Z Spoke Zac Posen

Grand Scheme Dress

$89 to buy
$550 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a black tie gala? Change things up and go with this chic Z Spoke by Zac Posen full skirt style. Pair with accessories like the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and Oscar de la Renta's Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Burgundy ottoman (96% polyester, 4% elastane). Strapless with boning. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(54)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
September 28, 2012
This is the very first dress I ever noticed on RTR's website.
I was very glad that I got the back-up size 6, because the 4 would not zip up. I think it's a combination of Zac Posen dresses running slightly small AND too many veggie burgers. In any event, I loved the dress and got tons of compliments on it. It was tight, but in a good way because I wasn't constantly tugging it like I have had to with some other strapless dresses. The fabric is very thick and it's more burgundy than the red it looks like in the picture. It did arrive very wrinkled and with one of the turned-down edges at the top turned up, so I had to take it to my cleaners to press which was an errand I would have preferred not to have to add to my list. Other than that--loved.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Got the dresses for my brother's wedding. They all looked adorable and classy.
The dresses fit everyone well, expect they all had to belt them up since they kept sliding off their breasts. Try a size smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 9, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress -- it ran large and wasn't the material I expected.
I must say, this dress was my first RTR disappointment. I guess it's my own fault for not checking the material, but I was expecting a satin and it's actually a very heavy, corrugated cotton. It felt and looked like a bridesmaid dress and didn't really feel appropriate for the evening wedding I was hoping to wear it to. I own a Zac Posen dress (this is Z Spoke, his lower-priced line) and mine is a little tight in the bust, so I got a 4 and a 6, but BOTH were too big. The waist in this runs large and even though the 4 probably would have stayed up on me in a strapless push-up, it was not flattering at all because the waist just wasn't form-fitting enough. I also think it would be more appropriate for a daytime event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 15, 2012
I wore this to my birthday party -- it was a perfect party dress.
The fabric is very thick and luxurious. Make sure you steam it right before wearing to keep it looking crisp.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2012
LOVED this dress too! I couldn't decide between the 2 I ordered so I did an outfit change!
The dress ran large. Definitely go a size down. Im not that curvy and this dress is meant for someone who is curvy to fill it out. Its really great and hides the wrong curves though! LOVE Zac Posen!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2012
Loved this dress! Felt so pretty in it- definitely made my night.
The tightest part is the waist, but I thought it was very flattering where it hit, and it was a little big on the boob- nothing a padded bra can't fix!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 6, 2012
Super sexy, modern, and chic! This is the perfect fall dress.
The way the dress is cut is extremely flattering. It gave me the extra curves I wish I had. Although it looks red in the pictures on this website, the dress is actually a very pretty burgundy. The material seems like a fancy corduroy. The material is thick, and the dress is very well tailored. I wore the size six, although I think I should have worn the 4, as I did have to be careful as I was dancing, because the dress would slide down a bit. **Side note: I ordered this dress for a wedding in NJ. I had the dress shipped to NJ, not anticipating that Hurricane Sandy would interfere. I was flying in from TN for this wedding, and my flight was canceled. I was worried that I would not be able to make it, and not be there to receive the dress. I contacted Rent The Runway, and they were BEYOND helpful. Even though they were dealing with power outages and wind damage, they still made the effort to respond to my questions concerning my travel situation. They told me not to worry if I couldn't make it. They told me that they would arrange to call the dress back from the shipper, and that they would even give me a merchandise credit. When I emailed them and told them that I found a flight, and that I would make it to NJ, they immediately shipped the dress. Incredible service. I will come back and rent here again, again, and again. They do not disappoint.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2012
Very flattering
It looked amazing! The fabric was not what I expected - it was quite heavy. A good winter dress! I wore my smaller 2nd size (a 4) and the bust area was still slightly large for me, but otherwise it fit really well and was very flattering. It did tend to slip down a bit when dancing - I probably should have used some tape beforehand.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 4, 2013
This is a hot dress but very classic looking! Great for a festive party!
I wore this dress for a Christmas Party at the home of my husbands business associate. At first I was worried about the length because it looks like it hits on the knee of the tall model but it actually was short. It hit me just above the knee which was fine with me since I am on the short side. Typically I take size 0 or 2 dresses but I had to take a 2 for this one as the top was quite snug. Overall I think it was very flattering... the a-line always does wonders! I just wish the material was more luxurious. I was expecting a tafetta, heavy silk or cotton sateen. Instead it was cordoroy. I was disappointed with that. Even my husband remarked about the fabric not being what would be expected for the style or the model's photo. If I saw the fabric of this dress in person, I would not buy it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2013
The dress itself is cute and made of nice material but was too large.
I am normally a 6 (certainly a 6 in the hips) but the dress was far too large, even in a 2. It's cute and nicely constructed, but not particuarly sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
Loved the look and feel of this dress.
