 0 (but I drowned in a size 2P). The length for 0P was perfect (5'3", wearing about 1.5" heels in photo, dress just skimmed the floor). For my next formal event, I'll definitely consider re-ordering this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 16, 2017
It made me look like a Model. Amazing experience
Fit perfectly, good quality dress. It hugs your body. A lot of compliments .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 16, 2017
Perfect dress for Arizona winter
Very comfortable and glamorous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
January 15, 2017
Charity ball
It was a great dress and perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
January 15, 2017
Beautiful dress for a beautiful night
Perfect fit and flattering! Loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
January 14, 2017
All eyes were on me! Beautiful dress!
I loved wearing this dress! Ordered in petite which was a great choice so that I could show off my shoes. The dress was classy and sexy and comfortable! The fit was flattering. I would rent again. The only con was that the wires inside were a bit sticky but I was able to adjust around them.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
January 13, 2017
Absolutely fit the occasion!!!
The dress fit beautifully. It had a lot of stretch and was long enough for a taller woman like me! 5'9". The boning help to create the hourglass figure plus spanx (-: I received many compliments and felt lovely. No problem with the arms not too tight. Would definitely rent again maybe with the style with the black sequins next time!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Weight: 120lbs
January 10, 2017
I wore this amazing dress for my sister's wedding on NYE - day wedding, evening party.
I'm 5"6, 120lbs and 34B. This is a tight-fitting dress with a little give in the bodice and runs a little small. Based on sizes I usually wear, I ordered 2R and 4R. I wore 4R and the dress was exactly right. I could not wear a bra under this dress size or I wouldn't have been able to zip it up. I worried I should have ordered 6R, but honestly I was comfortable all day/night long and the dress was solid enough on top so I did not worry at all about support or comfort. In order to wear undergarments of your choice, consider ordering a size up. Throughout the bodice there is a little give and it was not too tight for socializing, eating, moving around. Length: I am 5'6" and my legs are average length and I was on the borderline between R and L. The dress was long enough, but barely. I still wore a 2" heel that I had planned to wear even though I would have liked to have the dress a little longer. For me, I believe the L size would have been too long. Once I had this dress on, I felt amazing and was comfortable all day and night long. The off the shoulder top was really stunning and the sleeves covered my elbows, which I did not realize when I selected this dress but loved about it once I received it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
January 9, 2017
An amazing gown that hugs all the right places! Classic and ageless - even for a tired momma!
True to size. Long length works well with heels. Throw on a good strapless bra and some Spanx and you're good to go!
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
January 8, 2017
Amazing service
The dress has a great structure. I am 5'4 and I ordered the 6L , and even in heels, it was too long. RTR has a 6 R sent to me in the morning. So responsive to the immediate need. Loved the dress and love the service.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 8, 2017
Easy and beautiful!
The top was snug but it was fine ultimately as it was comfortable and didn't look bad. I loved the gown but definitely sized up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
January 7, 2017
Backup dress became dress
So, I ordered a different dress but that one didn't fit. So this became the backup dress. And I usually wear 16, could have used the 18 but they send the 18 LONG... mind you, I'm 4'11'. So I called to get the 18P, but they didn't have it available so I had to order the 20P. Which was fine length wise, but big in certain areas. Still a beautiful dress, very comfortable..got tons of complements..and danced the night away.. worth the rental..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WP
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
January 7, 2017
Amazing Dress!
This is a beautiful dress. Fit is amazing and very forgiving. Perfect for a formal event. The only complaint is the boning in the dress pinched me all night. I would rent this dress again!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
January 5, 2017
Great dress! Very classy!
I wore this as my first of two dresses for New Year's Eve. It's very snug and doesn't move and fits true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 4, 2017
Fab !
After having a baby a few month ago and not feeling super confident with additional "curves" I was hesitant to use RTR but I'm so glad I did ! I wore this dress to a nye wedding, the fit was great although it felt like it loosened after an hour wearing it. I loved the sleeve, they weren't too tight. This dress had bones in it, between the bones and the rouching I felt like it was flattering . Length was perfect with my 4 " pump. Overall great dress !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2017
Classic
Wore to a black tie NYE party! Very flattering, especially in the midsection! Comfortable aside from wires in the chest poking into me throughout the night. I'm 5'5" and there was a bit of a train that was stepped on multiple times. Overall, stunning and would look great on anyone!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 63
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 2, 2017
So enjoyed shopping all the beautiful gowns, and selecting one that was really different!
The fit was perfect except for the length. I'm 5'8" and usually wear a 2 but ordered a 2 Long and 4 Long due to other reviews that the dress ran small. I did not think it ran small at all and maybe could have even worn the 0, but I def needed the Regular length. I wore about a 2" heel. In spite of that, I loved the dress, and it was comfy and glamorous feeling! I still danced a lot, just held it up a little!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Other
Age: 53
January 1, 2017
My dress was beautiful!
This dress was beautiful. I ordered the 8L and it was a little big but worked. I really would have been better with the 6L but it was not available.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 1, 2017
Lovely formal evening. New Year's dinner cruise around San Francisco Bay.