Ended up wearing the back up dress because the top was just a bit too snug.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 21, 2013
I also got a DVF clutch, earrings, and necklace from RTR, everything was perfect and made my night!
fitted from waist through the bust, wonderful thick material, really well made. I felt stunning, a very slimming style
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2013
The dress was...eh...okay
I ordered a size 4 and 6, the backup size was unavailable the day before my event so RTR sent me another dress. I ended up squeezing into the 4. But the dress came very wrinkled, and since the material is so thick it was very very difficult to iron. I had nothing else to wear so I had to rock it. The only good part about this dress is that it is good for dancing, since the dress won't twirl that much. Overall the dress was okay but nothing special, was kind of disappointed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2013
If you've got a bigger bust, don't bother renting this dress. It's super cute but it won't work.
Though the dress zipped up it, my cup runneth over...way over. It was also very short for me. It doesn't hit right above the knee like the picture shows so be warned. Gorgeous dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2013
Beautiful. Heavy. Runs Large! Marvelous. Love.
Love this dress!!! It was my first rent, and every part of the experience was wonderful. I had trouble to the last minute trying to find a dress somewhere else and planned for this dress the week of my trip and it relieved all my stress finally having the perfect dress. I rented this dress to wear to the New York Philharmonic with my boyfriend on a weekend trip (this picture is obviously just trying it on in my tiny dorm room before my trip, I completely forgot to get a picture of us with my hair and make up actually done...) It's a very heavy fabric and a little large like said in other comments, so you should absolutely get a size smaller to be able to hold it up. I'm fairly busty and it was hard to keep it up, but nothing a little body tape couldnt handle. I'm also pretty short so I was surprised it still hit right above the knee for me. It also looked a little lighter in person than the picture but that wasn't bad, it was still beautiful. There's really nothing I can say truely bad at all. I felt pretty gorgeous walking the New York streets to the Lincon Center. It was absolutely the icing on the cake for a marvelous weekend!! <3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 3, 2013
Great dress, but bust runs large
The color wasn't exactly what I had expected form the pictures, but I still liked it! The bust did run big though, so I struggled to keep the dress from falling all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2013
Disappointed. The dress was very worn in the seams.
I rented this dress for my daughter as a possible choice for a Junior Prom dress. It fit her, however it seemed very worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2013
Beautiful for Valentines
Great dress with a very flattering shape. Loved the thickness to the fabric for Winter but it made the fabric less stretchy and very stiff. It also wrinkles easily so I steamed the dress before wearing it. Other than those cons it was awesome to wear. Lots of compliments and made people look twice at the restaurant!
LisaAugust 24, 2014
Did you rent the necklace too? Love the combo!
JoAugust 25, 2014
Lisa, thank you! I did find it here and you can find it under Kenneth Jay Lane jewelry. It's the A-List necklace. I wrote a review for that as well. It was so stunning that I own it now!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Winter formal!
Great fit, very comfortable and true to size. Works with or without a bra! Built in support is always a plus.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
May 8, 2013
Received lots of compliments on this dress. Its fun, flirty and sexy. I felt like a hot mamma :)
The zipper was EXTREMELY hard to zip. My husband was afraid that he was going to break the zipper
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 18, 2013
Classy and Sassy Dress - Compliments All Night!
Luckily, I read in previous reviews that this dress' fabric is not what it seems it is when you look at it on screen so I wasn't caught off guard when I received it. I thought it was going to be a silk sort of fabric but it is more of a cotton, almost corduroy, which made it a bit more casual. I put that it runs a little large just because the fabric makes it a bit heavy and since I don't have much to hold it up, I had to occasionally pull it up. All in all, the fit is beautiful and I danced the night away in it! Way fun to twirl in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2013
Loved this dress! It is constructed so well I didn't even need spanx ;)
Thought I would need the 6 but ended up wearing the 4. Super fun dress and was perfect for dancing. It was very flattering and I got lots of compliments. I would highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2013
:)
I loved how it fit on me. I rented this for prom and just never wanted to take it off. My date and i joked about wearing bowties so I paired this with a small bow tie necklace and some white flats so i wouldn't be taller than him. I would totally get this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 4, 2013
Great dress for a winter wedding!!!
I absolutely loved this dress!!!! the tuxedo neck was adorable and that burgundy color is so in right now. I am not the tallest girl and I was afraid it was going to be too long on me but it wasn't the case at all, the length was perfect. It is a great winter dress, the material is pretty heavy so be careful in the hotter months, its not gonna work. I wore it with a black belt and plain black pumps, simple but elegant look. Awesome dress in general I highly recommend it (:
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2013
Beautiful color, classic style! SHOWSTOPPER!
The classic style of this dress is a hit. The fabric is a little different than pictured, about the same thickness as corduroy. (Yes, really. Corduroy.) But it doesn't get too hot or weigh you down! Great for the right amount of twirl when swing dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress, great night.
I found the dress to run a little small but I also typically wear dresses with stretch - this has none. It was beautiful and fun to wear but I do NOT recommend it for chesty girls, there is simply not enough room in the bust and it was a precarious situation up top. Overall though the color and shape was gorgeous and perfect for a fall wedding. Very fun outfit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 5, 2013
Classy and simple, but still fun!
I rented sizes 8 and 10, went to the wedding in the 10 but it kept slipping down, changed into the 8 for the reception. It is a heavy stiff dress (still comfortable) so it wants to slip down. The smaller size was great because the tightness kept it in place. Would suggest using dress tape. Beautiful color! Paired it with whites and grays in accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2013
Ive rented this twice, it's seriously perfect
Love the thick material of the dress, it made it perfect for my fall formal
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 11, 2013
classy and good for a holiday party
I rented this dress around the holidays. I found that the dress had very thick almost corduroy-like material and would be perfect for a classy holiday party. The fit was a bit small and you should definitely size up if you have a full bust. The dress looks very vibrant red in the picture but the actual dress is a bit duller. Perhaps this is because it's been worn and cleaned many times. I was not in love with the dress and thought it looked much better in the picture than in person.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2013
NOT black tie appropriate at ALL.
its much shorter than it appears in the photo and the material is very heavy....looks almost like corduroy. i absolutely do not recommend this for any type of formal event. i could not wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2013
Luxurious Fabric!
This dress hugged my body in all the right ways!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
January 30, 2014
A Great Holiday or cocktail party dress!
Dress was a great fit and shape. My only let down was that the actual color is a lot darker than the picture. It's more of a burgundy color not so red. The silhouette is flattering. I would go one size down to make sure it holds up better at the top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
April 5, 2014
It was easy & simple!
The dress was flawless! I adored the dress once I seen it. The fit was perfect not too tight on the bust. It was perfect for the occasion & got many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2014
Too short for a tall woman.
I rented this dress for a 50's themed cocktail party and it looked perfect online, but when I got it in the mail I realized this dress is REALLY short. I'm a tall girl and dress fairly conservatively, so I opted not to wear this dress because I couldn't see myself showing that much leg. RTR was really great and gave me a full refund for the dress because it didn't work out for me. RTR is great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 13, 2014
Cute, but far too short and not glamorous enough for my event.
Rent the Runway sent this dress to me as one of my replacement options after calling to tell me that they would not be able to send me the dress I rented back in February for the cocktail reception we hosted the night before our wedding last weekend (it was too damaged to wear). This did not work for me; thankfully I had some other good options (I ended up wearing Theia's Gold Stroke dress). It was simply way too short and lacked the glamour I was hoping for. It probably would have been adorable for my 20-year-old cousin but was not appropriate for a 28-year-old bride to be. I liked the heavy weight of the fabric and the color and details were fun. I would say the dress runs true to size, though smaller busted women should size down (I am full busted and the dress fit me in the waist and chest, if a bit snugger up top than I normally prefer).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2014
So cute!!
I rented this for a wedding, but there was only a size 2 available. So I also rented a Nicole miller dress as a back up. I loved the Zac Posen dress, but it was a uncomfortably tight. So I wore the Nicole miller dress. I probably would have worn this one if it was available in a 4.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2014
Beautiful dress, very figure flattering!
Like I said, it is a beautiful dress, its a lot darker of a red in person! Made my Bcup boobs look fantastic which is nice. as the night went on it did start to slide down a bit and i found myself pulling the top up quite a bit. It was a little above the knee on my body, Im short tho so. Also, it paired really nicely with my black heels, I went open toe so i did a very neutral french tip, nothing that would draw attention away from the dress. I recommend either a half up hair style or fully up. The dress will hang low on your body, so its a good chance to show off shoulders, back, and neck. It is a heavier fabric, carpet-like almost, but very breathable and I didn't feel weighed down
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2014
Tired looking and not appropriate for spring/summer
Unfortunately, the material of the dress was not as vibrant or refined as it appears in the picture. I ordered this to wear at a spring wedding upon recommendation by a RTR stylist and had to return it. The material reminded me of a washed out corduroy (white peach fuzz at all the ends) and appeared really tired in person. It may work for a winter event if you get a newer dress (maybe the one sent to me had been around too long?).
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2014
Great color, interesting material
When I first saw the dress, I was diappointed in the corduroy material. However, in pictures you couldn't tell and since it was a heavier material it helped stay in place with the wind.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2014
Fun skirt
This dress fit well and it looked good, but it wasn't my favorite of the rentals I've had through RTR. The skirt was great, it had just the right amount of poof. As other reviewers have said, the fabric is heavy, so this is only good for colder events. The one issue that I had was that the smaller size fit and stayed on well, but it was too tight at the top so it gave me major boob issues. So I wore the regular size and pulled it up throughout the wedding. It's the kind of dress that takes the right fit of bra underneath to do some holding up. Overall, really good. But, I wouldn't rent it again.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×