This dress was beautiful. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and the 6 was just right. I tend to be a little bigger through the rib cage, (and am a 36D) and the 6 was perfect. It was comfortable all night, did not wrinkle, and got a ton of comments about how stunning the dress was. I love this dress. My favorite order so far.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2016
Classic fitted black dress with unique sleeves
Rented this for a winter gala. Great fit, extremely comfortable and hugs in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2016
I felt beautiful and go tons of compliments from people not even at the event.
Fit was tight. I opted for the 6 instead of the 4, Stretches, so it's easy to sit in, wore 3 inch heels until I couldn't take it anymore!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 24, 2016
Nice dress
I wore this to my brother's wedding to his wife who has a very conservative family. I wanted to be sexy but still covered up enough to not be judged by them and this dress was great for that. It was very lovely but very plain. It fit nicely though and hid all the places I needed hidden. I wore a sticky bra with it and it worked nicely but could've gone without one if I wanted to. I am so glad I ordered the long size as well because for me a regular would've been too short. It was very comfortable and easy to move and dance it. I loved the process of rent the runway but found myself second guessing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
December 18, 2016
Perfect fit
Lots of compliments on this dress years later.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
December 16, 2016
Perfect for Old Hollywood
Wore to my company party which was themed old Hollywood and got a lot of compliments :) 2 fit perfect (with limited arm movement). Its a really long dress so you have to wear very high platform heels and/or hold it up. Dress tape does not work on this material.
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2016
Classic & Elegant!
This was my first time using RTR. I rented at the last minute and was only able to rent 8P & 4R. I wore the 8P, I'm 5'3 & 130 lbs, it fit great!! I wore 3.5 in heels, length was perfect. Very comfortable. Many compliments! Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WP
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
December 15, 2016
So flattering and comfortable
This is the ultimate "go to" black dress. I want to run out and buy this one so I would always have the perfect black dress to wear. The material is so comfortable didn't require any specific undergarments. You could easily dress it up or down by changing up the jewelry and shoes. This one was definitely hard to send back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 11, 2016
Great dress! Comfortable yet stylish. Wore it to a black tie affair and it was perfect.
Fit a little big but overall show off your curves. The dress was comfortable and did not feel heavy. I ordered the petite and the length was perfect with 3.5 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 9, 2016
Classic and comfy
Classic look, perfect for work event. Not too revealing. The thick jersey is very comfortable, but the incredible stretch meant I wore the smaller size and could possibly have gone down another size to have a more curve-hugging fit. Great for hourglass/pear shapes! This dress does have a slight train, which surprised me. I'm quite tall and my shoes were visible in front, but dress still dragged the floor in back.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 7, 2016
Perfect Dress!!
I ordered an 8R & 10R because I didn't know how the fabric was. I ended up wearing the 8R. The fabric has some stretch to it. I wasn't wearing my 3 1/2 inch heels in the pic. With them on you could somewhat see the front of my shoes. It was still long. It has boning around the bust. I still wore a strapless bra for my own piece of mind. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
December 7, 2016
The way my husband kept looking at me throughout the night.
The dress runs a little small, I usually fit into a 20 but had to use my backup size for this dress. However, I do love the dress immensely. I had a baby a few months ago and I still have the baby tummy to prove it. But with the dress, you could hardly tell. I felt gorgeous in this one! If you want something classy & classic, go with this one! You can match just about any color with it and it screams "fabulous" without being over-the-top. I didn't wear a bra with it, and it didn't show at all. My face looks a little weird because sun was in my eyes, lol.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
December 5, 2016
Felt sexy without being over the top!
The dress was a little bigger than expected. I could have went for one size smaller. The runching hid the tummy well and the sleeves hid the arms great! I received many compliments on the dress. I am 5'7" and the petite was just perfect length. I would definitely rent again. I made 'bad' choices in the first 3 dresses I ordered. I figured they would be my size, but were not. I was running close to the party date and RTR consultants were awesome! They calmed me down and ensured my they would send me whatever I wanted in my size. THEY DID! I received my orders (5 dress :-) quickly and they were all in great shape and very pretty. I am a customer for life!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2016
This dress was beautiful and classy!
The dress was beautiful. Showed off all of the curves. Stayed in place very well and made me feel stunning. I wore the 0P, and the length was great with 3 inch heels.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
December 4, 2016
Great dress, beautiful drape.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it felt a little too formal for the event and wore my other choice instead. It's a great dress that looks gorgeous on and had the perfect amount of stretch to accommodate my 16 week pregnant tummy.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
December 3, 2016
Fits beautifully.
Stretchy, yet secure, this dress makes you feel good, which is half the battle for looking great at an event! I ordered the 16, got the 18 for back up. I've had three kids, so my mid section can be challenging, and while body skimming, the dress didn't make me look like Frosty in the middle.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 27, 2016
Flattering style & cut
True to size but I would order the regular instead of the L if it were available when I rented this - I'm 5'6 and wore stiletto heels and this was still too long. Comfortable and flattering and I received many compliments. The style is great as it provides enough coverage to be conservative but not stiff while still fun & sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 25, 2016
so comfortable, very slimming and eye catching
definitely a head turner. able to wear spanx without seeing lines. Loved it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
November 22, 2016
Looks good on, not comfortable to wear
The dress is crazy long - I'm 5'9" and wore 3" heels, and I still had to hoist it up everywhere I walked. Would have worn size 8L for length but the top runs small (I'm 34B). Overall, not a bad last-minute option.
See more reviews:
1 / 22
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×